(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Sharon & all mummies here ... on home-based enrichment programmes, what do you look for so to sign-up with the programme and if to rank your top 3 considerations, what would they be? a programme franchised with a brandname? curriculum? a passionate facilitator? small-class size? qualifications? costs? location? facilities? how much would you pay if it's a home-based environment?

Just a simple thot ... I wouldn't think of doing this possibly till the boys are in primary school. ha.

.ky.

CL, did u receive my pm? seems like pm is not working today, or rather it's very slow. so i have emailed to ur singnet account instead.

Mamachan ... my MIL specifically tell me that's what I should call them. all the 3 SILs do the same ... and my MIL told me I cannot call my hubby "lao gong" (chinese) which I don't know why ...

.ky.

Queen,
If you happen to have another ON spree can lemme know please? I missed your recent one. Got some things in mind. :p Thanks!

Aileen,

Hee hee i know what you need. I will do it for you. I replied you liao.

RP lunch 20 Sep ?
Anyone can meet ? I going to collect some loot from Mamapanda tonight

CL,
I may be able to make it. Need to go RP shenton medical for medical check up tomorrow. Let me know time and place and will see if my medical checkup is over and can join u all

Aileen,

Hee hee i know what you need. I will do it for you. I replied you liao.

RP lunch 20 Sep at Cityhall ? Ke ke need to do distributon lah
Anyone can meet ? I going to collect some loot from Mamapanda tonight

CL,
haven't receive ur email yet. anyways thanks heaps!

unfortunately i can't make it for RP lunch tomorrow. but i'm keen to get my loot. can someone collect my stuff for me and pass to my hb at RP instead?

CL,
haven't receive ur email yet. anyways thanks heaps!

unfortunately i can't make it for RP lunch tomorrow. but i'm keen to get my loot. can someone collect my stuff for me and pass to my hb at RP instead?

sharon
wow, hope u can realise your dream to set up your own childcare enrichment. i always tot of doing something like this but not trained.

Aileen
i have mozart CD but can't find it. let me try to find. i bought mine at first few years at KK

thanks so much for your prayers!

Went to see the dr. There's no significant improvement in my hearing.
He's putting me on another week of medication to see how. I asked him on the chances of getting tumor, he said if it is, there's still time to deal with it coz this kind of tumor usually grow very slowly, and it's rare coz I just had an MRI 5yrs ago and I was given an all clear. While I try to comfort myself that it's unlikely to be a brain tumor, my SIL's (same type of brain tumor) grew rather fast for an acoustic neuroma. It grew a few cm in a week!

NOw praying for the hearing to return quickly and whatever infection to go away. Pls continue to keep me in your prayers. Thank you!

thanks so much for your prayers!

Went to see the dr. There's no significant improvement in my hearing.
He's putting me on another week of medication to see how. I asked him on the chances of getting tumor, he said if it is, there's still time to deal with it coz this kind of tumor usually grow very slowly, and it's rare coz I just had an MRI 5yrs ago and I was given an all clear. While I try to comfort myself that it's unlikely to be a brain tumor, my SIL's (same type of brain tumor) grew rather fast for an acoustic neuroma. It grew a few cm in a week!

NOw praying for the hearing to return quickly and whatever infection to go away. Pls continue to keep me in your prayers. Thank you!

Mamapanda

The jacket for arienne is from me or from mamachan ? If it is from me, still with my sil, will get it for you this sat.

Mashy
Yes yes hope everything will be fine for you. Would you like to seek a second opinion ? So the ENT could you give you a diagnosis ?

sharon
wow, hope u can realise your dream to set up your own childcare enrichment. i always tot of doing something like this but not trained.

Aileen
i have mozart CD but can't find it. let me try to find. i bought mine at first few years at KK

Re: RP Lunch
CL, I can make it tomorrow. Let me know? WAnt to collect my gap stuff? : ) Can I pass you the jacket for mamapanda also? Thks.

Sharon,
Wow... that's great! Hope that you can fulfil your dreams.

May,
It would be great for a second birthday bash. It has been a while since we met again. ...

Mashy,
Will pray for good news. TAke care!

Re: dentist
My hubby's excolleague recommended a dentist in paragon. my PD knows the dentist too and has referred some of her patients there as well. I can find out the name again. Is there a need to bring our toddlers to dentist before 3?

krissie, clare, flo
I've passed your loot to CL already.

LV #10
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD>Burt's Bees - Res-Q Ointment - 0.6 oz</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD>Burt's Bees - Res-Q Ointment - 0.6 oz</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clare</TD><TD>Burt's Bees - Res-Q Ointment - 0.6 oz</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>Burt's Bees - Res-Q Ointment - 0.6 oz</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krissie</TD><TD>Burt's Bees - Res-Q Ointment - 0.6 oz</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunny</TD><TD>Burt's Bees - Res-Q Ointment - 0.6 oz</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Flo</TD><TD>Burt's Bees - Res-Q Ointment - 0.6 oz</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

DS #5
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD>Medela Membranes</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $5.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD>Medela Breast Shield</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $6.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD>Oral-B Stages Baby Tooth and Gum Cleanser 2.2oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $3.49 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD>Oral-B Stages Baby Tooth and Gum Cleanser 2.2oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $3.49 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

wenyl
There're 3 different kinds of brest shields, some come in pack of 2 without the valve and shield. I assumed u want the standard one that's a single shield with valve and shield. If u want the other ones, email me the url.

MOM response on maternity leave
Here's the response I got from MOM:

Under the Employment Act, a female employee is entitled to absent herself
from work for 4 weeks immediately before and 8 weeks immediately after
delivery, totalling 12 weeks. Therefore any medical leave that falls
within the 4 weeks immediately before delivery would be treated as part of
maternity leave.

If by mutual agreement between the employee and the employer that the full
12 weeks of maternity leave is to be taken after the delivery of the baby,
any medical leave taken before the delivery of the child would still be
treated as medical leave and not maternity leave.

Should you require more information on the statutory benefits provided for
under the Employment Act, you could visit the Ministry of Manpower's
web-site at
http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/workplace_standards/employment_standards/the_employment_act.html
or call 6 4385122.

If u want to start your maternity leave after u give birth, you have to tell your company first so that any MC u take before u give birth is MC, not ML.

mashy
will keep you in my prayers. really hope that it is not a tumor

tmr is my last day at work. feel so sad thinking abt it. i really like my colleagues and the pple i work with. been packing today and got so much stuff. learnt my lesson, next time won't bring so much stuff over!

SY,
eh...dunno the exact addy, will go get from the lady this wkend. The Tampines one is near the old popular book store or now the S11 food court. There a vegetable store near it that sells fresh organic veg.

mamapanda and CL
thanks for arranging for Cl to help me to pick up my stuff.

mamapanda
did u receive my PM for my sambucol order? I sent it this morning. thanks.

Mashy, stay positive! Hope there's nothing serious with your inner ear!

Mamapanda, I'm also interested in the Burt's Bees - Res-Q Ointment - 0.6 oz. Can add me into your list? Thanks!

Queen, Flo, I've brought Kirsten for the Purple Train assessment this afternoon.

The teacher first brought her into an empty classroom where the toys are displayed. She then observed K to see her motor skills are refined enough to handle certain objects and also to see if she can focus on what she is doing.

Next the rest of the class comes in and the teacher observes if K gets overwhelmed by other kids.

Also, throughout the process, the teacher will try and gauge the level of anxiety that K may display after starting the playgroup.

So far, Kirsten did pretty well for her age. The teacher feels that she's ready. She even abandoned me while talking to the principal to go into an empty classroom to continue playing for a good 15min.

The teachers there are really patient and they understand children very well. I also like the small class size for the afternoon session and Kirsten will be the youngest in class. More or less decided to start her in mid-Oct. Need to adjust her naptime though...

Heartwarming: Been feeling guilty of not spending enough time with Cephas since I started my nite classes in Jul. More so the past 1 mth cos the Wed class ends on the dot of 10pm and by then time i arrive home, he's asleep. Tonite, I snuck in to the bedroom not wanting to disturb Hb & him. Thot both were asleep. Cephas sprang up from his sleeping position the minute he heard me, came to me and gave me a tight hug and kisssed me right smack on the lips and said "Mummy, love you" So sweet rite? I was so so so moved!

Valerie
Thanks for the info. Purple Train sounds really impressive shall go down to check out the place one of these days. So they allow u the accompany Kristen for the first week?

Sysac
Cephas is so sweet, make all your hardwork worthwhile =)

Thanks for all the encouragements.

CL, I would love to conduct the class but weekends are out for me cos attending church and family day. And too bad no more risotto. Wanted to go on a diet by eating that as meals but anyway thanks.

Ky, to me the top 3 factors are 1) The environment 2) The teachers and 3) The curriculum. To be honest, not all premium enrichment classes and childcare ctrs are good...... but one thing, they have the $$$ to buy better edcational tools to make their curriculum more attractive. Currently, I am working with a rather popular enrichment ctr. Quite a lot of childcare ctrs have engaged them to conduct classes for their kids. I was rather disappointed with how commercialized their curriculum is....... I don't see much thots and effort put in their lesson plans. In the end, i had to pump in my own $$$ and modify their lesson as well. I have been in this line for some time before my son's arrival...... heard lots of horrible stories about some "branded" ctrs too. It really all depends on how comfy the parents are with the ctrs...... it may be good to some, bad to others, so all boils down to "chemistry".... haha! As for fees, it will depend on the curriculum, the grp size as well as the timing for each class. But my charges are going to be affordable for most people but haven't really decided on it yet. Actually, i wanted to start a biz cos of my son..... hope he can make some friends as i will be home-schooling him till he's abt 6. In the meantime, I still have many factors to consider before embarking on this biz.

Aileen, I have a Dip in Preschool Teaching and waiting for my Dip in Education Studies (enrichment classes) after I complete my dissertation paper. I am staying in woodlands...... I believe Edgar is attending lots of other classes alr...saw his pics on yr blog...... he is very smart....can converse so well!

Mashy, stay positive...will continue to keep you in my prayers.

Sharon - Keep up the good work. I taught early childhood edn for 2 yrs before long long time ago. The emphasis now is much better than before. Plan to go into that again when I retire from SAF. Congrats!

Flo - Yes, it was very rewarding and he asked me to lie next to him while he fell asleep

Sharon, Ky,
For me it will be the curriculum, followed by the teacher, then the location. I'm actually comtemplating if I should homeschool Keenan & Declan up until P1 too. But I'm afraid I wouldn't have the discipline and patience to do so. Are you already doing so? How do you plan your time-table? Can share with me what kind of teaching materials/ websites you use?

Slinky,
I would like to try the Oral-B Stages Baby Tooth and Gum Cleanser 2.2oz also. Please add on 1 qty for me. Thanks!!!

Sy,
When are you planning to go? With JH? If we go, it'll be F&E. Too hectic to join a tour w/ a toddler/baby.

Spinach
Hi mummies, it's time for a spinach BP again.
Collection date: 28th Sep Friday (BP close 24th Sep Mon)
Collection points:
1. Hitachi Tower
2. Marine Terrace

1. Denmy (Marine Terrace)
2. Mamapanda x 1.5 portion ( >700g but <1kg can? 600g too little)
3. Aileen x 2 portions (Hitachi Tower)
4. durianlover via mamapanda (i don't mind half a portion actually, like 300g or something. Don't need so much spinach. So can share with Mamapanda.)
5. queen (whatever amoutn taht is convenient for you to split.

Hmm... I bought a box of long-stem strawberries from Cold Storage today. It's soooo sweet and juicy. Got it for $18.90. I'll see if I can get it from my supplier cheaper.

Also, I didn't know mussels are very cheap too. When I saw the price tag on one of the packets, it said $0.45?!?? I thought it was some error and had to check with the staff. Anyway i got 3 packs, together with some clams, squids, as well as fish & prawns, and cooked a very nice Zuppa a la Marinara for dinner this evening. Mummies, if you'd like the recipe, can PM me, k?

Sysac,

when i was doing my part-time course last year..i was totally stressed out...no family time, no personal time..worst of all i dun have time for my 2boys...too busy with woirk, school project and exam.

Lucky..those time was over.

sysac
i was hoping to take up courses every now and then. but at the same time i am worried that i don't have time to spend with my gal. that's y until now, i haven't made up my mind to sign up any course. kind of regret that i didn't take up the course before planning for the family...
how long is your course?

Cityhall Lunch 20 Sep - 12.15 pm
Venue : Obrien Sandwich at Citylink ( pai seh Denmy this time go to your competitor nearest to MRT lah)

1) AK (confirmed)
2) Yuen ( confirmed) Hey can pass me $6 later oso can
3) SL (confirmed)
4) Chicken Little ( confirmed)
5) SH ( let me know if you can join after your healthscreening)

Aileen, noted you have sent your hb down for collection.

Krissie, take note if you are dropping by my office today for collection then must avoid this timing.

Anyone else joining ?

mashybrainz,
understand it's hard not to worry about it...let's just hope all goes well...

SY,
CL has got the mozart cds. thanks anyways

Sysac,
Cephas has always been so sweet! When edgar give me a hug or kiss (which is soooo rare), my heart already melts. if he could say mummy i love u, think i will tear ar!! haha!! i realise that even thou edgar knows how to hug and kiss, he's only doing it more willingly recently after watching Barney do that "I love you" song whereby the children will hug each other. I guess TV isn't all so bad afterall! :p

sharon,
wow... so impressive. i mean i admire the kind of patience and love you have for children. i certainly am not capabale of that. not maternal enough :p and yes, i do send edgar to many schools, coz i'm not good at teaching him and coz i feel guilty of not nurturing himself, i tot the least i can do is pay other pple to teach my son the basics. which i know sounds totally so disgusting. also because i don't know what to do with him at home. too bad woodlands is outta the way, else i'll send him to u!

babylon - Yes, I know what u mean! 3 lectures a week plus 4 assignments for this trimester. My class on Sat is 5 hrs because it includes tutorial. I will work on my assignments at 10pm onwards until past mid-nite when he sleeps. I was lucky he was still awake when I arrived home last nite. Hugs and kisses was worth it. Took my exhaustion away

Sunny - I m on a 3-yr course. It's a specialised work related Dip - Security Studies and Police Management. Live in CCK and classes are at Temasek Poly in Tampines! The good thing is HB will pass me the car and then I drive there and drive home aft that. Don't spend a lot of travellng time on the bus/train.

Aileen - Haha, I was very touched with his gesture. This is the stage they absorb a lot and learn very fast.

sysac
Cephas is so sweet! Jh is the opp. when i asked him whether he loves me, he will say no, sometimes even say he loves the maid. but i know he is doing it on purpose cos he will ask me to cry after he says tat. so naughty right.

sharon
very impressed. i also tot of homeschooling too but that is provided i can stop working. can share some materials and websites that you used? like denmy, i m also worried not disciplined enough. if u start your biz, let me know.

denmy
i m going mid Oct. there is airfare promo now so good to go now.
me also doing F&E.

sysac
Cephas is such a sweet darling! My son will only kiss or hug me when I ask for it..... like Aileen, I think he learnt it from Barney...... agree with her that TV is not too bad afterall. Must be quite tired for you to be working full time and studying at time. Temasek Poly..... that's where I got my first Dip when I was 17.

Aileen & SY
Thks but I am not as impressive as you think..... I am just doing what I can for my son. I have tried using Glenn Doman's method for a period of time but found it too boring.....haha! I am a lazy mom too........ anyway I just want Joash to enjoy his toddlerhood so I just let him choose what he likes to do for now. Both my Hb & I enjoys music, esp my hb cos he's s musician so Joash naturally likes to dance and "pretend" to play the guitar and drums! My dear son has a mind of his own...... fussy in almost everything....from food to toys to books.....sigh.... He likes books with pics of cars and babies...... and recently shapes and colours too. I have read those books for more than 10 times in one seating....aghhhh. Sometimes, I let him do some scribbling with crayons and markers too.As you can see, I am also just an ordinary mom.

But when he turns 4, I will start a 2 years phonics & grammer curriculum with him. Will be using Jolly Phonics/Grammer cos I liked the fact that it is in UK Eng. My lecturer highly recommended it during my course of study. Right now I am getting myself certified in teaching this curriculum so that I can also use it for my biz in the future.

hi mashybrainz,

will hope for the best for you.

hi denmy,

yes, mussels are very cheap in cold storage ... they were off the shelves for a while. u mean u saw a lot of them? oh, I'm going to get them

.ky.

sysac,

whenever i m having my exam..i feel so stress..the the past 2 yrs, my annual leave was use to study for exam...i can't go holiday...can't afford to miss the class, or else cannot catch up. My course started on yr 2004 and end 2006....i was preggie during that period...first 3mth was terrible and i got bad MS.....lucky i managed to clear all the subjects.
I m planning to take some course after i have settle in the new company....my boss told me it will be very tough for me for the first 1/2 yr. I need to learn thing fast.

hi sharon, I agree abt the "chemistry" part. My ds#1's in 2 schools whom I feel very close with... care to share with me privately wat enrichment ctr u r with :>. Apparently, many mothers are part-timing with enrichment ctrs partly for satisfaction and partly for income. You would know there's a homeschooling group in Singapore? And I know that the mothers there are very passionate abt homeschooling as well as sharing with new mothers who intend to go onto this ... hm, u may find that if you indeed go onto this path, you may have no time for biz. I tend to see those running biz not able to contribute much in this area, and hence that's the reason why I've not want to consider at this stage. How do you compare Jolly Phonics to Zoophonics? Personally I like Zoophonics, and I'm using that with ds#2 now. But eventually when he goes to school, it'll be whatever the school's using. ds#1 is learning Jolly phonics btw.

Denmy, nope, I'm not homeschooling nor intending to. I would have them go to school to have the fundamentals done, and I supplement on the side. For ds#1, I've done this for over 1 year, supplementing. I too have no discipline but considerably ok with patience. Use a rojak of materials to supplement, that's where all my money goes into, buying books and materials ... I used to look at websites but realize a lot of time spend browsing. I don't plan ahead (no discipline), just do whatever I see in front of me ...

.ky.

Flo, yes, Purple Train allows mummies to accompany the child for the first week.

re: Homeschooling
Recently, I went to this homeschooling mum's place with a friend who bought some books from her. Sharing her website here: http://www.thehomelibraryonline.com/
She's really passionate about it and has also posted her timetable on the website for sharing. She's even considering homeschooling beyond primary school. She almost managed to convert me but me too lazy and no discipline to follow her kind of schedule. Ky, not sure if this is the same group you are referring to?

sharon
i got a jolly phonics book also. intend to use it with JH. how do u get yourself certified ot teach this? where is the course?

ky
think u r also another impressive mum! i was pretty impressed when i went to your blog.

think i need to update my blog soon but blogspot got problems on my home PC. need to bug hb to fix it. ever since blogspot changed to google, got a lot of problems.