(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

May - Since u r staying in Jurong, why not try NUH? I can recommend you my gynae

Sunny - I use an air ionizer in my Mbdroom. Will let you know the brand when I check it out tonite. Can't rem the name offhand.

SL
Your mermaid can do the job. You check the parts because my fil has one too when I go there i use it leh.

May
My hb always says delivery for woman is life and death. Ha ha he only relieved after baby is out and mummy is ok. So very impt to leave your life in the hands of the gynae you realli trust and comfortable with. Many of my frens change too and my sil all switch to mine too.

sunny,
i use a Sharp brand. Works well for me, but its time to change the filter and that is the troublesome part. We need to go to Leng Kee office to get just the filter. Not sold at stores. And operating hours are office hours. So the ionizer now is not being used till we get the new filters.

Sysac,
So need to go NUH for checkup frequently? That means must take leave? The reason why hb want me to stay put with this is bcos it is night clinic and I can go after work.

RE: Gynae
I was thinking of choosing c-sect for #2 straight to prevent any complication. This gynae say it is in the genes that my baby will be big. My hb was born 3.9kg. And Jamie is born 3.6kg. My wound is terribly ugly. Dark and bloated up. I wonder is bcos of the food I ate or the skills of the doc. As I do not need to go and remove stitches.

May - Oic. NUH may not be a good choice then. I wld usually take leave to go see the gynae cos morning appts on weekdays. If I rem correctly, the initial check-ups were once in 3 weeksplus some additional days for the various tests. It was in the last trimester that I had to go see him once a fortnight.

sysac
thanks. do you find that the ionizer really helps?

tracy
i found one ionizer brand from the web through search engine. it's a german brand. and according to the description there, no need to change anything, and the machine will work well 24/7, whole year round.... don't know good or not...

Hi May,

When your gynae told you baby is facing the wrong direction, upwards, does he mean legs down, head up, OR, head down, but face is facing upwards (ie towards sky). If it's the former, then yes, I agree your gynae may be negligant (your baby sounds big so can turn during labour?), but if it's the latter, I think it's more difficult to deliver the baby in that position (if I'm not wrong). So, it would be best that you question him what the entire matter means. Many mummies got thru' Emerg C-Sect ... but it doesn't mean you can't try natural on 2nd time. It's a term called VBAC (virginal birth after csect). Gynaes generally do not recommend CSect as CSect is considered a major operations. And if you are indeed uncomfortable with your gynae, do change. I've changed mine before, and though records of a birth is with that gynae, it doesn't matter as each birth is unique and if need be, you can narrate your concern and show the ultrasound scans, tests reports, etc.

.ky.

KY,
He told me that Jamie is facing the sky which is the wrong direction to come out. So must go into Emergency C-sect. I was thinking, since she is so big, during labour still can turn meh?

May,

My ds#2 faces upwards too, and my gynae take note of it each visit. It's jotted down as "anterior no praevia" on each ultrasound that I have, and I did ask if that's a concern. If I'm not wrong (I can't remember this very well), she did say that delivery would be difficult if the pushing is prolonged ... sorry, I can't remember exactly why, perhaps bcos the face is facing upwards and hence the baby may suck in whatever that's in the nostril, or the shoulder would be stuck ... I really can't remember. ds#2 was small so I've no problem with him. But generally, gynae would want the mummy to attempt nautural birth and decide if emerg c-sect is needed when the need arises - perhaps in your case, you have 21 hrs of labour n if he allows you to push, complications may arise .... that's my guess, and if so, I think you are in good hands. I've a fren who was in labour for 34 hrs ... water bag burst till natural delivery. Her baby was shivering once home and had to go back to hospital ... I thot that was pretty risky but the mummy was happy with how it turned out.

.ky.

Sunny - I feel that it does help the air in the room. We don't have it on on a regular basis. Alt days to 1-2 times a week. So far, we have not changed anything either.

Hi May,
ur gynae was used by my colic when she delivered #2. She also went thru C-Section as BB was in breech position. She showed me her wound, it healed nicely.
My sis also used this same gynae and i tagged along for a few visits. I find him to be pretty good. I intend to use him if i have #2. MY previous gynae good too, but too far liao.

I think ultimately it boils down to how comfortable/trust u have in the doctor. If not comfy, think u might have to consider to switch.

Speaking of winter clothings.. hey CL so pai seh, the winter clothing still with me.. Let me know when i can pass to you.

BTW have been very busy lately , did not go to work this week coz elijah is down with high fever since tuesday and just brought him to see doc coz condition did not turn better. doc fould tat his throat is red and has one ulucer. tat is why he did not eat well at all. he did not take any solid food yesterday and his milk intake for whole day is only 8oz.. poor boy.. hope he recover soon

hi mummies, anyone has a traveller warmer to heat up milk in the car? i would like to borrow it for my perth trip as i will be heating my breastmilk and i dun think in aussie, its as easy as in sgp to get hot water. i cannot think of other alternative as the flask water may not be hot enough to heat the breast milk that is from the cooler bag.

queen - thks for your offer on the winter jacket. i be getting some winter wear from my cousin this sun. will check out and let u know if i need any. no worries u can pass to tabby if she needs it.

may - i chg my gynae for my second bb too. mainly its becos of subsidy and also i find the previous one very kiasee. eveyrthg also ask to be back for review. this gynae more relax and frankly i prefer him. hee..7k plus is really ex lei! u may want to reconsider other options.

May

The scar is due to overhealing. It's in the genes and when u have your second c-section, it will appear again. It's not due to something u ate. I've the same condition. from what i read, u can tell your gynae abt this condition and they can jab u when they operate on u so that u won't have this scar. Not sure whether can remove the 1st scar though. I'm hoping that I can remove it for my 2nd one.

Sunny
I've 2 air filters. 1 is from Sharp. not so good. The other one is from Amway, cost abt $3k+, a gift from my FIL for my boy when he had bronchitis. it's not bad, can clear off bad odours quite efficiently.

Rena
Long time no hear from you. Hope Elijah will be well soon. Do you stay near Mashy ? In the north right ?

Mashy you think easier for you to coordinate and pick up that bag from rena. You pick what you want from there, then when I meet your hb you can pass me those you dun want and I will give him another bag.

SSF
Where will you be visiting in Perth ? My sis cracking her head over where to bring my parents in the same period you are going. I think my parents will be on the same return flight as you ha ha .

CL
i will PM u the names. thanks a lot for checking out.

krissie
i have a dyson vaccuum cleaner which is supposed to be quite good. this morning got my maid to vacuum the whole place. we actually found a lot of missing toys under the sofa..haha

Flo
yeah accodring to Dr Khor, he has allergies...so not taking any flu or cough medicine. just taking the antibiotics

May
think if u really have doubts on your gynae, then maybe shd look for another one. or like what some suggested, talk abt what happened during your #1.

Any idea what's in for evening wear now? Have an evening event in the Istena next week... really excited yet headache over what to where......... Any suggestions?

Wonder if i can wear my peranakan attire during my wedding. haha

Yuki

Have been a long time I wore a evening wear liao. Peranakan attire should be ok otherwise slip in a black evening gown sure never go wrong. Wow what is the big event you attending at Istana ?

yuki
ya, like what CL said, wearing black will nvr go wrong. hehe...

re: toilet trained
anyone know what's the exact definition for this? meaning if the kid totally doesn't need diaper and will go pee/poo by themselves without accident?
my friends always asked if my gal is toilet trained. I don't know how to answer her. 'cos other than sleep time, my gal will signal us that she will wanna pee/poo. 95% she doesn't wet/poo in her pants loh. is that called toilet trained?

rena - hope tat elijah gets well soon. CL left this noon....now i have to start caring for Jadon liao.

chicken_little - i be gg on sept 28 to oct 6. ya i think we will be on the same flight as ur parents. i be gg 3 days to bunbury for the dolphin, 5 days in the city and will visit fremantle, king's park, farm visit and city shopping.

yuki - ya u can wear ur kebaya too. my cousins wore for my wedding and it is very nice. formal too! else it will be the LBD. never go wrong with that after adding some accessories and a clutch bag and high heels!

sunny

YX so clever. Yes yes, yours is considered liao. Later just have to wait for her to do it on her own. My Aden will hide 1 corner to poo so I think i will wait till neck long long.

SSF
5 days in city, need so long meh. Ha ha nothing much in perth lah. Ha ha maybe give you my parents contact if you need extra hand can buzz them ha ha .

Mashy,
Sure please arrange with Rena. I realli have lots of long sleeve tops dunno why. all from my nephew. They always likes to wear 2 pieces but Singapore so hot

CL
really???!! so happy to hear that.
btw, how to train the kid to go diaperless at night? some told me that they actually wake up every hr and also wake their kid up to go pee.... i don't think i can make it leh. and i feel bad to wake the kid up from her sweet dreamland.

sunny

wah, your gal so fast already toilet trained. So envious. My boy is still in diapers and doesn't even indicate that he wants to poo let alone pee. sigh. I also wait till neck long long.

sunny

I only monitor Charmaine leh. I always see like at night her diaper dry, then I told her I will not be giving her. Then she oso never pass urine. So far no accident at all.

Charmaine will ask for diaper when she wants to poo or pee. I remember when I brought her to Japan at 3. She will jump and jump asking for diaper when she wants to poo

CL
oh i c... like that i still need to buy diaper for yx to use at nap and night time liao. haha... charmaine so cute, if you don't give her diaper, she would cry?

mashy
halfly trained bah, 'cos nap/night time still need diaper woh. not fully diaperless...

sunny

good enough lor. Night/nap time training usually takes longer and there's bound to have accidents too even when they go Pri school.

mashy
ya loh. save me $ for diaper. hehe...
but when we bring her out, to play safe, we still let her wear diaper. very scare we are not able to take her signal timely when we go out, and end up, got very messy.

Sunny,
So envy.. YX so smart.
Jamie only know how to signal poo. She will either tell us (we will remove diaper for her) or she will go and find the potty herself and sit down (with diaper on). As for pee, erm..still got to wait.

Night time, I heard u have to try bringing her to pee before bedtime. For the first few weeks, put on diaper just in case of accident. After several attempt and the diaper is still dry. Then can sleep without diaper already. Some of my friends did actually wake up their kids once at night to pee. And especially at an unfamiliar place, better to wear diaper.

sunny
toilet training got 3 stages
- indicate want to poo
- dry by day
- dry by night

the last one is the hardest and probably got to wait till they are older.

JH very erratic one. sometimes will tell use he wan to poo, sometimes want to pee, then a lot of times is bluff us one. now he will pretend he wants to poo just to get out of the chair.

sunny,

So good! you can save on diapers liao...
Charmaine can only signal when she wants to poo BUT when she's too distracted playing then no. : (

CL,
You have tabbi's HP no? Can PM me? I want to pass her the winter clothings since I am going to my mil's place on fri and sat.

Yuki,
Err.. The last time I went to Istana for an evening function, I just wore my office attire... Is the attire stated in the card? The food's really great cos only a few caterers are allowed to cater for events at Istana and Raffles Hotel's one of them. That's what I had the last time - yummy!

May/SY
thanks for the tips. i don't think i will wanna wake myself and yx up at night to pee. really lazy to do that.
talking about 'dry by night', for my gal, it's inconsistent. sometimes, the diaper was really heavy, and sometimes, it's dry. think she still need to wear it at night time, including her nap time which is quite long hr.

re: nap
how long does your kid sleep during afternoon nap?

Sunny
Ya lor she cry very hard because no diaper she have to hold the poo/pee it will be very uncomfortable. After she is done she will come and request to remove.

JG Mummies- Update
1) New timing not available , so our class will remain at 2 - 4, no later time as class ends at 4 at JG Forum on sunday. No other classrooms available so cannot change timing

2) SL and SH, you will be put to studio 2 with us so our Jan Thread mummies will be truely together. Pai seh you will have to bear with our "musketeers' experience"

3) Though they say the HOD will get back to me but they oso says the change of teacher will likely be status quo. So I decided to fire another email to show my true displease. Ha ha. included mummies in the class in the mail so please fire your opinion too if you want to add on. Maybe more cc list may pressurized them to do something.

JG Class
CL
Thanks for taking the lead on our behalf.

SL and SH
heee...paiseh...now you will see our musketeers in action :p

Sunny
Your gal is fast. Mine still walking ard in his smelly poo.

sunny
JH sleeps abt 1-2 hours for his naps depending on whether it is one or 2 naps for that day

think becos of his allergies he was really tired and slept from 12-2pm just now...just nice for my lunch and a little bit of forum reading.

CL
2-4pm timing seems to be too tight for me in this case. trying to bring JH to church now more often on Sun so he usually tired out from church.

nowadays got discipline problem. he is really getting out of hand. throw tantrum at every little thing. and when u play vcd for him, he will ask u to change after watching for 10 min..cannot be satisfied...is this the terrible twos?

SY
Sorry I cannot make changes on the timing.

JG
Hmm my email was effective after all. I finally received the call from the HOD. She told me we could feedback to them earlier then we can see if the teacher does improve.So can we give I told her I am not spending my money to see if she improves. I am firm I want to see a change of teacher. She will look into it and get back to me by Monday.

Thanks for your suggestion. Yup, accompanying hubby for a function.... I used to have LBD but so long never wear.... my figure already out of shape, don;t know can fit in or not.... Very tempted to wear my Peranakan outfit still
The thing is, it's my excuse to buy something new since it has been some time since i last bought anything really formal..... ha ha

LIke CL, yup, long time never put on evening gown. Long long time.....

Hi SL - hmmmm it will be my first time there, looking forward to the food then. But then again, amongst strangers plus have to act very lady..... don;t think can enjoy the food. Haha

Hi Sysac - wow, a red dress. Ha Ha. Don;t think i can carry it leh.... You very brave woh.

Hi Sunny,

My mum 'toilet trained' megan too and at my mum's place, she don;t put on diapers in the day. Every hour or so, my mum's maid will bring her to the toilet. Megan can also signal that she wants to pee or poo. But at night we still put on diapers for her.

CL - i am staying 5 days in perth city but during these days, will venture out to fremantle, farm, king;s park etc. it be a R&R vacation and enjoying the nice weather and doing self cooking in the apt and soak in the heated pool. my mum is tagging along so shld be able to cope. where is your sis bringing your parents to?

sunny - so gd..caleb is still not toilet train. caleb slept 2-3 hrs for the noon nap when he is in a sarong. else it be 1-1.5 hrs.

CL
hmm, sounds like your email worked! sometimes must really complain then can get pple moving...sad hor that got to do it this way but no choice.

re toilet training
JH very funny just now. he said he wanted to 'xuxu' but we din really believe him and as i was changing him, he peed.....so i guess he can tell us when he wants to poo and pee...

SSF
wow, so you guys doing a lot of driving in perth...got bring anything to entertain the kids?

ioniser
We bought the Sharp ioniser (cant remember model but its the $888 one) the day before I gave birth to Ariene and have been using it everyday as long as the aircon is on. My hb has sinus problems and ever since we used the ioniser, he stopped sneezing in the morning. On top of the ioniser, I also have a rainbow vacumm cleaner. Last time before Ariene was born, my maid used to vacumm the bed at least twice a week but now, she only does it once every 2 months. The rainbow also makes a difference. So far, we haven't changed the hepa filter yet but my hb washes the outer filter every month.

SSF

RE" winter clothing

hihi... i'll be back on 21st sept so i can pass u whatever i have and queen's winter jacket, u still can wash b4 going... let me know if u're keen

U not latching in Australia? I'm thinking of full latching when I'm around and only pumping at night so that hubby has 1-2 feeds for during the day while i'm at the conference.. i'll try and sneak back during lunch time to feed thad cos I find latching so much easier..

Rena
hope elijah gets well soon...

RE: gap collection
I will be popping down to Queen's place to pick up my gap loot, flo, or any other mommies, need me to collect for you and pass u at JG? Let me know if u need, better sms me if u have my no..or let queen know to pass to me.

Rena,
Hope Elijah gets well soon.. U take care too.

SY,
Jamie also very difficult to discipline nowadays. When she wants that thing, mean MUST get. Must take longer time to explain why cannot to her. She will ask for changing of VCD too. Worse still is she will ask u to fast forward till the songs that she like. I guess it must be the terrible 2 bah.

JH so smart to toilet train by himself! Actually I find boys quite cute to be mischievious and naughty. Girls normally are quieter and gentle. My gal is little chilli padi, dun think she behave like gal.