(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

KY,

What books you looking for ? You let me know I go check out the bras Basah bookshop for you. Everytime i go there i will spend a bit. Books already cheap and got storewide 30%

I have contact w/ the lady who runs the Aero-Green Technology aeroponics farm. She's very happy to have us visit the farm as a group. Here's the rest of her email:

"Thanks for the conversation with you. As your spouse is thinking of gathering a
small group to visit our farm and other interesting places within the Kranji
Countryside Association, we recommend the following after visiting our farm (as
attached for your reference):

1) Kin Yan Agrotech - Wheat grass, cactus and mushroom farm.
2) Jurong Frog Farm - Frogs farm
3) Hayes Dairies - Goat farm
4) Bollywood - Lunch break. Goreng Pisang (Banana Fritters) is nice when it is
piping hot. FYI, Banana is directly from the farm

There is a cost of S$4.00 per pax for visiting the aeroponics section of our
farm, discount given depending on group size. Reciprocating your visit, we will
prepare either a Butterhead Juice (220ml) or a Fresh Salad Single Serve (80g)
for you. We have the organics farm where you can buy some of the day's produce
on your way. There is a maze for the children to play as well. There is
adequate shelter for you to rest after the walk about.

After confirming the date, group size and the estimated time of arrival to our
farm, please inform us."

I have more info (promotional leaflets) on the farms at Kranji Countryside. PM me if interested.

Anyone interested? If so, shall we go on a Sat morning in late Sep or Oct? Let's put our names down first? - Denmy

1. Denmy
2. tabbiesus
3. Flo
4. bblon
5. maywong
6. sunny
7. Sy
8. Rena
9. SL
10. Krissie
11. Mashy
12. Aileen
13. durianlover
14. Chicken Little
15. Clare
16. Yuki
17. Cookie
18. MamaChan
19. Mongs
20. SH
21. Cheng

RE: confinement lady
Thanks to those of you who gave me your CL contacts! But sad to say, i called up about 7-8 CLs and they're all fully booked for end Dec!!
I think i started sourcing a bit too late

RE: half-boiled eggs
I actually started giving Janelle that some time ago...think a few months ago. At first i was also concerned that she'd get diarrhoea or something, but i tried a little bit at first and she was alright, so after that i just give her 1 whole half-boiled egg
She LOVES it! But she's got my tastebuds...will reject hard-boiled eggs, esp the eggyolk.

mamapanda
just transferred to you $25.52. ref is 1336507453 . thanks and sorry for the delay in transferring. Didnt log on these few nights.

durianlover
ya, must quickly start calling. now qt late liao. When i was looking for one. I think i also called abt 10. When are u due again?

Re JG
I wonder if ger's hving a tummy upset coz he ate too much new food at the JG party. He woke up at 2+am to poo. Poor me, cant slp till now. will defintely be v tired at work tom. thanks to all mummies for bringing all the delicious snacks for our todds.

re hospital bag
btw, does anyone still hv the list, pl? I cant rem where is mine. aiyo.. think i better start packing my bag. My nesting instincts are kicking in liao. TIA.

Krissie,
When is ur EDD? Must keep us update okie?

RE: Phone Call
I will call Jamie twice a day from office. She will only call me "Ma ma" and when I ask her if she eat lunch already? She will say "mum mum" then nod her head (that's what my mum told me). Then either tell me she want to go "gai gai" (shopping) or "bye bye" (if she dun want to talk already). It is really very nice to hear them talk.

tabbiesus,
sorry i couldn't pass u the cd yest coz edgar wasn't feeling well. and i'm also pulling edgar out of the jg class coz i'm finding it tiring to bring him there. maybe i can mail the cd to you instead? or i can pass it to someone as raffles place who can then pass it to u.

Krissie,
So excited for u....another 1.5 months and u can see ur gal soon! I've got another 10 more weeks to go and already having those nestling instincts. 2 nights ago, I even dreamt I was breastfeeding my #2. Woke up the next am and told hb we better tidy up the rooms & get ready for #2. Faintz!

Durianlover,
Do u want my CL's contact? This is the 1st time I m using her cos the previous CL I had was lousy. This one is recommended by my close fren. She, her sil and her frens all used her. She will cook & do the basic hsechores if there is time.

Aileen

So you forgoing your deposit since you pulling out ?

Mummies at JG
I juz sent a email to JG feedback that we would like a change of teachers and oso to check on other class timing

Please pm me your choice so that I can update them when they call me

Krissie
Oh, hope Ger is ok, did he have diarrhea or just normal poo poo? Humm, Mel also poo around 11+ last nite but not diarrhea tho.

CL/Aileen
Is Edgar feeling ok? Too bad the 2 boys missed all the fun...the rest of them are happily chopping all the yummy food, probably for the first time

Clare/SY
Re: Leapfrog word factory DVD
Just in case you are interested, I got this from Robinsons yesterday and is only $35 and comes with a free word factory dvd.

http://www.leapfrog.com/Primary/Toddler/PRD_wwfridgephonics/Word+Whammer153+Fridge+Phonics153+Set.jsp?bmLocale=en_US

CL
Was just telling Cheng yesterday that no matter what the musketeers must stick in the same class. Even tho the 2 classes were combined yesterday, they are still the only ones walking around...haha

Hi Tabb,

Thanks for asking abt the stickers book.

I've bought this from Amazon and it just arrived over the weekend. I've paid approx $8-$9 and it's quite a thick book with approx. 6 sections of real sticker pictures. *sigh* think 1 book not enough cos the 2 boys are sure to fight to own it.

http://www.amazon.com/My-Big-Book-Action-Stickers/dp/1741576016/ref=sr_1_1/102-0775574-7628126?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1188786985&sr=8-1

Don't think I'll get anymore sticker books for now, thx CL! I've recently make some purchases from Amazon and am probably going to be kept busy for a while.

Here are 2 books which I feel is good if you intend to do some "light" homeschooling

1) Learn at Home
http://www.amazon.com/Learn-Home-Grade/dp/1561895121/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2/102-0775574-7628126?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1188787137&sr=1-2

2) Read and Learn With Classic Stories
http://www.amazon.com/Read-Learn-Classic-Stories-Grade/dp/1561896810/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/102-0775574-7628126?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1188787249&sr=1-1

.ky.

Tabbie
I was thinking really hard too abt who to get from on Angel wipes.
Thanks for the email, I also think Phoebe's offer seems better. I still have about 5 pack of 80s dunno can last me till end sept or not.
I will probably order from Phoebe.. but in case I run out before her stock arrive, might just order from steven.

Tabby
yeah the 2 angel wipes offer sounds confusing. must count by per piece than we will now.

re JG
CL, what is the new timing u looking at? i told hb i wan to start to send JH for some classes when he turns 2.

Krissie
wow, so soon! must keep us updated!

aileen
hope u are feeling ok...is it cos u r into last trimster so u feeling tired?

durianlover,
think u started to call abit too late. that period always the hardest to find...will help u ask ard also

Flo
hee, i also saw that offer in the papers. but din check it out.

CL
I'm flexible with timing...ya...important that the musketeers must stick together :p Yup, hubby is telling me that Aidan is not engaged by the teacher in class. So I need to confirm if it is due to the teacher (as I don't find her very engaging too) or Aidan :p

I saw the young kids greeting Adrian before class yesterday - they were so happy to see him and all rushing to hug him before class. haha...I know we don't have a chance to get him lah (too popular.) any idea who are the better teachers? I'm also ok with Evans Road.

RE: confinement nanny
I think i have narrowed down my search to 2 confinement nannies. Or rather, these are the only 2 out of more than 10 that i called who can make it!!

One is from the agency. The agency lady sent me the testimonial written on this CL and seems pretty good, but of course i'm trusting based on 2nd-person's opinion..know what i mean?
The 2nd shortlisted CL is chicken little's contact. Thanks!
She'll call me end Sept to meet up. But i'm afraid that if i wait till end Sept to confirm, it's a little too late leh...hmmm...
So i'm asking the agent to see if i can meet up with her recommended CL too, then decide from there.

Any of you got CLs thru agencies before? I don't mind getting from agency coz i feel it's safer in the sense that less chance they'll cheat u out of ur deposit and other stuff. Plus if u choose a particular CL from them, they'll book her one month plus minus your EDD date! Just in case u deliver early or late

My EDD is 8 Jan 08, but i think and hope i'll deliver earlier like end Dec. Many of the CLs i called say that's the "peak" period that's why they're booked already.

wenyl,
Thanks for the offer, but i suspect ur CL shd be booked already leh. Anyway i think i'll work with these 2 shortlisted ones first then see how!

krissie,
Wow so fast! So excited for you! Keep us updated

hi tabb

you were sharing on the lantern fest @ chinese gardens. You have more info on any discounts? tx!

.ky.

SY,
Yes you're right...Dec/Jan period is really peak period for people giving birth! I wasn't intending to hire a confinement nanny at first coz i thought that my mum and MIL will take turns to do confinement for me, just like my first confinement after i delivered Janelle. But my MIL just started a new job last week and doesn't think she can take leave for Dec or Jan, so she suggested i get a CL instead. I also kind of agreed, since i know my mum isn't very good at confinement practices plus she's gotta take care of my 90-yr-old grandmother. That's why now the mad rush to find a CL!

winter clothes
Anyone got thick winter clothes (those suitable for -10 to 10deg) for 1-2yr old girls to lend me? I'm not really into buying it cuz they grow so fast so I thought try to borrow first. I might need 2 different jackets cuz I think those those I saw at the winter shop has 1 type for -10 to 0 deg and another type for 0 to 10deg. Also, anyone know where I can buy soft cashmere wool inner wears for Ariene? Those I saw at the shop are kinda prickly and Ariene has very sensitive skin. The softer acrylic ones are not warm enough but I guess if I let her wear the acrylic ones, I'll need a thick outerwear so that she don't get too cold.

CL

Can we join in the class if u change the timing? hehe, didn't join coz the current class timing clashes with my boy's nap time. Let me know if the class timing changed to Sat morning or any weekday morning. Thanks!

Mashy brainz

I collating new timing from mummies and also checking the JG what is available. You pm me your choice and date of birth and full name of Caeden. I will check with them. Weekday morning no because bilingual playclub offered only in weekend.

Cheng/Flo
Agree no matter what my aden will stick to the musketeers otherwise I will be too busy entertaining stares from other mummies.

Angelwipes
Hmm, can i have the phoebe contact ?

RE: Classes
I cancelled Jamie's 3hrs classes already (intend to start Jan 08). The classroom is very small and I learnt that they combined age 2-4yrs kids in same class. Intend to send her to some wkend classes and only put her to PAP when she reach 3 or 4yrs old.

How's JG? How much is it? CL, do u have more info?

RE: #2
Was talking with hb abt this topic. So happy that he is finally looking into it. He even asked Jamie if she want didi or meimei. Was surprised that Jamie replied with meimei!! Think my in-law will explode if my #2 is gal.. hahaha! I can imagine their expression. Anyway #2 will be Jan 2009. Both of us want another Jan baby.

CL
i will PM u the timing preferred also.

re angel wipes.
was doing a quick cal
Phoebe's offer
- Must buy up to $49.50 to get the $5 discount (which is 27 packs altogether).
This means that per piece is nett 2.06 cents

Steven's offer
- 3 packs ofr 80s = $6.
- Plus free 2 packs of 30s
- Nett price is 2 cents per piece

so Steven's offer seems better.

did i do it correctly?

May
i also asked JH whether he wants a sibiling and he nodded. dunno whether he realise what it means.

Jh's rashes much better now. becoming his old self soon.
but he was a bit down with flu.

he very funny. really loved to sing and dance. when we go to church, he loves the worship sessions.

SH
Hmmm, basically I will emphasize on certain key words to him when I'm at play with him i.e. When we're engaging in play with his favourite ball, I would ask him to "Throw" the ball, "Shoot" the ball into the basket and "Bounce" the ball. So he would actually repeat after me. And when we engage in stacking of the blocks, I would just count out loud for him, so it was a sudden thing that when he stacks the blocks now, he would be counting in his own way. I don't really sit him down to teach him coz his attention span is not there either. So even for the shape sorter which he likes to play, I would for example, when I see him holding a certain shape, I would name the shape as he tries to slot it into the respective hole. Just enjoy the play time with JW as they really do learn through play.

May
hahaha, maybe I'll join the Jan 2009 club too as hb and myself started talking about #2 already...have to wait after this year when he's done with all the major shooting events. We would like a Jan baby again too.

SY
Daren also responds to the worship sessions in church. He would actually raise his hands up for the worship songs when he sees us adults raising our hands up. And he'll dance and spin and shake his body like Pocoyo for the fast songs. And when the songs ends with pple clapping in unison, he would clap and raise his hands and "shout" and looking very happy.
I've got a charismatic boy =P

MamaPanda
I have some "winter" clothings for 12 - 18 months which I got last year when the SAHMs shared on some carter's office sales. They were mainly very thick full length rompers. They've not been used and I don't think Daren can fit them anymore. Would you like to have them? Of course the colors would be more inclined to boy-boy colors, if you would want to have a look at them, I'll meet you and pass them to you?

CL
I'm keen in JG if timing is switched to Saturday mornings. Do let me know yah? Sundays quite tricky lah, coz got church.

may
when i asked my gal if she wanted di-di, she nodded, then ask if she wanted mei-mei, she also nodded.... faintz.. i think she doesn't know what it meant. :p

re: crayola
atrium outside carrefour is having toy fair. they are selling crayola, too.
for 6 small tubs of paints, it's selling $9, 10 marker pens selling $5 and those color books selling at $10. consider cheap?

Mamachan
If you dun mind lending them to me, can lend me see see? You can pass them to CL then I'll coord with CL can?

MamaPanda
I just called home to check, I have 1 x 12-18 months 100% Polyester full length romper (up to ankles) and 3 x 18-24 months 100% polester full length rompers (up to ankles) but color wise more boyish... if you dun mind borrowing it, may have to let arienne wear a cotton singlet inner piece as I scared might be prickly for her also. You let me know yah?

MamaPanda
Oops, ok, just saw your posting. Ok, I pass to CL in this case then you co-ordinate with her. so long you manage to get a girlish jacket to wear over should be ok hor? hahaha, if not, dye the rompers pink or red! Anyway, if she wears in really cold climate, think wouldn't be prickly anymore bah... we see how it goes.

mamachan
What does the full length rompers look like? those I saw in the winter shop are only jackets. Never see any full length rompers. Maybe I'll just take it and have a look and also see if Ariene can wear or not cuz she's kinda lengthy but skinny. Now, she's 79-80cm but 9.5kg only.

Mamanpanda,
i have some winter clothes which I got for Charmaine during our Australian trip. Err.. but that's when Charmaine's 6 mths. Think have a few pieces suitable for 1 yr old. But have to say, there could be yellow patches cos I have kept them in the storeroom for the past yr. Is that okay with you? If so, I can pass to CL during RP lunch or JG class then you coordinate with her? Let me know?

CL,
Can change teacher? Me and hubby were just discussing that in the car this morning. He said that he quite liked the classes but a bit disturbed at the Eng Teacher's attitude. Not sure if the other mummies noticed, she actually scolded one of the gals last sun for shouting while she's talking.

Mamapanda,
I have got some thick rompers that are good for winter for sales also. Rem sometime ago I posted saying going to clear my stock? I have yet to post in biz thread. But if u interested can pop in and see first. Click on the $9 tab. The beige one is thick and big (size provided)

www.freewebs.com/kidztee

ky

have u written anything on kiddyroo yet? Haven't seen it, dunno if i have missed it. If i have, can post me the link? thinking of going for their trial class.

mamapanda

think for the cashmere sweaters, it is usually prickly in singapore weather. But once you're there, it doesn't feel prickly anymore. It's probably due to the cold.

I had a few prickly looking sweaters and itched when i tried it in Singapore. But when i'm in cold countries, it feels warm and nice. Not prickly at all.

Since Ariene's skin is sensitive, bring tons of moisturiser, coz the skin will feel very dry & itchy esp if she has sensitive skin.

mommies

I just found out that temp in France is going to be less than 10 degrees... do u know where i can get those 1 piece suits to keep baby warm?

queen
Last time u were in london how u manage to latch on in the cold? I can't take the cold so i'll sure be bundled up, how to undo everything and latch? hmm... scratch head...

tabby
so u ordering hte wet wipes? i think i will order from steven too. can sms me his new no?

mamachan
yeah, JH will raise his hands, clap etc and when hte pple stop singing, he will keep asking me when they going to start and he will shake his body, shake his head etc. so funny.

and he likes to pray...

mamapanda
yeah, think cashmere sweater shd be good. can really protect agst the cold. does she need long johns? must buy a really good one. i got one that cost me more than 100 bucks but wear indoors won't feel hot and wear outdoors feel really warm too!

CL,
aiden missed his class too? edgar was down with infection from his nasal congestion. muscus was coming out from his eyes. so we didn't attend the last class. just wondering if i shld request for a make-up class. edgar is still continuing with his weekday classes at evans road so michelle will transfer my deposit there.

SY,
ya with the tummy getting bigger, it's getting very uncomfortable on my pelvic area. that's y i'm cutting down on edgar's classes.

tabbiesus,
u can try mothercare for those 1pc thick clothing. usually during winter period they have very nice such clothings. but now is not exactly year end yet, so i'm not sure if the stocks are in.

tabbiesus

yah, u can try mothercare. They've some winter clothes now but i find that it's a little expensive. Maybe u can try buying online?

SL
Itz, I didn't notice but agree she's not very good with kids.

CL, I think sleepingdeer mentioned winnie(?) is good. Maybe u can check her out

May,
How big is the thick rompers?

Tabbs,
Keep forgetting to ask you. When r u going to Paris? My hb will be going to France (not Paris tho) for 6 weeks sometime in mid Oct. Initially he asked me to join him without Mel but now he's having 2nd thots cos it finally sink in that he'll not see her for 6 weeks! But still thinking if I should go and to take Mel along too.

SY/wendyl
ya.. v soon.. I'm feeling v excited (and scared) too.. still worrying over how to cope..

Flo
I think it was normal poo, but my hb said it was a LOT!. He changed Ger.

CL
Pls let me know if the class is on Saturday morning. coz PM is Ger's nap time, so not so good for him. Wld love to join the class with the rest of you gals if it's possible.. heehee.. at least we can look out for our kids and also chit chat during our break hr. :p

Cheng
sleepingdeer said that there is this teacher called Winnie at evans who is good.

anyone know what credit card gives a discount for underwater world (UWW)? we're supposed to bring Ger to the zoo tom. But, it's been raining everyday. So, thinking of going to UWW instead. Thanks.

teacher at JG:
Winnie teaches the PlayNest leh. Not sure if she teaches Playclub. Edgar's current teacher,Meera, at his evans road playclub class is quite good.

oh and there is actually weekday bilingual playclub if u gals are interested. but only limited days and timing. not too sure about the exact details.

Flo

Winnie is the teacher at Evans Road. Got to check if you are ok the Sat class if you are going to Evans ? But I can only do 4 pm class if Sat since morning I having part time maid and Charmaine has got a 1 pm class at home.

SL
not popular lah. It is this bookstore call Children Book Centre. Ha ha shall i organise a makan session at cityhall follow by bookshop tour ha ha

Mamapanda
I have some clothings still with Rena when she went to Japan. I think might fit your gal since she petite in size. See if you can pick it up from her at Bishan when you are going Hougang or not.

Aileen
Aden missed class due to Great grandma's birthday lor.

Aileen
Edgar's infection sounds bad, is he feeling better?

Krissie
heehee, maybe Ger eat too much

CL
Humm, if 4pm I would prefer Sun cos we normally go to in-laws house on Sat evening. But I'll go with majority, will discuss with hb if we can make alternative arrangement.