(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

KY,
The school is in Pioneer Mall. Yes it is in Jurong West.

Here's the outline (3hrs class, theme based):

1) Circle Time (15 mins)
2) English (30mins)
3) Chinese (30 mins)
4) Break-Snack Time (15 mins)
5) Story Telling/Singing (20 mins)
6) Art & Craft (30 mins)
6) Montessori Activities (30 mins)
7) Watching educational DVD (10 mins)

I saw the curriculum for the whole yr already:
Jan (Family)
Feb (Animals)
Mar (Body)
Dec (Occasion.. x'mas, new year, etc)

Cannot remember the rest.. but basically they have the outline for the whole yr.

SSF

lucky u! Enjoy your trip. My hb said it's over our budget so cannot go.

SSF

I booked in July for my parents from 29 Sep - 6 Oct. Which flight you come back maybe same as my parents 3 pm ? Now I tempted to go because I tried the dates the ticket for adult is 726, aden is 258 and charmaine is 577. SGD 2278 for all 4 of us. Ha ha since you going we can book a big car then. Where you staying ?

Ky
It is indeed downstairs. My hb was unloading the car seat for me to change cover. Like that can ? My hb says we can say I am alone then aden vomit dirty himself and the car seat so no choice I have to carry the car seat with him in it so need to be as near to the lift as possible , can pass ?

SSF

I booked in July for my parents from 29 Sep - 6 Oct. Which flight you come back maybe same as my parents 3 pm ? Now I tempted to go because I tried the dates the ticket for adult is 726, aden is 258 and charmaine is 577. SGD 2278 for all 4 of us. Ha ha since you going we can book a big car then. Where you staying ?

Ky
It is indeed downstairs. My hb was unloading the car seat for me to change cover. Like that can ? My hb says we can say I am alone then aden vomit dirty himself and the car seat so no choice I have to carry the car seat with him in it so need to be as near to the lift as possible , can pass ?

CL
think you can just appeal. last time my fren also appealed saying she brought her kid to see doc.

can say things like first time offender blah blah. my sis appealed against her ERP fine and got it waived. i asked her what she say and she say first time offender such stuff.

going to give my letter later. very mixed feelings. today another colleague just resigned this morning. feel a bit bad to give my boss more bad news in one day. but i guess if i dun do it now, i may not do it in the end.

SY

If you make up your mind, just go ahead and tender. Good to do at end of day, I always do that then just short chat go home liao.

CL ... remembered i parked downstairs your place for 2 hrs?? there's one time we parked at the yt central circle and got fined. And we wrote in to say that we've to park there coz kid was terribly ill and we had to rush in to see the clinic, and can't waste time to park ... didn't pass lei.

don't know wat the rest think of the reason ... why u didn't park in your multi-storey?

.ky.

CL

haha, can lah. U can even say Aden LS until all over, so u need to rush home to change him. Or Aden was starving and u needed to feed him. Or you sprained your ankle and needed to be nearer the lift blah blah. Or simply becoz you're unloading stuff u bought (or Aden, hehe). That's what a loading/unloading bay for....to unload and load. Let them know you've a season parking coupon and you're not trying to avoid paying parking fees.

CL,
I wrote in once and passed. Gave excuse that carrying heavy stuff and alone so had to park nearby. :p I think your case can pass.

SY,
I know that kind of feeling. you will feel kinda of lost after that. not as relieved as you thought you will be. but after a while, it will be fine. I am going to give the letter tomorrow. Your notice period is 1mth? I will probably start with my new company on fri.

mamachan, are u looking for one with affordable montessori program? i've a fren who send her son to a montessori one at redhill ... i only remember that it's really cheap. will go ask her again

we were at pandan to watch the fireworks as well ... didn't catch the low ones but the high ones ... saw folks with tripod so settled there since the 'experts' were there. kinda disappointed though coz there's too much smoke. guess there's no wind and the smoke basically hovered around there ... no quite worth it leh. but for the kids, any fireworks, they'll like.... maybe we were not near enough to feel the atmosphere.

rena, i don't mind going on 24th aug to the zoo ... but weather looks wet these few days ... i can get a zoo pass *perhaps*. durianlover, is playgroup on or should we go to the zoo?

btw, anyone know wat happened to Tim in Hi-5. saw another guy on the poster and not him ... i'm just curious.

.ky.

queen, valerie,
how is the transport arrangement going to be like for lucas/kristen when u start him/her with Purple Train? both of you are going to fetch him/her to and fro?
That is my biggest headache for playgroup. that's why, decided to send clariss to half day cc. plus the fact that my MIL can't fetch her because she has to take care of my 2nd one when she is here and we don't have a maid.

Krissie,
we are kind of worried about having to take care of 2 kids by ourselves on weekends as well. we are managing well on weekends with the 2 of us taking turns to rest and play with her but with 2 kids, think we won't have time for ourselves. we don't even have a PT cleaner now. I do all the household chores on weekend while hb takes care of clariss. guess we need a PT help once the baby is out.

queen, valerie,
how is the transport arrangement going to be like for lucas/kristen when u start him/her with Purple Train? both of you are going to fetch him/her to and fro?
That is my biggest headache for playgroup. that's why, decided to send clariss to half day cc. plus the fact that my MIL can't fetch her because she has to take care of my 2nd one when she is here and we don't have a maid.

Krissie,
we are kind of worried about having to take care of 2 kids by ourselves on weekends as well. we are managing well on weekends with the 2 of us taking turns to rest and play with her but with 2 kids, think we won't have time for ourselves. we don't even have a PT cleaner now. I do all the household chores on weekend while hb takes care of clariss. guess we need a PT help once the baby is out.

CL, mongs
yeah i planned to do at the end of the day. My notice period is one month so i dun wan to delay. the new place quite good cos they allow me to start after i come back from my hol in Oct. so i also dun wan to delay too long.

re zoo
i would love to go again now that JH is older but can't make it on 24th. probably after i tender then i can join in more often.

SSF..and CL

Enjoy your Perth Trip....

Mashy brain
I also not take up this qantas offer...as hb dun like Australia

So we can Hi5

Mamachan
Reg: Barney Zoo DVD
I think we have the same DVD or VCD...the show not bad...Gracie like the show...right now she even can tell us PIG ...and showed us which is monkey and Elephant..

ky
Are you going to Hi5 show???

CL - hahaa so qiao! i am leaving on 28 Sept and returning on Oct 6. QF72 and return flight is QF77.
haha...i am staying in mont clare apt in Perth city and Koombana Bay Holiday Resort in Bunbury for the dolphins. I am still checking the site for a best value car rental. Looking at Camry car. the auto fullsize vehicle. so are u gg with ur parents as well?

re: car seat compulsory in aussie?
btw, does anyone know if car seat is compulsory in aust coz caleb does not like sitting in one. so if rent, maybe also for show only.

Have been super busy for the past two weeks and was also sick for the past two weeks as well. Sick and yet can't take leave...too much work to clear.

Still a little sick today, but better already...

SY - have you tender already?

RP lunch - if there is one, will like to join too.

SSF
think aussie is qt strict with car seats, seat belts, speed limit.

mongs
ya, i feel the same too. we hv a p/t helper to help us clean the place. weekends I'll cook and we'll do laundry. that's all.
but, still v tired. Esp, now that Ger is starting his terrible 2. my goodness, he'll throw his temper whenever he cant get what he wants and screams. very taxing.

taka bb fair
does anyone know if there's any good / special buys at the taka bb fair? me thinking whether to go or not.

mongs,
My ILs stay quite near Civic Centre so they'll be able to fetch him to and from Purple Train. I'm not comfortable with letting Isaac take school bus, hence I must find a playgroup or CC near my ILs where they can walk or take a short trip on the bus if possible.
Like you, me and HB are managing well without PT cleaner even when I was still a FTWM. My HB helps out in household chores and we are pretty efficient in doing them while Isaac is taking his nap. But I forsee that in the future when I do have #2, I think PT cleaner will be a good idea.

SSF,
Australians are very strict about car seats and other safety regulations. Rental for car seats are ex too. It's AUD$5 per day. We brought our own car seat there.

Speaking of which, Charmaine simply refuses to sit in the car seat nowadays - unless we keep feeding her tidbits..... how?

krissie,
I might be going to the taka fair tomorrow night. Anything that you want in particular? Sms me the price and item? I can get for you and pass to you at JG.

yuen,
I think it's the weather? I have been sick for the past week too. Spread it to hubby as well. : (

Re: RP lunch
Think it's Thur at Don Pie? That's the one near Planet fitness right?
1) SY
2) Flo
3) CL
4) SL
5) Yuen?
6) Tabbiesus?

mongs,
Err.. both me and hubby really no good at household chores plus I am sensitive to dustmite so we have outsourced the housework component to a PT help since getting our own place. She does the major chores while we do the minor ones. : )

Re: RP lunch
Think it's Thur at Don Pie? That's the one near Planet fitness right?
1) SY
2) Flo
3) CL
4) SL
5) Yuen
6) Tabbiesus?

throw temper
my boy have been throwing temper recently. can't get something he wants, will sit down and bang he head on the floor and start to cry....but he quite cute, will always find somewhere soft. If I scold him in the kitchen, he will run to the living room where his playmat is and then start crying there...delay effect...haha...ignore him and he cry louder till daddy/grandma pick him up...

ky
My criteria for looking for a suitable playgroup/cc/kindergarten is the convenience of putting Daren there and for my helper/mom to pick him up thereafter. Of course the centre's teaching style and beliefs are impt as well. It'll be great if you could PM me the details you got from your friend =)

I did look at Milk and Honey Day care centre (church-based) at Queenstown and consider when Daren is 2 years plus to send him there; heard good reviews from my gf who sent her girl there before, but they are fully booked for the time being. I've not been down to the facilities to take a look but I understand that they are non-airconditioned most of the time. The location is ideal as it makes it easy for me to deposit him there on my way to work and my helper or mom can pick him up easily and back home.

Cass,
Rory is so handsome! But I think his eyes are quite 'Asian'... got your eyes maybe?

Looks like Gabby has your HB's hair as well, very cute. I agree with you that Paris is so touristy... I couldn't feel the romance at all when I was there with HB and Isaac last year. Unlike Venice, I thought Venice was very romantic!

Cass

CONGRATS on your beautiful girl and your safe delivery!

Rory is absolutely gorgeous and simply adorable.. i love your videos, they are so cute of him

And now u have a new addition.. do post us more of her pics when u have time.

Will u be starting confinement?

I was reading your blog too re: paris with amusement, as i will be there next month.

Krissie
what do you need.. can get some good buys at the taka fair.

I bought a new car seat for new baby and a light weight stroller. I exchanged so old glass bottles and paid only half price of the pigeon ones. I also got necessities like cotton balls for bb and some toys for tabby.. like her new barney school bag!
which she has been carting around calling it elmo

SL, were u the one who was thinking of getting a new freezer bag cos your PIS one broke? Pigeon has a fridge to go version that allows u to take the cooling panel out to put in the freezer without having to put the whole bag in, so i think its better and on offer at 48+. Its supposed to keep things cool for 12 hours in 24degrees celsius conditions, in singapore, its supposed to last only 6 hours but the sales guy said that it can last 12 hours if u r in air cond room most time.

RE: Childcare
hmmm.. 2 days ago i called up pat's school house to find out about their playgroup, they finally got back to me today.. i am slightly miffed at the lady's "tao" attitude when i told them i was keen on putting taby there, she didn't even bother to explain their curricula to me and i had to ask. So sickening cos i had heard good things about them, now i have reservations...

RE: terror tantrums
taby throw them too but she doesn't necessarily scream but she does throw herself on the ground... more like drop to her knees and cries.. sometimes she lies down, but she hasn't done the flailing around bit...yet... so hopefully she won't get that bad... we keep telling her don't cry.. so after throwing mini tantrum she will self soothe and say to herself, "dont cry, don't cry" no more candy sniff sniff,, don't cry... sniff sniff... very endearing but sometimes so terribly notti!

RP lunch
I see if i can join you guys... i think i can only make it around 1pm cos i can squeeze my pump at 12 and then rush down by mrt

sysac

Yes.. i managed to get the hp form another thread.. they say that steven is not doing it anymore.. now its a girl called phoebe, but i haven't called her yet. U want the no? i pass to u.. i'm wondering if they have any promo soon... need to buy more wipes...

RE: Annaku bb wipes
has any one tried this brand.. i bought a pack during the JL sale and it absolutely positively is FOUL SMELLING.. was wondering if it is like that or i got a spoilt pack... thinking of bringing back to change.. i opened another pack and its just as stinky.. dunno if its just the perfume that comes with it.. but it is really horrible

tabb/sl
thanks.. actually, I dun need that many stuff.. just wondering if i shld go down to KPO... haha.. the items i need so far are qt small, like some teats, cotton balls, breast pads. heehee.. was thinking of getting some shorts for Gerald to wear and maybe some clothes for my bb girl if they hv nice and cheap ones.
So, thinking whether i shld make a trip down or not.

aiyo.. i cant sleep again tonite. think must be the green tea i had for lunch today.

Hi tabby
can you Pm or sms me the number for Phoebe?

Re:screaming toddler
Kae has been screaming lately, for a reason or for no reason. is your todd like this too?

Cass - congratulations on your bb girl! oh my my...Rory is soooo handsome! u seems to have a fun time living in Europe ...and even visiting Paris when ya preggy. how nice! if only singapore is that big and fun...can travel from one place to another. in my dreams maybe. haha...

yuen yuen/krissie/sl - oh really..in that case, will rent the car seat for show then. thanks. bringing it is quite heavy lei...coz with 2 bbs..i can already start imagine the bulk of items i have to carry. i managed to find a site that charges only A2 bucks per day for rental of car seats.

krissie - my SIL bot a philip baby monitor in the taka fair for Jadon's 1 mth. UP is 200 bucks..now its only 100 bucks. she said the stuffs there are cheaper than UP lor. she stocked up pigeon breast pads and bought some warmer bags from avent.

re: taka fair
anyone knows when is it ending?

SSF

The price for the philip monitor is same everywhere even at their centre. It is just that at the baby fair there is free thermometer and somthing else which I cannot remember.

The fair will end on 2 Sep

Cass
You are so blessed with a charming and cute Rory and beautiful Gabrielle. How is Rory reacting to the little princess ?

Cookie
Aden does that too. Walk then out of no where he scream for fun. I think it is part and parcel of them growing up though there are lots of things I experience with Aden but not with Charmaine

Krissie
I can imagine what you mean. For Aden i only bought a few sets of clothes, new bottles, new sterilizer, bottle detergent and laundry detergent. Nothing much is new. Then later add in a few toys.

drugstore spree #2
Need to buy more Desitins. Anyone got anything else to get from drugstore?

A+D 4oz
Got 1 new tube & 1 just opened tube of A+D 4oz to sell. Anyone wants to take over for $10?

Brita water filter
The water filter was brillent. Good buy and much cheaper than the OSIM one though it works the same. Now my water tastes so pure and sweet. Tried tasting the unfiltered tap water. YICKS. Tastes horrid and the chlorine taste *yucks*. If anyone interested, can ride on my drugstore spree to get.

RE: HFMD
I was informed by Gracie teacher that her school mate from Toddler class also got HFMD

Ohhhh....and yesterday after back from work..I check on her palm , feet and tongue..I saw a few blisted sport on her hand and some on her buttock
I quickly brought her to PD. PD advise us to monitor her for a few days and he said depend on the child immune system. Some might have fever and suffer a lot but some no fever and still active..
What I can do now is monitor her and watch out on hygine..
As Gracie was contact with SIL daughter and son on last sunday...so high chance they might get affected...this morning called SIL and she sound like very "Zhen Ting" she told me not to worried

I really worry now and not sleep well for the night...

Yuki,
How you take care your child when he has HFMD???

Linda,
Sounds like Gracie has got it, but don't worry, some kids get only a mild case and they can go through it smoothly. My younger nephew had the full-blown one, while his bro only had a mild case. Be sure to give Gracie lots of fluids. If she doesnt wanna take water, give ice cream, yogurt, soup...anything dats got water to keep them hydrated. Hang in there...

linda
HFMD depends on immunity. monitor Gracie and see whether got fever, change in appetite etc.

When JH had HFMD, he was relaly terrible at night. will cry non stop cos of the pain and cannot drink his milk. but in the day he will be better

RP lunch
where is don pie?

i have tendered already. felt really bad to be doing this at this time to my boss as my colleague also leaving. i can literally see his stress level shooting up. he did ask whether i can delay for half a year but i told him if i can't find a job in half a year, then my hb won't let me quit. he was quite understanding abt it though.

today a bit upset with hb. we had planned to go to korea from 15th to 21st Oct and i will start work on 22nd and suddenly he said he got to travel on 22nd and ask me to shift our plans. upset cos i already booked the tickets and also cos i will be starting on 22nd and wanted him to be ard when i start on new job...haiz..no choice.

Cass
i think i missed the link. can post again? wan to see your prince and princess.

thinking of starting JH on playgroup since i can't go PT for the time being. but main concern still transport. i have to let JH take sch bus. anyone tried to let your kid take sch bus so far?

tabb
actually i din hear that many good things abt Pat. think they can be quite tao one.

re terrible 2
think JH is behaving like that too. when he wakes up in the morning, he will cry non stop until we play his vcd for him.... haiz

CL
my hb say he will go deaf with her screaming :p
last nite.. rite before she fall asleep, she scream twice. I din thik she do it out of fun, she was already half asleep but not sure what make her scream and scream

CL - oh sept 2 har..ok good. can wait till hb returns from his biz trip before gg down tis weekend.

linda - dun worry and monitor for now. maybe its a false alarm. meanwhile, go read up a little on HFMD and if really have, at least u are prepared for it.

SY - so u finally tendered. dun worry abt ur boss...now just look ahead for your new job to come.
cass's web is http://casschan.livejournal.com/

wil u be penalise for your cancellation? JH gg to Korea too?
aiya ur hb consider good already as he dun travel so frequent...mine is travelling 2 days this week in indo, next week 4 days in vietnam, following week 3 days in Bangkok and next following week 4 days in shanghai. its driving me insane insane insane! lucky i got a confinement lady else i think i will go bonkers!

SSF
you hb really travel alot.. and you are very steady ley. I somehow rely alot on my HB to give moral support. Just seeing him around make me feel better, cannot imagine if my hb travel so heavily.

cass

Congrats! Your children are all so good looking.

SY
Do u have to pay penalty? Now i'm contemplating going to Taiwan as it's cheaper.

BTW, NATAS fair will be in Sept. Anyone been to Taipei? Is it child friendly? Easy to get ard? Any hotel recommendations?

Mashy

I went last year sep. Now the weather there quite bad right ? Go later stage. I went early sep and it is so hot.

They oso have MRT , it is very easy to get around. I stayed at the far end at Beitou but still good. I got my taipei colleague to book me a service apartment 2 bedroom for my fil, sil with 1 child plus me and hb and Charmaine. I am like staying in a 3 room flat and paid SGD 200 per night. http://www.chinatrust-hotel.com.tw/CRM/default.aspx?TYPE=test.htm&PT=hotel_x0&flt_upper_cat_no=x14&CATNO0=&CATNO1=xD1&CATNO2=x14&CNT=2&IDX=0.0&tv_TCAT_POS=0

I feel Taipei has many similarity to Japan.

Mashy
i haven ticketed yet. but my concern now is that i may have problem getting tickets.

i also was thinking of taiwan...

SSF
yes i finally tendered. starting new job on 22nd Oct.
quite excited but really sad to leave my colleagues.

yup i will be bringin JH along to korea. but now need to think of alternative. shd be either HK/Bali.