(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mommies

I just found out tangs having sale on wed and thurs with 12% rebate... their crayola range also quite good.. so if they have store wide 20% off N 12% rebate... the crayola stuff may be quite worth it.

I bought my first set of crayola SO BIG crayons there at 9.90 so if with 20% off n rebate.. maybe worth your time... I'm a card member and i am thinking of going down this wed when they open... anyone want to join me? If I go, i'll check out the prices n sms u all n see if u want to get..

SY can PM me your HP no. if u want me to help u check out. I dun think i have your no.

CL sorry ah.. where exactly is this place... the crab bee hoon looks so yummy, i want to bring my hubby to eat... do they open on weekends? Crowded or not ah?

Crayola

Ha ha sounds like I want to either shop at Tangs or John little after class today. Maybe Tangs since we are per entry parking at Forum liao.

Crab Bee Hoon
The place is at
DON YOUR PERSONAL PIE CLUB PTE LTD
25 China Street #01-34/35/36. (Near far east Square or the China Square)
Tel 63274344 / 65360925

Yes they are open on weekend as we plan to bring fil to try. But cannot remember the timing.

May
You are realli preparing in advance.

Rainy Season - Laundry
Hey mummies I juz bought a new toy for myself. As we did not plan to get a washing dryer so my kitchen or toilet does not have space for one. Having hanging it all around the house to air dry since working full time and weekend we are always out. Check out this gadget www.globalcreative.com.sg. Bought, tested and confirmed it does dry within 2 hours. Realli come in time for this season. Currently they only have digital and it is selling at $179. The lady came to do demo with no obligation. Used to retail at Tangs at $239. ( The sad things is I actually paid $279, got fine for $100 because I parked at the loading and unloading bay, thot only short demo at my house so never go to the multi storey carpark)

RE: JL

SOrry moms.. i just realised that the nursery 20% doesn't extend to crayola... the last week i bought was during the 20% storewide discount so got the extra discount. sorry...

so cl u can go to tangs and check out, then see if u want to get anything during the sale on wed / thurs...

may
It can apply to everyone who's willing to divulge the into, not just those in the spree. I can help keep the list so when others need it, I can also help to disseminate.

CL
can appeal one.. write to HDB and appeal. esp you are season parking holder. GIve them a reason that it's urgent or u need to unload grocery. and itf it is your 1st time.. chances are they will accept. even if u have paid they will refund you.
Good Luck

sorry mummies
Couldn't wake up this morning in time to meet up with ChickenLIttle so no chance to pass the Elmo DVD to her. Maybe tonight when she comes back or next week.

valerie / Flo,
I'm only thinking of letting Isaac join Jan 08. I'm kind of settled on Purple Train as well, though still need to convince my HB. I'll probably arrange a session with them to tour the place during one of their playgroup sessions.

RE: Classes
Finally I found one school that offers $150, 3 times a week class (3hrs each day). It's near my mum's house and will be signing up Jamie for that to start Jan 08. It's abit of normal school settings cum Montessori based.I am pretty happy with the classroom setting. Hope she can learn something there.

At first tot can put her into CC halfday. But I dun think she will be able to wake up by then to attend 7am to 1pm class. So 9am to 12noon class which this school offer will be good enough. Too bad they only offer 3hrs class for playgroup.

mongs - congats on your new job!

mamachan - ic...thot it was a compulsory thing to do for maid. just checking..thanks for clarifying.

flo - oops thanks for correcting me. Blur..so it was wenyl. haha..

cl - ya cookie is right...you can try appealing. normally can be waive. Try using your 2 kids as an excuse and sounds apologetic and promise not to do the same thing again. shld work

JG class
1. Denmy
2. Tabbi
3. ChickenLittle
4. Sleepingdeer
5. Cheng
6. Flo
7. Aileen
8. SH
9. AK
10. SL
11. Krissie

Sichida class
1. Rena
2. wenyl

Working in RP area
1. chickenlittle
2. SY
3. SL
4. Flo
5. Denmy

Home town
1. Slinky, Durianlover, Rachel - B.Panjang
2. ChickenLittle, KY - CCK
3. sleepingdeer - B.Batok
4. Tabbi - Holland
5. tracy, wenyl - Punggol/Hougang
6. Cookie, SH, SY - Pasir Ris
7. Flo - Woodlands
8. SSF - Tampines

toddler's name/ total qty/ freq/ timing/ brand
1) clariss/ 600ml/ 4x/ 7am,11am,330pm,930pm/ Gain IQ
2) megan / 660ml / 4x / 6.30am, 9.30am, 3pm, 930pm / Friso
3)Celeste/ 540ml / 3x / 8.30am, 3.30pm, 9.30pm
4) kaelyn / 600ml / 3x / 8am, 330pm, 1030pm /GainIQ
5) charmaine/260ml(BM) + 120ml(FM)+latch-on/Isomil Advanced 2
6) tabby/ 480ml /3x of 90-180ml 6am, 4 pm, 9.00pm/ other times 60-120mls is hidden in cereal or food. Gain
7) isaac / 400 - 600ml / 2x or 3x of 180-200ml / 7am, 3pm, 9pm / sometimes 1 to 2 scoops hidden in cereals / Mamil Gold
8) JW/ 660ml / 3x / 7am, 10.30am/9.30pm/Gain IQ
9) aidan / 800ml / 4x 200ml, 7am, 10am, 4pm and 10pm (gain iq)
10) Edgar / 600ml / 3x / 10.30am, 2.30pm, 9.15pm.
11) Janelle / 540ml / 3x180ml / 7:30am, 4pm, 8:30pm / Neslac
12) Daren / 720ml / 3 x 240ml/ 8am, 4.30pm, 9.15pm/Progress Gold
13) Ariene / 400-500ml? / 3xlatch, 1xbottle(100-150ml), cornflakes with 1/2bowl fresh milk breakfast
14) Joash/ 600 ml / 3 x 200ml (sometimes 4 times)/ 9am, 1pm, 7pm(sometimes), 9pm/ Pediasure (Vanilla)
15) Jamie/ 1000ml / 5x / 6am,9am,1pm,9pm,12midnight (lunch@11am, dinner@5pm, some adult food@7plus), Friso
16)Megan / 720ml / 4x/730am,11am,3pm,1030pm / Progress Gold
17) Mel/ 500-650ml/ 3-4x/9am/4pm/9pm/1030pm/Enfagrow
18) Aden/ 1000 ml/4X/ 6 or 7 am, 10 am, 3 am, 8.30 pm/ Gain IQ
19) JH/300-400ml/3x/ 11.30am, 4.30pm and maybe 9.30pm/ Mamil
20)damien 300ml 2x 7am and 8pm / GAINIQ with cereal
21) Kirsten/~600ml/3-4x/7.30am, 3pm, 8pm/Gain IQ
22) Caleb/~600ml/3-4x/7.30a.m,10.30,7p.m,10pm/Mamil Gold

re cc vs playgroup
i guess it depends on what u r looking for. for children who have caregivers at home, it makes more sense to attend playgroup. cc will have other things like snack, nap etc and it will be more disciplined. whereas playgroup will be mroe education focus.

re crayola
thanks Tabb and CL for sharing where to find the stuff. but the range of prices for crayola products in sg can be quite wide. i find very different prices in different areas.

CL
the pic of the crab bee hoon making me hungry. must take 2 hours to eat?? that long??

so many posts to catch yp with. taking a break from studying. Studied till my eyes crossed liaoz.

Something cute to share
While I was studying, Daren was playing on his own, stacking blocks (something I got around to intro and do with him 2 weeks back), so once he's stacked 5 FP blocks on top of each other, he will pull the bottom one and let the tower topple over and then, place both hands to his cheeks and shaked his head and went, "No, no!!" I can't help but laugh away, and that helped brighten my sleepy, studying mode. He reminded me of the show, Home Alone, where the little boy actor slapped some aftershave lotion onto his cheeks. haha, dunno where he learn from as no one at home does that.

MMI @ Claymore
I visited yesterday morning for the trial. 1st time hearing and seeing for myself what Montessori based teachings are about and I would say I'm impressed. I quite like the way how they intro alphabets (by feel and sounds via phonics) and counting to the young toddlers and that when it comes to Montessori teaching time, it's on a one to one basis (so that means the students will take turns to have one to one session with the teachers). They even have a timetable drawn up by the teachers on the individual lesson plan catered to the learning focus and ability per child. The price they quoted me if I were to opt for flexi-scheme 3 x 1/2 day(am) a week, it would be $517 (after GST and $50 subsidy). Might consider when I get converted back to FT work end of the year or if I get to transfer to other departments. But Claymore abit out of the way and logistics wise, tricky to plan. Compared to MMI at West Coast Road which is fully air-conditioned and Claymore, though West Coast Branch is cheaper by at least $120 plus, I still prefer Claymore branch as they try to make it as a natural environment (ceiling fans and opened windows).

SY,

You will need a while to finish the bee hoon then eat the crab bit by bit. Maybe we can 2 share 1 crab bee hoon and have cakes as dessert. Ha ha so sinful.

CL
Ha! YOur talk about the crab bee hoon made my hb lao nua =P kekeke, showed him the pictures of the crab bee hoon. The RP lunch sounds good, am on study leave this week. Maybe can sneak out for a short break from my studies and join you all. When are you all meeting up? Thursday? Friday is my last paper.

SY
If I'm meeting you ladies for RP lunch, I can collect my Benefit items from you and pay you in person as well? My IB poin should come in by Monday *cross fingers*

mamachan
Can share how u got the trial at MMI claymore.. i stay just opposite. Was deciding pat's but since u say that MMI is so good.. maybe i should go for the trial.. how many bb's in the group.. u mean they have so few bb's or so many teachers... or they take turns teaching 1 at a time...how much is the trial?

Hmm.. maybe i can let tabby decide.. let her trial at pat's and then at MMI.
if u choose MMI claymore, i'd be happy to enrol tabby there too, at least she will have a friend there..

btw, will u let your helper bring daren to childcare or will u bring him there yourself?

When do u intend to start daren on flexicare?

CL
ya la.. ur crab bee hoon make me so lau nua too...
i'm so tempted to join u guys for the RP lunch...

hi Tabbiesus
I got a trial voucher via the Motherhood exhibition earlier on this year and they actually followed up. The trial is free, you could call them up to ask if you could drop by or ask when's the trial again. Currently, they have 10-15 toddlers in their playgroup and the teacher ratio as recommended is 1:8, so they have 2 teachers and one assistant teacher. However, not all 10 - 15 toddlers are together everyday at the same time as some are full-day, some are on this flexi-half day. In fact, the lady, Ms Puja (I think that's how it's spelt, she's Brit Indian), highly encouraged us to go back on a weekday say Monday or Tuesday mid-morning and take a look at how they run the playgroup proper so we will have a better understanding as only 3 todds turned up on Sat. I've never seen or understood how a Montesorri actually worked, and I had ideas on my own how to intro the alphas to Daren in terms of sound association to each alphabet. So it's pretty much in tune to what I was thinking and MMI appealed to me.

Do let Tabby try out both Pat's and MMI and you should see and get the feel for yourself too. They will spend some time per child to engage them in the Montesorri session during the allocated time. We asked about the issues of discipline, for them, they believe in talking to them rationally to tell them not to do it again. We also asked about how their style of learning can be incorporated in the normal primary school systems and they explained that it will start from K1 where they will start to incorporate more worksheet time together in a group setting and class setting. Sounds pretty fair to me. oh, they have a swimming pool too! But that's from nursery onwards.

If possible, I would prefer to bring Daren to the child-care in the mornings before work, but fetching him home would have to be my helper or mom if she's in town. I think they are still too young for schoolbus. I might be considering starting next Jan 2008. =) Have to plan out and think through the logistics.

It has been a long time since i drop by the thread. Hope everyone is doing well. Had been busy with work hence less time to drop by.

Hi Mamachan and Tab,

Ashley is in a Montessori based school and she enjoy it. What i like about the system is that they teach lots of general knowledge, cultivate self confidence etc.
The teachers there made up their own songs based on the theme they teach so that the children picks them up really easily. Even simple things like reading books to them - they make a point to tell them who is the authors, illustrators etc.

Overall i am very please with Ashley progress.

Cass
congrats..

SSF
ya, I was looking at the list and started feeling panicky since I'm next on the list. Lately, I'm starting to feel the jitters. Maybe coz we dun hv maid, so am really worried abt how we're going to manage in future with the both of them.

mamachan
yeah, we meeting on thur. do come if u can.

oh, so your 'misery' ends on fri...we have a pre celebration for u on thur.

krissie

dun worry, you'll manage... also it helps cos ger is at CC already right? Cos i find that looking after tabby is tiring, the newborn is a breeze. do u have a CL? Cos that helps too esp for the 1st mth when u are recuperating... for me i din have one but hb on leave n mom came by. My maid only does most of the cooking and cleaning... she helps with feeding tabby and occ. watching her but i'm around mostly so i am usu. supervising. Anyways, u'll be more experienced 2nd time round. I guess its like that with no 2.. with no 1 i would jump at every sound tabby made.. but with THad, i'd wait awhile to see if he's really fussing cos of discomfort or boredom. Not that i don't worry, i think that's still natural, but u just don't sweat the small stuff anymore cos really no energy!

During confinement, remember to take chicken essence.. dunno why, i find that it gives a bit of kick of energy... esp since can't drink coffee or tea! U need every ounce of energy cos of the late nights.

One word of advice, really enjoy the 2-3 days u have in the hosp, when the nurses help u take care of no. 2 esp if Ger is not with u... rest as much as u can.. try not to take visitors or if u do, try and see them all at one go so u can just sleep n rest.. i didn't get to rest cos sadly my relatives buay zhi dong.. park themselves in my room from lunch to 8+ at night!!! humph... imagine my discomfort wanting to sleep and nurse but with a bunch of ppl in the room! I really regretted, but relatives, so sigh.. what to do? in the end, went home still feeling tired... so just make the most of your time of rest when u can.

mamachan
thanks! I got the voucher too but mine is for 1 week and they have been chasing me to go...

btw.. jiao you! u very zhai ah... study work and still got so much energy... good luck for ur exams!

SY
what time is the RP lunch? I'd love to join too but need to see if will clash with my pump time... argh! now life revolve around when i have to pump, luckily its only 3 times a day!

yuki
thanks on the advice on the montessori school teaching.. i have no doubts that its good, just that a friend warned me that the MMI may not be "pure" montessori teaching but just montessori based.. so i didn't know if that was good.

Actually for me, i don't really care what system they teach with cos I'm quite happy with tabby's progress.. i just want her to be stimulated and have the opportunity to do more art and crafts and music cos she loves these activities now.. and of course i'd like her to learn some discipline and order...one thing i noticed at JG is that initially she would be upset with cleaning up time.. now she actually helps put stuff away which altho she doesn't do at home i'm surprised she recognises that at school she has to do this and actually follows through with it... so i think some sort of playgroup/ cc/ structured play be it informal amongst ourselves or formal school is helpful in instilling some sort of routine in our kids...

CL
Wow, the crab bee hoon is make me drool. Pass by the shop so often but never step in before.

I thot forum is per hour parking?

The gadget looks cool, will try to sound out hb if he's keen. He kept asking me not to buy any more stuff cos the house got too many thing oredi.

Tabbs,
We normally meet around 12.30. Try to steal some time off from your 2 little darlings before you start work.

Your relatives really 'bua zi tong'. Ya I find having to 'entertain' vistors @ the hospital/at home during confinement is really tiring. I think if I've #2, I'll tell them visit me only during baby shower...haha

Queen/Valerie
I'm also thinking of starting Mel with playgroup in Jan 08 cos she's prob more ready for daily class after being with JG for 2 terms. Humm, come and think of it prob Jan is not a good time then since they most likely will have a lot of new intake.

SY
Hahaha, mini celebration....maybe can really celebrate next year Mar period when I officially finish my course =P but yes, would love to have lunch with you all. =) Not a crabby person though I can talk quite abit of crap at times *doh* kekekekeke. Sorry, 2am humor and info overload.

tabbiesus
Ha! Me not zhai lah. There are other moms even more zhai than me! Sysac and god's_child also doing their p/t studies too and longer time frame =) It's a way of upgrading myself since I'm not a grad, hopefully this special diploma will value add and have some pay increase!

Entertaining of visitors at hospital
I remembered telling my hb when he was sending out mass smses to our friends to just announce the arrival of our boy, but not to mention which hospital/ward/bed. Only immediate families and closer relatives came and some closer friends. We informed all to come during the 1st month celebration. So I had the luxury of not entertaining any visitors...only had to "entertain" the soreness from C-sect wound and nipples from BF.

krissie
Don't worry too much. Am sure you'll cope fine =) At this stage, impt for Ger and hb to really bond and for hb to take over certain duties from you to care for Ger. Think most impt is to just enjoy the process one day at a time. Chicken_Little and Denmy are really amazing at handling 2 and 3 respectively!

Flo,
I think men are the same. I try to sound my hb out also. He said something similar. "Huh, u think our house still not enough things ah!"

RE: Entertaining visitor
I did not have much also. Tabby, if I were u, I will say "u all continue hor, I take a nap." Think they will get the msg. In fact I was pretty bored in hospital as hb and my mum take turns to be there. Can still rem I am a crybaby..when everyone left at night, I cried. Cos I never stayed in hospital before and was alone in the room as my co-bedder discharged on the first day.

CL

yah, can appeal against summons. I once appealed coz i parked without displaying a coupon to pick up my sick boy and they waived it off for me.

krissie - dun panic...second bb shld be more zai. breastfeeding will be a breeze this time and like tabbiesus says, when the bb cries, you won;t be so gan cheong like the first time. hahaa...even bathing shld be easier. i still remember hb and me refer to the book on how to bathe bb..we even practise first before we bathe Caleb. haha...but then when caleb starts wailing...we start getting panicky and even missed some steps. thinking back, its just so funny. this time round, we are definitely not referring to any book. kekeke..

mamachan - all the best for your studies. mar 08 is quite fast....soon it will all be over. Press on ya!

re: Qantas promo
hi mummies...Qantas is having some promotion. I have booked my flight to Perth. 3 Adults and 2 Infants for only 2.5K. Taxes all included. Cheap right? So for those who are planning for vacation, can check out Qantas.

CL - E-mail them to get a waiver!! I have done it a few times for my sis' bf and my own HB.. and it always get waived hee
once they rejected and i went in to lodge another 'more aggressive' appeal... and i succeeded! My family always say i very kiang in writing such complaint/appeal letters haha... btw, ur bee hoon looks reali nice! will KIV to ask HB there tis weekend...

Mamachan - all the best to ur exams!!! so shiok, aft tis Fri can party liao... me got tons of assignments due soon... sianz...

Re : Funni bed time scene
Sat nite when i was puttin celeste to bed, with lights off... she started to pick up her Elmo baby ( swaddled by me ), then stood up and carried her Elmo to side of the bed. She then took out her own chut chut and stuff it into Elmo's mouth and also tucked her fave bolster to Elmo... wats most funni was - she then pat Elmo on the chest saying : baby sleep sleep.. and started to rock the it to and fro... hahaha. then when the chut chut fell out ( since Elmo's mouth is practically open wide 100% of the time ), she will get kancheong and go , eh chut chut? then quickly picked up and give her 'baby' again...

Hi mummies;

Thanks for ur well wishes....i can't post pic here cos this is a new PC and it doesn't have any program to downsize Gabby's photos. Anyone knows any freeware I can use from the web? I did upload her photos on my blog though - www.livejournal.com/casschan

cookie;
you're not alone. my right nipple is super sore!!! i can't latch her on at all and nipple shield dont work. so i'm expressing milk from right breast and feeding direct from left. i didn't manage to successfully bf Rory so i'm determined to make it work this time.

You're not alone, jia you! BTW...it 3am here

ky
erh.. is there a requirement to update the passport photo?

tabb / mamachan
thanks for the encouragement. Yup, hv booked a CL. hope she wont play me out. And yes, hb is v close with Ger. So, he wont hv prob looking after Ger. Am really praying that my 2nd bb will be a breeze, no colic, wind or reflux. Ger was colicky and cried for few hrs every nite, which was v draining for us.
Anyway, I tell myself that this bb was God's plan for us (coz we didnt plan for it). So, I'm sure, he'll help me to cope.

SSF
sorry, just saw your posting. Thanks.. I'm hoping that bf will also be a breeze. I tell myself to just do my best and God will do the rest.

6) tabby/ 480ml /3x of 90-180ml 6am, 4 pm, 9.00pm/ other times 60-120mls is hidden in cereal or food. Gain
7) isaac / 400 - 600ml / 2x or 3x of 180-200ml / 7am, 3pm, 9pm / sometimes 1 to 2 scoops hidden in cereals / Mamil Gold
13) Ariene / 400-500ml? / 3xlatch, 1xbottle(100-150ml), cornflakes with 1/2bowl fresh milk breakfast
14) Joash/ 600 ml / 3 x 200ml (sometimes 4 times)/ 9am, 1pm, 7pm(sometimes), 9pm/ Pediasure (Vanilla)
15) Jamie/ 1000ml / 5x / 6am,9am,1pm,9pm,12midnight (lunch@11am, dinner@5pm, some adult food@7plus), Friso
23) Gerald ~690ml (weekdays) 7am, 1pm, 9pm / GAin IQ (Weekends - up to 750ml extra 1 feed)

RE: Indian Wedding
My PT helper is getting married. She is from India. Can I check with u all, I think someone posted quite sometime ago that red packet got to end with $1 huh? What should I give her? Buy a gift? (but what to get?) or Give red packet? (how much to give?)

Sysac,
Panu is getting married leh. She is leaving end of the mth and will come back 1mth later. Her hb will be coming over to Singapore with her also. Till now I haven't change her cos cannot find any one that is available for Sat AM.

Morning,..

RE: HFMD
I got a information Announcement from Gracie CC..one of the children from Playgroup class has got HFMD..
I a bit worried if Gracie might be affected by him/her although Gracie is in Toddler Class..
What I can doing now is checking her temprature and her body if she got small spots/blisters or mouth ulcers..

SSF
The Qantas promotion sound good to me...hmmmm

Fines
Thanks mummies I will do that. Any suggestion of a good excuse you have used and got it wavied ?
Ha ha maybe good to keep a template.

Perth
I also want to go. Lucky you SSF, I booked my parents for SEp to Oct , it cost 2 adult $1.4K

23) Gerald ~690ml (weekdays) 7am, 1pm, 9pm / GAin IQ (Weekends - up to 750ml extra 1 feed)
24) Caleb S/540ml /3x /8am, 3pm, 9pm / Promil Gold

Hi Queen,
hv replied your email rgding Gap spree..

Hi Cass

Congrats on your girl!! Just to share something funny... was trying to view your blog but instead this page came out:

Page Not Found
I'm sorry, you've reached a page that I cannot find. I'm really sorry about this. It's kind of embarassing. Here you are, the user, trying to get to a page on LiveJournal and I can't even serve it to you. What does that say about me? I'm just a webserver. My sole purpose in life is to serve you webpages and I can't even do that! I suck. Please don't be mad, I'll try harder. I promise! Who am I kidding? You're probably all like, "Man, LiveJournal's webserver sucks. It can't even get me where I want to go." I'm really sorry. Maybe it's my CPU...no that's ok...how bout my hard drives? Maybe. Where's my admin? I can't run self-diagnostics on myself. It's so boring in this datacenter. It's the same thing everyday. Oh man, I'm so lonely. I'm really sorry about rambling about myself, I'm selfish. I think I'm going to go cut my ethernet cables. I hope you get to the page you're looking for...goodbye cruel world! - the webserver

Haha... this sure beats a boring error page msg. =)

Mamachan - Good luck for your exams! Study hard, take care & it's yippee aft Thu.

God's_child - U r rite! Tons of assigment. I have a sleep deprived week last week. I always find Celeste such a entertaining little girl!

Tabbiesus - Hope u manged to the the HP No. for the Angel wipes!

CL - Just say that you had a bb and was waiting for someone to come help you with the bb and your gadget. Sure waive one! :p

May - Wow, u r still using Panu. I guess she is alright. So u will do w/o her for abt a month before she comes back huh.

Rena
Haha. I was thinking of going to the zoo with Daren this week after my exams too, but have to be 25th Aug, Sat morning =P my last paper is 24th evening. Unless you wanna go on Sat instead =)

Clare
That's a really funny and bo liao web error page. Very Innovative.

Sept03Bride
Welcome back home! =)

god's_child
no need to envy. By the time it's your turn to have exams, I would have started my modules in mid-Oct...can't wait for my module to start again. I was crazy enough to look through what S.P has to offer in terms of any interesting courses =P I'm sure you'll do well for your course =) jia you! next year will come and go very fast.

Sysac
Ha! Last paper on Friday evening. So "celebration" will be thereafter. And no classes after that till mid-Oct!! Happiness is the word to describe post-exams. hahahahaha. Can spend Mon-Wed evenings with Daren and pak tor with hb after he sleeps, can watch the 9 plus shows. Gonna catch Bourne Ultimatum and 881 after exams =P

Sat Fireworks
We actually were crazy enough to go catch the fireworks last Sat! Had a bday dinner with my mom at the Park Royal Beach Road and we detoured towards the Marina Boulevard (I think that's the road name) and illegal parked along side the road where many other cars also parked and walked up Benjamin Sheares Bridge! Tiring climb but it's all worth it. The fireworks were lovely and really 1st time as a family watched fireworks so up close and personal. Daren was so awed by it and it was for a good 15 min to watch the displays. But the traffic thereafter was madness!! Jammed all the way till Lau Pat Sat for an hour! Any mummies went to catch the fireworks display as well?

Hi Tab,

Talka bout Bui Zhi Tong.... When i gave birth to Megan, my CEO actually drop by to visit me with his wife who is also a director of the company. Not so much of a concern about me but rather to update me on the office work and pass me a laptop to work from home! When Megan was crying for milk and i am breastfeeding, they still stand by the ebd and talk! I actually walk out to find a common room for breastfeeding and the nurse saw it, went to my room and ask them to leave. And they still hand in tehre for at least another 3 mins giving last min instructions. I was very mad and hubby even madder and nearer want to throw them out of the room!

Thank goodness i had a change of management when i came back from maternity leave. Even throughout the ML, they keep calling me..... Can;t stand them.

Montessori - actually i dun know how to differentiate btw Montessori and true montessori..... just pleased with ashley's progress.
I was initailly worried that Montessori will be too 'angmoh' and i have also heard students from Montessori are unable to adapt to the Pri system. The teachers addressed this concern,saying that they are aware of the Pri sch syllabas so they will start basing on that from K1 onwards. That's where they learn to write compositions etc....

For ashley's school, tehy have theme talk once a week to talk about what they learn etc to build up their confident in speaking out. Ashely still building up that confidence.

krissie, erm, no requirements to update passport photo, only if you think your child looks different.

may, where's the 3-day playgroup u found in? in jurong west?

CL, where did u get fined at? not downstairs your place right? since it's loading/unloading, come up with a good reason that you are indeed unloading something but u got stuck in the lift and along the corridoor, and perhaps even getting into the house door. and depending on the time that the fine is given n u found it, u could be possibly stuck for quite a while. I know the parking fines is now outsourced and they may take a while to come back to you, but after u appeal, you can ignore the fine deadline and just wait for them to reply u on the appeal.

good luck!

.ky.

mashybrainz - is it? which dates did you choose? i book 28 sept depart...back on 6 oct. and on sat, it still states SALE.

linda - ya qantas sales is good. coz the timing is 9am depart singapore and arrive perth at 2p.m. return is 12pm from perth and back to singapore at 5p.m. the sales price is not at wee hrs which is good.

chicken_little - when did u book? just only...to perth also? I paid $688 per adult to perth and infant is 200+ only. taxes all incl. my sis told me on the deals last sat..so we immediately cancel our SQ ones (coz on waiting list due to redemption) and quickly book qantas. if the prices really increase...then we are really blessed!

a note on montessori, it depends on how much u believe in it. mmi is tailored towards singapore, with worksheets given. this is to suit singaporean parents' mentality. however, like some of you have said, to me, whether it's a montessori or not doesn't matter as much as having a good environment where children enjoy learning. I was looking for a montessori around cck and find that the price is not = to what i'm getting. Visit a school to see what u like or not. I sat in a MMI class for more than an hr and left deciding I didn't quite like it as much as before I see it.

.ky.

Mamachan - U have your break all planned out. I understand what you are going through. My break is also in Oct. I am sooooo looking forward to it. Presently, all 3 modules have assignments plus 3x classes a week. I am already looking for spa/facial treatments to pamper myself during the term break! Haha...

I was planning to bring Cephas for the fireworks display but forgot all about it until yesterday! I went last yr but forgot abt this yr's. Sotong me!

mashybrainz - ya u are right...the price went up!!! i checked in qantas same timing same flight..and the price went up from $2572 to $3174 for 3 Adults and 2 Infants. so must really quick hands quick legs. must thank my sis for letting me know.

Mamachan,
we caught the fireworks on both Fri and Sat.
We saw the Friday's fireworks on ECP cos we were stuck in the traffic jam.. heehee
Then we went for a birthday party on Sat, from their pl, could catch abit of the fireworks. Caleb was enjoying it man.. he din even blink!

Sysac
Haha, our courses are polytechnic based, so I suppose our breaks will coincide. Yes, planning alot more outings with the boy once exams are over! He's been watching Barney At the Zoo vcd alot, so thought might be good to bring him back to the Zoo to see if he responds differently. Must make full use of my Friends of the Zoo card!

ky
Thanks for sharing your insight on the montessori system. Yes, I think MMI is catered to the "flavours" of Singapore in terms of the worksheets, etc etc. I'm still scouting around, not in any rush to enrol, just wondering if any church-based playgroup that uses Montessori style around my area. Travel logistics to either West Coast MMI or Claymore's is quite a headache at this present moment.

SSF
You're really blessed wor! Right place, right time, right pricing! Hahaha! Enjoy! My aunt has not been checking her emails as the family is shifting house! Pai seh, can't get back to you soon enough on the itinary.