(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Tracy,
Thanks for the detailed description of playgroup! Gives us an idea of what we can do with our own toddlers
Where's this playgroup that you went to? They accept from 18 mths onwards? Coz most playgroups that I know of only accept from 24 mths onwards.

Grace,
If the fever doesn't go too high, then it shd be due to teething. Pretty normal..just monitor

Mamapanda,
Actually i also agree with Queen, i think it's fine if Ariene doesn't want to take milk because at this stage, milk is no longer their main source of nutrition. If she can take cheeses and yoghurts well, then just give her that to supplement her calcium intake
Then you can slowly wean her off too

congrats Zhimin! good to see the preggy list getting longer! :D

tabbiesus,
if u want i can lend u my aprica stroller for ur trip. it's very lightweight.

CL, can you help me to collect my elmo and thomas dvd from mamapanda please? thanks!

grace,
i tot fever is 37.5deg and above? anything below that is not considered fever. anyways, i don't administer any medication unless the fever is 38deg and above.

Aileen,

I've read tat:
Normal temp - 36.5-37.2
Low grade fever - 37.2-38.3
Common fever - 38.4-39.7

U know lah...my ILs also make me kanchiong....
keep saying got fever (bcos body warm warm)..& it was oni 37...But do ur kids get fever when teething? Megan had loose stools (once a day) for the past 2 days..

Tabbie,
I think it's stil lwise for your to bring the stroller. Get one that is less than 5kg if possible. Your HB can use it while you are at the conference... I think it's more awkward for guys to use the sling? I dunno, somehow my HB can never get the hang of it. Since it's only a 1 week trip, pack light.

Hi Tabb ... yesterday was a madhouse at the ICA. I was there at around 2.20pm but I couldn't even turn into the carpark, there were cars just waiting everywhere for lots. So I went to the carpark behind (enter via north bridge rd) and though it's crowded, it's not so bad. There's a bridge to walk across to ICA. I went up to 3rd storey info counter and saw a superbly long long long queue there, many of them with kids, apparently for the same reason as me - to change the passport photos for their kids. Queue moved relatively fast though and I waited almost an hr before it's my turn. By then it was 3.30pm. And I found out thru' the counter staff that it was the School Holiday yesterday - PSLE oral exam and hence the schools are closed! That's why it's so crowded. So before you do go, check if it's a school hol. Anyway, I only managed to submit the application (bring orginal BC, parent's IC, passport, 1 passport photo, application form), and I can only collect from next Mon onwards as the staff have too many to process for the day. Apparently, they have 8000 on 8th Aug and 6000 on 6th Aug ... singaporeans lah, they wait till the last min (like me :>). Upon collection, have to bring child for verification. I requested for them to verify my #1 (not K) then so that I can go next week myself to collect (& I think I'll take MRT then). btw, the staff re-assure me that yesterday was exceptional and typically it's submit, wait and collect on the same day ... if u wanna do passport for Thad, mail in....

btw, for those who need to do this ... deadline for passport photo update for non-biometric is passport 31 Aug. You can't update the photo after that whether it's non-biometric or biometric.

.ky.

ky

do we have to go personally to ICA to do that? Can we do it online?

tabbs
oic. Hhaa, i thought u meant sarong sling. Most men aren't comfortable with the sarong slings.

Tabb,
Oops, I just read about the Bjorn sling that you are using then... ok. But I feel baby can probably sleep better in stroller?

Mashy/Mongs,

For an existing passport, if you want to change the passport photo, you have to submit in person.

If you want to be make a new passport, it's $60 to submit online (ya, sorry, don't think it's mail-in), and $70 in person, so it's cheaper and better to send in via online.

I needed to do the former one

.ky.

I need some recommendation for confinement lady in Feb 2008. Can you help me? EDD 23 Feb 2008. Ha Ha.. Same as Zhimin

grace,
oic. i guess being a chin chai mum, i only let edgar take medication when his temp is above 38deg. coz i think he's old enuff so let his body try to fight itself.

MamaChan / MamaPanda,
Yasame as JW. Last time he kept pointing to our table food. So I just give him some rice. Kekeeven plain rice was nice to him coz he thinks it is adult food. There was a time when he was younger and I can just con him into eating own his porridge by giving it to him using the spoon provided by the coffee shop. Even if I were to give him rice on his own spoon, he will rejectthink he associate the spoon with the food :p

MamaChan
Just read your 2nd post. Maybe you can try not mixing the rice with soup. Just give normal rice. I don't know why but JW does that to me too when I mixed the soup in (coz I think too hard or too dry) but he will push the spoon away and refused to eat anymore. But if I just give him normal dry rice, he will eat it. So now I just give him his mag mag and he will drink the plain water when he is thirsty.

Tracy,
Wat playgroup is this?

Ky,
At what age do we need to change the photo on the passport? Is it a standard age or only when the immigration officer tells us to?

Tabb,
You can do the passport online too. I did JW one online. Only when collect, need to bring him along.

SH, if want to change passport photo, must do it by 31 Aug. International law have changed such that countries have to adopt Biometric passport and photo cannot be changed at all. For Non-Biometric passport, no more photo changing facilities after 31 Aug. I received a letter. If yours is affected, you should get a letter too.

My #1 looks very different. He was 13 months in his photo. Now he's 4.5yrs, so I just change coz it's valid for another 8 yrs or so.

.ky.

owl,
u can try my confinement lady. she's a peranakan so she only speaks english and malay. give me ur email address and i will email u her contact.

Aileen,
I'm also a chin chai mummy.....but kena forced by circumstances....hee~~ or mayb bcos she had fits b4 so more kanchiong or else i think it'll be better for the body to learn to fight itself...

Re:rice
Megan loves rice also..& it's those plain white rice.....tatz y b4 she sees us eating, we'll need to let her finish her meal 1st if not, she'll jus want the white rice & not her own softer rice with ingredients......

SSF
Oh no lah, my helper had been having this soreness and pain in one side of her gums for a long while already. So we brought her to see my hb's friend whose a dentist, so he didn't charge us consultation and charged less for extraction of the tooth. Yes I paid for it, but I didn't mind, after being with us for 9 months, she's part of our family as she's been good to my boy as well as taking care of us adults, playing the older sister role in the family. But she still holds us in high respect to this day. So it's right for us to take care of her well-being.

THe Leapfrog Phonics Fridge Magnet sounds good, think I will head back down to Taka Fair after his trial session at MMI Claymore on Sat morning then quickly go home liaoz.

SH
We've tried without soup in rice and with some soup to wet the rice. He's more receptive to the with some soup to wet the rice but after a few mouthful, refused to eat anymore. We'll give it a rest for awhile before trying again bah. He prefers to eat direct from my plate at times, but also not much.

Durianlover,

N1 : glory Kindergarten's in the church beside Bkt Timah hawker right? Church kindies usually take in kids from 4, so it's Nursery (4 yrs), K1 (5 yrs) and K2 (6 yrs). PCF used to take from 4 yrs but some PCF are starting some classes at 3 yr old. Privately-runned kindies can start from 3 yr old and hence there's N1 and N2. The neighbour's boy will repeat N1 next yr when he is 2 going to 3.

playgroup :
sorry that K kept meddling with your TV, mirrors and keyboard yesterday. He gets to touch whatever he's allowed to at home.

I think we did real well yesterday, the hello song I did was the hello song that my #1 do in another playgroup, and all the kids now are deciding what action they want to do.

can send me the photos if it's not too troublesome?

You wanna host another round? I'm keen :>

.ky.

ChickenLIttle
Sat cannot la. I'll be at my dad's place. Also got hordes of mummies waiting to collect their Nordic NAturals loot from me at hougang. Sunday before going for class sounds good to me

Mamachan
Y not try cooking soft rice instead of thick porridge for Darren? Maybe your rice is too hard for him, he's not used to the texture? Don't forget rice is also more filling than porridge. They'll definitely be eating less rice compared to porridge. If they normally eat 1 bowl of porridge, you can expect them to eat less than 1/2 bowl of rice.

mamachan

oh u going for the MMI claymore trial.. is it the free 1 week out of a 2 week trial? I got a coupon for that at thelast bb fair... let me know if it is good...

durianlover,
ya thanks for letting us mess up your place... esp since u r preggie now.. better rest more... i don't mind hosting one session but i dunno if u can travel to my place in orchard.

tabbi
U're not staying in Holland V anymore? I was still thinking if I should drop by for a visit 2 weeks ago when I brought my maid to claymore to renew passport. Drove past your place at Holland V.

RE: Deadline for passport photo update for non-biometric is passport 31 Aug.

KY
THANKS SO MUCH for informing me!! I'm bringing Ashley back to Sabah in Nov and was thinking i should update her passport photo (2mths old pic) when i can find a nice pic... Oh no means I have to really rush to submit now... Any idea Can submit online for update of photos??

Elmo's World DVD spree - Please check collection preference and revert changes to me ASAP
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Items</TD><TD>qty</TD><TD> Paid </TD><TD> Owe </TD><TD>Collect </TD></TR><TR><TD>slinky</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $34.94 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>bblon</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $34.94 </TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>chickenlittle</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $34.46 </TD><TD> $0.48 </TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>clare</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $34.94 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aileen</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $34.94 </TD><TD>via CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>aileen</TD><TD>Songs from the station</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $20.51 </TD><TD>via CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $34.94 </TD><TD>via CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>celwong</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $34.94 </TD><TD>HG </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $34.94 </TD><TD>via CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $34.94 </TD><TD>via CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbi</TD><TD>Lets go! Travel, camp & car</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $26.46 </TD><TD> $0.48 </TD><TD>via CL </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Elmo's World DVD spree

Opps... I got a feeling I owe someone $$ but just dunno who... Sorry MamaPanda, will transfer to you tonight. =P

Can I collect VIA <font color="0000ff">CL / FLO</font> pls??

clare
to update the passport photo, got to go down personally. me going tmr. hopefully, got time to get the Q number...

RE: confinement tingkat food
Anyone has recommendation for confinement-style tingkat food? Am sourcing for my friend who's going to have a C-sect to remove fibroids. Thanks!!

RE: Playgroup
KY,
No problem, I can host another playgroup at my place! I'm perfectly alright with the kids touching the TV and stuff, coz that's what Janelle does as well. No problem about it! And yes, i liked the hello song a lot. But guess what?? I can't remember at all how it goes or sounds like!!?! I was explaining it to my hubby and realised i can't remember how it goes...poor memory

tabbiesus,
Thanks for opening ur place! I would love to go to ur place for playgroup but Orchard's a little far to get there without a car and with a toddler. Unless i get the car from my hubby...(hmm...idea!)
As for the photos, can you also email it out to us? I'll email to you all first, then u can reply to that email with the pics from ur camera yeah? Thanks!

Hi Queen
the soreness is not getting better.. I suspect the latch migh have some problem or what
I reviewing kellymom's site to see where gone wrong. kyler lips are rolled out during latch.
I just have to keep trying.. but I really very fearful of the painful nipple.
facing bottle neck again.

cookie
Its normal for nipple to feel sore. I had wanted to give up BF during week 2 also. Nipples were so sore they were angry red and bled alittle. Apply lots of Medela or Avent Nipple cream (they really help remove the soreness. I tried both and I felt Medela one is better but can be painful to apply when nipple is very sore cuz its thicker than Avent). I tried air-drying with my own BM before. Didn't help at all. In fact, like Ariene, I'm also allegric to my own BM. I'll get milk rash if I don't wipe clean. If not, you can try using nipple shields but Ariene hated it and refused to latch when I used it.

Elmo's World DVD spree - Please check collection preference and revert changes to me ASAP
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Items</TD><TD>qty</TD><TD> Paid </TD><TD> Owe </TD><TD>Collect </TD></TR><TR><TD>slinky</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $34.94 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>bblon</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $34.94 </TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>chickenlittle</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $34.46 </TD><TD> $0.48 </TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>clare</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $34.94 </TD><TD>via CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aileen</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $34.94 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD>via CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>aileen</TD><TD>Songs from the station</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $20.51 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD>via CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $34.94 </TD><TD>via CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>celwong</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $34.94 </TD><TD>HG </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $34.94 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD>via CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $34.94 </TD><TD>via CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbi</TD><TD>Lets go! Travel, camp & car</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $26.46 </TD><TD> $0.48 </TD><TD>via CL </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

mamapanda
I think I informed that I IB to you ytd (I think I did..poor memory these day)
Pls check if you have receive cos your table still indicate I owe you.
Collection via CL is fine.. as long as CL is alright. She is middle men for so many of us :p

CL
If possible.. perhaps need your help to pass my stuff to Flo, cos my HB work near RP so easier to collect from Flo I think.
But not in hurry.. when u get to meet flo then pass her.

Flo
If u dun mind... I thik I have a few stuff :
-ON spree item from Queen
-Training pants from May
-A&D cream via CL (from Slinky)
-Elmo DVD via CL (from Slinky)
I will get HB to collect from you at RP. Arrange later ok. Thanks a million for your help.

Tracy,
saw that your gal playschool is at sin ming road. reminds me of the roti prata shop that was recommended on the tv channel 8 yesterday. heehee! my hubby says he wants to go for roti prata for breakfast tomorrow. probably Prata Place or try the sin ming road one.

cookie, I email u regarding bf. ya breastfeeding is about blood and sweat initally. it's very depressing but it's normal in the beginning. once u get the hang of it. it's very natural. things will get better!! hang on!

I know ariene has prob drinking FM but I am thinking of cutting down the FM for clariss. she is drinking 600ml per day, 4 x of 150ml. Can I do a poll of how much your toddler is drinking.

toddler's name/ total qty/ freq/ timing/ brand
1) clariss/ 600ml/ 4x/ 7am,11am,330pm,930pm/ Gain IQ

mongs,
The Sin Ming Road one is nice, in fact their nasi brani is nice too. But early morning ony got prata. This morning the stall looks crowded. Actually this stall has been at my IL's downstairs since many years ago and hb also didn't know they are 'well-known'..

2) megan / 660ml / 4x / 6.30am, 9.30am, 3pm, 930pm / Friso

Meg really lurves milk these days, so doubt i can cut down on her intake.

mongs

if u go just after the show has been telecast, expect a big crowd. Yupz. That day I went to frequent the bao shop at Toa Payoh which i freq (that week it was shown on Ch 8), the queue was so long.

I very simple. Just need my roti prata kosong. hehe. No need variety.

cookie
btw, have u managed to buy ur bf pillow already?

OldNavy spree collection (EDD 20Aug)- pls check & confirm
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Collection pref </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD>hougang (with jshopper, wait for LV items?) </TD></TR><TR><TD>tracy</TD><TD>hougang (with jshopper, wait for LV items?) </TD></TR><TR><TD>krissie</TD><TD>bukit panjang </TD></TR><TR><TD>bblon</TD><TD>bukit panjang (with Elmo + Nepia + Nordic + baby clothes from CL) </TD></TR><TR><TD>mongs</TD><TD>bukit panjang (with breastfeeding pillow) </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena</TD><TD>via CL (with Elmo DVD, wait for LV spree items?) </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>via CL (with Elmo DVD, wait for LV spree items?) </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

pending spree collection items - awaiting delivery from CGW, EDD 23-27AUG
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Items</TD><TD>qty </TD></TR><TR><TD>God's Child</TD><TD>Cali BB calendular cream</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD>California Baby - Calming Shampoo & Bodywash - 17.5 oz</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD>California Baby - Calming Non-Talc Powder - 2.5 oz</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>Burt's Bees - Res-Q Ointment - 0.6 oz</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>California Baby - Aloe Vera Cream - 2 oz</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>Cali BB calendular cream</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>California Baby - Calming Shampoo & Bodywash - 17.5 oz</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamachan</TD><TD>Burt's Bees - Res-Q Ointment - 0.6 oz</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>chickenlittle</TD><TD>California Baby Calming Aromatherapy Spritzer - 6 oz</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>chickenlittle</TD><TD>Burt's Bees - Res-Q Ointment - 0.6 oz</TD><TD>6 </TD></TR><TR><TD>flo</TD><TD>Nordic Natural Children's DHA 8oz</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD>California Baby - Calming Shampoo & Bodywash - 17.5 oz</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>Cali BB Calming Botanical Moisturizing Cream - 2 oz</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

3)Celeste/ 540ml / 3x / 8.30am, 3.30pm, 9.30pm

Tracy - the playschool sounds good! and it seems tat Meg is ready too... im still cracking my head on gettin a playschool for celeste... sigh sigh... worse comes to worse, might just have to arrange transport to send her to n fro school... btw, i kept trying to load the video on Meg's blog, canot see lei... how come ar???

4) kaelyn / 600ml / 3x / 8am, 330pm, 1030pm

Mong
Thanks.. i replied you too. u are so rite..hahaha I'm full of sweat and blood(stain on the breast pad) now.

Mamapanda,
I'll collect my jshopper spree tomoro, and ON with LV when LV arrives. Thanks!

God's Child,
aiya, i can't figure out why cannot play so i gave up trying and left it just like that on the blog. ok, jus for you, i went to figure it out by making it public. now can watch on the blog liao.

i think if the transport to and fro school for celeste has an aunty onboard, should be ok right? But cost factor also..

Tracy - haha , thanks ar!managed to watch tat cute video! its reali so funni..haha.. can see 2 mummies there gettin all ready to 'break' any falls heehee...

Mummies, wana share sometin funni tat happened ytd.. While returning from work ytd, we alighted fr the car at the open carpark and suddenly heard loud cries coming fr above.. i thot that sounded like celeste crying and we looked up to our inlaws' unit.. indeed, our girl was standing at the grilles and yelling Mummie! Mummie! the pple at the void deck looked and laughed at us, i thot it was funni too haha.. i just told her to wait! Mummie coming up! so ah soh to be yelling back to my daughter from the 1st to 9th floor
then when we got home, she was at the corridor waiting and cried until super ke lian... aiyo, felt so loved by her... hee

5) Edgar / 600ml / 3x / 10.30am, 2.30pm, 9.15pm.

cookie,
i can totally emphatize with u. last time when i bf edgar, i really had blood and sweat too. my nipples were so sore that i can't even face the shower head. and i can only gently dab dry. everytime i pump, the crack wound will open up and bleed, but after pumping, it will heal. then for the next pump or latch, the wound will open up again. and this went on for a month or so. got once, blood even shot out from inside my nipple when i pump. so scary. and many times, i pump "strawberry" milk. if it's not too pink, i'll still let edgar have it else i will dump it. so heartpain esp when i went thru so much pain to pump them out. i hope my next bf experience will be much better, considering that i stop bfing less than a year ago. *keeping fingers crossed*!!

Tabbiesus,
I have a lightweight combi stroller. You want to borrow for your trip? It's less than 5kg. I brought it overseas with me - it's pretty handy.

Flo,
Actually Dr khor didn't say to jab only for the measles. She said don't jab till much much much later.

5) charmaine/260ml(BM) + 120ml(FM)+latch-on/Isomil Advanced 2

cookie,
how's bfing now? easier? I don't really get sore nipples. Perhaps you want to check your latching....

god's child,
I share the same thoughts with you. It felt so great to be loved by our children. : ) When we go to pick up Charmaine from my mil's place, she would run to the kitchen and shout to my mil/mil's maid a string of gibbish like telling them to quickly opent eh door... so cute... : )

aileen, Sl

RE: light weight stroller

Thanks for the offers.. i check with my hubby if he wants to bring one along... i'll let you know if i need to borrow.

5) charmaine/260ml(BM) + 120ml(FM)+latch-on/Isomil Advanced 2
6) tabby/ 480ml /3x of 90-180ml 6am, 4 pm, 9.00pm/ other times 60-120mls is hidden in cereal or food. Gain