(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Chicken Little - I just apply online for Jadon's passport. it's $70. Quite easy nowadays...everythg also online. hee.. yeah Perth is Spring in Sept/Oct.
Ya we are planning to take a relaxing trip and ya maybe rot there too. hee...

cookie
glad that kyler is home already

flo
thanks for the link. hmm, from the survey, seems like i m underpaid. i actually used my total package to bargain. the increase really depends on the bonus that the new place will pay out. monthly salary wise is an increase so if all things remain equal, it is a pretty good increase.

anyway, i m quite sick of my current job so wd be good to have a change. and they allow me to start after i come back from my hol in Oct...

cookie
for me, during the 1st month, i fed my gal on demand. there were times when she woke up every hour and cried for milk. and sometimes, the milk flow is faster than her drinking speed, she just wailed and wailed. all i could do is to lie backward a bit to slow down the milk flow. and to deal with a frustration bb, you need to be calm. i tends to sing song to my gal when she's frustrated during the feed, it helps.

for pumping, dont' worry, you breast is always producing milk. so, even after you pump, and your baby wants milk, just latch him on, there will still supply for him.

then, for sore nipple, what i did was to rub some BM on the nipple and air dry the nipples every time after i finish BF.

to wake up my gal during the feed, if she sleeps, i will 'pull' her mouth out from my nipple and use slightly wet hanky to wipe her face. else, like what mamachan said, tickle her chin. or sometimes, i will slighly shake her a bit. but try to do those before bb really goes to dreamland. you can differentiate the real suckle or comfort/sleepy suckle when you feed him.

jia you!

Kyler,

Welcome home!

Cookie,
Like what mamachan said, yen peng taught me the same method to "wake up" sleepy babies too. She also said that most babies are like that in the first mth. I remembered reading that the baby should latch on for 45mins on each side but the real situation isn't like this so checked with yen peng before and her reply was that it's okay. Just latch the baby on whenever he wants if there's 6-8 wet nappies a day, it's fine.

If your breasts feel full, just pump out. Don't worry about baby waking up later. If baby's latch is correct, he will be able to "extract" milk even after you have pumped out. Also, to stimulate your breasts into producing more milk, you can "extend" the time by adding in pumps if baby only drinks for say, 5 mins, like pump for another 10 mins on each side to extend the time.
You can sms her for queries using the number I pm you. She's real nice - will call you back.

Flo,
I am considering doing only that cos Dr Khor mentioned that Charmaine seems to be prone to allergies as well. She actually considered sending charmaine for allergy tests...

Mamapanda,
Can try giving her Isomil? The soy-based FM or goat's milk. I can only get 200 - 260ml each day now in a session at work so am supplementing with FM. She rejected GainIQ, Mamil, Nespray but Isomil's okay. According to the PD, isomil's not so tasty maybe that's why the taste is closer to BM?

Mamapanda
before I forget... I made transfer for the Elmo DVD today, pls check :
To Account POSB Savings
183-11468-9 mamapanda-wendy
Amount S$34.94
Transaction Reference 1312424544

Thanks mummy - Tabbie/Queen/Sunny/Mong/SSF/Mamachan/CL/SL- sorry if I miss anyone
For your pointers , I will keep that in mind. looks like I just have to get used to my son's pattern more.
The problem is I have very sore nipple now.. and even if just latch him for chu chu.. I felt very "scare", everyday I'm praying the soreness will go away ( I mean they will rite.. probably after 1 mth) so I'm counting down to end of confiement.
The problem with pumping is also.. my nip is not small to start with so aftr pump worst! so it's really quite a struggle.
I do have a pacifier on standby.. in case everything else fail

I will start with pumping soon...

Tabbie
wow.. a week in France! your HB so steady will go along with you to bb sit Thadd. Very nice of him.
Have a smooth trip!

Cookie,
what pump are you using? if you are using medela, they do have funnels with bigger cylinder for those mummies with bigger nipples. can check out the distributor. Equip Medical Enterprise
No. 2 Toh Tuck Link
# 05-00, KL Hiap Aik Logisitcis Bldg.
Singapore 596225
Phone: +65 875 0238
Fax: +65 875 0268
E-mail: [email protected]
If you are using manual pumps, try to pump at higher frequency (small squeezes) instead of holding during each squeeze, your nip won't swell so much that way. I started with avent manual and didn't know how to use it properly, was holding after each squeeze for the milk to get collected, so my nip swelled. it's normal to get a bit of soreness, it has been quite some time since the breast was being "abused". heehee. make sure the baby latched properly and no choice have to keep airing, applying cream and the last thing "tahan"!

hi Cookie

I think everyone has given you a lot of good advices. My nip is big too so for newborn, they have small mouths and may not be able to latch on correctly. Don't rush, get a good latch-on, ensure the bb's mouth opens as big as possible and try to get the aerola area in (sometimes u have to push it in). It will get better over time; remember all these are new to babies but they are quick to learn ... Hindmilk is at the end of the feeding so try to get your bb to empty your breast as much as possible, but don't worry if it's not, just pump out ... and esp for Colestrum, it's really precious, so if u do find engorgement setting in, pump out a little and yes, all these tricks abt tickling to keep the bb awake.

.ky.

Hi CL, some mummies are probably still at durianlover's place ... we had fun with M&M, painting & the cookie art. will post photos later ... need to run off now.

btw, I just learnt from a neighbour that her 2yr 3 mths old son just got into a kindergarden N1 level this month. It's supposed opened to 3 yr olds but they allow kids who are born in the first half of the yr to join now ... so for those who are looking at kindgergarden, that might be an option mid next yr.

.ky.

Mong
I'm using Ameda pump and I also bought a larger funnel this round cos the last round I pump for 3 mths and nip still bleed.
When kyler was in hospital, my milk supply seems more dunno if it's due to bigger funnel fit better or 2nd time pregnancy.
I have also used lotsa purelan(high cost
) and BM on the nip and like u say lor... really got to tahan...

Ky
thanks.. u are so right..their mouth is so small! sometimes it end up sucking on the nip. alwyas have to latch and unlatch when I feel pain but not matter how I try.. the nip will become a little flatten. with nurse around, they help to push more aerola in but when I'm alone, it's quite difficult to do that.
I just have to pray that bb learn fast and mouth get bigger as time goes by.

sl, ky
I think one of u posted that goat's milk tastes quite similar to BM. Is that true? If it is, what time is the dairy farm open till? Maybe I'll drop by and byu 1 bottle of goat's milk for her. My MS dropped so drastically that I'm only producing at most 100ml every 8 hours. Really headache. I tried giving her the Gain IQ sample I got form Abbot but she refuses it flat. Isomil has many different types right? Which is the right type?

mamapanda

i've some goat's milk sample satchets. U want? Then no need to buy 1 whole tin. My boy didn't like it when i gave him. So he's still on Isomil. I give him Isomil Advance 2 coz that's for kids >6mths. The rest are for infants. U can request for sample tins from Abbott.

oops, didn't read carefully. Thought u wanna get children's formula goat's milk. So it's fresh goat's milk. I've tried it and it doesn't taste anywhere like BM though. Very sao even though it's chocolate flavour.

mashy
Then I think better not get the fresh goat's milk if it doesn't taste like BM. Very hard to "cheat" her into drinking if it doesn't not taste similar. I tried Gain IQ myself before giving it to her but I think she doesn't like the cow milk taste. Definitely taste different from BM cuz I taste my own BM before. BM tastes more like very diluted sugar cane flavoured milk to me. Need a milk that doesn't taste milky. Can I have the sample satchets instead? I'll call abbot for Isomil advanced samples as well.

mamapanda

sure. let me know how u wanna collect it. I think Isomil may be ok coz it's rather sweet too. How abt giving her milo or hot chocolate that sort of stuff?

cookie,
Hang on in there with your BFding! I think the mummies here hv given lots of gd advice already
For me, i used to pump out the excess milk after feeding because bb does not empty the breasts. But when they grow older their milk intake will increase so they'll empty the breasts then. Hang on in there!

CL,
Thanks for the cookies & cream & colourful-stuff (dunno what it's called)! My camera batt went flat so didn't manage to take pics of the decorated cookies. Got this pic of them playing with fingerpaint though

926042.jpg

KY,
U mean can start N1 at such a young age? Is it every kindergarten that N1? Coz my fren who sends her son to Glory Kindergarten said she's never heard of the N1 thing before leh...

KY, rachel, mamapanda, tabbiesus, sleepingdeer,
Thanks for helping to clean up the floor! So paiseh u all had to clean up in the end. Playgroup was fun! We should organize another one soon? Hee if keen let me know!

oh my goodness, the toddlers are so cute sitting together. I am sure they have fun together. looks so fun. Is tabby the one in red with her hair tied-up? think anita is behind her. recognise ky. I think the girl sitting to the right of tabby is shannon with her very big eyes, right?

mongs,
Wow you're really good at identifying people from this tiny picture i posted! Yes you're right, let me name the rest for u...

From left (clockwise direction) to right:
Dylan (on blue stool), Ariene, Shannon, Tabby, Keith, Janelle

durianlover
hee, i went to glory kindergarten....

re playgroup
it looks so fun! the babies all look so cute.

cookie
hang in there! it can only get better..

thanks for the advice. dun think i m a very good negotiator but i guess i think the job sounds interesting and i m looking for a change so as long as there is increase, i m quite happy already

durianlover - wow thanks for sharing the pics...the kids look really cute sitting at the table. they seems to have so much fun!

mashy
Do u have any other spree stuff with me or will u be seeing wenyl, chickenlittle, bblon, rachel or are u in the JG class? chickenlittle will be coming to my place probably next weekend to get the ON stuff, Rachel will be getting calendular cream from me, wenyl and bblon their spree stuff from me.

Mongs/Mamapanda,
JW was the one who requested for the cake. Tot they will not want it if they are full?

Wendy,
I always tot it's a matter of time before they settle down. Gulpguess I must keep my fingers crossed real hard for JW.

Durianlover,
Wow4+ hoursis it that long? I can't remember coz I did rebonding a long time back and really couldn't take the long hourssince then too scared to go do it again.

Cookie,
That happened for JW last time too. I think I remember hearing someone says that's it's coz they are under the light. Dehydrates them so they will wanna drink.

Tabbie
Your hb so nicewilling to go along and bring Thadd too!

mamapanda

nope. not in JG class leh. Unless CL meets my hb at cityhall...

tabbs
your hb don't mind slinging thad ah? Just a thot since your hb will be the one taking care of thad most of the time and he might take thad for a walk???

valerie,

Thks for the cooler bag offer. Will let you know if I need it. Right now am still using the fridge-to-go but add in an ice brick to maintain the temperature.

SY,

Mamapanda,
I was the one who posted that goat's milk taste closer to BM. That's what I was told. Not sure if it's true though. Can try Isomil Advanced 2 that mashy recommended. Charmaine's okay with that after rejecting Gain IQ, mamil and the others cow's milk.

Re: Playground
Wow... the toddlers look so cute sitting there together...

Hi Mummies,..

How are you....

Durianlovers
Gathering look fun and I'm so envy,,,,hope I can join your next time..

Rebonding for 4 hrs,,,think is normal time. I have my rebonding last year and about 5 hrs ...

Wendy Heng
I have received your $$$...thanks

I think your child not ready in child care...and that is the reason he felt insecure and called your name...Give him big hug whenever you back from work and tell him 'Mummy love you" during night if he call you,, you hug him with tell him "Mummy Love You"

if you want to terminate him from childcare,,,you need to explain to him and let him know , why you not bring him to school...
from that explanation he might understand and not scared anymore..
If you plan to let him go child care again in future,,you need to explain to him few month before..this to prevent him from his past experience.

RE: RP Lunch
Think start from October'07, I might not able to join RP lunch with your mummies

My company will shift to PANDAN LOOP building name PANTECH 21 near by Clementi..
My boss want me to choose between Kallang and Pandan Loop..as he worried about the journey from my place to this 2 location...As Kallang is more nearest compare to Pandan Loop but the office space really worst compare to Pandan Loop office.
Finall decision from me and other colleaque and we choose PANDAN LOOP ( CLEMENTI )...SAD SAD

Tabbies..
No. 3... you really good...I remember during My PA TUO time with hb..I mentioned to him that I want to have 5 child
...but right now, think 2 are enough for me

RE: MSN got AUTO VIRUS
Hi all mummies...
BEWARE with the Auto send virus from MSN...that actually not from your fren or colleaquea or your boss. They are auto send and copy from your MSN list and send it to your fren.

I have received 3 times from my different customer on yesterday thru MSN. And even they will send the PDF file or Zip folder by email from your friend, colleaque or boss...Please verify with your friend, colleaque or boss before your open...

Oh the playgroup with all the toddler sit together are soooo cute!!! They look sooo attentive. Must have been lotsa fun

linda
wow your new office is soooo far...won't it be very far for u to travel there?

sl
thanks, my new job is very near your office...

re crayola spree
mummies, do let me know what u r interested to get so that hopefully we can hit some of the special BP prices that they offer.

SY

Yeah you are right,,,, that is the reason my boss ask my opinion...but what to do if compare to image and view,,,PANDAN LOOP is the BEST. As my company going to expant and might be 20 more new faces came in from China

I only can tell him I might be late about 10 - 15 min as really FAR FAR AWAY from my house as I was stay at Thomson just opposite Bishan park..near by AI TONG SCHOOL...

SY

Do you think i can get the website for the crayola stuff, i'd like to see if they have anything else.. actually i want to get some window/ glass markers.

SY,

REally? We can meet for lunch often then.. : )

Re: Crayola
Some of the items are available in Sg. I saw them before. You can try MPH at Robinson Rd - they have 20% off Crayola items almost all the time.

Long day for me. Studied in the morning, brought my helper for a dental appointment in the late afternoon and then we headed to town for a break (from my studying) so dropped by taka baby fair this evening. Wow, they have alot more different brands this year in the stroller/car seat section. Toys section doesn't seem to be in abundance this time round. Noticed one section of LeapFrog items. Very tempted to get the LeapFrog Phonics Fridge Maghet. It's going for $39.90, izzit very much expensive as compared to when some mummies here bought via a BP?

As we didn't bring Daren's dinner out (no time to prepare extra), we decided to feed him outside food. Bought Chicken Macoroni soup for him, and he totally rejected it! We've been trying to get him to accept rice and more "adult" type solids the past few weeks other than his thick porridge, but he's been reluctant and rejected the rice meals till each time we offer him back his porridge, he will turn his head and have a grimaced look on his face.
I offered my chicken rice to him, and he accepted it wholeheartedly after tasting some grains of it!! *faintz* so he took a small bowl of chicken rice with some roasted chicken breast meat.

Playgroup
Wow, the toddlers looked like they had fun! Sigh...pity was buried in my books, hope to join you all after exams.

Elmo's World Spree
The package will be delivered tomorrow afternoon. If u want to collect it yourself, pls email or SMS me to arrange for collection time. CL will only be dropping by my place next week after the ON stuff are here.

Elmo's World Spree
The package will be delivered tomorrow afternoon. If u want to collect it yourself, pls email or SMS me to arrange for collection time. CL will only be dropping by my place next week after the ON stuff are here.

Mamachan
Maybe you can try this to get Daren interested in eating rice. Feed him alittle rice at a time using your chopsticks from your bowl. That's how I introduced it to Ariene. She's very curious with things I'm eating and will eat anything I offer her from my bowl using my chopsticks or spoon.

Tabbs
Re: Passport
Better do it soon before the Sep hol, waiting time to collect the passport is horrendous during sch hol.

Your hb is so sweet, I guess being in the same profession helps cos hell be more sympathetic towards your job demand. Have a good trip!

SL,
Oic, so Dr Khor recommend Charmaine to take only measles jab too?

Re: playgroup
Looks so fun. Am thinking of taking leave next Tue, SAHM are you planning any outings?

SY
I guess at the end of the day, what is most impt is that you like the new job so just go for it.

RE: Tumbles Wigglers
Venue: UE Square
Time: 9:30 am - 10:30 am
Date: 25 August 2007 (Sat)

1. Mel
2. Aidan
3. Aden

Any one else interested? If not, I'll go ahead to make the bookings

MamaPanda
Hahaha, I did that couple of times with Daren before we started him on rice and he kept running back for more. So I thought it was a good indicator that he's ready, but when we started him on a meal with rice (moistened with some soup), after a few spoonfuls, he refused to eat! Really headache now. So whenever we feed him from our spoon or just his usual porridge dinner, he gives that "yucks face", as though we're feeding him poison =P
I reckon he's lazy in chewing rice, he likes to swallow his thick porridge after minimal chewing. But he chews well on bread and meat. Ah well, hope to make it a smooth transition for him. He's ok eating those egg noodles, he enjoys them.....ah well...

Mamapanda
Hee Hee since Elmo world is here. I can go this weekend and deliver your mag mag cup lah. sms me your weekend availability I see when is good to pick up. Can be Sat around 5 pm or sunday morning before going out for class?

cookie,
Is the soreness getting better each day? If not, I think the latching may still not be correct. Cos if latched properly, the soreness should reduce pretty fast. If your nipple is big, when Kyler latch, use yoru fingers to compress the aroela and push it gently further into Kyler's mouth. Make sure his lips are turned out.

tabbiesus,
Yah, bought Isaac to Paris when he's 3 months. That was end Feb last year, weather was winter cold. Now in Sep is beginning of autumn, I think the weather should be pretty nice, but be prepared for chilly winds on and off. Sweaters and light jackets should be sufficient if needed. Which part of France are you going? Paris is not baby friendly. I remember that there are no escalators in their train stations and few have lift access. So my HB had to carry the stroller up and down staircases while I slung Isaac. However, I still do feel that bringing the stroller (mine was a light Combi stroller) was a good move as we were doing quite a bit of walking and sightseeing and carrying Isaac in the sling the whole day would have been back breaking! Not to worry about plane rides either, at 3 months, our babies just eat and sleep. Isaac was an angel during flights, sleeps most of the time. Even when he was awake, we entertained him with small toys and he hardly cried. Just remember to latch Thadd during takeoffs and landing. For me, I latch and use the pacifier. Bring Thadd along should be easy lah... if your are bringing Tabby, I think it will be quite tough! Our babies are so active now!

Mamapanda,
Goat's milk is very expensive. It is not a long term solution. I think if Ariene refuses other milk, you just have to ensure that her solids diet is very balanced in nutrition. Give her plenty of yoghurt and cheese for calcium and kids multi-vits if necessary. At our babies age, milk is more of a supplement rather than main nutrition provided. So don't get too stressed yet. For now, perhaps you can start putting some FM into her cereals, or hide it in her porridge or mash potato and see if she takes the food. Can hardly taste FM in cereals and mash potato.

mamachan-are we suppose to bring our maid for dental appt? is it a compulsory thing? i believe you paid for it right? i paid 28 bucks only for the leapfrog phonics ...i think it was May who organised the BP the last time round. it is really good...caleb like to press and put the alphabets in and when the ABCD..song goes ..he can now say G...L etc. and some words. i find leapfrog products very educational and worth investing. Caleb also dun really like to eat porridge already...he seems to prefer bread and rice nowsaday.
wow taka fair sounds good....i already ask hb to come back early today and probably will sneak out with him and Caleb to go for a quick shopping before my midnight pump. hee..

RE: paris trip

actually i wasn't keen to go but i'm doing something new soon and my new boss is quite supportive and the main aim of going to this conference is so that my boss can introduce me to this US Professor so that i can do a 1 year overseas training stint in 2009, so have to start cultivating some ties now. If it wasn't for this, i'd not be too keen to go...my hubby's quite career minded so he didn't mind doing this... actually when it comes to this sort of thing he is really sweet.. after all he did give up a job with twice his present salary and shorter working hours in HK to come an slog it out here as a my junior... previously he is considered my peer in HK but since joining the med line here, he kena downgraded... so i kinda owe him to continue and not become a SAHM.

Queen
Thanks for the advice... aiya.. my stroller is maclaren XT techno.. so heavy n bulky... wish i got something lighter... Hmmm... i'll only be going to Paris... don't think i will get much time to do too much sight seeing... just hope Thad's timing doesn't go too haywire with the time difference...

mashy
my hubbywill use the baby bjorn type of carrier. i have a chicco version.. he doesn't mind using the sling , but he just can't figure how to use it..

Flo
You are right man.. dun wanna get stucke with the school holiday crowd.. i better do it soon

KY
How long did you have to wait for Keith's passport?

CL
How was the taka bb fair... i'm going today.. any good offers to look out for?

How's everyone???

Long time no "see"..
Just checking....Does your little ones hv fever when they are teething? I'm suspecting that Megan's molars (right at the back ones)....but dunno if tatz the course of the fever..fever hovers ard 37+

Morning Mummies!

Just one day away and so many posts!

Took a day's leave yesterday to bring Meg for her trial playgroup. It's 1030am-1230pm, but this timeslot is really really too full. So we could only go for trial and be on waiting list for next available slot. Currently including 2 of us on trial, total 10 kids with 2 teachers and 1 aunty who will bring them to toilet when they need to.

Meg didn't pay attention except during teabreak time. Otherwise, she will be roaming around exploring the place. Good thing was she didn't stick with me. I jus simply stood in one corner and watched her roam the place herself. The teacher said must give them about 2 weeks to settle to the routine in class.

Here's the program yesterday:
1) Good morning and hello song and story telling.

2) Introducing the pear. They get to feel, taste and learn about the pear. Teacher also brings a slice of pear dipped in green paint and help them to make prints on the paper.

3) Wash hands, time for teabreak..they got to eat sponge cake. Each gets a bowl with the cake inside, they can have more if they like. When they finish, the kids will auto bring the bowl to a pail and put it inside, proceed to the next room to wash hands and settle down for songs. At this point, Meg was the last to finish her cake and really reluctant to leave the table.

4) Chinese class. The learn about the number 7, learn to write it and count it with blocks. This part, Meg was really uninterested and pushing the chair around, trying to open the door etc.

5) Playtime. Each kid chooses his own tray of toys, put it onto his mat and play. Meg was still busy exploring the chairs until much later she joined in with her own tray of toys. But she didn't wanna put it back later...

6) Songs and goodbye. Meg was still playing with toys, even until everyone left, she was still playing..

The kids were really friendly, when the teacher intro Meg, they all said,'Hello megan!' and one boy came forward and said,'come, come!'

There's an 18mth old gal in the class, and she's been there for about 2weeks and she's very attentive and following the routine and learning from the teachers. So I decided to sign Meg up for the playgroup there.

After class, she was throwing kisses and saying bye bye happily to the teachers. Then she was running along with the kids outside the school. I'm really happy to see her adapting quite well to school. Whew! But i've a feeling if it was Daddy bringing her, she will cling to him and refuse to let go. :p