(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

CL,
ah....I also find the Crab master crabs disappointing tho my fren thinks its very nice.

Mamapanda,
I can come by this Saturday to collect my loot. Wat time is convenient for you?

Where is crab master and don chicken pie????

Me so suaku, never heard of them. hehe. But i love crab bee hoon. Missed the one at the Kampong restaurant. Wonder where else can i find crab bee hoon.

mashy
Master crab is in punggol.. forgot exact address. Only know how to drive there.. was it EdgeDale Plain Block 508 or something like that.. maybe Tracy will know better since she stays nearby.

tracy
Can only confirm with u again on sat morning cuz not sure if going for lunch or not yet but I'll definitely be going over. Do SMS me again on sat to remind me ok? BTW, will u be collect wenyl's loot for her too?

Thank you all mummies for your encouragement. It really brighten my day. Really appreciated it.
When i was in hospital today.. it wasnt so bad I din cry bucket. Kyler was sleeping well under the light but there was another poor keep crying think the light is too hot for him.
He just had his feed.. 90ml! OMG thats a lot so I waited a while before I latch him.
So happy to see him
Really misses him so much.
Hope he will be ok to discharge tomorrow.

Wow so.. there are so many babies here who has different blood gp as parents.. so not that strange after all..heehee..

Looks like Kae has another bad throat case, her fever are coming up and down. Finally we brought her to PD- looks like cant find anything obvious except throat is a bit red. prescibed a mild anti-biotic. Just wondering if it is necessary to take anti-biotic whenever there is throat infection.
The last time when kae fever din come down and we went A&E. Seems like KKH dun really wanna prescribe anti-biotic but cos I already started the course by pD so has to continue.
Was also very unhappy with the PD, I think he just has attitude problem or super impatient. As him a feel more qn on feeding of medication, he sound as tho I'm silly or what.. really frustrating
If now for he is the nearest and most convenient one, really really wanna stop seeing him.

Mong
Good luck in your new job.. !

SL
hee thanks for offering the HK drama.. but hor my MIL is doing confiement for me. So i cannot expose myself openly :p She will probably nag that I have to lie on bed and rest...blah blah blah...well which is meant to be good for me.

Cheng/SH/Tabbie
when i was at Mt A ytd...there is a new looking nurse feeding bb and keep shaking the bb head/chin to wake her up from feed. Shake rather violent to me, then the other nurse was like yelling at the crying bb even after feed. That was why I was so worried.
and they pat the bb buttock like dribbling a basket ball, so fast and loud, goodness.
This morning when I was there.. the nurse was quite ok, old lady, look tough and rough but generally can tell she like babies, hee or maybe becos we are there, she will reprimand the bb but later will sayang him back.

Sleeping deer
Always wanted to ask.. what is the consultation of Dr Terence Tan? Heard S is seeing him all along.

Sysac
I remembered you telling us abt Cephas, he is our first bb here if I'm not wrong. when you had full month for Cephas, kae is not even born.
You are 1 tough mummy

Mong
I think I read mdm Rokiah somewhere before. Does she also include bb massage? but sorry la, cannot rem if any good comment abt, I can check with my friend.
I had this massage lady recommend by my friend. Not cheap at all but I decided to give it a shot since maybe closing shop (tho my Hb never object abt having #3! I'm the one who is scare).
She will massage the usual-full body, on top of it she will reduce water retention, quite amazingly, dun ask me who.. after her massage I can fill water coming out from my tummy skin and soak my towel! she told me I have lotsa water retention which is true cos the anaesthetist couldnt find my vein for drip becos I was so bloated but Thankfully he manage to agar correctly without poking me many times.
She told me she was featured in the Xin Xin Bao bei program on Channel 8 twice last yr.. but I dun watch that program so wasnt sure.
Anyway I only had 2 session with her..cannot much yet but after the 1 session already can feel tummy not so wobbly.

cookie
My massage lady was Mdm Rokiah. No, she does not massage the baby but she's very good. Her charges already includes the waist binder. I loved her massage sessions. Very comfy. She even helped me massage my breasts and unclog the milk ducts when I had engorgement.

<font color="ff0000"> <font size="+2"> RE: Help needed </font></font>
Sigh.. this careless mummy. Jamie threw her diaper into the laundry bag without my knowledge. When I was abt to throw everything into the washing machine, she kept hugging my leg. Instead of throwing in piece by piece, I just grab the whole chunk of clothes in to wash. now ALL MY CLOTHINGS are full of WHITE PARTICLES !!! Something like.. u accidentally put tissue inside pants to wash. But now, the WHOLE CHUNK!!! Anyone knows how to get rid of it faster ?! I tried to dry them and now using masking tape to tape them piece by piece. I wonder how long will I take to finish 20 over pieces!!! Anyone got tips??

Cookie
my PD is Terence Tan too. Was going to suggest seeing him since he has a clinic at Mt A. His charges I rem are around $60 per visit. Usually with medication, close to $100. I find him very good, but expensive and super crowded. Sometimes, i go to the other lady doctor in his clinic too, less crowded and quite patient too.

may
You'll need to either soak them in water mixed with softener then use your hands to stir the clothes to loosen the fluff. Should be able to get rid of most of the fluff. You can also try washing them again in the machine and add softener. If u have a dryer at home, throw the clothes into the dryer and most of it will end up in the dryer filter. Might need to do this a few times before u can totally remove the fluff. If left only abit, then use cellophane tape to stick up the remaining fluff.

Civil Service Subsidy
Hahaha, I know about the $350 subsidy thingy, very pathetic. My organization has now corporatized, so the scheme has changed to be better, but likely doesn't cover delivery fees. Sad to say those in civil service from 1994 onwards doesn't enjoy much subsidies...good thing back then my hb joined the force before 1994. But yes, without the subsidy, I would still be paying off the delivery fees! I think mine came up to over $7K plus, coz emergency C-sect and stayed A-class ward somemore, however, with subdisy and after Medisave deduction, I paid about $1800 in cash.

SSF
Hahaha, yah lor, if only KKH gives more freebies like new baby mittens and booties and a wrap that says I'm a KKH baby. I wasn't even given a baby bag, had to self-collect from NTUC! But we picked up our baby bonus envelope pack from the birth registration centre at KKH before I got discharged. I planned ahead with hb that he should chop chop register Daren's birth cert and settle the baby bonus thing at the same time at the hospital before discharge, so no need to run to and fro amidst all the new found "chaos"

Hi Cookie,
yup, cheng is right. I really like Dr Tan coz I find him really friendly and reassuring, and he really likes the babies and kids, talks to them like talking to his own 4 kids, he calls Shannon 'Sweetie' and 'sweetheart'.... heehee... even though his queue is super long, he really takes his time with you, and you can ask him question after question, and he will still answer you in detail and patiently, probably that's also why his queue is so long, haha, coz he doesn't rush through consult.

But the downside of it is the wait is terrible, even when we have appt, the wait sometimes is 1hour to 1 & half hour just to see him, and the clinic is always packed. If you dun have a appt, expect to wait up to 2 hours! I guess it's also because Dr Tan gets paged often to see emergency cases in the ICU, and once he told me he had just rushed back from TMC after a emergency op. So when Shannon falls sick, if it is a minor flu, I will just bring her to a nearby PD or the Henry Park Kinder Clinic branch. but if I think it is serious, I will bring her back to him no matter what... once Shannon was having fit like jerks during her sleep at night. I tried the PD nearby but she couldn't diagnose the case no matter how hard I tried to explain it to her, she mentioned that she had not heard of it before. The next time I went to see Dr. Tan, and once I explained it to him, he wrote the name down on a paper and explained it to me immediately, so I guess the volume of babies he see contributes to his experience bah...

Cheng,
I went to the lady doc once when Dr Tan was too packed and I didn't have appt, but I somehow just prefer Dr. Tan, so I always go back to him though have to wait and wait... you're right, the wait is siao and though the clinic has expanded, it's still not big enough!

mongs, mamachan
Ya lor.. miserable. That's y apart from bad experience from KKH, and my gynae only delivers at Glen, I didn't choose KKH. Once I was hospitalised 4 days for etopic at KKH under subsidy. Silly me still tot my period was abnormal cuz keep bleeding fresh blood non-stop so went to polyclinic to see doc to get MC for 2 days but after the preg test turned out positive, I was referred to KK A&E immediately. I was so shocked that I couldn't even think and I even remembered arguing with the doc that she made a mistake cuz I "had" heavy period, just that it didn't stop after 17days and the cramps got worse and I was starting to have severe backache. I even questioned if their preg test kit was faulty. Haha.

Anyway, I could only choose up to class B5 ward, which was the only aircon ward with toilet in the ward available for subsidised patients. B4 and above not eligible for subsidy anymore. Furthermore, the interns keep coming to "see" me as if I were some experimental subject and they don't even know how to draw blood properly. One of them got scolded by me cuz she gave me a very long deep scratch on my arm (OUCH) while drawing the needle out from my vein. Also, the nurses keep walking in and out, switching on and off the lights, very irritating. Worse still, that was during the SARS period, so can only have 2 visitors from 12-1pm and 7-8pm everyday. Good thing is, at the end of it, after medisave deductions, I only paid $50.

sleepingdear
I do the same..minor flu cases see GP. Only more serious ailments I will see him. And I always take number first and then head home again before bringing Aidan there. Otherwise the wait is impossible with a cranky and active kid. But he has been Aidan's PD since birth and I trust him :> so no choice...have to wait.

Tracy
Heehee, Mel is like Meg, will keep asking for milk after dinner. But she has a very bad habit, will leave 1-2oz left for each feed and then ask for more milk again later.waste my $$$...arrgh

Cookie
MMR booster is to be taken around 4-6 years old. Kyler is quite a big drinker hor, hope hell be discharged tom. I was quite surprised to hear that the nurses at Mt A are so rough, I thot nurses there are know to be very nice caring??? Kae sounds quite bad. Maybe u should see another PD if you dont feel comfortable with the current one. I also cant tahan PDs that are very impatientmaybe cos Im a first time mommy so more KSheehee. So I dont mind paying slightly more for Mels current PD, she will entertain me with all my silly questions.

SL,
If u look at MOE website, it seems like only measles is compulsory (cos is marked with an *).

http://www.moe.gov.sg/esp/schadm/p1/immunisation.htm

I guess cos most of the jab are 3 in 1, so maybe the nurse at the other clinic told u is compulsory?. Dr Khor said she has to specially import the single jab. Actually SGH is known to have better service cos they dont do that many deliveries. A fren ever told me they normally accept complicated pregnancy case, not sure how true is it.

Mamapanda/Mashy
A few of my frens end up paying much more in KKH due to complication. I guess they are very under staff that explains why the service is bad at times.

Mongs
My colleague recommended me this massage lady which I find is very good and patient. She helped me a lot with BFwould spend almost an hour to msg and unclog my block duct. Actually if not for her, I probably wont be able to BF for so long (cos my CL is super anti-BF and very discouraging). She would also msg Mel which helped to relieve her colic. Shes a Singaporean staying in JB, would help me to buy green papaya from JB and carry all the way to Sing for me.

CL
Haha dont worry, there are a lot of ppl with O+ blood. Me, hb and of course Mel are all O+. My gynae showed me the placenta immed after he took out, even ask my hb to take a pic. I looked so ugly! The Don Chicken Pie Crab Bee Hoon is the one at China Sq Central? Maybe we can go there for RP Mommies lunch next time

Durianlover
Humm, maybe u should drink chicken essence or red dates to bu xue. Ya sounds quite dangerous for you to bring Janelle out on your own cos they are so active now. We also lost Mel once at Robinsons

MamaPanda
Oh dear, ectopic pregnancy sounds painful and scary!! If I were to have #2, likely KKH for me again, but this time will opt for B4 Ward and will request for the private suite service as in Dr Tee and his team to care for me when I'm in labour and for delivery. Hopefully by then, I can really have natural and no more last minute C-sect as that is the sky-high costs! I think Mt A is relatively cheaper and the place seems quiet and cozy when I visited my gf who delivered there earlier this year March. Her gynae is Dr Kenneth something...old guy already I heard.

oh yah, I would have to apply for new IB pin! Gotta wait 5 working days for them to send me the new item and deduct $20!!! Am going to keep my IB Pin under lock and key.

durianlover
Oh dear, just re-read your post. Sounds anemic to me, but then you explained that could be possible low blood pressure. Best to ask gynae have you checked. Take Care!!

Milk feed
How much milk does your toddlers drink now? Seems like 210ml not enough for Daren. He's on Progress Gold which is considered quite thick, and we have to up the amount to 240ml now as he keeps sucking at the bottle even though he's finished the initial 210ml. He craves for milk lately and will now say,"Milk, Milk"! To indicate that he wants to drink milk.

May
oh dear, sounds like alot of work for your laundry! Do you have those Roman EZY Brush lint remover? Think that will help you to brush off? There's also this rubber laundry balls that's meant to be added together with your pile of laundry to get rid of lint.

cookie
When Daren had fever and the PD checked his throat and found it red, she gave antibiotics as well. Since the fever could be caused by the bacteria throat infection. Antibiotics more to battle the nasty bacteria, but must finish the course of antibiotics, if not the bug will get resistant to the antibiotics.

mamachan
thanks!...throat infection is really difficult to fight and always give persistent fever

durainlover
ya like the rest of the mum say, think u better check. I'm also Thalassemia carrier and my blood count is as low as 9.6 (think normal is 13) but Thank God I dun have fainting spell. anyway Thalassemia is not suppose to have fainting spell but my blood count is very low that Gynae a bit concern.
So Pls check with gynae to clear this concern.

Flo
yalor.. big drinker hor.. abit worry now when he is back, cannot satisfy him! but anyway will jus try and stake step by step.

Cheng/Sleeping deer
Kyler is supposed to be seen by Dr tan too originally and personally I also really like him cos he is very patient and explain everything I asked in details which I really appreciate.
He checked on Kyler at birth and in Mt A but left for some medical trip over national day weekend. On monday he is not back yet so I seen Dr lee.. who is the lady (I heard she is his cousin) but I still prefer Dr Tan. I was telling HB if Dr Tan were to do the admission, I probably wun cry so badly cos he is always very reassuring.

cookie

my son also a big eater, now drinking 100ml almost every 1.5 to 2 hours... so stressful.. he can't sleep thro the nite like tabby could.. he still wakes up 3 times... so sianz! He sleeps at 6 til 11pm, then wakes up at 2 and then at 4 and then at 7.30-8am.. i think i need to make him drop the 2 am feed but dunno how... only good thing is that altho he's one month premature, he's now caught up with weight...i'm so happy cos last time tabby was so small and drank so little.. now my son is so pong pong!

Hope Kyler has been discharged already? Just feed on demand and his jaundice will go away... jiao you hor...

did you isolate kaelyn for kyler? dunno why tabby also fell sick soon after thad was born... so worrying...

Mongs
congrat on your girl.. she can have her pick of boyfriends from the forum

Durianlover
SO scary, better rest... hope this thurs playgroup isn't too taxing for you... u need us to bring anything?

Thanks mummies for the help!
I tried CL's method of washing the clothes half load. It removes some. I will try again tonight.

Mamapanda,
OK, so you msg me on Sat morning and we confirm the collection time. Erm...Wenyl didn't ask me to collect her loot for her though.

Mamachan,
Thank goodness you had subsidy! Without the subsidy at KKH its so ex! Cos I had the same case as you (induce-heart rate drop-csect), but i think i stayed longer, ie 5D4N and my bill at TMC was only S$6k (before medisave) for single bedder.

cookie
hope kyler's jaundice level drop and can discharge today.

that time my gal was admitted to Mt A, too. And, I totally didn't have preparation at all. The PD just told us that she needed to be admitted for photo therapy after we visited him for review. really heartpain to see such a small baby to go through all the pokings for the blood test. i cried awfully in the hospital... so paiseh. during those few days of her stay, i transported BM to hospital everyday.
For follow-up of jaundice level, you can go polyclinic for blood test. the waiting time for NB is very short, and it's less costly.

durianlover
rest well! the giddiness is really horrible, i haven't got over it totally yet.

morning mummies...have decided not to send Caleb over to my MIL hse coz i am quite bored at home esp if he stays over for the night. so I suggested putting caleb at home and I will take care for him myself. hopefully i dun bite my words later on. hahaa.. btw, want to share some amusing...Caleb somehow can detect baby crying very well. he caught us by surprise this morning when i am still lazing on the bed..and he suddenly say..bb crying. bb crying. then i got up and listened hard..indeed Jadon is crying in the other room. his ears is soooo sharp. its really amazing. and keep asking me to go out and see bb.

cookie - good to hear that Kyler is doing well. hopefully he will be discharge today. keep us updated and gee Kyler is really a drinker. Jadon drinks only like 60-80ml.

mamachan - sad to say i discharged on National day and the registration counter was closed. so no choice lor. anyway we are doing passport for Jadon soon, so when we pop over to ICA ..can submit the baby bonus as well. Caleb now drinks 210ml and normally will have some left over unless he is very hungry. wow Daren is also another drinker. haha..maybe he is growing tats why. hmm..now i can explain why ur son is much taller and heavier than Caleb although both born on same day

May - oh no..i can understand your fustration...my hb used to leave his tissue paper in his pocket and get all the laundry stucked with tissue bits. like wat Flo says, go buy a lint remover...i bought one from 3M...quite good. U can get form DIY stores or i bot mine from carrefour.

SSF
Ha! No lah, I think Daren is heavier coz both parents also heavy bone type, and he's got hb's big genes. My MIL always say that my hb was a really huge baby and super chubby when young, but Daren was not exactly sumo-type chubby but got solid mass-tough type of body. Caleb is so cute!! Think he'll make a really good kor kor! Hahaha, Jadon's protector hor? *winks*

Tracy
Yes! Thank God for the subsidy! I think my bill was high because I was in labour ward a long time, and then I asked for epi halfway during labour. Not bad, you stayed for 5D4N, I stayed 3D2N!! I was shocked that I had to discharge on 3rd day and was really scared and reluctant as I was sore all over and couldn't really walk! If cost is going to be high factor for us, then bo bian, might look into changing gynae. I better check my scheme to see if got subsidy for delivery at NUH or not =P

MMI @ Claymore
I received a call yesterday from their staff to be reminded that I got a voucher for a free trial (from Motherhood Exhibition) and arranged for me to go by this Saturday from 10am to 11.30am. Any idea if they are the very hard sell type? I think my soon-to-be ex-colleague's daughter attends that place for day care but I heard got recent outbreak of HFMD....

mongs
Congrats for having a girl!! Been wanting to post my congrats, always slip my mind!

May,

I got that problem before too. Err.. actually I tried removing by hand but it's so taxing. End up I surrender and leave it to the part-time cleaner. She sorted it out for me. : ) Sorry, I quite bad at housework.

Flo,
Ha haha.. yup, agreed on the entertaining silly questions bit. Hmm... now, I am hesitating if I should bring Charmaine back tot he previous clinic for the MMR or go to Dr Khor to get just the measles jab....

Cookie,
No probs on the canto serials. If you are really bored, can ask your hubby to come by my place and pick up the CD-Rs. : )

Mel's PD (and Charmaine is seeing her now too) is really quite good at feeding medicine. She would usually serve the first dose herself at the clinic. Subsequent ones she would teach us how to feed, like suggesting what type of food to "hide" the medicines in. She also has some medicine in various forms, e.g. tablets, syrup so that you can choose which type would be easier for you to feed. Actually I think we have gotten so creative at hiding Charmaine's medicine in her food - we hid it in bananas, popcorns, biscuits, yogurt...

Re: Civil service subsidy
huh? what subsidy? I also from civil service leh....

Krissie,
Must take care of yourself... so scary to have fainting spells.

mamachan - i was even more shocked. they keep asking me to discharge....i feel like i am being chased out. haha..i stayed only for 3D2N. in fact on the second day, my gynae says i can discharge in the evening but i want to stay for another night. in TMC, I stayed for 4D3N. hb says is it becos i can claim from co, thats why they chase me hm. haha...

sl - i am not from civil servant.. i work under a healthcare co. so i am entitled to subsidy for delivery. the bill has not arrived...still waiting for its arrival though. hopefully its not alot.

SSF/Mamachan

That's becoz KKH has shortage of beds. Pp usually stay 1 day lesser than in pte hospitals. That's why I feel that it's like conveyor belt operation lor which i dislike. After give birth, chase you out liao. That time my SIL also C-section, kenna chased out very quickly and she can't even walk properly yet.

scanning thru the posts quickly.

cookie
glad to hear that kyler is better. hope he can come home soon.

mamachan
i also got the voucher from MMI but haven gone for it yet...

May
oh dear, sounds terrible. maybe try the lint remover? but it takes quite some time to remove it. ask Jamie to help u.

re big eater
i find that JH takes less and less milk. maybe cos his solids intake increased.

cookie
u must be talking abt Dr Sim. I just went last week for JH's jab. he seems ok and willing to answer my questions. i asked quite a few other questions and he was ok. he even said let's finish all the questions before the jab.

the last time when JH had throat infection, he din give antibiotics until the fever din come down after a few days.

my ex colleague goes to Dr Terence Tan as well.
but it's super crowded lor..

SSF
caleb so cute....

re: Dr Terence Tan
That time the nurse at Mt A told me that this PD is very popular. the clinic opens at 8am+, 7am+ already got ppl q'ing!

Mongs
keep forgetting to congrats you. congrats for having a gal!

Re: big eater
i gave my gal 240ml and sometimes she can ask for some more! but we didn't give her. 'cos she has been eating a lot of solid food. that day my mil told me that she took 1 pc of bread as breakfast, but my gal can take 2 pc!!!
i guess, that explain y her weight increased from 9.7kg to 10.1kg in 1 mth time...

SSF/Mashy
hahaha. I like to think of it as my gynae helping me save $$$ even though I thought I should be resting one more night at KKH. Dr Tee was quite matter-of-factly told me,"you admitted on Tuesday right? So Friday can go home" and gave me a big smile. Of course, he must have felt my wound was healing nicely. Frankly, I rather rest at home then on the hospital bed! I couldn't sleep well on the hard bed man!

SSF
Your hb so funny, they have to chase you home coz you claiming from co? LOL. I'm now thinking if I opt for C-sect for future #2, I will make my hb get the tummy binder for me and BF pillow!

SY
Wanna call up the Claymore branch and attend the session with me this Saturday morning? Since it's a free trial...=) But I will have to rush off thereafter to continue my studying liaoz.

Hey,

cookie

Terence Tan is good .. but i am using the other lady doc.. Dr Lee.. I think she is equally good. she was the only PD that found out my friend's son had cancer .. as she insisted on a blood test where the other PD just give medication.

sl
wanted to post to reply you but forgot. Civil service had a medical scheme before 1994 that has very good coverage, with the civil service card, say when we went KKH, we present the card, we don't have to pay upfront (deduct only 40% from hb's pay of course). For delivery and hospital stay, the hospital stay is subsidized up to (I can't remember this part) either 40% or 60%. Hoever, POST-1994 scheme is just $350 per year to cover not just you but family dependents as well and claimable up to $10 per visit.

Aileen,

Are you still looking for the straw for Edgar ?
Saw some which are extendable kind similar to those packet drinks one at Daiso/ Plaza sin.

Mt A vs TMC
Mummies, I'm in a dilemma in deciding which of the above hospital to go for this time and seems like today's posts are quite apt for me. My gynae delivers at both so I can't really decide. Delivered at TMC last time and the whole place is like a market to me. Very noisy at night, can't sleep cos my room was very near to the nursery area. Can even hear babies crying until I feel so heartpain that I even drag out of bed to check if the crying is from mine. But the nurses are really helpful and caring and food is quite good.

How about Mt A? Went there to visit my aunt recently, seen that the nursery is very empty and the whole place is very quiet and peaceful. I'm a Catholic so I like the chapel in the hospital. But the nurses look so-so to me only. Does Mt A do hospital tour for deliveries?

Natural birth vs C-sect :
asking on behalf of neighbour. She's having fibroid of 5cm and she worries that if she goes for natural birth, it may cause complication, and she's most certainly afraid that she'll end up in emerg C-sect. So she's thinking of going for C-sect. Anyone has any similar experience to share or advice?

looking to borrow pump :
Another fren just delivered preemie twin gals last week. She needs to borrow a high-end breastpump for possibly a month. Anyone can lend, pls pm me. thanks!

mamapanda, confirmed that my Amazon Prime is free trial for a month. That means I can get free shipment regardless of min, and I get 2-days shipment, instead of the usual appr 5 within US. Anyone want to borrow the acct, pm me. My trial's till mid of Sep.

Mamachan, I got the same trial voucher and got a call from MMI Jurong almost 2 days later. It seems like a pre-arranged trial and not just us calling them for trial when we feel that our kids are ready. I feel mine's not that ready for MMI yet.
ps. hv not heard from u gals on my SB payments .. lmk ok?

.ky.

mongs, haha... I heard about the 'flashing' too for boys. From my 11th week scan, gynae suspected may be a boy already but only the next 2 scans then can confirm.

Durianlover, be careful when you go out with Janelle alone. Try and see if someone else can go along with you. I don't go out alone with Kirsten anymore cos she is too active now and I can't jaga her without extra pairs of eyes.

mamapanda
can help me get 1 tube of calendula cream? my supply is running low on mine and my mum side. do let me know the cost and when it will reach you. thank you!

RE: PLAYGROUP
Pls indicate whether you would like lunch for your darlings!

Date: 16 Aug, Thursday
Proposed time: 10:00 - 11:30am
Venue: Bukit Panjang, Jelapang Rd

1. durianlover - thurs ok, lunch
2. Rachel - thurs ok, no need lunch
3. mamapanda - ok , small bit to try try only
4. tabbiesus : ok no need lunch
5. ky - Thu ok no need lunch
6. sleepingdeer - ok, lunch

Oh yah, one more silly question about Mt A. Do they have anything like the FBI or SBI card in TMC? The FBI (First Born Incentive) card helped me save quite a bit on the scan and hospital charges.

Hi mummies;

I finally popped! Gabrielle arrived on 10th Aug at 6.17pm - birthweight 3.34kg length 54cm. I was in labour for 12 hours, took me quite long to 'push' her out cos she came out with her hand next to her head.

It's 4.47am now and i've been up since 2am. this girl won't settle down after her feed. can't believe i'm reliving the nightmare all over again..

I'm breastfeeding her on demand, trying to build up my supply. I expressed a few times but can't get much with the pump. if i hand express (takes me close to an hour!), i can get only about 50 to 60ml

I also feel quite guilty about not being able to spend time with Rory..feels like i'm neglecting him. He seems ok so far with Gabby around, calls her 'mei mei' and kisses her sometimes. But my mum noticed he's abit more clingy than usual, which is normal i guess.

How do mummies with more than 1 kid make #1 feel more reassured of their place in the family?

Cookie;
Read about Kyler's jaundice, hope he gets well soon. Glad you're feeling abit better too...

Durianlover;

I had giddy spells a couple of time whilst pregnant with Rory. They happened during Mass when i got up from my seat. My BP is a tad low which might be the cause. Think it's best you check with your gynae.

valerie
I visited my gf when she delivered at Mt A. The place is nice and cosy, very quaint and quiet. My gf says she enjoyed her stay there and it's really a spacious single-bedded room. I think you can request to tour the hospital.

Kirsten's 17th tooth is coming out. It's the 2nd molar tooth on her left lower gum. Sigh, keep getting disturbed sleep. And so do Daddy. Mummy too tired from being pregnant, so not too bad. hehee...

Cass, congrats! Gabby is a nice pet name. I think your supply is very good! Only 5 days since you delivered and you are feeding on demand, still can get 50-60ml. That's a lot to me!

Thanks, Mamachan. Ok, I'll call to request for a tour then.

Mamachan - I am in Pre-1994 Civil Service Med Scheme
Covered 85% by the govt. If I rem correctly, my hsp bill was abt 6K for delivery at NUH. We paid abt $2.8k when I was discharged. The amt was refunded abt 2 mths later because the $2.8 was deducted from Medisave in the end. Cephas hsp bill (including the jauncdice stay) was deducted fr Medisave as well. Cephas is covered 60% as a dependent under my scheme.

just finished speed read the archive! tons of them!

cookie/ssf
CONGRATS on the arrival of your little ones!!! their handsome photo sure brighten up everyone's day! you girls are doing a great job on your BFing!

re; KKH
i enjoyed my experience with KKH during my pregnancy and stay after delivery. they even asked me to stay for another night but its me who insisted on discharge.
dylan was admitted for phototherapy and later detected having hernia and was advised to go for an operation. cried buckets after buckets during that time. the doctors and nurses there were very pro and warm, they did all arrangements for dylan to go through the operation and monitoring before discharge him in time to go home for his 1st CNY. KKH is not as bad as some commented.

cassCl
congrats!!! dun feel too guilty abt Rory, it is only natural that you have less time to spend with him now. make it quality time instead.

wow u make sure u get enough sleep..sounds like a tough time!

i just got a job offer. how do i negotiate for a better pay package? never really got the experience

mamachan
not sure whether i can go this sat cos a bit last min to arrange and must prepare my hb for it first...

no one interested in the blackmores stuff?

valerie
wow 17th tooth! think JH got about 10 only? haven been counting..that day i went to your blog...really nice.

ky
i dun mind lending my pump but the bottles are a bit mouldy so i was intending to replace the bottles when i have second one. let me know if your fren needs it.

Cass
A BIG CONGRATS!! you are doing very good! your MS will kicks in very soon since you are feeding on demand =) do post Gabby's pretty photo when you have the time! rest well!

re KKH
i guess in every hospital, there's always the good and the bad. like rachel, my stay wasn't too bad and the ward that i was at had very nice nurses. in fact, during one of the visits to a polyclinic, the nurse asked me which ward i stayed and she commented that the nurses there are very experienced.