(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

re peaches
my peaches are great and all gone liao. hee, dun mind getting some more cos i love peach as well.

queen
i m stlil on for online biz but just that been so busy at work that no time to think abt it.

re education plans
i wan to put JH at 2-3 hours playgroup. mummies, how do u plan the transport in this case?

Dear mummies
Me has been missing out a lot of posting man.

This week busy looking after Aden Mon n Tue, Wed went for Charmaine's centre national day outing, today busy with our 1st open house for the scrapbooking. Must list down what I want to post so wont miss out ha ha.

Big Thank you
We had fun at our open house today. Thanks Flo, Ky , Tracy for coming. Pai seh for not being good host. Must make sure you all make full use of the tools you have bought. Lets do cropping session together. Bi-monthly will be fun. Thanks Flo for being our "guest of honour" to conduct the lucky draw so there is no "play cheap".

Cards n Scrap
Congrats Clare. Ha ha no wonder the stuff look familiar because I oso gotten them from you. Hee Hee. Business looks good, keep it up.

Fruits and Vege
Spinach is always good and surprisingly this time my gal who does not take vege love the spinach. The portion is juz right for me this time.

My hb and gal are the lazy kind, this time round my peach oso not so good and not soft or ripe enuff like last time. I am the one eating the strawberry only. Is it fattening ? If there are cherries like last time, I want leh.

Education Plans for our Toddlers
=================================
1) Maywong - Jan 2008, Halfday, Childcare (Still finding)
2) Tracy - Sept 2007, 2hr daily, Playgroup, Y'Kidz Montessori at Sin Ming
3) Denmy - Jan 2008, 3hrs, playgroup, TBC (maybe Babies Inc/ some Montessori schools/ Nafa Kindergarten)
4) ky - no plans
5) MamaChan - Jan 2009, Pre-Nursery/Kindergarten, TBC (looking at Faith Methodist Church nursery/kindy or Milk and Honey), then after which FMPS for primary school. I lazy to find other school, just join the alumni and get D in.
6) Queen - Jan 2008, 2 or 3-hrs playgroup or half-day childcare (dunno where yet, definitely in woodlands area)
7) Mamapanda - Jan 2008, full-day pre-nursery at Amazing Star Montessori or 1/2day pre-N at CCK kinderland
8)bblon - jan2008. 1.5 hr playgroup at apple tree. Still looking out for Childcare center. Planning for 0.5 day.
9)Chicken little - Jan08, childcare fullday at Del Care with Charmaine. May start early if my nanny can find a "replacement" baby early.

Mamapanda,
Pai seh, i will do the transfer soon. I forgot who owe me money the other round which you offset from me. Too busy this week.

DnD
Flo, you look great. Very onz leh. I oso like to dress up with D n D if there is a bunch of kakis.

SSF and Cookie
Big congrats to the both of you. Take care and rest well... all the best to the bfing..

Sleepingdeer
this is one the the titles, Gina Ford's top tips for contended babies. This is the summarised version. Think the normal version has a similar title of contended babies.

Re. Tiger Food Jar
I think there's a problem with my jar... it cannot retain heat very well anymore. I tried cooking porridge in the jar today and found that the porridge is not as warm as before and some grains are actually semi-cooked. Dunno if it's because I accidentally dropped the jar a few times before? Anyone of you has this problem with the jar? Sigh, now I don't know whether to get a new one. Do you all know whether John Little sells Tiger products?

RE: Playgroup
Mamapanda & Rachel have not yet stated their preferences for venue. How?
Is it easier for you all if it's at Bt P?
Also, how about let's fix it next Thursday 16 Aug? Can make it? Or is it too soon?

Sorry if i post very slowly coz i don't check forum that often nowadays. If anything can just PM or sms me!

Proposed time: 10:00 - 11:30am
Venue: Bukit Panjang (?) - my place is open but if anyone else would like to offer their place wld also be good!

RE: Weekday Playgroup

Venue: Bukit Panjang (?) - my place is open but if anyone else would like to offer their place wld also be good!

1. durianlover - prefer weekday but Sat also can / Bt Panjang preferred but can go with majority
2. Rachel
3. mamapanda
4. tabbiesus (i put my name down first cos now on ML)
5 mashybrainz (if location is more central, bukit panjang alittle too far for me)
6. ky (if on Thu, prefer Bkt Panjang)

Queen,
My Tiger Food Jar still works very well leh. I have no problems with it. Maybe it's coz it was dropped too many times? I have yet to drop my food jar!

3) Denmy - Jan 2008, 3hrs, playgroup, TBC (maybe Babies Inc/ some Montessori schools/ Nafa Kindergarten)
4) ky - no plans
5) MamaChan - Jan 2009, Pre-Nursery/Kindergarten, TBC (looking at Faith Methodist Church nursery/kindy or Milk and Honey), then after which FMPS for primary school. I lazy to find other school, just join the alumni and get D in.
6) Queen - Jan 2008, 2 or 3-hrs playgroup or half-day childcare (dunno where yet, definitely in woodlands area)
7) Mamapanda - Jan 2008, full-day pre-nursery at Amazing Star Montessori or 1/2day pre-N at CCK kinderland
8)bblon - jan2008. 1.5 hr playgroup at apple tree. Still looking out for Childcare center. Planning for 0.5 day.
9)Chicken little - Jan08, childcare fullday at Del Care with Charmaine. May start early if my nanny can find a "replacement" baby early
10) durianlover - Jan08, 2hrs playgroup at Little Pals Schoolhouse at the block just beside mine.

RE: education plans
babylon,
You mean Apple Tree accepts Damien? I've checked it out and they don't accept Janelle coz she's born in Jan 2006 and they go by year. So for next year's intake it's for those born in 2005.

Anyway for me, the priority is distance as I doubt i can take public transport and travel with Janelle and my newborn then. My only problem is that Janelle is supposed to start her playgroup in Jan 08 and my no.2 would have been just born by then. Am concerned that it's a big adjustment for her - with a new sibling plus sending her off to playgroup, albeit 2hrs daily. Shall see how it goes!

4) ky - no plans
9)Chicken little - Jan08, childcare fullday at Del Care with Charmaine. May start early if my nanny can find a "replacement" baby early
10) durianlover - Jan08, 2hrs playgroup at Little Pals Schoolhouse at the block just beside mine.
11) Rena076 - Started 1 day and decided to pull out. will start again only when he is 2 half. at Kinderland

durianlover,

Damien was born on Dec'05...so they accepted him.

At first, i was thinking to send him to kinderland as i heard very good feedback on kinderland but the one that nearest to my house - downstair was wet market...and the rest that on my list was those at Bt Timah. I was not very comfortable with him to take taking school bus. So decided to send him to apple tree playgroup which is just opposite my house.

4) ky - no plans
11) mongs - Dec 07, half day childcare, Cheeryland School House Pte Ltd, Montessori program.

Queen,
we can't claim subsidy for playgroup. I am sending clariss to cheeryland at sembawang mart. she will be doing the montessori program. they also have the thematic program there. u can take a look there. the principal sandy is quite good. have not meet the teacher who is going to be in charged of clariss but my sister met her so should be alright. they fixed their teacher to ratio to 1:5 for the montessori program and we like the idea that she will be together with the bigger age group toddlers, she will be able to learn from them. there are currently 11 students with 3 teachers in the class, plus clariss joining in dec 07 and my nephew who is joining Jan 08, there will be 13 of them. still have 2 slots left. you can bring issac there and see if he likes the place. clariss felt very comfortable there. she roams around the place while we talked to the teacher and principal.

tabbiesus,
I have a friend who just enrolled her son to cherie hearts at holland. her son just started for 3 days only when I met her so not sure how it is. but can see that her son is very upset and kept saying "mama don't want me". her son is born on july 05.

SSF
Looks like Caleb is all ready to be a big kor kor

Sysac/SSF/ChickenLittle/Tabb
No lah, is becos my colleagues are all very on one...if don't dress up I'll 'stand out'...haha. But would say it's such events that make worklife much more enjoyable. Tabb, me not really a star wars fan, choose the costume cos it looks cool...heehee

Queen
I've no problem with my tiger jar too.

Tracy
Too bad missed you and Megan yesterday cos Mel only woke up around 3.

Chickenlittle
Sorry forgot to transfer $$ to you yesterday, will do it tonite. Totally zonked out after I finally put Mel to bed!

Clare
Congratulations, all the best for your biz venture

there is an overlapped.

4) ky - no plans
11) Rena076 - Started 1 day and decided to pull out. will start again only when he is 2 half. at Kinderland
12) mongs - Dec 07, half day childcare, Cheeryland School House Pte Ltd, Montessori program.

Good morning mummies,

Mongs,
Oh dear, I stay in SBW and don't even know where is SBW mart. Does this Cheeryland have a playgroup program? Do they have a website? I'm thinking of Woodlands area cos my in-laws can fetch Isaac back.

Re. Tiger Food Jar
I dunno whether should get another one cos probably is a few months' time, Isaac will not be eating porridge all the time. Sigh, my Tiger Food Jar is barely 6 months old and have to replace liao.

babylon,
How's Appletree? There's also an Appletree in Woodlands, but the playgroup is only 1.5 hrs, which I think is too short.

4) ky - no plans
12) mongs - Dec 07, half day childcare, Cheeryland School House Pte Ltd, Montessori program.
13) Flo - Prob Jan 08? Thinking of starting Mel with 3 day/week, 3 hour program first. Have not started searching but will have to be in woodlands area too cos easier for my mom.

Queen
Have u narrowed down your search? Me have not done any homework but if I plan to send Mel in Jan 08, guess have to start doing some research now. Maybe we can share notes. My nephew first started off with 3 day program at the Montessori sch at Vista Point tho my SIL didn't really like (not sure Chinese or English) teacher. I'm also considering kinderland at causeway pt but it seems like they are not as good as the one in YCK. The first consideration is more location I guess cos it would be easier for my mom and anyway is more for Mel to get use to the concept of going to school. Will consider letting her travel a longer distant when she's ready to take a sch bus on her own maybe around 4-5 year old?

Mongs
How's the transport arrangement for Clariss to travel to cheeryland at sembawang mart? Is it a full day or half day program?

Flo,
THe Vista Point centre is more for enrichment classes right? I thought it's too intensive, not to mention expensive. There is a MMI Childcare at Woodlands Ave 4 and Learning Vision at Plaza 888, but not too sure if they have playgroup programme. I'm not keen for Isaac to attend half-day childcare yet. So looking at 2-3hrs programme. In fact, I'm thinking of sending Isaac only in June 2008, but see how it goes. Earliest will be Jan 2008.

4) ky - no plans
13) Flo - Prob Jan 08? Thinking of starting Mel with 3 day/week, 3 hour program first. Have not started searching but will have to be in woodlands area too cos easier for my mom.
14) Krissie - Started on last monday, 30 Jul, halfday, childcare, Treasure Box.

Cheng/CL
Re: JWT Tumbles Wigglers Trial

Shall we go on 18 Aug? Do you prefer UE Square or Eastgate?

The timing are as follows:
Eastgate: 10:30 AM to 11:30 AM
UE Square : 9:30 AM to 10:30 AM or 11:45 AM to 12:45 PM

I guess if we want to go UE Square will have to be 9:30 - 10:30am since CL need to rush back for Charmaine's class?

Anyone else interested?
1. Flo
2. Cheng
3. CL

Queen
Humm, I think my nephew started with the playgroup cos he was only 2+ then. Is a 3 hour 3 times a week program. Maybe they have changed their program? but yes they are expensive

Queen
re your earlier qn on the diff between halfday CC and playgrp. Those 3 hrs playgrp will only teach the child during the classes, whereas the halfday CC will also gv the child breakfast, lunch and shower, plus the classes. So, it depends on what suits your family. Also, those playgrp usually accept children from like 3 years onwards (for those church kindergarden and also Kinderland at my place). We needed to put Ger in by 19mths, so only CC accept them from 18mths onwards. So, no choice, only CC, plus their timings are longer, so my mum has more time to herself to do marketing and cook dinner, etc.

Just to share a typical half day CC (for Ger's sch) will be:
7am - 8.30am - Self play (we usually drop Ger at abt 8am)
8.30 -9am - Outdoor play
9am - 9.30am - Breakfast
9.30 - 11am - Class (they have 3 slots, each for half hour, 1) gym class, 2) chinese class 3) english / art and craft / story telling / music and movement
11am -11.30 - lunch
11.30 - 12.30 - shower and play in class (sometimes the teachers will only read and do activities with the children when they're not in the shower)
12.30 - pick up by school bus

hope it helps.

flo,
there is a school bus operator that caters to the students there. can be for full or half day. depending on the distance and if you are taking 1 or 2 trips, the charges are different. from my place to sembawang mart, the charges is $55 for 1 trip and $80 for 2 trips. there is a attendant on the minibus so the operator says it's quite safe. the attendant will also bring the children to and fro from the bus to the centre. However, clariss is not taking the school bus. Starting from dec, my hubby will be sending her and picking her up in the afternoon. he is a teacher so he will be having sch holidays then. we want to let her start before my 2nd one is born so that she won't feel that she needs to go to sch because of her didi or meimei. I will do the fetching when I am on maternity leave and before I go back to work, I will convert from halfday to full day. more time for her to adjust.
flo, u may want to consider learning vision at republic poly, very new and big. but I have not been there bf, jus heard it from my sis.

queen, flo
I went to learning vision at plaza 888 is take a look. the space for her age group is very small, only half a room and they are almost confined there the whole day so I don't like it. it's also fully air conditioned and I also don't quite like it. the fee is almost the same as cheeryland but she will be starting to learn things at cheeryland through the montessori program whereas in learning vision, she is just playing everyday. same goes for kinderland at civic plaza, it's more expensive than cheeryland and also aircon and also not learning anything. the food is also catered from outside. something that I don't quite like.
but one thing that we observed at learning vision at plaza 888, they have plastic covers at the side of the door where the hinges are which is very safe for toddlers. my hubby was so impressed, he said he wants to find out where they can buy these and ask cheeryland to install. the teacher told us that something happened bf. must be quite a serious accident for them to install all these at all the doors.
I think there is playgroup for kinderland and learning vision.

Durianlover - so sian tat appletree cant accept our kids rite! imagine we gota wait til 2009 for them to get in... i had called them early tis year ,tinkin i cld enrol her when she turns 18mths...who knows, its a super long wait til 2009... sigh... had reali wanted appletree cos its just downstairs at my inlaws' hse...

Babylon - which appletree u sending damien?

4) ky - no plans
14) Krissie - Started on last monday, 30 Jul, halfday, childcare, Treasure Box
15) God's child - currently in Kinderland weekend playgrp program, looking for 2008 daily playgrp but no luck so far! clementi has very limited playgrps!! argh!

krissie,
clariss schedule is quite similar for her halfday cc but she won't be bathe in cc. she will leave after lunch at around 12pm.

queen,
sembwang mart is next to blk 508. I think maybe still can walk from your place, maybe about 10mins. there is also another cc at sembawang mart, just opp cheeryland, can't remember what name but also aircon so we decided not to use them.

durianlover
just to share, you might wanna consider starting Janelle at sch at the same time when #2 comes? I heard qt a lot of feedback that the #1 might feel abandoned and makes going to sch even more diff for the child. From my own experience, Ger was feeling insecure and clingy when he started sch.

Queen,

I would say that 1.5hr is pretty short..but i just wanted him to start with somthing first..more on interact with other kid. In the meanwhile, i still serching for 1/2 day CC.

Curriculum Programs
Sharing Time
Questions, ideas, stories and objects about the theme will be discussed by and with the children.

Art & Craft Time
Fun and simple projects to enhance the theme.

Circle Time
Games, songs, stories and others that children can
experience together.

Food Experiences
Opportunities to both prepare and sample the theme's appropriate food (such as eating fruit sample).

Theme Activities
An assortment of activities that allow for further
improvement and extensions:

Beginning sounds of alphabets (Phonics for toddlers)

Music and movement (action songs, rhymes and fingerplays)

Pretend play, role play

Creative play

Puzzles for beginners

Problem solving games

Sound identification (looking and listening)

Thinking and understanding

www.appletree.com.sg

so sad, there is a mother at the dec 07 thread who just find out that her baby is going to be a down baby. they are going to terminate the pregnancy. so sad for her and the baby.

Flo,
Paiseh, my eyesight not very good lah. Remember I want to go fro lasik? : )
Actually, now that you have mentioned it you do looked like Queen amidala from what I remembered. Sorry, me not stars war fan - I only see them in hotels when there are no other options avaialble. : )

re: education plans
I want to send Charmaine back to Delcare soon but must wait till she's at least 12kg. I feel that she's "wasting time" at home.

We brought Charmaine to zoo yesterday. It was really fun. I think they can appreciate zoo better at this stage already. But it was so crowded that she can't see anything during the shows and lose interest after 5 minutes.

May
According to Denmy, is $42 and can be offset from the fee if you dec to sign up

SL
U took Charmaine out from Delcare? The 12kg thingy sounds like Dr Khor advice

Flo
thanks.. we'll skip if it's gym.. Dun think Ger needs gym class.
plus he has it in sch everyday (of cos the simple type).

sl,
I don't quite understand why is there a link between weight and childcare. u mean ur PD advised you to pull her out from childcare because she lost weight there or it's like a milestone kind of advice? clariss is only 10.5kg now and I don't think she will reach 12kg by year end. charmaine is exactly 1 month younger than clariss.

RE: Weekday Playgroup

1. durianlover - prefer weekday but Sat also can / Bt Panjang preferred but can go with majority
2. Rachel
3. mamapanda (BP)
4. tabbiesus (i put my name down first cos now on ML)
5 mashybrainz (if location is more central, bukit panjang alittle too far for me)
6. ky (if on Thu, prefer Bkt Panjang)

May,
Sorry to hurry you... but do you mind dropping by my mom's place soon with the training pants and collect the ON stuff as well? Cos Sept03bride's gap items also in the bag and I am waiting for the training pants to pass everything to Flo and then to cookie and Clare.

durianlover
Hows the Pal schoolhouse next to your block? I didn't see it. Do they have 1/2day or full day programs? How much are they charging? Exactly where is it?

CL,

Not sure.. am on a fatten-Charmaine-up plan which is actually very easy to execute if she's well. But the thing is, she starts to cough like every 6 weeks... sigh...

Flo,
You are so right, it's from Dr Khor. Sigh. Think she has run out of ideas on how to prevent/keep charmaine from coughing.... But I have to say, she has been very good so far. Much better than my previous PD.

mongs,
well, the theory is that childcare are like "diesase centres" given the number of children at close proximity so the 12kg mark is the point where our children will have better ability to "fight" the germs and viruses in the childcare centres and therefore not so easy to fall sick. I still got 2kg more to go though....

sl

aiya... so cham... my tabby is stagnant at 9.5kg max.. sometimes hovering lower.. how to keep her at the right weight...

i seriously have to start her at play group soon...

Today finally had his booster and cleared all jabs...Yippy!!! My thick skin boy din cry when kena poke...gave the blur look. Probably was figuring wats happening. He's 11kg and 84cm.

RE : AVENT Citric Acid
Someone was saying that they hv moved and gotta buy from philip itself? If so, my hub might be meeting his friend working there and I wld prob ask him to get some for me. Anyone wanna tompang?

Ha ha SL
Then my Aden is ready to go any time. He is 14 kg and 89 cm when I brought him for DPT jab on 6 Aug.

Tracy
He oso did not cry leh. Still smile and play with pd. He has one more MMR to go which I will delay nearer to age 2.

SL
Ya lor I keep asking her about MMR and DTP jab she would say no hurry wait till Mel is 12kg. But come and think of it, seems like there is some truth to it cos Mel kept falling sick every 4 weeks when she turned 12 months. Now that she's 11.5kg and doesn't seems to fall sick so often **touchwood**

Hi Mummies;

I'm finally in labour! yay! saw the show when i went to the loo and contractions started around 130am last night but doctor don't want me in hospital yet...duh. i'm waiting at home now

sl,
First time i heard of such thing about being 12kg before going CC! I think for many of the kids here on this thread, it'll be really tough for them to reach 12kg before going to school leh. Nowadays it seems to take forever for their weight to increase!

god's child,
Ya...actually for me i was just exploring AppleTree at BPP, but since they don't accept then i just forget about it. Anyway i still hv to take feeder bus to get to BPP so a little inconvenient.

Mamapanda,
Little Pals schoolhouse is at the void deck of the block directly opp the multi-storey carpark, ie. also just directly opp my block, or next to my block. Not sure what's the block number though!
But they only have playgroup for 24months - 3yrs. No childcare or anything like that. All 2 hrs per day programme. Charges are pretty reasonable, like $400+ for 1 term, 5 days per wk (1 term is usually abt 12wks). Can't quite rem the cost. But since it's just downstairs, i'll send Janelle there. Plus i'm looking for playgroup more than CC, so it suits my requirements. Let me know if u'd like more info!

krissie,
Hmm i'm trying to negotiate to send Janelle into the playgroup slightly earlier if possible, before i deliver #2. Not too sure how she'll respond to playgroup, since it's just 2hrs per day, compared to CC which has longer hrs. Plus, Janelle is generally quite independent. Recently i left her in my church playroom alone with other kids for like 4 hrs at one stretch and she was perfectly fine...so i suspect she may take it quite alright to this playgrp.

Cass,
Wow so exciting!! Can see that you can't wait for baby to come out! Keep us updated!
U vry steady leh...contractions started so long ago and u're still at home!