(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF
I'm not sure if the cramp I'm experencing will give faster labour. I have the same kind of cramp around 38 weeks+ last round and by 40weeks I'm only 1.5cm dialted.
So far I have not heard anyone sharing the same poor cramp as me. and these cramps are not contraction.
These few days I'm having these cramps again and it's killing me

Mong
wow your pain threshold must be good.. 6cm dilated then u feel the real pain!
I was induced last round too.. am not sure abt contraction pain and show.

Now with my quite unbearable cramps, I dun even if those are cramps or contractions

Hi Cass
now 3 of us are waiting together...

ya during last weeks of pregnancy, even my very lax gynae is seeing me weekly before that was 4 weeks once.

Same to you too.. have a fast and smooth deliveries (exactly what I wish for)

SSF
wow.. you're due soon too. So exciting... All the best to you and cookie for a smooth delivery.

Cookie
ask Dr Ho to gv you MC and you rest at home. Hope you're not working already right?

After hearing the descriptions of you both, I'm so excited. I wonder how will my labour be like? I was also induced the last time on EDD. So, didnt hve the surprise contractions, etc. haha..

Krissie
Even if Dr Ho give MC, my co wun accept. Funny rite? anyway last round I also MC 2 days beore delivery and Co end up deduct my leave. But nevermind.. rest more important.
Thanks.. !

SY,Mashy, SSF
Strange, my avent bottles are ok. Is it coz there's a crack so it leak? Or maybe check the teats?

Mongs/Queen
Hmm...Hearing wat u both said made me wonder if i should change my job again. Really didn't like my job after i changed recently....

morning mummies....

wondering why i am awake so early?!? i gg for my c sect op later at 11a.m. and no food intake after 6a.m. so eating my last breakfast before i due. hb wanted to get me hotcakes from mac but seeing him so sleepy..i said no need la. you xin can already. haha..then he say..sure har and zonked back on the bed. haha...

anyway, yesterday gynae did a vagina check but he said the cervix is still close and not sure why there is show. this morn, there is also show too. so doc says since i have decided on c sect, i might as well deliver bb out sooner as he is already 2.9-3kg already.

so later gg to admit and get this lil prince out of me. abit scare coz this time is GA not like my previous one where i am half awake. pls pray for me ya. lurve u mummies for your support.

cookie - are we gg to due on the same day? at least u have dilated...i have not lei but got show and muscus discharge and also very uncomfortable when sleeping and walking. u better rest at hm if you are not gg to the hospital and make sure u monitor baby movements.

cass - have a smooth delivery and rest well too.

mamapanda - oh thanks for moving my items fwd as i think i might need the A+D cream soon. i dun think i have time to transfer the money to u yet. can i do it after i deliver? pls sms me ur bank acct and amt again. most likely i will ask hb to collect the 3 items(cali, A+D and derma) from CL. can u sms me once the items is at CL's place? thanks alot!!!

SSF/Cookie/Cass,
Have a smooth delivery. Keep us update hor.

RE: Injured Hubby
Sigh.. tell him to rest at home he dun want. Still go to work. Cannot wear sandals to work, with his injured toe must wear covered shoes. Super workaholic. How did u all managed to ask ur hubby take MC ah?

See so many mummies going to deliver at the same time really makes me think of that time when we are all preparing for delivery. Everyday online to see who pop already and reading the delivery process. Feel like getting pregnant again but hubby still not ready.

Hi May
HB taking MC
my hubby also super workaholic one...work on Saturday / Sunday and even at night. But what to do, he is running is own business so no choice...

I myself is also guilty of this but not so much that I am workaholic but there is so much to do and we have lots of deadline and if we don't meet the deadline, they announce to the whole world that so and so have not done the submission. I am in finance in an American firm and they are result-oriented, so every year, every month even everyday need to perform if not out you go. Somemore tell me this kind of skill set easy to go replacement.

SSF - wow wow, so excited for you! and to tink last year we delivered on the same day for our #1
and now, u are going to deliver your #2 liao... heehee... have a smooth delivery and my prayers are wf u and Jadon... do update us on bb Jadon...

Re: Avent
hmm... i also assemble when wet lei, but stil leak... am tinking of switching to Pigeon at the Baby Fair which is right after this Toy Fair... anyway, time for change la...haha...
Mamapanda - will sms u when i do the tsf later during lunch. thks for ur help! have the cali items arrived?

SSF,
Looking forward to the arrival of your baby Jadon!! We're all praying for you, I'm sure you will do well in the op!

Cookie,Cass,
soon...soon...

God's child,
Do you use the Avent mini tongs to pull the teat thru the ring? Tats wats the tongs is meant for and it works well.

SSF
all the best!! how come htis time is GA?

Cass
yeah the gynae in UK very lax one. my fren told me abt them. his wife was sent home with all the pain and everything cos cervix not dilated yet. she was at home for one week with cramps and show.

SH, CL
dunno why the bottle still leak. but now that JH doesn't drink milk at night, we dun have this problem anymore

JH keeps talking in his sleep. kind of funny. keeps calling out for jie jie and his dogs....

was reading harry potter last night. really good book..hope i can finish soon. read till 2am and now so tired...

Mamachan,CL,
Is the scrapbook open house at Mamachan's still on this National Day?

I was at Popular Bras Basah yesterday, saw couple of idiot-proof scrapbooking sets, complete with album, paper and embellishments.

SY,
I just finished my Harry Potter last night. I was doing speed reading, keeping late nights, and even walking and reading the book while following Meg around the house! Cos it is really exciting! I'm abit blur about the last part tho...when you get to the end, lemme know, i'll wanna ask you something about the last part.

Tracy
i m also sneaking in as much of the book as I can!! my sis also said there's someting abt the last part she din understand so she has been asking me to read so that we can discuss.

my colleague also said the same hting abt the last part. making me curious liao.

the book is really good. i tot it is the best of the 7 books.

my brother's bb - 6mth old refused to drink milk. So my mum added milk powder to his porridge and my SIL's mother was not very happy with it..saying that how can add milk powder to porridge..which caused abit of unhappiness. But i heard from PD that if bb refused to drink milk we can actually hide it in their solid...eg cereal or porridge as bb below 1 year need milk for their growth.

Tracy / SY,
I finished the Harry Porter book as well! What about the ending you want to ask?
My favourites are the Order of Pheonix and the one with the Triwizard tournament actually.

Re. Nodic Cod Liver oil
Yesterday, I was feeding yoghurt and I gave Isaac the oil as if it was yoghurt. The unsuspecting Isaac took in the spoon and immediately spit out the oil. Got to clear up the poil on the floor and wash his top. Sigh. Bad idea. Anyway, I shook the bottle real hard before giving it to him and he stil ldoesn't want it. I'm thinking it could be that he doesn't like the oily texture? Anyway, just now, I tried the oil myself without shaking it. I think it's pretty tasteless except has the cod fishy smell. So I'll probably put it into his fish porridge later but without shaking the bottle so that the strawberry essence do mot mix with the oil.

Re. Avent bottle
No leaking problem for me when I assemble either wet or dry. But What Mamapanda said is correct. Make sure that the teat is pulled up enought ot 'click' with the cover before screwing it tight onto the bottle.

SSF,
All the bext and have a safe delivery! We are very excited for you!

SSF
all the best!!!!

Re: avent bottle
i no longer let my gal use milk bottle with teat... nowadays, i let her drink from straw or cup directly liao... not sure if i should still keep those old bottle for the next one. anyone can advise?

queen, SH, SY,
I have written to the company offering me to ask them to change the probation from 6mths to 4 mths so that I have a chance of meeting the requirements to be entitled to the maternity leave. I wrote a long email to justify. hopefully they will be convinced. this will prove whether I am a good negotiator or not. haha!

re: avent bottle
no leaking problems for me. always assemble them when wet and hot. maybe that's why.

babylon,
6mths only and rejecting milk already? I thought it's quite creative of your mum to add milk to the porridge. your SIL should be glad that she has that initative. think the modern parents will just leave it and feed the baby when he/she is hungry, the older generation cannot tahan this kind of "harsh" treatment, they will try means and ways to get the kid to eat.

sunny,
that is a good question that you asked. I am also not sure if it's ok to use the old bottles for my 2nd child. I have quite a lot of bottles from storing the ebm and these are the avent milk bottles. should be ok to use them again if we wash and sterilise them right?

For bottle, i don't see why can't they be recycled for 2nd child. It's like some who have sold or given good conditioned ones, and some even re-cycled breastpump. For me, I've even donated my EBM to another mother before, and I've used a breastpump that's probably 5 yrs old. But like with all old stuff, if you are not comfortable, then don't re-use.

btw, anyone knows where to get very cheap sticker books? Not stickers, but sticker books

.ky.

re harry potter
ok ok i think i wlil try to finish it tonight..pity cannot read in office..haha

babylon
i remember one of the mummies also put milk powder in the porridge before. no harm lah i feel.

SSF,

By the time you read, you have probably delivered already. : )How's the little prince?

SY/Tracy/Queen,
I have finished the Harry Potter Book. Was there something strange in the last part?
My fvourite is still the first one. Actually I started reading it before all these hype and it was so easy to get the book then.

Re: Milk bottles
That's a good question cos some of my Nuk bottles actually turned musty. Not sure if it's still okay to use it.

Babylon,
Think ur mum is same as another mummy bah. Will try ways as long as baby can eat can liao. No harm trying.

RE: Milk Bottle
SL, I using NUK also. Already change 1 set ever since Jamie is born. I change when the bottle turned musty and has got a smell. As for teats, I change when it is abit yellowish.

RE: NUK Premium Teats
I am using the silicon one. Can I check with mummies that are using this also. I notice that #2 is the largest teat hole that I can find. I cut it bigger so that Jamie finish the milk faster. Is this the way u all do? Or just leave it? I can't wait patiently for Jamie to finish the milk without cutting leh. Cut already she finish faster.

Been a long time since i last came to the forum and so many exciting things are happening!

SSF / cookie / Cass,
Wow keep us updated on ur deliveries! So exciting...seems like not too long ago that we delivered no.1, and now your no.2s are coming! All the best

RE: Avent bottle
No problems for me either. In fact, my Avent bottles and teats last very long. I've only changed the teat once in 6 months!

Re: Avent bottles

So weird, how come some have prob, some don't?

maybe some of the things we should do are:
1) assemble while wet
2) pull teat until hear pop sound

I'll try and see if this works.

I just signed up my boy for JWT Kids wigglers class. We went for the trial today and he seemed to enjoy it. It was back breaking for me, but I suppose if he likes it, then it's ok lah. Take it as a work out for me too lor. We did a back flip today.
And he was hanging on the monkey bars. Hehe.

mong/sy,

i think my mother is scared of my SIL. ..and my mother is asking me to convince my SIL that we can acutally add hide in their solid food.

SY,
Please skip this part if you dun wanna read abt the ending of the Harry Potter.

Queen, SL,
I can't figure out how come Harry said the rightful owner of the Elder wand was not Snape, but Draco Malfoy. I tot was Dumbledore to Snape to Voldemort. How come Harry says its Dumbledore to Draco to Harry? Since when Draco took the wand?? Did I miss something here?

babylon,
hmm..I also think its ok to hide the milk powder into the porridge. It's like us mixing milk powder into cereal. Better than no milk at all right? Wow...your mum is afraid of SIL?

Re: Old Milk Bottles
Eh, i'm actually intending to recycle my Avent bottles for #2. Looks fine to me, of cos change teats. In fact, I'm passing my old Nuk and Pigeon bottles to my SIL for storing of EBM when her baby comes along. The bottles all look fine to me. The Pigeon bottles were hand-me-downs from my other SIL too.

cass/cookie,
wish u both a smooth delivery! ssf would have given birth by now! =D

babylon,
i'm the one who adds formula milk to edgar's porridge. i don't see what's wrong. to me, it's more important that he gets the nutrients he needs. but i stopped doing that now, since edgar is drinking his milk. by the way, i'm also mixing his formula milk, ie 2 scoops of enfagrow with 2 scoops of pedisure. which i also don't see what's wrong. since they are both formula milk.

u may want to ask ur mum to try using spoon or straw to feed the milk to the baby. or issit because the teat hole is too small, that's y baby refuse the bottle? or can try to turn on the tv while feeding the baby to distract him. can also try to change the brand of formula milk. can try adding frisocrem into the formula milk, it smells and taste sweeter. or change the brand of the teat? or add fruits into the milk, ie like making papaya milkshake? i think i'm one of the few mums who have tried everything. until none works and i had to resort to putting formula milk into his porridge!

must say 6mth is abit too young to wean off milk. at least edgar started only at 1yo which i tot was already too young. can try to give bb yoghurt too, if ur sil is concern about his lack of calcium.

Aileen,

i heard abt edgar, We are the only 2 mummies here to give fresh milk to our sons.

duno why all kids from my family hate milk. Previously was my son..and now my brother's bb.

Edgar starts drinking FM or still on fresh milk? I stopping give damien fresh milk coz he started to reject it. So i spoon feed him with FM. Think he is comfortable with spoon feeding.

Tracy,

My mother is the morden MIL..she will not nagged at DIL..but only to daughter....hahahaha..she treat DIL better than her own daughter.

tracy (Spoiler Beware)

check out wikipedia on why the wand is supposed to be passed from Dumbledore to Draco to Harry.

I didn't read the last 2 books but read a summary of it from wiki. Haha.

Reading Jeffrey Archer's Prison Diaries. He's such a talented writer. Even day to day things in prison also can write till so interesting. Haha.

babylon,
haha yaloh. we share the same fate. edgar oso started to reject fresh milk. then i switched to pediasure, choc flavor. coz he seems to like to drink my maid's milo! then he was ok for a while. but after that change pattern again, he started to reject, so we use spoon to feed. then i got so tired of spoon feeding, i introduced the straw again. and he took to it. so from then on, he's drinking from those water bottle with straw. but most of the time, we gotta hold the bottle for him. else he just end up biting the straw or playing with the bottle.

we just keep trying all sorts of methods loh. fortunately so far so good, with tv and toys to distract him, he would drink about 3x240ml a day. and last nite, he decided to hold the bottle to drink himself. so we shall see if he will continue doing that! haha!

RE: Weekday Playgroup

Shall we have a playgroup for our little ones? Was discussing with Rachel about it and we're both keen to let our little ones meet up, if not they're so bored at home just facing us alone. Anyone else keen? Also just a time to meet up and chit chat for us mummies!

Proposed time: 10:00 - 11:30am
Venue: Bukit Panjang (?) - my place is open but if anyone else would like to offer their place wld also be good!

1. durianlover
2. Rachel

durianlover,
Which day? :p

RE: Weekday Playgroup

Shall we have a playgroup for our little ones? Was discussing with Rachel about it and we're both keen to let our little ones meet up, if not they're so bored at home just facing us alone. Anyone else keen? Also just a time to meet up and chit chat for us mummies! :)

Proposed time: 10:00 - 11:30am
Venue: Bukit Panjang (?) - my place is open but if anyone else would like to offer their place wld also be good!

1. durianlover
2. Rachel
3. mamapanda

Tracy
Yes! The open house is still on! Rain or Shine! Come on by my place this Thursday from 1pm to 4pm. We are going to have a crop party from 1pm to 3pm to those who want to get a taste of scrapping for the 1st time. =) We're gonna give complimentary pictures of you when you come. =) hehehe

Rest of the mummies who are keen, do let us know yah? We have something new and fresh in store. =)

taka baby fair
Who's going? Can help me get 2 pigeon (orange + green colour) Mag Mag stage 3 (straw top) cover? 1 of Ariene's Mag Mag's cover's broken after being dropped repeatedly by Ariene.

Queen,
re: Macaroni & Cheese
200 degrees celcius should be ok. The ingredients are already cooked. You just need to melt and brown the cheese topping only...

re: Nordic
Fed Keenan yesterday. He loves it. Ethan hates it though...

Yuen,
Ouch! Lucky his finger's fine. Keena n also got his thumb caught last week playing with the main gate. He couldn't wait to go gai gai and managed to open and then accidentally shut the grills on himeself!!!

Weekday Playgroup... I posted on this sometime ago, and now am exploring my options.

Durianlover, Is this a regular session that you plan to have? It's a playdate? If it's on Thu, I can make it as that's the only day I've got transport. Or else, it's rather difficult for me to get to your place. My other concern is K still takes a morning nap, so 10-11.30am is pretty long and from what I notice, 1/2 hr playgroup of "intensive" play will tired me out ... and the todd probably have attn span for 1/2 hr before they want to do their own stunts. I did explore a weekly playgroup near my place but the activities are more suitable for older kids ... I need something simpler and lighter.

.ky.

SY
have you started on your scrapbook album kit? We are inviting mummies who have completed their layouts to share a page with us - and they can qualify for a lucky draw on National day. Do email us your layouts if you have completed them.

re harry potter
i dun mind all the spoilers. in fact, i always turn to the last page first!!

hmm, dun remember anything abt draco and the wand...

weekday playgroup
which days are u planning to have it? tmr i m taking some time off and intend to bring JH out. any mummies keen to meet up?

SY,

Remember the ending part of the previous book? When draco is on this mission to kill dumblelore and he and harry just came back after the search for the fake horcux?

cheng
hee i haven started yet. was too busy the last 2 weeks. i only developed and chose some photos first..haven reach the layout stage yet.