(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

wendyheng
Tes, per jab is between $170 to $180. As for how many jabs, depends on what age u start. I started Ariene on it when she was 3months old so she had to take 4 or 5 jabs altogether (cant remember already cuz I've already completed all the jabs + booster). I think if u take now, need only 2 jabs. I gave Ariene the prevenar early cuz the pneumococcal virus is a air-borne virus. Since I bring her out often, considered high risk, so I gave it to her. Better be safe then start regretting abt not giving earlier just to save $180.

Health Insurance
My friend just told me his gf's grandmother has been diagnosed with breast cancer and had to undergo surgery, chemotheraphy and radiotheraphy. After paying almost 10k for the mesactomy, they still have to fork out another 21k for the chemotheraphy and radiotheraphy. Worst still, his gf's mother cancelled her grandma's insurance policy a few months ago to "save money" as she thought its a waste of money paying every month and insurance is just cheating you of your money. Now that something happens, nobody wants to fork out the money for the treatment. After hearing abt this, I'm rather surprised that nowadays, there are still people who think this way. How can the mother be so ignorant.. was so angry with the mother after hearing this even though its not my grandma.. sigh..

wendy

if u r sending your kid to childcare, it's best to take prevnar coz cc considered high risk, and can spread meningitis/ear infection very quickly.

mamapanda
it's like that. there're lots of pp who don't believe in insurance. they think that it's better to save the money for something else or buy hse/invest. Same goes for my bro. When my hb approached them to buy insurance, they didn't want coz my bro thinks it's waste of money. Now my SIL has brain tumor, and she only has 20k insurance (which they used to think it's sufficient), hopefully they can afford to pay for the med expenses.

Old Navy
I've called up US Old Navy already. Phew. Everything cleared and they'll proceed to ship out the orders. Yeah! Now, I'll just wait for their shipping notification to see the actual shipping weight of the items before I can give u an accurate amount to pay so you don't have to TT twice to me

oh btw, the IDD call was 18min, so I'll divide up the $7.02 amongst all the ON spree mummies ok? *phew* now that they've got my Singapore address, they don't need to verify my credit card anymore unless I change any account details but I'll still need to enter my alternate US address to order. They really called up Citibank to check my credit card details. These guys are serious man.

spree collections
btw, can I confirm who will be collecting their loot from hougang tomorrow as I need to pack the items and bring them over to hougang.

Chickenlittle
can I confirm that you'll be coming on Sunday to collect the stuff? Got another big box of cod liver oils and Anita's bras for you

Re. Britain's Got Talent
Remember Aileen posted a link on a 6-year old sing "somewhere over the rainbow"? I did a search on YouTube and it turns out that she was a contestant in a singing conpetition in UK. She was beaten by a guy called Paul Potts who has a heavenly voice. He sang opera, it was just fantastic. Check it out...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9oxTy7KIAaA&mode=related&search=
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nHYYz_mGP1U&mode=related&search=
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K_5W4t_CBzg&mode=related&search=

yeah!!! tomorrow be going for the NDP event! so happy! my brother manage to get tickets for us and my parent. will be dylan's 1st NDP heehee

re: taka fair
went to the fair this afternoon, got a portable cooking set and mega block farm set. the rest are more for older children 3YO and above. lots of toy cars selling @ $5 though.

mamapanda, mashy

re: insurance...
haha.. u know what.. for someone in the healthcare line, i really didn't bother with insurance until i had kids.. dunno why, maybe felt that i didn't have any dependents and was young n reckless.. now i've got everything covered.... cos dun want to be a liability to my kids...

RE: hospitals N doctors

for govt. hospitals, i guess i am in the system so i am used to how things run, and plus i'm quite senior now so can pull rank when i see doctors... haha.. so i don't really have a problem cos i usu. have insiders info when it comes to who's a good doctor and who isn't... a good doctor isn't just one that is popular with patients... u must see his work attitude.. some doctors are very sayang with their private patients but turn around they actually don't give a damn and just want to make money.. i don't like that attitude... i feel that i should be giving the same care to the person who is subsidized and private... all are human and sick.. personally i prefer to see subsidized cases cos i know these ppl really can't afford it and need good care.. private patients usu. are semi educated and smart aleky about their problemss and will try and dictate to u their treatment but they don't really understand the issue and sometimes even after u explain, they just want to be treated as see best and expect to be treated like kings... very difficult compared to the little old lady who comes by herself and just wants u to do the best for her... i will always remind myself that these old folks are someone's parents or grandparents and i will try and be more patient.

But in the end, if i was really sick, i would still go to a govt hosp cos of the support system that just isn't there in a private hospital.

having said that, i must admit, i am quite terrified of seeing doctors... most times, we are our worst patients...

re:dengue
its true, if u have dengue, an early warning sign of dengue shock syndrom is abdominal pain..

an early sign of dengue is that your palms and soles will get very red and flushed and itchy, then you may break out in a petechial rash, rash that consists of small red dots... this usually means platelets are low.

my maid kena dengue a few years back, all she had was abdominal pain, she didn't even have fever, so we thot she had appendicitis until she went to a and e and they did the platelet count...

rachel - so blessed that you got the NDP tixs. i balloted for it but too bad...didnt got it. thot it be good to attend before i pop 2 days later. haha..

but anyway...i got a slight show this morn. hmm..wondering if bb is gg to pop earlier than expected.

wow so many postings to catch up!

re RP lunch,
denmy the food is really nice. nice place that u have. thanks for the treat on the drinks! i kept forgetting how much i have to transfer. will do it today

mamapanda
JH has been behaving like this for the longest time. when i m at home, it is hard to get him to nap. he will do so if it is with maid but with me, he will just wan to play. he will also wan me to bring him everywhere like toilet etc. but once i m not ard, he is ok. i tihnk this is quite normal

SSF
u going to pop soon?? good luck!! update us..

Denmy
Thanks for the drinks. So pai seh. Salad is good, soup is delicious, drink nice. Tried your chicken and mushroom sandwich before it is realli good.

Linda,God's child, Denmy, Sophia, Flo, SY, yuen yuen,
Nice meeting you are the RP lunch. Sorry I got to rush off because taking time off for my gal's party in school.

SY,
Me on leave from 6 - 8 aug. Will be popping by with esther at the taka fair on Monday after Aden's jab.

SSF,
Ha ha update us if you pop. If you pop tomorrow I will definitely remember your son's bday because my Charmaine is a 5 Aug 2002 baby. Din make it for National day baby.

If I go suntec for lunch, maybe I should pass your hb your derma stuff too hor.

Rena,
Happy birthday. Hope you got a pleasant surprise from your hb.

Pop by Mamapanda's place liao
SL,Tabbiesus, Aileen will be passing you your loot tomorrow.

Rena, will arrange a suntec lunch then meet you and pass you the cod liver. Pai seh , can I pass you Linda's stuff too.

SH, I forgot SY's books so got to pass it to you. Pai seh.

CL
how was charmaine's party?

no worries on the book. i can get it during next RP lunch also.

what time u going on Mon to the taka fair? if lunch time, i can go pop by...heehee

SY,
This time I bought a eggless room for dessert choc a lot cake for her birthday. Bought some princess figurines as well to decorate the cake. We played games with her classmates. Overall quite fun. Even Aden was having fun at the childcare. He seems part of the family, even knows how to choose the right group to play with. He totally made himself at home. Will post a few pics after screening what my hb taken that day.

Probaby will be taka late lunch liao. Since aden's jab appt at 11.60 at GEH.

CL - happy birthday to your lil girl, Charmaine!

SY/CL - no la haven't pop yet but have been having show since yesterday. abit of discharge here and there and also a bit of tummy ache at times. hb gg for one day biz trip on wed..gee hopefully i won't pop yet. will be gg for gynae visit tmr evening and will see if lil Jadon wants to come out earlier than expected coz EDD is 20 Aug ....but then some says second bb comes out earlier. hmm..

will keep you guys posted.

SSF,
This new work place seems interesting for me. Anyway it is too early to tell as I only work there for 3 days. Hopefully it's the right one for me.

You are going for c-sect right? Keep us update if u pop okie?

RE: Accident
Was at the clinic this early afternoon. Brought Jamie to Escape Theme Park. But my hubby had an accident while driving the Gold Kart. Sigh.. toe nail chipped off and there are blood. It was our first family outing there and it turn out to be first outing to their first aid center.

CL,
Happy Birthday to Charmaine!!

HI mummies..
Went to see gyane on sat and still no sign of bb coming..
But today.. I saw some brown (just very little) stain on my panty liner and there seems to be something in the toilet bowl too. I'm not sure if that constitute to a Show. cos kae was induced the last time.
So I think it's really anytime now...

SSF & Cookie
Wow... rest well and we look forward to seeing pictures of your babies soon :>

JG class
hey fellow JG mummies, sorry aidan was so disruptive during class today. Sigh..dunno why. He had his nap and milk. We suspect he dislike being enclosed in the classroom :p Hope he will be better next week :p

CL,
Happy Birthday to Charmaine!

cookie / SSF,
we are waiting for your good news!

Denmy,
Re. Macaroni & cheese, at what temperature should we bake?

Re. Nordic Cod Liver Oil
How you your babies take to it? Yesterday I gave it to Isaac and he absolutely hated it. I didn't try it myself, but can tell that it's really oily and there is a fishy smell. Can we add it into porridge? Then again, I'm worried that if add to porrdige, dunno will ruin the porridge or not.

CL
happy birthday Charmaine
Sounds like Aden had a lot of fun.

SSF, Cookie
soundes like it's anytime leh...keep us posted!

Queen
is the nordic cod liver oil really bad? wonder whether can get some smaple from vitakids first

any one tried the snack healthy handfuls? JH really loves it. but it's quite ex so wondreing whether can buy from overseas website. saw it on amazon but doesn't look that cheap. if anyone knows how to get it cheaper let me know.

CL
Happy birthday to Charmaine and sorry how old is she?

Accident
today, bryant put his finger between the door and I did not know and close the door and was wondering why he suddenly cry and tried to close the door again. so so sad. He cried for quite sometime and I can see the dent in the last two fingers.....hope he is ok as I tried on my own finger and it was damn painful......

Denmy
The strawberries were so delightful!!! Went really well with the chocolate fondue!!! My guests absolutely loved it. I was rinsing out the strawberries before serving and got to smell the strawberry, very sweet smelling! Smelt like...like strawberry ice-cream! =) My hb and guests were totally bowled over by it...really worth the money! Oh, I had 20 pieces instead of the estimated 16 pieces. hehe hehe

CL
Happy Birthday to Charmaine!! Big girl already lor. Happy scrapping her box set =)

SSF/Cookie
Oh so exciting, keep us posted!

Cheng
No worries, is normal for them to be cranky at times during class. I think prob cos Aidan didn't get a chance warm up as the class has started when he came in.

Tabs
So paisei, Mel accidentally hit Tabbie when she refused to let the teacher have the candle back. She's getting more agressive these days, will retaliate when ppl take things away from her

Queen
My mom will formally feed Mel with a syringe, just like feeding medicine

May
Glad to hear that you like your new job. Hope your hb toe is not too badly injured.

Yuen, don't feel bad, accident do happen. As long as Bryant is able to move his fingers, it should be fine.

Denmy
Thanks for the drink. Shall try the salad next time, looks good. Oh the strawberries are yummy.

SSF, Cookie,
So excited for the two of u! Remember to update us & post pics of ur lil' ones.

Queen,
My E also hated it. Did u shake the bottle well to mix the strawberry essence? Me tried feeding him directly with syringe but din work. So now, I will try to hide it in a small portion of his bfast cereal every am. Agree its very oily & fishy.

yuen

ouch.. i feel so heartpain for you and bryant... i'm sure he's alright, but as a mom, we feel their pain + guilt and hurt 10x more... it's not your fault.. i guess its part of their learning experience so they don't do dangerous things... once i also nearly knocked my girl cos she was on the other side of the door looking for me and i just banged it open... 2x too cos was wondering why got resistance... so dumb dumb until i realise that she was there... then i felt so bad...

Cheng
no worries.. i was worried tabby would be cranky too cos she's been refusing all her nap times, fighting me off like anything and she ended up falling asleep just b4 the class started so i was so worried she'd be cranky, in the end i think she was alright. We never know when our kids act up... maybe Aidan wasn't in the mood for class today...

Flo
ha ha.. don't worry, accidents happen... mel seems quite feisty these days! My girl is also quite aggressive at home screaming and shouting but my hub told me she's relatively well behaved at JG considering how she is at home... i think my girl is a bit of a show off, she likes the attention when she does things and adults go "ooh, ah so clever" so she will guai guai sit there and perform...

queen

i just tried the fish oil.. i oso used a syringe and i thot it was supposed to be strawberry flavoured so was telling tabby strawberry juice and she let me put it in her mouth but she didn't quite like it either but still let me put all in.. i tried a bit after that seeing her expression and realised it is horrible tasting.. nothing like strawberry, just taste like cooking oil+ fishy some more...yucks.. i prefer the old fashion emulsion version any day... so thank ful i don't have to eat this.. kekek..poor tabby, she has to at least finish this bottle...
evil mom...

chicken little
thanks for getting me my stuff.. so paiseh making you run around like that... hope charmaine had a good birthday! how was the cake? I'm thinking of trying out just dessert's carrot cake one day...

SSF, COokie
jiao you... count down time...wish that u have a good and safe delivery and a healthy new baby to hold and cuddle soon! btw, cookie, ssf, can call yen peng if u have any lactation problem.. don't hesistate, she's the best man!! I love her! The reason i can breastfeed is becos i met her and she's the most encouraging person i know... she never once tells u, u can't do it.. she makes u feel so motivated to breast feed...

May
hope your hubby is ok... what a way to end an outing... must be very stressful...

wenyl

wah u can't sleep ah.. up so late? take care orh.. how many months are u now? must try n get some rest... me up after feeding bb and pumping... next time u deliver, even if u want to sleep oso cannot! remember those days?

mashy

what's the name of the toy warehouse that is at thomson that sells really cheap toys n has all the I'm toys? dunno why, since i delivered i can't remember a thing! The one u said u went to to get the portable potty?

Tabbiesus,

I think the shop selling I'm toys should be Kidzloft but near there is Aspirin warehouse. No worries about the trip, I was there to collect my cod Liver.

Cod liver
Charmaine din like it too. Ha ha but I have a garbage aden who will happily come when I show him the bottle.

Thanks all for the birthday greetings for Charmaine. She is really happy but a bit upset because this birthday she did not get any toys.So if I have time later, will hop down to Taka to get her something.

Yuen Yuen,
Charmaine is already 5 years old.

Room for Dessert
The cake is good. Even the fondant taste good not like other cake shop. But because eggless, my hb says taste like eating bread.

Cookie,
Keep us update hor.. Think u will be the next to pop then will be SSF. Any others ah? Cos I cannot rem the list already.

Yuen,
Oh dear, must be very heart pain. Dun blame urself, accident does happen. Bring him to a doc if u are worried. Hehe.. I once kicked Jamie off the bed while and she landed flat on floor. Was very guilty then. Scolded myself many times and apologised to her many times as well.

Tabbiesus,
How's your boy? Tabby getting used to didi?

RE: Nordic Cod Liver Oil
Sounds like the same as scotts leh. Jamie rejected Scotts Orange Flavour. I was wondering what to feed her next. Saw some gummies, not sure if the vitamins is as good as tablet form or not. But my mum is against me of feeding her cos Jamie already passed the 12kg mark. She looks skinny but is a bit heavy.

May
hope you like your new job and is your hb toe ok already?

Thanks all for the concern, bryant finger is just alittle swollen, he is able to wriggle his fingers just that he refused to let me touch or rub the injured finger.

may

tabby doesn't really show very much sibling rivalry, but she is glue to me... that's why i've been encouraging daddy time like at JG, he's the only dad that prob. goes every week and no mommy around... after class, he'll bring her for tea at macdonalds... so fun right? that's why i don't think she really bothers with didi...only sometimes when she's really mung zhang like tired, she'll pull at my breastfeeding pillow with didi on it and say, "take out", she does sometimes say " no more baby" but when she says this, its usually when i try to "oi" her to sleep, and i think she's trying to tell me that she's no more a baby and doesn 't need her nap...rather than no more didi... one thing, she does snatch away all didi's toys and rattles, so i foresee a bit of tussling when didi is older.. poor didi... his toys always seem second hand cos tabby will always get first dibs on everything becos he's too " potato" to play with them now, even tho' we buy it specifically for him...
911594.jpg
this is thad a few days old with his hansolo smile...

Queen,
we also let Caleb try the Nordic fish oil. He hated it. Every sip that he take, cfm will hv the gagging sound 1. So now, we stop giving him this already.
I tried this Nordic fish oil as well.. I gagged too. Its not only oily but also have a fishy taste.

We are giving him the Scotts Emulsion which he adores.
He will ask us for it.

I am really in a dilemma here. I posted earlier that I started on a new job when i was pregnant. I have been here for 2 months. the company is really nice and they don't mind my pregnancy and I will be entitled to the 3 mths maternity leave. Problem is that the job scope here is really bad. I don't have much challenges and I can't learn anything from my boss because function wise, I am a stand alone dept by myself. long term wise, this is not a good place to stay unless I am ready for retirement. problem is that I feel that I am still young and I am really not old as well and I want to be able to contribute, work hard and learn new things. In terms of benefits, this place is reasonable and fair. I also don't have complains about the pay. in fact, I am paiseh that I have not been able to contribute much due to the narrow job scope. In fact, i have already spoken to my GM to beef up my scope and my GM is very pleased with my initatives but I still feel that it's not enough.
I went for a few interviews and a company just offered me being fully aware of my situation. I am ok with their terms and conditions except that they have specified that I will be entitled to a 2 mths maternity leave only after my probation which is 6mths and I definitely won't be able to hit that because even if I join the company next week, I have less than 6 mths with the company. the HR said that they do practise early confirmation if the performance is good but I don't want to subj myself to that kind of potential dispute so I intend to negotiate for a 4mths probation to be upfront with what I want. I feel that since the company is willing to offer me the job now, they are definitely aware of my value and should look at this as a long term, visionary investment. I am sure they won't want a unhappy worker.
I am not sure if I will still want the job if they don't agree but if I stay on and leave after my maternity, it's very unfair to my current company and I don't want to leave with such bad name. so sianz....

cookie
all the best, so excited for you.. rem to use the card with disc when paying ah.

CL
aiya, I forgot to wish Charmaine happy birthday yest.. :p

Queen
Ger seems ok with it. He loves the scotts emulsion one, will cry when we stop giving him.

cheng
thanks for the link. Dun worry abt Aidan crying lah.. we can understand when our todds are fussy. Flo's suggestion is good. Maybe can try to come earlier, then let him warm up in the class environment, e.g. bring him to library, then to toilet and class and let him play with the toys first?

tabb
Thad's smile is so beautiful and Tabby was very guai at class, everytime.

Tabbiesus - Thad is so smiley
Handsome bb

Yuen - Poor Bryant. Cephas got his finger caught by the door on Sat too
Funny boy was trying to open the door when he got up from his aftnn nap. Closed it over his finger instead.

May - New job sounds good
Hope hB's toe is alright.

SSF/Cookie - Take care! Wishing u 2 a smooth delivery

Tabby
Thad is so cute!! tabby sounds quite alright overall..not too bad sibling rivalry..

mongs
sounds like a hard decision to make. is it possible to discuss abt changing your job scope in the current company?

May
Scotts liver oil only has a small % of cod liver oil dissovled in flavourings and edible gum in it while Nordic Naturals is 100% cod liver oil with natural Strawberry essense. Definitely not the same wor. If u want to look at % if cod liver oil, the whole bottle of Scotts probably contains less than 5 teaspoons of Nordic Naturals in terms of cod liver oil.

Nordic Naturals feeding method
Mummies, you need to really shake the oil before feeding cuz this is 100% pure oil so, the heavier essense is all at the bottom. Shake well and immediately pour and feed. If u leave it too on the spoon, the essense may settle on the bottom of the spoon and the oil on top (which is totally tasteless). If u find it difficult to feed 5ml at 1 go, try 2.5 twice a day

May,
Glad to hear that the new job is starting well....

CL,
Say Happy Belated Birthday to big Charmaine.
: )

Cookies/SSF,
So excited for you guys! Let us know when you popped...

Yuen,
Glad that bryant's finger is okay. At this stage they really love to play with doors and drawers. sigh...