(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

RE: Jobs
I am in dilemma now. The sales job asked me to go for 2nd interview on Monday. I will have a high chance of getting a customer svc related job for tmr interview.

Pros and Cons of SALE:
1) I will need to work hard and there is chance of me earning twice of what I am earning now.
2) There will be chance of zero sales and which will mean I will need to survive with minimal basic and transport allowance.
3) I can fetch Jamie back from CC as it is too young for her to take school bus.

Pros and Cons of Customer Svc
1) I will be earning a fixed pay.
2) Every mth I am still comfortable with the spending.
3) My mum will need to walk Jamie back from school every afternoon. (15mins walk)

Really got dilemma on which to choose. Mummies, can I have some advise or poll on which u will choose if u were me?

may

i think if there aren't sacrifices that u can't make, i would say go for the sales job.

Why? Coz if that's what u want, go for it. If u don't try, u won't know whether you can do it or not. It'll always leave u with a sense of regret.

If u try, u may succeed. If u succeed, good for you. If not, at least u know the answer to the queries in your heart of 'what ifs'.

Like for my hb, he wanted to be in banking/insurance, he tried but couldn't succeed. After that he left happily and moved back to the normal career path. At least he tried and now knows that he's not suitable for that job.

mashy,
But I am worried that I can't bring back a fixed income home every mth. And it would means I will have to pay for the car, etc. Abit risky step to take. I am not daring enough to risk, I must say. But thinking of the money that I am able to earn and give Jamie a better life, (I will have car, earn more and save for #2, get a maid) I would love to target for that sort of life for her.

My hubby is supportive of my choice to try sales. But my parents are opposite. They say that with my character, I will not perform well in sales. And I would not bring home fixed income every day.

may

u have to consider the worst case scenario i.e. u are just taking back the basic pay. How long can u survive on your hb's income n your basic pay? If u can tahan at least 1yr, then u can switch to this sales job. But if u can barely survive 3mths, I think it may not be wise to change now. Coz sales job usually takes a while before picking up and u've to tahan a long drought period before u start to earn. U must also give yourself a deadline i.e. when will u call it quits if u don't succeed?

may - so the interviewer that threw cold water on you...called you back anyway. haha..
hmm..if i were you...i will venture into sales. no harm trying somethg new since you are quite bored with cust service right? moreover the earning arent too bad...why not give it a try. maybe you will like it? if not, you can always quit. at least u try.

esther_lee - ya getting all excited coz no need to work. haha...but in another words still have to work hard for the new baby. will get my hands all tied up by him. actually i have like 10 more days of working and i will be on leave! yooohoooo....so happy! btw, how are u coping with ur son? still manageable? seems like those mums with 2 babies doesnt come into the thread so often liao. haha,..maybe it be the same case for me too.

god's child - celeste is really pretty and sweet..just like mummy! too bad she got 'chup' by the other Caleb else my Caleb will sure take a liking of her. haha..anyway, remember my caleb can always be celeste's 'spare tyre'! hee..

Slinky,
I'm looking at the long stalk strawberries. They are very sweet and juicy and Cold Storage is selling them for abt $15 for 16pcs in a box!

U ladies interested?

Btw, I thought someone here wanted to start or has started a Cali BB BP? Was it you, Slinky? Or was it Queen? I need more stuff leh.

SSF,
So how is the bean sprout pillow BP coming along? I'm still interested.

SY,
My maid also tends to put Keenan in the highchair a lot. Cos she needs to do her chores and cannot keep an eye on him all the time. So it's safer in there. I know we might not like it but sometimes it really cannot be helped. My mum used to do that a lot also when she was looking after Keenan. And that was how he got nappy rash: by sitting on his soiled nappy all day long!!

re: Avent IQ Electric Steam steriliser
My steriliser is giong a little bonkers. Sometimes it doesn't do the full 7mins cycle and will stop after 3-4 mins showing a '0' instead of the 3 bars. Anyone knows what's wrong with it?

denmy - i cannot get 15 orders so i ordered mine already. actually i posted on this thread some time back but i think u miss it. so go ahead and make ur order. i paid $27.90 for pillow + 2 covers that include free delivery. it takes 2 week for completion. i hope mine comes in time. hee..

preggers mums
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>ADD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB's Name </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>11/5/07</TD><TD>21/4/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Declan </TD></TR><TR><TD>esther</TD><TD>5/7/07</TD><TD>16/6/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Leroy </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbiesus</TD><TD>11/7/07</TD><TD>13/6/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Thaddeus Luke </TD></TR><TR><TD>cindy</TD><TD>1/8/07</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD>8/8/07</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cass</TD><TD>13/8/07</TD><TD></TD><TD>girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>20/8/07</TD><TD>11/8/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Jadon </TD></TR><TR><TD>krissie</TD><TD>12/10/07</TD><TD></TD><TD>girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wenyl</TD><TD>8/11/07</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aileen</TD><TD>13/11/07</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mongs</TD><TD>25/12/07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Durianlover</TD><TD>8/1/08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

anyone else?

ssf,
ok lor. i order myself. Thanks.

re: flu
the flu bug is here again. Everyone in the family is down. Declan, Keenan, Ethan, hb and I. my maid still going strong but I think should be not long now.... mummies and daddies and babies out there, take care!!!

May,
i used to have an osim but it is not very good.. my sil also bought the same one.. we realise tat it cannot filter rust
and when we call osim and complain they only mention to replace but what is the poit .. c oz it is still the same.. so we ended up change to diamond water

Denmy
I'm in for anything nice for my darling
I'm running out of veggies for her already. The last batch of cherries and peaches were <font color="ff0000">SUPER</font>

So, u want a cali baby spree or a drugstore spree? I was thinking of trying out my Brita disposable water filter first. If its good, I'll start a new Drugstore spree for it. If u want Cali baby stuff, I'll start a new lucky vitamin spree. Let me know and I'll start the ball rolling. Hee.

So many posts!

May,
I would try sales as well. No venture no gain, just be prepared for the risk.

Re. Yakult & yoghurt
Isaac loves it as well, but I always limit to half a bottle cos not sure if it's too much live cultures for his age. He also loves yoghurt, but I only give him the Petit Miam ones.

Re. Self feed
Isaac also like to self feed and is pretty good at putting the spoon into his mouth without too much mess though he doesn't know how to scoop out the food properly yet.

Re. A to Z
I have been teaching him alphabet every now and then, just show him the letters from books when I read to him, but it's not like daily structured training or anything like that. Today, I asked him to point out all the letters in the alphabet and he could do so correctly from A to Z! I was pleasantly surprised! Then I decided to ask him numbers... he could point out 1 to 10. I think our babies can absorb things very fast... don't underestimate how much they can learn and remember!

Re. Chinese
Anyone here teaching Chinese to your babies? I speak english with my HB and Isaac and I feel kind of funny talking to Isaac in Chinese cos I'm so used to speaking in English to him. And I find that I always end up unconsciously mixing English and Chinese together when I tried. I bought 2 Chinese books showing chinese characters for numbers and shapes but dunno how to begin introducing it to him...

Aileen,
I have closed my ON spree... don't think I'll be organising another one soon.

Esther,
How are you and Leroy? I haven't pay you for the preggy kits yet!

Denmy,
Yah, I was the one who organised a lucky vitamin spree recently, but I also closed that one liao.
I'm interested in the strawberries and peaches! Also want to get spinach!

Re. Sprees
Think I'll take a short break from organising sprees cos my HB complains that I'm not working and still spending money in sprees and he doesn't like having to fetch me to MRTs for meetups with mummies for collection too often. So shall take a break for now... unless I cannot resist buying.

God's Child
Celeste's so pretty

Denmy
I think your Avent steriliser is going to give way soon. I had the same problem with mine, I think CL too. BTW, I'm interested in getting the strawberry.

Esther
How are u coping with Leroy? When r u heading back to Hanoi?

May
If unstable income is something you can live with in the short term, then no harm trying out sales since it's something u wanted to do badly.

Sysac
Cephas breakfast looks yummy, he's one lucky boy. How's your study coming along?

Cookie
Haha, Mel is like Kae. Her hair is always very messy & wet (from perspiration).

Re. tantrum
Just now, Isaac threw a big tantrum, crying, throwing whatever he can get his hands on. My and HB didn't know what brought on the tantrum, it was so sudden. He refused to let us carry him and just kep crying and throwing things around. My HB got mad and took out the balloon stick and hit his hand, but he continued with his tantrum, until I had to forcefully hold him in my arms and pacify him. In the end, he managed to calm down but not without some struggling in my arms....
Do your babies do that? Suddenly throw a tantrum? I have no idea why Isaac did that just now... it seems like he's angry with both me and HB. It's quite scary actually cos Isaac was so fierce!

Re. Motherhood magazine
Does anyone of you have the July issue?

Hi Flo - Thanks! Surprisingly, I am coping well with my studies. This is already my 4th week. 9 more to go, then study week, exam week & one entire week of break! Breaks are so precious to me now

queen
most of the time, i let my in law side to teach my gal chinese. then at home, we will read her english book. mayb you can do some schedule for chinese and english time? i.e. when it's english time, you will speak and teach isaac everything in english, when it's chinese time, everything in mandarin.

my gal sometimes will throw small tantrum, too. short one, luckily. we just leave her alone if it's out of sudden type. agree with tabbi, no point hitting or shouting to the kid. this might worsen the situation. probably isaac is trying to communicate to you but both of you don't understand what he wants?

god's child
celeste is so pretty. so much hair. i still can't even put hair-pin on my gal's head!

May,
I will try it out toobut must be prepared to have some reserve to last half year to 1 year if the sales job dun work out.

Queen,
Wahthat sounds scary. Do u recall saying or doing anything that upset Isaac? JW does throw tantrum but usually it's when he doesn't get something (either coz mummy won't give him or mummy don't understand wat he wants)

or sometimes it's something we say. Though we didn't think he understands but I think he actually knows that my MIL is complaining abt him being naughty. He very badwill go over and beat my MIL's leg. Sometime he will sit down and cry too!

Cali BB spree
Who's interested? Got enough pple, I'll start a new spree for you. Collection is quite easy cuz only need 1 of you to collect from me then u can pass to the others during the JG class on Sunday.

1. Denmy

BTW, have u received my SMS on how much to pay for the A+D cream and Nordic Naturals top-up?

Tantrums
Yes, I have been planning to ask about how to manage tantrums too :p...but had difficulty posting the last few days. Aidan has been throwing tantrums recently too and scream at the top of his voice :p Those who attended JB class will know... Sigh...wonder if it is terrible 2's approaching or a phase he is going through.

mashy
wah, that sounds really bad. hope he get well from the bite soon. on and off, you can use the warm water to dab on the bite to relief the itchiness.

tantrums:
not necessarily that throwing tantrums is a sign of terrible 2. I think its a sign of frustration or something. Probably our kiddos are trying to send us a message but we jus cannot understand and in the process , they get frustrated and angry.
For now, Caleb will hold our hands and bring us to the thing that he wants. So its still manageable.

Thanks mummies for the compliments on Celeste... Just happened that sis took the pics and mentioned tat celeste was like posing for the camera, from the way she stood..hee... and yes, how much she has grown and our kids!

Re : tantrums
2 weeks ago, i also started to flash the cane ( balloon stick ) cos Celeste was just throwing silly tantrums and refusing to eat! other than not eating, she will throw things on the floor and step on them, while yelling away... i was certain then tat THIS IS THE RENOWED TERRIBLE 2!!! haha
cos i cant handle the emotions that overwhelmed me... aft the mild caning of her hands, i wept for quite a while... being desperate, i even went to the library to borrow the book - What to expect of your toddler. It reassured me that these little tantrums are part n parcel of their growing up. mabbie i will read those parts again and type in excerpts which are relevant to us now...

Mashy - how come need antibiotic cream? swelling up?

Mashy,
Oh nohow bad was it? How come need to go on antibotics?
JW gets really big swelling and he scratched till sometimes got pusbut he was never given antibotics.

sunny

thanks for your sugg.

god's child
his ear was all red. The PD said it had gotten under his skin and has spread beyond the normal swell of a mosquito bite.

Thanks....I dont have good assets ..paiseh..

Tracy, Mamapanda,..
Yeah you are right the Gracie look like her daddy and she got my eyess

Tabbiesus, Aileen and Maywong
I dont have assets at all lahhhhh... it just MIL capture a nice shot and my cup is A lor....I think compare to your mummies...your Assets best than me. I also got tummy :p
I didnt have a chance to get pict with MIL bikini together...

God's Child
Get yourself a pretty bikini... try it...

Roxy bikini not bad,,you can try it Heeren place.
Celeste so Pretty....

Queen,.

Gracie also like that ..previously she will cried and cried ..what I did same like Tabbiesus..
I did explained her if she request something from us and just point to us but not with crying..

Clare,
I have swopped the tee with Mongs. Will pass the items to Flo within the next few days.

Mongs,
Paisei that you made a trip to my place... SOrry for the inconvenience!

God's child,
Kekespeaking of the cane, my MIL told me something funnie abt JW. She said that JW likes to put his fingers where the door hinges on. As it is very dangerous (coz his fingers will get crushed if the door closes), she always tell him not to do it. As usual he ignores her.

One day, she was so fed up, she told him she is going to bring the cane. She took the cane and lightly tap his hands and JW ran all the away into the room screaming to hide. Ha haI asked herdid she beat v hard. She says no lei. I wonder how he knows a cane will be painful.

Then the next day, he put his fingers there again. My MIL took the can, and before she needs to do anything, JW ran screaming into the room from the kitchen again.

Then the 3rd day, all my MIL needed to do is to mention the cane and he took his fingers straight out!

The ultimatium: On the 4th day, JW when to the bathroom, pointed to the toilet door from afar (where he always put his fingers), pointed in the direction of the cane and then pat his hand on his chest to indicate "pah pah" (scared scared)

SH - reali! tats cute! well, at least he knows tat the cane means real business! my girl stil dun get it til now... *shakes head* she will laugh along wf her papa cos HB always find it amusing to see me take the cane... grrrrrr...

SSF - u are funni la! *imagine celeste in btw the 2 Calebs* so comical...
oh, and they are all Cs... hee

Mashy - wow, tats bad... hope the redness goes away, does it itch? C scratching it?

Mamapanda - if u are holding a Cali spree, i will wana order the Cali calendular cream 2 tubs... u let us know if u are gona have one k! thanks!!

god's child

yah he was scratching like mad. So told to give him zyrtec to relieve the itch. i also just got bitten on my knee. It doesn't look like a mosquito bite but a swollen bruise. Very painful and blue-black like a bruise. The swell looks like a mossie bite though, so think it's a very poisonous mosquito in my hse.

mashy
i think zambuk also might help. i always use it whenever my gal has the bite. she's mosquito's favourite. ahha.... then to prevent her from scrathing the part and then put the finger in the mouth or rub the eyes after that, i usually put the plaster on the place where i put the oilment.
it's useful especially at night we were not with her to prevent her from scratching the biting spot.....

got problems posting these few days

re tantrums
JH also throws tantrums nowadays and he likes to do it when he's eating. he will lie down on the table like very desparate and keep shaking his head.

when he's really naughty, we also use balloon stick to cane him. but got once he actually told us he wants to be caned.

when he wants to open the cupboard door, my hb told him he will have to go inside. there was once he opened and my hb put him inside. after that whenever he wants to open, we will ask him whether he wants to go inside. he will immediately say no. that will be his timeout corner

Tantrums:

I bought a book on How to handle Toddler's Tantrums. C went thru that phase for abt 2 weeks. It made me realise they throw tantrums because of the language incompatibility between an adult & a child. Although they may understand us, we may not understand them as they are unable to verbalise their needs & wants. As a result, the show of tantrums is a form of venting their fustrations. I took comfort when the book said "Do not worry, your child is not on his way to being a tyrant..."

I agree must beat though (sometimes) in order to enforce some form of discipline. Last fri, C misbehaved when we were out for dinner. MIL intervened when she overheard me telling C that I was going to beat him when we went home. She mentioned in passing "He does not understand if u beat him, just talk to him..."

HB asked me " Are u really going to beat him?" I replied "Yes, don't stop me..." When we reached home, I took the wooden spoon & brought him to his room. Made him stand straight, scolded & beat just below the buttocks. Mistake. He has toys to go meddle with so was not paying attention to me.

I then carried him to another room where everything was out of reach. Made him stand straight, scold & then beat again. This is the second time I've done this. He cried so pitifully & I actually felt sad. 1st time was worse. I cried in a corner aft that.

My reward : He sat in his baby chair throughout dinner when we were out last nite. He only asked to come down to go dance when the live band started

queen,

it's quite common for toddlers at this age to throw tantrums, they can't express themselves well and when they saw that we don't understand what they want or don't want to give them what they want, they just flare up. We throw her into her playpen which is her naughty corner and we will ask her to keep quiet or risk staying there. after she calmed down, we will ask her to say properly what she wants. sometimes it works, sometimes she is just too tired and we have to hold her to calm her down.

mamapanda,
ariene is so cute to love yakult so much. so funny to read your description. I let Clariss drink a bit of vitagen from spoon and because it's sweet, she also like it alot. Yakult is a bit sweeter than vitagen, right? I also feed her a lot of yoghurt so that her poo will be softer. there is a type of yoghurt for babies above 6mths from a brand I can't remember but most NTUC should have it. I have since gave her other brands. she likes it esp those with fruits like apple and aloe vera. I give her lots of water after that.

mongs
is it the yoplait petit mariam (or something like that)? That's the one I'm feeding Ariene too. She loves them. They come in 6 little "cups" with different flavours like tropical fruit cocktail, strawberry, mixed berry, peach, vanilla, vanilla peach etc right? I buy them from the shop n save downstairs for $4.80 (or something around there) I think.

Having dinner outside & Elmo
I found out that the trick to making Ariene sit down quietly for 1 full hour without her pestering us to feed her our food is to let her watch Elmo while we eat. Sigh.. I know its bad but.. at least she's quiet and not fussing and happy too. She'll wave her hands together with ELmo, sing la la la with Elmo clap and laugh. She simply ADORES elmo. In fact, everyday she'll take her Elmo DVD and say "mii mii elmooo" and if she's crying I'll take her Elmo teddy and try to speak like Elmo to her, she'll giggle and stop crying. DOH..

cali bb luckyvitamin spree
I'm starting another luckyvitamin spree. You can order cali bb and any other stuff non-restricted stuff from there. I've checked. They're the cheapest so far for cali bb. If u got elsewhere selling cali bb stuff cheaper, let me know ok? PM me what you want to order using the format below. If u got my email, email better cuz faster

Nick :
item desc : (best is copy from page to make sure I'm not ordering the wrong thing)
item url : (pls make sure this works or I may end up ordering the wrong thing for you)
QTY:
AMT (US$) per item =
email:
hp num:

If u joined any of my other sprees before, no need hp and email. I'll be shipping via CGW. Vpost sucks and the difference in shipping costs is negligible.

mamapanda,
you gave me an idea to buy an elmo vcd for my MIL's place. Cos every morning, Meg keeps pestering MIL to switch on 'elmo elmo!' when its only 8am. Sesame Street only starts at 9am..

Sysac,
Eh ya...wooden spoon?? haha..

mamapanda,
ya, that is the one. the type for babies is actually less sweet than the normal type.
BTW, clariss watches vcd or dvd whenever she is seated at her high chair for breakfast, lunch or dinner. sometimes she is not watching it because she is busy playing with her toys but we found this a very good method to feed her because she simply didnt want to eat when we started her on solids. nowsdays, she is more willing to sit down to eat without the tv on because I let her feed herself with a bowl with a little food in it.

re: yohgurt
caleb is also eating the yoplaits brand and he lurrrve it so much and you can basically ask him to do anythg and he will do just to eat the yoghurt. and when it finishes, he will cry and go to the dustbin and try to pry open the bin to retrieve the empty box. haha...once he was fussing so bad and hb told me.."give him some yoghurt to eat!" and when he hear that, he turned to me ...give me that happy look and smile sheepishly and run to the refrigerator. haha..then i told hb not to say that word as there is none left and we shldnt make empty promises. haha..and i tried explaining to him but he just look at me with his blur face.

re: tantrums
caleb does really throw tantrums but recently he likes to cling onto my leg and bite me real hard. got so mad as its sooo painful but then wat can u do...just let him bite lor and ren the pain. guess tats mummy's love. haha.. so now when he comes near me, i am very careful.

mamapanda - have just sent u PM, cos i dun have your email address... thanks for organising the spree! and the portable dvd sounds good! i tink my HB will agree tat its gona be a life savior!