(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

CassCL
OIC, but I guess thats the difference between Dr in Sin and in the west. Dr in the west are more reluctant to prescribe strong medication and prefer the body to fight itself against the virus.

SY
When are u placing the order for benefit cosmetic?

Tabbs
I must say Im really impressed with Tabbies speech, she can really pronounce alot of words very clearly

May,
U take care too.

Mamapanda
RE: Brita
Are you referring to those that is like a water container with a filter? Brita is one of the better brands around. We have actually asked for a one month free trial for Diamond water before. I must say is quite good. When I use the water in a vase for fresh flowers, they last much longer. The only thing is it cost about $1k plus so not too sure if its worth it. Im currently using the Osim water filter, which is attached to the tap directly.

CassCL.

Is Neurofen - thick orange color medicine. If so, think i had given to damien before when his fever shoot up to 40.2 degree.

Hi SY,

SAme here.... my hubby also say my honours wasted..... especially in my industry in the pte sector, they couldn't care less honours or not..... My friend who has a honours degree working in CS is getting at least 20% more than me not counting the bonus ....... Hai.........

I used to think that CS is a place to rot, rest and relax, so i tell my hubby that when i am ready for retirement, i will join CS. Now he laughing at my comment everytime i complain about the pay difference.

Flo, re: Brita
I'm referring to the faucet ones like the OSIM one u have. OSIM is selling at $148 right? I just bought one yday. Costs only $37USD ($60+SGD after shipping). Trying out the disposable model which lasts 1 year or 300 US gallons. Supposed to be more economical than the models that require filter changes. Here's how it looks and info on it:

http://clarity.brita.com/
895281.jpg

fever
Ariene also had high fever this morning. Was lying down to BF her then her HOT little hands touched me and gave me a shock. After taking her temperature, it was 39deg so I quickly gave her both Panadol and Nerofen and kodomo fever patch. Super KS mummy and daddy. Will be staying home today to monitor her temp. Now its down to 38 but, after hearing on what some of you have shared on the fever symptoms, i think she still needs monitoring every hour at least.

Mamapanda - can use both medicine together? the last time my doc taught me to give alternate med every 2 hrs cos he was sayin that each med's interval is 4hours...hope Ariene gets well soon, 39 degree is high! any other symptons wf the fever?

Babylon - Hope Damien's fever go away soon too...

i remem last time i was told to give her panadol every 6 hours. If temp goes above 38.5deg, give Nerofen every 8 hours. If fever subsides, dun give Nerofen anymore but continue with panadol 6 hourly.

MamaPanda
Oh dear me, Ariene's fever so sudden? It's ok to give both Panadol and Neurofen within short timings as my PD advised me recently when Daren had the high fever episode. If after administering Panadol, fever doesn't come down within 30 min - 1hr from over 39 degrees, can give Neurofen to lower down the fever further.

Wow, the talk on pay and everything. I'm one of the lowest earners here! So much for the hype in the life sciences/biomedical/pharma industry. The money that gah-men pump into the industry doesn't mean pay-hike for those in the research field. My workplace itself is neither CS nor near the status of privatised even though we've been privatised last year. But last year our bonus payout still follow CS, this year, really very KNS lor (pardon my language), last minute in 1st week of July itself then sent out circular saying we will not be entitled to the CS bonus =( most of my fellow same grade-level colleagues and myself very annoyed!!! Progression path in the science field not very fantastic unless you get a honours degree, then masters and then PHD. Only those in the pharma sales will earn really super duper good money!!!

Mamapanda,
I got it thru my friend. She used to be ex-staff there. Think 1 set $45, additional cartridge at $28. Got 3 switches, 1 for drinking, 1 for normal tap function, another for shower head kind of function. Abit bulky though.

895328.jpg

remember I asked abt administration of med fever last week ... I do it when temp is 39 and above, give Nurofen + sponging till fever comes below 39. If not, it's paracetumol when fever is 38 and above, and interval is min 4 hrs. I don't give at 6 hrly interval if kid's not having fever. I try to keep usage of paracetumol to 4 times in 24 hrs max as 1 GP told me too much is damaging for the liver. K just had 5 days of fever last night which went up to 40 on 2 nights.

atlantic city@delta sports.... thanks to Mamachan's recommendation, we went there yesterday. the prices have gone up to $5 for walk-in (used to be $4) and $20 for family card for 8 hrs (used to be 10 hrs). Small cosy place and good training ground for motor skill.

the music they had was pretty good and I found out it's on sale on a sgp website though the lady told me they got it from overseas and couldn't get in sgp ... still thinking if want to get that.

thanks for the sharing, Mamachan!

btw, does anyone know on the giro application for the use of baby bonus. With the inclusion of medical instituion, do we submit the GIRO application forms in advance in anticipation that we may need their service in future? For eg, submit for KKH though we have no current use now but we may if need? Anyone's done this already?

.ky.

mamapanda
can give both medicine? i tot it was one or the other...

hmm, seems like a lot of mummies use the water filtration system. shall ask hb what he thinks of it. surprisingly, my hb the clean freak never thought of filtering the water..haha.

Flo
i m planning to place order wihtin this week. i got babylon and my items.

regarding pelangi books, i finally got hold of them! their server was down and they couldn't get any emails. the funny thing is even if i call them i can't get thru also. dunno how they do biz.

SL, Mamachan, May
u interested to get any items from Benefit? let me know cos i wan to order the items by this week.

yuki
hee, i also last time think CS not that fantastic but now looking at it, maybe i can do better there...haha

ky
They really increased price? Haha, am still holding on to the previous priced card at $20 for 10 hours. Got 2-3 stamps more to go. Let me know when you're heading there again. I really like the atlantic city at delta sports, they keep the place clean too. In fact, can hold a small playgroup session there if we want. =)

I guess I can only be free to bring Daren to Kindyroo next Thursday morning for the trial. Will you be keen in bringing Keith along to try out as well?

Hi Mummies...
Morning..

Tabbies
Take care...

Crashbandit and Sunny
Thank you for your advise...Gracie was enjoy with the sand Toys very much..

Mamapanda and Babylon
Hope your child get well soon...

SY
I've not been to explorer at Down Town East, but looking at some of the pics on the blogs of the babies who've been there, it's similar but maybe smaller scale at Atlantic City? They do have a small ballpit and one slide.

Hi SY, have yet to go down to explorer at downtown east but I think that's much much bigger. hv u been to safra toa payoh's? That's probably 4 times bigger than atlantic city ... I'll post some photos at the yahoo group for u to see, ok? place is quite small, lady quoted that it's 1000sqm so like size of a 5-room flat. think it's suitable for 1.5 yr old and older kids may be bored really soon but my 4-yr was having a lot of fun there too.

mamachan, have to use the card within 3 mths so I'll definitely go ... will let u know when.

should be ok on kindyroo. k's just recovered ... i've just my gleneagles card which gives 10% or 20% discount for kindyroo trial package.

.ky.

linda
nice photos! very sexy leh..heehee

ky
ok looking foward to your photos. i been to explorer once and there were quite a few older kids running abt which feels a bit dangerous. they wont lookout for the younger kids.

WOW! Linda, sexy babe
yeah, I also think Gracie looks like daddy but I think she got your eyes right? The phtots aspect ratio abit sala so cant see very clearly.

Thanks for your concerns. Ariene's fever has gone down already. I don't give panadol unless her fever is above 38deg and I don't give Nerofen unless fever is 39deg. No fever, no medication. My hb is against medication type.

Cass
Name is not confirmed yet..heehee.. so slow right? My Hb cannot decide on a name.
This Sat be gng for appt.. will see if bb engaged by then.

May
I did went to Jurong west and it was pretty late when I leave. Was also rushing back to home to put k to bed.
Anyway pls pass the training pants to Queen please, and Flo will help me pick them up.

Flo/Clare/Queen
I have no problem waiting for the pants or ON stuff

Thanks Flo again for helping to pick up the training pants and ON stuff for me

Mamapanda

oh no! Hope ariene gets well soon.

tabbiesus
Wah, tabby's so smart! My boy can only say daddy. And when we ask him questions, he'll run away or squirm. sigh. think it's a boy's thing. next time i will have headache when he goes school.

ky/mamachan
do let us know how's kindyroo. Decided not to go zoophonics after all coz my boy isn't ready. He was running all over the class the whole time! And it's the 2nd trial already. So think he's not ready. When we were singing songs, he just stood there looking, then he rushed over to me and hugged my legs! sigh. Maybe i should sign him up for a gym instead.

Queen,
ya, check already. it should be dogwood colour. luckily didn't throw it to the washer to wash.
maybe i drive over to your place tonight to change with you. will sms you later.

re: pay
ya lor, so sad when I see that the fresh grads nowsdays earning so much more. I was only paid $1900 when I first started in a civil consultancy company, wasted my good honours. luckily I switch after a few months. my ex company which is a GLC is a poor pay master as well. luckily now I am in the pte sector. bonus not a lot but at least the monthly pay is better. now is really a good time to switch. 2 years later, the market maybe not so good.

tell u gals something funny that just occurred. hahaha. I went to check on C just now to make sure that he's taking his nap. To my surprise, I found him sleeping half naked! He pulled off his diapers and was sleeping half naked. hahaha. Luckily he didn't pee on his bed.

Linda - wow wee! sexy lei.. i dun own any bikinis at all! heehee

Mashy - tats real funni!where did he throw his diaper?

Tabbiesus - ur gal is SO clever... i cant imagine hearing her say 'alligator'.. my gal's best attempt so far was octopus.. haha
do take care and may the flu bug go away!

Linda,
Wah! Really sexy shots!

SY,
I brought JW to explorer once when they were fewer children around. He enjoyed himself so much that I couldn't pull him out of the pool of balls when the time was up!

Mashy,
Your boy knows how to pull off his own diaper?

hi mommies

finally got my MIO internet connection... so happy...

Thanks for the well wishes, i'm getting better but have really horrible phlegmy cough now...

RE: tabby's speech
Thanks mommies, she is quite fast for her age, i think its from my mom and watching all the baby eistein vcds... we always try and stimulate her by asking her where stuff are and asking her to tell us what it is. You have to do it when they are in the mood cos when they aren't they just don't bother with you.

Mashy
So funny your C... ha ha ha...

linda
Wow.. so sexy... i can't wait to get back my pre first pregnancy figure... i didn't seem to lose much weight after delivery...

god's child/SH

he only managed to pull off the tape on one side. The diaper was found at his knees.

tabbiesus
my boy is 95% not in the mood leh. HOw? He ignores me and squirms whenever I ask him questions. Somehow he knows I'm asking him questions. He'll scream like "don't test me ok?". When he's in the mood 5% of the time, then he'll give me an answer. But only once. If asked twice, he goes back to his "Don't test me" face.

linda
ooooooo.... sexy!

mashy
ha, C is so funny. he is really one active baby...

Tabby
nowadays we try to get JH to say something before we give him wat he wants. must provide some motivation right...

SH
same thing happend to JH. he cried when i pull him out from the ball pit!

nowadays JH can say 'more' when he wants more of something. quite funny he hear him say that. i started teaching him phonics and he can do the action for A, B, C, D and E. i stopped cso i forgot the actions for F onwards.... i realise he can recog a lot of things. think all the reading every day helped and over time he started to recog stuff.

he is still slow in speech but can see that he is slowly picking it up. can call almost everyone in the family except gong gong.

Mongs,
Thanks for checking! So paisei... is it too far or inconvenient for you to come over to my place? I can go to your place instead, or meet you somewhere where it's convenient for you.

linda,
Hot Mama!!!

Mamapanda,
ok... let me know how you find the Brita? Maybe I'll get one as well. By the way, you are right about Nurofen, only give if fever hits more than 38.5deg. Else shorten the interval of panadol from 6 hours to 4 hourly.

wowowow linda, so envious of ur "assets"!! eversince i stopped bf, my cup size is pathetic. not only that, they are saggy. luckily now i'm preggy, so they are "upsized" TEMPORARILY! haha! :p

btw anyone organising ON spree? need to get socks for edgar. or does anyone have spare ON socks to sell?

ky/mamapanda

found out that TMC Junior Angels Club has 50% off the trial with Kindyroo. Think I'll sign up with them first since it's only $15 per yr.

sigh, need to gripe a bit. i find that every time i work at home, maid seems to be a bit careless. dunno whether is it cos i m at home or this is the situation everyday. just now i heard JH crying very loudly and i went to see. i ask her what happen and she said he wanted something and she din give him so he cried. but i felt that the cry is not that kind of cry and i checked and find blood in his mouth. think he knocked agst the drawer when she was trying to close and he was trying to open. i told her how can she not differentiate the cries when she takes care of him everyday. this is the second time already. first time they were playing and think in excitment, somehow JH banged himself and also end up bleeding.

maybe i m too fussy. i can accept that accidents are bound to happen but it's her reaction that i m not happy abt...

SY
think this Sat morning I may have to leave my home around 9am so may not be able to meet you.
What time will u be home tomorrow or Friday?? maybe I pop by after work to pick up my stuff.

Hi mummies...have been soooo busy at work today. and really miss the forum. so head home...and login to do some catch up on the postings. hee..

SY - yes u are correct. I got GD during Caleb times as well as for this one in the early mths. but then my recent glucose test was clear. so i also didnt really control. was eating lots of durians and i think sweet stuffs. hb is worried esp when he heard that this baby is so big already. keep saying he will check on my sugar level when he comes back from his trip tmr :p

krissie - oh please dun be too stress. just eat in moderation. my first baby when i knew i got GD, i was so depressed. i even visited a dietician in Thomson to go thru what i can and shld avoid. just ensure that you eat those sweet/starchy stuffs in moderation. less rice and noodles...for me, i ate yong tau foo almost everyday if not it be fish soup. those soupy kind lor and less oil stuffs. so pek chek! i was also ask to do my self test before and after every meal and keep track of it. anyway ya still in the beginning stage, just ctrl ..it shld go away esp when u dun have it for your first bb.

casscl - i will perform c sect on 11 aug. edd is 20th aug actually.

linda - wah wat can i say? ya one hot and sexy mama!

Another funny incident today.

I was watching TV in my room when C walked awkwardly towards me from his room, holding onto one edge of the diaper. Hahahaa, he pulled off the tape and his diaper was dropping off! So to prevent it from dropping, he held onto the other end and walked slowly to me for help. Hahahaha.

SSF
Sorry I might have missed... why you choose to go for C-sect on 11 Aug?? cannot try natural? or becos Caleb was c-sect so this #2 better to c-section too?

cookie - mth end is it? why are u still stuck in office? hurry wrap up and be on your way home soon.

ya my first one was c sect. second one...the previous gynae says most likely also same case ...where i cannot dilate. last time, i waited 8 hrs and only 2 cm dilation. then caleb was stressed and so i ended up c sect. so this time, i chose to c sect since there is a 1% risk of the wound being rupture if i go for natural. the risk is low la but i am scared and dun really want to think of it. anyway see how it goes...still have one more check up before i pop.

SY
I was told to give panadol 6-hourly first. If fever goes up to above 38.5deg, give Nerofen 8-hourly and sponge if necessary, but continue to give panadol 6-hourly. If after 8 hours, no more high fever, can stop Nerofen, but continue to give panadol 6-hourly if low-grade fever persists. If fever stops, can stop giving both.

cookie
if all goes well, i shd be home by 8 pm latest on Thur and Fri. if not, i can try to pass to u on Sun?

wow u so late still in office?

SSF
so even though u ate a lot of durians, your glucose test still clear?

yah i remmeber my colleague always eat soupy stuff and she was very careful abt snacking.

my colleague aslo went for c-section in the end for 2nd one cos her gynae highlighted so many risks....

Mamapanda
oic..din know can give both.

mashy
your boy sure give a lot of funny moments..

hi hi....

When Megan had fever last week, we were told to give panadol every 4hrly....but bcos her fever went up to more than 39deg, we gave suppository every 12hrly. however we still continued wif the panadol every 4hrly. When it was low-grade fever, i'll drag the panadol to 6hrly......

Megan finally said a word...."please"....heee~~
But still nothing more than tat... =(

MamaPanda,
Gd to knw tat Ariene's fever has subsided....
You take care....

Re: Pay
I'm in the civil service BUT I dun think the pay package is tat super...jus tat i get to enjoy the 28day annual leave, child care leave which is more attractive.....it's been 10yrs but difficult to advance bcos of the scholars...heee~
Maybe I should move on......

cookie
I thought you are going to deliver soon right ? 8 aug? why so late still in the office. don't over-work yourself and get more rest.

mamapanda
thanks. how did u know that your GD went away? ya, me on v strict diet now.
so deprived of my food.

May
ya, i think my gynae will want me to do the blood test everyday. that's what i heard from the nurse. so xian. I'm going to do another series of blood test next week. If results are no good, hv to be warded to administer the insulin. So, I'm qt strict on my diet now. hopefully, results will be v good and he'll let me off.

SSF
ya loh.. I also ate fishball noodle soup.. i find it so depressing to eat such bland food everyday.

Mamapanda,
RE: Water Filter
Actually I got the faucet from Japan which uses the same filter as the OSIM one, which is cheaper. After that, buy the replacement filter from Osim.

Glad to hear that Ariene's fever has gone down. Mel also started to have low grade fever last night.

SY,
Yes, you can give both panadol and Nurofen or panadol and suppository concurrently but can't give Nurofen and suppository at the same cos they are both NSAID

Krissie
My ex colleague also has GD and her gynae would scold her each time she go for her checkup cos she find it hard to control her diet. End up her bb was 5kg at birth, the biggest I've ever seen.

Linda
wee wee, so sexy ;)

Mashy
C is so funny

Cookie
Take care, don't stress yourself too much.

Cookie,
Better go back home and rest early. Work cannot be finished, it can, our boss won't need us. Take good rest and spend more time with kaelyn before #2 comes out. Where u stay? Maybe I can pop by on sunday if I go to Seng Kang, my hb is driving anyway.

Linda,
Wow, sexy leh. I dun think I will have the assets to wear bikinis. So envy.

Mashy,
My Jamie can really shake hands with ur C leh. Ur boy remove diaper, my gal pull down her pull-up pants. Last night at home, she pull down and point to us to show that she can do it. Luckily I let her wear panties over her pull-up when we are out, else it will be so malu to do it in public.

Krissie,
JIA YOU! Control your diet for your baby's sake bah. Good luck for ur blood test and keep us update!

RE: Interview
Was pretty upset with what the employer say this afternoon. I was telling them that I want to switch from Customer Svc to Sales. But what I get is cold water. Not even allowing me to try and they say that I am not up to it. So depressing. Guess I have to prepare to go back to customer service profession again.