(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Queen,
Don't be discouraged. Just view it as a chance to spend more time with Isaac.

SY,
You looking for job? Tot u wanted to try PT or something like dat?

Flo,
Fresh grad getting $4k - $5k. Wah! Wat job is that?

Cookie,
Wahur hb has 2 weeks of paternity leave. My hb's company only has 2 or 3 days I think.

Re RP lunch (tentative Thursday 2 August)
1. SY
2. SL
3. Flo
4. Yuen

Just went for a hair cut yesterday and the stylist cut the fringe too short....now I looked like an idiot....so sian

Babylon - bryant same same drool like tap water but he hates the bibs so change his shirt very often and so smelly....think it is because his is teething....there is 2/3 teeth coming out at the sametime.

SH
seeing what kind of options i have lor...best is cannot find new job then i can stay at home and spend time with JH... haha

Queen / Flo
what report is that that mention about the starting pay etc?

We just offered one candidate and she reject our offer so I was wondering it is because we offered too low.

During our interviews, there was one graduate with 4 yrs experience asking for $3800. Is there reasonable.

RE: Teething
Jamie is biting her fingers for the past few days. Think she also teething. She left about 2 or 3 teeth then no more already.

Queen,
So the ON stuff not here yet? Let me know if I need to top up any amount cos I just transfer last night.
Ya, I understand the tiredness of interview. I have been to a few too. Very sick of filling up the application form. Sometimes feel like asking them to refer to the resume. Tmr I have got one more to go.

Yuen,
Wow.. 4 years experience asking for $3800 !!

May
Ya lor...4 years only and asking for $3800 which I guess is too high but my industry very short of people with relevant experience....

I think I took much longer to reach that amount.....

Flo - I think your starting pay same same as me....we are from the same era....hehe

Re: Grad pay

Actually Engineering grads still get paid one of the best leh. Biz grads the worst unless you're top honours.

$2800 starting pay in civil service is only for those with good honours lah. Those with 1st class can even get $3500. They still pay better for Engineering grads than Arts/Biz grads.

hee, today's topic is how lowly paid we are??

SY

Civil service has very poor benefits leh. So don't be envious abt those who are in civil service. Their medical benefits is $350 per yr and can only claim $10 each visit. Even with visits to restructured hospitals, u have to pay yourself coz civil service don't pay for u. They give u 1% CPF medisave to pay for CPF health insurance but where got enough? Probably can only pay for the lowest grade policy.

And their dental is still at a lousy $75 per yr. Each time only can claim 50%. It has been the same since a decade ago.

Also, now civil service only 18 days leave.

Queen,

Don't be discouraged. I am sure God will have the best plan ready for you. : )

Mamapanda,
Thanks! So I don't need to transfer any monies to you? Let me know if there's a need to.

Re: Drooling
Actually Charmaine doesn't drool, not even when she's teething. I only realise what is "real" drooling when I visited my friend who has a daughter 2 weeks younger than Charmaine.

Re: Pay
Queen, actually civil service pay is great at the beginning but as time goes by, the increment is really miserable.

Mashy,

thanks for pointing out all the miserable "benefits" in CS. : )

Hmm... yuen, out of curiosity, which industry are you in?

mashy
actually the civil service benefits abt the same as what i m getting here.

medical benefits is dependent on which plan u choose and u can only claim $10 per visit if u visit any clinics not in the network. we dun even have dental benefits and we get 18 days of leave too.

so not much difference

sl
i agree with u. civil service pay is only good in the beginning unless u r in the elite ones like admine office etc or u become superscale.

May
I did the transfer :
To Account POSB Savings
116-15083-2 May Wong-Jan Mtb
Amount S$16.00
Transaction Reference 1277878638

mamapanda
I replied your email on my payment details.

SH
No la.. official paternity leave only 2 days.. the rest is at own expense! but Thank God HB boss quite good, allow him to take long leave.

SSF
but last nite is quite uncomfortable ley..
hmm kae din engage as far as I know.. but Thank God I manage to deliver naturally!

SY

Then how much do u pay for clinics in the network?

In the civil service, there's no such thing as a network. Wherever u go, u can only claim $10. Even if u go polyclinic. Just that they can deduct the payment thru your salary. And these claims are capped at $350 per yr.

SY

Actually the civil service pay increment is not bad if u joined in the last 2 yrs due to the economic boom. My hb already got 3 pay increments in less than 2yrs. It amounts to abt 20% increment fr the day he joined. And he's just an average performer leh. Can't imagine what the rest are getting. But his pay still not as good as those scholars lah. They really take very good care of the scholars.

But now the civil service is not like last time, iron rice bowl, strict working hrs etc. Now they've to put in a lot of work, in fact i think more than pte sector coz on top of the operational work, they've to generate tons of reports for dunno who to see. And they've lots of CCA that they've to join. Annual assessment is also based on the CCA they joined. Just like in school.

SY - Caleb was at 3.09kg when he was delivered. it really caught me by surprise coz tummy was small and gynae said max is 2.5kg.

babylon - sounds like Caleb too. he has been drooling since 4 mths old and never stop since then. only couple mths back, his drool wasnt tat bad and we stop wearing a bib for him and use a towel instead. so u can imagine this mummy of him holding a hanky and keep wiping his saliva off as we are on the move. so aunty hor.

sigh my co is banning msn and yahoo. so sad. my cousin ask me to check out ebuddy as a workaround. so ma fan.

mashy
for network clinics we get free 12 visits and subsequently must pay $10 or $5 depending on the package u opt for.

actually nowadays a lot of those civil service or GLC also work like mad and pay still not as good as pte sector.

babylon
yeah i m getting some items for myself. PM me if interested in the benefit cosmetics.

SSF
i used meebo in offcie cos MSN is banned.... it's ok. works the same as normal MSN

wow caleb is quite big when delivered. JH was only 2.85kg...

SY
My industry if you are in the front office like brokers, analysts, marketing, fund manager etc....pay damn good not only that, bonus also fat like hell...there were reports before that bonus is like 36 mths of salary.

For us in the back office like finance, risk, operation, settlement than pay so so only and work like hell and sometimes have to work US time zone.

sl - I am in the financial industry but the wrong side of the spectrum.

SH
no i haven tender yet. been very busy recently so no time to go think abt it and trying to finish up a few projects first.

yuen
ha the impression of your industry is that it pays really well! only when u talk to someone from the industry then u know the true pic...

there is a BP for scribblemats going on in the market place if u r interested. looks quite interesting

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/891680.html?1185257526

Hi SY,

Thanks for the email on benefit. Sorry, had been very busy with work so i seldom come in to even read teh thread.....

Just dropping by to say heelo and wish everyone is well!

RE: Civil servant

It is my regret that i didn;t join CS upon graduation..... see my friend who is in CS geeting steady increment every year, no matter how bad the market is, still get 13th mth plus 0.5 bounus etc.........

With the current market, think they will get at least 3 mths...... I am in construction..... property hot but construction industry still suffering...... Like Yuen, maybe i am on the wrong side of teh spectrum! Hai.......... And i am still slogging like mad.......

sy
my company is also not good pay master. last year there was this listing of pay master for my industry and we are down near the bottom of the list....so depressing....but it was a not so well known publisher, so not sure but still it will provide me some basis to negotiate with my boss....

SY

at least can go dr without paying. Even if pay $5/$10 is still better than claiming $10. Nowadays dr's fees are >$20.

Re: Civil Service
It's a good place to join in bad times and a bad place to join in good times. Coz they've so many staff (120k!), any changes they make will affect a lot of pp. So when times are bad, they will take a while before they make changes. But when times are good, they are also slower to change coz even if increase pay 1%, it adds up to a lot. And they've to worry abt the pp complaining why increase pay for civil servants etc. Somehow there's some pp who expect civil servants to work for low pay like in charity.

yuki, babylon
no prob on the orders.

yuki
yeah man construction is hot now but i m sure the pay rise is not even equivalent to how hot it is!

mashy
like my co, got so much staff that they can't pay well. we always joke that it is better to be a shareholder here than be employee...

Mashy,

I hate it the most when pple say that they pay my salary cos I am in the civil service. As if we don't pay taxes....

The topic is on pay today? Kinda appropriate, cos we just did our performance appraisal for mid-year.

As usual, company is doing well this year, BUT no change in bonus amount.

I'm far far away in terms of pay compared to my peers. What to do, 8 years into this job already, too comfy and I like my colleagues here. Maybe when I am finally settled down in terms of family life where confirm not having more kids, then when opportunity arises will accept it. Sometimes, no matter how much perks the company gives you, its the $$ that counts in the end, cos that's wat we need in order to survive. Prices increases, cost of living increases, pay don't increase....

SY,
you've got so many staff that they can't pay well. We have not many staff and still don't pay well!

Tracy
i agree with u..co doing well n every time pple ask me how many months of bonus we get and we tell them the ave, no one believes that cos our co results are just too good. furthermore, this year they took away all the share options and replace with only a 0.X month bonus. cannot even make up for one share. smart move by the company.

SY,
You still looking for part time job?

Re. Civil service
I'm not saying that civil servants don't deserve their high pay, it's just that on what basis are they paying this recent batch of fresh grads like $2800? I mean, will they adjust current employees' pay in tandem? My HB works for a Stat board, I must say that except for his first 2 years there, his increments and bonuses are very good. But he's complaining that he has a colleague (with 1st class honours) who just joined is getting $3600 doing the same job as my HB when he first joined. My HB took 2 years or so to reach that pay. It's way above market rate I think... Anyway, I also feel CS benefits are very good leh.

Re : Job market
While everyone is saying Job market is good and booming, i tink it applies to specific sectors oni... my company has also been doing well BUT oni pays 13th mth... the marketing staff aren't much affected since they get additional bonuses on their sales performance. for accounts people like us, wait long long... haiz... same as Tracy, too comfy to move on to another job aft coming to 7yrs here.

Re RP lunch (tentative Thursday 2 August)
1. SY
2. SL
3. Flo
4. Yuen
5. God's child

queen

CS benefits good meh? Maybe i've been spoilt by the pte sector. Haha. When I went to CS, i was shocked by how pathetic the benefits were. Wow, your hb also very good leh, 2 yrs can get $3.6k. I worked for 10yrs also didn't get that even though i'm a grad. Can only blame it on bad times that i joined the workforce.

CS had always been like that to those who had 1st class honours lah. If didn't do well in exam, better join pte sector.

And hor, I realised that whenever I leave the workforce, the economy will boom and everyone gets lots of bonuses and pay raise. When I'm in the workforce, the economy bombs and get pay cut, no bonus, no increment etc. sigh. So guess it's a good thing for all of u that I'm not working. Hahaha.

sl
yah lor. They think that everyone gets the pay check like the PM lah.

SY - what company are you with? have share option one. Just curious, if you are working now why are you looking for part time job?? very confused now.

Tracy - me also, 11 years with the firm already, too comfy to move and I think I forgotten have to prepare resume already and how to prepare for interview.

Sometimes, I think if don't compare I am contented...and I also like my colleagues and local bosses....

queen, yuen
i hope to go PT so that i can spend more time with JH but part time jobs not easy to find. most companies only let u do PT only after some time.

my current job doesn't allow me to do PT. so got to look elsewhere lor

queen
wow 3.6K for starting pay in CS? that's really good. actually my hb kept saying my honors very wasted. i wd have done much better in CS.

yuen,
hee they give us performance shares but only vest after 3 years so u got to stay on for 3 years to get the shares. hee, u PM me and i tell u which company i m with...

hi mommies
Long time no post, tomorrow will be getting my internet connection finally so i can come on more often.

I have been really busy watching 2 babies that i've fallen sick with a bad flu. Sigh. I've had to send tabby over to my parents place so she doesn't catch it. Lucky my hb happened to be on leave.

Krissie
Sorry i haven't ordered your formula yet, the sales rep i usu call is now handling another dept and the other rep is away.

re vaccination
PD just gv us the cert when we went for our last jab, i.e the 18mth jab for the DPT booster.

Queen
dun give up.. am sure you'll find a job soon.
sometimes, it's also luck.

Angie
that's a good idea to use the Tiger Jar. btw, Ger's taking better to rice now. Am so happy.. hopefully, he can adjust well to the solid food in school and love school.

tabb
no probs.. are u better now? take care ya. btw, tabby is so smart, am so impressed that she can name all the fruits in class, esp pineapple, watermelon and lemon. And she can say alligator. What a little genius. Think Ger can only say apple.

Brita/PUR
anyone uses the above water faucet filtration systems? I'm thinking of buying it off luckyvitamin and bring it over if its cheaper. Costs 20-30+ USD. I remember seeing similar ones in Best Denki for 70-100+ SGD

mashy
I've been in CS for a long time and I never thought their benefits are good. In fact, I thought it sucks..

Gestational Diabetes (GD)
btw, doc says that I hv GD.. so depressing. now, hv to watch my diet.. depriving me of all my fav foods. Everyday, I'll only eat wholemeal bread. even fruits also there's a limit. and the worst is cant take my fav fruit juice. Any mummies who had GD the first round can share with me, pls?

krissie
oh dear, must control the diet. my colleague also had GD and she was quite strict with her diet. the occasional indulgence is ok but not too often.

think SSF got GD in her first pregnancy if i dun remember wrongly.

krissie
I had slight GD during my first tri but it went away when I was in my early 2nd tri. Maybe you'll get lucky like me. Meanwhile, just have to watch your carbo and sugar intake.

MamaPanda,
Er... why do yo uwant to buy the filtration systems? I thought Singapore's water is generally quite clean?

tabbie,
Take care! The flu bug is really flying around, my HB got it and he passed it to Isaac. My BIL also got it and little tabby is so smart! Can name fruits already? Isaac can't even say apple!

Cookie;
I have the same feeling too, she's really pressing on my bladder. Rory did not engage until labour. I went for my 36weeks check up last wednesday, OB says she's lower but not engaged yet. My EDD is slightly after yours - 13th Aug. Have you picked a name for your baby?

SSF;
Like you, my baby this time round is also bigger than my first. Rory was 2.99kg at birth. I also have about 3 more weeks to go and she's already 2.91kg. When's your EDD?

queen
Our water may be clean but it'll still contain contaminants and rust. If u use a traditional water filtration system, you'll see that the water filter will turn brownish after some time, proof of the dirt in our water. Besides, you can taste the difference between filtered and unfiltered water, esp the rust. If I drink tap water straight, I'll get a sore throat. If I drink filtered water, I'm safe. Another thing is boiling of water to remove chlorine. If u use a filtration system, there's no need to boil water anymore.

mamapanda
i dun like to drink tap water. cannot stand the taste. but i thought it is good if we dun eat/drink everything too clean? then our immune system will be quite weak.

SY
I don't know.. There's always alot of arguments regarding this and its very oxymoronic. Eating or drinking too clean does not reduce your immune system in anyway. Although eating/drinking contaminated food exposes your body to the bacterias or contamination earlier, hence, more resistance, the main objective is to prevent your body from being exposed to it. Its like vaccination. Sure, if u fall sick and recover from say, chicken pox, you'll get resistance to it, but, why expose your body to it and suffer the sickness when u can prevent it easily by taking the vaccination? Prevention is always better than cure. Besides, your body is like a machine. Sure, it needs to "exercise" once in a while to keep fit but it u overwork it, you just reduce the lifespan of the machine. So, my stand is, no, eating/drinking food or water that is too clean does not reduce your immune system. The converse is true though - Eating/drinking food or water that is not clean will reduce your immune system.

Mamapanda,
I am using Hyflux Gurgle. Had been using it since Jamie is born. Hubby make sure that the water gets filtered before he boil in kettle.

Cookie,
Money received. Didn't get ur sms today. U didn't come to Jurong today?

RE: Sick
So sian, no job still sick. I am having flu and sore throat. Think caught the flu from Jamie. I sprained my wrist also as I was trying to put my laptop inside the bag. Urgh..what a unlucky week. Tmr still got to go interview. Hopefully I can perform well.

Krissie,
My fren has got GD when she is in the mid of 2nd tri. Gynae wants her to do blood test everyday and record down. At the end of the week got to fax to the clinic. Need to review by gynae every fortnight. Very poor thing. Try to cut down ur sugar and carbo intake like what mamapanda had mentioned. It helps. Take care.

CS pay
Actually not all the CS are paid very well, it depends on which sector you are in. The recent pay hike is not across the board too.

SH/Yuen Yuen
There was a few pg writeup in last Sats papers. Yuen Yuen, actually theres a short squeeze for ops ppl in the financial sector now cos a lot of big foreign banks have shifted their global ops centre to Sin. Risk mgt/compliance is in huge demand too. Youll surprise to know the kind of pay package they are offering.