(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mongs

yah, it sure is good. I still have my old jab papers and they were all crumpling. With them listing all the jabs online, it's so much easier.

Babylon
How is it at Bukit Timah? Is it good?

CL
Welcome back! Wah, your nanny so good can help u take care of Aden for so many days. Haha, can imagine how pleased u are when Aden shows how much he misses u.

I left C with my ILs on Sat for a date with my hb. He coped with it very well and didn't show that he missed us at all. sigh. My ILs said he's so easy to take care unlike my hb when he was young. My hb was a hyperactive kid and they had to send him to a psychiatrist. hahah.

Vaccination Cert :- I was told by polyclinic to keep the certified copy properly as school would ask for that. The website allows us to print duplicate certificate so you may need to get it certified. I intend to do K's last jab at polyclinc just to get the certification. Some mummies said PD would issue that based on the last jab.

babylon, can share what you find out about zoophonics @ Bkt Timah?

Mashy, thx for the sharing on zoophonics@Thomson. Going by per lesson (8 lessons in 1 month), each lesson is $25. That's market rate right? but ya, some of the higher-end ones would be $30+

.ky.

ky

compared to GUG/JG, yah it's must cheaper.

Little Skool House at AMK HUb is even cheaper, only $350 for 3hrs daily. However, the waitlist is so long, the staff told me to look for another school. Argh!

mamachan
the benefit stuff are much cheaper when ordered online esp now got free shipping. actually i calculated. even without free shipping, it is still cheaper to order online. The benetint came up to be abt SGD 44 whereas Tangs selling at SGD 65....

i really liked the stuff that i got esp the dandelion powder. the packaging so sweet!

mashy
it is a compliment that C is easy to take care of
atually JH is also like that. if i leave him with my parents and we are out of sight, he will not miss us too...

mashy / KY

Re : zoophonics @ Bkt Timah

my elder boy just join the class for 3 lessons. I find the place quite clean. I did ask my elder boy how he find the class..He enjoyed it alot..unlike those additional class that i send i send. He told me tat the teacher is more attentiv.

This weekend, will try to find out abit more on the playgroup.

Mashy,
Wahthis is cool! So the PD actually update the jabs online for our babies?
HahaI very suakuI was trying to key in my boy's NRIC and realised that I don't have a singpass for him. Only then I tried using my own Singpass. So funny rite?

SY/Mashy,
I think nothing beats my boy. He actually cried and push me away when I return from London after a 10 day trip! Urghhthen he won't let mummy carry. Completely crushed my ego! :-(
To think I rushed back to see him and missed him so much.

Hallo mummies!

Mamampanda,
Just saw your post. I will transfer the monies to you tonight.

SY,
You organising another spree on Benefit? : )

Re: RP lunch
I would love to meet upf or lunch with the RP mummies next week! This week is a madhouse at my office so cannot.

SY
Hahaha, making me gianz leh, to try out benefits cosmetics. Maybe I go to their counter at Tangs and check out what I might be keen in 1st =) Then let you know soon yah? Need to change some of my make-up, some items have been with me for years!!!

Re. Vaccination Cert
I'm a bit confused... Isaac gets his jabs at the Polyclinic, and he went for his 18th month DPT and Polio booster jabs last month. I think his next jab is due onyl when he is 3 years old. The nurse didn't mention anything about the cert leh, but seems like some of you babies have already got the cert?

Re. job
The Sat papers reported that this year is a boom job market for fresh grads, and I'm still jobless... almost 3 months out of work liao. Sigh. Today went for my 6th interview, frankly quite sian of attending interviews. I think my hit rate for interviews are not bad, managed to get interviews with the few applicaitons that I have sent out but somehow at the last hurdle, still cannot clinch the job. So sian and discouraged... keep telling my HB I want to be permanent SAHM liao.

queen - hang on there. dun be too depress over it. i totally understand how you feel. it hit me badly too when i was retrenched and felt left in the lurch to fend for myself. just keep praying and have positive thots. the best job will come by. just be more hardworking in applying those jobs. GOD knows how many I have applied during that time and at least they grant u an interview. better than sending out hundreds and none grant you any interview right? so hang on there. i believe you will get a job soon. meanwhile, just enjoy your time with ur bb. u will have a lifetime to work, dun worry!

re: hi 5 concert

Anyone bringing their kids to this concert? i have booked 2 tixs for the 8 sept 4p.m show. anyone gg for the same time slot too? bot the 68 bucks one. my frd got maybank card so got 20% discount if book by this thurs. else its only 15%.

the last time, caleb enjoyed the spongebob so much...so this time, he shld be even happier since he is glue to the tv whenever hi 5 is played on central. hee so excited for him. but to think i am still on confinement period :p

SSF
I am sure caleb will enjoy it. The last time I brought my friend to their very first concert here. She enjoyed it very much too.

SL
I don't think u owe me any nmoney. Only Denmy and Cookie owe me money now.

Rena,
pls pay ChickenLittle 60cents. She has paid on your behalf.

yeah.. the forum is finally up again.

here's my belated postings.

rena
I'm going to put Ger in CC (half day) starting Aug. Hope that he'll adjust quickly. My main concern is also food, plus falling sick. But, no choice la. Re food. When I asked the CCs that I visited, they said that they'll feed them the same food and most todds will get used to the solids after a while. I'm still training Ger to try to take more solids. He takes a bit, but not as much as his porr meal. Will also hv to let my mum feed him more porr for dinner. Also, intend to cook more soup for Ger over the weekends, so that he gets the nutrition. So far, only 1 CC told me that they'll cook porr for Ger. This there's pros and cons. The child shld learn to start eating solids. So, if CC continues cooking porr, then he might take longer to adjust to solids. Like what mashy said. maybe you can consider half day 1st? anyway, afternoon they don do that much, as usually 1-3pm is for nap time.

Linda
wah, how to prep his food to bring to CC? then i need to wake at 6am to cook his porr. btw, does gracie take rice and noodles before going to CC? or she only learnt it after she started going to CC? Ger take rices, but super little, like 3 spoons only. v little compared to his porr intake. how much rice does gracie take at the CC? 1 bowl or half bowl? same amt as her usual porr?

Krissie
What about using the Tiger Food jar to prepare the food ?

Mamapanda
You let me know when is the next pick up for other stuff.

Linda,
You still have a Crayola magic pen set with me. We must arrange to meet.

Mamapanda
Sorry.. just read I owe you money...
For the A+D cream is it?? you have send me an email for payment?? if you do then perhaps I have overlook it.

Re:Baby food/bottle warmer
HI mummies
Need some advice here... I'm thinking if I should get a baby food/bottle warmer..I din get one during kaelyn time and it's rather inconvenience to use hot water.
I wonder it is useful to buy...I also consider preloved in the marketplace since it's just warmer.
For mummies who bought food warmer for warming chilled/frosten breast milk...can share if it's worth while to get 1?

Whats the brand you got? anyone using Lucky Baby, saw quite a few selling this brand, wonder if it's good.

Aiya

Cookie you should have post earlier. Ha ha I just offer to give away my avent warmer to my boss. I am quite happy with my warmer. Wanted to sell it at $35 but keep being pressed down to very low price so fed up and decided to give away woh.

cookie
i can lend u my baby warmer first.
dun need to buy lah. i pass to u on sat. remind me ok?

sl, mamachan
yeah let me know whether u wan to order any benefit stuff. me plannign to get the scrub....

re cert
i also din know that we will get a cert. i better bring JH for his MMR soon..hee.

re RP lunch
1. SY
2. SL

Shall we propose next Thur?

queen
dun be too dishearterned. actually reading abt the job market just makes us realise that the batch now is really lucky. they have much better starting pay and easier to get jobs.

i also started to apply for some jobs and only got one interview so far....

cookie
I bought the phillips warmer that comes with car charger. I find it good cuz it has a thermostat that will automatically cut off when the temp reaches 38deg, which means u can leave ur baby jar food in the warmer. However, I find its a bit too warm for EBM cuz Ariene likes her EBM at room temperature. So, normally, to warm EBM to room temp, I just switch it on and leave the EBM inside for abt 5min then switch off liao. If urgent (no time to take out warmer), I just microwave half cup of water in for 30sec then plunge the defrosted EBM in the cup and swirl until it reaches room temp. The phillips warmer also has a few settings for u to choose from (small bottle, large bottle or jar food) while most others have only 2 settings. The other thing that is good abt this warmer is the car charger. If u need to warm EBM outside, u can warm it in the car using the car charger plug. Here's the catalog for the warmer : http://www.consumer.philips.com/consumer/catalog/tree/en/za/consumer/personal_care_gr_za_consumer/baby_care_ca_za_consumer/ce/_productId_SCF215_84_ZA_CONSUMER/Baby_bottle_warmer+SCF215

When I was buying the warmer, I did a market research and all other brands (which are much cheaper) do not have a thermostat that can maintain at 38deg, meaning u have to switch it off or it'll overheat.

A+D cream
Your A+D cream is $16.51. I haven't collected any monies from our thread's mummies yet, only those who are not in the thread. If you're ready to TT the money, u can do so cuz I'm ordering soon. Just waiting for 2 mummies to TT money to me then I order liao. I was just telling SL she don't have to pay me money cuz she said she gonna TT money to me.

Clare;

That must have been a harrowing experience for your family. Hope Ashley is better now. My neighbour's 12mths old daughter experienced the same thing 3 weeks back, she told me it is very scary to see your child being in a fit.

Last tuesday, Rory's tempertaure hovered around 38.8 - 39 deg even after 2 doses of Calpol. We took him to the hospital when temperature crossed the 39 deg mark. The nurse give him children's Neurofen, switched on the fan and strip him down to his nappy. His temperature dropped to 37.5 deg in less than 30mins.

I was told by the PD to effectively keep temperature down if your child is running a high fever that is not responding to Calpol, alternate between children's Neurofen and Calpol and sponge with tepid water. It worked very well for Rory.

mamapanda
thanks for sharing.
Err... did u email me your account number? if yes then I go dig your email. I can transfer to you. no problem

CassCl
how come must strip down to nappy and switch on the fan? i thought when we are young we were taught not to blow the fan directly? it seems to be very cold...

CassCL..
U delivered already?? long time no hear from you

May
Ok I will take over the training pants from you.
I IB to you? pls provide me bank account number.
The thing is how to get from you, think u stay somewhere in the north/west?...how much it cost to go by postage?

Just wondering.. the picture show pink.. the one you photograh is in purple? are the rest in purple too?

CL
Tell your hb of course Aden miss you more cos u are the one that woke up in the middle of the night to pump milk for him =) How to dump Charmaine in Singapore, shes old enuff to protest!

RE: Vaccination
Mels PD will update and print a copy of all the vaccines and the dates they are taken (including those not taken by her) and insert inside her health booklet leh.

SH,
If Im not wrong, docs are required by law to update the jabs they took for bb

Queen
Re. job
Dont be dishearten, Im sure the right job will come along. Then again, Im also not too sure how reflective are those reports on the general market cos I know a number of my friends who have worked for a few years are not even getting $45K that these fresh grads are getting.

Re RP lunch
1. SY
2. SL
3. Flo

CassCL
Any particular reason for Rorys high fever? Is he feeling better now?

Flo
yeah myself not even getting 5K! i think in general the job market is quite good. a fresh grad just joined my team and she says most of the her frens got jobs already.

SY;
Yah, my mum said the same..don't blow directly. But the nurse said to bring the temperature down fast, they do that. And sometimes the child gets the shivers, but she said it's normal cos body temperature is dropping. It seems to work but I won't do it at home.

Cookie;
Not yet, i still have about 3 weeks to go! How're u feeling?

Cookie,
It is all in pink. Think is the light that makes it look like purple. My POSB saving 116-15083-2. Erm, not sure how much it cost via postage. Think normal post is $1 bah. I am meeting Babylon to pass her noblehouse book. Easy to meet up with her? I staying in Jurong West. I am collecting ON stuff from Queen as well. Normally Sat I will go town for shopping. Sun will be at Seng Kang. Which is more convenient for you?

CassCL,
Hope Rory get well soon. U must take care too.

Mamapanda,
U scare me leh.. I was shocked how come Ariene is taking MMR Booster. Lucky it's the correct jab. Phew.

Queen,
I had transfer the ON money to you. Can I collect when u are coming over ur mum's place?
How come Isaac has got one more jab when he is 3 yrs old? I tot the next is Pri 1 and 6 ?

May
When are you collecting the ON stuff from Queen? Cookie/Clare if you are not in a hurry to get your stuff, I can wait until May pass the pants to Queen first then I collect all from her at one go?

SY
Humm, then I must say these grads are really lucky. When I started off as a fresh grad, I'm getting only $1.5K!

Flo;
Was a viral thing. He had a bad cough and running nose for 2+ weeks, took him to the GP twice but they refuse to prescribe any medicine. GP said if his lungs is clear, then it's better to let him fight the virus himself.

Then finally i think his system cannot take it anymore and he woke up one morning with a temperature. He's okay now because he was finally given antibiotics.

CassCL
hmm yeah i wouldn't do it too. sounds a bit extreme. but i remember when i was young and i was admitted for high fever, the nurse made me take a cold shower. was really crying from the cold then.

Flo,
yeah man, these grads are so lucky.....my bro going to go to a law firm in 2 years time and what he is getting is what i get after 5 years of working!

CassCL
I'm feel hmm. ok.. difficult to sleep at nite now. I'm into my 38 weeks.. so we are abt the same time? when is your due date again? mine 8 Aug

May/Flo
Thanks alot...for giving me so many option!!
Flo I'm not in a hurry to get my stuff, can't wear them now anyway. If clare can wait, then May can pass the pants to Queen and you collect for me 1 shot, then I get my HB to collect from you. In case I due for #2, then my HB will have to collect later if it's ok for you.. cos he will be on paternity leave for 2 weeks

Flo,
Not sure when Queen is going to her mum's place. Will keep u update.

RE: Grad's pay
Talking about it. My friend just grad from NTU. He just found a job. Starting pay is $2500 as a Service Engineer.

CassCL
these days I really feel the baby is pressing downward.. I wonder if thats sign of enagaging??
din feel much for kae cos she never engage till labour..

Flo/Cookie
Me not in hurry so can wait for Cookie's pants. In fact I think Queen has also passed one of my ON item to Mongs by mistake so may need to trouble you to wait for me instead...pai seh =P

RE: Vaccination
HB just brought damien for his jab was given a cert. THis time round he did not cry.
His weight is 11.3kg. Really can't belived it coz he only takes 4 meals per day including 2x 140ml of milk.
This weight contribute from his DA TOU.

Pray hard no fever...

RE. Job
Thanks for the encouragement. I was just telling cookie, some companies that interviewed me, I have even gone through 2 to 3 rounds of interviews only to find that I didn't make it after the final interview. Till date I have attended close to 10 interviews with 6 companies, really quite sian of the process liao.

Re. grads' pay
How come these fresh grads' pay are so high? I think it's quite ridiculous, especially in civil service. Are the pay of experienced people increasing at the same rate then? I do find that of all professional jobs, engineers remain the lowest paid. I was paid $2600 when I first graduated in 2002, now it's still $2500 for engineers? And an Arts grad in civil service is getting like $2800 now. No wonder no one wants to do engineering anymore.

Re. Old Navy collection
Flo, sorry, I have to postponed the collection cos I think I made an error. Passed one of Clare's item to Mongs instead and would need to swop back.

Mongs,
Have you checked through the ON items? When can I meet you to swop back the Glitter tees?

morning mummies..

went for my gynae checkup yesterday and oops baby Jadon is already 2.6kg! and i still have 3 more weeks to go. hb said maybe i ate too many durians recently and ask me to stop eating too much sweet stuffs. hee..

cookie - yeah maybe bb is starting to engage already. i checked yesterday and gynae says Jadon has not engage yet. i think same case as Caleb where he is not engage and in the end have to c sect. so good thg i have already decided on c sect.

mamapanda - i paid you for the A+D cream right? $8.08 transfer. have you checked? i dun think i owe u any money but if i do, please let me know. thks!

Queen, for Vacc Cert, flip through your health booklet. The polyclinic staff may just stapled in the cert without telling u. It's just a piece of paper. I found mine for #1 months after that.

Last set of molars coming out ... can anyone advise how long would it take from when a kid feels itchy n starts grinding the teeth till the molars would come out. my #2 has not been eating for more than a week ever since he had his fever and I'm looking at why so ... and one of the suspect is molars but I don't see any signs. hoping hard that they'll come out soon ...

.ky.

queen
wow your starting pay is quite good. hmm, i think civil service starting pay nowadays are good. i shd have gone into civil service...

SSF, cookie
so exciting..2 more babies coming!

SSF
Jadon sounds quite big size...think he will definitely be a 3kg baby!

ky
JH also keeps drooling and i think it is due to the molars but can only see a little bit...

Re : Drooling
Damien drool like tap water. Duno need to change how many bibs within a day. No matter how nice i dressed him, he still need to wear a bib. Hiaz