(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Aileen,
Glad that your boy is recovering.

I hv a PT too. She has been with me for 2 years. Now i practically leave her the keys and she will do and lock up herself. Very clean and efficient. Howevre, she only has wkdays. Let me know if u r keen.

RE : Saying Sorry
Huh...gonna teach my boy that. Now he only knows how to use "please" and "thank you". When he wants things and getting desperate, he wld say "please". OF cos sometimes he wld use tantrum. Which i cant stand.

Aquaducks classes
ANyone gonna enrol your babies for class? I'm quite keen to enrol S and called up today enquiring about vacancies.... gonna let s do another trial with a male coach, Adrian at Suntec, coz Coach Annie is packed and need to be on waiting list! Need to see how s responds to a guy, coz she is quite shy of men nowadays...

May,
if you can't find it at Clementi Central, then you can also try Clementi Ave 2, coz I always shop there, since my mum stays very nearby... if you need me to help you pick up a tin, just let me know, coz going over tomorrow, so very easy to get...

re: aquaducks
sleepingdeer,
I also wanna let Keenan go for a trial. But schedule quite tight leh cos we got JG on Sundays. Sat also cannot cos Ethan's got classes from 2 to 4.30pm, unless morning.

re: BUmwear training pants
May, i cannot remember how much was the breakdown of individual items. Can update us again? The size should be S for our todds.

Package E - 15 diapers/pull-ups + 35 inserts (enjoy 15% off - usually S$620, now S$527)

May - 3 pants/ 7 inserts
Denmy - 6 pants/ 8 inserts
sl - 6 pants/ 20 inserts (?)

queen
yes spree closed already but i might be opening a spree#3 as I've got pple on waiting list. U wan join spree #3?

mashy
The books are on the way from US. Still have another 3-4 more weeks to go b4 they shld arrive.

Sl,
Spree #2 is closed but I might open a spree #3 due to overwhelming response. U wan join spree #3?

BABYLON,
payment received. Thanks. Hope ur boy is better now

sorry for the typos if any... 1 arm operation now cuz expressing in office now while reading & replyting posts.

Demny,
I went for Coach Annie's last month, and find her quite all right, but the main reason why I am keen to enroll S is coz she is getting too comfy in arm floats liao! She can run aorund from small pool to big pool, and float on her own unassisted, so I worry she is getting too reliant on them floats, what if she decides to jump in one day, OMG! I like the idea of teaching the toddlers to swim on their own without reliance on floats, so better start her on it soon..

I called the lady up and got a wed afternoon slot for trial actually, free to join? It was not supposed to be free, since we went for a first one, but the lady said since I'm thinking of joining, she will let me do it free

Denmy,
I getting size S also. Here's the breakdown:
Training Pant (Usual): $25 , (Now) $21.25
Insert (Usual): $7 , (Now) $5.95

SL,
If 20 inserts are too much for you, I am fine to take over 2 more. which mean 1 pant 3 inserts. Let me know if u are ok with Denmy's plan. Should we get them to deliver? If not, I am ok to go United Square to get it. Since I am not working now.

sleepingdeer,
Wed late afternoon? is it 4pm? If it is I can!! Can you tell the lady I wanna let Ethan (7 year old) do a trial at the same time too? Thanks!!!

Mamapanda,
Are you just getting the Nordic Naturals? Cos I'm thinking of getting some Cali Baby stuff. Plus your collection points not very convenient for me... Aiya, when you closing? Let me think about it and see if I want to order with you or organise my own spree.

May,
Wow, Jamie is so smart about the potty thing! I dunno when Isaac is ever going to learn to use the potty. As it is yesterday, he has mild diarrheoa and can still sit in his poo poo to play!

SY,
Pre-preggy, I have a pretty flat tummy without having to do crunches, though I exercise very regularly. After preggy, got a ring of flab, not very obvious when standing but more obvious when sitting. I hate crunches leh... hopefully if I try to lose that 1 to 2 kg, the flab will go down as well? Ok... this evening I will go do my 3km run... it will be the 3rd time I exercised in 19 months.

RE. Shapes & colours
Isaacs knows how to put all the shapes correctly into the Tupperware shape sorter. Though for some of the shapes, he doesn't really know how to look for the slots, I have to help turn the sorter to guide him but once he sees the slot, he knows which shape to put them into. He doesn't really know the name for all the different shapes though, but he knows square, rectangle, triangle, circle, oval, star and cross for sure.
Have thought Isaac about colours for a while, but I don't think he knows how to differentiate any yet. But he picks up the alphabets quite fast. He can point out more than half the alphabets already.

Re. Speech & temper
Isaac still can't say anything except Daddy, Ma and Star. I tried to teach him to say car and mummy for the longest time but he still lcannot pick them up. Whenever he sees cars, he'll go "hmm hmm", his way of saying "vroom vroom"!
Recently taught him to say please, he pronounces it as 'fiss' and usually will not say it and will throw tantrums instead. Sometimes throw things around. Last sat, I brought out the balloon stick and hit his hand just hard enough to feel the sting and not really very painful. He learns very quickly. After that when I ask him "do you want me to piak piak", he'll shake his head and run to Daddy.

Re. Vivo pool
Isaac goes absolutely crazy as the wading pool at Vivo!

queen
spree #2 is already closed and awaiting payment confirmation from 1 last mummy before I place orders. The spree is only for nordic naturals cod liver oil for simplicity. So far, I've had 2 orders for spree #3. I'll wait awhile more to see if there's enough people to open up.

DTP booster jab @ 18m
I brought Ariene for the jab on thursday and she had mild fever of 38deg during the day but at night, the temp shot up to 38.9deg. So, if u bring your darlings down for the jab, you might want to brace yourselves to monitor them for high fever, esp at night.

Denmy
If you think Keanan is about of same size as Daren, maybe can consider M-size for BUmwear Training pants? I got M for Daren.

Phil Maids
Hahaha, I think it's in their nature and culture for them to know everyone and anyone as back in their hometown. My mom, hb and myself have officially announced my helper to be the next kay-po #1 at home =) coz she'll tell me this maid and that maid matters. In a way, their community is quite tight. If big eater phils, maybe can let them have more rice? My helper needs to have rice at least once a day for her meals. But she's ok to have leftovers from dinner for her next day lunch. She does zhi dong keep for herself next day and the portion left over is not alot, I guess she got "trained" by her previous HK's employer's mom. Different pple have different habits. But think of it, they will definitely need more energy as they multi-task i.e. need to do housework while toddler is resting and once toddler is awake, they have to keep up with their energy level.

ky
I don't have good impression of the IMM water play area as when my mom brought him there once with my helper, he kenna biten by mozzies!

Outdoor Water fountain play area
If I'm not wrong, I think in Singapore, it's compulsory for these water play areas to have some percentage of chlorine in them so as not to allow breeding of bacteria, especially where it's known that it's a place for children to play. And am very sure they will send the water to the water-testing labs in Singapore for testing. Hope this info will help you ladies to ease your mind

mamachan

Re: Outdoor water fountain play area
actually no leh. I read in a ST report previously that the Vivocity one is untreated water coz they didn't intend to use it as wading pool and it also runs the risk of legionnaires disease.

re: BUmwear training pants
May, Good news! I managed to convince the lady to give us the same rates with just 15 inserts cos I already have some inserts from the previous diapers that I have. So does Denmy. So I can go down and make the purchase. Just let me know your colour preferences. Btw, when I spoke to her over the phone, she was suggesting that based on the info that Charmaine's alreayd using the same button on her diaper cover, might need to get M size.

The finalised list looks like this? I have included the price below based on May's calculation.

Package E - 15 diapers/pull-ups + 35 inserts (enjoy 15% off - usually S$620, now S$527)
Training Pant (Usual): $25 , (Now) $21.25
Insert (Usual): $7 , (Now) $5.95

May - 3 pants/ 7 inserts = 3 x 21.25 + 7 x 5.95 = 105.4
Denmy - 6 pants/ 8 inserts = 6 x 21.25 + 8 x 5.95 = 175.10
sl - 6 pants/ 10 inserts = 6 x 21.25 + 10 x 5.95 = 123.

Queen,
I also want to order CaliBB. Are you going to organise a spree?

re: Speech

I think speech-wise, Charmaine's very slow too. She only says milk milk happily. She can say car, star, mummy, daddy and imitates us in talking but I have yet to see a connection enough to establish that she knows.

Tabbiesus,
Can the Malay lady help with backache? I do get backaches sometimes now. Wondering if the malay massage would help...

Aileen,
Ya, I agree with the rest of the mummiesu really nice to your maid :)

SSF,
This helper you got is on a ad-hoc basis one ah? Or does she goes your place every sat?

Chillies,
Wahu trust ur PT so much? She must be really good then. Is there a particular area that she does?

Thanks SL,
How heavy and tall is Charmaine? Think I better get M size also. Or I go back and measure her first. Let u know tonight one the size and colour. How to do collection? Where u stay?

re shapes/colours:
caleb doesnt know it too although i have been trying to teach him.

SH - the maid comes every alt weekends to clean my hse. mainly mop, wash 2 toilets n ironing.

aileen - in that case u better dun engage her. she is very slow in ironing. last wk, i freed her time of vacuuming the hse as i used magic clean instead. coz hb says furniture is new and she is quite rough in vacuuming and knocking on the furnitures and scared she scratch the floor. so she need only to mop and wash 2 toilets but still she didnt iron all of the clothes. in fact, she iron like only less than 8 shirts in more than an hr. *faint*

Speech

Cephas' Please is "Piss" and TQ is "Qute". As for Sorry, it a rub on the side of the head. He invented this on his own. I've saying on his behalf during milk & meal times since he was born. Aft he turned one, I'll tell him "say grace" He'll clasp both hands in a praying manner & close both eyes. When I finish, he'll say "men" for "Amen".

chillies,
i have pmed u.

SH,
don't think i'm nice to her lah, just being humane. maybe becos i have 2 "lao ye" ie, my hb and my dad and 1 "shao ye" ie,edgar, at home. so 1 person gotta take care of these 3 fellows is really a handful. u know my hb everything oso ask the maid, take a cup or bowl oso ask the maid, basically every thing is "ask the maid". so my maid very busy serving the 3 of them loh. she eat dinner oso cannot eat in peace bcos either one of them always need her. like if edgar poopoo, also ask the maid. my dad and hb will not lift a finger one. so disgusting right?!!

Speech

Cephas' Please is "Piss" and TQ is "Qute". As for Sorry, it a rub on the side of the head. He invented this on his own. I've saying grace on his behalf during milk & meal times since he was born. Aft he turned one, I'll tell him "say grace". He'll clasp both hands in a praying manner & close both eyes. When I finish, he'll say "men" for "Amen".

SSF,
ok noted. i'll try some others then... sigh, i was just thinking maybe end of the day, i'll just get another FT maid. coz with #2 coming along, i doubt my maid can handle alone. and i can't rely on my dad, afterall he's not a woman. can't do much.

Aileen,

Looks terrible leh.. i think in this case you better have one to do housework and one jsut take care of #1 and #2 but expense will be very high..

Mashy
If ST reported such a big thing bout Vivocity waterplay area, I would think that Vivocity's management would look into the matter and do something. I didn't read that article but yes, I know about Legionella as I did a small write up on this in poly before. Apparently it occurs more frequently in cooling towers (common in USA, Australia)...then again, what did the ST report says bout this Legionalla bacteria?

rena,
aiya, spoilt men mah... what to do... my hb can't even cook maggie mee or fry an egg. u say leh.... sometimes i really vomit blood ar. anyways, can only blame their mums for spoiling them!!! i would really prefer not to have another maid at home coz like so many pple in the house leh! not like my house is damn huge. but see how lah, if situation calls for it, then bo bian loh...

Mashy
Hope this information helps on Legionellis control in singapore helps: http://www.standards.org.sg/files/Vol6No1Art6.htm

Aileen
Wow, the men really are the king and princes in the family!. It will be a no wonder if your helper is unable to perform up to standard if this continues on if she she's OMO (One-Man-Operation).I was laughing when I read that you're getting PT help as a humane way =P

Speech
Daren has been vocalizing abit more. He refuses to repeat after us when we encourage him to do so, he prefers to take us by surprise with sudden saying of words and then it'll take a long while for him to repeat his sentence. However, he's understand to piece words together via baby signing i.e. More Crackers, more water or more please if he's already eating something he likes. And we'll get him to say thank you after he recieves the things he wants which will be at times verbalized as "Tha Ou" or he'll sign it. Am happy that he understands that if he needs help or wants something, he will sign "Please"

sysac - haha caleb can shake hands with kor kor cephas. his 'Please' is also 'PISS'! haha..and since he was young, i always say before each milk feed, thanks Jesus for the milk, Amen! then when he was ard 8 mths plus, he started saying "Men" for me till today. hehee...sometimes when he gets very hungry, his MEN will be especially loud. *tsk tsk*

aileen - must train ur men esp hubby to be hands on so that they can help relieve the maid's load too. i got a frd who also have 2 maids when he got 2 kids. so it depends on your needs but then financially it can be quite strain. must plan and discuss lor. or maybe u want to hire a daytime nanny instead to care for your baby so that the maid will not be too overloaded when second one pops out. she can help to watch over your maid too. hee..

mamapanda - u saw my earlier posting on the dermalogical product money transfer?

Mamachan,
Thanks for the bumwear tip.

sl, May,
cool. Then I'll just have 6 pants & 6 inserts.
6 x 21.25 + 6 x 5.95 = 163.20
Cols: red/ yellow/ periwinkle/ white blue/ turquoise/ orange
size: M

thanks!!!

RE: vivocity
I bring Janelle to the fountain area which is with the kids' playground, but not the wading pool. THe water bursting out of the holes is enough to entertain her!

RE: signing
Actually you all remember we talked about teaching sign language to kids some time back? I've been teaching Janelle simple signs since she was a baby and she knows "please" in sign. But i realised that because she can sign "please", she is very lazy to say the word please though she can. (she's blurted our "peese" before when she forgot she could sign it). So, i'd actually be a little hesistant in teaching my next kid sign language. I think it might deter their speaking ability a little. In fact, come to think of it, all the signs that she uses she doesn't speak. Like "more", "sorry", "please", "thank you". But she speaks other words...so i think she's just lazy to say it since she can sign the words.

mashy,
Haha your boy really knows how to appreciate pretty girls!

Aileen
so glad to know edgar has gotten better...
Hmm.. so finally did the doctor manage to diagnose what it was?

I can Read Chinese books
Spoke to the supplier again. She's giving 10% disc for min 10 sets ($62/set) ordered and max 15% disc for 25 sets ($58.65/set) and above.

There are total 5 levels x 12 books each.
Level 1 - Comes in either 12 Books or 120 flash cards.
Level 2 to 5 - Comes with 12 books each with approx 100+ mini flash cards for NEW words which did not appear in the previous level.

Han Yu Pin Yin
For books - Its located at the last page of each book as a Parent's reference at a glance.
For Flash Cards (Level 1 only) - Its located at top left/right hand corner same side as the picture, which is the reverse side of the actual big font words.

Am keen to get 1 set. Hopefully we can get more orders to reach 15% =)

From the last list:
1) Clare - L1(book) x 1
2) Wenyl
3) Sy
4) Cheng
5) Tabb
6) crashbandit
7) Flo
8) Sleepingdeer
9) sunny
10) mashy
11) Aileen
12) Denmy
13) Grace

mamachan

that time, the ST reported abt the vivocity water area becoming a wading pool even though it was not intended to be one. It then said abt the danger of debris in the pool, lack of life guard and the danger of Legionellis disease because the water is untreated and cautioned the pp abt its dangers. The vivocity mgt said that they'll close for maintenance but didn't say whether they're doing anything abt it.

Also, if u notice when you're there, you'll see the lightning rods at the pools. Rather dangerous i think to have it there.

Re:Domestic helper
I just sent back my helper who work with us for barely 3 weeks. Now trying to shortlist again. It's so tough

Rena
Your burmese helper really a big prob in commuication?? I'm still comtemplating which to choose. My MIL wan burmese now.. but I really scare they cannot comminucate

Aileen,
Oh my.she sounds really stretched from what you described! But like Rena saysit's going to costs to get 2 FT maid leh.

cookie,
re: Maid
If you let your MIL pick the helper, then she won't complain in the future.

My helper these few days keep 'forgetting' to do things and dun follow instructions. She has reached her 6mth contract, cleared her debt with her agent and taken an off day. Today I told her off and she just kept saying 'sorry'. Then a short while later she came up to me to say sorry again and told me that she has family problem. That her sis who just gave birth needs money to go for an operation for kidney stones or something. And that this sis was actually raped by her uncle 8 mths back!! I know I shouldn't doubt her story but becos of the horror stories I've heard abt how maids change their attitude once they start going out etc. is making me think otherwise. She has 2 other SILs also working in Sing and 1 of them been here for 8 years liao. So now I'm just keeping my fingers crossed that she is genuinely troubled. Cos if she is, I wont mind helping her out as she has been of great help the past 6 mths.

Clare,
re: I can Read Chinese book
I'm a bit confused here.
Is 1 set = 12 books/ 100+ flashcards?
So each level is 1 set and if we want all the books, it'll be 5 levels/ 5 sets x $62?

Do you have the web link to these books again? Thanks.

hi Demny,
the trial I'm taking is at 3pm leh, can? Though I could go for it this wed or next wed, I chose 25th coz scared my 'auntie' is looming around the corner... you want the same date as me, or you prefer earlier? Sure, I can ask for Ethan whether he can join in...

so many posts to go thru! today took leave to watch transformers...heehee

aileen
your maid sounds pretty overworked....maybe getting another FT one will be better but then will having 2 maids cause problems? i see pros and cons. at least they have some company with each other and mentally it will be better for them.

denmy
i guess got to give your maid benefit of doubt right? try to monitor her a while. there was once when my maid seems troubled and only after asking a few times, she told my mum's maid that her mum got heart attack and in hospital.

clare
i am interested in the books as well.

I can Read Chinese books
Spoke to the supplier again. She's giving 10% disc for min 10 sets ($62/set) ordered and max 15% disc for 25 sets ($58.65/set) and above.

There are total 5 levels x 12 books each.
Level 1 - Comes in either 12 Books or 120 flash cards.
Level 2 to 5 - Comes with 12 books each with approx 100+ mini flash cards for NEW words which did not appear in the previous level.

Han Yu Pin Yin
For books - Its located at the last page of each book as a Parent's reference at a glance.
For Flash Cards (Level 1 only) - Its located at top left/right hand corner same side as the picture, which is the reverse side of the actual big font words.

Am keen to get 1 set. Hopefully we can get more orders to reach 15% =)

From the last list:
1) Clare - L1(book) x 1
2) Wenyl
3) Sy (L1 x1)
4) Cheng
5) Tabb
6) crashbandit
7) Flo
8) Sleepingdeer
9) sunny
10) mashy
11) Aileen
12) Denmy
13) Grace

cookie
what happened to your helper?

mashy,
JH can shake hand with caeden. yesterday we had BBQ and he kissed this little gal and went "yeah" like victory scored. everyone laughed when he did that.

nowadays he is really active and funny. Hb is really convinced that he doesn't need extra classes... recently he has been inventing a lot of games himself. when he wakes up in the morning, he will look for our feet and start banging his head on our feet. dunno where he got that idea from.

then during meal times, when he is full, he will put his head on the table, looking devastated if we ask him to eat more.

then on sat, i gave him some little ball cookies and when he hasn't finished, i poured some rice crispies into the bowl. he started to pick out all the little ball cookies and asked me to eat them.

something made me quite pissed with my in laws. i hinted to my MIL that i want to turn PT in order to spend more time with JH cos i prefer to teach him myself. u know how she responded? she ask how come cannot ask maid to teach? then she kept asking why JH cannot talk etc. i said i m the only one teaching him so that's why i intend to work only PT. she actually called my mum today to ask why i dun wan to work. i feel she is only concerned abt money. she is just afraid that her son will give her less money if i dun work. even if i dun work, i still have to contribute the same amt to household income so that wouldn't affect her. jsut feel that my IL are quite concerned abt money and not abt JH...

Durianlover
tabby is quite advanced with her speech, she can say and recognise most colors like red, pink, green, blue, black, purple, orange and white. Shapes she can say and recognise circle, oval, square, star and triangle. She is now fascinated with letters and numbers. Letters she's good with individual letters but the last few letters, she's not so good with. She keeps getting M and W confused. She can recite nos. 1 -12 fairly well, but occasionally gets it wrong. I thot she just memorised but when i showed her the flash cards in random order, she can say all the nos.

Aileen
Wow, your maid does sound overworked. I can't imagine if my hb was so lazy, at least i can force my hub to help me change baby's diapers!

SSF,
I did not receive any email from u regarding payment leh. How much did u transfer to me? I have a 39.68 transfer via atm on sunday afternoon but I dunno whose payment is it. Is that yours?

Denmy,

Okay - will print out the colours and get M size for you. Leave at sandwich shop at arcade?

May,
Charmaine's 10.2kg and 77cm when I last measured her. Maybe she's got big bum like her mummy, so paiseh.

I stay in the North. But my il's place is in the west so I am pretty flexible.

Can I check with the mummies if your ILs/parents are helping to take care of your babies, what do they do with them everyday?