(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

esther
Leroy is handsome!

Re: JG orientation
went to the orientation yesterday. quite impressed by their effort in decorating the classrooms and library. this term's theme is fairy tale, so they hanged lots of fairies picture and trees on the ceiling. hope my gal will enjoy it when the term starts.

Esther
Leroy is so handsome! nice hair and big eyes!
handsome baby

SY
If kidz kampong at national day.. then count me out. I suppose to due 8th Aug

Sunny,

you were there? didnt see you leh..

haiz never get say hi

RE: JG

after the orentiation hb ask me one question but i do not knoe how to answer him.. he ask me if elijah goes to cc still need to go for JG? what is the addtional benefits..

won't he be learning same thing in school too?
i blur .. duno what to say

SSF,
I saw ur hb and caleb "loitering" at Suntec City yesterday! Was hoping to see u around but no leh. So envy, ur hb willing to bring Caleb out alone.

Rena

It depends on what your CC offer. If same thing then no need. If you are planning for CC only jan 2008, can let him try 2 terms to have the idea of school then it is a better transition to go to CC. This is my idea. Because if next year I send aden to the playgroup, then I will stop JG too.

Sunny
Yes yes, I like the place when they will change the classroom each term accordingly to the theme.

quick post : anyone wants to get nursing bras? There's a closing-down biz sale and the mummy is selling 3 for $15. I'm getting 2 and see if anyone's keen on sharing to get 1 ...Sizes and colors avail :
Skin - 75B/C, 80C, 85 B/C, 90 B/C
White - 85C, 90 C

She's also clearing maternity stuff.
pm me if keen. tx.

.ky.

Rena,
Yah, if cc offer the same thing, then no pt.

Sunny, i never see u also....but funny thing is i keep looking at the babies and seeing if i recognise the babies cos most mummies never post their photos....

CL, I havent sign up yet cos long queue and my HB making noise as we had guests that nite... maybe one day i will go over to sign up when it is not so crowded.

Flo,
I can't make it next week for RP lunch as I'm headed to chiang mai. u gals enjoy urself. CL, we still havent had our MBA meeting. mus be soon before my boss change mind abt sponsoring me.

Sunny
can you briefly describe what JG said for the orientation, pls? Think she mentioned that there's some Dos and Don'ts. It was a busy week for us and we didnt manage to go JG. Thanks!

Rena
CL is right. It depends on what the CC teaches. Like my colleague, she sends her kids to Kinderland for K1 & K2 which already teaches phonics. Yet, she also sent them to enrichment class for phonics on weekends. She said the phonics class which the Kinderland teaches is not as in depth as the enrichment class. So, it all depends la.

I just visited this childcare for Ger yest. Actually, I was thinking of only putting him into CC in Jan 08, i.e. after my ML. Will be on ML from Oct to Dec. But, the CC person said that I shld actually put Ger into CC before #2 is born, so that he will not feel that he's going to CC coz of #2 (which at their age, this is what they'll think, no matter how much we explain to them). And they suggested putting him in Aug, so that he has 2 mths to settle in before my #2 is born. But, as a mummy, I dun feel comfortable to put Ger into CC in Aug. I feel that he's a bit too young (only 19mths), then, I'm worrying whether they will feed him well (what if he loses weight), not treat him v well, etc... coz Ger is v active and I'm afraid that the teacher will find him a handful and not take good care of him, etc.. I know my worries may seem ridiculous to some of you, but my motherly instincts can't help being protective over him. I dun mind him going to CC as i think he can learn much more and play more, I'm just worried that they will not take care of him well enough, etc. And since yest, Ger has been more sticky to hb and I since we told him that he's going to school, so, we do agree that it will be worse for him after #2 is born.. So, I more or less decided to put him in half day CC in Aug so that it will be less painful for him so that he'll wont associate it with #2 and that i dun want him anymore, etc.. to me, it's the lesser of the 2 evils, but, I just cant help worrying.. in fact, this has been weighing on my mind since yesterday after coming back from CC. Any mummies has any experience to share re the bb settling into CC and that my worries are groundless?? (CL, when did Charmaine go to CC)?

Hey Flo
I plan to take turns with my hubby for the JG class, so he will take one hour while I take the next hour, so ask your hubby to bring mel for the 1st class lah, he will have my hubby for company :>

JG orientation
AK and Sunny, I went for the orientation but did not get to meet u ladies :> cannot recognize..catch u gals next week in class.

Krissie
Charmaine only went to CC at the age of 4 plus, Dec 06 because my mum wants a break. She did not want to go to the same baby sitter as Aden because she is very used to 1-1 attention. But at the childcare she accepted because she take it as school. To date she does not think she is at childcare, if you tell her , she will say it is not childcare it is Del-Care. Ha ha. It took her awhile to adjust too. She is perfectly ok when it is half day the first week. The second week I did full day alternate days. Then from 3rd week full week. Only from Jan 07 she starts to get better but usually after a long PH week she will be upset again or she she is still sleepy in the morning, she will refuse everything. You can check with SL how she let Charmaine settle down at the same place.

Ya ya AK, I oso need to quickly decide me oso company sponsor. You got bond ? Ha ha can discuss on the bond oso if have ha ha.

JG
How many of you have signed up ? I din go for orientation as the curriculum is the same.
AK, just call them and send them the authorization form with credit card info. Dun have to go down

1) CL

krissie,

I started sending Charmaine to infantcare/cc since she's 14 mths to give my mum a break during the afternoons. She's like Gerald - very active and sticky. I do have some difficulties in getting her to settle down in infantcare/cc. After 2 mths, she's quite settled down and happy in going there now. I have to say that I think it's also because the teachers really love her a lot. I don't think Charmaine would be so happy if she's not treated well there right? Btw, I also felt that her speech has improved quite a bit after she started attending. After she started there, she learnt the hand signs for eat, water, milk, thank you and sorry. Soon after, she started talking. Not sure if there's a coincidence but the signs definitely is taught by the infantcare pple so I am quite happy with the arrangements. Oh yes, must be prepared for Gerald to fall sick often in the first month.

I think it's also better to send Gerald there before you pop because in this way, you can have alternative arrangements if Gerald falls sick.

CL,

Ha ha ha ... must thank you for the good recommendation. My mum also said that Charmaine's quite happy at Delcare now. If Jass comes and pick her up from my mum when Charmaine arrives, Charmaine can happily wave my mum bye! : )

Krissie,
One more thing that I forgot to add earlier. Initially it was difficult for Charmaine to settle down also because the initial arrangement was for my mum to send her there and we would pick her up after work. This means that she would be one of the last few to leave. The infantcare pple advised us then that she might be feeling insecure cos everyone's leaving but mummy and daddy's not here to pick her up. So my mum volunteered to pick her up at 530pm latest for the first few months. Nowadays if my mum can't make it, we would pick her up only at 630 - 7pm but she's quite okay already.

Esther,
Congrats! Leroy's so cute!

Krissie,
I stay near Pasir Ris but work at harbourfront. My hb works at bukit merah. We were hoping to find one right at our work place in case we need to work late....

CL
thanks.. Charmaine is qt old at 4plus to go CC.
I find Ger still v young..

SL
thanks for the inputs. He'll be in half day am CC, hv to take schoolbus to my mum's place coz the ones (which i think are better) are not within walking distance from my mum's place. It's so good that her teachers love her, so am sure that she'll be happy there.. I hope that Ger's teachers will love him too..
am really praying for a good school with good teachers.

SH
thanks for the link. I used this one.
http://app.mcys.gov.sg/web/serv_dss_disability_main.asp?Services_Id=4
can shortlist by estates.
Oh.. the Learning by the Park one is not that far from you and hb. can consider as last option, if the ones near your place are no good. I'm going to visit them on Tues. Can update you once I'm done. But, from the website, it does seem like a nice place. I love the big garden.

JG
How many of you have signed up ? I din go for orientation as the curriculum is the same.
AK, just call them and send them the authorization form with credit card info. Dun have to go down

1) CL
2) Krissie

Hi Esther,
Congrat on your bundle of joy.
Leroy has nice double lids eyes and very boy boy look...

Hi Jo,
Thank you for organising the bp.

esther
so adorable!!! Leroy has very big eye, double eye lids somemore =). seeing your boy's photos made me miss my dylan's heehee

CL
RE: JG
I didn't receive any call from them regarding orientation or maybe they called me when I'm on the plane cos I've a missed call. How then is it considered sign up? I prob wont have time to go down to make payment these few days, who should I contact for the credit card authorization form? Can I trouble u to sms me the details cos I'm going for my 2nd eye op tom and prob won't be able to log on.
Cheng
When I first told hb to attend the first lesson he was quite reluctant
He sort of change his mind when I told him your hb will attend half the lesson as well. Will check with my mom if she's free this Sun, so that my hb and mom will attend the English and chinese session respectively..heehee

Krissie
If I were you I prob put Ger in a cc before popping as he'll be very sensitive at this age. If you are concern maybe you can do some "homework" and make sure you are comfortable with the cc before enrolling. Alternatively, you may want to start him off with 3 times a week or a half day session first until he's more ready to attend full day cc?

Flo

You want me to make the payment for you first ? I will sms you the details later in the morning. Good luck to your perfect eyesight w.e.f tomorrow

MemoirActs Open house at Mamachan's place
Dear all, as Mamachan will be away in Malacca so we will be postpone the open house.

Clare will work with you on another timing for the open house.

Since open house for MemoirActs is postponed, the time slot for 30 Jun is free. Let's plan the next playgroup gathering.

Cheng has volunteered her place. Please put in your nick if you are interested by 28 Jun so we can coordinate the activity.

853517.jpg
853518.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Weekend Playgroup - Water! Water!</font>
Date : 30 Jun (Sat)
Time : 11 am
Venue: Serangoon North
Theme : Water Play
Dress Code for Kids: Swim Wear and bring along a bath toy and towel(optional)

11 - 11.15 am Free play (getting familiarise)
11.15 - 11.30 am Making of Tamborine - Chicken Little
11.30 - 11.45 am Music and Movement - Any Volunteer to host this ? Any suggestion on any songs relating to water ?
11.45 am Water play in portable pool - Cheng

Wash up, clean up and Makan time! I can bring Amosco Eclair and Swiss Rolls

1) Cheng / Aidan
2) Chicken Little / Aden

SH
My colleague's nephew is at Learning Vision -Bt Merah branch. She felt that her nephew learn alot and progress very well with that cc.
U might wanna consider.

Weekend Playgroup - Water! Water!

11.30 - 11.45 am Music and Movement - Any Volunteer to host this ? Any suggestion on any songs relating to water ?

1) Cheng / Aidan
2) Chicken Little / Aden
3) Cookie / Kaelyn(I put down my name 1st but it's nap time!!)

CL
Oh ya talking abt the viewing of Scrape bag or box thingy. Tink I meet u during lunch time to see the real thing.

Hi mummies...

Managed to squeeze in some time to sneak at the forum postings...got withdrawal symptoms...haha....

Babylon...thanks for the details...have updated you. :0

Mummies...do check you email and see that you have received the collated purchase table. In the event that you don't have it, pls PM me. I will check my email 24/7.

K...gotta go to class liao...will come in again! If time permits!

-----------------------------bookmark-------------

Krissie

It's never easy to send a child to cc. Parents have separation anxiety. The first time I send my #1 to infant care centre, he was just 3 months old. I was very upset on Day1 as he was crying badly when I left. So upset that I wanted to withdraw him immediately. And the next time I send him to a cc was when he was 23 months old. He's been going to a 1/2 day cc since then. From what I learnt, check how many young kid would the teacher be handling and how experienced is the teacher in handling. Usually at such a young age, there would be very few and the teacher can give very good attn to individual kid... Perhaps that's how I saw my own experience. There were only 3 during #1's time and the teachers could really look after him for more than 1/2 yr. A mother I know start sending her girl only 3 times a week, and work her way through to putting her there for 5 days and it took her a few months to go through the transition. Also, go to playgroups where he'll have a chance to mingle with other children and adapt to different environment. Try not to be by his side all the time and observe how he behaves.

A child would most definitely cry when first placed there. The question is how long would he cry each day and how long would the crying be. Mine cried only when we are there and it lasted barely a week. So one thing most parents would say is once you have send your kid there, do a swift and good good-bye and walk off.... don't linger coz it'll build up the tears more (on both side). I believe you have carefully chosen the cc and teachers that handling the younger kids are selected to do so because they are able to do so, so give them the confidence. As parents, we have to pre-empt our kids and portray cc as a school where fun and friends are ... my #1 loves going to school and yes, when he was younger, there were times that he doesn't like, even to the extent of wearing pyjamas to school and the teacher would help him change. But once he's in school, he'll forget about parents and just run off to play .... I find a kid behaves very different in school and at home.

.ky.

SY - ya he travels like siao! he be gg to HK ard mid Jul and Shanghai in Sept after i due..haiz...ya too bad i couldnt tag along coz whenever his boss goes, i cannot tag along. and with caleb...its also a bit diff. this melb one thot can go for a break..but then no flight and also boss last min joining in.

esther - thks for sharing Leroy's pic. very charming looking and yeah agree ..boyish.

may - hahaa...u caught my hb and caleb. hee..ya i was ard in Bugis area participating in a survey. so hb dropped me and went to suntec with caleb. i guess we tend to recognise our bb instead of mummies or daddies hor? haha..last time i remember mongs remember me in the airport because of caleb..and not me. haha..
and yes, hb is ok with bringing caleb out alone. actually nowsaday men are more hands on than our fathers and FIL's time. dun ya agree?

cheng - thks for opening ur hse for the waterplay. sounds fun but too bad, hb will touch down on Fri's night. dun think he got the strength to wake up early next morning. hopefully i can join in the next outing before i due. hee..

mamachan - u can hit jonker's walk for the pernankan's stuffs and food. as for mall, only one that is popular ..which is mahkota and another new one opp mahkota mall that recently open. have an enjoyable trip!

esther,
leroy is so handsome! very nice double-eyelids! so envious of u, got a pair of beautiful kids! =D

SY,grace,
i have pmed you my contact no.

SY,
thanks for checking out mandeville for me

JG sign-up list
1) CL
2) Krissie
3) Aileen

Flo
thanks.. ya, we're putting him in half day CC first. That's what we're doing now.. searching for a CC which I feel comfortable with.

ky
thanks v much for your inputs. ya, me already hv anxiety (not really separation, more worrying abt him). I couldnt sleep well last nite. Keep thinking abt which school to choose, whether they'll take good care of him, etc. I've shortlisted 2 schools. Am qt impressed by one of them as they hv an orientation prog. She said that we need to register 1 mth in advance and need the 1 mth to prep, we hv to bring him to the school every sat, so that he can familarise himself with the teacher and school, so less shock for him and she even said that I hv to sit in the class for the 1st 3 days and explain to Ger, etc.. they hv 12 todds now with 3 teachers and their curriculum seems qt good.

SSF,

Aiyo every playgroup your hb oso touching down. Ha ha the last one at SY oso the same. Next time must check his schedule first ha ha.

re kids kampong
need to change the date cos i m going back to my mum's place on 1st Jul instead.

u got any suggestion for date?

re RP lunch,
i can only make it on Thur.

Weekend Playgroup - Water! Water!

1) Cheng / Aidan
2) Chicken Little / Aden
3) Cookie / Kaelyn(I put down my name 1st but it's nap time!!)
4) SY/JH (need to confirm with HB)

aileen
no prob on mandeville, it would be great if u can join us for the trial.

SSF
your hb really travels often. lucky now my hb doesn't but i dun mind if he travels once in a while

ky
btw, where do u stay? you seem qt familiar with CCs. So far the 2 i shortlisted at Cambridge at AMK or Treasure Box at Parry (near Rosyth). Hv u heard of them. The one with the orientation prog abv is Treasure Box, but Cambridge seems to hv a better Kindergarden Curriculum. So, we're still deciding. The Cambridge one only has 1 todd now in the class. haha.

Krissie
Cambridge seems not bad. I have one near my house too. But Charmaine rejected because she does not like the toilet there. Ha ha.

CL - ya lor. i very sianz mann! weekday is impossible for sure and seems weekend also difficult! can hear and see the fun but cannot join in. next time no 2 out..i guess even more difficult.

SY - ya keep asking him to change job...a job that requires less travelling or else i will be jia lat when no 2 is out. but then he just got a pay review and increase in commission. so he wants to stay on and see how it goes. if worse i cannot take it...maybe be a SAHM. haha..and ask hb to pay me. kekeke..but then sahm got my own worries too. sigh..see how it goes when i return from maternity. i just complete my probation period with my manager. fast hor..6 mths liao into my new job. my mgr seems please with my performance but mentioned that they under utilise me. abit sensitive the way she word it. but i take it positively that i am preggy and i can see i be very busy once i am back from maternity leave.

rena/ak/cheng
i was at evans road leh. you?

krissie
can't remember much 'cos my gal was quite restless during the orientation, think she's quite affected by those crying and screaming babies/kids.
only remember that
Don't
1) we are not allowed to let the kids to have food/titbits during the class in case distract other kids. if really need to, bring kids out to feed them.
2) don't bring sick kid to the class, even if the adult is sick, dont' go, too.
3) no normal diaper is allowed when it's water playing session

Do
1) take part all the sessions with the kids, be part of them.
2) bring 'not-so-nice' clothes to let kids wear during the art and craft session in case the kids wipe their hands using their nice clothes and pants/skirts
3) speak to kids in the mandarin during the chinese session, english in english session.
4) take note that kids will fall sick more frequently especially those who never join playgroup before, it's normal.

Rena
i think if i send my gal to CC, i won't be signing her up with JG already. 'cos wanna reduce cost, and also, want her to take a break from the class. and we can have some family activities during weekend. If my mil can handle my gal, the most i will send her to half day class, it won't be a full day one.

Hi Krissie ... I stay at CCK, near CL. I only recki those near my place so can't comment much ... *sigh* why so familiar with cc ... that's coz I have to do research to match both hubby and mine requirements that I spend 4 months running and asking around my area ... and I did 2 rounds of hunting and selection coz #1 went to 2 cc

Treasure Box : 3:12 ratio ... what'll be the max and how many would be in by the time u enroll? Talk to the teacher that would be teaching your child ... u have to feel at ease with her. And usually for cc, there's a 2-weeks settling-in period. If you don't feel comfortable, can withdraw (minus registration fees), so don't get the uniforms first in case u backout.

huh, CL, I don't like Cambridge and last Friday after seeing a class outing, I confirmed all the more I don't like. ha, I'm the fussy one, B's ok with anything ...

.ky.

Ky,

Not all cambridge are the same one. The one near our place not so good. I see all the auntie inside there I oso want to faint.

Just like Learning Vision. All think it is good but not the one near our place too.