(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Thank you all for your concern

I went through the scariest time in my life for this childbirth.

Just to share my story..I had slight bleeding on Sat evening so I admitted myself to hospital.

7.30pm - Admitted TMC
9.00pm - Gynae checked and scheduled operation GA at 11.15

11.37pm - Leroy was born ... the scary part here was that though I was under GA,I could actually hear my gynae's voice, asking for forceps etc... and i could feel her pressing on the left and right of my tummy and the pain I felt.

During that time when I felt the sensation, I told myself to start praying hard not to feel anything more.

4.00 am - Just pushed out of operating theatre..
was very stunned when i saw tat it was already 4 am! was very worried about baby.. saw my hubby and kept asking how's bb...all he said was bb is ok..then i asked for his pic..he says its upstairs in the room.. i was worried sick .. coz his eyes were like a little red

8.00 am Sunday - PD came by and told me baby's fine...WAT A RELIEF

9.00 am - Gynae came..told me wat happened few hrs ago. After bb came out, i started losing alot of blood coz placenta could not detatch. They managed to stop it and stitched me up then I bled a lot again and had to bring in another surgeon to help out. Gynae went to tell hb may have to remove my womb to save my life..

Then gynae explained that the surgeon she brought in to assist was like a cancer specialist who knows how to ligate and dunno tie up so tat the arteries dun burst..( something like that)

She was saying my face was totally white and was shaking her head .. told me NO MORE BABIES!

i was in ICU oboservation ward till 8pm on Sunday

Tuesay 19th - had to get outof bed to walk and pee.. nearly fainted in the toilet..my head started spinning and broke out in cold sweat.. called for hb...was crying to him...i'm fainting ..i'm scared....i was so scared at that moment that i will faint and never regain conscious.. at that moment, I started praying and pryaing again..and finally the giddiness passed me...

Thank god ..

I'm better now and would like to thank all of you for your concern!

Denmy
I was thinking of fruits like peaches, persimmon, rock melons. Ariene loves these but ex to buy in Singapore. As for veggies, was wondering if got any other kinds of suitable, not so strong tasting veggies other than baby spinach although Ariene loves it. I tried giving her the local organic veggies like cai xin and she doesn't like it. How abt organic tomatoes and lettuce? I've tasted organic tomatoes and lettuce from australia before. Very sweet and crisp. I thought you'd be more familiar cuz ur blend of veggies in your sandwiches is great and you're more familiar with how the veggies taste.

just wondering if any of the babies here says some words like edgar. for eg, he calls barney "B", police car "P", train "T". i have never taught him ABC other than on rare occasions where i sing the ABC song to him. also i don't think i have any vcds that teaches phonics, or ABCs. So I'm wondering where he picked that up from.

Re : Classes

Can I ask if your kids can sit down during a "class"? Seeing so many of you signing up for JG, it seems like yes. But K can't. He has his own mind of what and how to do things. Tried 2 sessions of painting and he'll use the paintbrush in his own way .... but I guess that's just exploration as everything is new to him. Will have to KIV classes till I think he's able to focus better on instructions

.ky.

Managed to just skim through the postings.

Hehe, me took an extra day's leave after the Bintan trip. Megan had lotsa of fun and surprisingly all the babies did not have motion sickness onboard. Well, I had, on the way to Bintan cos the waters were really choppy. Had to walk around the ship and felt better.

Some were asking about the costs of the trip. I haven't really got the bill from Rachel (thx Rachel's hb for paying first), but this is a rough guide:

Villa (Hillview) : S$600++ per night for 3 bedroom. Includes land transfer and daily breakfast.

Ferry tickets: http://www.brf.com.sg/ifos2/fare.htm

Booked villa online through nirwana gardens. Seaview is more ex by S$100, but frankly, hillview will do. We get to see the sea too.

As mentioned by god's child (i think), try to minimise things to do and really take a break there. Rachel n I shared a villa with her parents and yes, we were the hares, while the other villa with mamachan, god's child and Sept03 were erhem...the tortoises. *chuckles* (the villas were named Tortoise A, Tortoise F).

Anyway, we had fun overall, brought our own food for BBQ too. Hb and I also managed to sneak in time in the late morning to lounge at the cafe with ice cold beer while Megan wandered by herself around the cafe. :p

Hi Grace,.

Welcome,....hope will see you on our future gathering...
My girl's Gracie is 17 mths +..and 10.5kgs ( Weight drop after Flu )..and going to childcare soon on next month 3rd of July.
She was born on 1 Jan'06 same with Mashybrain child...

Mashybrain,..
Hope your SIL will be recover and pray for her..

Yuki,.
Your Girl so sweet
...dont upset like Rachel said...one day sure you will find your ring back..

Denmy
Whoaa 3 children together ..really busy but I'm sure you can manage,,,update us with your princes picture

Mamapanda..
Although Gracie is brave but make me worry bcos she girl girl and I need to pay more attention to guide her..

Rachel
Slimming Discussion..Interesting topic lorrr.
I want to join to as Weight is important to me...hee..heee...let see if MIL can help me to take care Gracie on the day..so that I can join your ladies..

esther,
wow... after reading, i'm glad that all is fine for you now... don't think about it too much. it's all over. concentrate on resting well and recuperating =)

Esther,
Oh dear, wat a traumatic experience. Glad to hear all is well now. Do take great care and rest alot. Avoid squatting, climbing up stairs, carrying heavy stuff etc. The best is to simply rest alot.

Mashy,
Sorry to hear about your SIL...

I just got news when i returned from Bintan that my cousin (also my god-sister) has something very similar to leukemia.

She went KKH to remove a cyst from her womb and after the opt, she was still bleeding alot. So she returned to KKH, but they simply gave her med and didn't check further. So she went SGH for 2nd opinion and there they found her illness. Still waiting for test results, if its curable, it will cost $4k a month for her lifetime medicine. And she was to go for this spinal thing every 6mths and it's a very painful procedure.

Grace,
Welcome to our forum! My daughter is also Megan. She's born on 11Jan at TMC. Now she's 11.1kg and 80.5cm. She's really a 'daddy's girl', not that i'm complaining, cos I get alot of free time as she prefers to stick with Daddy!

Aileen
The charges for kinderland very high leh.. after subsidy still $700/m. Don't think I'll send her there. Cant afford.

chickenlittle,
The LV at sunshine place no good ah? I was still quite positive.. sigh.. another 1 choice down. What abt Children's Network? Its alittle further but still ok la. Take LRT to phoenix then cross overhead bridge. I checked out their prices, they charge $550/m after subsidy for full-day care. However, dunno wads their curriculum like. You got any friends or feedback abt that place?

krissie,
I wanted to send Ariene to Amazing star but its full and they put me as #1 on the waiting list cuz they reserved places for siblings of those who are already in there. I've heard different comments abt that place before so I think its very indiviidual. Some say its good, some say not good. I visited the place and I thought it seemed ok to me.

Rena,
Seems like most prolly I'll either send Ariene to Lifecare (cuz its so near, just 5 min walk only) or KidzMill (but its alittle farther cuz its at Cashew). Being near sure has its advantages cuz my maid can easily bring Ariene home. Only thing I had my doubts on that place is they don't cook their own food. They cater and I don't trust catered foods. Of course, I can ask my maid to cook and pack Ariene's food for her everyday but, that also don't seem right cuz I'm paying for the food. Besides, its hard to convince Ariene that she cant eat what everybody else is eating (can imagine her going mumm mumm away). Also, their curriculum for toddler playgroup is just lots of play, M&M, Art&Craft. No english, no mandarin no math lessons. I had wanted something more comprehensive.

Aileen
The charges for kinderland very high leh.. after subsidy still $700/m. Don't think I'll send her there. Cant afford.

chickenlittle,
The LV at sunshine place no good ah? I was still quite positive.. sigh.. another 1 choice down. What abt Children's Network? Its alittle further but still ok la. Take LRT to phoenix then cross overhead bridge. I checked out their prices, they charge $550/m after subsidy for full-day care. However, dunno wads their curriculum like. You got any friends or feedback abt that place?

krissie,
I wanted to send Ariene to Amazing star but its full and they put me as #1 on the waiting list cuz they reserved places for siblings of those who are already in there. I've heard different comments abt that place before so I think its very indiviidual. Some say its good, some say not good. I visited the place and I thought it seemed ok to me.

Rena,
Seems like most prolly I'll either send Ariene to Lifecare (cuz its so near, just 5 min walk only) or KidzMill (but its alittle farther cuz its at Cashew). Being near sure has its advantages cuz my maid can easily bring Ariene home. Only thing I had my doubts on that place is they don't cook their own food. They cater and I don't trust catered foods. Of course, I can ask my maid to cook and pack Ariene's food for her everyday but, that also don't seem right cuz I'm paying for the food. Besides, its hard to convince Ariene that she cant eat what everybody else is eating (can imagine her going mumm mumm away). Also, their curriculum for toddler playgroup is just lots of play, M&M, Art&Craft. No english, no mandarin no math lessons. I had wanted something more comprehensive. Also, they have few PRC teachers, which I also have my doubts, but, that's not a big issue. I'm just biased I guess.

Mashy
So sorry to hear about your sister in law, hope everything will be fine!

Grace
Welcome! I am not a very active mummy in the forum but sometimes you will "see" me posting questions
, all the mummies here are very helpful and friendly.

My gal Clarisse is born on 7 January too... same as your Megan! But I delivered her in TMC.

Demny/ Esther/ Tabby
Congrats on your new arrival!

Trial Class
Btw any mummies still interested in Kindermusik Trial Class?

Hi Esther,.
My tear's droping after reading your post..
Thanks God you are fine now...
You must rest more and eat a lot tonic ...

After reading your post ..I think of my mum,,she was advise by doctor 30 years ago that after she gave birth my sis..NO MORE BABY for her and if she want she has to wait 5 yrs after she gave birth.. She was suffered a lot for her first delivered and second delivered. Both delivered took 6 days...Thanks God everything is fine now..

Aileen

chickenlittle,

krissie,

Rena,
Seems like most prolly I'll either send Ariene to Lifecare (cuz its so near, just 5 min walk only) or KidzMill (but its alittle farther cuz its at Cashew). Being near sure has its advantages cuz my maid can easily bring Ariene home. Only thing I had my doubts on that place is they don't cook their own food. They cater and I don't trust catered foods. Of course, I can ask my maid to cook and pack Ariene's food for her everyday but, that also don't seem right cuz I'm paying for the food. Besides, its hard to convince Ariene that she cant eat what everybody else is eating (can imagine her going mumm mumm away). Also, their curriculum for toddler playgroup is just lots of play, M&M, Art&Craft. No english, no mandarin no math lessons. I had wanted something more comprehensive. Also, they have few PRC teachers, which I also have my doubts, but, that's not a big issue. I'm just biased I guess.

I visited KidzMill at cashew and I thought that place is not bad though its fully non-airconditioned. The NS students were having bakery lessons and it seemed rather interested. The ratio is also good. 1:4-5 and they charge $440/m for full-day. However, its far and quite inaccessible to my maid should I be unavailable to pick Ariene up.

hi Mamapanda

TLL is The Learning Ladder. It's across from 10mile, the yellow building.

Don't go to the MMI at 10mile. If you want Montessori, there's a MMI at Phoenix walk, across the post office on the other rd. It's a semi-D. without air-con and that was my choice except I had difficulty with transport and gave that up. There's also a Ichiban Montessori behind Palm Gardens in CCK, but it's not a real Montessori, and the kids' population is very big. But fees is more affordable. There's another good one at Hillview called Faith Montessori.

If you are open to non-Montessori schools, I hear Gloryland is not bad (but I didn't visit it). It's based on Multi-Intelligence. Carpe Diem uses this as well. Never visited Delgro so can't comment. Actually the concept of learning thru' play is something which more centres are trying to do. I like that concept actually, esp after #1 got into TLL. TLL is all about play!

I find there are 2 types of cc, 1 focus more on care-giving (hence childcare) and another is more on learning. For kids this age, it'll be good to look for one with more of the former as meals, toilet-training, nap time are critical. With that, kids would learn how to take care of themselves, eg wash their hands, button their clothes, wear their shoes, etc. Actually the word curriculum is an ambiguous term. Amazing star would probably spend a lot of time doing basic fundamental practical life (mostly pouring) and depending on maturity, 2 yrs would be better to start a good montessori program. Can Ariene sit down to do an activity for more than 5 mins? I know a fren who sends her girl to New Life. It's the church just beside Greenridge right, with a small playground setting? I hear it's not bad.

What you have to know is that the fees quoted to you now is with 5% GST. Come 10 days later, these may go up to 7% GST

Aileen, my #1's not at the one at Toh Tuck, but I know a fren whose 3 yr old is there. She's happy with it. It depends what you are looking for.... hm, the focus is more on play and building on independence and creativity. The children gets 2 sessions of playground, once AM and once PM. Shiok right if you are the kid? Academic focus only starts at 4 yrs old and became more apparent at 5 yrs old onwards. Food is catered though; the one which #1 goes to just had their menu revamped. I had complaint a lot about the prev menu and good that they actually do something abt it.

.ky.

mashy
the trial is 52.50

esther
thank God u r alright! really a scary experience. think u lost a lot of blood so u felt faint. must really take more tonics to "bu" back.

aileen
i will help u check when i go down to mandeville

Mamapanda

The Children's Network is the twin-house on CCK Road right? It has infant care if I'm not wrong and I visited it before 3 yrs ago... first impression was there was a big carpet there which felt quite dusty. huh, not very good on my first impression.

Esther, just read your story. Take care and rest well. Everything is over and do be positive. You have 2 lovely children and despite all the odds, you have made it! Congrats! And there are more ups and downs coming ... don't forget about that and since you have already fought and won a battle, move on, more (motherhood) battles to come :>

Zhimin, how much is the Kindermusik Trial Class and where/when? tx.

.ky.

ky,
thanks for the info. but i'm abit confused. are you saying TLL, all about play, is good or no good? and is ur son in half day or full day program? i tot of enrolling edgar for only half day but their curriculum is such that morning is more reading and writing and afternoon is more music and movement. i don't want him to miss out on either one yet don't want him to be there the whole day. dilemna lah...

ky,
fyi, my son cannot sit thru his shichida classes without running around. but he can pretty much pay attention during JG when it's circle time. i guess it's becos JG has alot of freeplay and music/movement. so once they had enuff of roaming around freely, they are more willing to sit down during circle time. and most kids love music. i can tell that edgar enjoys himself at JG more than shichida. so i guess it depends on the classroom settings and it's activities. maybe at this point in time, K doesn't really enjoy painting yet. u may want to consider trying out some other activities or more playgroup type of classes.

Esther,

Oh dear! What a traumatic experience. Thank God that everything turned out well for you.

SY,
Can pm or sms me the details for the oct 6 trial again pls? Wanted to check out both sides. I think Charmaine really loves music as well.

CL,

I pmed you the details already.

KY,
After listening to your side of the story, I think I'm more or less quite decided to send Ariene to NewLife church. I stopped outside gloryland yesterday after visiting KidzMill (sorry for the mistake in the name. they used to be called Del-Care but now they are called KidzMill) but I didn't get a chance to go into Gloryland cuz Ariene was molesting me for milk and her nap by then. Maybe I'll put Ariene in Lifecare for awhile and see how she progress first. Sigh.. I really liked KidzMill but, too inaccessible. Transport will be a problem for my maid if I'm not free to pick her up.

Aileen, TLL is good for me (it's my son's 2nd cc btw) ... I like that it's about Play. Some parents may not like it as there's very little worksheets or paper work to see. Another thing I like abt TLL is there's an observation deck so you can see how your child is coping and how the teacher handles the class. My son goes to morning half. Most kids in his N2 class actually goes to morning half and they also have kids that go home at 5pm (rather than 7pm). The curriculum is such that it's a week of Chinese followed by a week of English. It used to be alt days last year but they did a switch this year.

Phonics by the way starts only at 4 yrs and at a younger age, very little writing is done, only pre-writing. They do a lot of Art n Craft stuff which the teachers would incorporate various concepts into the work and it's thematic. Afternoon is more on enrichment. I'm not sure what the Toh tuck branch has but it's not just M&M. There's gym, teacher-elected activity, Speech& Drama, 1 item for each day of the week. Kids nap till around 1+, and they have enrichment, and thereafter tea n playground time.... I'm trying to recall.

Actually a lot of CC operate in the same way. Fundamental in the morning with enrichment in the afternoon. I intend to carry on with 1/2 day throughout.

.ky.

Pickpocket Syndicate at Vivocity
... Copied from other forum ...

When you go to Vivocity swimming pool. Be very careful with your belongings especially when we are with young children.

This is a real case and please forward to your friends! Especially women with young children. These pickpockets are watching you while you are watching over your kid.

Yesterday, I was going up an escalator to the pool level with my 2 year old kid and my handphone just got pickpocket by 3 Filippinos. What these 3 persons did was surround me (Behind, front and side) And if happened so fast that you do not realised it! When I realised it, it was already too late.

Just want to warn all of you to be careful of your belongings whilst at the busy shopping mall of VIvocity. The shopping mall is so big that it took me 10 min to run to the nearest information counter to get help. I cannot find any security guard around the pool area. This is already under the police case.

The police suspected that this is a pickpocket syndicate as it is not the first time this thing happened at VivoCity. They are targeting especially to mothers are that are with young children. Also, police warned us to inform our friends not to leave your belonging aound the pool area at Level 3. This is the most "attractive" place to the pickpocket as they know that people will be busy taking care of their children at the pool and leave their things around. They are usually in a group and is not that difficult to identify.

Please be very careful when they are some Filippinos following behind you. 2 out of 3 Filppinos are quite easily identified as per my husband and maid description. The man is in gold hair, strong build (1.8M) and wearing BIG earrings. He is the one that stand next to me. The other woman that took the handphone is shoulder length hair, fat, short (155cm), looks old. According to my maid that she looked ugly and fat face so is quite easily identified among Filippinos. The other one is standing in front so no one is able to see her face.

The police teach us that if we found that someone is following us or following behind our partners. We should immediately call out partners names to "alert" that there are people watching us.

Hope this thing won't happened to anyone of you.

ky,
thanks for ur input. since K only goes to morning class, how do you make up for the afternoon kind of activities? and y is it that you don't want K to continue with the afternoon session?

Hi to more mummies,

Wow..there's really quite a no. of you here..abit lost but no worries, will slowly but surely get to know each & everyone of you soon....heee~~~ pls bear wif me!!!!

I've not sent Megan to any playgroups or classes. Should I bcos I'm afraid tat Megan is unable to "concentrate" or shld i say "sit quietly" to listen to the teachers?

hi grace,
dont worry, all of us took a while to know who's who!
some of us have created blogs for our little ones. so maybe u can visit our blogs then i guess it's easier for u to remember when u can put our names to our faces
mine is www.babyedgar.blogspot.com. u can find the links to the other mummies blog from there. but i don't have the comprehensive list. some of their blogs have more.

edgar is also unable to sit thru his classes. got thorny butt! :p but i guess playgroup is more for them to interact or observe other babies... and hopefully learn thru play

Esther,

Oh dear! What a traumatic experience. Thank God that everything turned out well for you.

SY,
Can pm or sms me the details for the oct 6 trial again pls? Wanted to check out both sides. I think Charmaine really loves music as well.

CL,

I pmed you the details already.

Hi KY
Thanks..will take note on that if going VIVO with Gracie..

Mamapanda
Ariene is so Clever...and sweet..
You have been teaching her well from few words that she spoke...

linda
Thanks linda
I found the video of her singing Mumble beee so funny I couldn't resist sharing it with all of you. I was laughing away at my desk watching it even though I'm feeling miserably down with my flu now.

KY
From their website, their trial class is about $25. I am looking at the curricula Our Time (18months to 3 years). If more mummies interested in the trial do let me know, cos I thinking of bringing Clarisse down to try out.

grace
I don't think Ariene can do that either. In fact, she hardly listens to me for more than 2 min. However, like what Aileen says, its more for them to interact and make friends and, hopefully, learn something. I want to send Ariene to CC cuz I feel guilty abt not having enuff time to teach her now that I'm back on working full-time. She's full of energy and very curious and home is just not enough of stimulation for her. Besides, my maid is unable to watch over her all the time as she still needs to do her housework, now that Ariene's virtually running and climbing everywhere.

Mamapanda
Ariene is so smart. My boy can't say any words yet and sometimes when we ask him questions, he give me a blank look.

Esther - thank god you are already...must take care of yourself.

KY- thanks for the article. I hear about some other incidents there as well.

Grace - welcome. my boy bryant is born on 28 Dec. He is now 11.3 kg and 78cm tall (or should I say short as compared to the rest of the babies who are younger than him).

sl
i sms u already.

ky
your advice is insightful.

joanna just called me. some vendors went down today and one of the vendors has some books that are pretty good. they sell for abt 10-15 bucks at book stores like kino etc. the vendor's price is 3 books for $10. she says the books are those educational ones that can impart values to our kids.

anyone interested? she will contact the vendor for the titles if we are interested. the vendor is noblehouse.

Mummies, can indicate your interest here.
BP from Noblehouse (3 books for $10)
1. SY

SY,
Can share more about this? Where is the venue to browse the books? Is it open to public? I put down my name 1st. Tks!

1. SY
2. Queen
3. wenyl

Anyone heard of Groiler International? I met this lady at Tiong Bahru Plaza where they were having those book roadshows...they carry the Scholastic range of books as well as other types of "foundation" level books for use with your toddlers. Am keen in their Disney Set of books that comes with 4 Bi-lingual Audio CDs and I asked her if I have a group of mums if keen, can have a bulk purchase price of some sort?

They claim that they are the parent company for Scholastic USA books wor.

Those who know more of such vendors, can advise me? She has emailed me the list of books and the "training" talk on their products.

1. SY
2. Queen
3. wenyl
4. bblon
5. sleepingdeer
6. yuen

Esther,

Oh dear , what a terrible experience... luckly God give you a son.. so now you can close shop...
thank god for the safe delivery

Esther,
Thank goodness that you are doing ok now! Must be really worrying for your HB and family. Take care!

Grace,
Welcome! My Isaac was borned on Dec 19 05 (EDD supposed to be 6 Jan 06). He's about 9.7kg and 80cm.

Hi MamaChan

ya, Grolier distributes Scholastic books; they are quite reputable. They also have Logico, the english version. I saw them at the Motherhood fair and they were also promoting the set u spoke of. Quality stuff but at a premium.

thanks for the info on the Redhill place!

Aileen, K doesn't go to TLL. My 4-yr old does :>
I try to do stuff with him in the afternoon before he naps with K. Have not decided when or where K would go to school yet.

Zhimin, thx. let me think abt it and I'll pm u if keen.

.ky.

1. SY
2. Queen
3. wenyl
4. bblon
5. sleepingdeer
6. yuen
7. Rena

mamapanda

ariene is so smart!!!! Wow!!!

But hor, advise u to take the clips off the web, coz there's a lot of paedophiles ard leh. So, don't put any naked pics of your kids on the web.

SY

Can give more info on the books? I put down my name first. thanks!

1. SY
2. Queen
3. wenyl
4. bblon
5. sleepingdeer
6. yuen
7. Rena
8. Mashy

Esther, do take great care of urself....

Aileen, for eshley... it goes something like...
Car - car, Bus/Bird/barney/bye bye - Bah, Uncle/Bicycle/Motorcycle/spectacle - ker..
Key - ki..., ah yi/eat - eeeh...

Clare,
saw ur post on Seimpi at Funan, will be joining the trial on 30th June Saturday, 9am class

Since we're on the issue of childcare, I found this document from MCYS on childcare subsidy which might be useful for you.

<table border=1><tr><td> Regular Programme (Daily Care)</TD><TD> Working</TD><TD> Nonworking </TD></TR><TR><TD>Full DayCare</TD><TD> $150</TD><TD> $75 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Half Day Care</TD><TD> $75</TD><TD> $75 </td></tr></table>

<table border=1><tr><td> Flexible Programme </TD><TD> working</TD><TD> Non-Working </TD></TR><TR><TD>12- 24 hours per week</TD><TD> $50</TD><TD> $25 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Above 24 hours to 36 hours per week</TD><TD>$75</TD><TD> $50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Above 36 hours to 48 hours per week</TD><TD> $100</TD><TD> $75 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Above 48 hours per week</TD><TD> $150</TD><TD> $75 </td></tr></table>