(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

CL, mamachan, cheng
a big CONGRATS!! you girls have choose a good area to start your online biz =)

Esther
like what other mummies said, do try to stay positive. the more you think and worry wont help at all in the situation. have faith in your gynae. jia you!!

sleepingdeer

ILs are like that. They will say that last time they don't have window grilles also no problem etc etc.

My SIL just got preg and went to China for holiday when she's 9 weeks. Somemore go ulu ulu climb mountain type of place. I'm very bad, hope that she'll have MS. hehehe. Then she'll empathize with her future DIL if she gets any MS. Now she's rather smug that she's not having MS just like her mother and complained about having to take the supplements. And she can say last time her mom didn't take folic acid, they also turned out fine.

CL
okie, maybe next week when we meet up for lunch we can go popular..hee

Tabby
when is the 20% storewide until?

sleepingdeer,
i think yen is quite good and she's very nice. your MIL so funny....din want to do cos will spoil view? safety more impt!

mashy
your SIL so weird..what is there to complain abt taking supplements? we all wan the best for our kid and wan to make sure we do everything to make sure they are fine. taking supplement is such a small thing....

Esther,

Don't worry unnecessarily. Am sure that your gynae will do a good job and you are in good hands okay? Will pray that everything is smooth sailing.

Mamapanda,
I would like both books pls. Thks! I can collect from your place in Hougang.

Re: RP place
I can make it on 19 too!

Mamachan,

I think you are a superwoman! You are working too right? Plus the scrapbooking biz, plus baby and daddy plus studying at night?!!

For me to do my masters, I thought of converting to part-time so that I can study.

sl/SH
Aiyoh, me not superwoman lah, there are moms even more super than me! Hahaha, like CL =P, can say she's my inspiration, hahaha. I'm really blessed to have lots of support from my hb, just have to juggle and balance =) Daren normally will be in bed by 9pm and knock out latest 9.30pm. In a way, it helps that now I'm on part-time work. =)

Epi-C sect
Like a few mummies here, I had emergency C-sect after trying for natural birth for a good 9 hours or so before they decide to wheel me into the OT as D's heart rate kept going down. I was already on epidural then and was 7-8 cm dilated. It was really scary in a way from one moment I'm in the labour ward and then next in the OT. All I remembered was being super cold and I was shivering big time that my whole body trembled! The anaesthesist stood by me and held my hand throughout the whole procedure and rubbed my hands to help keep me warm. I felt strangely calm though and just waited and waited for the whole procedure to be over, seems to be like an eternity and I kept asking is everything ok? Something stuck in my womb? Missing bits of placenta? I heard D cry when they brought him out and it was a loud cry! The mid-wife/OT staff happily brought him to me to have a look at him and show his penis that I have a boy. Was quite funny lah...D was crying but the moment I called his name, he just stopped crying. Was very heartwarming moment.
Dunno if I'll be brave again to go through natural or just tell the doctor to just c-sect me, save the cost of trying natural-turn-emergency-c-sect.

I was also 0cm dilated when my gynae broke my water bag and induced me. After 5 hours, still only 1cm dilated so my gynae "opened" up the cervix for me with his hands (which was **** painful) to 3cm. Somehow, the midwife in my ward sounded pretty impressed when he announced "Ok. 3cm dilated", like its a very difficult thing to do? Anyway, after that, the dilation was pretty quick. In 2 hours time, I was already fully dilated. I think it also depends partly on how experienced your gynae is.

Mamapanda,
Oh is it? Then it is God's child that is on the same hospital bed as me then. Only remembered one mummy on the same bed. hehe.

I am not sure if you still remember that I had started an online clothing biz quite sometime back. My partner who is too busy with her Full Time job decided to withdraw and I need to clear the stock. I had placed the ads in the forum 1 wk ago but still unable to clear most of the stock. All our items are from V-baby, currently we are selling at V-baby's cost price + shipping cost. So we are not making any profit. Our main aim is to clear all the stock.

Price ranging from $3 to $13. The sizing is actually quite big. If u need the measurement, just let me know.

Any mummies interested to get the items? Please visit the link below:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/822006.html?1181639139#POST3083999

Wenyl
Glad to hear that your test went well.

Cheng, Mamachan, CL,
Congrats! Would love to go to the open house but will be away for my company retreat
Will check out your website!

AK, CL
RE: RP lunch
Aiya, I wanna join the MBA discussion leh but will be away for biz trip next weekarrgh! AK, paisei, your #1 balloon still with me.

Esther
Dont worry, Im sure you are in your gynaes good hands

Chillies
Hope your MIL is better. Hows your op? Take care

FYI, Nestle is giving away a $38 goodie bag that contains a NAN 3 follow-up formula (900g), hippo plush toy, powder dispenser and a set of 3 bibs tomorrow between 11am to 3pm at OUB Centre Walkway.
Mummies, in order to collect the goodie bag, you must remember to bring along your child's birth cert and any empty tin of formula.
(But I saw a lot of people working in that area just give the baby's birthcert no, never give any empty tin to the Nestle Staff to collect the $38 goodie bag)
NAN 3 is a follow up formula for baby fm 10mths to 3 years

Re: Delivery
Looks like a lot of mommies here go thru c-section.

Mamapanda
My gynae also used his hand to stretch my cervix but ok lah, dont really feel painful

SSF
So funny, u mean your previous gynae used calculation to estim caleb's wgt? I thot is all done by the scanning machine????

Hi mamapanda,

Hope is not too much trouble for you. Thanks

The list for books, updated
Early childhood education books
================================
1. Sing me a story! Tell me a song! Creative Thematic Activities for Teachers of Young Children by Hilda L. Jackman

2. Moving & Learning Series by Rae Pica

1. chickenlittle - 1 & 2
2. KY - 2
3. aileen - 1 & 2
4. tabbi - 1&2
5. mashy - 1 & 2
6. sl - 1 & 2
7. SY - 1 & 2
8. Maywong - 1 & 2
9. Flo - 1 & 2

Spinach BP
Collection 29 June Friday. anyone else?
Collection points:
1. Robinson Centre
2. Marine Parade
For mummies ordering for the 1st time, please PM me your email & hp. Thanks.

1. Denmy
2. Queen - collection via Flo
3. Mamapanda
4. MamaChan - Robinson Centre
5. Flo - Robinson Centre
6. Aileen - Hitachi Tower

Denmy, can collect at Hitachi Tower?

Flo
You are up too ? Pampers got XL ? AK and myself can always meet up with you again on the topic in case we forgot to talk about it since our lunch always baby talk

May
What a pity on your business. will check out if anything is suitable for aden and my niece

Oh, forgot about your pampers. Yes saw XL as well but not sure when the promo ends. NTUC also on sale, saw lots of XL but the packaging slightly different. Theirs is 60 piece for the L size and selling at $46.90.

good morning mummies
dear Gerald woke up at 3am and I hvn't been able to slp since.
So decided to come and read the forum.

esther
Like what they say, focus on positive thots. I also lost a lot of blood during my preg and they also had blood on hand for transfusion. luckily, gynae managed to stop the bleeding on time. In fact, my gynae said that if the bleeding didnt stop, he had to send me to KKH to remove the womb. Was qt scary. So, as a result of the huge loss in blood, I was like semi-conscious after the delivery. In fact, I can't qt rem how I made it to the room in the ward. And I know I felt really super weak and half dead. But, was better after loads of iron pills and eating the food which my mum cooked for me. Take care, ya.. we're all here to support you. Btw, pls let me know how's your confinement lady. I'm still unable to get one.
how did you get yours? through friend's recommendation or through word of mouth?

wendyl
congrats on the good results. hb and I are so happy for you.
heehee, i always update him abt u and bb.

Cheng, Mamachan, CL,
Congrats on starting your new business. Sorry, me v lazy type, but seriously no time to do the scrapebook (that's why I always admire CL for being able to do so much with 2 kids), though I think that they are so pretty. The website is v nice. Keep up the good work. Will recommend it to my friends if they're looking for scrapebooks.

me looking for nice maternity slpwear (night gown) and shorts (to go out type). Cant seem to find any nice ones in shops. anyone has good places to recommend? thanks.

Krissie

Is Gerard waking up often too ? Yesterday I gave Aden 11 oz of milk for last feed and he managed to sleep through the night. He is eating and drinking so much, his weight is back to 13.3 kg liao.

I used to get my maternity shorts from Swell at Paragon. Maternity sleepwear I go to Taka, the corner opposite Thymes Maternity.

And for the time I do all these. Ha ha because I miss out on my sleep lor.

Thanks Flo,
Not sure about the new Active Baby Pampers, have not tried it.

My sis in law bought a All Night Pampers for Aden, I tink it is too small for him. Any one interested to try ? it is size XL for 12+ kg.

babylon
congrats on passing the driving test.

CL
hmm.. he has been waking for the past 2 nights. I ignored him and didnt gv him any milk, but poor mummy here cant get back to slp. I'm a light sleeper and so am affected. My hb woke up too, but he can go back to zzz land in 3 mins.

can i check with u mummies what medication do u give ur babies for running nose? edgar had that for more than a week liao and it's just getting worst. luckily he doesn't have fever. initially i gave him the medication from his last bout of illness. after 1 week he didn't get better so i went to the PD and got a stronger medication for him. but after 2 days still no improvement, infact he started having cough now. aiyo... don't know what's wrong with the medications. sorry i don't have the names of the medications with me now. but just wondering if there's any good medication for running nose u all can share with me. TIA! :D

babylon,
congrats on passing ur driving test! =D

SY

yah lor, that's why i'm thinking that she's not cherishing her preg. Really take it for granted. That day her hb wanted to give her half boil egg, i advised her not to. Then my MIL said since the egg is cursed, she better don't take. Said that I've cursed the eggs!

Flo
wow Mel is pretty big size!

CL, AK, Flo
yesterday hb asking me abt him doing part time MBA. i can listen to your inputs and give him some 'advice'...haha

actually i told him to forget it cos he won't be able to tahan work + lessons + baby. plus if he can't get into a reasonable good sch to do the part time MBA, it is not worth it cos he has to be bonded to the company.

babylon
congrats!!

aileen
i can't remember what medicine JH used to take. i will go back and check.

mashy
aiyo, how can your MIL say that..that's quite mean. how old is your SIL? a bit childish leh

HI mommies

guess what! my waterbag burst this morning... i'm waiting in the labour ward for my epidural... kinda scared cos totally not prepared. baby is only 36 weeks. please pray for me to have a safe delivery. thanks!

SY

yah lor.

She's quite old already. Approaching the big 3. Well, my hb and I discussed and said since she doesn't welcome us sharing our experience we will keep quiet. If anything happens, it's her problem lor.

Tabbie
So exciting! Will pray for a safe delivery for you! Don't worry, my boy was born at 35+ weeks also ok.

thanks mashy for the reassurance... panicking cos I hadn't even packed my hospital bag yet... this time not prepared for early delivery... just grabbed whatever I could remember and sent tabby to my mom's place...

I was telling hubby that I had booked father's day brunch for him and all our plans for bringing tabby to the zoo this weekend gone!! haha

no real contractions yet but have started my induction..

Babylon
Congrats on passing your driving test. Don't worry, just continue driving and your confidence will build up

CL
Actually the new Active Baby Pampers look the same to me but maybe slightly thinner? All Night Pampers is the one selling in Msia rite?

Tabbie
So exciting, don't worry I'm sure you'll have a fast and safe delivery

SY
Yah Mel is growing thru a growth spurt lately so has expanded quite a bit. On MBA, it depends on what's the obj i.e. more for personal achievement or career advancement cos most orgzn wont pay more unless is from the top ivy league.

Mashy
Your SIL & MIL are really weird. I thot we'll be super KS during the first tri. Actually I think she's quite irresponsible to travel to such ulu place in China esp during the 1st tri. *Touch wood* if anything happen she's going to kick herself.

tabby
hope u have a smooth delivery...hope to see your prince soon!!

Flo
in my co, they do pay for part time MBA but not all the sch are fantastic. share with u more next time on which of the sch some of my colleagues are going.

Mashy
hmm, your SIL approaching big 3 still not careful? quite surprise....but since she's not appreciative of any advice, then dun offer lor..or else she think u kaypoh...

Tabbiesus!
Jiayou! Jiayou! So excited for u!

RE: Spring Maternity
Any mummies have Spring Maternity discount card? Me helping galfren's sis ask around cos she eyeing on some working clothes. TIA!

Thank you to all mummies for sharing their birth experience.

I am not too worried about baby's weight as Renee was also only born 2.4kg but now she's more than 10 kg.

Now my only choice is GA c-sec and I'm just a coward I guess...with this condition, I'm just afraid I'll bleed to death and not yet to see Renee again. I know I must be positive. But just cant help being scared.

I am really thankful to all of you for your words of encouragement. My hb will be back today and hope he can calm some of my fears.

Krissie,

I bought some rather nice maternity shorts from 9mois..I'm actually thinking of selling them off soon. Are you keen to take a look?

This time round, i took the CL from an agent..coz i was thinking if she turns out not to the wat i wanted, at least i can call the agent and get him to re-arrange another one..

Are you planning to get a daytime one? or whole day?

Tabbs,

WOW!! so fast! so exciting! All the best!

May,

so sorry to hear about your biz.

Mamachan,
Can share if working part-time has a lot of changes in your life? Actually I have been toying with the idea of working part-time for quite a while now. Especially now that charmaine's so active, my mum cannot take care of her for 5 whole days in a row. Her knees are not good. I have started sending Charmaine to half-day infantcare but the problem is that whenever something like HFMD is happened to one of the kids, I am very hesitant about sending her there till the incubation period's over.

However, my hubby's not really supportive. He doesn't really say no but I know that he's not really supportive. He wants to accumulate a "comfortable nest" before he retires.

Krissie,

Your experience sounds so scary but i'm glad you are thru that ordeal... somehow it managed to calm me down a little as well..
thanks for sharing

tabbiesus - so excited for you! will pray for u tat everythin will be smooth... look fwd to hearing fr you re your prince!

aileen - for running nose, i give the orange syrup (chlormine) for daytime and the yellow syrup ( Actified) for nite time. Per my PD, chlormine more for daytime cos it tends to run, and Actified helps to unblock the stuffed nose for nite time...

Re : Celeste gettin injured

Mummies, i was totali upset ytd and stil kinda sad today over Celeste's injury... she got bitten on the ear by my niece...
my helper was watching the 2 of them play in the cot when celeste went to hug niece and niece returned the hug, but wf a bite! poor gal cried so badly... when i checked on it,the earlobe was alittle bruised and wat is more heartpain was the torn skin at the side. *heart breaking* MIL was not even sympathetic and said tat shld watch them more carefully..

i dun blame my helper cos it was totali unexpected tat niece will kiss and bite! and its not tat celeste never got injured even when MIL is right beside her... tat was also a bad one where niece chomped down on celeste's hand and left her teeth marks on it for a few days... am worried tat celeste will get more of these injuries cos i ever saw niece near to biting celeste on her mouth when FIL asked them to kiss each other... i am aldy being 'unwillingly chin chai' to the occasional 'injury' where she lays her hand to hit Celsete,but certainly not the bites tat can cause bruising and torn skin!!!

flo, may, SY
I may not be able to get the books for u cuz there's a limit to what my hands can hold. But, if I can get them to deliver to my home, I'll get them for u ok?

god's child,
oh dear..*hugs celeste*
What's up with your niece and the biting habits?After this incident, did her parents teach her not to do it again?
Leaving teeth marks on celeste hands, did she take celeste's hands as drumsticks? She must have bite damm hard to leave suck deep marks.
The parents ought to teach/discipline her that this action is bad!!!!How can go round biting ppl?