(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi CL...nope....not whipping...just make sure the cream is smooth...I did two versions...one yesterday with the cream thick and I used a buttering knife to layer it on....today cos the cream was frozen, I got my maid to melt it by placing the tub in hot water and spooning the cream till it turned watery...
ehhe

Aileen, my boy is at NTUC Childcare at Kallang Bahru...the principal was formerly from the NTUC CC at Ngee Ann Poly. Since they closed the centre at NP, we sent our boy to where the Principal was posted. She's a dynamic lady and very helpful!

Joanna,

Thanks for the pics.. I think I will need to buy more soon...but will have to wait till after delivery..

Tabbs,

Wow, it really sounds scary..like we all know..its really a matter of luck when it comes to getting a maid. And it's just a little worse now especially since you will be delivering soon.

But Dun think too much..all will work out well.

Detailed Scan

I just came back from detailed scan today..No into 36.5 weeks. Baby is once again..very small..growth restriction. Only about 2.2kg now. Should be smaller than Renee's birth weight of 2.4kg.

I was contemplating epi-c sec but my gynae told me that duw to my low placenta, she would not do epi-c sec for me..too risky.

She says pressure will go low and its hard to guage many things..will be very bloody

The gynae that does my detailed scan, he's the head of the fetal assesment unit..he was frowning at how low my placenta was...

So i hope all will turn out well !

Wenyl,

Its good to hear your good news
take care ya

wow wow...congrats to the start of Memoiracts. Will help to advertise on your service for sure. like mashy, i am also a lazy mum who only does blogging :p

CL / Mamachan / cheng,
Whoa! CONGRATS! Didn't know you all are setting up a scrapbooking business.
All the best for your business!

Wenyl,
Great news about the test results!

Thanks ladies for all your support and well wishes :> Aileen, agree, it's great that we can find friendship, support, and mutual interests in this forum.

Wenyl,
Oops, think i left out my congratulatory note! A BIG congratz to you on the results!

Esther,
So you will be going for GA c-section? I'm curious, how come low placenta can't opt for epi-c? So will your c-sect cut still be horizontal but higher?

Your tummy must be feeling real tight now since you mention restricted growth. Hang in there! You will be seeing your baby soon!

To: All Raffles Place Mummies,
My sister is starting a cart-business selling bags and accessories. Her cart is at Change Alley, near the bus-stop at the main road. It will start on 18th June and last for about 2 weeks. Please pop by and lend her your support if you happen to be in that area. Thanks!

mummies : Jshopper spree #1

The orders have been shipped as of 11June. It is expected to arrive in 5 days time. If you've not confirmed with me where u want to collect your items, do PM me your preference. The available collection points are :

1. My place (Jelapang Road, Bukit Panjang)
2. NIE/NTU (9-5pm)
3. My dad's place (Eveegreen Park condo, Hougang Ave 7 ) (Thurs evening / sat afternoon)

Oh yes... I'm so forgetful to mention...
a Big Big thank you for mummies who organisied/help out with the High tea gathering : mamachan, CL, cheng, clare.. sorry if I miss anyone out.

CL u are too ke qi.. I did nothing for the hightea at all, the bargaining is part of mother's instinct rite..hahaha.. U make my name appear in the thank you list for nothing la.. paisey paisey. On the other hands... CL carried some REALLY heavy bag all the way from her office to hightea for the scrapebooking thingy. Thank you again.

CL/mamachan/cheng
COngrats!! on the new business!!! and Yes I'm interested also in the paste/slot in photo albums. I'm becoming so lazy, dun think I can be very into scrape booking for now.
I will try to be there on 30 June.

Esther
Dun worry I'm sure things will be ok, hang in there .. if cannot epi-c-section.. ok to go for GA c section??

Tabbiesus

I miss out answering you on the playhouse

For me I prefer the sunshine one than the round one. More like a house. Because I am going for the country cottage
1) phone : sunshine has a cordless phone and press button there will be sound
2) kitchen: Sunshine does not have , counter with pretend sink and stove with "burner"
3) Space wise : cottage is smaller i think at 42.50" by 42.50" x 50 " and sunshine is H 123 cm x L125 cm x W91 cm

can i check with you if you know which play house is better, the cottage that is round selling at aprisin or the sunshine one at toy r us? The offer at toy r us is until june 25th but the sunshine cottage is already on reserve list at toyrus... i went to aprisin but dunno if the round cottage is nicer cos i havne't seen the sunshine one yet.. do u know if there's a kitchen in the sunshine house?

esther
hope everything will turn out well for u.

where is your gynae at?

lucky u r nearing full term already.

RP lunch
is it on this week?

Tracy, Tabbiesus, Cookie
The open house is to allow our mummies to have good look and "feel" before deciding. Can me a mini tea session as part of our gathering too. And also with some demo if any of our mummies are new or upon request. If you already know and ready to start, you can also order now. Hee Hee

Hi esther

don't worry too much too! take care... rest well, that will help your baby get as much nutrients as he can the next few days...

Will pray that you have a safe and fast delivery... soon you'll be able to see little leroy!!

Thanks for your support and encouragement =) Just managed to skim through the postings. Agree with Aileen that the forum is an amazing place to find and meet the right people to click with and have a common passion for SB. Those who are keen in giving us your support and interested in simple to do albums for your child's photos, do come for the open house at my place on 30th June, we;ll make it worth your while. =)

chicken little
RE: playhouse
Thanks for the advice... i think i may just get the sunshine play house cos the cottage is too ex for me...

Cl
Wed i can't cos got lunch meeting.

Tue or Thur better? I m fine with both but i can probably meet at 12.30

Re RP Lunch
1. SY - Tue/Thur ok
2. CL

Children learning books
Upon request, here's the titles of the learning books I bought :

1. Sing me a story! Tell me a song! Creative Thematic Activities for Teachers of Young Children by Hilda L. Jackman ($21)
http://www.delmarlearning.com/browse_product_detail.aspx?catid=12772&isbn=1401837298
Topics : All About Me!, The Senses, Seasons, Environment, Animals and more, Transportation.
Areas covered: Language experiences, dramatic play, puppet play, music, movement, sensory art, cooking & creative food experiences, math, science, social studies

2. Moving & Learning Series by Rae Pica
http://www.delmarlearning.com/browse_product_detail.aspx?catid=989&isbn=0766816028
includes: Music activity casette tape + CD + ring binder + activity and lesson plans and worksheets
Topics: Various topics like body parts; dance, exercises and movements suitable for toddlers.

As you can see, the price I bought it for is very subsidised. One advantage of being a staff in NIE. If anyone of u interested, I can still get 1-2 more but not too many.

I received this email & thot better share with u gals abt it.

Subject: Cancer Alert - Ingredient in Lipstick

Next time you go shopping for lipstick.... ...
Just keep this mail in mind. This comes from someone who works in the
breast cancer unit at Mt. Sinai Hospital, in Toronto.
If there is a female you care anything about, share this with her. I
did!!!!! I am also sharing this with the males on my email list, because
they need to tell the females
THEY care about as well!
Recently a lipstick brand called "Red Earth" decreased their prices from
$67 to $9.90.
It contained lead. Lead is a chemical which causes cancer.
The lipstick brands that contain lead are:
CHRISTIAN DIOR
LANCOME
CLINIQUE
Y.S.L
ESTEE LAUDER
SHISEIDO
RED EARTH (Lip Gloss)
CHANEL (Lip Conditioner)
MARKET AMERICA-MOTNES LIPSTICK.
The higher the lead content, the greater the chance of causing cancer.
After doing a test on lipsticks, it was found that the Y.S.L. lipstick
contained the most amount of lead.
Watch out for those lipsticks which are supposed to stay
longer. If your lipstick stays longer, it is because of the higher
content of lead.
Here is the test you can do yourself:
1. Put some lipstick on your hand.
2. Use a Gold ring to scratch on the lipstick.
3. If the lipstick colour changes to black,
then you know the lipstick contains lead.

This information is being circulated at Walter Reed Army
Medical Center. Dioxin Carcinogens cause cancer, especially breast
cancer.

Wenyl,

Am so happy for you!

Cheng, CL, Mamachan,
Wow...budding entrepreneurs from the forum!! Success!

RP Lunch : Can't make it this week. got training

Esther,
Dun worry. Everything will be well. Stay positive & keep talking to bb. Cos our moods will affect bb inside. I went thru GA C-sect. As long as mummy & bb is safe, it doesnt really matter epi or GA csect.

CL, SY, SSF, Linda, Tabbiesus, Joanna, Mamachan, Mashybrainz, Aileen, May, Clare, God's child, cookie, sl, esther, Queen, Tracy & ak,
Thank you all for ur well wishes! I m really looking forward to my next gynae visit for the detailed scan. Next week is my 20th week and I m half way thru my pregnancy. So fast hor! I remember Ethan's time, every week passed so slowly.

chickenlittle, KY, mashy, sl
I'll go to the bookshop tomoro and see if they have the stock. BTW, the 2nd "book" is a hard case ring binder with worksheets and lesson plans in it. Do u still want?

Only took a quick glance. Very bad week for me. Went for a small surgery on Thursday and on Friday, my MIL suffered a heart attack. Din expect her to hv the problem. Now in NUH ICU and today they did ballooning to clear one of the vessel. Gotta monitor and see how now. Haiz...its very curse when my hub takes leaves.

He 1st took leave, FIL hospitalised ICU.
2nd leave, Granny past away.
3rd leave to take care of me, MIL heart attack.

Wah liao....must really go temper and pray liao!

Wenyl,
V happy for you.

Cheng, CL, Mamachan,
Hey...actually I popped by your site to take a quick look when u first posted in biz thread. Was so glad to hv found another scrap booking site. Din expect it belongs to u ladies....CONGRATS!!!!!

Will catch up wif the posts soon before...see ya mummies!!!

started my new job last week and although still not very busy but not convenient to read posts during office hours. still groping around. hopefully will get the hang of it very soon and my scope of work will be clearer.

Mamachan, CL, Cheng,
Congrats on your new business. it's really quite a good start. very good for those who wants to start but don't know where to start from.

Thanks Mamapanda
I am ok with book 2 being ring file. Realised that book 1 also suitable because Charmaine is turning 5 liao. Can you get that for me too. Pai sei. If too many orders, juz take book 2. It is fine with me.

Chillies
How are you ? Rest well so you can take care of the young one and later your mil when she is out of ICU. Hope both of you get well soon.

Thanks all mummies for the well wishes to Memoiracts. Hee Hee we will strive hard and source for nicer stuff to be brought to you.

Let's start the ball rolling for
Exclusively Jan 06 Mummies Memoiracts Open House
Venue: Mamachan's Place
Date : 30 Jun 2007
Time : 2 pm

1) Tracy
2) Tabbiesus ?
3) Cookie ?

RP Lunch
AK, I am waiting to meet you to discuss our MBA plan. Ha ha. Arrange another one next week

Mong,
Wow you started new job liao. How are you coping with being preggy again ?

Chillies,
Are u feeling better? Hope you and your PIL get well soon. My condolences to your family too.

My dad had done a ballooning (think they called it stenting or something like that) to one of his vessel which is 70% blockage last Nov. It was lucky that he did not have a heart attack. He just felt the pain in his heart while driving his taxi. And he went to polyclinic and was admitted immediately. It will takes awhile to recover back to health, just that the stamina will not be as good as before. Just got to take note of the food they eat now.

CL/Mamachan,
This open house is for sales of products or to meet up for scrapbooking. It has been sometime since I last scrapped. Only did a page for hubby during this yr V-day. Need to get somemore embellishments and card stocks before starting again.

RE: Scrapooking
I did one album for my fren using the SEI starter book kit. Bought it from Popular Bookshop. It's nice and with very easy instructions to follow. Mummies that are newbies and want to try, can get from CL as well.

Thanks May for your testimonial.

Oh if you are interested , we can always do a crop party during the open house too. You can help us give some pointers to other newbies mummies.

re RP lunch
Postpone to next Tue 19th June
1. SY
2. CL

Mamapanda
i m quite interested in the books but if u can't buy anymore then never mind.

Chillies
oh dear, hope things will get better soon. u feeling better?

Wenyl
so now each visit becomes more exciting!

CL
i can try to come for the open house. my hb so 'suaku'. i was telling him abt the biz that u guys did and he kept asking why scrapebooking so difficult now. he said just do one word doc can already..i told him his kind no standard...haha

Thanks for your encouraging words.

I couldn't sleep last night coz I'm still very scared about this delivery. As I mentioned earlier on, I have placenta previa and mine belongs to the most severe type..entirely covering the cervix..therefore, there's no way of natural delivery.

I'm scared coz its going to be a very bloody surgery and i may require blood transfusion if my placenta doesnt separate easily during delivery

It's really scary to me...I am so worried that I wont be able to see Renee anymore.. I just cant help thinking that way.

Anyone has similar experience of this condition whereby its entirely convering the cervix or had friends who had it, it would help to hear their experience and put me at ease.

Esther

Dun worried too much. Just relax and enjoy playing with renee now. Think of seeing Leroy soon. With a masterpiece like renee, Leroy should be quite handsome.

SY
Sure you are most welcome to comeby. Maybe bring all JH's photos , complete the album and show your hb.

CL, Mamachan, Cheng
just went to check out your biz thread. seems like it's very popular.

where are the sets from? They are really nice. makes me wan to come openhouse to take a look at them.

esther
will be praying for u. i read abt tis before in a book but now that it's happening to someone i know, it sounds really serious.

dun think too much negative thoughts. must stay positive. will pray for your safety and wisdom for your gynae.

Esther,
Don't worry about it.
I have kinda similar experience when I had Jamie. Doc say I had low plencenta and Jamie is not facing down when I am 37weeks. When I am 39wks, already 2cm dilated but Jamie did not engaged. But I admitted to hospital bcos of contraction pain. My labour pain is 23hrs with 3 doses of epidural. Doc told me that Jamie's breathing is getting weaker as my water bag was burst by him 13 hrs ago. My body is getting very weak also. I was panic as am afraid that something might happened to Jamie as she is not coming out despite 8cm dilation. So did a Emergency GA C-sect. Everything turn out fine.

Discuss with your doc. It will be better if GA C-sect can be arrange immediately rather than the complication that happened in the labour room. Always go for baby and your safety. Take care and don't worry so much. The doc will be the pro to help you decide which is the best for you and baby. We will be here to pray for you.

mamapanda,

If you can get more learning books, i would also like to get a set of each, its okie if you can't get it... how much is it without discount?

CL
if i don't deliver by 30 june, confirm coming, cos will be taking leave then...

esther - dun worry too much. will keep you in my prayer for a smooth delivery. i guess now u just have a positive mindset and enjoy ur time with renee cos little leroy is coming out soon!!! for me, i will be opting for GA-c sect instead of epi-c sect as the last time when i was on epi c sect i can feel the gynae cutting me and i went into panicky mode thinking i shld not feel anythg at all! then my thots start running wild that the epi is not working yet. coz it all happened so fast...just when i got my epi jab, the gynae is telling me he is cutting me open already. so this time, i told gynae i am preparing to go for GA...and not wanting those thots to run wild again. so dun worry too much abt GA c sect. my sil just went thru it and apparently she woke up in the next 4 hrs although still abit drowsy. u will be fine!

CL/mamachan/cheng - i won;t be able to make it to your open hse on 30th as i am currently on waiting list to fly to melbourne with hb on the 25th jun that week. hopefully can get tickets...praying really hard for this. it be a good break for me b4 my maternity leave kicks in Aug. i hope the turn out will be great and success success success to you all!

chillies - sorry to hear abt so many thgs happening ard u. do take care of urself!

wenyl - did u try the experiment? i don;t have a gold ring lei..hee...white gold works?

SSF,
Me opposite from u. I went thru emergency csect. Was put on GA. Maybe for #2, I m tinking whether should try epi Csect cos I missed the whole show. Even hb wasnt allowed into the Operating Room. So sad. I still remember waking up after they stitched me up, asking the nurse where is my bb? Is he still in my tummy? The feeling is very lost. And I cant walk to see E tat day cos he was in NICU due to low birth weight & I was still feeling very drowsy tat nite. I could only walk there the next day.

Nope. Din try the lipstick experiment. Dun hv gold ring too. Heehee.

Wenyl,SSF
I have this one and only one gold ring. Tonight will try and let you know

Let's start the ball rolling for
Exclusively Jan 06 Mummies Memoiracts Open House
Venue: Mamachan's Place
Date : 30 Jun 2007
Time : 2 pm

1) Tracy
2) Tabbiesus - if not delivered by then
3) Cookie ?
4) SY ?

wenyl -haahha my hb was with me and i think he wished he wasn;t there to witness as he said actually he didnt have the guts to see also. took one glimpse and was quite disgusted when he saw the sac bag in my womb. i was also very lost...coz after the bb is out...my terrible hb was with the bb all the time. he took pics of caleb and was at the bb side. and poor me...so ke lian...after all the trauma...he didnt sayang me but i was left staring at the operation lights above while gynae stitched me. somehow the stitching really takes time and every sec seems like a min gone by. haha...i still chided hb till today for abandoning me.

Esther,
Don't worry, am praying for you that all will be well. Have faith in your gynae. Be it c-sect or epi-c, as long as baby and yourself are safe. Don't think too much, relax.

SSF, Wenyl,
I had epi-c, took my epi at 11pm and c-sect was done at 8plus am. Was shivering like mad, but otherwise ok. Can only feel tugging as they pull Megan out. I think epi-c is rather good, cos hb got to see baby immediately, and so did I. I had GA for minor surgery last time and hated the feeling upon waking up. Heard that some people puke after GA too.

Chillies,
Hope you are feeling better and MIL is recovering well. Do rest more to recuperate quickly!

Esther

Dont worry...

If you have the CS under GA, this is the most controlled environment to do the operation under, if there is bleeding it will be easiest for the doctor to control as she can concentrate on the surgery and not have to worry about you being anxious or uncomfortable as the anaesthetist will be monitoring you closely... most difficult surgical cases, most surgeons would prefer to do under GA cos that way if you do lose blood (fingers crossed that you won't) then the anaesthetist can help with monitoring your blood pressure and heart rate and breathing whilst the surgeon can concentrate on stopping the bleeding. I think your surgeon is just preparing you for the complications that MAY occur, just in case so you are prepared in your heart... i've seen cases like this proceed uneventfully without harm to baby or mother when i did O&G previously.

I think the important thing is that you gynae is aware of the problems and is actively looking for ways to minimise them from occuring so you should feel at peace that she is being so careful...

I know its hard not to be afraid and scared cos everything is so unpredictable at this point of time, but try and spend time with renee to take you mind off this cos it doesn't help if you worry to much... just trust that lord will put you and leroy in safe hands..

Even if you do need a blood transfusion, it will be for safety rather than emergency... during my last pregnancy i lost more than 1L of blood, but didn't have a blood transfusion, my blood count droppedfrom 12 to 9mg, but i was still fine.

Wenyl,
I also want epi c-sect for my #2 (if I am going to have one). Cos I missed the show too. Wanted to let hubby see them cut me up. Hehe..kinda of weirdo. My hubby irks when he see my wound until now. I told him that he should see how I am being cut up then he will know how painful it is.

And ya.. got a feeling of something is missing when I wake up from the GA. First thing I ask is "Where is my baby?" and first thing I ask hubby when being pushed out the operating theatre is "Does she looks like me or u?" Then I was so drowdy that I fall asleep again. And asked for Jamie to be pushed to me when I wake up 3hrs later.

Hi Esther,

Some babies are born naturally small ... my babies are all under 3 kg. As long as babies are healthy, don't worry. But growth restriction or growth retardation may mean that your placenta may not be providing enough. Are you going to deliver in Singapore? For c-sect, some gynaes are more cautious than others... I've not done c-sect so can't advice much, but perhaps it's good to seek a 2nd advice quickly to make you feel secure? Hope all the best for you....

CL, mamachan, cheng ... congrats!! Really amazed at you ladie able to multitask and juggle so well. Where's mamachan place btw? Don't tempt me ... I've scrap in more than 3 months leh

.ky.

tracy - wow ur op started so late after epi. hee..and it still works? wonder how long will epi last cos i know of ppl who takes epi too early and have to jab again when the real delivery starts. ya i can also feel the tugging and gynae pushing down my tummy. as for the puking..yeah my hb did puke after GA when he did his knee ligament op. i think it depends on individual coz some puke and some didnt. a frd of mine had a funny experience. she puke even when she is on epi. so when the doc presented her bb after delivery...her first reaction was that she started vomitting at her bedside. haha...

so i guess after esther, tabby, cookie, cindy, cass...it be my turn liao. in fact i have already book a date with my gynae. 11 Aug 7a.m to admit to KK. hhaa..

may - haha some funny qns we asked after we delivered. for me, is that my gynae kept telling me Caleb is of small wgt ..max also 2.5kg. then when caleb was out...hb told me bb is quite heavy..3.09kg. then my first qn to him was "did they give the wrong bb? is that mine?" haha..i guess we are not of the right mind yet to start talking yet. hehee...

ky - mamachan lives in redhill.

Esther,
yeah, try not to think too much abt it. must stay positive.

ky
i totally agree with u. amazed by CL, Mamachan and Cheng at their multitasking abilities! really need to know how they have so much energy. everyday i think i m quite zombified by JH's night habits.

my mum thinks i shd let JH sleep in a separate room. he wakes up every night at 3am calling me and i will jsut tell him to climb up to bed and he will fall asleep. but he's a bad sleeper. will kick me in the face, kick hb on his back etc.... so our sleep quality is really lousy.