(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Yes! Wat a good news to start my week! Praise God!

Linda,
My gynae confirmed last week during my post-amnio scan tat #2 is a boy liao. Next week going to detailed scan.

Wenyl...thank God....so happy for you...
Can imagine your excitement and "Can't wait for the Detailed Scan" feeling...

Juz that day...as I was walking in the baby dept...I looked at hubby and said..."makes me wanna give birth again..." but hor...I dare not loh...cos the male genes rule in his family...hehe...I'll go crazy with 3 boys plus hubby in the house....hehe....so...I salute Demny...hehe

joanna
thanks for sharing the books with us. looks very interesting.... but hb recently refused to let me buy anything...haha

tabb
i can understand your frustration. it is really pure luck whether u get a good maid or not.

your maid really very daring. lucky your mum's maid told u guys. actually since your mum helps u with taking care of tabby, u can get her to supervise the maid right?

try out the transfer maid first. sometimes they are pretty good. my mum used a few transfer maids before and they turn out pretty well.

for me, i realised my maid's eyesight not very good. my mum asked her and she said she can't see properly in one eye but refuse to wear specs cos she say not pretty. quite frustrating cos she always cannot clean properly. JH keeps digging out stuff from the floor. and whne i told her to wear specs she refused. gave her one week to clean properly. if still cannot, she has to go and wear specs. so vain right?

Tabbiesus,
I got my replacement maid & so far so good. Had a few hiccups but she was apologetic. Are ur previous maids all ex-sin? Meaning ever worked in sin b4? Cos my 1st maid was ex-sin & can tell she seems to be more interested in off days & checking out other maids ard the neighborhood. But this new maid, she doesnt want off days cos she wants to earn more & send $ home to help her parents.

tabbiesus - oh wat a bad bad maid u gotten! sigh..wanna try other nationality like maybe myanmmar? rena has just gotten one and seems like feedback on myanmmar is much much better than indo and filippino. maybe u want to give that a try. i heard of too many horror stories...recently a colleague of mine went back to india for vacation and left her maid at the agency. and when she returned, she found out that the maid actually went back to india and doesnt want to come back already. and now she is stuck with her kids in india and herself here as there is no one to tend to her kids if she works. so now the agency is finding a replacement for her and its already been 2 mths. she is so sad tat her kids is away esp when her younger one is only less than 1y/o. sigh...then she said her previous maid, brought lover into their hse...and when her contract is up. her lover still do not know that she had gone back hometown, the lover actually has a sets of keys to her hse and was trying to open the lock. she only realised when her neighbour asked if she has a relative who has been trying to open the lock with the keys. she was so shocked to hear that she quickly change the padlock. so scary these maids can be.

like u...i am also cleaning the hse over the weekends and poof...its so tiring! even with those part time cleaner, they cannot be trusted too and they are so busy always. so we ended cleaning the hse ourselves.

Wenyl

I tried, ex sin, ex middle east/ taiwan..., all also cannot!! Apparently the one i sent back got herself pregnant with her lover's child and was 2 months preg when she left the last employer... (she apparently lied to them and said her husb was dying), what was scarry was that her husb really did die last month, dunno what she did to him but my other indon maid was so frightened of her she said that she may have put black magic on her husb and stuff... so freaky.. makes me feel all uneasy.. AND you know what, my maid isn't even that pretty, apparently her lover is an old singaporean man...so can't judge a book by its cover!!

joanna -haha same here..male genes too strong on hb side. 2 boys already and not trying again. yup really salute to da jie denmy!

SSF...haha...i know what you mean...kinda drives me up the wall at times.....i need females to balance off the ratio at home...haha...feel so dominated by males!

Oh...SY...nvm...Juz sharing with the rest of the mummies here...if the vendors ever come by the sch...I'll ask them for bulk purchase order...hehe....then I'll post on the forum...k? Muz psycho hubby...books good for our kids...normally, when it comes to educational materials, i call the shot...i'll buy first then inform hubby...he also cannot say anything cos i'm the "expert" in this aspect mah...hehe

wenyl
Oh, so happy for you! Thank God everything is alright! So form the amnio results confirmed is boy hor? hehehe.

tabbiesus
oh dear, what a frightful experience you all had. Good thing the maid was sent back home immediately. I think must really pray and trust God for good help and of good character. I think teachability and honesty/integrity are very impt traits in the helper.

SY, SSF
actually my mom supervises... basically my maid is like errand girl will help my mom run here and there to get stuff whilst my mom is with my girl, and my maid will do the cooking for taby only and feeding for lunch and dinner, she only cleans tabbys room and toy area at my mom's place... sometimes, i will leave her at my own apt (i moved out of my mom's place ) to do the house work and cook dinner for us.. so most times, she only needs to do cleaning. I don't leave her alone with tabby at all...

I was really considering myanmar but my hubby and mom are worried about the lang barrier.

Now that I'm quite big... very hard for me to do stuff like moping cos got to lug a big pail around...

Hi Tabbiesus - Wow, What an experience! Pm me if u want to try my agency? So far, my friends & I have gotten from the agency & no problems either. The agent (HB & wife) would actually find out the specifications of what we want and then specify to the recruiting agency over there. They'll train the maids for abt 2 weeks before they come over to S'pore. Thereafter, they'll train her for a day before releasing to the employers.

Mine's Indonesian. Fren & her sisters got 3 Filipinos from her. Another fren sent her Myanmese one back after 2 months & took an Indonesian from her. Myanese one too xiao jie. Need to use gloves to do everything & too ladylike for her.

tabbi
I try to avoid those with ex-sin experiences for the possible problems they can give. Hope your new maid will be a good one. Don't overwork yourself now that you're delivering soon. If the house is dirty, just close 1 eye. If u really suspect you've been cursed by blackmagic I can pass u a contact of a malay bomo who can help u undo the curse.

wenyl,
so glad to hear that the results turn out fine!! :D

tabbs,
feel so sorry for you. i can understand how frustrating trying to get a good maid. hopefully ur transfer maid will be good. i'll be facing this problem myself when the contract for my current maid expires next year in mar. sian....

joanna,
i'm interested to get the Alphatales and Longman series. may i know where can i get them?

child education books
My bookshop here at NIE also have alot of very good books on child education. Recently bought 1 book for childcare teachers on learning activities for toddlers and young children. Costs only $20+ but gives me alot of ideas on what to do with Ariene. comes with a music CD too for some of the activities. Activities cover areas like language, body movement, coordination, play, cooking fun, art & craft, dance and exercise. Some of the topics covered are Your Body, My Family, The Zoo, etc. cant remember everything. Quite a thick book from the States.

Wenyl,
That's a good news !! I was going "Phew" when I saw ur post.

Joanna,
The longman books look interesting. Can it be bought outside? Cos the Sunshine one is too ex. Worry that Jamie will end up tearing it.

Aileen
My neighbour upstairs also runs a small maid agency. The maids they bring in are all quite decent and they train the maids in their house before deploying them to their respective employers. You can always have a talk to my neighbour or look at the maids when u come over to collect your VS items.

Hi Aileen and May...I think you can check out the website at Longman and Scholastic...The Scholastic one is slightly pricier cos it's not locally produced. I got them when the Heads of Department got them to show resources to the teachers in the school. Seriously, I don't know where they can be purchased...u may wana chk out the Longman and Scholastic Website...
Else...I can check with the HODs the contacts for the vendors, then u guys can pop by their shopfront to take a look...but u will hv to wait till next week cos I'll only be back in school's for mtgs next week.

tabb
actually maids pick up language fast. my colleague's sis recently also got a mynammar maid. seems not bad

since u got someone to help supervise, no harm trying.

joanna
thanks. if got good offers, let us know.

mamapanda,
thanks for letting me know. i'll contract u again when the time comes. it is really good if can talk to the maid first before employing.

joanna,
ok will check out the websites first. if can't find then maybe gotta trouble u to find out the vendors contact. btw do u think u can show me a few more pics of the inside of the longman books?

Hi SY...no prob...

Aileen...k...the insides of the books are of varying degrees....they have repetitive words in the article form...e.g. "The, My, Ours, etc"...then they have some new nouns that comes with very explicit graphics to help the kids pick up the language...
No prob...juz let me know...

Hi Tabb ... oh no, maid problem is not easy to tackle. How can your maid have a chance to bring her lover home with your mum around. btw, does she have any kids and how many? I too will not go for ex-sin. With transfer maids, do be very careful too, try to ask leading questions to find out details of her previous working experience, not just a yes/no answer. Also if possible try to see if can talk to the previous owner and find out why they don't want her. remember though that the previous owner is bearing the levy till the maid gets a new owner so don't trust what the owner says ... they may just want to get rid of her asap. I find knowing the family background of a maid helps. Hear that most indo maids, when they are here, they usually run into trouble with their hubbies either by having affair or hubbies having affair. So one of my first question is why the maid wants to come here to work and who and how involved they are in taking care of their children at home. but again, other unknowns may pop up and it's really down to luck. Once a while, it's good to do an impromptu check - come home unexpectedly or call home with a proper reason and find out what she's doing... after a while, she knows her employer may appear anytime that she might not dare to try to be funny. I find getting along with the maid is an art ... recently my maid's much happier when I'm not as critical of the things she do. She's teaching my #1 tagalog while she gets him to revise chinese and learn in the meantime.

tx to your valuable inputs, I've stocked up quite a bit at motherhood fair yesterday. The jungle animal set was down to $6 but I didn't get it...

.ky.

mummies, made a boo boo with the timing!!! It's 4pm instead of 2.30pm with Coach Anne. If you don't mind Coach Michelle, it will be the original timing of 2.30pm. Please put 'ok w/ timing' next to your name to confirm the time slot. Otherwise put your name in the time slot that suits you.
Sorry again for my fuzzy brain!!

June 17; 2.30pm Sunday; Coach Michelle

June 17; 4pm Sunday; Coach Annie
1. wenyl (Ethan + hb swimming) - OK with revised timing
2. sleepingdeer (shannon + hb/me) - Ok with revised timing
3. Cheng (aidan+hb swiming)- ok with revised timing
4. Flo (Mel & HB) - ok with revised timing
5. CL (Aden+hb swimming) - ok w/timing
6. SSF (Caleb+hb swimming) -ok with revised timing

June 24; 2.30pm Sunday; Coach Michelle

Group C
June 24; 4pm Sunday; Coach Annie
1. Denmy (Keenan & hb)- ok w/ timing
2. Val ( Kirsten + hb) - OK
3. MamaChan (Daren + hb) - ok w/timing
4. SH (Prob hb + JW) - ok w/ timing
5. Rena (Elijah + hb)- ok w/timing

Val,
Please confirm revised timing. Thanks!!

Am on MC today at home with bad FLU & Cough & bodyaches... the latter was more of being overly tired for the whole of last week having to work half day in office and then tend to my pushcart at United Square.

CL, Wenyl & L ( my goodness i forgot your nick!)
THANKS alot for dropping by & giving us your aupport! =)

Wenyl
PRAISE GOD!! SO Happy that ALL'S FINE for baby!! =)

Wenyl - tats a great piece of news to start a Monday! Congrats and praise God for the good results

Tabbiesus - horror lei ur maid... eeks! hope u get a good maid soon! and hor, thanks and muacks for helping wf the milk powder... hope they will deliver today *fingers and toes crossed*

Wendyl
Yeah Praise God!!... happy to know that everything is ok!

Tabbiesus
OMG... what a scary expereince. Thank God you found out in time.
Oh my.. now I'm more worried. My helper is coming this weekend and she is ex-SIn and my MIL choose her partly probably cos she is not good looking so will not attract "bees" but reading your post make me worry now.
I think we just have to keep praying and leave it to the Lord to bless us with a good maid.

Btw your ex-maid was she from Lumpang (or something like that?) I heard maid from there might be familiar with black magic and can be more fierce..

RE: hi tea

Sorry, forgot to thank all the organisers for the trouble that they took.. i really had fun... nice to get away and do some girl friend gathering every now and then...

Clare
Get well soon! Sounds like a bad flu... better rest and take more vit. C

RE: maids
thanks mommies for the advice... i really think its luck... hopefully, my next one is okie.. the agency i use is the same as that of my mom's and she had pretty alright maids the last few time.. only this time round, there's so much problems...

God's child.
let me know if you have any problems with the FM but i think should be no problem.

Tabbiesus

I forgot to bring my handphone out today and ask the milk supplier to send GAIN IQ to my nanny's place. Can you pm me the number to call them as they have open an account for me. What information do I need to give when I am checking with them on the delivery

Tabbiesus,
Thanks so much for helping me arrange the milk powder! Got mine on sat. Very prompt & they willing to accept cheque payment.

Clare,
Rest well!
Doing pushcarts is tiring but FUN too ya!

mamachan

let me know after u attended the kindyroo ok?
just found out that Babies Resort at Pemimpin just shifted to the shophouses very near my hse. Just across the road! Now thinking whether to let him go there or not. It's $250 per month, 1.5hrs daily during weekdays. The place should be quite small coz previously i visited another infant care at the next block. But think think, JG classroom also very small during classes. Hmmm....

Joanne
I like Rigby, now I am trying to find as many books as possible from Rigby to make up a full collection.If you have any to sell off, can let me know too ha ha . Longman , sunshine, Now I am reading , Joy Reader, Oxford reading tree all look similar and good. Just not sure which one to buy.

Tabbiesus
It is realli headache to find a good maid. Well my fren went to one agency in Lucky Plaza, Flippino and apparently loves to clean. Clean and clean non stop. She says her ex boss maid also from there and it is highly recommended. You may want to try it out. Let me know if you need contact

Clare
I found cute stuff at your pushcard especially the disney princess one. Charmaine is waiting to do one layout with me. Hope you get well soon. Rest well.

CL

lucky u introduce yourself in memoiracts, else going to report u for spamming already. hahahah.

Too bad i'm one lazy mummy, can't be your customer. that's why till now, i've never joined in any of the scrapbooking sessions. hahaha.

Well, congrats on the start of your business!

All the best to you, mamachan and cheng and may your business flourish!!!!

Linda,
Hahamy hb says if I want to bring JW to watch ShrekI have to be prepared to be the one to be going out of the cinema if JW starts crying. When I said so unfairhe replied"but even if I bring him out, he will still cry mah.so mummy go out then he will keep quiet"

Hi CL...dun think I'll be selling them off anytime soon...I've 2 kids...so when Kor Kor is done with his Rigby's...it'll be passed on to didi...
We pay I think about $25 for a set of 6 books to the Childcare my elder boy attends...
They use these books to teach them reading skills.

Congrats to you, mamachan and cheng for the start of your new journey...may your business bring in lots of cash and happy customers.

Cheng, Mamachan, CL,
Wow wow! Congratz on your new business! Was just looking thru your website and wanna ask if you have a simple simple album for me to keep Megan's studio shots? You know for scrapbooking idiot like me..jus paste photos type?

Hmm...would you rather I post this in your business thread?

Mashy
Will be reported for spamming ? Dunno that leh.

Thanks for your well wishes, Mashy and Joanna.

Tracy
I am using the albums to do Charmaine's and Aden's studio shots as well.

We are actually planning an exclusive open house for our mummies in this thread and inviting Clare to bring her scrapbooking stuff as well. Interested ? Targetting date maybe 30 Jun, Sat 2 pm ?

tabbiesus,

I think getting a maid is really a matter of luck. I have 1 indonesian maid that's very, very, very good before and my mum's previous filipino maid who helped to take care of charmaine was also very good. She really loves charmaine like her own but her housecleaning skills are really not good.

CL,
Oh goody! I'm keen to get albums for her studio shots and another set for my parents to keep. Those usual photo albums can't keep photos well. Was planning to go scrapbook shop lookaround but never got down to it.

I'm ok with 30 Jun, 2pm! So its cash and carry?

hi mummies...hehe...
Just experimented with healthy banana tiramisu for the kids...

yesterday, for the first time, I made tiramisu....changed the liquer and all that to milo and milo powder instead...haha...then used lady's fingers (biscuit) and muscaporne cream...turned out lovely...my elder boys says..."leave the rest of the cake for me, k?" haha...so today, with the rest of the muscaporne cream, I made banana tiramisu...hehe...tonite...my hubby shall be my guinea pig!

Great Tracy,

TIA for your support. Will decide the venue likely Mamachan's place. For those available stock, yes it is cash and carry or internet transfer also can lah. You can also bring your photo and try to do the scrapbook since your last try during the basic class ha ha.

Now my easiest gift for Christmas will be scrapbook for my family members ha ha

SL,
Thanks for your well wishes too

CL, Mamachan, Cheng
congrats on your biz. will try to make it for your openhouse if you have one. when did you guys start this? how interesting...

Sysac
yes JH is well already. back to his naughty self..

joanna
is edventure books the only place that carrier Rigby in Sg?

CL....it's very easy leh...my aunt taught me at her place...

Basically, you will need:

- A pkt of lady's fingers (Biscuit) (Can be found at cold storage)
- A tub of Muscaporne Cream (From Cold Storage)
- A glass of milo milk ( 2 tablespoonfuls of milo powder mix with hot water)

1. Line a aluminium (Small size) tray with the lady's fingers.
2. using a spoon, wet the fingers with milo milk
3. layer muscaporne cream over the lady fingers, then repeat by topping up with another layer of lady's finger.
4. Finally, after the last layer of muscaporne cream, sieve some milo powder on the top, then put it in the fridge to set...

No oven required!
hehe What I did today was add bananas to the first layer of muscaporne cream then added the lady's finger again...

Hi SY...not too sure...let me check with boy's principal in CC and get back to you?
Will most likely meet her tomorrow as I'm going to join my boy's CC to the Pottery Factory...next week, they are going on Duck's Tour and the DHL Hot air balloon, but I can't go cos I've to be at a meeting...

Let you know tomorrow in the evening?

CL, Mamachan, CL,
Congrats on your new ventures! how interesting to know that this forum has helped to forge business partners! :D

joanna,
may i know which CC is your boy in? his activities sounds so interesting!! :D