(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Sorry I have to opt out of Sun's trial - hubby got last min offsite meeting. I will go for the next one on Jun 17th.

RE: Aquaduck Trial
Max: 6 in a group
Anymore mummies? I'll call them up tommorrow to confirm

Group A
June 10; 2.30pm Sunday; Coach Annie
1. Flo (Mel & HB) - ok
2. CL (Aden+hb swimming) - ok
3. SSF (Caleb+hb swimming) -ok

Group B
June 17; 2.30pm Sunday; Coach Annie
1. wenyl (Ethan + hb swimming) - OK
2. sleepingdeer (shannon + hb/me)
3. Cheng (aidan+hb swiming)

Group C
June 24; 2.30pm Sunday; Coach Annie
1. Denmy (Keenan & hb)- OK
2. Val ( Kirsten + hb) - OK
3. MamaChan (Daren + hb)
4. SH (Prob hb + JW) - OK
5. Maywong (Me + Jamie)
6. Rena (Elijah + hb)

<font face="kirsten itc"> Congrats Aileen and Wenyl for adding more boys to this thread!

Aileen,
I like the names that you have gotten for my in-laws! YEAH!! THEY ARE indeed MONSTER-IN-LAWs!! </font>

SY...hope your boy is better. At the beginning of the year, my elder boy caught it from his CC...then it also spread to my young one. My elder boy was very badly affected by it...couldn't eat and it really tore my heart to see him suffer...The younger one didn't get such a full-blown effect of it....the PD felt that it must have been cos I had it before and thus had antibodies given to him whilst breastfeeding him. It will take about an entire week to completely heal...blisters may also form on the soles of the feet. Adults can catch it too...so be very careful in terms of hygiene....definitely no sharing of food and other personal stuff during this time period. I made my helper clean and disinfect everything the boys touched with Dettol!

May...the agar agar really very very nice! As long as you have done your best, dun worry about how the others might feel or think! I used to worry what others may say or feel or think, (including my in-laws), then realised that as long as my conscience is claear and I've done my best, nobody can fault me.
I think you did a great job and your hubby was sweet to run to your defence!

It's the hols but I'm still cooped up in school doing unfinished work! arrggh!

K...gotta run...catch up with you mummies again! tata!

Krissie,

I don't think Ryan is a genius. Rather, I think its becos my maid and mum bother to teach him the alphabets so he learns....now we started teaching him numbers and shapes so he can point out "star", "heart" "triangle", "rectangle" etc...

Every week I will tell my maid to teach him around 3 new things and soon you will see that he picks them up fast. And everytime we go out, we will test him.

Aileen,
Congrats on another boi!

May,
Yah, yours are really monster-in-law....but i admire your ability to "ren"!

Aquaducks,
Mummies who are going, pls ask for me how to sign up. I asked them and they said they will mail a form to me, up to now still nothing. today I chased again but i think their response real slow.

Hi-tea,
Any mummy going for hi-tea on friday can help me pick up a tin of milk powder from Cindy? And maybe pass to me in RP? We tried a lot of times to coordinate but it was really hard

Spinach BP
<font color="0000ff">Collection 8 June Friday. anyone else? </font>
Collection points:
1. Robinson Centre
2. Marine Parade
For mummies ordering for the 1st time, please PM me your email & hp. Thanks.

1. Denmy
2. Queen
3. Mamapanda
4. MamaChan

Denmy seems like 10 Jun not much orang ? If want to consolidate to 1 group. I am fine to go 17 Jun too

Anymore mummies? I'll call them up tommorrow to confirm

Group A
June 10; 2.30pm Sunday; Coach Annie
1. Flo (Mel & HB) - ok
2. CL (Aden+hb swimming) - ok
3. SSF (Caleb+hb swimming) -ok

Group B

Group C
3. MamaChan (Daren + hb)
5. Maywong (Me + Jamie)
6. Rena (Elijah + hb)

Denmy,
Can i collect the spinach from you on thursday? Will it be in by then? Or only Friday morning? I need to go off after hi-tea to send my hb to airport!

Re. SAHM activities
Can I check you all, how do you spend a typical day with your babies?
Mine is:
8-10am - breakfast / self-play & watching Sesame Street on Central
10-11.30am - nap
12 - 1pm - lunch (brainy baby VCD, Isaac cannot eat without it)
1pm - 3pm - Reading, drawing with crayons, playing with toys (Isaac cannot concentrate on each task for long)
3-4.30pm - milk & nap
4.30- 5pm - self-play
5-5.30pm -Playground & Bath
6pm - dinner
Sometimes, I find that it's difficult to entertain and engage Isaac on the same things everyday.

SSF
it wil take abt 5 days to recover from HFMD

ha my mum just complained that he's so energetic until she's so tired.

Tabby, SH
i probably can only go on weekends cos not on leave this week.

SH
u on leave this week? i really hope JW is ok. will feel so bad if JH spread to him. i m now at my mum's place for 2 days

SSF
no prob i can check on dumex step 3 since JH also drinking.

OK lor,
<font color="ff0000">CL, SSF, Flo,</font> I change you guys to the 17th then.

Denmy seems like 10 Jun not much orang ? If want to consolidate to 1 group. I am fine to go 17 Jun too

Here are the confirmed people.

Group B
4. CL (Aden+hb swimming) - ok
5. Flo (Mel & HB) - ok
6. SSF (Caleb+hb swimming) -ok

Group C
3. MamaChan (Daren + hb)
5. Maywong (Me + Jamie)
6. Rena (Elijah + hb)

=================================================
Mamachan, the spinach only comes on Fri Morning. Or shall I order it for the following Monday then, since non of us are in a hurry to get it?

Spinach BP
<font color="ff0000">Collection 11 June Monday</font>. anyone else?
Collection points:
1. Robinson Centre
2. Marine Parade

1. Denmy
2. Queen
3. Mamapanda
4. MamaChan

Denmy, great! Thanks! I'll let Cindy know.

Queen, I can imagine it is not easy to entertain Isaac the whole day. Even when I just spend weekends with him, i dun spend whole day as I will go for my facial, mani pedi, shopping etc.

By on a regular sat or sun, this is what I'll do:

8 a.m.: Ryan wakes up, bath, drink milk, eat bread

9 a.m. : Bring Ryan to market, or if we go out for brekkie, bring him with us....

10 a.m. : Ryan drinks milk and naps

1130 a.m. : Ryan wakes up and takes some fruits, watches some tv, play with toys, run around his room

1230 : lunch

130 - 330 : Bring Ryan to playground, feed the fishes, sometimes bring him out when we go shopping, take car ride

330-5 p.m.: Bring Ryan swimming.
5 p.m. to 6 p.m. : Nap, or sometimes no nap, then just play
630: dinner
8.30 p.m. : Sleep

Aileen,
Congrats on a boy! Wow really lots of boys this year!!

RE: boy or girl
Hmm so looks like MS worse this time round may not necessarily mean different gender from no.1! I am still hoping for a girl

Just went to see gynae and got the yucky painful jab on my butt again
Gynae gave it as a preventive measure since i'm flying to Australia tomorrow. Well, hope i will be able to walk properly tomorrow at the airport! But thank God that baby's growing fine and well
Strangely, i'm not as excited as before about going on a holiday to Australia....maybe with my MS and bloatedness and all, i don't really have the mood to go travelling. Oh well, just hope that it'll be a relaxing and good trip!

RE: Spongebob
SSF,
Wow i'm impressed that Caleb can sit thru the show! I wouldn't think of bringing Janelle to such shows (not just becoz of the cost) because i doubt she can last thru the whole show sitting down. Am really impressed with your toddlers who can be so guai and sit there to watch shows!

ak,
I still think Ryan's a genius! I've also been teaching Janelle her alphabets and shapes but she still cannot successfully name any of them, except for her star. And when i ask her which is circle, triangle, etc she still gets confused sometimes. So, my conclusion is that Ryan's a genius!

queen,
Perhaps you can bring Isaac for walks or bring him out? I try to bring Janelle out at least once a day...coz i think she'd be bored staying home all the time. Or rather, i guess it's me who'd feel bored staying home all the time!!

Hi queen

I also have the same prob as you on how to occupy my boy's time. Going down to playground depends on my mood. :p I'm trying to plan and organise my day better so that he won't be spending the whole day just hanging ard. Intend to adopt the 1.5hrs prog like those enrichment classes i.e. music time, art class, story time, outdoor play time. Now trying to figure out how to teach him alphabets and colours. I think if i plan it ahead, i tend to make sure it happens rather than at the spur of the moment. Usually if i don't plan ahead, end up not doing anything at home...

Mine is:
7-10am - breakfast / music time & watching Sesame Street on Central (same as you, but i let him watch mainly the 2nd half only i.e. elmo's world)

11.30am - 12.30pm - lunch

12.30pm - 3.30pm - nap

3.30pm - milk, fruit & snack time, play with toys/read books

5pm - 5.30pm - bath time

5.30pm - 6.30pm - play/read books

6.45pm - dinner

Ak
how did u teach Ryan? He's definitely a genius since he knows all his alphabets. My boy only knows how to chew his alphabets. (i've a set of alphabet bath toys for him) And he still can't talk much unlike most of the children here.

durian lover, mashy brainz
Thanks! I can't take the credit cos i didnt execute it...Basically everyday just tell my maid to teach my son around 3 alphabets and soon he knows all already. We have foam alphabets "carpetting"his whole room and we would pick it up and say "A", "b" etc....after a while, we would ask him, "where is A" and he would point and then another method is to pick up an alphabet and ask him "what is this" and he would say "A". For shapes, we take a drawing block and draw star and heart. He already knows stars and always says star, so introducing one new thing at a time and then circles etc....so now he knows heart, star, circle, rectangle, triangle. He doesnt know how to pronounce but can pt out when i ask him. I got one of those magnetic writing board and use that to teach him as well.

In the evenings, i'll buckle him up in stroller and take a walk around the neighbourhood.

something funny
By the way, Ryan started doing someth funny. When he throws tantrums, he will lie on the floor and kick his legs up and down...just like those kids in supermarkets throwing tantrums...i thot it was so amusing...dunno how he learn this kind of thing but so funny

<font face=" kristen itc"> RE: Cute Looney Tunes Potty
Mummies, I chanced upon this at IMM Giant. Only $6.90. Can't resist and bought one to put at my mum's place. But she say still early to toilet train Jamie. </font>

826803.jpg

<font face="kirsten itc"> RE: Leapfrog Leap pad
I remembered quite sometime ago someone did a BP here right? Can I still get it cheaper? I intend to buy 1 for Jamie and 1 for my friend's son 1st Birthday. Anyone got lobang?</font>

SSF
Wow, the curtain is really cheap. Thanks. U got a designer for your reno rite? Does he/she do small job?

ChickenLittle
For your contractor, I need to tell him exactly what I need to do as to the design?

May
I guess your FIL belongs to the "old" school where he doesn't openly show his feeling. He prob too "surprise" and doesn't know how to react.

Wenyl
RE: PAW WALK 07 for Babies & Toddlers
Are you going? Chicken Little, wanna go since aquaduck is postponed?

RE: Elmo's colouring book
Wenyl, am also still thinking wanna go since Mel is a great fan of elmo. I'm going to get my 2nd eye op done on the following Mon, need to be off my len for that weekend so prob can't see anything. Actually my hb can get 15% discount, anyone else interested in the show?

Queen
Sad to read that Baby Ashley has left her mommy.

May
I think the lady that we got the leappad from previously is no longer selling. Cannot locate her yahoo auction site anymore.

Are you going for hi-tea this Fri? Do you still want the crayola markers?

Aileen
Congrats on having a boi

Cindy
Was at vivo city yesterday. Saw a pic "cindy & lucas" among the J&J pics of all the mommies and their bbs, is that you? Nice shot

Denmy
RE: Aquaduck
I'm fine with 17 June, thanks for making the arrangement.

Spinach BP
Collection 11 June Monday. anyone else?
Collection points:
1. Robinson Centre
2. Marine Parade

1. Denmy
2. Queen
3. Mamapanda
4. MamaChan
5. Flo (Robinson centre)

Queen, I collect for u?

RE: PAW WALK 07 for Babies & Toddlers
Wenyl, Flo, are you going? if yes I ask my hb , once he ok I am sure it will be fun to join.

Contractor
I think you can give him the idea what you want from pics. Then he should be able to do it for you.

Hi mummies....good morning! Heehee...I am only able to post during the school hols cos it's not too hectic for me.

I was reading the forum and realised that our babies have all grown...so much so much! Just wanna check...my boy at 17 months isn't really talking alot yet. He understands everything we say but just that he is rather lazy to speak. He knows simple words like mama, papa, ball, door, muum muum (food)... but...he doesn't really like to talk...he kinda still babbles baby language...issit normal? My elder boy talked at the age of 11 months...so as compared to his Kor Kor, he is definitely behind time...

Aarrgghhhh!!!! I'm starting to panic a little too...any advise from the mummies here? Also, he is very greedy...will want to eat the minute he sees someone eating....been trying to curb his greediness but also feel like very poor thing if we eat and he doesn't get to eat leh...sigh...parenting...not easy....:p

Joanne,

dun worry..coz my elder boy can't talk even when he attended his playgroup (24mth). Now i can't wait for him to keep his mouth shut...too may whys..

Joanna,
Dun worry, alot of our babies are still babbling.

Flo,
I am not going for the high tea. Can pass it to chicken little? Cos I have stuffs still with her and can collect all the stuffs from her at one time.

Chicken Little,
Ma Fan u again.. thanks!! *muaks*

Denmy,
U so funny, your bookmark is really on the top of the page.

Hi babylon and May...thanks for the reassurances...
Me really started to worry....cos I want to send him in to childcare only when he is able to communicate generally...otherwise...I duno if he will be able to communicate his wants and needs to the teachers....

Joanna,

Damien can only call papa, and auntie..not mama..
but i intend to send him to playgroup next year regardless he can talk or not. Think he will learnt there from other children.

Flo,
haha, thanks for the link on the egg-shakers! Gonna get one pair too!

I'm very keen on the Elmo show too, but didnt get around to buy the tix till now. So I was planning to just drop by downtown east on 24th June and if got tix, just buy and go in.

Joanna
In fact my gal's PD was just sharing with me that words like cat, dog etc are too "complicated" to teach our tot for a start. We should use words like moo moo for cow, meow for cat etc, cos that's the natural way in which they pick up lang. She gave me a list of "first" vocab that we can start off teaching our tot. Will try to see if I can scan into PDF and post tonite. Every kid is different I suppose and we need to adapt to them. She said one of her mommies enrolled her son for Shichida class when he was 18 months and the method is too "difficult" for him cos is basically memory work and end up his got speech delay.

Flo,

damien can say cat, fish, dog...then watever animals he saw..he will go wow wow..last weekend i brought him to the pond..then he saw fish..he started ish ish..then wow wow..OMG

Tracy,
Hee hee, I think Mel will go crazy over the egg shakers. Actually when I check ticket charge website there's still quite alot of tickets left for the Elmo show. I'm actually thinking of Sun 3pm show.

RE: Progress

Megan can finally call Mummy and Daddy accurately. Besides that she can also say simple things like cat dog, fish, birds etc like the other toddlers here.

I agree with other mummies that Ryan is a genius to be able to know his alphabets at such young age! So impressive!

Megan is slower as compared to Ashley. Ashley can sort the shapes etc by 15 months.. But not too worried cos i guess they have their own strength and will develope at their own pace.

Am so happy to know that Ashley can write all her alphabets already, thou sometimes it the mirror effect writing. Ha Ha. She also knows how to spell her name, megan's and her best friend name. She's into 'ta bian' (shit) these days and all her stories evolve around ta bian..... wonder where she learn it from..........

Hi Flo, thanks heaps! hehe....I also start with him, "Meow Meow...cat cat..." hehe....but I dun tend to babytalk both my kids. I speak to them as though they are adults....maybe that's how my elder boy picks up all the vocab from as well...haha....

Yuki..think it's a phase they go through. My elder boy is 4 going to 5 and can write his name and I bought those alphabet books for him to practice his writing. Then I also buy alphabets game for him. Found this good one from the Science Centre when I took my class there for an excursion 2 weeks back. He enjoys playing with it and is spelling words that he was never able to. So...good investment...haha...
Mine was going through a phase of naming private parts....which I belive was taught at the childcare cos they all bathe together....u can imagine my embarrassment when he shouts out at the shopping centre..."Mummy...boys have penis and girls vaginas right?" now that I think back...quite farni lah...but at that moment in time...I almost wanted to dig a hole and hide inside....haha

Flo
re: elmo's colouring book show
I'm keen to bring tabby for the elmo show too.. she loves elmo.. when she's out, she'll point at elmo and if she see's big bird.. she'll automatically call for ernie cos in sesame st they have a segment where big bird has to look for ernie, called "journey to ernie"

RE: second op...
don't worry, i'm sure you'll be able to see immediately after the op...

re: speaking
my friend's son only started speaking more when he was 2 but he's perfectly normal and intelligent in other ways...

My mom and I will talk to my girl a lot and tell her things about her surroundings. And i will sometime stop her from baby talk and ask her to repeat what she wants and tell her if she doesn't "speak" properly mommy won't understand.. then she'll usually look at me and repeat slowly what she wants... she's at this stage where she's imitating some of our words but it comes out funny so its hard to understand... like she will say.... tircle for circle, and sounds like turtle.. so we used to tell her there's no turtle around and she'll be so frustrated, until one day she was pointing at her book and i realised that she meant circle. And when she wants me to carry, she'll say "tarry", so initially i was wondering what on earth she wanted...

mamachan, may
RE: lasik at NUH
I found out that for NUS staff there is also a special package.
You can't use medisave, but can pay in installmants with certain credit cards.

i can said that my elder boy is pretty slow when he come to speech..but he is catching up now.
He is also 4 coming to 5 this year. He is able to write his name, all the alphabets. Since rite now is school holiday, my mum was at home to teach him to write his chinese name...

Going to send him to Zoo phonics. Class will start in July.

Aileen,
Congrats on knowing ur bb's gender! Welcome to our boys club, chaired by our dear ta jie Denmy. Heehee. Too bad we got no chance to doll our #2. Will u try for #3?

May,
I did the Leappad BP last time. The lady ran out of stock last time so could only fulfill half our orders. Dunno if she still carries the stock or not. I will try to contact her see if she still sells the leappads. Will let u know soon.

Joanna,
Dun worry! My E is also baby talking away. We can't really decipher wat he is talking most of the time. Haha!

Yuki,
So cute! Its all abt ta-bian now ah! Haahaa! Reminds me of my fren's boy who appeared in the recent children program on Wed CH8 8.30pm. The host asked him wat he likes to do best. He answered TA-BIAN!!! Waahaahaa

Flo,
Sleepingdeer & I are keen to go for the PAW WALK this sunday. Shall we meet there ard 8.30-9am? Anyone else wanna hang out together?

RE: PAW WALK @ Bishan Park
1. wenyl
2. Flo
3. Sleepingdeer
4. Chicken Little (???)

Flo, Tabbie,
Meg is a fan of Sesame Street too. In fact I enjoyed it more than her when I managed to watch one episode with her on Vesak day. I'm planning to join the 24th June, 11am show for the Elmo's coloring book thingy.

The last time we were at Downtown East, she spotted the huge announcement banner on the show and kept mumbling 'mo...mo...' So I guess need to bring her.

Tabbie,
Sometimes its so funny the way they pronounce words. Meg pronounces 'truck' as 'cuck'.

Hi Joanne,

I know exactly what you mean. Once i have to bring ashley to the toilety with me and i brought her inside. She asked aloud "Mummy why you have hair on your virgina?"........ So embarrassing. She knows her body parts by name and sometimes she will say them out loud out of the blue in public places. *Faint*

Hi Wenyl,

I think i catch the show. Ha HA so funny. Ya, Ashely have a imaginative friend who throw ta bian on the shirt etc.... yesterday she told me megan step on ta bian etc..... Hai..........

I'd like to find out if anyone can lend me a baby cot. I need something that can be lowered really low. Keith actually climbed out of his cot 3 nights ago; he did that by pushing his feet against the wooden panel... *sigh* I put socks on him last night and those came out and he's so determined that he actually lifted his feet up onto the railing and got himself out. Hoping to borrow if possible for a short term ...

tx

.ky.

haha...yuki...embarrassing right? hehe....can faint still nvm....just exasperating...and it was a pretty long phase....I really wanted to just hide at home and not bring him out....then slowly, he grew out of the phase...haha

I am deep in thought after something had happened in work yesterday. Now I have to make a big decision. If thing doesn't turn out well, I will have to start all over again. It will affect my whole family financial status. Cannot concentrate in work the whole morning as I am thinking of it.

ssf
i called up nepia, the lady said they'll be at the motherhood fair, 14 dollars per pack then no restrictions, if you call by phone, altho free delivery but restricted no. of packs... but the lady very nice to me... let me buy 12 packs at 14 dollars each.. maybe cos i'm a repeat customer.. :p

Hi rachel/ gods child/ krissie
RE: gain IQ
You wanna order again? I'm going to stock up b4 the GST rises and before my confinement starts.. !!

May,
hope you can make the right decision. WOrk related problems are always a headache now at this stage in our lives.. have a serious discussion with your hubby abt it. Or you can share with us also... sometimes, its just trashing out the different possibilties.

May

What happen ? Hope everything will be fine

Joanna

You have another boy born in 2002 ? My gal is Aug 2002. Can share with me what do do with her ? Her handwritting sucks and she is very lazy.

Tabbi

I interested to join the purchase of GAIN IQ. Ha ha I can pick up from Rachel or God's child if they are ordering

ky

since keith can climb out of the cot, it means it's time to move him to a toddler bed. Perhaps you should start preparing for that instead of having another cot?

yuki

haha, that's so embarrassing.

Re: Talking
my boy is on the slow side. Till now, still nothing that we can understand and just baby babbling or screaming. Only heard him say Daddy and milk (repeated after us). That's all.