(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

ha ... something that I'm about to ask too ...

bed time/wake up time poll

1. chillies - 10- 1030pm / 9-10am
2. god's child - 9.45-10.30pm / 7.30-8.15am
3. mashy - 9.30pm/ irregular: sometimes 6am, sometimes 8.30am.
4. sept03- 9-9.30pm / 6.45-7.30am (these 2 days, hv been waking up at 6.45 argh!!!)
5. Sharon - 9.30 - 10.30pm / 9 - 10 am
6. Aden 8 - 9 pm/ 7 - 8 am
7. Edgar 9.30 - 10.30pm / 7am
8. Janelle 8:30 - 9:00pm / 7:30am
9. ky 9 - 9.15pm / 6 - 7 am

Re naps
how long does your bb nap? what is the total hours they shd sleep?

1. SY - about 2 naps one hour each
2. SSF - 2 naps. 1st nap - 2 hrs / 2nd nap - 1hr
3. Edgar - 2 naps. total about 3hrs+.
4. Sharon - 1 nap - about 1 - 1 1/2 hr
5. Janelle - shifting to 1 nap - about 2.5hrs
6. ky - 2 naps - abt 2-3 in total

can I suggest we put the final polls in the yahoogroup for any future reference. been wanting to do that, esp on the food to give part ... I can do it when I have the time to :>

.ky.

4. sept03- 9-9.30pm / 6.45-7.30am (these 2 days, hv been waking up at 6.45 argh!!!)
7. Sy - 9.30-10pm/ 7am-8am
8. MamaChan - 9.30/7.30-8am
9. Edgar 9.30 - 10.30pm / 7am
10.Linda - 8:30 - 9:30pm / 7:30am or 8:30am ( on weekend )

Re naps

3. MamaChan - naps a total 2.5 -3 hours a day
4. Edgar - 2 naps. total about 3hrs+.
5. Sharon - 1 nap - about 1 - 1 1/2 hr
6. Linda - 2 naps - 1st nap is 3hrs and 2nd nap is 2hrs

Looks like a few names are overridden coz everyone's posting abt the polls at the same time!

Linda,
Yah your baby sure sleeps A LOT!!! SO good!! Means u hv a lot of free time to urself!

re: Chinese DVDs/VCDs
Okay, will get a few copies if I see good ones. I can't stand those cheena, KTV type too.

SY,
If you want to do san zi jing, can try what I do with Charmaine? I would recite it and clap hands with her at the same time, she finds it amusing and treat it like a game. I am pretty sure that she doesn't understand a single word but it's good to get her accustomsed to the intonation and sound.

Linda,
I speak German to Charmaine sometimes too...

re: sleeping time
wow! gracie can really sleep quite well...

11. SL - 9 - 9.30pm/7.30 - 8

Re naps

7. SL - 2 naps - 1st one: catnap (15-30mins) on the way to infantcare; 2nd - 1 hr.

Its polling day today! Heehee!

Re: bed time/wake up time poll

11. wenyl - 9-10pm / 6-7am

Re: Naps

7. wenyl - 1 to 2 naps. Total abt 2-3hrs.

Wah, so many polls. I was also wondering about sleep patterns, so qiao got these polls. So I combine all the polls.

RE: Time taken for bb to fall asleep
1. SY - JH one hour
2. Wenyl - E abt 15-30mins
3. Maywong - Jamie about 30-45mins
4. Sharon - Joash about 45 mins to an hr (used to be able to sleep on his own but recently cries very badly when we leave the rm so got to sleep on the floor next to his playpen)
5. Gracie - 10-20 min...sometimes about 5-10 min
6. Daren - 10 min (fastest) - 30 min (longest), sometimes with someone in the room as him and/or by himself when lights out.
7. Mel - 5 min (if she's tired) to 2 hour if she not sleepy (esp when she had her nap too late) or if she's hungry. Can scream and keep attempting to climb out of her cot!
8. Aden - if realli bed time and tired 5 mins, or within 10 mins after he finish his milk , if without milk maybe 20 mins
9. Cephas - 10-20 mins depends on level of tiredness & sleep time
10. Caleb (SSF) - need to off all the lights and sleep beside him before he can sleep. fastest 10 mins...longest 45 mins.
11. Edgar (Aileen) - 10 to 30min. avg 15min. when we switch off all the lights, he would say "Dark, Sleep" then lie down on the bed. we are still co-sleeping thou.
12. Celeste - range from 10min to an hour.. she will patrol the room before she pops onto the bed to sleep. Oni when she is deep in sleep, then can we tsf to her cot
13. charmaine - range from 5mins when she's really tired to 30 mins. Sad to say, I am still nursing her to sleep... BUT the good development is that recently when she's tired and wants to sleep, she would hold my hands and lead me to the bed and pat on the bed to tell me that she wants to go up the bed, then lie down and wait for me to nurse her...
14. Megan (Tracy's) - immediately after her milk at 11pm.
15. Zhimin - She takes ave 30 minutes to 1 hour depends how tired she is.
16.Tabby - 15-30 min depending on how late and how tired she is.. rolls around next to me if she doesn't want to sleep... i'll grab her, hold her down and sing to distract her... then will transfer her to her shinemate mattress next to my bed...but nowadyas if she's tired she lie down on the bed and say sleep...
17. Mashy - 15 mins to 2hrs (usually 30mins)depending on how tired he is., now sleeping in his own room in cot. But must have someone to stay with him until he sleeps else he will kick up a big fuss.
18. Cookie- 10mins to 30mins. if she really tired will fall asleep even before finish her milk. Usual will be finish milk, drink bit of water then she will toss and turn before gng to bed. Now we co-sleep.
19) chillies - 15 mins to 45mins. Depends on how tired he is. But if anyone enters the room, he will be up and on the move. I gotta start process again, stroking face, scratch his head/back. Sayang him all over.
20) valerie - 5 to 45 min. Usually 20min. Depend on how late she woke from her nap.

POLL: Pain when Epidural is injected?
1. Clare - No; literally feels its a MIRACLE cos pain just disappear totally
2. Chicken little - dun feel anything , din know it is over too
3. xjysg - No. Just feel the liquid flowing in and the part of body would be numbed thereafter. I kept shivering during the entire period though
4. Sysac - No pain. Feel cold liquid flowing in. No backache from Epi too!
5. SSF - i started shivering badly throughout the whole process that the doc have to ask me not to move. the pain was bearable though.
6. Aileen - no pain. actually can't remember much of it already. side effects after that was shivering, but it was alright. nothing beats labour pain!!
7. Tracy - no pain. Taken when during labour pain. Side effect is shivering.
8. MamaChan - Felt a tingling sensation in the spine when epidural was injected, and almost immediately, can't feel the labour contractions. But at the end of it after waiting a few hours, got wheeled into OT for E C-sect under epidural.
9. Zhimin - Feel the liquid flowing in too but no pain. My side effect is itchy all over my body.
10. Maywong - Felt the liquid. Side Effect:Vomit cos I had 3 doses of Epidural. End up E-Csect via GA.
11. Cookie - i think the area was numb before it's adminiter. No pain at all, no shiver also. I also had 3 doese of EPI. labour for 17-19hrs before delivery
12. chillies - area was numb but felt pain and got another jab to numb. Shiver too

11. valerie - 7.00 - 8.00pm / 6 to 7am. But she still wakes up once or twice. If I strike toto, she'll sleep through.

Re naps

7. valerie - 1 nap - about 1 to 2 hours.

Linda, how envious! Gracie can really sleep!

Linda,
Ur gal sure can sleep alot in the day! Ur mil very lucky leh. Does Gracie sleep in aircon in the day? Cos my E can only have long naps only if the room is cool.

Wah, so many polls. I was also wondering about sleep patterns, so qiao got these polls. So I combine all the polls.

1. SY - JH one hour
4. Sharon - Joash about 45 mins to an hr (used to be able to sleep on his own but recently cries very badly when we leave the rm so got to sleep on the floor next to his playpen)
6. Daren - 10 min (fastest) - 30 min (longest), sometimes with someone in the room as him and/or by himself when lights out.
7. Mel - 5 min (if she's tired) to 2 hour if she not sleepy (esp when she had her nap too late) or if she's hungry. Can scream and keep attempting to climb out of her cot!
8. Aden - if realli bed time and tired 5 mins, or within 10 mins after he finish his milk , if without milk maybe 20 mins
10. Caleb (SSF) - need to off all the lights and sleep beside him before he can sleep. fastest 10 mins...longest 45 mins.
11. Edgar (Aileen) - 10 to 30min. avg 15min. when we switch off all the lights, he would say "Dark, Sleep" then lie down on the bed. we are still co-sleeping thou.
12. Celeste - range from 10min to an hour.. she will patrol the room before she pops onto the bed to sleep. Oni when she is deep in sleep, then can we tsf to her cot
13. charmaine - range from 5mins when she's really tired to 30 mins. Sad to say, I am still nursing her to sleep... BUT the good development is that recently when she's tired and wants to sleep, she would hold my hands and lead me to the bed and pat on the bed to tell me that she wants to go up the bed, then lie down and wait for me to nurse her...
16.Tabby - 15-30 min depending on how late and how tired she is.. rolls around next to me if she doesn't want to sleep... i'll grab her, hold her down and sing to distract her... then will transfer her to her shinemate mattress next to my bed...but nowadyas if she's tired she lie down on the bed and say sleep...
17. Mashy - 15 mins to 2hrs (usually 30mins)depending on how tired he is., now sleeping in his own room in cot. But must have someone to stay with him until he sleeps else he will kick up a big fuss.
18. Cookie- 10mins to 30mins. if she really tired will fall asleep even before finish her milk. Usual will be finish milk, drink bit of water then she will toss and turn before gng to bed. Now we co-sleep.
19) chillies - 15 mins to 45mins. Depends on how tired he is. But if anyone enters the room, he will be up and on the move. I gotta start process again, stroking face, scratch his head/back. Sayang him all over.
20) valerie - 5 to 45 min. Usually 20min. Depend on how late she woke from her nap.

3. xjysg - No. Just feel the liquid flowing in and the part of body would be numbed thereafter. I kept shivering during the entire period though
5. SSF - i started shivering badly throughout the whole process that the doc have to ask me not to move. the pain was bearable though.
6. Aileen - no pain. actually can't remember much of it already. side effects after that was shivering, but it was alright. nothing beats labour pain!!
8. MamaChan - Felt a tingling sensation in the spine when epidural was injected, and almost immediately, can't feel the labour contractions. But at the end of it after waiting a few hours, got wheeled into OT for E C-sect under epidural.
9. Zhimin - Feel the liquid flowing in too but no pain. My side effect is itchy all over my body.
10. Maywong - Felt the liquid. Side Effect:Vomit cos I had 3 doses of Epidural. End up E-Csect via GA.
11. Cookie - i think the area was numb before it's adminiter. No pain at all, no shiver also. I also had 3 doese of EPI. labour for 17-19hrs before delivery
12. chillies - area was numb but felt pain and got another jab to numb. Shiver too

11. valerie - 7.00 - 8.00pm / 6 to 7am. But she still wakes up once or twice. If I strike toto, she'll sleep through.
12. SL - 9 - 9.30pm/7.30 - 8
13. wenyl - 9-10pm / 6-7am

Re naps

8. SL - 2 naps - 1st one: catnap (15-30mins) on the way to infantcare; 2nd - 1 hr.
9. wenyl - 1 to 2 naps. Total abt 2-3hrs

Linda, how envious! Gracie can really sleep!

RE: Aquaduck Trial
U interested? Shall we organise another trial class in June?
1. Denmy
2. SY
3. Flo
4. CL (Aden+hb swimming)
5. Cheng (aidan+hb swiming)
6. SSF (Caleb+hb swimming)
7. MamaChan (Daren + hb swimming)
8. wenyl (Ethan + hb swimming)
9. Maywong
10.Rena (Elijah + hb)
11. Sept03 (if Annie/Anne is the instructor)
12. valerie (Kirsten + hb)

1. SY - JH one hour

Re naps

8. SL - 2 naps - 1st one: catnap (15-30mins) on the way to infantcare; 2nd - 1 hr.
10. mashy - 1 nap, 3hrs

Re : twister?

did anyone just see a vacumn like twister from the sky to the sea at Marina waters just now? it just happend opp my ofc building and was for bout 10mins..scary..

Clare, I just saw a bed from Ikea that can be converted from toddler use to adult use. Both ends of the bed can be lifted up for toddlers. And I'm not sure if it comes with a rail or you can buy it separately. I just saw my neighbour installed 1 for their girl last week. If you are considering getting a bed for Ashley which is same height or slightly lower than our normal beds, you can buy this. If not wrong, costs $199 and another $100 for the mattress.

ha, all the polls are so interesting...

linda
how u make gracie sleep so long in the day? really good..then she will grow big and tall.

ky
good idea. i was thinking of doing a summary on the poll results cos it's a good reference.

Mashy - i thot it was scary when they told me, i din see it myself tho... my colic took a pic.. attach to let ur see..
813952.jpg
813953.jpg

sl
did u use DVD or books for the san zi jing?

god's child,
what a weird phenomenon

JH very funny just now. he saw a thread on the floor and he went 'eee', picked it up and walked to the window to want to throw it...

re chinese books
i m getting some books from pelangi. flo and sh as well. if anyone else interested, pm me. i m planning to get some chinese books from there. will place order next week.

SY,

I use memory... : ) I have a sanzijing VCD but it's so boring.... : P
I can lend it to you if you want.

god's child,
wow.... you don't really get that in sg.

re: chinese books
I have got a set of chinese soft books (brand new) that I can let go to mummies if anyone's keen. It's a set of stories happening on a farm. I bought 2 sets the other time in Xiamen. Only opened one set.

god's child, wow that was so scary....did u go and google to see what happen?

sl
wow u got good memory then...can PM me a pic of the soft books?

Gods Child
From the picture...really scary lorrrr,,,,unbelievable..

Wenyl
Gracie not sleep in Aircon room for her day nap. She sleep on the floor with her mattress or sometimes in MIL bed....
But recently in the night time we will switch on the AIRCON for her only 2-4hrs.
If she tired ...she will go to her mattress and sleep lorrrr.

Durian Lover & Aileen
In Indonesia she sleep more...her naps were 3 times in day times. 1st nap 2hrs, 2nd nap is 2.5 hrs and 3rd nap is 2.5 hrs....

All my private time was occupied by housework lorrr
and 2 times a week for mask application at night.

SY
Her sleep habit pass down from HB

My hb really good in sleep....when I busy with housework...asked him to make Gracie sleep...20 min later..both daddy and daughter already zzzzzzz....somemore funny thing is they both come out with snorrinng sound....hb was definetely snorringg very loud and Gracie not really loud but can heard that....Faintttt

I did train her from baby to sleep more...
Weekend when my turn to take care her....I will put her in YAO LAN and she sleep well and sometimes in the afternoon she will sleep in her own mattress and I will force her to sleep. As this keep repeated, finally become her habit.

when she was 3 - 9 mths old,..her night sleep was very punctual from 8:00pm sharp - 7:30am.

linda,
wow u have trained gracie well. so basically her awake time is very little loh. abit like eat and sleep nia. hehe... so envious.

14. tracy - 10.30pm-11pm / 8am-9am(wkdays) 10am(wknds)

Re naps

10. mashy - 1 nap, 3hrs
11. tracy - 1 nap, 3hrs sometimes up to 4hrs

god's child,
i got an email abt the twister too! Very scary. Kinda wakes us up not to take for granted that Singapore is truly safe from natural disasters. It may happen anytime here and the scary part is we are all not trained for it and not prepared at all.

with the recent high waves in Bali, Phuket etc, and now this, are they signs???

Wonder if its still safe to go places like Bintan / Batam...

Tracy - i also find it scary lei... wonder if its safe hor... weather been reali weird lately. this period of the yr is supposed to be hot isnt it, but it doesnt seem the case... while my HB assures tat it wont touch land,my ofc bldg so near the sea! so much for the view.. eeks!

15. Cookie -10-1030pm / 8-9am

Re naps

10. mashy - 1 nap, 3hrs
12. cookie - 2 nap, morn nap abt 2-3hr, aft nap abt 2hr

God Child
I seen one of those sight from my office abt 2-3 yrs ago. it's was my first time... but the picture your colic took really close up.

Tracy

I will go back to Indonesia next week 31st may with my inlaw + hb and Gracie.
My hometown is in Bintan...think should not be a problem for the trip...

16. AK - 830-9 p.m./ 6-7 a.m.

Re naps

10. mashy - 1 nap, 3hrs
13. AK - 1 nap, morn about 1 hr. Sometimes will take afternoon nap, not consistent

Hi God's child,

I saw it. I was at East Coast...... It sort of hit the water breaker and sand, sand flying up..... thank god it ends there. I watch in coming from far. Very excited, didn't think about fear. Hee Hee

17. mamapanda - 8pm / 7am

Re naps

10. mashy - 1 nap, 3hrs
13. AK - 1 nap, morn about 1 hr. Sometimes will take afternoon nap, not consistent
14. mamapanda - 2 naps, morn nap abt 2hrs, aft nap abt 2-3hrs

1. SY - JH one hour

Re naps

10. mashy - 1 nap, 3hrs
15. chillies - 1-2 naps, total 3 hrs but sometimes he only naps 1 hr

1. SY - JH one hour
21)SH - about 10-15min (when he is in the mood to sleep. else it's impossible to let him sleep)

U interested? Shall we organise another trial class in June?
1. Denmy
2. SY
3. Flo
4. CL (Aden+hb swimming)
7. MamaChan (Daren + hb swimming)
8. wenyl (Ethan + hb swimming)
9. Maywong
10.Rena (Elijah + hb)
11. Sept03 (if Annie/Anne is the instructor)
12 SH (Prob hb + JW)

1. SY - JH one hour
21) babylon - 5-10 mins - daytime he nap in sarong, nite time we will yao him in the sarong till he deep sleep then transfer him to our bed

13. babylon - took it during my first delivery..can't remember what is the feeling...i just remember that i feel cold and hungry..

18. babylon - 8pm / 6am

Re naps

10. mashy - 1 nap, 3hrs
16. babylon - 2 naps, total 3-4 hrs

RE: Playgroup @ May's House

Sorry for postponing the Playgroup that day. I had decided on a date in June. We will still stick to the final list.
Please indicate if u are ok with it? Or shall we change the timing to morning?

DATE: 09 June 2007 (Sat)
TIME: 3-5 PM

No. Mummy Child Additional No. of Pax
1 Chicken Little Aden Daddy + Charmaine 4
2 Sept03Bride Caleb Daddy 3
3 KY Keith Daddy 3
4 Tabbisus Tabitha Daddy 3
6 Linda Gracie Daddy 3

May..me too cannot make it...9 june is a good date..like manachan..going to attend my cousin's wedding in m'sia..at the same time, need to visit my grandma there..have not been visiting her for more than 2 years. so this time die die must go..

1. SY - JH one hour
21) babylon - 5-10 mins - daytime he nap in sarong, nite time we will yao him in the sarong till he deep sleep then transfer him to our bed
22. mamapanda - 5min or less? She either falls asleep while nursing or falls asleep soon after I leave the room if she didn't fall asleep while nursing. BTW, she still sleeps in her cot in our room with us and doesn't attempt to climb out.

I've called them up and basically there are 2 timings for Sunday: 2.30pm(Annie) & 4pm(Michelle)Shall we split the group into 2 timings on 1 Sunday or 2.30pm over 2 Sundays since most of us want Coach Annie? Please indicate preference and confirm. I will have to let them know by next week 30 May. Thanks!

Group A
June 10 2.30pm Sunday
1. Denmy (Keenan & hb)- OK
2. SY
3. Flo
4. CL (Aden+hb swimming)

Group B
June 10 4pm or June 17 2.30pm Sunday
1. MamaChan (Daren + hb swimming)
2. wenyl (Ethan + hb swimming)
3. Maywong
4.Rena (Elijah + hb)
5. Sept03 (if Annie/Anne is the instructor)
6 SH (Prob hb + JW)

I've called them up and basically there are 2 timings for Sunday: 2.30pm(Annie) & 4pm(Michelle)Shall we split the group into 2 timings on 1 Sunday or 2.30pm over 2 Sundays since most of us want Coach Annie? Please indicate preference and confirm. I will have to let them know by next week 30 May. Thanks!

Group A
June 10 2.30pm Sunday
2. SY
3. Flo
4. CL (Aden+hb swimming) - ok

Group B
3. Maywong
4.Rena (Elijah + hb)
6 SH (Prob hb + JW)

1. SY - JH one hour
22. mamapanda - 5min or less? She either falls asleep while nursing or falls asleep soon after I leave the room if she didn't fall asleep while nursing. BTW, she still sleeps in her cot in our room with us and doesn't attempt to climb out.

13. babylon - took it during my first delivery..can't remember what is the feeling...i just remember that i feel cold and hungry..

18. babylon - 8pm / 6am

Re naps

10. mashy - 1 nap, 3hrs
17. Aden - 2 naps, total 4-5 hours. Sometimes may miss 1 nap when out, so if he naps this will last 3-4 hours

RE: Playgroup @ May's House

Sorry for postponing the Playgroup that day. I had decided on a date in June. We will still stick to the final list.
Please indicate if u are ok with it? Or shall we change the timing to morning?

DATE: 09 June 2007 (Sat)
TIME: 3-5 PM

No. Mummy Child Additional No. of Pax
1 Chicken Little Aden Daddy + Charmaine 4
2 Sept03Bride Caleb Daddy 3
3 KY Keith 2
4 Tabbisus Tabitha Daddy 3
6 Linda Gracie Daddy 3

Hi May, I may not make it too ... details for that weekend is pending but I'm most likely having something on ... btw, just amend my details, daddy can't come as he's a weekly class with my #1 at that time. thanks.

.ky.

Re: Eat with your family day
My company also knocked off 1/2 earlier yesterday plus each staff got to bring home a pint of haagen daz ice-cream to round off the family dinner with something sweet. But too bad I was on leave.

SY
If you want to get something from whoppeekiddies let me know. My fren is one of the partners, will see if I can get better price

1. SY - JH one hour

18. babylon - 8pm / 6am
19. Mel 9.30 10pm / 7 8am (but can sleep as late as 11 12 am if she wakes up from her nap about 6 plus in the evening, then she can wake up as late as 10 - 11am the next morning)

Re naps

10. mashy - 1 nap, 3hrs
17. Aden - 2 naps, total 4-5 hours. Sometimes may miss 1 nap when out, so if he naps this will last 3-4 hours
18. Mel 2 naps, total 3-4 hours. But I if she wakes up at 11am.

THANK YOU ALL FOR YOUR CONCERN

Weight Gain during Pregnancy

Apparently, my gynae did not really fuss about it. Well, I guess that's why i sort of like her..she's rather relaxed. I just had a check up again yesterday and still no weight gain...but baby accordingly to her estimate should be around 2.2kg now..so she says it's fine..The date has been set on the 19th June but i'm looking at 17th or 20th...

To all other preggy mums, do take care of yourselves too!

so sorry..havn't been able to read thru all the threads regularly.. sitting has been a discomfort for the past few weeks...so i will only sit for a while then lie down again..sounds super weak .. with renee, i was playing mahjong till i delivered man! wat a difference.

Group A
June 10 2.30pm Sunday
2. SY
3. Flo

Group B
3. Maywong
4.Rena (Elijah + hb)
6 SH (Prob hb + JW)
7. VAl ( Kristen + hb)
8. Sleeping deet ( Shannon + HB)

Group A
June 10 2.30pm Sunday
2. SY
3. Flo

Group B
1. MamaChan + Daren - prefers June 10 4pm slot
3. Maywong
4.Rena (Elijah + hb)
6 SH (Prob hb + JW)
7. VAl ( Kristen + hb)
8. Sleeping deer ( Shannon + HB)

My hb will not be around for either dates as he's away in Lonato Italy for his shooting competition. I'll be going away on 17 June.

Flo
i have a list of things i want to get! haha. will send u the list. can help me check whether can get cheaper? i emailed them and they say no further discount.

anyone keeping the polls in yahoo? if not, i will just copy and paste it there.

Group A
June 10 2.30pm Sunday
2. SY (me and JH) - ok
3. Flo

Group B
3. Maywong
4.Rena (Elijah + hb)
6 SH (Prob hb + JW)
7. VAl ( Kristen + hb)
8. Sleeping deet ( Shannon + HB)

i think i m the only mummy swimming..my hb doesn't wan to go...

cookie
i went to riverlife church kindergarten yesterday to visit. quite nice surroundings and looks good. the teacher suggest that i go down during term time to look at them teaching. JH was quite well behaved there and he seems to like it. the teacher also said he is ready for classes but they can't take in such young age.