(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re Time taken to fall asleep
1. SY - JH one hour
2. Clayre - Ashley avg 1/2hr (me in same room)

Bed or Mattress
Just transferred Ashley to a matress in the Playyard next to my bed (previously her own cot which she outgrew). Dun know if its a good move. When she was sleeping her cot, I just had to put her down and pretend to sleep on my own bed. When she fuss for me I'll just get up n lie her back down, pat2 her and tell her to sleep. Soon she will be sleeping, but knowing that I'm in the same room. Now with the matress just next to me, due to space constraint I have to step into the playyard onto her matress to lie her back down n pat her, end up more like I am sleeping with her on the matress. Am in a dilemma whether or not should I buy a proper toddler bed for her so that I can put her to bed so that she can learn to sleep alone. But problem with toddler bed is am so afraid she would fall off cos she can really turn 360degrees throughout the night.

RE: Time taken for bb to fall asleep
1. SY - JH one hour
2. Wenyl - E abt 15-30mins
3. Maywong - Jamie about 30-45mins

RE: Epidural & Backache Poll
Just curious to know whether having epidural really causes one to be more prone to backache? Mind doing a simple poll so we can all find out? Only those who have done epidural before need to fill this up. No.1 is an example of how you can fill it up.
(i didn't do epi but just wondering...)

1. Chicken little - no difference for both kids. First child, deliverd at 10 am, walking from 1 pm Second child deliver at almost 4 pm, feel i can come down at 7 pm but nurse forbid so start walking around at 10 pm
2. Mamapanda - no pain / difference
3. Zhimin - not much difference (before pregnant already have backache on and off liao due to sitting posture?)
4. ky - no difference (no backache. can walk after 6 hrs of rest)
5. rena - no pain but have very bad backache as i had the epidural needle in my spine for two days.. since then my back is giving me lots of problem
6. mashybrainz - have, but think it's due to over-exerting myself from carrying my boy, and poor posture.
7.MamaChan - Have occasional(only get backaches because I know I carry Daren via the sling quite often which strains my back)
8. Sy - no difference. backache due to carrying JH and poor posture
9. Tracy - Have, but suspect is due to "too high" heels. :p
10. Aileen - No difference
11. COokie - no differnce
12. SSF - b4 preggy with second one OK. these days keep having back ache..suspect due to moving of hse.
13. Sept03- no difference.
14. Clare - Backache but believe due to poor posture when carrying/changing BB
15. AK - no difference
16. Cindy - tail bone was sore for first 2 weeks after delivery but think it is due to the pushing impact. Then was ok until current pregnancy - mild lower back pain especially when driving.
17. CassCL - Yes, backache due to carrying Rory
18. SH - no difference
19. tabbiesus- no difference, backache occ now in 8th month of preg.. but not too bad
20. Maywong - Yes, Backache due to poor posture and carrying Jamie

wenyl
wow the test costs a lot! dun worry too much. sure all will be fine

how do u make E sleep so fast? JH takes really long to roll ard.

Clare
i also end up on the mattress with JH. so now thinking how to make him sleep by himself in his cot and how to fall asleep

1. SY - JH one hour
4. Sharon - Joash about 45 mins to an hr (used to be able to sleep on his own but recently cries very badly when we leave the rm so got to sleep on the floor next to his playpen)

Hi Rena, I've got the porridge from Seiyu alr....thanks. will let my boy try tomorrow. Like you say..... the portion looks small! Hope he likes it.

SY - weekend playgroup
I'm ok with using my hse..but will be away for these 2 weekends. If you dun mind mid June, I can do one session :>

CassCL and Mashybrain

Dont salute to me.....I also dont know I can REN for so long...but I will suggest for those already go for epidural on their first delivery,,,go ahead for that for the second delivery..

RE: POLL for Epidural
Mummies now I got a question for your... are your mummies feel pain when the nurse or doctor inject the epidural on your back??? Becos for my curious,,,,

Clare
I just came back last week from Bintan - did not bring Aidan. Would like to go again....and bring Aidan along :> The Bintan Lagoon sounds like a good promotion.

Linda
I did the epidural and I find e injection painful. maybe my pain threshold really low!

Poll: Time taken for bb to fall asleep
1. SY - JH one hour
4. Sharon - Joash about 45 mins to an hr
5. Clare - Ashley avg 1/2hr

POLL: Pain when Epidural is injected?
1. Clare - No; literally feels its a MIRACLE cos pain just disappear totally

1. SY - JH one hour
4. Sharon - Joash about 45 mins to an hr (used to be able to sleep on his own but recently cries very badly when we leave the rm so got to sleep on the floor next to his playpen)
5. Gracie - 10-20 min...sometimes about 5-10 min

RE: Bed or Mattress

Gracie has been sleeping on the mattress since after she back from Indonesia trip ( March '07 ) so far so good and sometime keep rolling on her own and sleep after 5-10min. Or I will sing her a children son and switch off the light..
Recently...she will follow my instruction...I told her " Now is the time for you to sleeop and give the pillow,,,than she closed her eyes and sleep...\

RE: Cought with hand cover on her mouth

Tonight MIL told me something special about Gracie....She was cough on lunch time and she use her hand to cover her mouth and cought again....she finally learn about this and she knw this bcos MIL taught her has to cover mouth when we are coughing.

cookie,

No problems - we can always meet next week before Vesak if not then need to wait for me to come back from Shanghai okay?

SY,
Hubby's going for work. I am going for hols. : )

re: aquaduck trial
Just a suggestion for the mummies going for the next trial, perhaps can go there earlier to get the babies acustomed to the water first? Play around the pool a bit. The humpty dumpty game that ky suggested is a very good one to build up babies' water confidence. It has done wonders for Charmaine's water confidence.

Tabbie,
Can share with me your research on lasik? I am also considering doing it. Tired of being half blind.

[Attention Moms keen in Hi-tea]
Celebrating Us Moms High-Tea Session
Date: 8th June, Friday afternoon (So that our dear Denmy can join in and before any other moms give birth)
Place: Marriot Hotel Cafe
Price: $40(We are planning a little take home, made-by-yourself-in-simple-steps-in-half-hour layout for you to frame)

Cost breakdown: Original price of High-tea at Marriot $38.46 nett, with HSBC card get 15% off on Fridays only (CL has got HSBC card), therefore, $32.70. Remaining of the money will go into the little something special for each individual that Rachel and I have planned to put together as a celebration of our woman/motherhood, as individuals.

Kindly confirm your attendance if you have taken/able to take leave that day. If yes, kindly transfer $40 to Chicken Little POSB Current account at 757-03942-7

No. Name Status Payment
1 MamaChan Confirm
2 Rachel
3 Chicken Little Should be ok
4 Rena
5 Cheng (Confirm)-Paid
6 SL TBC
7 Linda tjhin Infm in advance if cannot
8 mashybrainz Caeden will join if no help
9 ky + 1 boy FOC for kid
10 queen Subject to job hunt
11 Flo should be ok subject to biz trip
12 cookie (Confirm)
13 SY
14 Clare
15 wenyl TBC
16 Esh_mummy TBC
17 bblon TBC
18 Yuki
19 Cindy
20 Denmy (Confirm)-paid

Hi mummies who are attending, it'll be great if you can confirm your attendance by next Wednesday so that Rachel and I can prepare the surprise something-something for all of you. If by chance you've confirmed and paid and last minute cannot make it, we will get the cafe voucher for you to return with your friends/family for the sumptous hi-tea. This will help us plan in advance the booking with the cafe for a cozy corner as well as the simple logistics needed. TIA!

1. SY - JH one hour
6. Daren - 10 min (fastest) - 30 min (longest), sometimes with someone in the room as him and/or by himself when lights out.

SY/Wenyl
Wow, been doing the lab work in the past for amnio samples in my 1st lab job, didn't know cost so much! But yes, takes at least 2 weeks (the fastest if the cells behave and grow nicely) or 3 weeks. The express test confirm will be a bomb as they use special flourescence dyes (one kit purchased by the lab easily costs $1K plus!!! but good for 20 samples), called the FISH test. Good to detect the dreaded genetic defects as well as give you the sex of the baby.

Sept03bride
Re:Aquaduck
The class started before my hb was out from the changing room. He immediately grabbed Mel and plunged into the pool when he came out. We forgot that it was Mel's debut swim and I think she wasn't mentally prepared and started wailing, kept wanting me to carry her. Too bad, I didnt bring my swimsuit so can go into the pool with her. Anyway, the instructress just asked my hb to bring Mel to the side of the pool and rejoin the class when she stops crying. She came over to Mel a while later but didn't really do much. She just gave Mel some rubber crocs and balls but Mel still cried. So in the end, Mel just hanged around the edge of the pool for the entire class. After the class, she told us to bring Mel earlier next time to let her warm up around the edge of the pool before the class next time. Apparently, SL had very different experience previously. Charmaine was crying but the instructress managed to coax her into the water and after that she enjoyed being in the water very much. Im not sure itz becos its a different instructress or becos the class we attended was too big. Charmaine was the only student when she went for the trial. I was chatting with the instructress in the shower room after the class and learnt that shes just a relief for that day, she dont normally teach toddler. The instructress that normally teaches toddler is Anne (or Annie, she's the one taking Charmaine's class) and shes supposedly very good with kids. Maybe we can request for her to conduct the next trial.

Mamachan
Re: High tea
I'm still waiting for my Twn office to confirm if I can postpone my trip. Will let you know by next Wed

1. SY - JH one hour
6. Daren - 10 min (fastest) - 30 min (longest), sometimes with someone in the room as him and/or by himself when lights out.
7. Mel - 5 min (if she's tired) to 2 hour if she not sleepy (esp when she had her nap too late) or if she's hungry. Can scream and keep attempting to climb out of her cot!

1. SY - JH one hour
7. Mel - 5 min (if she's tired) to 2 hour if she not sleepy (esp when she had her nap too late) or if she's hungry. Can scream and keep attempting to climb out of her cot!
8. Aden - if realli bed time and tired 5 mins, or within 10 mins after he finish his milk , if without milk maybe 20 mins

I will dim the lights, on his bedtime music. I will read him a story, sing a few songs. Can leave or stay in the room. when he is realli going to sleep he always turn his body facing the wall

2. Chicken little - dun feel anything , din know it is over too

Wenyl
Am sure it will be fine. Thot there is another test at the same time when you can have a faster result

1. SY - JH one hour
8. Aden - if realli bed time and tired 5 mins, or within 10 mins after he finish his milk , if without milk maybe 20 mins
9. Keith - 15 to 30 mins, sometimes with me pretending to sleep. sometimes without me

My bigger concern is not putting Keith to sleep, but during the night ... he's still waking up periodically since I converted him to sleeping alone in the cot more than 2 months ago. Sometimes I have to nurse before he can go back to sleep, sometimes I have to "escape" to sleep in another room before he stops crying ...

3. xjysg - No. Just feel the liquid flowing in and the part of body would be numbed thereafter. I kept shivering during the entire period though.

.ky.

Thanks Flo and Cookie.
I also wonder if i should sign Caleb up for the trial class. But my HB thinks its not necessary lor cos if we want Caleb to learn swimming, he can do the job. But now our problem is getting him into the water.
He just hang ard the poolside and will wail if we attempt to put him into the water.
Are we able to request for Annie to be the instructor for our trial class? If yes, think i will sign up for the trial class.

RE: Aquaduck Trial
U interested? Shall we organise another trial class in June?
1. Denmy
2. SY?
3. Flo
4. CL (Aden+hb swimming)
5. Cheng
6. SSF (Caleb+hb swimming)
7. MamaChan
8. wenyl (Ethan + hb swimming)
9. Maywong
10.Rena (Elijah + hb)
11. Sept03 (if Annie/Anne is the instructor)

Aquaducks and getting used to the waters :
yes, the lady who coach us that day is not the usual. The usual is a Fil who's away. That's what she told the first group when it's over. But I thot she's ok. Love the part when after doing a hi-5 with the child, she'll flip backwards into the waters.

Using the toys help: I brought down 2 bath toys yesterday when we went swimming and Keith was giggling and kicking to go after them (I'll throw one out and then get him to kick over there with my help). But somehow he forgot to hold his breath when we go underwaters, which he was used to (how I do it is I'll say 1-2-3 and hold the breath and then lift him up a little and gently bring him under. when I first started, he was partially in and then slowly more when he's more used to it). btw, Keith's lips would turn blue-purple after a mere 15-mins almost everytime. Any of you have that experience?

.ky.

1. SY - JH one hour
9. Keith - 15 to 30 mins, sometimes with me pretending to sleep. sometimes without me
10. Caleb- 15mins after finishing his milk. Will switch off the lights.

SY -I can do lunch with you on Mon. Got an errand to run on Tues so maybe not

Wenyl - Will kepp you & baby in prayers. Results will be okie.

1. SY - JH one hour
9. Cephas - 10-20 mins depends on level of tiredness & sleep time

3. xjysg - No. Just feel the liquid flowing in and the part of body would be numbed thereafter. I kept shivering during the entire period though
4. Sysac - No pain. Feel cold liquid flowing in. No backache from Epi too!

humpty dumpty game : put the child sitting on the edge of the pool and try to get him to look at you ... recite or sing the humpty dumpty .... when it comes to the word "fall", get the child to fall in. If he doesn't want, help him along. he can fall into you first rather than the waters, but eventually he'll fall in on his own. More and more can be adapted to this, like when the child falls in, he'll start to swim or kick his way towards you ...

Mine turns and slips in carefully, so I'm still trying :> but it works on my #1 - he loves jumping into the waters. oh, but he has arm floats on.

.ky.

wenyl - i believe the test will turn out to be OK! so dun worry too much abt it. will keep you in my prayers.

1. SY - JH one hour
10. Caleb (SSF) - need to off all the lights and sleep beside him before he can sleep. fastest 10 mins...longest 45 mins.

3. xjysg - No. Just feel the liquid flowing in and the part of body would be numbed thereafter. I kept shivering during the entire period though
5. SSF - i started shivering badly throughout the whole process that the doc have to ask me not to move. the pain was bearable though.

mamachan - i kaypoh updated for you that hb will be swimming

1. Denmy
2. SY?
3. Flo
4. CL (Aden+hb swimming)
5. Cheng
7. MamaChan (Daren + hb swimming)
9. Maywong
10.Rena (Elijah + hb)

[Attention Moms keen in Hi-tea]
Celebrating Us Moms High-Tea Session
Date: 8th June, Friday afternoon (So that our dear Denmy can join in and before any other moms give birth)
Place: Marriot Hotel Cafe
Price: $40(We are planning a little take home, made-by-yourself-in-simple-steps-in-half-hour layout for you to frame)

Cost breakdown: Original price of High-tea at Marriot $38.46 nett, with HSBC card get 15% off on Fridays only (CL has got HSBC card), therefore, $32.70. Remaining of the money will go into the little something special for each individual that Rachel and I have planned to put together as a celebration of our woman/motherhood, as individuals.

Kindly confirm your attendance if you have taken/able to take leave that day. If yes, kindly transfer $40 to Chicken Little POSB Current account at 757-03942-7

No. Name Status Payment
1 MamaChan Confirm
2 Rachel
3 Chicken Little Should be ok
4 Rena
5 Cheng (Confirm)-Paid
6 SL TBC
7 Linda tjhin Infm in advance if cannot
8 mashybrainz Caeden will join if no help
9 ky + 1 boy FOC for kid
10 queen Subject to job hunt
11 Flo should be ok subject to biz trip
12 cookie (Confirm)
13 SY
14 Clare
15 wenyl TBC
16 Esh_mummy TBC
17 bblon TBC
18 Yuki (Confirm)
19 Cindy
20 Denmy (Confirm)-paid

Hi mummies who are attending, it'll be great if you can confirm your attendance by next Wednesday so that Rachel and I can prepare the surprise something-something for all of you. If by chance you've confirmed and paid and last minute cannot make it, we will get the cafe voucher for you to return with your friends/family for the sumptous hi-tea. This will help us plan in advance the booking with the cafe for a cozy corner as well as the simple logistics needed. TIA!

1. SY - JH one hour
10. Caleb (SSF) - need to off all the lights and sleep beside him before he can sleep. fastest 10 mins...longest 45 mins.
11. Edgar (Aileen) - 10 to 30min. avg 15min. when we switch off all the lights, he would say "Dark, Sleep" then lie down on the bed. we are still co-sleeping thou.

5. SSF - i started shivering badly throughout the whole process that the doc have to ask me not to move. the pain was bearable though.
6. Aileen - no pain. actually can't remember much of it already. side effects after that was shivering, but it was alright. nothing beats labour pain!!

Aquaducks,
Yah, ky and I were told that the regular instructor is a Filipino. Anyway, I have been bringing Ryan to the pool at my devt and he enjoys swimming. But what i really wan from all these classes is that he also interacts with other kids and sees them do all this kind of stuff so that he is brave enough to try. Also, I don't have much ideas so when i go for these classes and see them do this type of activities, i find it quite fun as well. More importantly, it just means very structured and consistent time spent with Ryan every week for me or HB.

1. SY - JH one hour
11. Edgar (Aileen) - 10 to 30min. avg 15min. when we switch off all the lights, he would say "Dark, Sleep" then lie down on the bed. we are still co-sleeping thou.
12. Celeste - range from 10min to an hour.. she will patrol the room before she pops onto the bed to sleep. Oni when she is deep in sleep, then can we tsf to her cot

6. Aileen - no pain. actually can't remember much of it already. side effects after that was shivering, but it was alright. nothing beats labour pain!!

Re: humpty dumpty game
When the instructor taught us that game, it was quite some time ago. It works according to the humpty dumpty nursery, except that when it comes to the "fall" part, she carried Charmaine into the water then swing her one round and put her back onto the edge again. After a few rounds, Charmaine loves this and can anticipate what's going to happen, so when the instructor goes "humpty dumpty had a great...." she would actually hold out her hands to be carried and swing around in the pool.

What else did the instructor teach us that day? It's mainly games to build up Charmaine's water confidence, like playing with balls in the water. She also taught Charmaine how to blow bubbles in the water. Although I don't quite understand the purpose? She also taught my hubby who's in the pool with Charmaine that day how to carry and support her in the pool so that she's comfortable, how to help her to get out of the pool. Generally it's really quite a good and useful session for us.

ky,
the instructor I had did the hi-5 then flip back thing too. She also did other things like bump into charmaine then duck into the water? More like "clowning" around in the pool?

1. SY - JH one hour
12. Celeste - range from 10min to an hour.. she will patrol the room before she pops onto the bed to sleep. Oni when she is deep in sleep, then can we tsf to her cot
13. charmaine - range from 5mins when she's really tired to 30 mins. Sad to say, I am still nursing her to sleep... BUT the good development is that recently when she's tired and wants to sleep, she would hold my hands and lead me to the bed and pat on the bed to tell me that she wants to go up the bed, then lie down and wait for me to nurse her...

1. SY - JH one hour
13. charmaine - range from 5mins when she's really tired to 30 mins. Sad to say, I am still nursing her to sleep... BUT the good development is that recently when she's tired and wants to sleep, she would hold my hands and lead me to the bed and pat on the bed to tell me that she wants to go up the bed, then lie down and wait for me to nurse her...
14. Megan (Tracy's) - immediately after her milk at 11pm.

7. Tracy - no pain. Taken when during labour pain. Side effect is shivering.

re: Chinese
I have bought a few Chinese cloth books for Charmaine which I would allow her to play with and read to her from. I don't expect her to be able to "read" Chinese but I want to expose her to the characters earlier so that she doesn't have a fear of them.

I loved the beauty of the Chinese language and I want Charmaine to be able to appreciate it too. I would be very sad if she grows up to be a "potato" like my hubby. My hubby's mastery of the chinese characters are terrible. He can't even read the headlines of the newspapers! Thankfully he can speak chinese, cantonese and teochew very well.

I also recite poetry or san zi jing to her just to get her to be used to the sounds, intonation and feel of the language. Very kiasu hor?

8. MamaChan - Felt a tingling sensation in the spine when epidural was injected, and almost immediately, can't feel the labour contractions. But at the end of it after waiting a few hours, got wheeled into OT for E C-sect under epidural.

SY, Mamachan, CL,
My gynae charges $770 for amnio test. If I opt for express service (same test), I need to top up another $300+. So hb & I decided tat with this extra amount, we can save & go for a short trip later.

SY,
Usually around 9+pm, we will dim the lights & turn on some soft music in the bedroom, feed E his milk & say a little prayer while he is drinking. Then he knows its abt time to hit the zzz land. Sometimes I will leave the room or hb takes over if E allows. Else, I will lay beside him & he will normally start tossing & turning while I either sing to him or pat pat him. In abt 10-15mins, he will normally fall asleep. So all in all, it usually takes abt 30mins. Sometimes if he is very tired, he will knock out the moment he finishes his milk. Then it will take only abt 15mins. Then I get to watch my Mars vs Venus (Ch 8 9pm) show a little longer. Hee. Different babies have different sleep habits.

sl
Any chinese children's vcd to share? I realize how ang moh pai I am when my hb and I went KTV with some friends, basically the chinese words stared at me and I stared back, only 2 hours into the session than I'm warmed up to read and decipher some chinese words. I think Daren will be very into English than Mandarin though I make it a point to speak cantonese to him at home and highly encouraged my MIL to do the same with him. Thought he'll pick up Mandarin in playgroup/nursery.

8. MamaChan - Felt a tingling sensation in the spine when epidural was injected, and almost immediately, can't feel the labour contractions. But at the end of it after waiting a few hours, got wheeled into OT for E C-sect under epidural.
9. Zhimin - Feel the liquid flowing in too but no pain. My side effect is itchy all over my body.

1. SY - JH one hour
15. Zhimin - She takes ave 30 minutes to 1 hour depends how tired she is.

RE: Chinese DVD

my dad got some dvds from china that are in Mandarin and English.. but the english is quite horrible altho the Mandarin in perfect... the cartoon are like disney cartoons are a bit distorted also but my girl seems to like it...

1. SY - JH one hour
15. Tabby - 15-30 min depending on how late and how tired she is.. rolls around next to me if she doesn't want to sleep... i'll grab her, hold her down and sing to distract her... then will transfer her to her shinemate mattress next to my bed...but nowadyas if she's tired she lie down on the bed and say sleep...

1. Denmy
2. SY?
3. Flo
4. CL (Aden+hb swimming)
5. Cheng (aidan+hb swiming)
7. MamaChan (Daren + hb swimming)
9. Maywong
10.Rena (Elijah + hb)

1. SY - JH one hour
15. Zhimin - She takes ave 30 minutes to 1 hour depends how tired she is.
16.Tabby - 15-30 min depending on how late and how tired she is.. rolls around next to me if she doesn't want to sleep... i'll grab her, hold her down and sing to distract her... then will transfer her to her shinemate mattress next to my bed...but nowadyas if she's tired she lie down on the bed and say sleep...

queen, mamapanda,
juz wondering which of you are closing ur VS spree soon. I'll order from whoever who's closing the spree sooner. Thanks!

Mamachan,

I didn't like the Chinese DVDs that I see in Singapore. Not interesting at all. Perhaps the Taiwanese versions might be better. I will look around in Shanghai if there are nice ones. Then I will buy extras if any mummies are keen.

re: KTV
ha haha... which reminds me of our experience during pre-baby days. We would go KTV with frens and I don't sing whereas my hubby loves to sing. My role at the KTV is to read the lines to my hubby! : )

SL,
same here, all the Chinese VCDs that I find in sg cannot make it. If you can find better ones in Shanghai please help me to get. My son is totally angmoh pai now!