(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

RE: Epidural & Backache Poll
Just curious to know whether having epidural really causes one to be more prone to backache? Mind doing a simple poll so we can all find out? Only those who have done epidural before need to fill this up. No.1 is an example of how you can fill it up.
(i didn't do epi but just wondering...)

1. Chicken little - no difference for both kids
2. Mamapanda - no pain / difference
3. Zhimin - not much difference (before pregnant already have backache on and off liao due to sitting posture?)

Sorry posted at the same time as mamapanda.

{ edited to include Zhimin and Rena }

Just curious to know whether having epidural really causes one to be more prone to backache? Mind doing a simple poll so we can all find out? Only those who have done epidural before need to fill this up. No.1 is an example of how you can fill it up.

3. Zhimin - not much difference (before pregnant already have backache on and off liao due to sitting posture?)
4. ky - plenty of difference... no backache. can walk after 6 hrs of rest (as in walk properly without aid and no need tire for buttock) :> I had both
5. rena - no pain but have very bad backache as i had the epidural needle in my spine for two days.. since then my back is giving me lots of problem

3. rena - no pain but have very bad backache as i had the epidural needle in my spine for two days.. since then my back is giving me lots of problem

4. mashybrainz - have, but think it's due to over-exerting myself from carrying my boy, and poor posture.

SSF
Hahaha, you can assure your hb that mine will be going in with Daren. I think mine will be more shy because of his tan lines, his forearm, neck and face are dark while the rest of his body are white! LIke wearing a white t-shirt =P

2. Zhimin - not much difference (before pregnant already have backache on and off liao due to sitting posture?)
3. MamaChan - no difference (only get backaches because I know I carry Daren via the sling quite often which strains my back)

. Chicken little - no difference for both kids
4. mashybrainz - have, but think it's due to over-exerting myself from carrying my boy, and poor posture.
5. rena - no pain but have very bad backache as i had the epidural needle in my spine for two days.. since then my back is giving me lots of problem
6. ky - plenty of difference... no backache. can walk after 6 hrs of rest (as in walk properly without aid and no need tire for buttock) :> I had both

4. ky - plenty of difference... no backache. can walk after 6 hrs of rest (as in walk properly without aid and no need tire for buttock) :> I had both
6. mashybrainz - have, but think it's due to over-exerting myself from carrying my boy, and poor posture.

7.MamaChan - Have occasional(only get backaches because I know I carry Daren via the sling quite often which strains my back)

6. mashybrainz - have, but think it's due to over-exerting myself from carrying my boy, and poor posture.

7.MamaChan - Have occasional(only get backaches because I know I carry Daren via the sling quite often which strains my back)
8. Sy - no difference. backache due to carrying JH and poor posture

re weekend playgroup
any mummies interested? but got to use another place cos hb not keen to have it at our place too often.

mummies going for JG next week
do we want to have lunch together either on Mon or Tue after the class? I m on leave those 2 days.

9. Tracy - Have, but suspect is due to "too high" heels. :p

RE: Epidural and Backache Poll

I didnt use epidural for my labor pain ...if mummies can not REN the pain...you may go for that injection somemore if your already have experience epidural on your first pregnancy.

I got a fren first pregnant inject epidural and 2nd pregnancy she planned not to inject that...but during her first smester labour pain...she really can not REN and asked for Epidural...

For my self..my labor pain is 17hrs and after 8 hrs pain,...I realise why a lot mummies want to have epidural.....I know the feeling but died died REN the pain til 17 hrs...

Here is some of the information regarding Epidural.. think might be help..

http://www.womens-health.co.uk/pain_manage.html

10. Aileen - No difference

11. COokie - no differnce

mamachan - hee...i think ur hb's tan is acceptable...its my hb's wobbly tummy that he is pai seh of. but i think he is that thick skin kind. haha..

12. SSF - b4 preggy with second one OK. these days keep having back ache..suspect due to moving of hse.

i just realised that my boy lost weight! He was 9.9kg just last week and when i weighted him just now, he was only 9.5kg! Is that normal? He was 9.5kg in March leh!

He's not sick or anything. Will running around more coz him to lose so much?

12. SSF - b4 preggy with second one OK. these days keep having back ache..suspect due to moving of hse.
13. Sept03- no difference.

mashy,
think if our boys are really active, i think they will probably lose some weight. Like us adults, if we are really active, we will lose weight too.
My boy also lost some of his chubbiness. But i think its because he grew taller cos his weight is still about the same, if not heavier.

Aqua Ducks:
can i check with the mummies who went for previous trial. What happens if our bb refused to go down to the water? Will the instructor like help us to bring the baby down?
Caleb is now in a stage whereby he dun dare to swim. Duno what happen. He used to enjoy the water so much..

RE: poll
Seems like most mummies not affected by epidural...so means no harm going for epidural for our no.2s or no.3s?

ky,
what do you mean by "plenty of difference...no backache"?? Haha. Sounds contradicting to me leh!

RE: Aquaducks
I'm interested! Pls keep me informed of the next one you all organizing yeah? Thanks!

14. Clare - Backache but believe due to poor posture when carrying/changing BB

In fact, i think I ache all over from shoulder to back to knee to feet due to Poor Posture at work/home and improper shoes.. =P

CL,aileen, Mashy
ok seems like everyone rushing back for lunch/work/nap. next time then

mashy
my boy's weight also goes up and down. think it's quite normal. he was 11kg the week before and only 10.7kg on sun. think moving ard a lot does make a difference.

15. AK - no difference

Aquaducks

Mummies who are keen to sign up, i think their classes are at 3 or 3.30 p.m. I emailed them and was asked to provide a mailing address for them to send me the form to sign up.

15. AK - no difference
16. Cindy - tail bone was sore for first 2 weeks after delivery but think it is due to the pushing impact. Then was ok until current pregnancy - mild lower back pain especially when driving.

4. ky - no difference (no backache. can walk after 6 hrs of rest)
15. AK - no difference
16. Cindy - tail bone was sore for first 2 weeks after delivery but think it is due to the pushing impact. Then was ok until current pregnancy - mild lower back pain especially when driving.

hi durianlover, change my poll liao ... ya, sounds contracdicting hor, but i was trying to say there's plenty of difference immediately after delivery. I find I don't have backpain coz I have a helper now. I used to have more when I was managing #1 alone.

.ky.

Yup, will be signing up. I was quoted the charges per month (think it is $90) so i guess it is month to month.

Here are the class timings:
*Suntec City*
> Wednesday 3pm
> Thursday 3pm
> Friday 3.30pm
> Saturday 3pm and 3.30pm
> Sunday 3pm and 3.30pm

Jamie
Aqua duck does not need u to push bb head under water. Although they suggest trying for bb who are ready. If you babe not ready then the parent just show them how to blow bubbles and probably amuse them..heehee...
I think it is a very fun session for babies who are ok with water. kae enjoy so much! when i review the photos and video cam she is smiling all the way.

I add on.

1. Chicken little - no difference for both kids. First child, deliverd at 10 am, walking from 1 pm Second child deliver at almost 4 pm, feel i can come down at 7 pm but nurse forbid so start walking around at 10 pm
15. AK - no difference

Sept bride03
Hmm.. on the day of Trial I believ melody din wanna go down to water too. I dun remember the instructor give any help except more toys to attract Mel - but u can confirm with Flo la.

Probably you can bring Caleb there earlier?... cos there are other kids playing in water so he might be itnerested to go down .
Also there are stairs by the pool where by bb can sit and get familiar with the enviornment first.

Of course the best thing is the trial is free so even if finally bb refuse to enter the pool, I guess at least no $$ is wasted

i miss quite alot of the posting previously. Are still still going on for the high tea to celebrate mother's day?
Would love the opportunity to meet up with you all!

Hi CL,

Can you believe i have not collect the rissotto from Zhimin? Everytime i remember it's during weekday whereby i stayed over at IL's place so cannot collect. Then come weekend, so busy at home and forget to contact Zhimin.... Forgetful me.........

Linda;
Wah, 17 hours!..I salute you.

Durianlover;
I suppose it's all about knowing your own limits/boundaries. My threshold for pain is quite high...when i got tattoo-ed and belly pierced, i managed to sit thru without flinching much ;P

I'm tempted to do it without pain relief this time ..hopefully labour is not 15 hours again.

1. Chicken little - no difference for both kids. First child, deliverd at 10 am, walking from 1 pm Second child deliver at almost 4 pm, feel i can come down at 7 pm but nurse forbid so start walking around at 10 pm
15. AK - no difference
17. CassCL - Yes, backache due to carrying Rory

SY,
haha...JW different. He will cry if i take off my specs. He will insist that i wear it back!

Queen,
Hmmm...that sounds like a fair bit of travelling...

Flo,
The doc says I better dun do coz I had some problems with my cornea earlier (dry cornea) till my vision was very blur. Can't even see the building name using one of my eyes. Very bad.

15. AK - no difference
18. SH - no difference

15. AK - no difference
18. SH - no difference
19. tabbiesus- no difference, backache occ now in 8th month of preg.. but not too bad

RE: Aquaducks: keen to sign
Aquaducks
1) AK
2) Clare
3)tabbiesus

what kind of toys do they use during the aqua ducks trial to attract the kids to go into water? maybe i can do the same with JH.

I will probably get hb to go into the waters with E. Recently, we tried asking him ... wanna go swimming, he will shake his head. So dunno how he will react on the day of the trial.

RE: Aquaduck Trial
U interested? Shall we organise another trial class in June?
1. Denmy
2. SY?
3. Flo
4. CL (Aden+hb swimming)
5. Cheng
6. SSF (Caleb+hb swimming)
7. MamaChan
8. wenyl (Ethan + hb swimming)
9. Maywong
10.Rena (Elijah + hb)

SY / Denmy,
The amnio results will only be ready in 3 weeks time. The test was done very quickly, like less than 15mins. Quite painful for me. Maybe my threshold of pain is lower than cookie's. Gynae keep telling me to open my eyes to see them draw out the fluid. I dreaded it cos could see them drawing out 2 large syringe & 1 small syringe of yellow fluid. I m glad its over. But now its a waiting game for hb & me. Sigh!

wenyl
the test results take so long to come out? dun worry too much. will keep u in my prayers. at least the test went smoothly.

just wan to find out. how long does your bb take to fall asleep at night? JH takes abt an hour to roll abt before he sleeps. is that the norm? wondering how to train him to sleep by himself in his cot if he needs so long to roll ard before sleeping

re time taken to fall asleep

1. SY - JH one hour

SY,
Yah. Was told betw 2-3 weeks cos they need 1 week to cultivate the cells. I din opt for express svc, which will take a week, cos tat will cost an additional of $300+. Today's bill is already $900+ for test & consultations.