(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mamapanda,
My collection point is in the North actually. Hmm... come to think of it, I think not many mummies here find it convenient to collect from the north area... Aiya, maybe I will start in marketplace instead. I have some regular spree buddies there.

Re. VS spree
Mummies, both Mamapanda and I are organising with different collection points. Just PM whomever you think it's more convenient to do your collection.

Yuki,
Haha... Ashley really knows how to say things that will melt your heart. So cute. Really, that's the joy of having children.

CL/SSF,
Aiya, now ba zi mei you yi pie. There is one more interview to go for should I get selected. But the interviewing manager was quite upfront about the nature of the job and all that. It's possible to come back from Batam within the day but will be tiring. He didn't make it sound like it's a nice place to go to. Germany trips are less often... maybe once in a few months.

RE. Dumex
The normal ones are already sweet enough. There was once I forgot to cap the portable milk powder container properly and ants were crawling all over the container.

JG Hol Prog - Yep, Supposed to have a schedule according to the lady who took down our names. Maybe they'll give out on the 1st day.

Yuki - Wow wee, so nice to have ye child wanting to make sandwich for you

Queen - Are u taking up the offer then?

mamachan/SSF/sysac/Yuki,
Wow you ladies are hard-core Peranakan-lovers! I also love the beaded shoes and the kebaya but don't own any of them. My grandma has got loads of them though! And my grandma is really a true-blue Peranakan...she used to be able to cook good Peranakan food when she was younger (she's now 90 already...too old to cook). And she's got super tiny feet. Think less than size 3. She's gotta buy shoes from kids' dept! Can u imagine!
SSF, i don't like buah-kelak leh!
Dunno how to appreciate the taste!

Yuki,
Oh my! Ashley is soooo sweet!!
And I think it's so sweet that she keeps calling you on your HP too!
Wow seems like she's got a perfectionist streak in her? I guess it's good to "train" her to be adaptable, like what you say...But that will take time. SO for now, i guess you just prepare her for her story-telling to build up her confidence? Then somewhere down the line teach her that she also needs to learn to adapt to circumstances?

sysac,
Haha Cephas really knows how to charm women!

RE: LASIK
Jerry Tan - I heard from my Acuvue division colleagues that he is very good, one of the pioneers in Lasik practice, but if I'm not wrong, he used to charge $6k when he was at Camden Medical. Probably with Intralase machine more costly now.

I did mine at TTS Eye Centre with Lee Hung Meng. Very satisfied. Cost about $4K 3 yrs ago. 3 of my other colleagues also went to him. I think it's the best present I gave myself that year.

RE: Diapers
Using many brands (very junkie)... MP, Pamper P, Nepia, Huggies and tried Drypers. Actually his 'butt condition' doesn;t seem to be affected by the diff brands but rather, his own sweat. His butt really sweats! And I think that is the cause of his rash cos they are around his waist-butt area.

Re; weight gain thus far
I think I am 31 weeks too. So far gained about 5.5kg and that's really little compared to my last pregnancy of 17kg in total. I had a lot more water retention the last time and weighed only 43kg before pregnancy.

Re: Backache
Tabbie, me backache and insomnia too, but sleep problem is that i will toss and turn for 2 hrs before conking out, then to be woken up intermittently throughout the night by Lucas' tossing and choot choot problem. I am actually quite worried about how my health is going to be this tme round, taking care of 2 is really tough..

BTW 2nd time mommies, all of you taking epidural this time? My mom was advising me not to as the 2 births are less than 2 yrs apart. I dunno leh, no confidence in my own pain threshold... scared panic and then affect the delivery.

Hi fellow diluted bibiks,

I am 1/2 peranakan, 1/2 Taiwanese. Dad's side is peranakan while mom was from Taiwan. I had a negative impression of my paternal grandma in the past cos she treated my mom quite badly (so my mom says...). Apparantly dislike my mom cos less than 1 year after she married my dad, my grandpa passed away. There was also the language barrier between them. But after so many years, things are better now. Too bad I don;t have any peranakan tresors cos not close to my grandma. But I do have a set of krosang for my wedding, and a pair of beaded shoes.

re: Aquduck
U interested? Shall we organise another trial class in June?
1. Denmy
2. SY?
3. Flo?
4. CL
5. Cheng
6. SSF
7. MamaChan
8. wenyl

SY, God's Child, Tracy, SSF, May, CL, Queen, Zhimin, Mamachan, Sysac, Clare,

Thanks for keeping us in ur prayers! ***Muak!***

re peranakans
wow a lot of peranakans here..ha i like the food and the beaded slippers....wanted to wear kebaya for wedding but i dun look very nice in it cos so small size...

wenyl
do update us after the test. when will u know the results?

Cindy
so funny your greeting "Hi fellow diluted bibiks" kekekeke, we sound so "Allo allo!" (with bibik accent). Think your paternal grandma was quite the superstitious type? And maybe she expected your dad to somehow marry someone else from the peranakan community? =) sorry, kpoh until here.

SSF
The aqua ducks trial is FOC. My hb asked me how come I didn't sign Daren up for the trial when I told him that some of the mummies were around the suntec area when he mentioned that he met clare and ashley. That surprised me that he so onz to ask.

Yuki
You actually look slim wor...where got tummy? Even then, you are a mum of 2! Maybe can consider wearing the kebaya? A nice set for dinners and formal events? Never fail to give that timeless look =) I think empire-cut dresses are in fashion again?

Fashionista moms, plz advice!

Re; kebaya

I like kebaya dress and I got myself a pairs of beaded slipped on my wedding

If next time got bibik costumes kebaya, pls let me knw

Wenyl,
Pray for you, god will bless you

Cindy,
I had epidural for both Keenan and Declan's birth. So far no prob. Moreover, my gynae did not advise me against having it becos both births were less than 2 years apart.

So who is organising it? I dun mind contacting Annie/ Anne. Can someone give me the contact details please? Thanks.

1. Denmy
2. SY?
3. Flo?
4. CL
5. Cheng
6. SSF
7. MamaChan

Baby size
My son is also small size. Just took his weight today when he had his chicken pox jab. He is only 9.4kg and 77cm in height. PD said that he is not gaining a lot of weight but she thinks it's ok cos he belongs to the small built type and he is still on EBM. BTw, any mummies here knows if chicken pox jab gives fever on the same day of the jab or after 2 weeks? My Pd said it's after 2 weeks and my son seems to be having low grade fever this evening...... abt 37.7 degrees. I gave him some panadol before he sleeps so hope he will be fine tomorrow.

PIGEON INSTANT BABY PORRIDGE
I wanted to get some of these for my son to try but couldn't find them. I tried Taka and Robinson but they don't have it there. Any mummies know where else can I buy them? Really wanted to see if he likes it cos I will be bringing him for a short trip to Desaru this June. So wanted to let him have them for his meals then I don't have to cook.

Diapers & Wipes
Joash is using EQ & Sealer as well as Drypantz. We used to be able to order from EQ for home delivery of the EQ & Sealer diapers but recently they stopped this service. So now got to buy from supermarket. I am using Angel wipes for his bum and I ordered directly from the supplier and they will send it to us. I let him try Drypantz cos it's been really hard for us to change him nowadays cos he cries and move a lot when we change him........ quite frustrating for us!

So who is organising it? I dun mind contacting Annie/ Anne. Can someone give me the contact details please? Thanks.

1. Denmy
2. SY?
3. Flo?
4. CL
5. Cheng
6. SSF
7. MamaChan
8. wenyl

Wenyl, how did the test go?

re: Peranakan
Talking about Peranakan, I actually ordered peranakan catering for Declan's full month celebration.

I think I am 1/8 Peranakan. My paternal grandpa is 1/2 according to my mum. My dad was born in Penang but I've never met my grandpa nor do I have any info on family history from my dad's side...my paternal grandma actually left her hb and brought my dad and his sis to S;pore... so sad right?

Wenyl
Dont worry, Im sure the test results will turn out well.

Sysac
Cephas is such a woman-killer

Denmy/Sysac
Your birthday yesterday? Happy belated birthday

SY
Mels very naughty. She likes to take off my specs since Im on them lately. When I try to stop her, shell grab and throw on the floor!

Queen
My fren used to work in I sales, said is quite pressurising.

KY
I think the "I" is part of the "S" u referring to before the spin off.

ClassCL
How are you? Have u gotten Rory all his jabs? Advisable to do it since hes now attending nursery

Zhimin
Blur me, got you mixed up. I thot the guideline is as long as its above 1,200 degree can claim medisave. The nurse told me I can claim about $800-$900 per eye. For me, my second eye op will be about 3-4 weeks after the first eye.

SH
What the reason for not being able to do? Cornea too thin? When did you do the test? Apparently intralase is suitable for ppl with thin cornea, maybe u can do the test again.

Tabbs
Whats intolerable anisometropia? Can PM me your research as well, a few of my colic are interested but not willing to pay a premium for Jerry Tan cos their degree is not so high.

Yes, the nurse told us need to go the op theatre twice for intralase, the cutting process is longer (thats why I need to go for dry run tom) and have to come out first to wait for the bubble to settle and go back in again for the actual lasik. Btw is wave-front guided better than standard lasik?

Mommies who are keen to find out the cost can refer to this report

http://www.moh.gov.sg/mohcorp/uploadedFiles/Publications/Information_Papers/2006/Lasik_Surgery_OP_-_Finala.pdf

Yuki
My nephew has the same problem too, very competitive (even when playing games). We thot is more becos hes a single child. But we make sure he doesnt win all the time and try to educate him that he cant win all the time. I think is slowing sinking into his mind. I notice this seems to be quite common among kids these days, my frens son too. Kids these days have a lot of show & tell in school. I guess overtime, they will just learn how to speak confidently in front of a crowd. BTW, Ashley is so sweet, really melts your heart right.

Re: Backache/Epidural

Cindy;
My mum said the same thing as your mum. I had epidural administered when I was delivering Rory...after being in labour for more than 8 hours with no progress, I was totally exhausted and succumbed to pain relief. But I want to do it without pain relief this time.

First pregnancy, i didn't experience much pain. But my lower back is aching quite badly this time round, maybe it's from carrying Rory. In fact I just went to see the osteopath for my lower back pain..i almost wanted to howl when she massaged my gluts.

Hi Denmy

Aquaducks contact number (6463 5554) in http://www.aquaducks.com.sg/ ... max # in a class is 6, so the group may have to split into 2.

Hi Yuki

Which year is Ashley born in? My #1 (born in 2003) sometimes have that problem ... in fact, I'm still figuring him out. I think it's quite common that a child can "perform" in front of parents but may not be willing to in front of others? Perhaps you can do more role-playing with her at home ... or pop in to class after lesson and get her to do it with the teacher and with you observing. Did you ask the teacher for the topic they talk in class and can she does it at home with you? Does the teacher prompt her if she's stuck and does she see improvement over time?

I read this recently
"Children receive liberal amounts of encouragement but moderate amounts of praise. Praise is like French fries kids want them but they don't need them. They need something a little more substantial than quick fix,
feel-good praise. They need something substantial like encouragement to help them grow and develop."

.ky.

I am interested.. count me in.

1. Denmy
2. SY?
3. Flo?
4. CL
5. Cheng
6. SSF
7. MamaChan
8. wenyl
9. Maywong

RE: Lasik
Flo, was telling my hubby about ur op cos thinking of asking him to sponsor. He was asking "So high degree can guarantee 100% clear vision after op?" Cos he know my degree is 700+ per eye. And he heard that only 500 and below will get clear vision. 500 and above might not.

Yuki,
Your gal is so sweet. You can try to build up her confidence like one of the mummies say, story telling. Or u can talk to the teacher to allow her to go in front of class when teacher need someone to show the class anything. And at home, when u ask her to do anything, eg: Puzzle, if she can't do it. Stop and tell her, it is ok..give urself more time and u can get it. Sometimes handicraft might help as well.

Aquaducks
Hee Hee, since split into 2 groups can put my name with those who daddy is swimming with kid otherwise my hb will feel out of place. Ha ha

May
The surgeon u choose will also affect the rate of success. More experienced ones are likely to yield better results but the trade off is higher cost. If you are really keen, you can do your pre-test first and the doctor will advise u on the possible risk, complications and rate of sucess. U can then make a decision after u weighing all the factors. Maybe Tabbs can help to recommend some better consultant for you.

I'm keen. Which part of June are you looking at? I think need to have 'secret training' for Mel so that she won't wail in the pool again.

RE: Aquduck
1. Denmy
2. SY?
3. Flo
4. CL
5. Cheng
6. SSF
7. MamaChan
8. wenyl
9. Maywong

Flo
I think i oso have to prepare Aden, he has not gone to a pool yet. Ha ha anyone staying in condo opening up for playgroup we can do water play ?

CL, I can do a small playgroup for swimming :> ... I've blog on Keith's aquaducks trial. U wanna read for details first *wink* but it's protected ...

.ky.

Thanks for your advice. The thing is ashley can talk anout many things at home, describe what happen in school etc. She's a very good story telling who tells us what happen in the day..... She has done alot of art and craft work at those shopping malls, sand art (pour sand into those sticker type).

ky - the teachers told me that they would not force her but encourage her and give her time to adapt. If she don't want, they try to encourage her to give a try but if she insist not to, then they try agan next time.

Flo - Ashley is not competitive in nature. She's more to peace loving, a phlegmatic.... Maybe that's why more laid back...."i don't know but never mind"....

Hi Sharon,

You may want to try ISetan for the istant porridge.

Hi Mamachan,

Thanks. Ha Ha maybe the tummy is hidden in some of the clothes i wear... but sure have. Ha Ha. Don't know if i have the courage to wear the kebaya for hubby's function.........

epidural
IMHO, I think instead of listening to mothers, MIL or any other non-professionals, why not seek professional opinions from your gynae to whether taking epidural for 2nd child (when child spacing is close) has any side or bad effects or not? They will be able to give u better advice than hearsays.

queen
HOw much does the shipping for your vic sec items usually cost? I'm trying to weigh if direct shipping will be cheaper or vpost shipping.

Ky
Then must wait for you to send invitation then can read lor. If invited I will sure read

Sharon
You can try Bugis baby session for the instant porridge, they have a good range of pigeon stuff. Isetan supermarket confirm have. If you try the cold storage at Taka, Jasons supermarket should have oso. Otherwise Mediya oso will have.

Epidural
I used it for both kids. Both I ordered before I experience pain since both are induced labour. Ya seek medical advice. I wanted to try without pain relief for first child, ask my gynae , he says dun bother. Ha ha so i quite enjoy the delivery and preggy. Painless process. First one being inexperience, I push for an hour in the end assisted delivery with forcep because no strength liao. The second one , got a good midwife who guided me very well, gynae came in to position the bed, within 10 mins, aden popped. I always believe in doctors. I strongly believe epidural should be ordered in advance if you realli wants. Because when in pain, you could be moving your body, the jab is on spine so have to be careful. Without too much pain, you will still guai guai listen to instruction and get the jab at ease

Re: Aquaducks
I'm interested in Aquaducks also. But can i know wat time the classes are? Need to see if the class clashes with Kyra's nap times. thx

Flo
JH also keeps taking off my specs. and he wants to wear them....

sysac, denmy
happy birthday!

re aquaducks
when are we going? i think i need to prepare JH too. if not he will only sit at the edge of the pool and refuse to go in...

CL
if you wan, i can do a playgroup at my swimming pool downstairs. but tink my place a bit too far.

durianlover - ya buah keluah is an acquired taste..not many ppl like it though. but i am glad my hb enjoys it so much. my previous bf when he sees those nuts soak in the basin, he will say I am not staying for dinner. wahhaa....

yuki - ashley is sooooo sweet. i yearn for caleb to start speaking this way to me.

cindy - Lee Hung Meng is also very popular and good. my colleagues also went to him. they say he is one of the best.

re: backache
cindy i am also experiencing backaches lately...not sure if its because i shifted to my new hm recently and was busy unpacking and packing. i had this aching feeling down my spine. not sure if its because of the epidural. for my second delivery, i am not gg to opt for epidural. i will most likely go for GA and do a c sect since my first one is also c sect. dun want to hurt my spine again with another jab of epidural. somehow, i think epidural is causing the frequent ache on my back.

mamachan - hb is also asking me when is the aquaducks trial. the last time i included my name in but i guess it was left out and then with caleb;s accident..it wasn;t appropriate. so now he is recovering, i thot to give them a break and enjoy some time in the trial class.

chicken_little - my hb will be swimming not me. are u joining this class? then my hb will not be pai seh coz all mummies. haha..

RE: Aquduck
1. Denmy
2. SY?
3. Flo
4. CL
5. Cheng
6. SSF (Caleb+hb swimming)
7. MamaChan
8. wenyl
9. Maywong

Mamapanda,
I have done both modes before for my previous VS sprees. I find that direct shipping is hassle free (but slower) but not necessary cheaper for mummies who order expensive items (I divide direct shipping charges by cost of items). For VPOST, if you stick to apparels only, it can be cheaper (like around ~S$40) cos the packaging is generally small. But I kena once that VS pack items (with shoes and bulky apparel) loosely in a big box and end up paying very high VPOST volumetric charges. But I feel VPOST is in a way fairer cos I divide the charges by how bulky each item it, regardless of the cost of the item. As spree organiser, you can also state your oen T&Cs. You can also divde the direct shipping cost by no. of items ordered. But I usually don't as the direct shipping charges are fixed according to price ranges.

RE: Aquaduck
1. Denmy
2. SY?
3. Flo
4. CL (Aden+hb swimming)
5. Cheng
6. SSF (Caleb+hb swimming)
7. MamaChan
8. wenyl
9. Maywong
10.Rena (Elijah + hb)

RE: Aquaduck
Can I confirm something before stating who is swimming?
1) How deep is the pool? (Cos I have phobia in swimming in pool that I cannot touch the floor..cos almost drown before)
2) Does we need to "push" the baby's head into the pool? (Cos Jamie is afraid of water entering her eyes.)

Sharon,

i bought the prorridge from Seiyu bugis, they not only have porridge but also other variety.. however 2 packs is enough for one meal.. also depend on how much your kid eats..you can give 2 different types... for one meal.

queen
u sound like a spree expert. everytime i wan to order something from overseas i always cannot figure out the shipping charges and give up..

re aquaduck
think i will be hte one swimming cos hb prob won't be bringing JH with me...

Aquaducks ...

timing : do choose late afternoon as the water would be warmer then.

Deep : Maybe 1.2m? Our head are safely above the water. And May, nope, they don't put the baby's head into the pool but they'll pour drips of water onto the head from above.

Oh, and it seems like daddies are in the water more than the mummies ...

Suggestions to get your child used to the water - splash and play with water during bathing. Let your child see that you go underwater and then come up smiling. To encourage your child to fall off the edge into the water, use "humpty dumpty". oh, and bring lots of toys including cups for pouring ... play by the pool and accidentally let one of the fav drift away, then scoop child up and try to catch it back.

This weekend is out for me leh .... maybe the comig vesak day we can do a playing session in a swimming pool?

.ky.

Cindy

i have no problems falling asleep, but i will wake up in the middle of the night some days and be wide awake..

I have every intention of having an epidural.. my epidural experience was very pleasant.. i had sufficient "pain" to push but not feel uncomfortable.. the actually pushing only took me 15 mins to deliver...Also lucky i had the epidural becos i had some complications post delivery and needed some "exploration" with large speculums and instruments... i would have fainted from pain if i didn't have the epidural...

RE: Aquaducks
I'm interested too! How much does the trial cost?
I hardly bring Janelle swimming...think i must also try to bring her to the pool more often if not she will get water fright!

CassCL,
WOw brave of you to want to try without pain relief this time round! All the best!

RE: Epidural & Backache Poll
Just curious to know whether having epidural really causes one to be more prone to backache? Mind doing a simple poll so we can all find out? Only those who have done epidural before need to fill this up. No.1 is an example of how you can fill it up.
(i didn't do epi but just wondering...)

1. xxxx - more backaches / no difference

Durianlover
Aquaducks's trial is free

Just curious to know whether having epidural really causes one to be more prone to backache? Mind doing a simple poll so we can all find out? Only those who have done epidural before need to fill this up. No.1 is an example of how you can fill it up.

1. Chicken little - no difference for both kids

Cindy
My lasik also done by Dr Lee Hung Ming from TTSH, but he has opened up his own clinic. My post lasik check out will be going to his clinic.

Flo
Dun worry about the mixed up
cos our baby girls' names are too close liao...

2. Mamapanda - no pain / difference

2. Zhimin - not much difference (before pregnant already have backache on and off liao due to sitting posture?)