(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF
HAha, ok lah, my late didn't make much peranakan food fare for the family. The only things she makes yearly without fail is the kuah lapis. So before CNY, 3-4 days before, the whole house will smell very buttery. Maybe we can have a bibik session one of these days....dress up in the kebayas and go for peranakan hi-tea! A colorful event! heeeee

Queen,
Good luck on your interview! When you ordering from VS? I'd like to get something too.

Sysac,
Happy bday to you too!!!

SY, Flo,
re: Aquduck
U interested? Shall we organise another trial class in June?
1. Denmy
2. SY?
3. Flo?

Preggers Mums
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>ADD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB's Name </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>11/5/07</TD><TD>21/4/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Declan </TD></TR><TR><TD>esther</TD><TD>5/7/07</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Leroy </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbiesus</TD><TD>11/7/07</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Thaddeus Luke </TD></TR><TR><TD>cindy</TD><TD>1/8/07</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD>8/8/07</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cass</TD><TD>14/8/07</TD><TD></TD><TD>girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>20/8/07</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Jadon </TD></TR><TR><TD>krissie</TD><TD>12/10/07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wenyl</TD><TD>8/11/07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aileen</TD><TD>13/11/07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mongs</TD><TD>25/12/07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Durianlover</TD><TD>8/1/08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

mamachan - haha bibik session sounds interesting..but i think ppl will be staring at us if we wear kebaya in orchard road. ppl might think we are nuts. hahaa...but anyway, let me deliver first coz i cannot fit into my sarong now and with the transparent top...its an ugly sight with a bulging tummy :p

Hi Mamachan,

Gheeee... so sorry abt the delay, as m now in the midst of preparing my upcoming exam on this friday n awaiting for my maid's arrival on this saturday noon, can i go over this saturday, at around 12pm? is it convenient for u?
thks... :p

denmy - thks for the pregger's list.

estherlee- 3kg is very little since ya due in early jul. did u check with your gynae if your wgt gain is OK. when is ur next checkup? normally gynae will keep track and inform you if bb is growing well. do take care!

Mongs
I will be using Intralase and Corneal Wavefront Q-Adjusted Lasik cos of my high degree. In fact only Jerry Tan Eye Surgery and TTHS offer Intralase in Singapore. Did you do both eyes at the same time?

Mashy
No choice lor cos mine short-sightedness is quite serious, so rather pay more than regret later if things go wrong. My bro did his with Jerry Tan 9 years ago, so far so good, no complaints at all. In fact, all his frens that went to him got perfect eyesight after the surgery. Of course is just statistics and not 100% guaranteed.

Mamachan/May
In most circumstances, you can't use medisave for lasik unless your degree is more than 1200 or the difference between the 2 eyes is more than 350. Sadly to say, I fall into both categories!

Rena
Yes personally I won't go overseas cos the follow up consultations are equally impt.

Denmy

I think can count CL and me in for the Aquaducks trial in June too. We missed out as our sons were sick.

1. Denmy
2. SY?
3. Flo?
4. CL
5. Cheng

babylon,
sorry i didn't meet CL for lunch today coz I was on halfday.

re lasik,
i did mine 3 years ago in KL. The doc was previously from SG. but went to KL to set up his own clinic. that's y I felt quite safe in his hands. hb did it as well. so far so good, both of us have perfect eye-sight now. the actual procedure is very fast. barely 10min. and immediately can see better already, just that eyes are watery and cloudy. i think it's the one of the greatest medical advancement.no more hassle of wearing contact lens and glasses!! =D

Denmy - i added my name down too

1. Denmy
2. SY?
3. Flo?
4. CL
5. Cheng
6. SSF

Thanks Cheng for helping me sign up for Aquaduck. Was having a good lunch with Flo and SL. SL says the instructor Anne or Annie is better with toddler so maybe can request for her during the trial.

Aileen, Cookie
No problem, we can always arrange again. Cookie ha ha then you can take your Ah Teng too.

Flo
I believe you are asking me (other mummies sometimes mix up with me and mongs also... our babies' name are close to each other) ;p I did both eyes at the same day, one after another. Whole process last abt 15 mins. My degree is high leh and I was hoping can pay by medisave but they told me I can't. So I use credit card interest free installment to settle the cost by 6 months span.

1. Denmy
2. SY?
3. Flo?
4. CL
5. Cheng
6. SSF
7. MamaChan

SSF
Yah, I think it will be a riot to wear the perenakan outfits. Unless we go to the areas that's more peranakan savvy? Heeee.
My hb asked me to sign Daren up for thr trial, since our boy loves the water so much.

babylon,
i think i pm-ed u yesterday already. but nevermind, i just pm-ed u my address again. let me know if u still don't get it, i will sms u instead.

Flo
yeah let us know how your op goes. if good maybe will consider doing cos it's so inconvenient to wear specs. JH makes me take it of every nigth when i put him to bed so sometimes cannot see well

SSF
i think the promo end liao. i remember she called me last week and said it's ending on fri

queen
yeah my company started telecommuting in april so can work once a week at home.

re aquaduck
definielty interested. mayeb will be able to help JH overcome his fear of swimming/.

Mamachan/SSF/Durianlover - Both my grandmothers wear the kebaya So I've inherited a pcs from them. But then I play cheat because I am very bad in using the korosan (the pins) so I sew buttons on my top & wear them! Haha, the new age Peranakan. I've 4 pairs of the beaded shoes that I wear on occasions.

I didn't make a kebaya for my wedding because I fell in love with the Vietnamese suit (Long top with slits at the side & the pants) then & went Arab Street & bought this nice gold brocade cloth & got a tailor to sew that as my top for the tea ceremony

RE: JG hol prog

i remembered them saying they'll be sending us more info nearer the dates. It's next week and i haven't received anything other than the receipt. HAve u gals received anything?

Hi Mamachan,

Gheeee... so sorry abt the delay, as m now in the midst of preparing my upcoming exam on this friday n awaiting for my maid's arrival on this saturday noon, can i go over this saturday, at around 12pm? is it convenient for u?
thks... :p

so sad mummy...just went to the toilet and plucked out 14 long white hair from the right side of my head. how come all in the same area? really ageing mann or grown more wiser with a son.

mamachan - wow is it tat good. must really go try out the aquaduck class. how much is the trial btw?

SY - oh too bad. thanks anyway for notifying me. in that case, i will just buy from the store.wow so nice to be able to telecommute. in fact my job also can coz basically if no meeting offsite, its simple just checking of emails. sigh...wish I can too so that at least i can put my precious time into good use.

sysac - yeah i agree the korosan is very tricky. i got my mum to put it on for me. till now i dun know how to use. haha..

RE: JG hol prog
Mashy - Me only recieved the receipt too. I dun remember them saying will send more info? I thought just appear at their doorstep will do?? hee hee...

re JG hol prog,
i oso didn't receive anything. btw just wondering who else is in the prog. now i know clare,mashy,tabbs and myself are in. i presume we are all in the same class??

Re. interview
The interview was all right... I have more reservations about the job Got to travel to Batam once a week and to Germany a few times a year.

ky,
The company starts with 'I'. The interviewer was very upfront and told me the job is pressurising.

Mamapanda,
Saw that you have put up a thread on the VS spree at the marketplace. At first I thought you wanted to do the spree for us Jan06 mummies only, so I thought I'l ldo it on marketplace. Do you mind if I organise one for Jan06 mummies then?

CL, Durianlover;

I'm doing fine, and everything is going well pregnancy-wise. It helps that the weather is warmer now, so I get out of the house more often.

Rory is in nursery 2 days a week and seems to enjoy it. It's fantastic cos i get some me-time. But downside is, the first few weeks in nursery, he has already caught the flu bug twice and conjunctivitis. Toddlers there seems to constantly have runny noses.

JG Hol prog
Me too, never receive anything. In the morning class, Sleepingdeer too. So glad aden is recovering otherwise cannot go

queen - sounds tiring to travel weekly to batam. and even if you can tahan that, do you have someone to look after your baby shld u go Germany? better to discuss with your hb and caregiver.

Queen
Batam is quite ok. If travel there then come back same day still ok. But the trip to Germany should be long hor, then you will sure miss Issac. Ha ha and the thing is you are having so much time with him now, it will be tough to adjust back to the hectic schedule

Cass

Good to let Rory join the class so he does not feel left out when his sister arrives. Hmm have to build up his immune system man.

RE: Lasik

I don't think u can get this deducted by medisave.. its really hard to get it considered a medical treatment... u have to have either intolerance to CL and intolerable anisometropia with glasses... very hard...

intralase is new but not necessarily a better technology than the normal lasik.. it just means that the flap is raised by a laser rather than a blade.. it actually takes longer to do than with a blade.. each has its own benefits...

wave front guided lasik just means that it tries to correct all the small spherical abberations.. this is quite technical.. like physics and how rays of light are reflected... if you have a lot of aberrations... ur quality of vision will not be good despite being able to 6/6

SSF, Mamachan, CL, May
i will pm u my thots/ details re: cost... kekeke.. seeing that i'm biased... cannot post here...
i go and do a bit of market research..

queen
Actually I'm opening it up to all cuz I don't think I'll hit enough number of orders here for the spree. Currently, i'm giving priority to Jan06 mummies. If u want to start a new spree here, its ok with me. Your collection point is somewhere in the east? My collection points are Hougang, Bt Panjang and NTU.

queen
think i know which company is that..the second letter is n right?

re JG
i dun remember them saying they will send anything to us leh

SSF
the telecommuting thing was started only recently. actually if u can work from home why not? save the time on travelling.

for the step 3, the medical hall here sells it at 17 bucks. very cheap. u wna me to help u get?

just now JH did something funny. he was napping and then i tot i heard a noise so i went to check on him. he had woke up and he was sitting and reading the charts that i pasted beside his bed...quite a funny sight. he was really quite too.

sy - so cheap? where in pasir ris? can pass me the addy? i can buy myself since i live in the east too
btw, is JH drinking the honey flavoured or normal kind?

Newly opened tin of Mamil Gold 900g (Honey flavored) to give away.
I tried to intro the Mamil Step 3 to D, but he doesn't quite like it and have given him about 4-5 feeds so far last week. Does anyone wants the opened tin for your toddler who is on Mamil Step 3? Kindly let me know k?

Hi Mamachan/SSF/Durianlover & Sysac

You all Baba too? I love kebaya and i worn it for my wedding. Simply love it! My dad love those wedding pics that i took wearing the kebaya. I still keep it but didn;t try it. Just last week i took my wedding evening gown and try it on, surprisingly i can still wear, just kind of tight at the hips and tummy!!! Ha Ha. Hubby's company have a formal function coming up so i was wondering what to wear....... Any mummies here can comment what fashion is in now? Love the opportunity to be able to dress up! Thinking of taking one day off to do my hair, make up, nail etc on that day - my long deserve break anyway! Ha ha. Told hubby to give me 1k for all these! Ha ha.

I went for parents meeting session for ashley last weekend. Her teachers commented that ashley set a high standard for herself and tend to be disappointed if she cannot meet her own expectations. I am very concerned cos she's only 3.5 years old! And to be frank, hubby and i never set any standards for her anyway. The teacher mentioned that she tend to shy away from those things that she is not confident about. One of which is 'theme talk' whereby they have to express themselves verbally about the topic. Hubby is very concerned and ask me to ask the teachers for the program so that we can prepare ashley, so that she has the confident to talk. But i beg different. i rather she learn to adapt accordingly rather than having to prepare her every time. Any comments?

SSF
it is at west plaza. just beside my place at whitewater. the name of the medical hall is ren tai tang

he drinks the normal flavored one. i dunno whether the honey one is too sweet.

yuki
dressing up sounds nice...i think the kebaya look is a timeless look...

there was this workshop that i went where they taught us a game to play to encourage creativity. not sure whether u can use it to help ashley for theme talk. the game is something like this. one person will give the title of the story and the second person will tell the story. then at certain words the first person will say 'expand' and the persn telling the story got to expand on that word. then after some time the first person will say continue and the second person will continue on the story. eg the title of the story is happy birthday to daddy. so the second person will come up with a story to fit the title. then at certain words maybe 'cake' the first person will interrupt and say expand and the second person will start to talk abt cake, can describe the cake etc.

SY - ok i know where it is. ya i am also thinking of buying the normal one that is not so sweet as i know from step 3 onwards, the milk powder already have sugar in it. ok will head down once my step 2 is finishing. Thanks so much!

Yuki
I think SSF/durianlover/sysac is more peranakan than me = I'm like 1/16 kekeke. As for formal dinners, paiseh, am not so much of a fashionista, but I know the little black dress will never go wrong =) Wear something that you feel most comfy and can carry it well. You make the dress look good and make it your fashion statement *wink*

Hi MamaChan,

Ha Ha. I am 1/8 peranakan. Ha Ha. I was my dream since young to wear kebaya. So my tea dress is actually the kebaya. No second thots about it.

Must find a dress to hide the tummy, fats etc.... and make my own fashion statement - tough job! Ha Ha.

Hi SY,

Thanks for the suggestions. Ashley is very talkative at home but maybe she can't really express herself much. For example they were given both cow milk and goat milk and ask to talk about the two kind of milk etc... Maybe her vocab is not strong enough to discuss about the differences....

Just to share this coversation between me and Ashley yesterday. She has memorised my mobile and has been calling me non stop........

Ashley: Mummy, what are you doing?
Me: Going back to office, after my lunch.
Ashley: Why can't you have lunch in your office?
Me: There's no food in my office.
Ashley: Well, you bring your own lunch lah!
Me: How about you prepare for me?
Ashley: ok, what would youlike to have?
Me: Sandwich would be good.
Ashely: What sandwich?
Me: Nutella
Ashley: Nutella? I can't hold a knife you know (need butter knife to spread nutella on the bread)
Me: So what can i have?
Ashley: (after pauing a while....) What about Ham sandwich mummy?

colleague was with me then and commented that's the joy of having children. Ha Ha

SSF
if u need me to help u buy, let me know.

Yuki
ashley so sweet. i guess different kids are strong in different areas so maybe no need to be too concerned. she sounds like she can hold a conversation well.