(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi esther

I'm feeling okie.. still at work so sometimes so busy no lunch or late lunch... very tired by evening.. i think insomnia is starting to set in too cos i keep waking up at 4 am and i can't sleep anymore..

Overall i actually put on 7+kg but if you take my prepreg weight 56kg and my weight now.. about 59 kg then my weight gain is little.. but i lost 3-4kg in the first trimester and was down to 52kg and one point...becos of the nausea

this time my baby is still small.. 3 weeks ago, baby only 1.3kg at about 31weeks... so doc says baby will only be 2.5kg plus...

But overall i feel better and fitter than my first pregnancy when i had to bed rest alot for preterm labour... I still carry tabby ALOT cos she is sticky glue..

My hubby also doesn't help me massage my back... i think its quite common for us to get back ache now...

Flo
WOW... that is quite expensive... but for peace of mind since you have faith in him.. i think its alright...Jerry Tan is very experienced.

Cityhall Lunch at Ah Teng Bakery Raffles Hotel
23 May , today at 11.50 am

1) Cookie
2) SL
3) Linda
4) Chicken Little
5) Krissie ( may join if can sneak out)
6) Flo ( may join if meeting ends early)
7) Rena ( subject to schedule)

Cookie,
So sorry - I forgot to bring the mess free set! Can I pass to you another day? Where's your place?

Flo,
Ya, our gals are so unladylike right? Mine has progressed to taking a stool then climb to the tabletop and walk on the tabletop! She can even climb up my mum's Osim massage chair by using the footstand of the massage chair. You really need to keep your eyes on her as long as she's awake.

re: lasik
seems like a lot of mummies keen on lasik. Me too! Same as May, my degrees on the high side too - am blind as a bat without my glasses.

Flo,
Can your feedback after yours? My colic did hers at the National Eye Centre but her eyes are very dry after that. Puts me off ...

Queen,

Flo
I did mine lasik last February too. My degrees are on the high side too... around 1200 per eye. So you able to pay the fees partially by medisave? I have to settle it by paying installments, too expensive if pay all at once, heartache.

So far my eyes still ok, although I believe not perfect eyesight but is as good as it. But very easy will feel strained if stare at the pc for too long.

Wenyl
All the best for your test!

Queen
All the best for your interview.

Baby Size
I think Clarisse is on the heavy side. She has reached 10kg long time ago, but haven't break the 11kg records. But to me, she doesn't look very chubby to me. I think she has inherited my gene which is heavy build
She is wearing drypers L size.

RE: Lasik
I've also been toying with the idea of Lasik for years but have not plucked up the courage to do it! Didn't even know that you had to wear specs for 2 weeks (is it??) before the op!

Cass,
How have you been? Have not heard from you in a long time!

tabbiesus, esther,
Take good care of yourselves and rest more! Sounds tough!

re: babies on dumex

any mummies recently place order? i tried to order step 3 but the lady told me no more promo for step 3? hmm..wat does that mean? no more buy 12 get 3 free promo? blur me forgot to ask her wat she mean. wanted to order first coz i know the delivery will take abt 3 weeks to arrive.

re: Baby Size
I think Charmaine hasn't reached the 10kg mark yet despite the amt she eats. I think it all goes to her tummy cos she looks like a pregnant baby!

RE: Lasik
Wow..now we are on the lasik topic.
Hmm..National Eye Centre does it cheaper. But heard recently there is this infection thing that they stopped operation for a few days right?

Zhimin,
Share the experience leh. How much in total did u pay? Can installment one ah..hmm..can consider hor.

Rena,
I have doubts about doing it in Thailand leh. How to do the pre-op and follow up after the op?

sl,
Hahaha Janelle can hi-5 with Charmaine!! She also looks like a pregnant baby! And many others have also teased her and commented on her round and protruding tummy. She also loves to lift up her T-shirt and "show off" her tummy whenever we ask her where her tummy is!

Mamapanda,
Re. VS spree...
It's ok...
I'll organise the spree in the marketplace then. Cos most of the time, I find it more convenient if mummies come and collect from me rather than me having to do the other way round.

RE. Dumex
Do you all think there is a difference in quality if bought from malaysia? I bought a few tins in KL cold storage, it only cost RM33+ for the 900g tin. That is about S$15. I bought the 1.8kg tin at RM67+, that makes S$30 compared to S$40 sold here.

CL,
The company is at Kallang Way, quite far form my place. Another minus point other than that it's a semicon company.

May,..

Gracie also got big bum and same with Jamie that she is wearing XL size mammy poko.

RE: TUMMY after give birth

In my hometown for Indonesia lady after give birth..they will tight they tummy with using a long white cloth for 30 days and 24hrs non stop ( During confinment day .
And the design of the cloth is something like baby TU TOU.

I did it as my mum instruction ..she MTM me the TU TO for my confinment.
I followed what she said and I really tight my tummy for 30 days at 24 hrs non stop but of course..I have to change the TU TO for every day if not must be very smelly.

It was really work a week after I give birth....and I tahan for 30 days lorrrrr

Mummies if your believe..you might try it after give birth.

After confinment day...mummy has to watch out for carbo intake and sugar too...try to loose your weight a month after your Confinment, as the fat and water in our body for 9 mths ++. If not after 1 yr...it really hard to loose weight...

Queen

Good luck for you...German MNC is good...my hb currently is with German MNC. Performance bonus is 2 mths of your salary or 3 mths. Medical benefit, allowance also very good. For business trip ...SIA is the only airlines their used....

queen - i don;t know abt the milk quality. but if u look closely at those sold here. it states made in NZ and packed in malaysia. Wat does those tins in malaysia state? somehow the packaging also look different. i dun dare to try lor..coz hb says..lets not risk for bb's sake. at least in sgp, he knows there are proper QA done. but i have frds who also stock up from malaysia and so far no issue also.

Victoria Secrets Spree
So this round I do the Victoria Secrets spree ok? Mummies who are intersted, please PM me your orders before friday 25th May 10am. Queen, you can email or PM me the orders of whichever mummy who has already PMd you.

Flo,
So good....the doc says i cannot do lasik. :-(

SY,
JW dun mind trying new food but if not nice, he won't give face either. He will push away and clamp his mouth shut after a few mouthful.

SSF,
OK... I checked the tin again. It says 'Susu Dari NZ' which means 'milk from NZ' and 'Dipekkan di Malaysia' which probably means packed in malaysia or something. The nutrition table looks quite similar, with all the essential nutrients displayed... So I think quite safe? It's really so much cheaper to buy from Malaysia!

Mamapanda,
So far, haven't received any orders from the mummies here yet.

May
I did mine lasik at TTSH cos of the newest technology they have which is intralase. It is a bladeless technology which means even the cut on the cornea is done by laser which is more precise. At that point of time I only know TTSH offer that. My friend's friends also did theirs in TTSH. And the ops is both eyes done on the same day.

Cos of my high degree and high astig, the cost to do the lasik is the most expensive one, which is $2280 per eye. This cost does not include the eye drop. The eye drop cost abt $30 - $40+.

The pre lasik test by senior consultant is ard $200. After lasik need to go back for post check up (one day after, one week after then follow by 3 months, 6 months and per year if I din remember wrongly). Each post check up is abt $60+-.

My surgeon told me the result is all depends on individual, the most important is the care after lasik. I follow the rules of "kiasu kiasee" so really follow the rules as close as I can like no make up after that, take extra care when bathing.

So far no regrets yet. I do not need to drip the eye drop after I finished the one given by hospital.

Need to take off the contact lens one week before the pre test and operations. But I took it out longer than one week.

But due to my high degree and astig, the surgeon did tell me beforehand maybe not able to go back to perfect eyesight. It will probably still ard 100+ or less than 100. Last check up my eyesight is almost 6/6, the surgeon said he very happy of my progress already. And he did tell me I may experience halos and glares. For lower degree, these kind of side effects are not permanent, but for my case it is possible permanent. So far I still see halos at night. But so far din really bother me much.

I think the pre lasik test is very important. Some ppl may not be suitable to do it also cos cornea too thin. The surgeon should be able to give you comprehensive discussion on your eye condition and the success rate to go back to perfect eyesight and then you can decide whether to proceed.

After post ops care also very important.

May
actually not infection.. just some sort of inflammation and SNEC stopped the surgery for a while to make sure nothing was wrong.. they've restarted LASIK already.. no problems...

I think the cost of LASIK depends on who does it for you, if you want a consultant, then cheaper, if you choose a senior consultant then more expensive..

I wish i could say more about lasik but scared this is public forum so not nice for me to comment...

I'm also blind as a bat... 950 degrees!! I would love to go for lasik considering how vain i am but i really dare not... so its just glasses and contacts for me...

re: Baby Size
Clarisse also has a big tummy. During Chinese New Year I let her wear a Cheong Sam which my friend bought for her, the tummy is so obvious that everyone commented her tummy very big!

queen
Ok. I'll start my individual vic secret spree and see how ba. Seems like there's already a few going on in marketplace.

queen - ya then it shld be OK la. else i think all the babies on dumex milk in malaysia will already start complaining if there is problem.

mamapanda
Can i order from u since u stay nearer to me.. sorry queen.. after that time i kena lost driving to ur place.. i got phobia liao.. hahaha...
I try and pm u soon...

Queen, I was going to ask if the German MNC starts with "S" ... seems like so. Hear the company's quite stressful though pays well. good luck!

.ky.

small babies : seems like a lot of small babies here ... I don't worry much but just that my #1 is easily over 10kg. In fact, at the same age, he was over 11kg.... but he's lost all the baby fat due to a lot of physical exercise. And #2 is more choosy over food so I guess I have to do a lot of food "forcing"

Mamapanda, thx, will get "fatty" chicken for him as well as cheese.

I'd like to do a simple survey...
Would you buy chinese parenting books, eg on Right Brain, and activity books that are cheaper than what you can find in the market, but all is written in chinese? Do you know what's right brain training and are you doing it?

.ky.

Cityhall Lunch at Ah Teng Bakery Raffles Hotel
23 May , today Reschedule to 12:15

1) Cookie ( held up by last min meeting cannot join)
2) SL
3) Linda
4) Chicken Little
5) Krissie ( overloaded cannot join)
6) Flo ( may join if next meeting postpone)
7) Rena ( Cannot join)

Morning Mummies
So many posts to catch up on. Haha, Lasik topic? I've also been thinking of it since it came out in Singapore 7 years ago. But then too ex, was about $2.5 per eye! My close friend recently did hers at NUH by the senior consultant and right now she has perfect eyesight, sharper than those who never needed eye prescriptions and she's raving about it. Now am considering to get a pre-lasik check to see if I'm suitable or not.

Rena
I think lasik op in Thailand though might be cheap, but I think you better not risk it. Coz after all, what about the post op checks and follow up? What happens if there's eye infection and all that? It'll be even more costly for the local eye doctors to follow up on the job not done by them. Reputable hospital or not, I think it's safer to do it back in Singapore bah.

Wenyl
Try to relax and don't think too much ok? Keeping you in prayers.

Queen
All the best for your interview!

ky - i won't buy anythg in chinese coz my chinese is very ko yak and my mum dun even understand a word of chinese. i will leave the task of speaking mandarin to my ILs. told them to speak to him in mandarin and watever dialect. while my mum will teach on English and Malay. Cos my mum is a pernankan. at home, we also speak English only. i can foresee Caleb will have difficulty with mandarin in future.

Flo

wah, The op is so ex. But I know this Jerry Tan did for many of the MediaCorp artistes and the rich pp in Singapore lor.

ky

hahaha, i think many pp can't read chinese lah, let alone buy chinese books. That day my hb tried to read a chinese book to my son, i wanna laugh. Coz it was x x x mao x x x gou. hahaha! end up i've to take over the reading.

I might consider buying, but will depend on whether it's traditional or simplified characters. I prefer simplified since that is what he will learn in the future altho i can read traditional chars too.

mamachan
RE: LASIK
if u go to NUH.. i will speak to the senior consultant for you.. he's my good friend.. i will ask him to take good care of you.. he's quite good... some more my hubby is there.. i'll tell him to make sure u get VIP treatment..

ya likewise i won;t let my ILs read english to him lor. tat day he was pointing to this ABC chart and he taught Caleb...O for Octopus = Sotong??!??! then i turned to hb shaking my head whispering ...they are NOT the same! hb just laughed away.

tabbiesus
wow you make me tempted to go NUH liao. ha ha i think NUH should be cheaper than Dr Gerard CHuah. You think I should go to Dr Chuah or there are better recommendation

SSF,
My mum also Peranakan and can't speak Chinese! Only English & Malay. Is your mum from Malacca too?

ky,
What is right brain training? No idea how it works!

tabbiesus
Onz! Will let you know when I decide to go lah. Hahaha, VIP treatment...got VIP price? =P but I doubt NUS staff will have special price, only NUH staff I think. Unless I get some special written letter by a doctor or whatever like Flo, can claim by Medisave? heeeee.

chillies
Oh dear...it's ok, I can empathize with you, kena asked so many times if I'm preggers with #2, I will just curtly say, "Nope, it's my mummy tummy and love handles....can you handle it?" kekeke, they confirm will feel embarrassed for asking after that!

Wenyl - Sure everything will turn out alright. Don't be too stressed out. Take care

Flo - Wow wee, so brave! I have no guts to go for lasik

SSF/Durianlover - My dad's Peranakan. That'y I love the kebaya & beaded shoes

Something to share:

My mum was so bought over by Cephas last evening. He was dressed up & was sitting on the sofa while waiting for my mum to come out of the room. When she walked out in her new outfit, my dear son exclaimed "Wow..." She kept telling me abt it over dinner

Mashybrainz - Yes, this boy can really buy people's hearts. Whenever he see my mum, he will go "Mama, muacccckkkk..." She's totally smitten with him

Sysac
Cephas is so charming!!! Hahaha, am sure he will have his way with the ladies when he grows up *winks* Can tell why your mom is smitten with him.

Valerie
I started kae with L size EQdry cos she was on nepia L and it fit ok.. tho waist a bit loose , we have to stick beyond the 1 mark.
Ya Giant deal very good.. esp if buy 2 pack or more got additional 5%!! I stock up 6 pack :p

Usually I buy from medical hall $9.5 for 48 pc so suprise giant even cheaper.

CL and lunch partner
Sorry have to back out last min... have to attend a last min meeting and turn out.. it got nothing to do with me.

SL
it's ok.. I couldn't join the lunch anyway. If you dun mind, we can always meet again at Ah teng :p cos I need to meet CL to pick up my stuff.
U Work near city hall right?

Re: Lasik
I think it will be wonderful to wake up in the morning and have clear vision without putting on glasses or contact lense.
My degree not very high.. so I suppose not so "worth it" to do it now :p

durianlover - my mum is not from malacca but she got lots of relatives in malacca....cousins...aunties...etc. ya same lor..my mum watch suria ch one. i told her if ppl stand outside our hse will think its a malay family staying inside. haha..she pretty hard core...even read malay magazine. muahhaa...

sysac - yeah i wore my kebaya during my morning tea ceremony and wedding. i didnt even wear a kua. haha.. yeah love those beaded shoes..my mum has a few too ..very antique but last time ppl feet all so small like size 3-4 so i cannot wear also. wow ur boy certainly learn how to please woman at such young age! haha...

Tabbisus,
How do I go about arranging a Pre Lasik Test and consultation at NUH? I will need it to be deducted from CPF. So what should I do ah? Am clueless on this. Will it be cheaper to go SNEC or NUH? Not sure if it is ok for u to reply me here, else PM me okie?

SSF/durianlover/sysac
Hahaha, my late po-po is half peranakan, considered anot? heeee, but I absolutely love the kebaya and beaded shoes! SSF, I wore the kebaya for my ROM =) but for the actual day tea ceremony, it's the kua.

mamachan/sysac/durianlover - haha seems like we do have a fair bit of pernankan ppl here. i love the clothings, shoes and best of all the FOOD! i actually itchy backside...ask my mum to teach me how to cook buak keluak(those black nuts) and after the massive effort, i told her i give up! so much work that is require...to crack those nuts, get the stuffs out, pound it, mix with prawn and pork and stuff it back into the small hole, and then cook it together with the chicken, and rempah(blended ingredients). i tell her next time call me when it;s ready to eat. kekeke...

Lasik
Did mine a couple of years back at SNEC. No regrets as my mophia is quite severe :> Nowadays, so relaxed without the hassle of contact lens or specs!

Re Lasik
Wow this seems to be the hot topic... besides it being very expensive, I also got no courage to go, always fear WHAT IF I blink/move my eyeball at the crucial moment?? Many have assured me that won't happen but still.. WHAT IF??? Scaryy... Actually, I quite like wearing spectacles... esp when i have a huge pimple I always feel more camouflaged behind the specs hahaha... and 1 of my ideal husband image actually includes wearing specs heehee... Am i werid or what?? =P