(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rena,
I PM u the number to the department can? I'm leaving office soon and my hp is spoilt. Just need to tell them ur name and contact number to reserve.

car freak
mine is not so much into accessories like woofer and ICE but he goes for the bigger things to "improve" car performance like rims, tyres, strut-bars and roll bars. Ask him abt any car he can tell u alot of info. He knows cars so well, u can just point to any car on the road and he can tell u which model, which yr production, wad capacity, wad tyres & wad rims the car using, etc. He's a walking car dictionary. Haha.

Mamapanda
Yes my man too. On the very first day when he collect the car, he drove it to change to sport rim. He will add in dunno what broquent for some saving on fuel consumption. The dunno what filter to increase performance. Dun understanding and cannot be bother.

Denmy,
Hahaha, talk about high-tea...I managed to dig up the list from the archives

Celebrating Us Moms High-Tea Session
Date: 8th June, Friday afternoon (So that our dear Denmy can join in and before any other moms give birth)
Place: Marriot Hotel Cafe
Price: $40(We are planning a little take home, made-by-yourself-in-simple-steps-in-half-hour layout for you to frame)

Cost breakdown: Original price of High-tea at Marriot $38.46 nett, with HSBC card get 15% off on Fridays only (CL has got HSBC card), therefore, $32.70. Remaining of the money will go into the little something special for each individual that Rachel and I have planned to put together as a celebration of our woman/motherhood, as individuals.

Kindly confirm your attendance if you have taken/able to take leave that day

1) MamaChan (Confirm)
2) Rachel
3) Chicken Little - ok at the moment hope no last min deadline
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
7) Linda tjhin( will let your know in advance if I can't make it )
8) mashybrainz (will be bringing caeden unless can find help)
9) ky + 1 boy (your boy is FOC as they don't charge for 4 year olds)
10) queen (should be ok...unless I found a job by then)
11) Flo (should be ok unless biz trip got extended)
12) cookie (confirm)
13) SY
14) Clare
15) wenyl (TBC)
16) Esh_mummy (TBC)
17) bblon (TBC)
18) Yuki
19) Cindy (TBC)
20) Denmy (Confirm)
21)
22)
23)
24)
25)

Kindly confirm so that Chicken Little can help to collect payment in advance so that Rachel and myself can prepare the materials for the little "something-something" for all you ladies to take home and frame up! Clare, Rachel and myself got really excited as we finalized on the end-product. Heeeee.

I also need to make booking so that they can set aside a cosy corner for all of us =)

I hope I did not miss out anyone else in the list. If I did, plz forgive me.

mamapanda,
wah...indeed. My not so expert as yours. He did discuss abt the strut-bar etc...I'll usually finish off the sentence with "How much?" :p

RE : Tefal Set
Centrepoint told me $59.90.

re tefal set
it is selling 59.90 today. i saw it just now. i bought a megabloks sintead.

so many posts to catch up!

re finance
me and hb have joint and separate acct. he manages the joint acct but i also dun check.

Celebrating Us Moms High-Tea Session
Date: 8th June, Friday afternoon (So that our dear Denmy can join in and before any other moms give birth)
Place: Marriot Hotel Cafe
Price: $40(We are planning a little take home, made-by-yourself-in-simple-steps-in-half-hour layout for you to frame)

Cost breakdown: Original price of High-tea at Marriot $38.46 nett, with HSBC card get 15% off on Fridays only (CL has got HSBC card), therefore, $32.70. Remaining of the money will go into the little something special for each individual that Rachel and I have planned to put together as a celebration of our woman/motherhood, as individuals.

Kindly confirm your attendance if you have taken/able to take leave that day

1) MamaChan (Confirm)
2) Rachel
3) Chicken Little - ok at the moment hope no last min deadline
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
7) Linda tjhin( will let your know in advance if I can't make it )
8) mashybrainz (will be bringing caeden unless can find help)
9) ky + 1 boy (your boy is FOC as they don't charge for 4 year olds)
10) queen (should be ok...unless I found a job by then)
11) Flo (should be ok unless biz trip got extended)
12) cookie (confirm)
13) SY
14) Clare
15) wenyl (TBC)
16) Esh_mummy (TBC)
17) bblon (TBC)
18) Yuki
19) Cindy (TBC)
20) Denmy (Confirm)
21)
22)
23)
24)
25)

i haven taken leave yet but shd be ok. i also have HSBC card so if need my help let me know.

Hi hi

too many posts ... anyway, I was at Robinson just now ... and saw the Tefal set at $59.90. So apparently they've adjusted the price upwards after the members sale is over yesterday .... btw, it's not as big as some of the others I've seen. Maybe 40cm in height? I'm giving a rough est based on what I see. So this might not last very long ... the one I have is about 1m tall (another estimate) and my 4-yr old is still playing with it. Don't see anyone buying so should not be that difficult to get, but call to reserve (have done that before and Robinson is very helpful). People are getting pans and bedsheets it seems.

Rachel, know your dilemma in deciding if you should start on MLM... I know a mother who I've shared quite aplenty with, she's quitted her good-pay job to be at home with 3 kids, but she's very sure that she'll not be comfortable with being 100% SAHM and hence she's into MLM, land-banking, teaching PT, etc. Let some have said, just be sure of how much investment you have to put in initially. My bro had went into MLM before and I guess he didn't do very well (he didn't reveal much) but after a couple of months, he gave up and I think he's stuck with quite a fair bit of stock... I did try insurance a long long time ago too but like mamapanda, I didn't make it coz I know that I'm not a salesperson (but like her, I believe very strongly in insurance). Do see if you can try out before you plunge in (if that's possible) ... all the best!

.ky.

Re:finances
My Hb and I also have "joint" account except that the joint account is actually under my name(solely). So i wuld think perhaps my HB will be the one who should worry more. Of course I have good integrity. As the controller.. hee I also decide what should charge to the common account what should not.

Seriously talking about finances.. hmm. with #2 coming along, the option of getting maid or full time child care(both abt same cost). We realise we really have to spend wisely otherwise we might have problem maintaining. This is also one of the reason, at least for now I will not be able to be SAHM. There just too much committment and these days when I spend more on kae, HB will grumble and black face. I know his concern, but just like SL mentioned... since bb come along.. I dun spend much on myself, but when I see nice stuff for kae or even for #2... I really feel like I should get for her.

Talking about the kitchen set... i wanted to get 1 for kae when #2 come along and tell her it's from didi.

Bank accts : For secuity reason, we should get "joint" acct .... if you don't have a will, you can still withdraw from joint accts. but "single" acct will be stuck, and will take 6 months even with a will to resolve.

.ky.

Yup i think joint account is good. Aiyoh, the bank wont freeze till you submit the death cert. Ha ha immediately use internet banking to transfer all to your individual account lor.

Denmy,
I agree with the rest of the mummies. Your confinement lady a bit too much leh. I thought they are supposed to take care of everything relating to you & Declan.

Demny
wow angry for you ley... your CL really one kind.
I'm sure you pay her the market price and not less just ebcos she cook rite.
Sometimes ...man really very weak in this area hor. haizz

Don't we all just put our children first? I ponder for long even if i am to buy a $10 top, whether i have a similar piece...... but the minute i spot something nice for ashley/megan and cost $20 plus, i won;t hesitate....... I am sure all of you are like me. Ha Ha. SO i can understand what cookie and sl said. My hubby, being the generous guy will wonder if i can;t afford the $10..... He would think - just buy since only $10. I waste more money (time = money) by thinking so long whetehr to buy the $10 top...........

Re: Joint acc
To be fair to my HB.. think I should ask to add his name in the "joint" account.
I will make sure to ask.. the concern here.. in case 1 decrease and the other draw the money out still.

Yuki
totally agree. now everything I see for myself I must consider and finally still dun buy. I'm really not like this before bb arrive.
Hahaha having children really change my life..heehee

Re Tefal Kitchen Set

MamaPanda
I just called Robinson's to reserve one but they told me its $59.90 leh not $39.90. So i did not reserve. How come you got it at $39.90 huh?? =(

Denmy, your CL very hao ming wor. If she only does the cooking, isn't it cheaper to just order tingkat for confinement food? Heard it's quite yummy too. But anyway, since she's leaving already, try to forget it bah. Don't let it depress you since your hands are already tied with 3 boys.

re: SAHM
Mummies, looks like this the 2nd hottest topic on our thread after ILs.

Hb and I still can get by on his income because I'm not a spender, only spends on what is necessary. There are plenty of hand-me-down clothes and toys too, and I don't believe in having too much toys for Kirsten, unless it's something she will enjoy and learn from it. But Hb still urge me to work for the sake of my sanity. He feels I will get cut off from the world and become too occupied with baby all the time. Whether it's admin or charity work, just go and work. I, on the other hand, will only want to work if it relates to my profession. Otherwise, like no point working leh... Dilemma also...

Rachel, actually I tried it out once together with hubby, like 4 years ago. It really takes a lot of time initially. A lot of time to attend seminars, learn from upstream, etc. And in the end, always lack of sleep since a lot of events are held at night or weekends to accomodate the working people. I'm also one who lack courage to approach friends, so end up quitting it.Now, with a toddler, will be even more tiring for you. A lot of time management will be needed should you decide to go for it, but if you truly believe in the product and have support from your hb and mum, it will be easier. One more thing, lower your expectations in the beginning, otherwise, you will be discouraged easily. All the best!

Yuki,
Thanks for the encourangement. I feel much better now.

Mamachan,
re: Hi-Tea
So we transfer $$ to CL?

CL,
kk set. I'll bring my manual pump on that day and you can show me how to do it with the bra. TIA first!

re; Declan's full month
So I'll be expecting:
1. Rena & family
2. Cookie & fam
3. Wenyl & fam

Have I missed out anyone else? I'll email you the address.

MamaPanda, who can forget the photo you took of your frozen EBM? Its like every breastfeeding mum's dream come true!

MamaPanda, durianlover, chillies, I always tell my hb, our generation is the 'ku ming' one. Have to take care of our parents/ILs' retirement and debts, and meanwhile, also have to plan for our own retirement so we don't become a liability to our children. Hb and I won't expect to get a single cent from children after they start to work. If we do get any, it's considered a bonus!

tefal set
I went down to Robinson's to collect the kitchen set and was told by the cashier that its 59.90. So angry. I called up in the afternoon and the stupid salesgirl told me its 39.90. Made me make a wasted trip down and so jam somemore. Stuck in the stupid jam for more than 30min.

RE: Bumwear
Mummies, I am getting Bumwear Training Pants for Jamie, think it is time to toilet train her. Will be getting the promo that they offered. Any mummies interested? I will try to negotiate for further discount if possible.

Training Pants: http://www.bumwear.com/shopping/clothdiaper/toilet-training.html
Diaper Package: http://www.bumwear.com/shopping/clothdiaper/diaper-buynow.html#anchor

Please state if u are interested, we can combine orders if u want to get 1 or 2 pants to try out:

Name/No. of Pants/No. of Inserts
================================
1) Maywong / 4 pants / 10 inserts (package)

may/CL/ssf/sy/mashy/aileen/mamapanda/sl/durianlover/wenyl/clare/ky/valerie

thank you all for your concern and advise. greatly appreciated. thanks.

it do helps me have a clearer mind on what i want to do and hope to achieve. i understand that having a good talk with hb is a must thingy but the support is even more important. he is not against it, or rather should i say he offer to give me molar support. which i find is not enough. our energy level is different and this make things worse... he wont understand what i will be going through and with me alone fighting the battle, it just give me cold feet.

i fully understand the initial months of time and effort i need to throw it. am aware too my evenings and weekends could be occupied with appointments, but i have my daytime with my boy. there isnt such thing as quick $. many dont perserve enough to wait for the seed grow. many just want to do selling. i want to share with others whom i care for how to stay healthier, yet at the same time have a biz of my own. no boss to report to and flexi hours.

currently my family is on supplement, i got my parent to start taking too. death of my relatives and friend had make me think, its now, right now to start taking care of our health. if we/parent/love ones were to fall sick, all our hard earned money wont be enough. not to mention the suffering.

has anyone of you forsee yourself in your career 10 or 20 years down the road?

there are many questions in my head now, really at a major crossroad in my life.

CL
are you, aden and char better now? speedy recovery to you guys!

re: Tefal Kitchen Set
i was at the robinson memeber sale that i got to see the set myslef. although the price was attractive @ 39.90, find that it is kind of low like what KY mentioned. end up i did not buy. i actually place the set on the floor and imagine dylan using it, he confirm has to bend his back quite abit in order to do his 'cooking' and 'washing' =p

clare
hee, i like your words. "just GO!" do gave me a push =) all the best in your biz too!

mashy
you did spot on on some of my worries. hopefully i can pull through.

re: good facial/cosmetic product
btw, i had learnt quite a few tips on how to identify good facial/cosmetic product. branded does not mean good woh, these include brands like Lan****, Lor***, Cli***** and others. can shock you. hee

Rachel
Actually not all MLM are bad, just that the reputation was spoilt by a number of black sheeps. There are successful MLMs that have been around for a long while eg Amway, Nuskin, Tupperware etc. Even insurance co are technically operating on MLM model. I guess you just need to do your homework and make sure you are convinced with the potential of the product and not those fly by night companies. But you have to be prepared to put in the hard work at the initial stage and as Mashy said friends may start distancing themselves from you. But at the end of the day, if you are convinced with the product, just go for it.

Personally I feel that to be or not to be a SAHM is not an individual but family decision. In most instances, it would mean a downgrade in lifestyle and whether both ourselves we and our hb can accept (and dont even feel it is a sacrifice if not will feel mentally imbalance after sometime). If being a SAHM will end up with family squabbles over finances and strain the relationship, it may end up creating an unconducive and unloving environment for our kids to grow up in. This will defeat the original intention of why we want to be a SAHM.

Mamapanda
My frens MIL also likes to gamble, end up loan shark will come to their pl to collect debt and the debt often run in the region of 4-5 figures. Luckily my frens hb and his sibilings are all doing very well and very filial so can support her gambling habit.

Tracy
Re: Savings account
Actually is very true to be financially independent but more importantly if you have a joint account, make sure you can easily access it. My frens fren was terminally ill and realised that her hb was having an affair. Towards the last stages, her hb was so open about his affair (cos he knew that his wife is going to die and not willing to stick with her). They have a very young daughter and to protect her daughters interest she secretly and slowly transfer all the money in their joint account into a trust fund for her daughter (they are relatively well off). Her husband only found out that all his money was gone after she died. He was so mad and tried to get his money back thru legal means but failed. Serve him rite!

In fact my ex boss used to warn me not to name my hb as one of the beneficiaries for my CPF savings/assets esp if I have kids. Her argument is that in the event the wife died and hb remarries, he prob will leave his assets to his new wife and the kids. Then his new wife will end up inheriting the money and may leave nothing to the kids! Altho I agree with her to a certain extend, haven't really got to do it.

Mamapanda, Chillies, ChickenLittle
Re: Car Accessories
Haha, I think all men are alike. My hb too, altho I dont really nag or restrict him when he wanna spend on his car cos thats prob his only hobby. Rather him spend on his car than on drinking (not that he does anyway).

Denmy
Your CL really have a good life! Can you sms me your mom's address, I may pop by for a while but around 3+ tho.

Mamachan
Re: Celebrating Us Moms High-Tea Session
Looks like my biz trip might be extended. Will confirm with my Twn off next week and let you know.

RE: Chicken Pox
Luckily the playgroup is cancelled today. I am suspect Jamie is having chicken pox. My mum went for holiday so I cannot confirm with anyone. Hubby is at work. Neither he or me has got Chicken Pox before, so I am keeping my fingers crossed now. Hubby is clearing his work and will be back to help me bring Jamie to see doc to confirm. My mum discover abt 5-6 red spot on her body yesterday. But today when I bathe her, I notice more is out, some on arms and back and 2 on face. Not sure if it is the rash due to her fever on Wed or not.. or it is really CHICKEN POX!!! Better not, or Hubby and me will get it too.

May,
Yes like what Flo says, hurry up bring her to see doc first!
I think rash and chicken pox spots are quite different leh. Chicken pox looks like rash at first but it's individual spots...rash is more clustered together...know what i mean? Bring her to see doc.

rachel,
Yeah true, it's like a crossroads because it's a totally new 'career' from what you used to do previously! All the best in your thinking...may God grant wisdom

I'm not someone who's able to think so far as to whether i'd be in the same career 10 years or even 20 years down the road. Think i'm a very short-term person...i live for the moment and just find it very difficult to plan so far ahead! 2 years ahead maybe still can foresee...but more than 5 years i find it tough to plan. Hee...so i also wouldn't know if i'd still be in the same career 10 years down the road.

RE: Bumwear
Talking abt bumwear, i actually bought a lilac floral bumwear some time back, together with 1 insert. Totally brand new, just pre-washed only. I bought on impulse and doubt i'll ever be disciplined enough to wash the inserts all the time. So want to sell away. Anyone interested? Just quote your price. I'm flexi. Think i'm more keen for the bumwear to be put to use than lying in my cupboard doing nothing!

Rachel,

your life is now in a Crossroad..i was once there.. after being a Sahm and a SAHpreggy mom.. in total of 2 years.. i have done some home parttime but it was not very fufiling.. so how god give me this job also doing part time..

at first i was worried coz my maid still need to be coach and my niece is terrible but i have to learn to let go a bit.. so with a heavy heart i went to work on monday..

the moment i came home my son was running towards me and shouted mummy mummy.. i was so happy.. a feeling which I never had before as i was always around him...

after 1 week of part time work i realise that it is a good arrangement after all.. and at least my mil commented that i did a good job looking after elijah tat is why he is so guai and makes it easier to look after him..

I really thank god for this part time job coz it at least bring back my confidence...

so racheal.. you must really talk to your hb about your fears coz mlm will be a different story.. i too have been in many mlm but i am not a cut for this..

Phew... A close shave..It's fake measles. Doc say it will happen to children below 2 yrs. And will get it once only. It will normally appears when the child has had high fever. After it subside, this will appear. Not every child will get it though. But luckily it is not contagious. Thanks Tabbisus for the advice!

yuki

totally agree with you. My hb and I were just laughing to ourselves on how tempted we were to buy a slide set for my boy which cost about $100 and we think and think about getting anything for ourselves. hahah.

May,
Great to hear its just fake measles. Meg had it before, it is actually a 'good sign' the fever is finally gone. It will subside in a couple of days.

Flo,
Thanks for the tip on the CPF thing! Come to think of it so true..better to let our kids have it. Afterall hb has his own CPF and probably my insurance money should i kick the bucket.

Nowadays it is very very common to hear of married men having affairs that many of my frens are delaying marriage cos of this fear. Even the most decent looking man can be having an affair.

Rachel,
Glad to hear you are sorting out your thoughts and its good that you know fully what you will be facing if you go into this mlm thing. Sounds like you are quite sure and very confident about it. Is it "that" product? *winks* If that's the one then it is a reputable brand.

For me, I think in 10-20yrs' time, I'll still be in my current company. hahaha. "die die won't leave" unless something drastic happens of course.

May
Great to hear Jamie is only having fake measles. Phew

For Me , no luck. Thot can rest today. Aden was ok in morning after 3rd review, now he having fever again. I was glad I bought the cooling pillow and mattress yesterday. At least he could sleep well on it.

Flo
Yup, I will do that too. Will split for Aden and Charmaine. Maybe it is time to write up a will too not that I am loaded.

Rachel, Tracy
I think I am not moving on too. My boss invited me twice back liao so this time unless she ask me to leave I dun think I will move. Or if a good opportunity come by and she encourage me to try then I will take up the challenge. Too comfortable with current boss now.

May, glad to hear Jamie's having fake measles... would you consider going for Chicken Pox vacc after this scare? I'm thinking of getting Keith vacc after some scare a few months ago too, but will wait till he's at least 1.5yr old first.

CL, I went for a talk by a lawyer last month on writing will ... not difficult to do ourselves, which I'll do (when I can find time) ... tx for the tips to transfer $$$ out if eventually anything happens. I've got a will sample from a fren but I don't find it very written clearly and it's rather wordy. My worry for the will is if it's given to the kids, it'll be held in a trust fund till they are 21 yrs of age and they need a trustee in the meantime. The lawyer shared on a few scenarios which actually complicates the matter, so better to put down a few trustees.

Rachel, I think 10 yrs later, I might still be a SAHM ... recently thots of teaching youngsters came to my mind but that'll be really when I find no satisfaction with teaching my own

.ky.

Bubble machine
Hi mummies. Went down to toys r us Vivo city today, hoping to find a nice cheap kitchen set but instead of that, we bought a nice Gazilla Bubble Machine at 50% off (12.95) instead. Really worth it. They're also having a buy 2 get 1 free for the toys r us bubble solution. If your darlings loves bubbles, you may want to consider going down to toys r us to grab one too!

May
Thanks goodness its not chicken pox. Now u can relax abit

CL,
Hope your two kids will get better soon. Do take care and rest as much as you can. We all know how tiring it is to take care of a child having high fever, not to mention two at the same time! Maybe u can ask your mother or mil to help out?

CL,
You must be tired with both kids down. Take care!

Mamapanda,
I bot the same gazilla bubble machine but it consumes the bubbles very quickly. At the end of one day, only half bottle of bubbles left!

May,
Thank God its only fake measles. Ethan had it last yr when he kanna his 1st fever. Tink its called roseola. Dun worry, the harmless rashes will subside in 2-3days.

Ky,
Is it u who is doing homeschooling with ur kid? Wat type of material u using? Can PM me more details. TIA! I m helping a fren to find out more cos she intends to homeschool her 3 yr old boy. They are staying in Shanghai & she prefers to do homeschooling instead of sending him to the intl school there. The fees are rather ex.

Rena,
Glad tat u find joy in ur new parttime job. I noticed that u are more patient with ur boy too. Probably u were feeling too burnt out previously & u kinda vent out ur frustrations on him frequently. Elijah is a good natured boy, as compared to ur niece. Guess ur mil now knows after spending a week more time with him. She will love him more each day. U used to complain ur mil dun love Elijah. But who knows, u soon may complain ur mil spoils her grandson.

May,
Oh good thing it's not chicken pox! Yeah fake measles quite common after fever. Will go off in 2-3 days.

Mamapanda,
I also went to Toys R Us just now at Jurong Pt to look for the kitchen set!! But all soooo ex!! The best was this set that cost $99.95 after discount. I wouldn't fork out so much for that. The cheapest set was also like $79.95....still very ex. So disappointed i couldn't find something to buy. In the end we bought nothing!

RE: baby doll
I wanted to buy a baby doll that looks real for Janelle, but also so expensive! Hee maybe i cheapo...not prepared to pay more than $20 for a baby doll...
The most 'real-looking' baby doll at Toys R Us cost $49.90
I was most satisfied with that doll but still think that $50 for a toy doll's a bit too ex!
Sigh...nowadays childrens' toys are really not cheap!

RE: Fake Measles
Yap.. it's really a scare. I would want to jab her with the chicken pox vaccine together with MMR initially but did not. Think will jab her with this vaccine together with the booster jab in 18mths.

Durianlover,
U can pop by Kiddy Palace. They sell cheaper dolls. Jamie's Doll is only $12.90.

Wenyl,
Not sure if KY is doing homeschooling. I did that for Jamie when I am a SAHM for 3mths but after I went back to workforce, then did not really teach her much. Not to worry about materials, u can print it easily from the net nowadays. But it is the stuff that u want to teach the child. Must set a theme each week and teach from there. I can help u if needed..can PM me ur email address and I will post a lesson plan and the links for all these print out for ur fren?

TEFAL KITCHEN SET
hi all, i just bought a set at robinsons but my girl is not very keen so i decided to let go. i sill have the box. to let go @$35 since ive already opened it. self-collect in town/ parkway. interested pls pm me.

may
glad that jamie is just having fake measles....

rena
how u make elijah so guai? JH really quite naughty now and my maid having a hard time with him....

wow, your MIL also finally recog u did a good job with Elijah.

re chicken pox
brought JH for jab today since going for JG hol prog next week. mummies i will call up JG just to check wether they have any recent chicken pox or HFMD cases.

mamapanda
yeah they were selling the kitchen set for 59.90. the members price only valid on the members sale days...

i m having a bit of maid problems. think she's quite burnt out from looking after JH so she seems to be quite black face nowadays. how?

rachel
whatever u have decided, go for it. u never know what is the outcome until u try. the most impt thing that it must be something both u and hb agree on.

like waht flo said, there are also reputable brands for MLM.

ha those product names u mentioned i also heard before...esp the LAN*** one