(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

radiance,
Hi first time hearing from you!
Welcome!
Sounds like it's a tough decision to make - it's relationships VS job satisfaction. I guess it's tough to find a job that fulfills both aspects, so there's always a trade-off. But considering the fact that it's not easy to find a job that you're happy with, perhaps you might want to consider biting the bullet and staying on regardless of how irritating your colleagues can be! Haha. I dunno..it's really your personal choice! Go with your heart
But at 5months+ preggie, it'll be tough to find another job so soon. So maybe just stay on for now?

Queen
If never open tiger jar along the way, I believe till 6pm the porridge should still be warm/hot.
So far Tiger jar has never fail me in serving hot food. Tho I have never tried from 7am-6pm.

Tabbs
I dream to be SAH tai tai/mom too

SSF,
Her bottom molar comes out already.. think it's the top one. Difficult to get her open the mouth to show us.

RE: Playgroup @ May's house
Mummies, just in case I need to postpone the playgroup. I will sms u all the confirmation by Friday Night to let u know if it is still on. Cos I really dunno if Jamie will recover by then. My sincere apologies for that if I really got to postpone it. The mummies in the list, can sms me your numbers?

1) Sept03Bride
2) God's Child
3) Tabbisus
4) KY
5) Babylon

radiance - hi hi! welcome. yeah i agree with durianlover that it may be difficult for u to get a job now that ya preggy. look in a positive way, you are 4 mths away from ur maternity leave. tahan for a while and enjoy ur 3 mths maternity leave before deciding for the future. i am also preggy and will be delivering in Aug. i took up this job also because they are OK with me being preggy and that i cannot afford to find elsewhere. the pay they are giving me is slightly lower than my previous job somemore. so i may consider finding a better pay job after my maternity leave. but in my case, colleagues here are very nice and job scope also not busy but pay wise, its low and increment is pathetic lor. so i think u better stay put first and meanwhile, just ignore those ppl.

SH
dun need card to entre or purchase but with Robinson card will have better offer...
like some items is having 20% off, then cardmember has additional 20% off more plus the card rebate 5%...
I bought a pillow original cost 69.9... then after 20%+20%(for cardmember) only 38.00 so very worth it.

What a pity I din check out the toys dept..

Radiance
Ya I agree with durainlove it's a tough decision.
But consdering you are 5 mths pregannct just REN for now.. till after materinity and see how.
Who knows by then, some of your irritating colleague might resigned.
But for now.. just take good care of yourself

Durianlover/SSF/cookie,

thks for your advices,ya of course die die must get 3 mths leave.Agreed tht unbalance betw relationships VS job satisfaction.

it's lunch time now,enjoy all mummies...

May,
NTUC having Friso 3 offer. 2x900g + 1x 400g bundle at $30plus. I bought 2 bundles.

Radiance,
Welcome! It will be difficult looking for a job when you at 5mths preggy. For the time being, it's best to stay on till you are back from maternity leave. Since you enjoy this job so much..Any other colleagues around that you can click with beside these 5 ladies?

Hi May, Keith has 16 teeth and just went thru' 1 round of teething 2 weeks ago ... takes about 3 days to get over, but slight fever for a day. Do postpone the playgroup if need to, Jamie may be too grouchy to enjoy herself too.

Aquaducks, Yes, CL, I received Cheng's SMS. Currently there are 8 toddlers confirmed (SL, I didn't count you in) .... the 2 classes will still be on (4 each). pls sms me or pm should you are unable to attend. If the number goes down to 6, we may need to merge into a class.

Denmy, pig trotters ... yummy yummy! too bad too far for me and with aquaducks on, hubby will say he'll cook if I say I wanna go (& forbide me from going) ... anyway, enjoy bfg the new one. Just monitor the weight, my #1 also put on 1 kg after 1 month, but the weight growth didn't go too much. Though he's a chubby baby, he's lost most of it now ... my #2 is barely 10kg though I bf on demand.

Radiance, if it's me, I'll "tong" till after I get the 3 months maternity leave before making any decisions.

.ky.

Re:Job
This is my 9th year with the company and this is my 3rd job since grad from poly. Can't say that pay is fantastic, but enough for me to get by comfortably. Job-wise I must say I enjoy it, cos my bosses are flexi. We are a small company and the advantage is I get to do many areas of work, from marketing (my main job), to managing merchandisers, outdoor events, organising events for staff, some operational stuff etc.

But work can get pretty busy and frustrating when the boss comes with like 5 things for me to do and all urgent at the same time. That will irritate me especially during THAT time of the month. I threw in my letter once many years ago when I foresee that after having kids, i wouldn't wanna attend so many functions after work hours. Thankfully my bosses agreed to me not having to attend functions and readjusted my work. So here I am still. Oh yes, and the company trips to Australia (every 2 years subjected to company's performance) is a plus factor. Best part is we all organise the trip together, not just book thru tour agency and go.

Having said all that, i feel that the most important in a job is a good boss.

Tracy,

they are all in one gang, other ppl v difficult to interrupt.One talking,the other automatic will boost up the topic, tht's why i suffer here...never hav such experience b4 in my previous company,FYI there are other 2 ladies pregnant too.. but dun know ler different thinking..feel hard to share with them

Really thks for your concern, feel much better aft hearing ur mummies' opinion

Cookie,
Thanks for the reply. Will see if i am able to go down to take a look today. Though i am sure my hb will be saying..."har...buy toys for me again?"

Tracy,
Wow nice to have incentive trips! Sounds fun
And it's true...a good boss is of utmost importance!!

Queen,
I have never tried using the Tiger food jar from 7am-7pm too. But i suspect it will work if you don't open it at all in between. But why don't you use the food for Isaac's lunch instead of dinner? That one guaranteed will work.
Then dinner you can cook again or if not possible, just buy something that he can eat as well? I recommend getting Nestle instant porridge. Super easy and tastes not bad! Just have to pour in the instant porridge into Tiger foodjar, pour in boiling hot water, and then wait for abt 2 hrs (or less) and it's done!

Demny
I'm so sorry to mistaken you in the first pic..
paisey paisey... heehee maybe I thought the hand/finger looks big :p maybe the shot too close up.
ya I also very long never see my SIL ley. Will try to make it but dun bother abt food ok. We probably just pop a short while.

Sorry to hear abt how Keenan react, I will be very stress up too. Maybe it's just a phase and yes I think spending more time with him should help. For Declan.. I think right not he still dunno much thing yet, so still ok. Do exlpain to Ethan if you cant spend time with him.. I guess he can understand better.
I guess our todd is just at a very tricky age.

Re:polling - Age of maid
Just curious... what is the age of your maid working with you? I have heard older maid might have mind of their own and hard to handle...
Dun mind pls share your maid's age :
1)

Rachel
Pardon me being very "slow"... I was scholling back the post and read abt your "thoughts"
Do share with us if you need to talk it. As it's a open forum.. Iguess u can also share in the Yahoo group where by more privacy.

Tabby
After reading abt the possible major change in your work and about praying to God, Just wanna share my recent experience and I do believe it was God's will and plan for me.
At the moment we probably cannot see whats the outcome but I do believe God has make plan for us.
Abt 2 mth back I had a major change of role in work. I was feeling a bit reluctant for a while cos I was comfortable in role for past 5 yrs. But since the change, I realise how this "little change" made to me is to prevent me for a more chaotic changes in my whole dept coming up.
So.. it's a blessing after all to me.
we can chat more next time when we meet

tracy - great to hear that you are enjoying so much in your co and having a good boss is really a bonus on top of flexibility etc. wow...got incentive trips somemore...envy envy lei!

Just curious... what is the age of your maid working with you? I have heard older maid might have mind of their own and hard to handle...
1)25

radiance
Stay for the sake of ur 3 months. Just go for lunch with other colleagues if u dun enjoy their company. If not, eat alone lor.

cookie - most maids lie abt their age lei. so may not be accurate if they say they are of whatever age. like my SIL's maid, she is only 20 and she paid someone to amend that. she told my SIL when she ask her abt her age. but at least she didnt lie.

Radiance,
I agree with Durianlover. Tahan for the maternity leave if possible. It's difficult to get a job now since u are 5mths pregnant. Maybe u can start looking for job during your Maternity Leave. For lunch, just listen one ear in one ear out if possible.

Oh ya, Denmy.. Thanks for the invitation to Declan's 1st mth. So fast it is 1mth already. Sorry, can't attend cos must go back in-law's place. They have got some events going on this sunday. Enjoy urself!

1)25
2)32

durianlover
JH is the same too. he is super active now. he only make do with one day time nap of abt an hour then he will be awake until 9+ at night. but i realised it helps him to sleep better at night. he seldom wakes up at night now. so maybe your mum is right.

how do u cope then? must take care of yourself

radiance
hihi and welcome. i also think u shd just ren cos u r only 5 months away from your maternity leave. and really hard to find job when u r preggie now....just ignore those ladies as best as you can. come in here and chit chat with us...

tracy
your bosses sound flexible. think that it a very impt part of the job. one reason why i stay on in my current job cos my boss is quite understanding where family is concerned

ky
i dun think i will come for aquaducks. hb recently quite stressed out with work so he din really give me an answer when i brought it up to him. so sorry for the last min change.

1)25
2)32
3)32

wow..... so many happenings...... got to really read thru' all the posting. Have been busy studying for exams and still more to come.

Unwell Mummies & Kids
Hope all of you will get well soon!

SSF
Gosh........ poor caleb....must be really painful for him and you. Thank God that he is recovering well now. If I were you, I think I will also give him anything he wants. So poor thing >sayang<!

SAHM or HDB TAI TAI
I am both...... sometimes it's just so tiring and recently I started to miss working again. Thinking of freelancing when my course is over. Ya.... I am SAHM cos take of son everyday at home then I am also HDB Tai Tai cos sometimes shop aound HDB Area and even gone for eyebrow threading at a HDB spa....... haha! Being financially independent is definitely better cos you can buy what you want and have more spending power. Now, got to take from joint account so must be "zi tong" a bit...hee!Anyway, most of the $ is spend on my son. BUt one thing I must still have is going for rebonding every year and buying my make-up and clothes....I am very vain lar! Still want to look presentable...... don't want to become "wang nian po".

Thks mummies for your concern,

really "touch" when receive ur advice.

think nowaday working mothers really not easy, have to take care of family n career n some more need to face problems from all dimention..

"Jia You" all mummies

SSF
ya I know.. but usually they lie to be older right? cos min is 23.. so if they are younger, they lie to be older..
I suppose if they are already 30, should be their actual age ba...

1)25
2)32
3)32
4)25

SAHM
I was joking with HB the other day to go buy 4D. If strike, I wanna quit & stay home
HB laughed and replied "Dear, that one must strike Toto liao. 4D can only let you go for a shopping spree if u buy big & win big." My reply "Ok, let's go buy the Toto & then I'll quit. I'll even bear u 3 more kids if you want."

That crazy thot went thru my head that day because I had just returned to work after a week's leave of taking care of Cephas.

Sysac,
Me and HB have the Toto dream for dunno how long liao. I don't even need to win the Toto first prize. Give me 2nd prize with a few hundred grand, can invest to become millions. But we just dream only. We seldom action to buy Toto... haha!

Radiance,
I understand about the relationship thing. When I left my engineering job, the thing I really regret was leaving my colleagues. They were my first colleagues and even though they are all guys, I feel that we have great chemistry between one another and can click very well. We gossip but not bitch, we talk about about families but not complain. It was great. when I joined the IP firm, suddenly I feel that the people ther are of different wavelength liao. Maybe the background is very different... Most of them are not in the technical background. Lunchtime was ok, but I really miss my previous colleagues. Even now, those guys still email and sms me often and ask me out for a drink. I chose to leave the engineering firm because of the job scope and partly because of the boss. In the end, my great colleagues weren't strong enough a factor to make me stay. The bottomline is, you have to ask what's more important to you.

Radiance
Welcome and please stay on your current job. If I am not wrong, most of the company has got this clause when you need to work for the company for 6 months or 180 days before you can claim for the 3 months ML. Unless your new company is willing to give on exceptional basis which my current company did for one of my colleague. She was 5 months pregnant when she joined.

Where you working ? If near RP or cityhall, can always ask us out for lunch.

Now I oso go lunch with colleagues who are mummies so more baby or kids talk.

Denmy
Aiyo who can be more overweight than my Aden. I always ask PD if Aden needs to cut down on his milk intake. He always says no. If currently baby is always on milk which is fattening of course weight gain is more man. Aiya they will lose it like when they have their jab , teething etc. So just feed the baby when need to. Aden does not unlatch when he is full too. But I still direct bf him for 2 full months on demand. From 3rd month I give EBM so that I have time with Charmaine. Must be tough on you. Ha ha switch la, now Declan dunno how to ask for attention yet, so your bonding time be bf time then can spend other time with Keenan. When Ethan is back, then can spend some time with Ethan too. Once his homework is completed, ask him to play with Keenan so less time for Keenan to stick to maid. Be there during his playing time , he will then recognise change diaper, feeding go to maid, playing is mummy.

Pai seh,
I am a zombie after lacking 2 night sleep so I may miss a lot of post.

sysac - wow ...ya so generous..3 more kids! haha..actually if have more money, i dun think hb wants more than 2 also. the last time i ask him, he seems quite happy with 2 boys. i told him i won;t have another one unless its cfm to be a gal but he also not very eager to have the third one may it be girl or boy. haha...so i think my factory is really closing down liao.

cookie - ya 23 is the legal age and like u say, i think if above 30, firstly they won;t lie and also can tell right? those 20 somethg all look younger and smaller in size and they have that innocent look.

queen
yeah your hb is right. 4D not enought. must strike toto. i always tell hb if i strike toto i can stay home and take care of JH

my current colleagues are also great that's why i m still staying....

CL
u better already?

toto so diff to strike big leh. long time ago i struck 5 numbers. Just short of 1 number and the payout was only $1k+. After gave my dad and my bro, not much left for myself.

mashy,
At least u strike leh, so good. Me no luck in this kind. That's why I only try my luck during the annual CNY Ang Pow draw. Who knows can be tai tai by luck. hahaha..

SY
Thanks, better today though only took 1 dose of the medication. Just sleepy

Denmy
Ha ha I actually use nursing bra to do hands free. So I was flipping throught magazines while expressing. My second month better still, I was working from home as boss was away in India. I express milk, and work on my notebook.

mashy
not bad leh u strike 5 numbers before. i even got prob striking 3....

CL
better rest more. bad flu bug going on.

how u use nursing bra to do hands free? last time i try but not very good at it.

Chicken Little

thks for your invitation to have lunch together,but i'm working at AMK.

Hopefully i can have lunch wf mummies tht we'll have same channel of topics soon

Valerie, SH
I sent you my account details for payment of the biscuits and risotto.

SH,
Please advise how you going to collect from me.

Other mummies who I have not invoiced, I still waiting for the strawberry biscuit so maybe better to pay together.

Any mummy did a ATM transfer of $5.40 on 30 Apr to me ? It is either SL or Tabbiesus as I can only match this for the 2 packs of biscuits

hands free expression of milk
I've been expressing hands free at my desk since last April. Didn't use my nursing bra or anything. What I do is I cover myself with a long shawl, clip the top together so it won't open up, hold the 2 funnels with my left lower arm so I still can eat, type and do other things with my right hand. Although I'm one-arm operation during this time, it beats using 2 hands to hold it and stare into empty space.

Cookie,

Yes you can see the dentist. But do let the dentist know that you are pregnant. If I'm not mistaken, we are actually advised to visit the dentist when we are pregnant. Am I right ah??

MamaPanda and CL,

WA! you guys are fantastic man! I hope when my 2nd baby is out, I will have enuf milk and then can learn from u guys then!!!!

esther,
KY is also still breastfeeding Keith. I tried delaying the feeds to 8hrly but always end up getting engorged and blocked ducts. Yesterday, I had blocked ducts again and there was this hard, rocky painful lump on my right breast. Took me so much effort to squeeze out all the milk from it. Instant relief. Actually, I was only thinking of breastfeeding for 6 months but I was too lazy to wake up at night to prepare powder feeds for Ariene so that's why till now, she still hasn't tasted milk powder yet. I did think of weaning off Ariene but each time I try, I give up cuz she'll cry and cry and we all cant sleep so I gave up weaning her off. I'm already kinda sick of wearing nursing bras and pumping but I cant get over the discomfort and hassel of stopping.

milk intake
Can I check with u all how much milk are u feeding ur darlings now? Currently, I latch Ariene 3 times a day (7am, 8pm, 12am) and I pump at least once in office (abt 350ml-400ml) in total. I estimate she drinks 150-200ml each latch, so that leaves a total of about 800-1000ml per day, maybe sometimes 600ml when my supply is low due to menses. I'm not too sure if she's having too little or too much milk cuz this is all I can produce for her already. If she's taking in too little milk, I might try dropping the 8pm feed and try feeding her some formula milk instead.

MamaPanda, wah, your supply is still going strong man! Kirsten drinks on average 600ml a day nowadays, about 3 or 4 bottles, 7am, 1pm, 3pm (sometimes) and 7pm.

So Ariene's intake sounds quite good. The older they get, the harder to wean off. I'm wondering if you feed Ariene EBM after you latch her, you can increase the per feed amount so that she will reduce the number of feeds and don't need to wake up for the 12am feed. Maybe it will help in weaning her?

Mamapanda,
Wow you're amazing!! Sounds like you're really experienced at expressing milk already!
Janelle drinks about 630mls of milk (3 feeds a day x 210mls each time). Think Ariene's milk intake is good leh. But if you want, can try introducing FM. Since she's already 16mths old and yet to try FM...no harm trying. Some babies don't like the taste of FM so wld be good to slowly introduce

esther,
Long time never hear from you. How're you coping?

sysac,
Haha you're very funny!!

CL,
Take care n hope u get well soon! Sleep more!

SY,
Hmm i really hope she'll sleep more at night since i cut down her naps from 2 daytime to 1 daytime nap now. She naps abt 2 hrs though. But Janelle still has this bad habit of waking up in the middle of the nite crying if she sees that i'm not beside her
Sigh...really dunno how to 'wean' her off that.

Sometimes i think that if i total up the no. of hrs i spend in this life putting Janelle to sleep, it'll total up to a few months perhaps!! And i could probably have better spent that time doing something else like further studies...who knows...if i translate the time spent putting Janelle to bed to further studies, i may have already gotten a Masters or PhD perhaps. Haha

Cookie

I still do my usual dental checks during pregnancy because twice a year mah. The only thing must highlight to dentist is cannot do x-ray.