(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mongs
great!! i shall call up MWL for an extra material pack. see you on friday!

re: MMR
thank you all for sharing on the fever issue, now i have to plan careful when to schedule dylan for his MMR jab appointment. since fever most likely to develop on the 5 - 10days, must keep him indoor for at least 2 weeks then!
so fearful of dylan having fever, although he had not develop any so far from his past jabs. from birth till now, had kena twice. i practically woke up automatically every 2hours to take his body temperature.....

##Kindly Update if you'll (or hb) be cycling with baby or picnic so that I can reserve the number of bicycles with baby seats beforehand##

"A Cycling and Picnic Affair - Sun, Sand and Sea" Outing on 1st May 2007 @ ECP from 9am onwards - meet outside Burger King beside the former Tennis Courts
I'm just wondering who might be keen to go cycling at ECP on May day morning, since it'll be a P.H. Since our darlings don't allow us to sleep in much in the mornings, might as well put the time into good use for some family time at East Coast Park? We can meet for breakfast at 8.30 - 9am and cycle from 9.30am onwards? There's an additional free one hour on top of the rental of the bicycle for an hour. Any mummies keen? Those who can't cycle, can just laze around and chill and picnic at the same time. ~~ MamaChan

Picnic: Bring your own picnic mats along and some tidbits and drinks for your family and if you want, to share around. We can buy Macdonald's or BK for breakfast.

1)MamaChan and family (confirm cycling)
2)Sysac & family
3)Tracy & family
4)SY & family (confirmed me and JH)
5)Chicken Little & Family (confirmed, Hb ferry Aden, a kid one for Charmaine 5 years old)
6)Cheng & family
7)Rachel & family
8)Flo & family
9) Rena & family
10) wenyl & family (TBC)
11) Cookie & family
12) SL & family
13) SH & family
14) valerie & family
15) sept03 & family
16) cindy & family
17)
18)
19)
20)

Thanks CL for pointing that out =)

##Kindly Update if you'll (or hb) be cycling with baby or picnic so that I can reserve the number of bicycles with baby seats beforehand##

"A Cycling and Picnic Affair - Sun, Sand and Sea" Outing on 1st May 2007 @ ECP from 9am onwards - meet outside Burger King beside the former Tennis Courts
I'm just wondering who might be keen to go cycling at ECP on May day morning, since it'll be a P.H. Since our darlings don't allow us to sleep in much in the mornings, might as well put the time into good use for some family time at East Coast Park? We can meet for breakfast at 8.30 - 9am and cycle from 9.30am onwards? There's an additional free one hour on top of the rental of the bicycle for an hour. Any mummies keen? Those who can't cycle, can just laze around and chill and picnic at the same time. ~~ MamaChan

Picnic: Bring your own picnic mats along and some tidbits and drinks for your family and if you want, to share around. We can buy Macdonald's or BK for breakfast.

2)Sysac & family
3)Tracy & family
5)Chicken Little & Family (confirmed, Hb ferry Aden, a kid one for Charmaine 5 years old with 4 wheels, mummy cannot make it so will jaga the picnic place)
6)Cheng & family
7)Rachel & family (confirm cycling, hb ferry dylan)
8)Flo & family
9) Rena & family
10) wenyl & family (TBC)
11) Cookie & family
12) SL & family
13) SH & family
14) valerie & family
15) sept03 & family
16) cindy & family
17)
18)
19)
20)

Durianlover
Dun worry, my niece oso no hair last time, now her hair so long and nice. Who can remember how her hair was like then ? Anyway you says takes after daddy when young right ? So if daddy got hair now so no problem for her lah.

mamachan - tats good that daren hasn't had any fever so far. yes i agree better to keep him indoors. like u i also like to bring him out every weekend. haha...coz i afraid he gets bored :p

tracy - wow...megan is a brave gal..didnt cry during her jab. thks for the reminder...maybe i will bring him his biscuit as well to coax him a little from crying. hopefully tat works too!

chicken_little - its ok if you cannot bring in too many cartons. the price is indeed reasonable. if this time not enough, slot us for the next purchase!

re MMR
i haven brought JH yet. think i better start planning when to bring him

seems like the minute forum is ok, there's a lot of postings!!

sysac
your pasta recipe sounds great but i dun dare to try anything new with JH now.

I realised he is esp bad when i m ard. the min i reach home yesterday, he started to refuse his food and spit out his food and wants me to carry him to play.

SH
can use 3G phone to look at JW? whenever i m out, i will use 3G phone to look at JH. the only inconvenient thing is that u need another 3G phone at the other end

cookie
aiyah, i got all my CS stickers already.

recently JH kept getting head knocks. sat, he fell when playing with hb and got a big bump on the forehead. yesterday night he sat up to take his pacifier and then lie down so fast on me that i had no time to move and his head banged onto me. it was really painful. then in the middle of the night, he moved too near the wall and bang his head again..sigh poor boy

SY
Will you be cycling? Coz only know that you are coming along or will you be picnicing? =)

Tracy
Haha, I can imagine the day when Daddy have to give his little manja princess's hand in marriage, will cry one lor...heee heee, thinking too far now =

SSF
Usually when Daren has jabs, the veteran PD will never fail to tell us not to bring him to crowded places like shopping malls. Now being on part-time, I get to be home with him most times, so will spend more time playing with him, kicking ball around, or shooting hoops, can keep him well entertained for an hour!

2)Sysac & family
3)Tracy & family
5)Chicken Little & Family (confirmed, Hb ferry Aden, a kid one for Charmaine 5 years old with 4 wheels, mummy cannot make it so will jaga the picnic place)
6)Cheng & family
8)Flo & family
9) Rena & family
10) wenyl & family (TBC)
11) Cookie & family (not cycling...but we might buy a bike for kae to be push in)
12) SL & family
13) SH & family
14) valerie & family
15) sept03 & family
16) cindy & family
17)
18)
19)
20)

Tracy
Kae is also very dear to daddy, she will cry when HB leave the house. She will hug daddy and even pat him on his back and look really satisfy and happy to be carried by daddy. Now my HB feel very smug abt it...

RE : MMR
I've yet to jab Xavir. Wld prob do it in June during the school hols as afraid of fever and him being cranky.

RE : Size
I think he's on the small side. Seems to be getting slimmer. Wearing the same diaper yet I hv to tape it tighter and some of his daily pants are slipping from his waist. Hopefully its bcos he's growing taller and more active. He's 9.8kg now. When he stretches, u can see the "guitar strings"

RE: Size

My boy is also small compared to a few here, 9.6kg. But i think he's just slightly less than 50 percentile. So think should be ok lah. Also can see the 'guitar strings'. hahha. Still wearing M and Nepia L pull ups are too big for him.

Re. Chilli padis
Haha... good that some of your girls are like chilli padi. In this era, girls must be feisty, else how to compete with boys!

Re. MMR jab
The jab was administered on the arm instead of thigh at the polyclinic... Isaac knew something was up when I held him down tightly and cried even before the needle touched him!

Re. boy or girl?
There was once an auntie also asked me whether Isaac is boy or girl when he is in his newly cut super short hair, wearing blue T-shirt with truck prints and cargo shorts. My HB was rolling his eyes at the question (lucky the auntie didn't see it). I conclude that it is a reflex question (like those have you eaten question people ask...) that all aunties will ask when they see cute babies just to make conversation lah.

Chillies / Mashy,
My boy also small, 9.5kg only.

durianlover
i hope my gal pretend to be shy, too. else, worry that she will get bullied if we decide to send her to child care one day....

Hi mummies...

Me been so busy that I don't even have time to reply to the postings on the thread. So cham...Just got back from my school's camp and also recovered from a bout of stiff neck cum gastric flu...

Thot I share my experience with mummies here regarding the MMR jab...

My elder boy developed a fever 1 week into the MMR jab...he also developed rashes which turned out to be what the Chinese called, "Fake Measles" which is a reaction to the jab...

If you look carefully, you will be able to find the rashed developing behind your child's ears as well. Then the fever will be on off...The elders advised me not to bathe my boy then but I continued and just ensured that he was well wiped and covered up nicely. He took another week to heal...The fever fluctuated up and down between 38 degrees to 40 degrees...but it was actually ok...

So...just be on the lookout...my mum feels that 1 day before their jab, they should take "kao li sum" a type of ginseng...one slice of it...and put on top of the rice that we are going to boil. so far, whenever I use this method, my younger one has not developed a temperature after taking jabs.

Hope this info helps!

durianlover
same here! i think my gal got the least hair among the bb here. just like you, everytime, i can predict what ppl will ask me when they see my gal. it's either, 'boy boy?' or 'how come still no hair? you can use BM, wine, olive oil, etc etc to apply on her head' blah blah blah.....
i will just tell them. 'oh, no hair is also good mah. the weather is so hot, she will feel more cooling since no hair and no need worried about the heat rash.' :p this will shut their mouth.

*Scrapbooking Workshop at MWL*

Date: 27 April 2007(friday)
Time: 1pm-430pm
Duration: 3.5 hours
Theme: Fun, Free & Fancy
Workshop Fee: $65
Instructor: Jasmine

Love the Freestyle look thats all the rage but have no idea where to begin in creating the look? Weve put our heads together to offer you some tips on achieving this most fun and fancy look in your scrap pages. Through a 4x6 mini album, youll practice recreating certain often used Freestyle techniques which will culminate with you completing your very own unique 12x12?layout marrying all the techniques which youve picked up during the 1st part of the workshop. The icing on the cake is that you get to play with My Minds Eyes Magnolia series of patterned papers, rub-ons and transparencies, on top of Fancy Pants?Biggest Board Flourishes chipboard, Primas daisy can flowers, paints, ribbons and ric-rac. Its oodles of fun as you design and doodle your way to create 2 very fanciful scrap projects!

What to Bring Along:
Photos - 4 x 4R, 4 x 2R
Glue Tape & 3D Glue Dots
Black Journaling Pen

Currently there are 4 of us going for this private class. Do let me know if you are keen to join in. will need to inform MWL to prepare extra material pack =) come join us!

1) Rachel
2) MamaChan
3) Chicken Little
4) Cheng
5) Mongs

CL/Cheng/Mongs
mamachan and me will be bringing our albums along to the class, can share ideas as well as display our hard work! =) do bring along yours too.

Mistaken for Boy or Girl
damien was being mistaken for gal...always got..hey boy boy..is that your mei mei or didi?...
I can understand why ppl mistaken him as gal..due to his long eye lashes and big round eye.

Rachel
Will bring my album too. Hey, can i check if all of you will be bringing baby photos for the class? I have not seen the class samples, not sure if the materials etc are for baby? or maybe family or couple photos better?

Rachel

I think all of you saw my album liao so I not bringing hor because no addition after that. Hee Hee. Cheng I will bring the stickers I took from you last time, then you count count the $$ I need to pay you. By the way wat other stuff you have ? You still have your gal gal set ? If yes does it fit into a 8 x 8 album ? I think I need such to start making Charmaine's one otherwise I will never be able to start her album at all.

Mamachan
yes i will probably be cycling. want to let JH try 'cycling'.

re boy vs girl
JH also gets mistaken for gal sometimes. but once i cut his hair short, that happens less!

Updated payment

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Funds received </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aileen</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>babylon</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheng</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chicken Little</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>chillies</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clare</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>durianlover </TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Esh_mummy</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Florence</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>God's child</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ky (khengyan)</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Linda_tjhin</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mama chan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashybrainz</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maywong</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Precious Moment</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Queen</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rachel</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena076</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sep03bride</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>SH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sl</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>sleepingdeer</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunny</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sychua</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sysac</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tabbiesus</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Valerie</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yuki</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhimin</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

For those whom I will be meeting this Sat, dun have to transfer lah, just pass to me can liao.

can I do a simple survey ... rememeber the drip that you put in when you are delivering? Do you feel the pain when that's put in? I don't remember it as painful... Keith's Mag3 scan requires putting in a plug that the doc equates to putting the drip... but someone who has done it told me it's pretty painful for the child ....

re : cycling
just a suggestion ... bring sandcastle building tools. It's be great for those who are not cycling to build castles or play with sand or seawater. I've a bike which I cycle with either of my boys, so I don't think I'll be joining you folks this time... enjoy!

.ky.

KY,
I think it is not painful for us as we are already in labour pain. But for kids, u might want to ask those baby that had put on drip during their stomach flu incident in KKH. Cos I remember Jamie wasn't that serious till she has to put on drip. But the boy beside her was on drip. I remembered someone's baby in this thread was put on drip. But can't remember who is it.

2)Sysac & family (TBC)
3)Tracy & family
6)Cheng & family
8)Flo & family
9) Rena & family
10) wenyl & family (TBC)
11) Cookie & family (not cycling...but we might buy a bike for kae to be push in)
12) SL & family
13) SH & family
14) valerie & family
15) sept03 & family
16) cindy & family
17)
18)
19)
20)

KY,
I think it is not painful for us as we are already in labour pain. But for kids, u might want to ask those baby that had put on drip during their stomach flu incident in KKH. Cos I remember Jamie wasn't that serious till she has to put on drip. But the boy beside her was on drip. I remembered someone's baby in this thread was put on drip. But can't remember who is it.

May,KY
I dun feel the pain at all because for me I am a induction case so right from the start they will put all needles in liao. But my pain threshold can be high. When they inserted the needles for the drop at Aden's foot, he cried very badly during the time he was admitted for dehydration. Dunno if it is because painful or just scare.

anyone has good confinement to recommend? my colleague who is due on 20 Aug is looking for one. you can PM me the details. thanks!!

ky,
It's my boy Isaac who was put on the drip when he was hospitalised for rotavirus after CNY. I would imagine inserting the drip on his was very painful for him. Oh gosh... I remembered very clearly how it was... I brought Isaac into a separate treatment room from the ward. The nurse then swaddled him tightly, with only one arm free for the PD to put in the drip. The PD then told me to wait outside the room and shut the door. But I could still remember the look on Isaac's face before I left him. Tears were rolling down his face and his eyes were really pleading. I could hear Isaac wailing very loudly and there I was standing outside totally helpless. I cried as well. When the PD opened the door and asked me to carry Isaac, she said that Isaac was a very good boy, he only cried but didn't struggle cos struggling would only make it more painful. I was thinking maybe then Isaac was really too weak (from all the vomitting and diarrheoa) to struggle liao. I myself was put on the drip twice so far, first is when I was hospitalised for food poisoning years back. I remembered it was painful, but more like a sharp sting. As for during labour, I seriously wasn't even aware (or cannot rememeber) that there was a drip! Were we put on the drip???

KY

Don't worry re: drip... usually for kids, will put EMLA cream ie a numbing cream on skin 30 min before procedure so will be less pain, and the drip that we put for pregnancy is usually the big size drip, for children its a much smaller size tubing... usually no pain or minimal pain, like taking vaccination injection. Where is he going for the scan? hope he's okie.. if its at kkh, usu. they are very efficient with these procedures so should be no problem.

HI Mommies,
wanted to reply to so many posts, but it just keeps coming... haha...

SY,
Shannon also recently started rejecting porridge and other food halfway through the meal, until I change the dish presentation on Sat. Rather then combine all the meat, carrots, veg into the porridge, I serve it separately to her. I'll give her a piece of carrot to munch on, then a spoonful of plain porridge, then tofu and so on...like adults. She seem to enjoy it much more, and ate quite a fair bit more than last time.... I hope this continues... try it on JH...?

Re: Chilli Padis
Mommies with Chilli padis, I think it's great your gals are confident enough to voice out their displeasure, next time, wun kana bully... haha... on the contrary, I worry that Shannon will be too meek and quiet in school next time, maybe should teach her to be more Gung Ho!

Queen,
nice photos of the family! Issac is so adorable, how all our babies have grown!

Tracy,
thansk for coorindating the +ve Tot class. Shannon still enjoyed the session alot, though it seems exactly the same as +ve Babies! She was very happy after the class!

Re: My Gym Trial
thanks Sysac, for posting the list, was just gonna do it...

Price: $29.50
Venue: Great World City, Level 3, #03-09/10.

I so wish to join you gals after coordinating the trial, but my hubby's golf game is Malacca is more important, i guess!
Have spoken to CL, and she is kind enough to be the contact person for My Gym Just in case any new updates comes in on the day itself... but everything is confirmed lah, so have fun!

SSF,
RE: Afamosa at Malacca
I'll be going up Malacca this Sat till Monday, 28th to 30th Apr, and staying at Afamosa... when are you going? I'll let you know when I come back, but feedback that I got is that the place is quite run down
will let you know....

tabbiesus,
Really? So drip insertion on babies is realatively less painful? That's good to hear. Hmm... maybe Isaac was just wailing cos he was frightened.

Hi CL,

Can include me too, If you can order more than 1 carton of the biscuit ?

Iwatsuka - Vege - 10 packs , each $2.73
1) Wenny
2) Wenny
3) Chicken Little
4) Chicken Little
5) SL
6) Flo
7) Flo
8) rena
9) Sep03bride
10) Mamachan
11) SSF
12) Clare
13) Krissie
14) Krissie
15) Precious Moment
16) Precious Moment
17) SH

Iwatsuka - Round - 10 packs $ 1.89
1) Babylon
2) Babylon
3) Chicken Little
4) SL
5) AK
6) AK
7) rena
8) Sep03bride
9) Mamachan
10) Rachel
11) SSF

Kameda - Plain - 12 packs $2.57
1) Chicken little
2) SL
3) Flo
4) Flo
5) AK
6) AK
7) rena
8) God's child
9) Mama chan
10) Mama chan
11) Rachel
12) SSF
13) Precious Moment
14) Precious Moment

Kameda - Strawberry - 12 Packs price ?? should be almost same as plain
1)Wenny
2)Wenny
3)Chicken Little
4)Chicken little
5)SL
6)Flo
7)Flo
8)AK
9)AK
10) rena
11) Sep03bride
12) Rachel
13) Clare
14) Krissie
15) Krissie
16) Precious Moment
17) Precious Moment

May/CL,
Hb with me and MIL dont really know how to use computer L. Will be here till 1st May.

MamaChan,
Sorry I wont be able to make it for the cycling. Got the date of return from London wrongly. Flying on 30 Apr but only reach Singapore 1 May afternoon.

queen

I don't think its should very painful cos last time i used to set drip on babies... i used to let the parents stay with the baby/ kid right until i'm about to poke them... that way they know the screaming and shouting is becos they are with the stranger... if done properly... usually over in a short while like seconds... the drip needle/ canula is much smaller for infants... compared to the one for pregnant women which is HUGE... even i get scared. Also i try to put the anesthetic cream which helps lessen the pain... i really don't see why it should be more painful than a jab...of course when i see tabby getting jabbed i can feel heart pain la.. but that's cos I'm her mommy wor...

2)Sysac & family (TBC)
3)Tracy & family
6)Cheng & family
8)Flo & family
9) Rena & family
10) wenyl & family (TBC)
12) SL & family
13) SH & family
14) valerie & family (confirmed cycling)
15) sept03 & family
16) cindy & family
17)
18)
19)
20)

Mamachan, need at least 1 bike for myself and Kirsten. My hb was very onz after the last cycling trip we had and we found a 2nd hand seller but haven't closed the deal yet so not sure if will get it before or after 1 May. Likely to be after, so assume need bikes for both me and hb.

Finally got hold of the risotto. So posting again
Per pack at $2.57. These are low calories instant food. Only need to heat up in microwave 3 mins then can eat liao. 6 Packs in each carton. Expiry in Oct 07. Brand is S & B.

Arabiki Beef Risotto - 264Kcal

1)Flo
2)AK
3)Rena ?
4)Valerie - 3 packs
5)MamaChan - 1 pack

Chicken and Tomato Risotto - 255kcal

1)Flo
2)AK
3)Rena ?
4)Valerie - 3 packs
5)MamaChan - 1 pack

Please indicate how many packs you need as there are 6 packs for each flavour. The portion is not big, as it is low calories food not supposed to eat more, but if your hb wants then need 2

CL, I want to maintain my weight leh, so shouldn't eat too much of the risotto is it? But looks so yummy, I'll like to try it too.

sunny,
Haha yes my girl can prob high-five with your girl on the hair issue! U very cute...actually say that no hair cooler? Maybe i try that next time. I usually say don't worry, it'll grow out in its own time. It's just pretty strange that I have to reassure the stranger that my girl's hair will grow! It's like, others are more concerned about it than i am!

SY,
Yes actually Janelle also prefers eating the "adult way", ie. non-porridge stuff. She likes rice/porridge with dishes like soup, etc. Maybe you can try that out? Then nowadays i let her use fork to poke at her own piece of potato or carrot, and she's happy to feed herself with that.

RE: drip
I think the drip for babies prob not as painful as ours bah. I remember mine was painful...it wasn't the insertion that was painful, but the fact that it remained inside the hand for the next 10+ hours that was painful! Gynae said my hand too skinny that's why i find it painful.

RE: My Gym trial
Are hubbies allowed to come??

re: Chilli Padi
Yah, there're really a lot of chilli padis on this thread! My confinement lady was already calling Kirsten a chilli padi since she's 2 weeks old. Sigh, all the cabinets, drawers, rubbish bins, etc, you name it, she's done it. She's more chilli padi when she's at home, luckily, since she's the type who needs time to warm up to people.

Ky, hope Keith will be ok during the scan!

cookie, actually I also have 20 CS stickers, was already thinking of throwing them away. Are you still keen on collecting? If not, can pass yours to me during our cycling outing. Don't waste.

Mamachan, forgot to mention, I won't be joining in the picnic cos got to come home for Kirsten's one and only nap. She only naps once nowadays so very precious, must make sure she sleeps at home to sleep well.

Queen, your whole family is soooo photogenic!

Cindy, wee-ooh-weet, pretty mummy! I love the spontaneity in your photos. The photog is really good.

cheng
from the sample i saw @ MWL, it is more suitable for adult's theme. that's what i feel from the pattern papers and embellishments used.
i got to dig some photos of me and hb out, have not been taking much photos with him since dylan was born =p

ky
i dont feel the pain at all from the drip. still can watch the nurse insert the needle into my hand! haha

2)Sysac & family (TBC)
3)Tracy & family
6)Cheng & family
8)Flo & family
9) Rena & family
10) wenyl & family (TBC)
12) SL & family
13) valerie & family (confirmed cycling)
14) sept03 & family
15) cindy & family
16)
17)
18)
19)

2)Sysac & family (TBC)
3)Tracy & family
6)Cheng & family
8)Flo & family
9) Rena & family ( only hb and elijah)
10) wenyl & family (TBC)
12) SL & family
13) valerie & family (confirmed cycling)
14) sept03 & family
15) cindy & family
16)
17)
18)
19)