(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

tabbie,
edgar still sleeps on the bed with us. i have no intention to shift him to his own bed coz i have the same concern as u. i'm afraid he will climb over the rail guard. when #2 comes along, hopefully SHE(my fat hope!) will sleep in the cot and not be naughty like HER bro! :p

queen
dun be too sad that isaac can't call u yet. they have their own time own target.

hee, last time i purposely teach him to call me mama even though my MIL doesn't like it. she wants him to call her ma(3)ma(3) like your MIL but i say mama easy to call so i wan him to call me mama. so she doesn't call her self mama now.

she does the same thing too. every few min will ask him to call ah ma....

aileen
i m interested in the prog but depends on my leave...

Aileen

What i worry is that when new baby cries for milk, then older kid will wake up also! Then have 2 kids to try and put to sleep.. wah... like that... will faint!

I'm getting rid of my second maid in one or two weeks and exchanging for another one, hope that my new one will be better... such headaches getting a maid...

Linda
poor gracie... finally get to come home with mommy and daddy and then fall sick... hope she gets well soon...

tabbie,
sorry i just called julia gabriel and they said i have to put edgar in PlayNest coz he's not exactly 18mths when PlayClub program starts. Only babies born before 4th Jan 06 can participate in PlayClub. they are afraid our babies will feel left out joining the older class. basically the syllabus for Floaties & Flippers is similar to Splish & Splash. It includes a trip to Water park in Jurong for one of the 5 days. So how?

haha that's my worry too. aiyo, i oso don't know leh. i'm just hoping that #2 will be an easy baby no like #1! :p but i heard from friends that #1 will learn to adapt to baby's cries and sleep thru it!

SY when will u know if u can apply leave?

tabb,
Thanks alot for the advise. haiz...completed the course of antibiotics liao. Now only asked to take singulair. I guess I wldnt go for xray. Hopefully the cough doesnt come back.

SL,
eh...i went to the singapore baby and child at Thomson. Dr Ong. I think he has a section in one of the bb mag. My PD gave ventolin only for the cough and singulair to strenghten his lungs. That's all he takes. Once i saw a GP, the med made his cough to worsen oso.

Chillies,

Thks! I think the PD that I saw at Mt E Singapore Baby and Child is not very good. BUT I notice on the board that he's a specialist for premature/high risk babies?!

Thank God when I called home earlier, my mum said that charmaine's cough seemed to be better. It really pains me to see her cough cos she cough till her face turn red. You know what I mean?

this thread is moving fast!

Mamachanm
My right breast has short nipples, and sister Kang also did comment on it. I used a nipple shield and managed to BF until now...
The nipple shield really helps to pull the nipple out, so now, no more short nipples, in fact, I have problem if I dun wear a bra with padding
Tell your friend to try with nipple shields, coz it really works...

Tabs,
so chiao, Shannon is going for her MMR on Wednesday too! She will be going for a double whammy, MMR and Prevenar.... oh gosh!

Aileen,
congrats! Edgar's gonna have a sibling to play with soon! I also signed Shannon up for Shicida in April. How do you find the class so far?

May,
impressed by your hubby! Good that he stand up! Same here, if I have a second one, I think I still want a girl, so that the two will be closer...

Re: 2nd Baby
was just telling some of the mommies on MSN yesterday that while I am very gian to have a 2nd one after hearing so many mommies getting
pregnant, I am also very paranoid about getting preggie. I had a false alarm 2 months back, and while I thought I was preggie, I was worrying about everything! Looking at all the mommies here, I think I must be the odd one out!

Sysac,
haha, I used to go Miss Clarity for lunch coz I used to work just next door to it! Have to agree the food is pretty good, and prices are reasonable... think it's $9.80 for soup or salad, main course, drink and daily dessert or something like that... I love the Mud Ozzzz... yummy..... molten choc fudge served in a piping hot cup and vanilla ice cream!

Cass and Linda,
hope your babies get well soon, so tiring to have them sick and so painful to watch them struggle..

Cindy,
opps, missed it again, never mind, thanks anyway!

Sleepingdeer,

Then Shannon will likely get a jab on each thigh. Aden got a chicken pox and pneumoccocal so next month he will have MMR.

Ha ha so you finally decided to go for Shichida lah.

RE: MY GYM TRIAL
FInally! The lady called me back today. The normal trial costs $35, but if we can get a minimum class of 10 babies, they will charge $29.50 per baby. The lady cannot promise any discount though if we sign up for the whole program of 8 sessions, but i think we can negiotate if there are quite a few who wanna sign up.

THe maximum class size is 25, but their ratio is 6 babies to one instructor, so they will have 4 instructors is it really gets that big. Alternatively, we can split the class into two.

What the program is about.
Waddlers Crawlers and new walkers, 10 18 months

Discover your infants natural movement abilities in this delightful program for parent and child. Share the excitement as your baby crawls, climbs, hangs, swings and tumbles for the first time. With an emphasis on development of social skills, this program is geared towards the exploration of movement. Toddlers are elated as they are introduced to a vast array of fantastic and stimulating new experiences.

I got the lady to recite a eg of how a day's program may be like...
1) Intro song
2) Warm up excerise
3) Song and Dance
4) Swings
5) Practise skills - activity skill of the week using a certain equipment
6) Exploring the gym to try out the equipment
7) Separation anxiety exercise
8) Puppet show - where babies sit separate form parents
9) good bye song
Basically, the program helps the baby with motor skills and development of muscles as well as promote self confidence. It is more physically motivated, and will involve hanging, tumbling, balancing etc. A tyical excerise would be balancing the baby on a beam and let them practise walking with hands outstretched.

Venue: Great World City
Costs: $29.50 for trial (usual is $35)
Day: Saturday (we can select a sat in April or early May and I will let the lady know )
Proposed Date: I'm proposing 28th April?
Time : 2:30pm
Duration : 45 min

ANy one interested?
1) sleepingdeer
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)
21)
22)
23)
24)
25)

CL,
yah lor, gonna try it out for a year, and see how? Hope she becomes more focused after the program... haha...

Aden got chicken pox jab har? I still thinking about whether to do it or not... I worry if I dun do it, and she gets it when she is young, she may scar her face scratching...

FInally! The lady called me back today. The normal trial costs $35, but if we can get a minimum class of 10 babies, they will charge $29.50 per baby. The lady cannot promise any discount though if we sign up for the whole program of 8 sessions, but i think we can negiotate if there are quite a few who wanna sign up.

THe maximum class size is 25, but their ratio is 6 babies to one instructor, so they will have 4 instructors is it really gets that big. Alternatively, we can split the class into two.

Discover your infants natural movement abilities in this delightful program for parent and child. Share the excitement as your baby crawls, climbs, hangs, swings and tumbles for the first time. With an emphasis on development of social skills, this program is geared towards the exploration of movement. Toddlers are elated as they are introduced to a vast array of fantastic and stimulating new experiences.

1) Intro song
2) Warm up excerise
3) Song and Dance
4) Swings
9) good bye song
Basically, the program helps the baby with motor skills and development of muscles as well as promote self confidence. It is more physically motivated, and will involve hanging, tumbling, balancing etc. A tyical excerise would be balancing the baby on a beam and let them practise walking with hands outstretched.

Day: Saturday (we can select a sat in April or early May and I will let the lady know )

ANy one interested?
1) sleepingdeer
2) chicken little ( at the moment ok but if Charmaine starts her Chinese class then I will need to pull out)
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)
21)
22)
23)
24)
25)

Sleepingdeer,

That is my hb's concern too. Though Aden is a boy we still went ahead with the chicken pox jab. I had a scar on my face so we both dun want Charmaine and Aden to have the same fate.

Aileen

Oh.. but tabby's bday is 30 dec 2005 so they'll place her in playgroup anyways right? otherwise i don't mind her joining the splish splash group.

thanks sleepingdeer! regarding shichida, think edgar is losing interest now that he's more mobile. would say he only pays attention half the time. the other half he will be roaming around the classroom. he's the only who does that in class. told u he's super active. i guess shannon will do fine. but i will still continue to send him there, coz i believe a little stimulation is better than none! furthermore i truly believe in the shichida's method thou i'm probably the laziest mum around coz i don't practice the activities with him at home. i don't even flash the cards at him! :p

tabby,
maybe u want to call up and ask the pple at JG. coz they didn't give me a choice as to which group i can put edgar into. It's based on his dob. maybe u wanna give them a call and see which group tabby should be in. would be nice if they can be in the same group. in the event if tabby and edgar are in different programs, we are still eligible for the 20% discount, ie if we have 4 or more babies. i have a friend who's keen. so we only need 1 more. think i'll wait till tmr to see what's the response here on the forum. if we can get 4 then good, else i'll just go ahead to sign up w/o the group discount. ok?

Sleepingdeer

Got, it is right below my left eye. Hee Hee

Shichida Method
Ha ha even the contractor for my laminated flooring says I should send Aden there. He says should at least do it for a year.

Sleepingdeer,

I am keen to try out my gym.I kaypo - make the posting shorter.

Cost of trial: normal trial costs $35, but if we can get a minimum class of 10 babies, they will charge $29.50 per baby.
Class size: 25
Class ratio: 6 babies to one instructor

1) Intro song
2) Warm up excerise
3) Song and Dance
4) Swings
9) good bye song

ANy one interested?
1) sleepingdeer
2) chicken little ( at the moment ok but if Charmaine starts her Chinese class then I will need to pull out)
3) sl
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)
21)
22)
23)
24)
25)

SL,
great to hear that. Yah very sim tia to see our kids sick.

RE : Shichida
eh...wat exactly do they do for this method? Heard so much abt it. My sis at first wanna put her boy but got waiting list and damn long. I've yet to decide wat class wld be suitable for him.

Sleepingdeer,
I am interested.

Cost of trial: normal trial costs $35, but if we can get a minimum class of 10 babies, they will charge $29.50 per baby.

1) Intro song
2) Warm up excerise
3) Song and Dance
4) Swings
9) good bye song

ANy one interested?
1) sleepingdeer
3) sl
4) maywong
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)
21)
22)
23)
24)
25)

1) Intro song
2) Warm up excerise
3) Song and Dance
4) Swings
9) good bye song

ANy one interested?
1) sleepingdeer
3) sl
4) tabbiesus
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)
21)
22)
23)
24)
25)

1) Intro song
2) Warm up excerise
3) Song and Dance
4) Swings
9) good bye song

ANy one interested?
1) sleepingdeer
3) sl
4) May Wong
5) Tabbiesus
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)
21)
22)
23)
24)
25)

Aileen
who do i tell when i sign up... do i just mention your name or how to get the 20% off? I will sign up anyways for 1 week first. If we can't get the same class i might got to the Forum one instead... where is evans road btw...

tabby,
if we want to be eligible for the discount, we gotta fax in the forms together. so maybe u can fax urs to mine and i'll consolidate all 4 registration and send in all together. evans road is near botanical gardens. think that's nearer for u actually.

Rachel,
Hope he will block and protect us if we have #2.

Queen,
Both PIL are very old fashion. When I scan and told her that my baby is a girl. They dun believe and asked me to wait till it is borned. Even when I buy clothing for baby at that time, she will ask me not to get pink as it might turn out to be a boy. I cried alot when back home whenever she did that to me. When we asked them to choose name for Jamie, they refused to do so and say anything will do, since it is a GIRL.

Still remember when Jamie got her Baby Shower, they even say, Hiyah.. not boy.. no need to buy suckling pig to pray. Anything can already.

I am really very stress and hurt from the way they treat me. They just want a boy to continue the surname as my hubby is the eldest.. but pls lor, hubby still got a younger bro and now what generation already.

When I am pregnant, I still get a bowl of herbal soup from her during my 4th mths. Once I know the sex of the baby, THAT'S IT, NO MORE !!

Re: J&J Sale

ladies, gotten your confirmations. Thanks. Have submitted orders. Will advise delivery details in a week's time.

chillies, yup received yours last week.

cookie,
Just saw the past postings. So sorry I missed your message on sending you the list. Keep you in the loop next round - we have it twice a year.

May,
Aiyo your mil realli too much. Gal Gal also grandchild what. Lucky mine nothing special boy or gal. In fact both me and sil start with having gal then boy. The boy to us nothing special. Ha ha Infact our gals get more stuff than the boy.

May
pls lor, your MIL she herself is a woman. yet she did all this to you! %$##%^&*(^@ if not for the female species, there won't be one generation after another!

as a husband and a father, your hb MUST and HAVE to block and protect his wife and children =)

aileen
my work is project based so it depends on whether i have any submissions due at that time.

anyway i m plannng to change jobs so i may go for the hol prog in july.

sleepingdeer
u signed up for shicida as well? how much is it? it is really ex. though i like to give it a try, i know my hb will jump at the cost of it. that's why cannot stop working or else i can't do what i wan...

how come must sign up for a year? a year seems pretty long...

i m interested in the trial at my gym but i can't make it on sat...

may
your MIL really very obvious..very sad hor that they dun appreciate gals. last time my MIL also like that. after we know it's a boy, she very happy and when hb keeps saying he wan gal, she scold him and say he is crazy. even my SIL cannot take it and say what is wrong with gal.

but even when my MIL knows it's boy, she also din do anything special for me like soup etc...

Tabbie,

Eshley have yet to try to climb over the bed guard... the most she holds it with both her hands n pops her butt up, tat's all... :p

wow the thread is sooo fast. i managed to browse thru briefly.

My gym trial sounds good but will pass on this as just attended the gymboree recently and also caleb hasn't been feeling well lately. hb says we will have to give him more rest and go out less often.

rachel - normally he will play until he very tired then a few pats he will sleep. or else weekends, we will mostly be out, so he will nap in the car. somehow in the car, he tends to sleep faster. haha..

My gym trial ... when it first started, trial was free.... I thot it's a great programme. hubby thot it's just an expensive playground place ... Guess they were new then. They really throw a lot of discounts for joining. to those who sign-up for trial, enjoy!

Shichida
I hear the first payment is $1400++. I also hear alot of parents drop out after a term. actually there are mothers who conduct home-programmes ... With flashcards, consistency is the key. I'm more consistent with ds#2 than ds#1 actually... it's not difficult to do at home actually once the routine is setup.

.ky.

1) Intro song
2) Warm up excerise
3) Song and Dance
4) Swings
9) good bye song

ANy one interested?
1) sleepingdeer
3) sl
4) May Wong
5) Tabbiesus
6) Rena
7)
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)
21)
22)
23)
24)
25)

Hi Mummies;

I'm feeling alot better now cos our part time cleaner is here today and is helping me with rory for half a day and she'll be here again on thursday afternoon.

Hubby left on sunday afternoon and will be back friday evening.

I'm still cooking porridge with slow cooker for rory cos can't bear to let him eat jar food when he's sick, and he doesn't like jar food as well.

may,

i think i will be the odd one out.. when i was preggy with elijah my mil did not do anything special for me too .. furthermore my son is the first grandson leh..

when my sil was preggy with her noti gal..mil make bird nest.. when this round my thai sil preggy with son .. my mil so kan cheong.. make so many things for her to eat.. well i think just my luck lor..girl or boy will still be same

short/inverted nipples
I don't think its a problem for breastfeeding at all. There are also nipples suckers available in the market (I know pigeon has one) that allows u to "pull" the nipples out before nursing. One of my nipples is also slightly shorter than the other due to my breast surgery. Although it was more difficult latching Ariene on that breast initially and that nipple got really sore due to her pulling, eventually me and her got used to it and she prefers that breast to the other now.

SL
If Charmaine is falling sick often, it'll get worse if u wean her off BM now. You should never switch her milk when she's not well. It'll be worse if she gets diahorrea on top of other sicknesses she already has.

My case is with my FIL. He keeps changing his mind on what Ariene should call him. One moment is Ah-gong, then he take shortcut and ask her to call ye-ye when she was babbling ye-ye. Now, she can call all of us (mummy, papa, ma-ma, gong gong, por por, Ela) he's jealous and keeps lying and bribing her to get her to call him cuz he realised that she's just babbling ye-ye and not calling him. I dunno.. most of the times, I just cant stand my FIL. He's so thick skinned.. he keeps bullshitting to everyone like everything Ariene does is his credit?!?! *roll eyes*

Playschool
Almost blew my top at my FIL again on Sunday. After he learnt that we have the intention to send Ariene to full-day playschool once she's 18m, he objected to it violently, giving all sorts of stupid reasons (which only shows how shallow he really is). He just kept ranting on and on non-stop for more than 30min and we cant even have our meal in peace. Best, he say he's just giving his "opinions" and its up to us whether we take his "advise" or not. Even my hb also cannot tahan and rebuked whether he's giving advise or trying to "force" us into agreeing with him. I swear if he had continued for another 5 min, I would have reminded him that at least the playschool will not let Ariene play until her poo and pee dripping all over the stroller also dunno. Anyway, my mind is made up and I won't change no matter what. I'd rather she be learning something useful from playschool than wasting precious time at home doing nothing.

Cass,
Y not try out the butternut squash recipe I showed u? Butternut squash should be easily available in UK right? Sometimes, its good to rotate the menu esp when they're having poor appetite. When Ariene had high fever in Jan, she only eats 5 teaspoonsof porridge then refuses to eat anymore. If I fed her the chicken/beef butternut squash or baby shepard's pie, she'll eat alot more. Also, be sure to give Rory lots of fruits and water. Eating more fruits and vegetables and drinking lots of water also gives him lots of vitamins and can help fight the sickness.

May
I think your MIL is still not as bad as my FIL. I still cannot forgive him for smoking in the house while I'm there, even up to my last trimester. When I got fed up and asked him not to smoke, his reply was "Never mind, my blood will filter away the smoke so baby will not get the smoke" What kind of stupid logic is that?

ky
kind to share with us more on flashcards and other stuff that we could teach our little ones? aware you been doing lots of read ups and materials. ashame to say, im doing little with dylan at home and the blank flashcards i bought months ago been sitting in my store room...

hope can have someone to guide me along and get myself started. hmmm, maybe we can have another round of playgroup and you able to conduct a round of lesson?

Cass,
Do take care! Glad u have a helper to do the housework. At least takes a load off you! Must be really tough to be preggie and taking care of active Rory all alone!

rachel / ky,
Yes i'm also keen to find out more about the shichida thingy. I know nuts about it though i've heard it being mentioned many times! I don't mind having another playgroup!!

1) Intro song
2) Warm up excerise
3) Song and Dance
4) Swings
9) good bye song

ANy one interested?
1) sleepingdeer
3) sl
4) May Wong
5) Tabbiesus
6) Rena
7) durianlover
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)
21)
22)
23)
24)
25)

durianlover
why not!! =) love to have another playgroup, before you and janelle fly off to aus *sob sob*

when shall we have it?

ky
which flashcards do u use? i have the glenn doman ones but i dun do it consistently cos JH will snatch from me nowadays. instead i try to read consistently. we will read abt 2 books a day if i can reach home early.

do u flash according to the glenn doman way or u just see which suits your boy?

rena
sama sama, i think when my SIL gets preggy next time, my MIL wlil be very gan cheong. she even ask my mum what she shd give my SIL next time when she gets preggy.

mamapanda
sometimes i also cannot stand FIL but my FIL not as bad as yours. my FIL is self centred so my MIL got a lot of complaints abt him.

just realised the science centre pass can admit 5 adults so if anyone wants to go, let me know. i will be going ard 2pm.

Re:Night Safari
Heard from the radio that we can have 50% discount if we print the coupon from the web. Good lobang to bring our darlings there.

Re: MIL
Sigh.. think my stories are like drama. Never thought I will be the actress in this drama.

Migration to toddler's bed:
caleb is still sleeping on the floor mattress.Do not think that we are shifting him to a toddler's bed yet. He needs to perform his 'somersault' b4 he sleeps..

MIL:
well, my mil din prepare any special stuff for me either but hey i dun need it too heehee..