(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Anyone here seeing Dr Lisa Chin from Gleneagles or Dr KC Yeo from TMC here? Read many good postings about them.

mamapanda,
if u are looking for female gynae, think Yvonne Chan from TMC is not bad. I have seen her before but I didn't continue with her coz I prefer to deliver in GlenE. If I don't remember wrongly, Tabby sees her.

Mamapanda
yeah.. Yvonne chan is good.. very steady..

CL,
did you get my JG form? How is it going? Is that due to start in june also?

I'm quite tempted to join the holiday programme that aileen mentioned above cos it sounds so fun.. but if our class is starting then it may clash...

cass and all other preggy mommies
just want to advise you to get enough rest cos i find that my MS and general well being is better with rest.. no matter what.. try and get enough sleep..

Denmy
I'm getting tabby to take her MMR at roughtly around 15 months (she has the same bday as keenan) cos when she's 18 months i got new baby and will be in confinement. So getting it out of the way now whilst i'm still mobile... i don't think there's any major problems.. most people are worried about the allergy and the autism but that's a risk with anything.

tabby,
i don't think the class that CL is helping to organise will start in jun leh. probably in sept. i'm considering sending edgar to chiltern house when he turns 3. u keen? i remember u were looking at babies inc. chiltern house is around there too. along turf club road. aiyo, i sound like a KS mummy looking for nursery so early! haha! actually i just want to know my options lah. coz i don't seem to have many... wonder if any mummies have feedback about Chiltern house.

rachel
the jokes are so funny!

re MMR
so as long as it's taken between 1 yr and 2 yr old it is ok? maybe next time i shall ask PD abt it.

May
wow your hb really erupted...i guess it can get really irritating when the older folks try to interfere. esp in this case your MIL keeps hinting on the grandson thing. lucky your hb stands on the same side as u!

rachel
good that dylan self weaned off the sarong! our kids are really growing up faster than we expect

aileen
u go for shichida? how do u find it?

CassCl
oh dear hope u get better soon. dun tire yourself out

krissie
hee, me and hb are the opp. i m the one who leaves things lying ard... i think we just find it hard to communicate without exploding. so both must make conscious effort.

CL
shall we do RP lunch next week? Will make the effot to join. THis thur on leave. bringing JH to science centre

anyone wants to go centre? i got the company pass which can let 4 adults enter for free. only me and hb going so if anyone wants to go, let me know. it's 29th Mar.

aileen
i will check out the playgroup and let u know.

share something sweet abt JH. now that he can call papa, every night before he sleeps, he will keep calling mama and then papa. he will do this non stop until he is really tired. think he keeps calling us cos he is very happy that we are with him and he sees us smiling and laughing happily each time he calls. esp my hb. my hb says he has been waiting for this papa moment for 14 months so each time JH calls him he will keep smiling and JH will keep calling even more. we say he really knows how to make us melt...

SY,

JH is really sweet! Charmaine calls me only when she wants something from me, i.e. to nurse her... : (

CL,
I am on for RP lunch next week but Thu I would most likely take leave. Mon got meetings at 2. hmm... shall we lunch on Wed?

Rachel,
I like the fifth one?

Are there any good PDs to recommend? Charmaine has been coughing for the past week. Till now no signs of improvement so thought of switching PD.

Cass
Hang in there! I know how hard it can be esp you are preg too. Very tiring..
Even if you feel like crying.. why not? just cry for a while to relief stress... God gave women the privilege to cry as and when we want. use it

usually I feel much better after crying out.

May
MIL can be real irritating at time but glad that your HB stand by you.

If the same happen to my HB, I bet he will not tell me a single word of what MIL said cos he probably dun wan to be sandwich further :p

Cass
able to get someone over to help you out? really worry for you. first and last saw you during our gathering at mamapanda's place. saw how busy you were handling rory, very tough on you... can one of your family memeber fly over and stay in to help you out??? do consider, bcoz with your growing tummy and rory at the sticky stage, an additional pair of hand will be such a great help.

aileen

i am keen for the splish/splash floaters/ flippers for 1.5 year olds.. but where is evans road? Is this the same programme you are keen for?

RE: chiltern house
I don't mind checking it out... i'm thinking of starting slightly earlier when tabby is 2 cos then no.2 will be about 6 months and tabby can learn more social interactions and my mom can spend more time "teaching" no. 2.

Have you thought about who will help take care of Edgar's new baby? Do you have a maid already?

SL
i dunno leh... my girl is followed up at KKH by dr Yong YP... i know most mommies here don't like kk..but i got staff price and she's got a walk in clinic so its like going to private pd... my PD classmates also bring their baby to her if they can't handle it themselves so i think she's quite good although she is relatively relaxed.. like she will reassure me that tabby is not too small size and that she is growing well so i feel comfortable with her.

chiliies

re: 2nd xray

actually there is min. risk from the xray this is from a medical point of view..cos then you can see if there is objective signs of improvement if the xray shows no more infection however, as a mommy, i feel that whatever exposure that is not necessary.. shouldn't be done.. so if your baby is really getting better, no more cough/ phlegm fever and lungs sound clear.. then clinically already know that he's better, so why need to repeat the xray... only makes you and doctor feel better cos you can visually see signs of clearing.

Aileen/Tabby - I am also keen on the programs cosI am on leave that 1st week. But then 2nd week, there'll be no one to bring Cephas If I join the holiday programmes.

Sigh...maybe think of other holiday prorammes for him...just for the 1st week

sl,
which PD r u currrently going? I tried a few. Kidslink at Bedok, 2 PDs in Tamp and 1 in Pasir Ris. Oh yes...the one at Thomson, Singapore bb and child not abd but expensive. I'd spent over $300 for my boy's cough. haiz....

SSF
dylan only needs pacifier for his daytime naps. nighttime don't need. i just let him be but make it a point that as soon as he is awake from his nap, i asked him to pass me his pacifier. don't wish him to be a pacifier boy when he turns older =p

don't worry about caleb needs pacifier now, you can help him wean off or he himself will wean off it on day. how you make him nap during weekends then? must be a struggle right?

tracy/god's child/mamachan/babylon/SY
thanks =) it really made my day that he self wean. been cracking my head how to change his napping habit earlier. so now its one problem down while we plan for hoilday!!

tabb,
thanks for advise. I oso dunn why she asked me to do when i thot she can hear if the lungs r ok. I asked her abt the exposure, she said no worries as nowadays there's already so many radiation ard us. Huh... he doesnt cough anymore but worried for his lungs. Does it mean no cough is a sign of recovery?

sl
where you stay? for me, i been bringing dylan to kidslink at cck, Dr Ng. went to Jurong west kidslink too, PD is good.

chillies

clinically should be able to tell if no more coughing and lungs sound clear..... only thing is sometimes immediately after pneumonia, the lungs may be sensitive, and so the only other reason i can think that she may want to repeat the xray is if she thinks the infection is gone and wants to stop antibiotics but your baby still having a bit of cough more from sensitive lungs rather then infection then can do the xray to make sure lungs are clear from infection. Otherwise if he's stopped coughing and lungs are clear, you are not going to continue treatment anyways, so whether you do or not do the xray... you will still stop all medications.. no symptoms, then treat what right? if infection is not treated adequately, firstly, should be able to tell from listening to lungs or symptoms of cough/ phlegm, and when you stop taking medicine, the cough will come back...

Usually cough means there's irritation in the upper airways... so usually it is a good sign..

SSF
My boy nowadays only need the pacifier when close to his nap times esp when he's irritable in the car, helps to soothe him abit. But it's funny to watch him with his pacifier at night. When he's in the zone and just about to fall into deep sleep, he'll take out the pacifier form his mouth and adjust himself a little before sleeping. And when he's awake, we'll train him to take out his own pacifier and put it into his special container. Sometimes, he'll be mischevious and purposely throw the pacifier hard into it, making the pacifier bounce off and unto the floor!

CL
Thanks for sharing! I texted my friend and she's highly encouraged by your posting. She's made an appt to see Yen Ping at KKH this Friday, so in the meantime, I'll pop by her place more often to give her some moral support.

May
Your MIL really classic man! But I really applaud your hb for standing up for himself and you too. I went abit duhhhhh when I read that your MIL mentioned to your hb that should have #2 while your parents are still young? So meaning to say that she wants you both to have #2 and expects your parents to look after??

Hi Aileen,

Congrat for your 2nd child..hope you got a bb GIRL
Really QIAO...my birthday is on 11 Nov

Hi Rena and Sept'03 bride
Who will be the next for another golden PIG baby
waiting for your good news

RE: Gracie in Indonesia
We went to Indonesia on last saturday with the early ferry and reach home about 11:30am...Gracie was look big and PUI PUI
..I carry her and she smile at me and hubby..

But think change at 4:30pm afternoon,,,she got high fever and I gave her the paracetamol that I brough from singapore...and at 8;20pm..bring her to PD children in indonesia...said she got flu.
She got high fever in a middle on the night,..I keep sponge her and the next day we back to Singapore.
But she still got high fever so we decided to bring her to PD again on sunday evening...PD also said the same thing that she got flu...
But her fever keep up and up to 40.
We brought her to KK 24 hr emergency on monday early morning... after taking NUROFEN given by doctor..her fever went down and we bring her back to home..she got running nose and infection on the throat...

Today she looks ok and no more fever but we notice that her fever only came in the night... I hope tonight no more fever for her..as I have been no sleep for 4 days..and tomorrow need to go back to work

Hi Krissie,

I went about 7pm and it was quite alrite. But indoor seating is about 5 tables only so without reservation, it is usually outdoor. Last sunday was quite cooling so it was alright.

Hi Sysac,

Will try the club street one

The hunk is the boss i think. There was a newspaper cutting saying he was an actor but not too sure in singapore or where.

Cookie,
My hb told me when we are on the journey back. Cos I ask him.. wow.. u volcano erupt ah. Scold ur mum. Then he tell me what happened in the afternoon lor.

Linda,
Drink more water and take care of yourself too.

Mamachan,
My MIL wants my parents to look after even we have #2. But hb and me already decided to hire a maid if I am pregnant. So both Jamie and her can adapt well when #2 comes. But MIL heard our plans before and against it.. she say she will quit her job and come to look after when I have #2. Which I DON'T want cos currently she can't even handle Jamie. How can she handle 2 children?

Linda
So happy Gracie is back. So did your hb tear with joy ? I am sure Grace will be fine soon. I guess it is the flu bug which is going round. Me also 1 victim from it.

Mamachan
No problem. Just to share experience only. Ha ha will dig out Charmaine's first month photo so you can show her. But Charmaine also start at 3.45 quite good weight too.

SL,
It depends on which location you want to go. Are you looking for a specialist for respiratory ?

May,
Your mil quite good leh. Want grandson but dun want to make an effort to help look after. But anyway you also not very keen on her help. You started work right ? How's new job ?

Linda,
The fever will probably come and go every 8hrs once the medicine wears off. When they are asleep, the fever tends to go higher cos they are lying on the mattress and the heat has not much place to go. That's why the fever often comes at night.

Not sure about the other mummies' practice, but i keep her in aircon room at night when she has a fever. It makes her feel more comfy and the fever doesn't go too high. The outside air temp fluctuates especially with bad weather these days. So better to keep in aircon room and let the temp stay at 26deg.

Hang in there, the fever will go away in 4-5days time.

Yuki, Sysac,
you gals are cute, going to the restaurant to see the hunky boss!

Tracy,
I will keep them in aircon too. But in Gracie's case, she has running nose, so aircon will not be comfortable for her nose

chillies,

I go to Ooi Baby and Child at yishun. But it normally took a few days before her cough gets better. So I went to Singapore baby and child at Mt E on last Tue. The medicine he gave didn't make my gal's cough better - in fact it got worse than before. Therefore I brought her back to the Yishun clinic again on Sat. She got a bit better but still coughing leh.

Hi Chicken little,..

Haa..Hb was happy and pau pau her .this time hb not cry but smile till today even she got sick..
You also take care and do rest more cos you have sick last week
CIA YOU

Hi Tracy,.
Thank you for your advise,,yeah you are right ,..I put her in a aircon room and to keep her comfy... like what CL said also is right cos Gracie got running nose....I just on the aircon at only 24 degree and off it after 2hrs to let the air cool in my room.

I really appreaciate for CL and Tracy advise....

PD also said fever might be go away after 4-5 days..

I notice now Gracie miss my mum and my sis as she keep calling mamama and yiyiyi or a-yi

CL,

The PD at Ooi is supposed to be a respiratory specialist. Sigh. But I do notice that Charmaine gets sick much more often nowadays. After her 1st year, she gets sick on average once a month. My mil was saying that perhaps my BM not good for her and kept pestering me to introduce FM.

May,
My mil and yours can shake hands and fren fren each other. She also pestering us to have a second one - preferably a boy. duh! BUT when I ask her to help to look after Charmaine for 1 more day during the week when my mum's overseas. She said that it's too taxing on her - cannot. How to have a second one?

Linda,
Pray that Gracie will get well soon. It's quite common I think for the fever to go up in the night cos low level of activity at night?! I have experienced that with Charmaine before. I did the same as Tracy - turn on the aircon. But I also leave the windows ajar so that there is some circulation of air. My hubby said that I am wasting electricity - might as well tunr off the aircon. But then it's too hot for her to sleep without air con.

Aileen
i m keen on the programs but the timing is a bit hard for me to make it unless i take leave. let me know which one u finally decide to sign up. the programs are quite ex right? It's 240 per week.

SL
u still nursing her? JH will just call me for no reason. when i come home etc and he sees me, he will call me. when i m bathing he will also call me. and when he wants something, he will immediately call em cos he thinks that's the magic word...

mommies

when can we switch our babies to a toddler bed? Do your babies still sleep in a playpen/ cot.. or do you let them sleep on a floor mattress

Tabbi
Aden still in playpen. Last time when Charmaine is capable of getting on and off the bed , I swop her to toddler bed from age 1.5. For Aden , he still look like he will jump from the bed so I will probably delay

Tabbie,

we let eshley sleep in a normal adult single bed juz beside our main bed... on the other side of the bed, we have a Safety First bed-guard... juz to ensure she doesn't fall off...

So far, she can sleep quite well and safe...

linda
u msut be realyl happy to have gracie back .poor thing. hope she gets well soon.

may
my MIL also like that. will ask my parents to help out with JH. but partly cos she's working. the thing i dislike is that she always like to give my maid eat snacks like ice cream etc. today my maid down with cold. and my MIL gave her ice cream over the weekend. my maid gets cough easily and when she falls sick, i will have to make alt arrangement for JH.

sl
JH also falls sick abt once a month. that's where my hb's theory on growing up after fallign sick comes in...

SY,

Yup, still nursing her. She enjoys being nursed a lot. Every evening when I come home, she would happily look forward to being nurse and quite frankly, I enjoy nursing her too. I really enjoy looking at her eyes and "playing" with her while she enjoys her milk. : )

Children Furniture:-

Here's one of the comment made by a mummy-shopper on the 2 furniture shops as stated above (hope the comments help to give us some ideas...) :-

Bed hunting
March 14th, 2007
We popped by United Square after picking Nigel from school this evening. We wanted to get Nigel a bed and mattress.

Our first stop was C-My Room Pte Ltd at #B1-56G/H/J. Its a disney furniture lifestyle store which features furnitures as well as furnishings from disney favourites - Winnie the Pooh, Mickey Mouse, Cinderella, Little Mermaid, etc. They have an ongoing promotion by OCBC credit cards - buy a Winnie the Pooh or Princess bedframe at SGD499.00, they are giving away a free bedsheet set.

Our second and final stop - Flexa located at the new extension Connectz, #01-43/44. I am very impressed with this concept store from Denmark. Their slogan - With Flexa, one bed can lasts your child a lifetime. The Flexa system allows you to change a simple twin bed into a bunk bed or a loft bed. But one simple basic bedframe costs SGD750.00. *my goodness gracious*

May,
Wah, your MIL really quite champion... Actually, does she dote on Jamie? Perhaps she wants a grandson because she has a granddaughter already? How was she when you were preggy with Jamie? Does she explicitly hope that Jamie turned out to be a boy?

Cass,
Oh dear, how are you coping? You must take care not to tire yourself too much! Is there anyone who can help you over there in UK? Maybe a friend or neighbour?

linda,
Hopes Gracie is feeling better now? Don't worry, she will get well in not time!

Tabbie,
I bought a kid's bed for Isaac from Ikea. We tried using for a few nights but decided that he is not ready cos he falls off the bed from rolling around too much during his sleep. Luckily we laid a mattress beside the bed, else he would have landed on the floor!

SY,
JH is really sweet! Sigh, unlike my Isaac, he cannot call me or HB yet.

My MIL has been trying very hard to get him to call her Ma(3) Ma(3). She will ask him to call 'Ma' like every 15 mins or something every time she sees him. I'm super irritated loh. And last evening, she claimed that Isaac can call her liao. Said he will say 'ma' whenever he wants her to carry. HB and me trying to get him to say 'daddy' and 'mummy' which I think it's difficult for him now. We have been saying daddy and mummy to him since he was born, a bit difficult to switch to mama and papa now. Somemore, my MIL keeps telling him to call her Ma Ma. I tried to get him to call me 'ma' also, sometimes he will just say 'ma' but I think has no meaning to him. Sigh...

SL,
In my office record, 2 preferred clinics : 1 Singapore baby and child clinic at Gleneagles. For me I go to YY Yip, my nephew's cough usually have to see Dr Yip. 2) Kinder Clinic at Orchard Paragon #07-02

Hi SL,
there's another "Singapore baby and child clinic"
but it's at AMK central...
near to Courts that direction....
tink there's a s'pore pool beside it.

tabbie
dylan still sleep in his cot, we not ready to switch him as he still needs alot of rolling around before he fall asleep.

May
hope you are doing well and enjoy your new job although its only your second day. as long as your hb stands on your side, things will work out fine. if you have a boy for your #2, your hb sure can block your mil and her horrible acts! =p still remember the incident you mentioned how she cleaned Jamie's poo *faint*

Eshmummy
Eshley doesn't try to climb out of the guard rails?

Queen
That's what i worry about too

I am wondering if she should just sleep on the floor cos she tends to roll alot, and i worry she will roll off, then when she wakes up and we're not up yet, i worry she will climb over the guard rails cos she's a little monkey... she tries to out of her playpen as it is..

Going to re-arrange her room soon so wondering what to do..

Julia Gabriel Holiday programmes:
tabby,initially i was thinking of doing 2 weeks but i forgot i'm preggy so will be very tired. hehe...think i better just do 1, don't be so garang. i am also more keen on the Floaties and Flippers. who else interested?
i hope to send in the registration form early to secure the time and place i want.

Those interested in Floaties and Flippers:
1)Aileen
2)tabby

Chiltern house:
their registration is based on the year our kid is born. for babies born in 06, registration is for 09. ie. when are kids are 3yo. think only childcare centre takes in children from 18mths onwards. most enrichment classes or playgroup takes in children 2.5years and above. correct me if i'm wrong. that's y althou i'm keen to put edgar to a school early, i can't find any. other than childcare centre which i'm not interested.

and yes tabby, i have a maid already. so when the newborn comes, my dad and the maid have to take care of 2. which is why, i'm oso keen to send edgar to school so that it's not so tiring for both of them. as it is, my maid is already finding difficulty to cope. coz my dad only supervise and play with edgar. my maid will cook, bathe, feed, put edgar to sleep and also play with him if my dad is busy (with god knows what!). so she has not much time to do housework. furthermore she has to take care of my 2 dogs. but i told her when #2 comes along, i will hire a part time maid to iron the clothes and change bedsheets. so she doesn't have to do so much.

linda,
hope that gracie is feeling better now. with parent's love i'm sure she will recover in no time! :D