(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

btw i have got some pregnancy and ovulation strips that tabbie has kindly given me which is of no use to me now. does anyone want them? please pm me.

Aileen
CONGRATS! Take good care and eat well.

Clare
Pray that God will give you the stregth to handle every situations. WIsh yr grandpaents speedy recovery. Hang in there....I am sure you will have a chance to bring them out for dim sum when they are better...... btw dragongate dim sum buffet is quite good!

Rice
A few months back, my boy just suddenly don't like porridge. Then I started to give him soft rice, he seems to like it for a short while but now he is back on porridge...... he's quite a fussy eater!

SY
Wow, yr hb like "ying siong jiu mei" type....... saccharin sweet story! Glad to hear that yr hb is willing to work things out by attending the counselling sessions. Stay strong!

sept03bride,
wow, that's fast! :p sure, pm me ur address and i will mail them to you. don't bother about paying me for it, i'm just paying it forward
so u trying for one soon?? hee..

clare,

dun worry .. pray and then lord will grant you your wish..

Aileen,

congrats to your pregnacy..
hope you have a bb girl..

Sept 03,

you planing for another one?

SY,

elijah do put his toys back but only 30% haha then the rest i wil have to put it back.. he has started to throw all his toys out of his yard when he is seeking for attention sinces 8 months...

aileen,
pls let me pay for postage.. paiseh lar..

rena,
haven start trying yet cos no more CNY baby for me.. but soon i guess...

Sept bride, aileen

kekeke!!!..Seems like my set of strips quite lucky hor.. i used one to test and kena pregnant.. then passed to aileen and now she's pregnant... sept bride.. will you be next? :p

Sy
your JH is so guai! tabby just look at me and laugh.. and continue to throw things or worse.. she likes to step on things... aiyor... even when i tell her she has to put things back.. i must go and reinforce to her to put back her toys...

Clare,
Hope your grandma is doing better now!

Aileen,
CONGRATS!

Esther,
Oh dear, I keep forgetting to contact you on the preggy kits. Can we make a date this Sunday, say 12.30pm? Paisei to drag so long...

SY,
Wow, your HB really very hero leh. Actually, I don't think the length of couplehood time before marriage matters too much. What's more important is that the love is there. May be true that your both understood each other completely before marriage, but now you all have a lifetime to understand and accept each other's good and bad points as husband and wife. Ultimately I guess it's about communication and managing's each other's expectations. So it's really good to hear that both of you are willing to work things out by counselling. Stay positive!

thanks for the encouragement. i think we just din communciate well and each time we try to talk, we fight. and we have different perception on spending time. yesterday we were just fighting cos of different ideas again. i wanted to bring JH out but he wanted to spend time with us. but each time he spend time with us, he will jsut be doing his own things. so i argued how can that be spending time together? in the end we quarrel again. he's quite sweet over all. jsut bad tempered. and i dislike it when he loses his temper in front of JH.

tabby
sounds like your strips quite lucky..hee

actually it's easy for me to make JH do things cos of his character. he likes to show off and be praised so it is easy to get him to do what i wan..haha

Keeping of toys
Still training Daren to keep his toys. He likes to throw them around at times and make a mess! But I'll hold one hand and lead him to the toys that's shrewn around, make him pick them up and place back at the right places. I'll reward him by clapping my hands for him which makes him happy and knows that he is doing the right thing.

SY
Wow, really sweet story of you and hb. Must really applaud you both for agreeing together to go for counselling, coz both of you are willing to face the situation together rather than stay away from it and not "solving" anything.

Aileen
CONGRATS!!! Hope you'll have a gal, am sure if u have a gal, you'll really dress her up!

Clare
Praise God for His faithfulness nonetheless to preserve your family members' lives. WIll continue to keep you and family in prayers. May the joy of our Lord be your strength!

Sept03Bride
Kekekeke, we'll all wait for your good news in time to come k?

Rena
I think in order for Elijah to walk more confidently and less tripping is to actually allow him to wander around more often on his own and actually allowing Elijah to fall a few times (and I don't mean purposely in the face of danger). Big spaces or parks that's less crowded would be a great place for him to explore. Just encourage him by smiling and clapping for him which I believe will motivate him to walk more confidently.
That's how Daren learned to walk, I will be around him to make sure he doesn't fall over near places with sharp edges, etc but I do allow him to fall on his own. He has learnt to break his own falls when he trips and can balance himself very well when walking about so much so that he's running now and dancing! So dun be too protective over Elijah. Falling is not that bad, cause they will learn what to avoid and how to avoid certain danger zones.

sy,
Yup, rice and other dish cook separately, just like our meals. Just introduce a little by little. Like when my hb & i are having our dinner, we will just let him have a few grain of rice and he loves to "chew" when he just had his two front teeth....

Sleepingdeer,
My little jovan can be quite fussy @ times, but generally will be quite happy to be given whatever food we give him (if he sees you chewing or have something in the mouth he will use his finger to "pry" open the mouth or he will look at you and "swallow" saliva....very greedy). He oso likes bread and noodles but not mee sua anymore coz mee sua will be quite soggy.

RE : Language
Well, my aunt speaks Chinese to my boy and we speak both Eng and Chn to him. I guess he understands both. My MIL however speaks mostly cantonese to him (on Sundays). I do not speak and understand very little of it. Selfishly, i hope that he doesnt pick it up or I'll be the only "odd" one out of the family.

Now, I'm still trying hard to change her from calling my boy "jiejie" as his name is "zhezhe".

RE : BB's Temper
My boy is horrible now. Brought him to the toy dept and when leaving, took the toy away, he cried and yelled!!! So Ma Lu...if we take away stuff from him or refused to give in, he wld stamp his feet and at times, lie on the floor and throw tantrum...i told my hub ignore him or he will get worse.

Feeding time
Hmmm, seems like our little ones are showing more and more interest in our adult food. Daren would at times refuse to open his mouth for his own food but likes to turn his head towards the dinner table with the adult food. He would be curious to what we are eating, etc etc. So what I would normally do is to let him join us at the diner table while he has his porridge, occasionally would use adult spoon and feed him his porridge. Think they like to be involved at meal times as a family.

Congrats Aileen! Wow, seems like more than half of the mummies here are going thru the second round already!

I have also been trying since my ectopic episode, but still no news leh. Can't help but think that if it wasn't ectopic, my edd will be pretty close to esther's. Oh well, I'ld just cross my fingers and pray...

All your romantic stories really made me reminisc too. I was in the pits when I met my hubby at a church camp. I was going thru a really tough time then and was in a big mess. That was sept 2002. He really helped me thru those dark days even up till now. We dated for a year and he proposed end of 2003. We romed in april 2004 and had our wedding december 2004. May 2005 I got pregnant and Jan 2006 had our baby. So really in a way, we didnt have much of an er ren shi jie. Quite whirlwind romance. =) He's my anchor cos he's so rational and practical. I'm his ability to dream cos I'm irrational and romantic. So in that way we kinda balanced out each other. So cheesy no? =)

Demny, wednesday is fine for me. See u gals.=)

Mamachan,
yup, like you i also brought caleb to parks or void decks for him to practise walking. i walked away from him, forcing him to walk to me (i know, i'm a heartless mum heehee) He fell, felt the pain and learn how to break fall.
So now he is more confident abt walking ard. In fact, he do not even want us to hold his hands anymore..I guess the initial drill really help Caleb alot in terms of walking.

yvonne/sleepingdeer,

My PD actually told me that can start to feed charmaine rice with soup. I think it's also because she got so much teeth!

mamachan
yeah. i hope it will help cos both of us are quite strong tempered. for the sake of JH i guess.

hee, i realise JH learnt how to lower his CG when he's going to fall. quite a funny sight cos he will take a few steps, stood down a bit etc.

chillies
my colleague told me abt her daughter throwing tantrums last time. like what u say, cannto give in. must ignore. she said she will walk away and then observe from a distance. for me, JH won't really fuss when i take away and he's quite easily distracted.

sandra
u and your hb realyl complement each other well.

yvonne
if u have to cook his side dishes separately doesn't that mean got a lot of cooking to do?

Ms Clarity Cafe:

Went to this cafe at Purvis Street (near Raffles Hotel) on Sat. Food's good & prices are reasonable (can say cheap!).

tracy - Caleb is much better now. Hb brought him to see PD this morn and his fever has subsided. PD said he has sore throat too ..no wonder he rejected 3 milk feeds yesterday. i guess it must be that we are out the whole day on sat and he got a little dehydrated in Sentosa :p
oh yes my EDD was 15 jan. haha..too much of a coincidence.

Ak - thks for the FM!

clare - sorry to hear abt things that are happening ard your family. be strong and count on HIM to work things out ya. dun worry, i believe you will have the chance to drive them ard soon.

esh_mummy and yuki - added you to msn. waiting for your acknowledgement.

Aileen - congrats on your 2nd baby. welcome to the preggy club!

SY - wow..you both came a long way and should really look back and hold on to the marriage. moreover, JH came along which is a beautiful thing. All the best with the counselling. oh btw, i also got the 40% frm aussino but when i went last weekend, almost everythg is 40-50% off. so no pt of the card too. i threw it away after all.

sept03bride,
it's really fine. like i said, i'm only paying if forward coz tabby didn't let me pay as well

tabby,
actually i made quite a big boo boo with the strips u gave me. the first time i tested, i used the wrong strip. i used the ovulation strip instead! with 2 lines, its suppose to mean positive so i tot i was pregnant but i tot i better test again in the evening. only when i took out the strips again, then did i realised i used the wrong strip in the morning! so when i tested again using the preg strip in the evening, the result was negative coz only 1 line. but a week later, my long overdue menses still didn't come, and i guess my mother instincts told me that i could be pregnant, so i tested again. this time it's positive. but this time i was very skeptical, i told my hb to come into the toilet and watch me test and i used 3 kits altogther. just to make sure! haha! :p

mamachan,
hee.. not sure why u said if i had a girl i will dress her up. but u'r spot on! i'll definitely dress her up coz i've been deprived of buying girl's stuff with edgar! hehe...

rena/sandra/ssf,
thanks! i really hope its a girl! keke... then i can close shop liao! :p

yap.. mamachan

my mom comment tat i am too bo chap when it comes to elijah's walking coz i will jsut let go and let him fall but one time he tried to walk at home suddenly he trip and fell close to the edge of the coffee table.. tat really scared me coz my table is square.. but i realise that he rather wear his shoes and walk out side..

after reading the posts today, i realised that i've been too protective over Eshley's falling... i'll usually let her hold on to one finger on each hand n let her learn to walk... I dun really dare to release my fingers n let her fall... :-(

Perhaps i'll need to really let go n see how she manage... thks mummies... :p

rena,
i'm like mamachan, i'll let edgar fall but he's ok. he doesn't fuss when he does fall. he will just get up and walk or crawl. but gotta be really careful of the sharp edges ya. maybe it's time to move ur coffee table aside.

Throwing Tantrums
My boy will also cry very loudly if i take things away from him. Sometimes he even fall backwards! So in order to stop all the crying, i usually offer another thing (something that is safe and he likes). Guess he is at the age where he is learning abt self.

Walking
My boy is also not walking independently yet. I think he can, just that he is also afraid of falling. Then on the other hand I also worry abt him falling and hurting himself. Maybe like what all of you had sugggested, I should just let him practice walking at a safe place so that he can learnt to break any falls.

Mamachan
Joash also likes to mess things up more than keeping them..haha! And yes i will shout "yeah" and clap for him when he put even just one toy in tthe box. He will clap for himself too! BUt most of the time, he prefers to throw them everywhere! Btw, thks for adding me into yr MSN. I realise i did not download my yahoo messenger. Let me go download then we can all chat. But I also have hotmail MSN, this is the addy, [email protected]

sysac
I will be postponing the MMR jab till he is abt 20 mths old cos worry abt the side effects, esp the most talk abt autisim. I want to just make sure that he can at least spk a short sentence before letting him take the jab. My PD says it's ok if I am worried.

y r there extra strips to be passed around leh?
I thought pple will only buy them if there's a suspicion that they may be preggy?

hmmm... i may need to get some in may...

Esh_mummy,
re: ILs with broken English
You really cannot do anything if they speak like that. You will appear rude/ disrespectful to them if you start correcting them. Maybe what you can do is speak proper English a tap louder than normal to get them to notice you when you talk to Eshley. Get hb to do likewise also.

tabbs,
Keenan was (most of our babies) at a stage where he likes to remove, as well as put things into a container. So that was when and how I introduce him to help keep toys back into the box or like SSF's Caleb, put rubbish/ nappy in a bin. I'll say things like "put this in there" and then "thank you !!" very excitedly and clap my hands when the action is done. And he will be very motivated to do it again.

Aileen,
NOted your EDD. Congrats to you!!

Anymore mummies then?!??!

Clare,
Thank God all is well at home now. It must be a scare for everyone when your grandma suddenly collapsed. Don't worry...you've still got chance to drive your family out for Dim Sum.

re: Tiger Food Jar
Mummies who chop the veg amd meat into small bits and put into the jar, can i check with you if you need to blend the meat b4 giving it to bb? Wouldn't it be quite hard to swallow if we dun blend it?

sysac
what type of food do they serve? is it air-conditioned? any set lunches?

SY
hope all will work out b/w you and hb. One phase which i learned for the marriage preparation course served me well. "Change ourselves and not expect them to change". Think CL mentioned it earlier. We really cant expect the men to change. Coz they will not and we'll be upset when they dun meet our expectations. Whereas if we change ourselves and our expectations, then we'll be happier.. heehee.. I've tried it many times and it worked v well for us. Plus, hb realises that I hv changed and sometimes reciprocates.

SSF
hmm, everything on sale? then no point liao. cos i liked the royal symphony collection a lot. but it's really ex so i thought the 40% wil be quite good. that one usually abt 30% only.

when JH had sore throat he also rejected his food. u must dilute the milk for feeding.

aileen
u so funny...hope u get a girl!

esh mummy
i will also hold on to Jh's hand when he walks but nowadays he will pull his hand away sometimes. then when i wan him to walk by himself, he will keep holding on to me.

SY,
Not really, usually it's just one dish (steam egg, steam fish or potato&carrot soup with pork) for my boy. As i only cook for him on wkends, lunch,i cook a noodle soup (pork rib stock with fish/chicken/pork, veggie, tofu and top it off with egg)for my boy and myself & hb, shanghai ra-mian noodles with dumpling and dinner i only cook for him. we usually hv dinner with my family. Did experiment with ABC pasta, but he doesn't like it, prob i put in too much tomato ketchap!

sl
forgot to say, thanks for updating on the flight time for Gold Coast. Hmmm.. think hb will not agree coz it's 7hrs. Ger is a v light sleeper. HE might just wake up at midnight and refuse to slp on the flight.

aileen
haha.. don't worry, the first time i used.. i also tested twice cos not sure if for real or not.. second time i made hubby watch me to double check..

SSF
RE: aussino..
i couldn't resist and bought the piggy bumper cot set for my piggy boi boi during the sale.. about 69 dollars with a free water bottle... cos i realised the cot sets i have are all in pink for tabby!

krissie
think u and CL are right. the frustration comes from not seeing the change in hb. then when i say he dun change, he will say i never change. so it becomes a never ending cycle....

oh mummies, u'al have let the babies tried so many recipes...

For Eshley, she's still very much on porridge and macaronni, no seasoning nor tomato ketchap...
is it to bland for them?

Esh Mummy
Thks...haha....I don't use yahoo for MSN so don't exactly know what to do with it. So i just add the address is it? I am normally on Hotmail MSN or Skype. Thks.

ILs with broken english:-
Still not that bad with FIL coz he speaks Mandarin.
But for my mil who's the main caretake during wkdays, she only speaks english, hokkien and malay..., hence she can't speak chinese...
but though she's english educated, but the standard is still very conversational-singlish-based....

i guess i'll just have to reinforce the right way to speak and learn english during the time when we're together... coz i can't expect much on my mil as she's having a hard time taking care of the little active imp.... :p

Thanks mummies....

Sharon,

While u're at MSN Live Messenger, juz go to "contacts" followed by "add a contact"...
then u'll be prompted to type in the person's email address.. can be a yahoo address too...
Dat's wat i meant, u can add a yahoo email add to ur contact list

Language
Hmm maynot have to worry that much. They will self correct. Charmaine used to speak in very improper English but now no more and I think she picks up the accent from her favourite VCDs. My mum speaks Mandarin to her but that din prevent her from being a Kan Tang so I guess the kids know what is the proper one.

Walking
So far Aden can only walk freely within the playyard, outside will be hand -held by me but he still show not much interest of walking when he is outside the playyard. So I will just let him be. But managed to capture him walked 7 steps without aid within the playyard with the video.

SY
Great that you are seeking professional advice at least you are both facing it together. But I must say must cherish each other , you have both come so far should work hard to continue the journey.

Tabb,
my PD asked me to do another x-ray for my boy 2 weeks after the completion of antibiotics to ensure that the infection has cleared. But ok to do 2 xrays in a month for baby?

Queen
I fund transfer to you last nite.

Durainlover
I send you email on Gold Coast. Hope it help.

too busy... think must catch up with the post tonight provided I dun fall asleep early.

Krissie - Mainly western. Yes, its air-conditioned & they do serve set meals. There are some write-ups on the place. I have not seen what's on the web ant them but I enjoyed the food when I was there on Sat. Just thot of sharing some nice food places

Tabbiesus - Oh ok.Lucky they sms-ed u