(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Caleb is down with slight fever so I am stucked at home today. but in a good way, i managed to have time to look thru the blogs created by each mum. so nice to see many new changes in them. I enjoyed reading each posting.

god's child - i can see that celeste is very very happy and blessed with the new slide at your home! wow...her room seems nice with all the posters pasted on the walls. u really want to seize every opportunity of her time ya. haha..even when she is up the slide.

mamachan/rachel - saw the artwork that Rachel did and gosh! it's very pro and nicely done.

re: playgrd @ mamapanda
i can see that you are having a ball of time playing catch up with the mummies and entertaining the babies. looking fwd to another session

SSF,
Hope Caleb is better now!

haha, so coincidental that we ROM, customary and gave birth on same day. Guess wat..i remember even our EDD was same - 15Jan but both turn out 11Jan and c-section!

RE: walking

today elijah manage to walk many steps on his own at TAka and also at home.. he can walk about 3 meters but very slow pace as he is afraid of falling.. but he will dash over if you open your arms.. that is where i am worried coz he will trip and fall when he dashes..

Morning Mummies!
Wow really interesting to read all the love stories! Mine very simple, met HB at work & got together in 1999, 2003 ROM (HB's birthday), 2004 Wedding (My Birthday) & Ashley came in 2005. As most Singaporeans, it was the flat first then ROM. Proposal was at Desaru but also after much pressuring by me. H/w in the end i spoilt my own surprise, all thanks to my super duper sharp 6th sense cos I found out accidentally that he had packed the ring along the night before our trip. So I WAS expecting him to propose already... sigh... Oh but before we applied for the flat, I did request that he ask my mum for my hand in marriage, which he did, after much pacing up and down the house and drinking several glasses of water to clear his throat hahaa...it was quite funny how he stumbled and mumbled then.

Re Tiger Food Jar
Oh heard so much good thing at this jar i too must go buy... will try Robinsons Centrepoint later

Re: Couple time

After having kids, even the time in the car, the journey to and fro work is so important to us. That''s also the time when we can catch up with one another without interuptions. Ha Ha.

Like SL, i used to feel very guilty to leave the kids at my mum's place to sneak out for couple time. I think it is worse when our parents or ILs are helping out...... I always think if a nanny were to look after my kids, i probably won;t feel as guilty.

Btw, any mummies still have the list for preparation of teh arrival of a new born? I lost my copy,..... suppose to pass to SIL........ Please email me at [email protected]? Thnaks in advance!

PS, can i add on to the MSN to join in the chat?

Gd morning...

Have juz updated Eshley's Collage at Yahoo Group...
juz to share my first attempt at Photoshop.. doesn't look as good as rachael's professional artwork... :p

Hi Chicken Little,

Thanks for sharing and reminding us about our expectations.

Coincidentally i was reading a book "The Unique Woman". It is written by two pastors who are husband and wife. A very good book.

There was a lady who worte in to the pastors for counselling. Her case: Her husband dedicate the hosuehold accounts, household chores to her. On top of that, he does not help her with the 3 kids. The last straw came when the husnad wants her to help in his business, She cannot take it and was comptemplating dovorce. The pastor's advice is to always ask the question: Does what he ask of contradicts with our faith? If not, then do it in love and you will find respect and love from your husband.

The book alos mentions, the degreee of disapointment is the bifference between our expectations and the reality. So the less we expect, the less disapointed we will be.

Sometimes we expect our hubby to change as fast as we did in terms of emotions and expectations. However we are all human and cannot expect them to just read our mind and catch up.

How true.

Question mummies:-

If mil n fil (weekday caretaker of eshley) speak english to eshley, but keep saying 'where is your one?', 'where is nai nai one?' ...
which is not the correct english, what can i do to change that??

They should say "Where is Eshley's toys?", "where Nai nai's?"......
kao_confused.gif

mommies

Rena..
So exciting that Elijah can walk now.. but that's also when your headache starts when they are so mobile!! My little monkey is really active... we were at taka yest too, at the toys section upstairs and she was busy at the brainy baby cd shelf throwing one by one all the cds on the floor... sigh..poor daddy and mommy had to pick up after her!! After that she decided she liked this mega bloks toy train and started to push it around the whole dept store...

SSf
poor caleb... hope he gets better soon..

Mommies
how do you teach your child to put back their toys after playing? I try to encourage my girl to do this.. but she's really quite destructive!!!

Hi Esh Mummy,

What i did was to correct Ashley when she learns how to speak. Sometimes i correct them even infront of my mum. But i correct Ashley and not my mum...........

As they grown older and starting speaking the language in school, it will be alright.

No worries.

Btw, i am trying to add you on the MSN. Waiting for your acceptance.

Yuki,

May i know where u get this book? Where can i buy one?
Though we may know at times to appreciate our HB, but at times, other issues are just too overwhelming that we forget to keep on 'Gan En'

how long is the flight to Gold Coast? 6hrs? Earlier we were thinking of going HK. But, the time which we're planning to go is China's long holiday, plus the haze, HK is out. Can't think of anywhere else that is near for us to go with Ger, excpet for PErth, which we feel seems a bit boring.. I was also thinking of Taiwan. My hb prefers a 4 hr flight, though i feel we can go up to 6hrs flight. any other suggestions?

re: tiger food jar
I also tried out during weekend. results was good! except there was once, i put cold sweet pea and tofu into the jar without boiling it 1st, end up, the rice was still quite raw and cannot be eaten.
so, now, i am more ks, will boil all the ingredients till the water is boiling hot, then pour into the jar.

Flo
what's the proportion of the water and rice that you put in? yours look like it's from slow cooker.

re: stroller
finally bought the a stroller for my gal. during weekend, went to bb hypermart to buy maclaren volo for my gal. she loved it, kept wanting to climb back to her seat after walking for short while. i think 'cos it's more airy.

Keeping Toys...

Usually after play, i'll just show Eshley how to keep her toys... n at the same time, talk to her abt it, "Eshley, see, mummy is now keeping your toys in the box, u must try to do it everytime after you've finished playing"..
I've done this for several times but only every weekend as wkday nite usually only bring her home n change her... I've been doing it since she knows how to sit, and now she's slowly putting things back.

Mainly, i tink parents need to first set example, becoz children likes to mimic wat adults are doing... :p

tabby,
thanks for making the reservation at gymboree. and ya tabby and edgar are quite similiar ya. both are super active as well! :D i don't even dare to bring him out to malls these days coz he will roam around himself and wouldn't want us to hold his hand nor will he sit quietly in his stroller. oh and edgar doesn't pick up his toys either. juz throw and throw.

denmy,
u so gan cheong ya! added my name into the table liao! haha! anyways, u might want to update that my EDD is 13 Nov

I hv MIA for quite a while.

It's good to read the recent posts and knew and that there's more new additions in some of your families this year & next yr. Feel like telling hb to lets try for no. 2....

Would like to check with mummies, if your kid prefers rice to porridge? Coz my Jovan 14 mth+ now dun really like to eat porridge but instead, prefer rice with steam fish or steam egg with mince pork....

Does a 14mth old kid knows his preferences like we adults.....coz i realise Jovan loves to eat whatever stuff we eat, altho i hv not introduce him to prawns yet....

Happenings @ Home
Just like to share so much has happened at home recently... my grandpa fell on the 2nd day of CNY and was since too weak to walk, admitted to TTSH then now at KSW hospital & nursing home. Then AShley had fever at fits and admitted to TMC. Last Wed my grandma, who was all along very healthy and fit, was with my aunt accompanying my grandpa to TTSH when she suddeny collapsed at TTSH itself. She had suffered a sudden stroke attack and one of her blood vessel in the brain had burst. Doc at A&E told us the Neurosurgeron will attend to her but told us to prepare for the worst. It was a great shock to the whole family cos she never had any medical problem and didn;t complain of any sickness or pain. We prayed and fast as a family and Praise GOD Grandma was saved. We really thank GOD that it had happened at TTSH itself so rescue was immediate. The neurosurgeon say 1/3 of the stroke patient didn't even made it to the hospital and another 1/3 had severe repercussion like paralysis. We thank GOD that my grandma is only awake but was even able to sit and feed herself by Friday. She is having a slight fever but other than that the nurse and doc say she is doing very well, with no signs of any paralysis.

Long before we bought our car, I always tell myself I will drive my grandparents and mum to dim sum one day when I have a car. But we never got about really organising it plus I was always too timid to drive, and when all these happen, I really regret not doin it earlier. I hope that I will still have the chance to drive them around one day when they both get well.

Hi Esh_Mummy,

The book was a gift from a church friend 6 years ago. I am also sourcing for the book for a friend. I just email Tecman and they may help to bring in from overseas.

http://www.christianbook.com/Christian/Books/product/?item_no=68202X&p=1010575#curr

You can see the topics of the book. There are topics about forgiveness, releasing our past hurts to God, there is also topic on sex!

I find the sentence below very true:
1. The hardest thing for a man is to admit they are wrong.
2. The hardest thing for a woman is to see their man fail.

It's just woman's nature to nurture people and sometimes it includes our husbands.......... However in our earnest to help our man succeed, we may be a stumbling block instead. God do not need our help to correct our man. God is fully capable of doing it. The best thing we can do for ourselves, our husband and God is to correct ourslves and continue to pray for our husbands.

Aileen
congrats!!!

clare
hope everything goes well.

my dad is a stroke patient and one of the blood vessels in the brain burst. He has been bed-ridden for few years already. Your grandma's recovery progress is really good!

Clare,

Will keep you and your family in my prayers...
U'll need to be strong and take care as well, coz Ashley and your hubby still need you....

Aileen,
Congrats to the new addition...

Take great care too...

Tabb,
I m also having a hard time picking up Ethan's toys and yet to succeed in teaching him to pick them up. My fren says she started teaching her boy around this time & by 2 yrs old, he knows he has to keep his toys after playing.

Mamachan,
Can I check if u have mailed out the GainIQ vouchers? I m down to my last tin. Hope it is not lost in mail. Thanks in adv!

Aileen

are you hoping for a girl girl too?

Clare
Wishing your whole family good health!
It must be terrible to experience these things!

Denmy
Sorry I have to pull out of this wed's gymboree play session. Aidan came down with a fever last night, not sure if it's due to his molars coming out, but to be safe, I will not join in this week. You guys have fun :< I will join in next week if there is another one!

Clare,
Hope your grandma has a speedy recovery. Thanks for sharing - it's a reminder for all of us to spend quality time with our loved ones.

Aileen,
congrats!!

Clare
It's great that your grandma recovered so fast. Can imagine how tired and stressed you were. Take care.

Aileen
Congrats... yeah.. more mummies joining the #2 club.

Re:Toilet Train
I realised that my gal has started to signal to us that she is about to pee. But its too short a notice to rush her to the toilet. Just over this weekend, I notice that she will tug at her diapers, then a minute later you will see her shiver which means she pee.

After she poo she will also tug at her diaper and shout for us to change her.

Re:Imitating Actions
I totally forgot that our kids are now imitating our actions and last night while watching tv, i used the cushion to hit hb for fun and didn't realise Meg was watching intently. After I stopped, she picked up the cushion and started hitting hb too. :S

Congrats Aileen. More babies. Our group is getting bigger.

Clare, glad your grandma is well now.

Yvonne
Aden is still taking porridge but sometimes when he sees us eating at the table he will refuse his food. I just use a adult spoon to give him the food and he still eats it.

Aileen - Congrats!

Clare - Do take care
Wishing yr grandparents a speedy recovery.

#2 - I have to 'tong' for 3 more yrs. Can only have #2 in 2010. That's when I will finish my studies & the most diff course in my career for that impt promotion. By then , I guess some of you mummies will be having #3 liao :p

Tabbiesus - I will pack the toys together with Cephas. He will mimic my actions.

Hi Chicken Little,

Jovan does take porridge occasionally, provided it's tasty like fish porridge or the brown grain porridge (chor bee) which my mil cooks for him some time....

My little Jovan started to walk two weeks b4 CNY and now he can walk a mean 1km or so.....just over the weekend we went out to the wet market and he manage to walk back all by himself.....but oso must see his mood whether he feels like walking or not.....I realise that Jovan has grown taller but not so chubby as before but definitely stronger!

Esh mummy
I have same headache too My MIL also speak half English.. she will goes like " Elephant ley?" "meow meow ley?" "nan nan..nan nan.. ok?"

Clare
Sorry to read abt the recent happenings, I hope everything will be back to normal very soon.
I can recognise when you mentioned, sometimes we plan behind out mind.. but never gte to do it.
Not to worry, I'm sure you will be able to fulfill what you have planned for very soon. *hugz*

Aileen
I din get to read your post on Good New... but CONGRATS anyway!!! welcome to the club abd very happy for you

Aileen,

Congrats! Seems like more and more mummies are having their no. 2 or 3 now. For our next gathering would prob see more babies. : )

Clare,
Thank God that your grandma is okay.

re: Tiger Jar
Flo, yours look great! I must try out mine.

Krissie,

The flight to Brisbane which is the nearest international airport to Gold Coast is abt 6 - 7 hours. You can choose to take an overnight flight which departs SIN at about midnight then Gerald can sleep on the flight and when you reach Brisbane, it's about 7-8am in the morning.

Thanks to all mummies for your well wishes! hopefully will be a mei mei this time! can't believe edgar is going to be a kor kor so soon. he's still like a baby! :p

clare,
sorry to hear about ur grandma but am glad she is on the road to recovery. stay strong ya!

Hi Rena,

Emailed the list to your hotmail. Could you get back to me today if you wish to order? Thanks.

MamaChan/esh_Mummy,
Received your orders. I'll collate on first-come-first serve and ask my colleagues if they have spare quota. MamaChan, the pantyliners have a shelf life of max 3 years hor, hope you are not depleting 20 packs yourself :p

Queen/Wenyl,
Have emailed you the list too.

SY,
Pls email me at yahoo account.

Aileen,
Gratz!

Tiger jar
Borrowed the 0.9L frommy dad. Shall experiment with it too

Good news?
Don't think I'm preggy. Tested again yday and negative, so false alarm but still need see gynae to check out what caused the 3-4days spotting while my P is still not here yet since 2005. I'll prolly give the TMC doctor Denmy recommended a try. Anymore good gynaes (esp females)from Mount Alvernia or TMC to recommend? Sigh..

only took a quick glance....

Tracy,
Huh...good that u brought up about the tugging of diaper. My boy has been doing that too but nv think clod be a signal. Nowadays if he squats quietly, he's doing his big business.

Aileen,
CONGRATS!!!!!

CL,
Has sent you my order. Thanks...

RE : Keeping of Toys
My boy loves to throw toys. He wld empty watever box holding anything. Upon emptying, he wld walk ard, pick and continue throwing. Haiz....

Mamapanda

My gynae is Yvonne Chan, she's really nice and her waiting time usually isn't too long.. however she's a bit expensive. I think its 50 for consultation, 40 for scan and she charges 7.50 for urine dipstick. Only nets/ cash. no credit card.

Re: keeping toys
phew... i'm glad my girl is not the only one who's just throwing her toys around...

wow so many postings to catch up!

thanks for sharing.

me and hb had a really short couple time. we both agreed that we got married too early. we have a lot of perception differences plus JH, we have even more to fight about!

we have decided to go for counselling to work things out. so hopefully we can find the time to do that cos we are both so busy with work.

actually me and hb's story very sweet one. we met at work cos i transferred to his dept and he was my team leader. that was in 2003. i was still with my ex then. my r/s with my ex was really up and down and he was also very 'over protective'. and each time we quarrel he will threaten to hurt himself. so i found it very hard to leave him. my hb was the one who helped me to leave him. it was a very bad time for me during that period and thanks to him and my colleagues, i managed to pull thru. my ex would actually stalk me and my hb would meet me at mrt station every day to go to office. then a month later, we felt the attraction and we decided to go steady. after 6 months of courtship we decided to get married. it was so soon that even my parents were not supportive.

hmm, actualyl thinking back, it was not easy for us to get together so the times should really be treasured. hopefully the counselling will help.

mamachan
yeah, we work pretty late esp hb. i always tell him to change jobs cos for the amt of hours we put into our work ,we shd be getting more pay..haha

esh mummy
actually i told my in laws no need to speak english to JH specifically just becos we speak english to him. in fact i encourage them to speak chinese to him. i told them it's good for them to speak chinese to him so he can learn.

tabby
JH will put back his toys about 90% of the time after playing when i ask him to. i think he jsut likes to put things back. the 10% that he din put back, he will get a scolding from me and i will put it back in front of him and then ask him to say sorry.

my sis was pretty impressed that he will actually close his stuff or put his stuff back when asked.

the only problem i have with him recently is that he keeps throwing his toys. i know he is testing me.

aileen
congrats!!!

clare
hope things get better soon for you. do update us

yvonne
your boy likes rice? i guess that's alright as long as he can chew. doesn't have to be porridge all the time right? in fact, i m wondering how to get my boy to be started on rice.

what do u usually serve with rice? do u cook all his food separate?

Hi Clare,
oh dear, hope things are getting better for your family, do come in and get support, we are all here for you... as for driving, it take time to build up your confidence, so tak eit slow and steady, am sure that you will be able to drive your grandma out for dimsum one day!

SY,
yes, your love story is really sweet! it's good that you are going to go for counselling, some hubbies won't even think about it, like my hubby. He thinks I'm crazy to even suggest me going to see a shrink for my crazy controlling impulses, but I dun think so...
I think it's good to talk about it...

Yvonne,
my gal also loves rice. She is starting to refuse her porridge and will only eat rice and bread... somedays I will let her have it, but I still worry about it being too hard for her. She is one fussy eater, I tried just about everything, and she still picks and chooses.