(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

esther
pls take care.. maybe renee is more fussy now might be coz you're preggie. Ger will also be like that sometimes, esp when I tell him he's going to be a kor-kor. Think somehow bbs can sense the competition coming. So, I'll always tell him, mummy loves you and will always love you...Mummy has lots of love to share with the baby too.

re minced beef
I was just reading the beef pasta receipe. wanna share that I bot the minced beef from ISetan Scotts supermarket, the austr topside minced beef, and it was the most finely minced beef for our little ones. Unlike the ones at CS, which I find is still too big / tough for them.

Krissie
Ya, I love to buy the meat from Isetan. Looks fresher also. Lets see if you can break the trend of boys.

SL
Take care. Hope you get well soon.

RP lunch
Cityhall Lunch is Wed. So when is RP lunch this week ? Need to pass the biscuits and fingerpaint to some mummies.

Biscuit and Fingerpaint.
Mummies who order the above can pm me to arrange for collection if you are not collecting at RP or cityhall.

Esh mummy, let me know how I shall meet you to pass you the biscuit

Cookie
Just confirmed with my sis in Perth. She says you can bring sealed dried food in but must declare at custom. Milk is subject to custom check. But my fren brought it in before. Should be able to explain easily because of the baby

Aileen,

i think damien is also like Edgar..very particular on his shoe..i let him to walk with sandles...and he simple refused to walk with it. Maybe both of them walk around the same time. He prefer to walk with those soft leather shoe...

brought him out for shopping - suntec city last sat..he refused to be sit in the stroller and wanna to walk on his own...dun want to be hold. Almost fainted..chasing after him.....he is too busy exploring...

minced beef
Alternatively, u can try buying ur own top side n then pass to counter mince 4 u? or better still, buy ur own fod processor dat comes wif a mincer n mince the beef urself. I got my own mini mincer at home n I mince it myself when I find the minced beef at the counter has alot tendons or course.

babylon,
I don't think Edgar is particular about his shoes leh. cos he has not problems with his other shoes, he has like 8 pairs of shoes. so far no problem, except for this combi one. and it's like can still walk in them, just that after a few hours, he will start crying... i oso don't know y. but i'm quite sure it's the shoes, coz after i took them what, he calmed down almost immediately. maybe like i said, that pair of shoes just jinx lah!! no logical explanation leh!

aileen

re: gymboree trial at tanglin mall

actually, 1120 is also tabbies nap time.. she naps around 1030-1230 plus or minus half an hour. In the afternoon her nap time is 3.30-5.30. plus or minus half an hour

when is edgar's nap time?

I just called for weekend classes:
sat is 930am, 4.30pm
Sun is 1120am

Which one do you think you can make it for? Actually 9.20 is good but so early.. do you think you can make it? 4.30 and 11.20 is in the middle of nap so must try and make her sleep earlier.. so how?

any other mommies interested in joining?

Aileen

hehe.. tabby is the same.. but not with combi shoes.. she doesn't like thongs... i think i saw megan wear it at the bday party (cute haviana thong slingback) and i thot so cute so i bought a pair for tabby and she hates it.. she will cry when she sees that pair of shoes... other shoes she will actually go and pick up and try and put on herself if she wants to walk in the garden.. she will say shoo shoo.. garden... walk walk and drag her shoes.. but if i try and put on the thongs slippers/ slingbacks... she will scream and cry...

May/sysac,
Thanks for the info on Xbox 360. I just found out the price... it's a whopping $599. Way out of my budget. My HB can go get it himself if he wants to... hahah.

SSF,
Financially, me and HB should be ok, even though with my new job, I' m taking home less pay. Good thing is my HB's pay rise is quite decent and we were never big spenders. Yah, I do feel that I should wait till I'm confirmed at my new job to start planning. My new boss seemed quite ok about such things... I have a colleague who also just joined and she was pregnant. She claimed that she did not know that she was pregnant when she joined the company. My boss is ok lah, still confirmed her nonetheless. I also have a target to give birth to #2 before I turn 30 (am 28 this year) and if going for #3, before 33 years old.

Re. Tiger Food Jar
Flo, Thanks for the info on the Tiger Food Jar.
I'm also amazed that it can actually cook porridge! Is it a special patented techonology? Cos the Tiger website does not claim that this warmer can actually cook. I mean, to cook something, the warmer must have the ability to bring the boiling water to a temperature even higher than the temperature of the water when it is first poured in right or at least keep the temperature of the water at boiign temperature for like 2 hours? Hmm... I'm going to check it out. Sounds really good.

Re. Cali Baby Spree
If interested, just PM me your orders. Do leave your contact nos.
I'm ordering from a US website, exchange rate for 1st payment is 1.57, excess will be credited to VPOST shipping charges

Re. Wedding anniversary
May I know what do you normally get for your HB? My anniversary is coming next week. It's my 2nd anniversary with HB. We didn't do anything special of our 1st anniversary I think, cos was so busy with Isaac and we considered the Europe trip last year as a mini-celebration liao. This year, really have no idea how to go about celebrating it. Any suggestion?

Re. minced beef
Not sure if this is a stupid question... isn't it the same if we cook the beef first then blend it? I always cook the beef in cubes and then blend it for like 3 secs. The beef is not mashy but soft enough for our babies. Same goes fro chicken and pork. I do not buy minced meat cos always have the impression that minced meat outside may contain a lot of tendons and fat.

Tiger Food Jar
Queen, I emailed Tiger before on cooking porridge. I posted sometime back. Confirm it can cook and the promoter at Isetan oso confirm. But they did not mention about raw meat and vege.

Aiyo so many young mummies in this forum. I realli feel old liao

tabbie, re gymboree, i think sat 9.30am is great. can u make it?

wow tabby can verbalise herself very well leh. edgar is still "eh-ing" only. thou he can say the individual words, he can't piece them together. and when he's impatient, he will only shout EH-EH and point at that thing.

mummies who have PM me for the activities
i m tidying it up now. once i have finish tidying i will send it out.

chillies
JH din wan to eat when he has sore throat.

SH
your situation sounds like my fren's one also. her mother's rule is that kids dun cry in her house so she gives in to her boy all the time. so her boy at home can be quite naughty cos he's used to crying to get his way. what she told me is to make sure that my boy is closest to me so that he will still listen to me even though there's inconsistency somewhere else. her boy will still listen to her and be disciplined by her.

yp learning vision is in pasir ris. think i will wan to check it out.

Mamachan, CL, Flo, Cookie
great to see u at the class! glad that i could make it.

think i will look ard too for different gym classes. plus tanglin is a bit too tiring to travel back and forth. hb was complaining that he can't do anything until i m back..haha.

CL
i can't join the lunch on wed cos got workshop at orchid country club...

hope charmaine is better.

Sharon
my darling can't walk without supprot too. he will try to run and end up like a drunkard.

SSF
jadon..the name sounds familar..
how come dun wan to use a name that begins with 'C'?

clare
oh dear, hope ashley is better. what is the reason for the seizure?? sounds really scary. but really thank God that u guys were ard when it happened.

re shoes
JH also very particular abt his shoes. some of the shoes that we bought, he just refuse to wear....

i thnk i m quite fortunate cos JH is always much better behaved outside. yesterday after the class i carried him to toy shop to look ard. he will tell me that he wants some of the toys and he will take them but when i tell him to put them back, he will do it without much complaints. hee, though after a few times, he started whining. must be wondering how come everything has to be put back. but overall he was quite alright.

tabby
i thought i saw u but wasnt really sure. u were in white?

Anyone can recommend me STETCH MARKS REMOVAL CREAM? All along i getting mine thru natural source but i think is closing down soon.

Queen
RE: anniversary present

First year : i made a stack of coupons for hubby to use: like massage coupon/ kisses coupon.... you get the idea right? cos first year got married.. very lovey dovey... keke.. hence got pregnant withing 4 months of wedding..

Second year: booked a room at our wedding hotel to relive wedding night.. and stayed without baby... to have some couple time...

Sigh.. i think i must stop doing these sentimental things cos each new anniversary end up with new baby the following year! kekeke

Anyone can recommend me STETCH MARKS REMOVAL CREAM? All along i getting mine thru natural source but i think is closing down soon.

tab
ya i use it. hai but i still got some loh as i gain 17kg le. hehe. I read thru website tat it affect 90% white women during pregnancy. U are the lucky one tat 10% hehe

I apply cream thru out the pregnancy when i noe i'm pregnant loh. about two mths pregnancy but i still got it when i am 8 mths pregnancy loh. sob sob

the thread is moving fast!

Clare,
Oh dear, poor Ashley! It must have been very frightening for all of you, but thankful that Ashley is okay now!

Demny,
wow, so fast, hearing that makes me wish a little that I got preggie same time as you, then now the wait will be almost over...haha!

Chicken little,
thanks for getting the fingerpaints, I'll arrange and collect from you this week ok?

Playgroup
Wow, looks like all of you had fun, must try to join the next time at West or North west side!

May,
I saw Cold Storage Rail Mall had 2 more tins of Friso 3 2 nights ago.... you want me to go check for you?

Oh mommies,
does anyone have any good window grills company to recommend? We are FINALLY gonna install window grills over our windows since S is starting to climb around like a monkey...

Haha, sorry mommies, my thoughts are coming one at a time....

Re: MY GYM
Anyone interested to try out my gym at Great World? It's a new HUGE place, with tons of spongy mats and ropes and swing ladders for babies, and kids to run around... my hubby is thinking of letting S try it out and see whether she enjoys it or not... only down side to it is that older kids can play in it too and it may get crowded..

queen
i always get what hb wants for anniversary. i m not very romantic one but in fact quite practical.

hee, why not send flowers to your hb's office to surprise him...one of my colleagues got a big balloon from the wife for V day..so funny.

sleepingdeer,
i can get the contact for the window grilles from my hb. will message u.

clare
a scary experience! glad that ashley is ok now.

CL
hope charmaine get well soon

Denmy
wow... you are due very soon. have a smooth delivery.

Flo
i have this food jar, too. didn't know that it can cook the food like that! the rice that you put in is white rice or brown?

ask you something. since falling sick, JH has not been sleeping well at night. these few nights he will keep waking up and crying. me and hb are turning into pandas. what shd i do? he was quite alright before he fell sick...i dunno what's the reason.

sleepingdeer
me too, interested in my gym, but need to see when's the trial and how much.

SY
JH sleeps alone or sleep in your room? if he sleeps alone, mayb you can sit beside him to accompany him?

Sunny,

Did you just order a bumper mat ? I am crazy liao. I feel my Pooh Wonderland is too big for my 6 Panel playyard. So was thinking of getting another smaller one to fit the playyard then put the pooh wonderland in the kids room for them to roll around. Then I also feel like extending another 2 panels of the playyard since Charmaine and Aden enjoys being inside. To get playyard or get another mat , so headache

Beginning to wonder if JW can understand and overheard that mummy and daddy will be going london. Coz these few days he has turned into a super super glue. Even when he sleeps, he will insist that he wants to sleep on my tummy so that I can't sneak away without waking him.

Teaching our babies abc,1-10,a to z?
Anyone alr start teaching their babies all these? I alr start teaching. but since tat he don really wan to concerate le.
Actually i only can guide him after my work and weekend. So i pass those books to baby sitter loh. Realise that he enjoyed barney series. I got one the read&dance one. he loves it so last sat i went to buy more but he since like only enjoy the read&dance not others. Cant focus le. but i still pass to baby sitter this morning loh. hai. I wondering she'll show him or not.

sunny
JH sleeps in my room on a mattress. the thing is i think becos when he was sick, we let him sleep on bed with us.

Cl,
u wan to extend the playyard? i m only us ing 4 panels. do u wan to get the 2 panels from me? i bought 6 panels actually.

SH
hee, maybe he can sense that u guys are going to london. babies very smart one.

wendyheng,
i go thru his abc and 123 with him. i think babies at the age won't really sit long and conc so just teach them when they are interested. JH likes to look at me touch the alphabets so i will use my finger to go over the alphabets etc for him to see.

SY,

You dun need it anymore ? If got second baby still can use mah. If you realli dun need, I dun mind getting from you. Just pm me the price.

SH
Babies realli smart. So good to be honest with them even though you think they dun understand. Maybe you can start explaining liao. When I tell Charmaine to prepare to go out, Aden understand and will look at the door and wait to be carried over or if he is out of the playyard he will crawl to the door to get ready. When we tell him Charmaine is sick sick, he usually will not kick a big fuss and the day is realli easy to look after him.

Owl
Our group name is jan06mummy. You will need an invitation to join the group. Can pm May who is the moderator.

Sooo many post...manage to glance thru only...

Clare
Thank GOD, Alshey is ok now and yes all at the right timin. As I read your post... I can imagine how scary it is and Thanks for sharing.. it really serve as a reminder to me on how I have to handle and react when such incident happen.
I almost cried when I read your post.

SH
talking abt biting... last nite my daughter bite my HB on his shoulder right in front of my PIL.. I din see what happen next but heard my gal cried sooooo loud as if had a bad fall.
Turn my HB slap my gal on her cheek to discipline her!
HB claim it was very light slap but I thought I saw my gal face turn abit red afterwards.

Personally I wuldnt slap a baby or discipline in this way. I have "issue" a serious warning to HB, we have to agree on disciplinary action in future and he is not suppose to slap my bb :p

Flo/CL
It was very funny to see aden so interested in my HB... at first I thought aden wanna touch kae.. but turn out he is after my HB..hahah

yes nice meeting all the other babies there.. Daren, Aden, melody, Edgar, JH... and not forgetting Tabbiesus... so sorry couldnt chat more... cos already late... need to rush in.

SH
isnt that GOOD news... heehee.. super gluey JH. Enjoy these moment

SY
past few nite K also wake up from her sleep and cry even though she was on my bed!

RE: Tiger Food Jar
Model is MCW/P070. Mine is the 0.7L one. Bought it during one of the BP some time back.
I was also very surprised it could cook raw meat! But must cut small pieces. I thought i might as well 'experiment' it out since i heard TIger food jar can cook raw rice. Really pleasantly surprised to find my raw meat & vege cooked as well!
Porridge turns out nua after 4 hrs of leaving in the food jar. Whether or not it's sticky depends on how much water u put in. The more water there is, the less sticky.

SSF,
My friend also named her son Jadon. Thought it means answered prayer? Coz they've been trying for quite some time...almost went for IVF and then they conceived. So named him Jadon which means 'answered prayer' (according to them lah). I also have 2 cousins named Jaden. Lots of Jadon/Jadens around! And i think it's a nice name

Clare,
Oh my, it must hv been a really scary experience for u. What a test of ur faith! Amen to God who is good and faithful and protects our little ones! Hope Ashley recovers soon!

SY,
I think when babies are sick they don't sleep as well. So u & your hubby try to "tong" thru this phase and hope JH recovers soon!

RE: #2
Queen, me too!! I'd love to have #2 soon. But we put our plans on hold for a while.

RE: Good news
No, i'm not preggie. But my family got our visa to migrate to Australia!! Heehee
So happy! Told some of the mummies during our playgroup last Thurs. So now can start planning for our 'departure'

SY,
No lah, not sure yet whether or not migrating. But we'd definitely like to go there to work for 2-3 years! It's always been our dream to try staying overseas - in particular, Australia. Yes i've got an aunt + her family there. Plus our good friends also migrated over there!

durianlover
oic...think it wd be nice to stay there for a while. tried looking for work there? i got an ex colleague who married an australian and moved there also.

Anniversary presents: We have not given each other since Cephas came along. This is bcos our anniversary is a month after Xmas. By then, the Xmas present s till fresh. Haha...what we've been doing is go out for a good dinner. Both times, we've brought Cephas along too.

Durianlover - Congrats! Hope that yo;ll enjoy yr stay in Australia

Tiger Pot: My mum bought one which is 8L. She will just put her ingredients in for the dish and it'll cook after abt 2 hrs. So far, we've got Mee Rebus gravy, beef/chicken stew/soup, etc. She absolutely loves the pot!

SY

i suffered on sat nite cos tabby was having runny nose and when she sleeps. the discharge would drip down her throat and make her wake up coughing so she couldn't sleep.. she would just cry and cry.. in the end have to hold her and let her sleep in a more upright position on my chest and she could sleep...

Quite tough for you... so take care!!

Wendy
My mom has been teaching my girl abc and shapes and colors and nos. sometimes its reinforced by the videos she watches... she can recognise A-I and the letter L

Usually we will ask her what the letter is for and she will say
A- apple
b - bird
c - car
d - duck
e -eh (cos she can't say elephant)
f - flower

See her video i took earlier in feb when she first started saying these things
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Stxd1URZmw

Tabbie,
Tabitha is so cute when she said those words! Wow...i'm very impressed! Must tell hb tonight. keke...

Clare,
Wat a scare you've got! Thank God all is well now. Thumbs up to your hb who could keep calm. I guess the guys are more capable of keeping calm during situations like these.

When Meg has fever it usually goes beyond 38.5deg and once even hit 40deg. We will insert the suppository immediately to bring the temp down. I have a bottle of Burofen but never used, cos it cannot be used with paracetamol and we didn't wanna confuse ourselves. Besides, her fever is always beyond 38.5deg so we go for the suppository rightaway.

The fever will come and go but it will eventually subside in 4-5days. So hang in there! Will keep you and your family in my prayers.

TAB
she can speak so fluently? wow good le. my son can say bus, car, ball. er da and some others but now a - apple le. hehe
she's a very fast learner ah. hehe.

tab
tabby is so smart! how did u get her to talk? JH only says mama, papa etc. he can recognise all these things but dun wan to say

yeah, he will end up sleeping on me and sometimes it's so hard for me to sleep. plus he refuse to have blanket so i can't even cover myself properly when he sleeps with me

durianlover
Oh dear.. will sure miss u. When are u guys leaving? So sad.. Ariene's gonna have 1 playmate less

Cookie,
I do slap JW...but on the hand only. I dun think it's good to slap on the face either.

Sticky baby....not if he won't even let me go bathe or go anywhere. Difficult to enjoy then ;p

Tabbiesus,
Wah! Tabby is so smart! JW still doesn't speak...hmmm. is he slow? Actually, I realised he learnt a lot when we brought him to Australia with us. I think it is the time spent together. After we came back, he stopped learning again and now doesn't even really respond to the usual questions that he knows last time. :-(

my son is 10 months old. Trying to up his calcium intake besides milk. What brand of cheese can he take? The red/laughing cow party cube ok?

He doesn't like sour so yogurt is out. Thanks.

Jenny

SY, SH, wendy

I think usually the girls will start talking faster, i think some of the other baby girls are also quite verbal now... i think she's at the stage where she's just echoing what we say to her... so should really talk to your babies and encourage them to talk back.. but they say boys are usually slower.. my colleagues son only started talking at 2 years.

some of the words she really knows the meaning cos she will use it appropriately like after her tv show finish she will say "no more" and if she wants to go down and walk she will say "down, down, walk walk"

Recently when she wants to watch TV she will point to the tv and say "Baby einstein" and at first when she did that i thot i misheard.. but then she really pointed to the image of the baby einstein logo on the book she was holding and repeated it and then pointed at the tv...