(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

the playdate looks fun.
Will try to join u guys the next round.

Been really busy since being SAHM. Been running ard, shopping, cooking etc.

Mamapanda

All your recipes look so delicious. Too bad my little boy can't try it.
He's allergic to chicken, eggs and diary products. Do u have any yummy recipes without any of these?

ky: butter vs margerine
Read somewhere before that margerine is bad for health. I've also read in some baby recipe books before that margerine is not recommended for babies and kids. Anyway, infants and toddlers generally require a higher fat diet than adults (that's y we don't feed them low fat milk), so unsalted butter is best for them. Anyway, don't worry about the cholestrol. In fact, they need it for bone & protein synthesis. If you're worried about the trans fat, balance out their diet with good cholestrol diet like oily fishes, and let them eat lots of vege and fruits.

Cass
Don't worry abt the wind chime ok? Small matter

ak: playmat
My playmat is the LGprime bumper playmat. Bought it from SSW. These are the playmats we're talking about : http://www.smallsmallworld.com/bumper_playmat.html
I got an alphabet foam one from kiddypalace - those that u piece together like jigsaw puzzle but I don't like that one cuz its not non-toxic and ariene likes to pick up the edges to bite and eventually, she figured out how to "peel" out the alphabets and pieces and started destroying the playmat. I still think the bumper playmat is a better buy. BTW, I don't think the floormat u mention is non-toxic and safe for biting too.

butternetsquash & chicken recipe
I use large yellow onions cuz its taste & smell is less strong and is sweeter when cooked. Purple onions are alittle strong for my girl's taste. As for pumpkin, you can try but I find butternut squash more suited cuz its sweeter, has more nutritional value and softer in texture (closer to USA mashed potatoes). Pumpkin has a unique flavour which tastes quite strong and Ariene doesn't like it. Another variation I've tried is mixing buttersquash, mashed USA potatoes, orange sweet potatoes and yellow sweet potatoes. Its quite nice too!

DSLR
Ooo.. we've always wanted a DSLR but its soo ex.. My hb looks to shoot pictures and I like to be "shot" but we don't have a decent camera. The camera I have is a hand-me-down from my dad when he bought his DSLR.

isetan sale
Is it at all isetans? If it is, i'll ask my hb go tampines isetan grab a pair of combi bb shoes for Ariene! No joke! Only $14.90?

Well, he looks fine to us. As active as usual. No fever but had sore throat according to PD. The lymph nodes she only said no issue only when they get large indicating infection. Luckily he "guai guai" eat the antibiotics....

disciplining when sick
Supernanny Jo Frost say everyone, even adults, tend to be cranky & are more likely to throw tantrums when sick. So, be more forgiving when they're sick. Its ok to pamper them abit

May
I'm still waiting 4 Ariene 2 wake up from her nap b4 going down to shop n save. I've not forgotten abt ur Friso 3 gold.

Mashy
I"ve not tried it b4 but I suppose u can try frying the onions in olive oil & replacing chicken with beef or pork. It'll taste jus as nice I think.

just went to the popular book fair.. you can buy lots of different types of jumbo crayons stated non toxic on the box (different brands)... and books there... quite cheap.. i got 3 baby einstein books for $10

mamapanda
so wasted i couldn't join the playgroup.. i volunteer my place next round... but may have to make it a weekend if in april... cos going back to work...

thanks mamapanda

i bought a pair of combi shoes from the isetan sale. but it was too big. haha. so have to wait for him to grow into it. now wondering should i pair another pair that's smaller. hehe.

mashy
which isetan u got it from? was wondering if u going again can i tompang u help me get a pair too?

tabbi
After this month, I'll be working full time at my new job so I won't be able to host/join a weekday playgroup anymore unless i take leave or unless its nearby like durianlover's house, I can ask my maid bring Ariene over on my behalf. One of the things I'll definitely miss

KY
Don't worry abt my maid. She's really nice. I must say we're very lucky to have employed her. She's more like my butler than my maid and she loves Ariene very much. Just that my FIL makes things very difficult for her cuz he'll sneak here on days that he knows I'm working and he'll do alot of the forbidden things (my maid caught him trying to feed chocolate to Ariene and she quickly grabbed it n swallowed it b4 my FIL can protest, he always disrupting Ariene's routine n nap schedules to his convenience, etc). So, sending Ariene to childcare is not only for Ariene to learn something, its also to protect her and my maid from my unrasonable FIL.

mamapanda

i went to the one at scotts. i dunno leh, need to check with my hb. he's my finance minister, so need him to approve the budget. haha.

sy
my parents staying in Tampines. I used to work in the kindergartens at Tampines before I got married. You can find Learning Vision in Pasir ris. I think it's Pasir ris Dr 6 Blk 472. SIM is at 461 Clementi Road.

babylon..
poor brother of damien.. Kae do bite my mIL.. but so far she haven't bite me yet.

Re: Home made cheese sauce
ANy mum has recipe to share for Home made cheese sauce?

ak,
i bot my mats from ssw as well. don't think it's foam leh. more like rubbery kind. in ssw's context, they term their mats into 2 kind, bumper playmat and children floormat, the bumpermat is thicker therefore more exp. the floormat is thinner. i have both the bumpermat and floormat. to me the difference b/w the mat is the thickness and the quality.

mamapanda, thanks for the info on the onion and magarine.

sy, hee... think it's a good investment lah. worth saving for! :D i paid mine for $2200+, including the lens. but the price has dropped now. it's around $1800+. so more reason for u to buy it

Mummies who are booking your trips on SQ. Quick confirm your booking.

Singapore Airlines has revised all fares with effect from 1 April 2007. There will be a tremendous increase of 6 - 33% on all fares.

So better issue your tickets by 30 March 2007; otherwise, higher fares will apply for all tickets issued on/after 1 April 2007.

Been quite a while since I've contributed or read..my new maid is still not here..i've survived 3 weeks without help! I rather enjoyed it except its very tiring and I cant exert too much so have could not bring Renee out anywhere

Well, as a result, I've been eating lots of Macdonalds!

BAD TEMPER

Since the maid left, for some reasons, Renee has become very petty and bad tempered. I just raise my voice a little at her and she will cry. When i refuse to let her have something, she will sit on the floor and cry and kick her legs..when i further ignore her, she will lie flat and continue kicking from one end to the other. At times, she even pulls out her hair!! HOW??

PREGNANCY

Just went for my check up and realised from pregnant till now..only put on 0.8KG! I hope bb is absorbing wat i ate man..a bit worried especially since Renee was only 2.4kg at birth.

I feel so tired sometimes especially without my husband around..its like i'm going thru this pregnancy all alone..sian

HI Celine,.

Dont be sad,...is for you future prospect and I agree to what CL suggest. Get a webcam so that bb can get to see you and know that you are there with him.

My hb was on business trip for almost a month on last year. We used webcam and got to see each other and Gracie saw him too...

Remember to get a good one..bcos some their quality not so good and not too clear..

esther,
Please take care of yourself! Only 0.8kg? You need lots of rest and the correct exercise like yoga, slow walks etc, not running after Renee. But I suppose gynae said all is well?

If you do eat beef, it's rather good to help put on weight for your baby during your pregnancy. Can you stomach milk? Try drinking 'Anmum' for pregnant mothers. It's beneficial for both you and the baby.

BAD TEMPER
I think it's a phase our kids are going thru, cos Meg also throws herself stomach down on the floor when Daddy doesnt carry her or gives her what she wants. But somehow it only happens to Daddy. When it does, I will carry her away or distract her with something else.

For your case, if there's someone other than yourself around, get the other person to bring her away, show her something else etc. BUT if you are alone, geez, i guess I would let her cry it out too. :p

esther

take care... your baby will know how to take the nutrients from you... but do make sure you eat better. Taking your vitamins? drink more milk if you have no time to cook... when is your new maid coming?

mamapanda
my NTUC here doesn't sell butternut and JH doesn't like butternut squash. he prefers pumpkin. i may just try the recipe using pumpkin.

babylon
wow that is really wild. JH will bite us last time but he has outgrown that phase.

chillies
u can try giving him a bit of barley. the doc told me to give JH some barley cos of sore throat.

sharon
learning vision at pasir ris good? i will go check it out. thanks!

aileen
hb still feel SLR is very ex plus not easy to use so he thinks it is a waste on me...

CL
fares are going to increase? i m planning to go hol in may..wow better book my trip fast. but SQ has some promotional fares in today's papers.

esther,
do take care of yourself. what did your gynae say abt the weight gain? my fren's weight gain wasn't a lot and her gynae was a bit concerned and asked her to eat more.

like what tracy say, if u can drink milk, drink milk for pregnant mothers. all nutrients in!

when renee throws tantrums, can try to distract her? usually that's what i will do with JH. just bring him to another place. i will tell him i wan to show him something and he will be distracted.

Hi Esther,..

Oh dearrr...take care....may I know how many month right now for your pregnancy? bcos I have only put on weight about 5kg during 7 mth pregnancy...and consult gynae...gynae told me bb was fine...and I put on weight only 10kg thru out hall pregnancy.

Have you consult your gynae regarding this....

Take care yourself and every bb will be like that bcos now is the time for them to know and learn new thing. They are very active now as right now they can walk....they are excited with everything...
I believe Renee want to get your attention....you may try to let her understand and let her feel and touch your tummy...tell her that she will got little brother soon
and tell her to be a good girl as be a big sister.
Now are days our bb are more active and they can understand very well..the only problem is they still dont know how to talk to us..so they will do a lot thing to get our attention.

Take care

Hi Esther,

take care of yourself...i did experience taking care of my elder during pregency..it is not easily..and also at that point of time i taking part time course. I got school project deadlines and exam..worst of all..so many audits from works and working on SAP Project (one of our comp high end project) to be go live on time...really stress....bu

Hi esther,
was renee very close to your maid? Probably she is just reacting like adults, when someone so close to her left..
She is lost and confused probably as to why your maid left.
Sometimes it's good to just leave them alone to cry for awhile. But of cos not too much incase she pukes.

CL,

Was doing some travel arrangement for my boss to Zurich and Milan in May..business class via SQ..guess what...most of the flights already fully booked. Nowsaday..flying via SQ got to book really early..espically flying on business class.

May : Friso 3 Gold
My Shop n Save downstairs has a whole shelf of 900g Friso 3 Gold selling at 18.90 per tin (tink they got abt 20 tins). If u're desperate, come over to greenridge shopping centre shop n save to buy them. If u want me to buy for u, just transfer me to money then I help u buy first.

SY,
If no pumpkin or squash, u can also try mashed USA potatoes mixed with sweet potatoes? Does he like sweet potatoes? Ariene also doesnt like butternut squash without anything. She's ok with it when I cook it like this.

My Spotting
My spotting has totally stopped (spotted brown spots for abt 3.5days, so definitely not P) and my P still not here yet leh.. took the test yday, still negative.. so sian. Think I'll test again on Sunday. Luckily wenyl passing me some tests. I've got 1 last one left already and if sunday still no sign and no P, gotta test again in a few days time. The suspense is KILLING me..

ask u ah.. does Ariene look like me? Everyone say she look like my hb leh..
Here's a photo of me when I was 1 year old

727707.jpg

Mamapanda,
eh, no leh, Ariene doesn't look like you when you were 1yr old. BUT she has your eyes NOW, as in now..now...you know wat i mean?

babylon
oh now, i m planning to go hol in may via SQ..hmm, better book my tickets soon then.

Mamapanda
Jh doesn't quite like potatoes. he is ok with sweet potato though. do u give those orange ones or the japanese one? i tried both before and he is fine.

JH is quite alright with most things. the only thing i haven got him to accept is avocado!

no leh, not really look like u. hee, u look chubbier than ariene at 1 year old!

does she really look a lot like your hb? i think it depends on angle and look at that moment one.

hmm, test again and let us know...a lot of suspense.

JH's fever is gone already. dunno whether he can still join the gymboree class though.

he is really happy that i m at home with him. i can see that he is much more active and smiley. when he watches his vcd, he will wan me to participate and clap hands with him etc. sigh, feel like being PTWM now!

SY
Both should be ok la but I think the orange and purple ones have more nutritional value.

I have been a PTWM for the last 8 months and as a PTWM, I get to bond deeply with Ariene and I had the chance to see alot of her first milestones. It has also enabled me to breastfeed her fully up till now. If ur family can handle it financially, its really worth it cuz as a PTWM, I still get my levy rebates and I don't have to do the housework myself cuz I got a good maid whom I can depend on so I was able to fully dedicate my time to Ariene when I'm not working. I hope things won't change too much when I start working full time next month.

Ya lor.. the suspense.. arghh... the waiting period to do the test at the beginning is one of the worst waits next to waiting to pop at the end of the pregnancy. I still can remem all of us talking abt popping in December 05. Haha good old days..

esther
I remembered I lost weight during my first tri with Ariene and I only started gaining weight in the middle of my 2nd tri when my appetite picked up. During the last tri, I gained alot of weight and in total, my weight gain was 13.5kg. Ariene was 2.6kg, 50cm when born. As long as ur gynae says baby is ok, there's not much to worry about. Just eat more nutritious foods, eat your neurogain , eat your iron multivitamins, eat your folic acid, eat ur calcium or cheese daily, baby will be fine. Normally, your bb will draw whatever nutrients he/she needs from u and your reserves. Its ur health that docs are usually worried about, not the baby's.

Mamapanda
No leh, Ariene dun look like you leh. I know how it feels when pple always says look like my hb in long hair. ha ha. Lucky i still have aden who looks like me. Well gals features will change, you still have hope she will look like you

SY
Do join us since JH no more fever. He still has one more day tomorrow to recuperate.

Playgroup photos
I've uploaded some more photos I took with my hp into the yahoo group page. Still have a few more from my camera's card but I'll upload them later.

Just went to the popular this afternoon ... doesn't feel like a friday coz it's pretty crowded. guess it's school hols. Not a lot of stuff for our young ones, but here are some of the good buys I spotted :
- Tang Poem / San Zi Jing CDs with lyrics. this good for playing for the young ones, they'll sing as well as recite
- drawing paper (5 books of 20 sheets ea for $3.90) : stock up if you intend to do a lot of painting and drawing
- 1001 words book (this is under the english section) : these are real pictures, but cartoons but book comes from England so some items are not appropriate here. good if you intend to do flashcards. each book costs $9.90. buy 2, cut the pictures and stick on A5 cards

If anyone from CCK/Bkt Panjang area is going, can I tonpang something? forgot to get something. pls pm me ... many thanks!

.ky.

Soooo many postings as usual!!

RE: PLaygroup
Thanks Mamapanda for opening ur house and allowing us and the kids to mess it up!! Much appreciated!
It was fun! Just so sorry my girl was in such a foul mood and kept screaming.

RE: Beef pasta
Was it really that nice?? Janelle found it ok only leh. I shall post up the recipe tomorrow. Need time to type it out
Actually it's mamapanda's beef pasta recipe leh!! Mamapanda, u rem u posted that pasta recipe sometime back? It's basically the same just that i included some other ingredients

RE: butternut squash & chicken recipe
I loved it too!! Absolutely yummy!!

esther,
Yeah take Anmum!! Yummy tasting and includes all the nutrients!

RE: Update on screaming Janelle
Janelle's screaming is back with a vengeance! More potent than before
Now she screams for no rhyme nor reason, and screams even when she's playing alone by herself. She seems to find it fun to scream. Sigh. And recently she's started to learn to throw tantrums. Can literally lie down on the floor and cry and kick up a fuss. I'll just ignore her when she does that. Maybe next time i'll count to 3 and tell her to calm down by the count of 3. If u all have any ideas how to combat this pls let me know. TIA!

Beef Pasta Recipe

Ingredients:
Unsalted butter
Chopped onions
Grated carrots
Beef (pre-cooked and blended finely)
Pasta (small, shell-type would be good)
Peas (frozen from packet)
A bit of ketchup
Grated cheddar cheese
Optional: chopped tomato

Method:
1. Boil beef in water till thoroughly cooked and blend till it turns out finely minced.
2. Boil pasta together with peas till cooked. Drain the water away.
3. Melt a generous knob of unsalted butter in the pan.
4. Pour in the grated carrot (or finely sliced carrot pieces) and chopped onions and fry till it's all cooked.
5. Add in the beef together with some of the beef stock and continue cooking over low fire.
Optional: Add in chopped tomato.
6. Add in a bit of tomato ketchup and stir to get the sauce nicely mixed.
7. Add in the cooked pasta and peas. Stir well.
8. Grate some cheddar cheese over the whole mixture, switch off the fire, and stir. The cheese should melt on its own in the food.

Ready to serve!

Sorry if my recipe description sounds unclear because i seldom type out recipes! And the quantity of ingredients all go by 'agaration'. I don't measure or weigh out the ingredients.

Think the beef pasta tastes nice because of the grated cheddar cheese? Personally i love cheese so perhaps that gives the extra ooomph to it! Haha :

tabbie
er... did you try to send me tabitha's photo? i recieved the photo on 'bonding' i posted earlier today leh.

durianlover
yes! your paste sure is yummy. actually i finished up the rest of the paste left in dylan's feeding bowl! today went to buy the unsalted butter, gonna cook the 2 dishes i learnt from you and mamapanda. wahahah

mamapanda
hmmm, ariene dont look like you leh. you are more fleshy, but she sure has your eye =)

durianlover
Yes, hee. The recipe looks familiar but I see that you've modified it. Thanks for showing me another way of cooking the pasta.

Do check out the photos in the yahoo gorup. Took a nice photo of Janelle.

I still have more photos with me from my camera but the size is too big so need to do abit of mod first b4 posting.

sigh.. so sad. Greeneyemonster staring at hb with reproachful eyes.. unfortunately she has my eyes. My hb's eyes n nose better leh.. he got double eyelids and a high pointed nose. My eyes are single and my nose not as high as his.

Rachel
Do let us know how your experimentation went!

esther
beside having your maid left, do you think your mood also affect renee? of coz, now our toddlers know how to demand with their cries and screaming. like what the other mummies suggested, distract them.

i know my mood do affect dylan's. observed that dylan is happier and more cooperative when i talked and interact with him in a happy and good mood. you might be too stress and burnt out that its affecting renee too. do rest while you can and get extra help like part-time cleaner and food catering. try not to eat so much mac wor.

mamapanda
haha dont be sad. my case is similar to yours. =p dylan has my eye and nose, but how i wish he has hb's instead. hb has higher nose bridge while mine flat flat one =/ hb has double eyelids while my double eyelids only appear when i wore contact lens before i did my lasik. hahaha in the end i told myself, well thats our product, too bad his eye and nose take after me =p

ok! Uploaded all the photos I've taken for the playgroup into yahoo group already. If u want the big resolution photo, PM me which photo u want and I'll email it to you. Some of the photos are alittle blur cuz I pressed too fast and the autofocus didn't have time to work b4 I pressed the shutter.

Queen, Mamapanda, ky, durianlover, a late thank-you for your replies about republic poly. It sounds like an interesting place. I've applied online liao so hope I'll get a call from them soon.

ky, wah, got internal spies! I'll send you a PM. Thanks yah!

Esther,
0.8 kg sounds very little...but what did the gynae say? Any cause for concern?

Renee should be missing the maid as well as going thru a trying phase. Our babies at this age are pushing their limits to see how far they can get away with their little tantrums. I say we mummies must persevere and be firm while using the distraction method or the little monkeys will soon climb all over our heads!!

re: Pregnancy
Went to see my gynae today. I am 32 weeks and during the ultrasound scanning, doc noticed some white specks on the placenta. What it means is 'aging placenta' which normally takes place at 35 weeks in prep for delivery. It also means that nutrients in the placenta are slowly depleting, which will be a cause for concern if in 2 weeks time at my next ultrasound scan, more white specks are seen. The baby will have to be prematurely induced. Doc says in a case like this, baby should be out in 5 wks' time latest. So excited.... not long now. And I'm not even physically prepared for his arrival!!!!!

Cass and Aileen,
I have sent the invitation of the Yahoo Group to both of u.. let me know if u dun receive ok?

MamaPanda,
Thanks alot for helping me to check.. I have seen the 900g tin but I want to get the bigger tin. Unable to find it leh. Cos small tin is ex. I can get big tin at $33. Thanks for your help!

RE: Recipes
Some websites to share for more food recipes. Need to spend some time to surf each site though.

1) http://starchefs.com/kids/kids_meals/html/recipe_15.shtml
2) http://kids.cdkitchen.com/recipes/recs/132/HalloweenBurgersForKids70836.shtml
3)http://kidshealth.org/parent/recipes/cf_recipes/cf_mac_cheese.html
4) http://www.mealsmatter.com/RecipesAndMeals/Browse/Recipes/italian/Kids-Love/index.aspx

Rena, No.1 and 3 teaches how to cook cheese sauce.. think u are asking abt this right..hope it helps.

RE: Bubbles
Saw the playgroup pic.. tried bubbles with Jamie but she is scared of it. How to help her overcome?

RE: Crying Tod
Nowadays Jamie also cry for whatever thing we dun give her or anything that she wants. Think this is the stage that they communicate to us.

Mamapanda,
We are thinking of the same thing! I was taking Jamie pic and my pic to compare this afternoon and realise some similarity also. Here's it is:

728013.jpg

ME

728014.jpg

Jamie

Denmy
Oh WOW! So excited for u Denmy! Was just recalling how we were talking about popping in Dec05 this afternoon and now you're talking abt popping again. Time really flies ya?

Photo comparison
See? She only for my eyes and nose

728019.jpg
728020.jpg

May,
Haha.. 1st time I heard of a kid who is scared of bubbles. Maybe the amount of bubbles coming out of the blower is too much and very overwhelming, thus itimidating for her. Why not try 1 or 2 bubbles 1st and see how she reacts to it.

Mamapanda,
re: PIS servicing
How much did you pay for the servicing and was it only cleaning of the tubes etc.? I went down to FFY to check and they told me that servicing means cleaning of parts only as long as yo still have the receipt. Warranty for the motor is 15 mths or something like that and you might have to pay for the repair depending on what fault it is.

--------------------------------------
re: Baby Spinach
Collection on Tuesday, 20 Mar.
12nn to 6pm @Robinson Centre
after 7pm at Marine Terrace

Portion allotment: 3 x 1.5kg/ctn divide by 8 pax = 562.5grams

1. Denmy
2. Mamapanda - pickup via CL
3. MamaChan - pickup at Raffles Place
4. durianlover - pickup via CL
5. Flo - pick up at Raffles Place
6. Aileen - pick up at Raffles Place
7. Cheng - pick up at Marine Parade
8. Chicken Little - Pick up at Raffles Place

mummies, I have sent emails to you except for Aileen. Please send me your email and mobile. Thanks!!

hmm.. and mouth too :p

Denmy
I've always thought my eyes not so nice leh.. so hard to put on eye shadow cuz no double eyelid, and so small.. So nice of u to compliment them