(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

ky;
How do i view the pics in the jan06mummy's group?

Mamapanda;
Thanks very much for letting us use your place, agree with rachel that we were really messy.

Nice meeting all mummies and babies

Chillies
RE : Lymph Nodes
Did you ask your PD? Maybe can get her to check if you are still concern.

SH,
Hmmm...if your hb dun feel confident in handling JW on his own then maybe u shouldn't take him along if not you can't work in peace and he'll get stressed out. Just take it as a couple hol.

Cass
you take care of yourself, after seeing you going after rory today really made me sweat. so tough to be preggie and at the same time looking after an active toddler! when you return to London, is there anyone that will be helping you out?

sysac
Thks for adding. What's yr son's blog?

Rachel
Abt the lasik. Do you have high astigmatism together with short sightedness? So you don't have to wear specs at all? One last qns, where did you have yours done? haha.... sorry for asking so many qns cos really feel like going for it.

chillies
my boy also wakes up late so thot of bringing him to the night safari instead but don't know whether he can see the animals a not cos so dark...haha!

Aileen
I am a fan of Edgar too!

Oh don't worry abt it. Cleaned up the place in 30mins so no prob. It was really fun today. Was really funny with so many babies running all over the place and all the mummies running after them.

CassCL,
Do take care of yourself. I agree with Rachel it was kinda scary seeing the way u run after Rory. Try not to overstress yourself ya?

Chicken & Butternut Squash Recipe
For those who missed out on the demo cooking today, here's a recap of the recipe :

10 freezer cubes of defrosted steamed butternut squash (or its equivalent amount)
100-150g chopped chicken (thigh or breast)
1 tbsp unsalted butter
1/4 finely chopped medium yellow onion
50-100ml milk (optional)
grated cheese (parmesan or romano cuz less sodium)

Method:
1. Using low heat, melt the unsalted butter in a saucer.

2. Sautee the onions in the butter until completely cooked and softened.

3. Increase to medium heat and fry the chicken till almost cooked.

4. Add in the butternut squash and mix throughly.

5. Remove from heat. Add in milk and cheese and stir to form an even mixture.

6. For a more even texture, blend in processor.

This dish can be frozen into cubes and kept in the freezer for up to 2 months. I find this very useful esp on weekends when we go out and came home late such that we have no time to cook porridge for Ariene. We just simply take out 6-8 cubes of it and heat it up in the microwave oven and its ready to be fed. If you're going out to somewhere where a microwave oven is available, you can also bring the frozen cubes out with u and just heat it up before feeding. Home cooked instant baby food.

KY,
Thanks for the photos. So paiseh.. my camera finally died on me. Was throwing tantrums for the last few months and I kept thinking its the battries that's giving problems. I'll upload whatever photos I've taken probably tomorrow or over the weekend.

ChickenLittle
Your paint book and paint is still with me. I'll pass them back to you when I collect the spinach from u ok?

Durianlover
Your CD is also with me. Feel free to drop by when you're free to get it back. The babies really enjoyed the sing and dance session, thanks to your CD. Its nice to see all the babies laughing and giggling away.
Oh yes.. do share your beef pasta recipe! I think most of the babies who tried it love it, esp Ariene!

So sorry.. my girl is like so greedy.. walking to all the mummies saying "mummm mumm mumm" wanting all of u to feed her.. so paiseh..

sharon
i did it at SNEC. yes yes, had very high astigmatism. now completely no need to wear anything on my nose or in my eye heehee.

remembered clearly it only took me less than 10 mins to stay in the operation theater, most scary part is when they started the laser and came the burning smell from my eye! oooops

viewing photos for today's playgroup
Cass, u need to sign up for the yahoo jan06mummy group to view the photos. BTW, who's the moderator for the group? Maybe u can send an invitation to cass so she can join the group? BTW, Cass, think ur email addy in your profiles here is wrong, that's y u're not receiving PMs? You may wanna check your profile settings.

Thanks Denmy and Tiffany..will stick to small tin to wait for the shipment. One big tin can't help much cos my mum's side need also.

THanks Mamapanda for helping me to check.

Rachel,
I have high degree also.. 700+ each side was thinking of doing lasik but very scared it is a failure leh.

Cass,
PM me ur email address and I invite u.. I am the moderator there.

cough
damien is having some cough espically in the nite and early in the moring. He is totally fine in the afternoon. Do i need to give him medicine since it is mild cough. Afraid that if i dun give him now..cough will turn bad...

Chillies

So poor thing.. hope he is fine with antibiotics.. just have to watch that he is breathing ok and his fever doesn't hit too high.. cos bronchopneumonia means infection in the lungs.. usually bacterial.. and worried that the bacteria will spread via the blood.. so if he is having high fever, drowsiness and difficultybreathing not a good sign.

babylon

my girl is the same.. having this occ. dry cough at night... I didn't give her any med yet cos she doesn't seem too troubled... sometimes i can't tell if my girl is faking it cos she like to pretend to vomit and sometimes she chokes on her saliva (drool too much) and she also coughs.. I will start giving my girl medicine if she looks uncomfortable or is having fever

Denmy,
Thx for your order. Will arrange with you on delivery.

May,
I'm also having problems finding the large tin of Friso 3, so surviving on the small tin for now. Thankfully I bot 2 large tins the last time so MIL's place still ok.

Chillies, Babylon, Tabbs,
Hang in there...seems like many of our babies are having the cough and this cough is terrible! It takes longer than usual to recover.

Re:Freelance Web Designer
Any SAHM can do web design? We're looking for a freelance person to maintain our website. Our current person is doing it on part-time basis and with her full-time job, she's too busy now to handle. We need daily updates sometimes.

Anyone interested or have contacts to refer, please PM me. Thanks!

Hi, Linda. After seeing your posting, really quite heartache that I be going to Germany in two weeks time.

Be in Germany for 6 mths but coming back every 2 mths period.Now everyday, really treasured the time now to look and play with him even though he is sleeping. But have to harden the heart by letting him stay at my parents place next week for a trial period as they have never take care of him before. Sharing the load with both side grandparents.

Now kept telling zachary to start walking else i will only see through video clips. Was thinking of buying a voice recording bear that i saw online. but delivery date will be after i am in Germany. Yesterday, just bought from one 12secs recording lion from guardian.

My parents and hubby are really very supportive of me going for training. But sometimes, i will feel that I am very selfish.

Sorry for the long winded posting. Not a regular contributor but a vivid reader.

Flo
hee, me also vain so dun wan to wear specs to work. so never really seriously go and find out abt lasik

sharon
u stay in woodlands? we are considering to start a weekend playgroup. u interested to join us?

chillies
lucky not anything serious. hopefully he will be fine after 10 days of antibiotics.

CL
think i cannot go gymboree again. JH is down with fever. he has a sore throat. think he caught it from me. poor thing. he was crying os badly yesterday and i just drop all my work to come back and see him. it makes me even more determined to stay at home for him.

SH
hmm, i guess it shd be a joint decision whether to bring JW or not. i have a fren who travels together with the hb each time he goes overseas for work. so her bb has been to a lot of places.

ky
will go and check the photos out.

mamapanda,
can share what are the activites u did for the playgroup?

hi May,

can add me to the yahoo!groups? would love to see the photos! thanks! :D

Sharon,
Thanks for being a fan of Edgar's blog! :D Will add ur blog to Edgar's.

lasik,
my hb and i had our eyes done in 2004. now got perfect eyesight. would say that it's one of the best technology ever invented!! :D

SY : playgroup activities
We had the baby food buffet as planned. Each mummy bring their regular baby food here and we share the foods, so each baby gets to eat a few variety. Mummies had pizza for lunch.

Following that, I had a short demo of cooking my recipe but it was difficult cuz most of the mummies were busy running after their baby and only a few managed to come in and see it.

Next, song and dance. It was a great success and both mummy and baby enjoyed it. Thanks to Durianlover for the songs.

Finger painting
Our babies are too young for that. Not interested.

Bubble fun time
Everyone, big and small, enjoyed that

Rachel/mamapanda;
Rory is very active, and very 'chor lor'.
I'll be on my own in london, that's why we're looking into sending Rory to a playschool 2 days a week and then get part time help for another couple of days. Hb normally works from home on friday. I think i should be able to cope *cross fingers*

Mamapanda;
Sooo sorry about the windchime on your babygate, the boy completely destroyed it. I feel so bad...

May Wong;
I've sent u a PM

Aileen,
Can PM me your email affress?

RE: Playgroup
Saw the pics.. should have try to make it.. will try my best to attend the next one. When will it be for the WEST side?

mamapanda
the recipe sounds yummy, can i use pumpkin instead of butternut?

thanks for sharing the activities! hmm seems like i shd brush up on my children's songs...

Hi MamaPanda, thanks for opening the house. It was nice meeting the mommies and babies.... Mamapanda, sorry creating that mess for you and your helper. Your helper's quite nice.

Would like to try out the Chicken & Butternut Squash Recipe. Why do you use unsalted butter and not margarine?

Perhaps next time we should focus more on physical activity like the playground or swimming .... :>

Aileen, I like your photos. What camera are you using?

.ky.

Durianlover
Yes yes recipe please. Aiyo I think Aden reject his dinner because your pasta too nice liao. He always go mum mum after he finish the pasta.

Mamapanda
No worries about the fingerpaint. Keep it for Ariene or ha ha for yourself. Thanks for hosting us.

Durianlover, Mamapanda, Cass, Ky, Rachel
So happy to have your company yday. Hee Hee I will try to remember the JG way of conducting class, I will do the next session with the kids.

Lasik
I have not been wearing my lenses for a while only occasionally for dinner. Ha ha now waiting to pluck the courage to go. I will go to Gerard Chuah, I like him. Hb goes to him for eye examination, mummy for cataract, 2 of my frens for Lasik. I think it is good. His charges not so exp being a pte dr.

May,
You organise we sure go one.

Sharon
Can share with us some names of the better childcare centres ? Some mummies are thinking of enrolling their kids in one.

SY
Not going for lunch with Queen today. We set on 19 Mar , Monday I think ?

May all babies who are not feeling well be on recovery and mummies looking after them to be healthy. Take care.

Celine
Dun worry. Going for the training is for your job so that you have better prospects thus provide for your little Zachary.He will understand. You got MSN ? Bringing notebook there ? Get a webcam and a headset, then can set up audio video call with hb and Zachary. I always do that with my sis to show her how Aden grow.

Aileen/ Rachel
Re: Lasik

Same here, really din regret that I went for my lasik... now save time on putting & cleaning contact lens too.

SY,
Poor JH. Hope he is feeling better.

Discipline while sick
Hi mummies, wanna check something with you. JW has been really very naughty recently. Eg, he will use his fingers to grip and pinch my face. When I tell him cannot, he will defiantly do it again and again. He will even pull my specs away. I will scold him and then put him down. But he will scream, cry and yell. My MIL and hb very upset with me coz they say he is sick. Shouldn't let him cry.

He still has a bit of cough...but it's not like he just started.

Then yesterday nite, for no reason (after I bring him into the room to sleep), he suddenly sit up and cry after lying down peacefully for a while. He sort of pointed like he is insisting that he wanted to go back out to play (at 11pm!). At first I refused. Then he cried until he started to cough again. I got worried and brought him out. But I think he was throwing tantrum coz he angry with me not letting him out earlier. And then he cried until threw up. My hb was super pissed.

Do I have to just condone JW bad behaviour when he is sick?

Celine

Making decision to go for the training must be tough... but just think this way, 6 months is very fast, and it is only a short period which you will be away from your son as there are still many many years ahead which you can spend your time with him...

aileen
i wanted to get a DSLR but hb refuse. is it really hard to use?? and it's so expensive....

CL
i can't join u guys on Mon. got a farewell lunch

durianlover
u got a nice pasta recipe to share? can PM me also?

SH
personally i tell JH right from the start that he cannot expect to get away with bad behavior when he is sick. i know what u mean.... my mum will tell me not to scold him etc but i will tell her that if i let him get away once i m not being consistent. same goes for hb. hb will say things like he will not scold jh even if he is naughty but i tell him the same thing. in discipline we need to be consistent. JH won't try things too far but when he threw things etc i still scold him and give him some silent treatment.

i always ask him to say sorry to me after that.

re playgroup photos
aiyo looks so fun..next time shall try to take leave to go..

SH ... I do let Keith cry when he throws a tantrum. He does that when he can't get something that he wants. And yes, that includes my specs too. So he'll be lying on the floor and crying buckets. But he'll stop immediately when we distract him with something else. I use distraction a lot but I don't give-in when the baby cries. But perhaps if JW has been crying for a few mins and still not distracted by something else, you might want to attend to him (carry him if need be), stop his crying and talk to him in a stern low manner (to let him know that his action is not a good behaviour) and give him a hug (so that he knows he is loved).

.ky.

Can I check with you all where I can get plastic organizer to slot flash cards in and hang on the wall in my girl's room??

sy
yes, i am staying in woodlands. When will you be staring the playgrp? Sunday will be a little difficult for me cos I will be in church and visiting parents. Sat is better for me. Thks for the invitation.

chicken little - better childcare
I personally like the childcare at SIM - The Experiential Learning Centre. Their director is my lecturer and i have visited the centre before. She is very generous and have a passion in teaching young children. She also appeared on TV and radio shows. It's a learnt thru play envt plus it is clean.

I think most centres provide the necessary envt and things needed for young kids. It's the teachers that make a lot of difference. For eg, KInderland is one of the top preschool around but not every branches provide the same type of good service and teachers. Learning Vision is quite good too but like I say, different branches, different services. Some of the things to look out for will the teachers and their qualifications, cleanliness, the food, the curriculum, the fees, No. of child to teachers ratio, is there anything that makes the centre more special than others, and most importantly,you must feel comfortable. Nowadays, NTUC child care is upgrading their envt, teachers and services. They are rather professional too in comparison with the private ones. I also like some of the church childcare centres as they provide bibilcal and character studies, good for building the moral development of a child.

Hope is this helpful for those going to send their kids to childcare. Btw, this is only some suggestions.

sharon
thinking of starting in april. i stay at pasir ris.

sat is a bit hard cos that's my vistiing parents day

anyway think we will remain flexible on our schedules.

thanks for sharing the info on childcare. where is SIM?

sy and ky,
last time, i was very frustrated with my compact camera coz of it's slow shutter speed. so i bugged my hb to get a dslr after seeing one my colleagues's nice pics of her daughter. no matter what, a dslr will have a faster shutter speed. so you won't miss the shot. i regretted not buying it when edgar was born else i would have more nice photos of him.
i find it useful in taking pic of babies coz they won't smile and wait for u to snap, so shutter speed gotta be super fast. else will miss all the nice moments. no regrets investing in one. one of my friends upon seeing edgar's blog oso went to get one to snap her little rascals! :D but i do have to warn u about the bulkiness. it's really heavy and huge esp when u attach the external flash which is necessary for indoor shots.

oh and another drawback is the dslr doesn't have video recording feature. that's y i still keep my compact and use it for recording videos. but i'm scouting for a camcorder now. will get one of those soon

aileen
that;s the same reason why i wanted to get DSLR but hb refused. very ex and not easy to use. did u just use the auto function or u really leran how to do all the settings?

mummies, thanks for all the advice and support! really really appreciate it. Now thinking how to say goodbye to zachary, drop him at my mil place then to the airport. Or leave him there on the eve. Very tough choice.

SH
Now our babies get older.. all the little devil are showing. Kae when not able to get what she wants, she will cry and stamp her legs too btu she will usually cry for like less than 5 mins and she realise no one is going to bother abt her. she will give up.
She also has a bad habit, when I remove her from something she shouldn;t be close to, She will open her mouth wide and big as if she wanna bite me. SO far it's only action.. she hasn't really bite me yet. Thankfully.

Hmm.. I guess it all boil down to how sick/uncomfortable is our babies when they are unwell. The last time Kae having cough and cry so much during bed time wanting to get out of the cot to be with us until she vomit her milk, I have no choice but to give in.

Like ky... what I did was to distract her with something more interesting whenevery she cry either throwing tanthrum or after an accident like fell down.

SY,
actually it's not that difficult to use. Automode is usually good enuff. but if u want can always set to Program mode where you adjust ISO or Aperture mode where you adjust the aperture. Sorry may be sounding abit technical. For me, i usually use the Program mode.

Thanks mamapanda...
I'm not gathering more receip so I can cook for K during my trip...

Durain lover
DO share your very delicious beef pasta!!

SH,
wow, that's a tough one.
When caleb was sick, he was very cranky and kept wanting to be carried. We scolded him as well fir doing naughty things. He also hogged the tv as well. But after he recovered, kinda went back to normal.

So i think depends on situation lor. If JW is crying so hard until he vomits, probably can distract him or bring him away or something.

cookies,

damien is even worst..first he will cry if he still cannot get wat he wants..he will start to bite..his poor brother had bitten by him a few times.

Cookie

will you be bringing a small slow cooker? What I did last time when i brought Clarisse to GEnting, I brought along one to cook plain porridge. After that I mix the heinz bottle food in.

babylon
u mean he will bite u? wow, babies really think of different ways to get what they wan

aileen
hee, now u r tempting me again. i told hb i m going to start saving for a DSLR!

ak
yup the bumpermat is the foam one from smallsmall world