(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Mummies..

Sorry to barge in ah, I'm from July 06 thread.
Was wondering if u all still using the bumper playmat and haenim playyard (if u all have ah), now that ur bbs are around 15 months old?

haha.. my girl 7 months already juz thinking if shld still worth it to get anot.

Regarding Lumps in breast
After i give birth on jan 06. Feb i have a check up. E doc said got some lumps but is maybe is because i just give birth not long ago. so is ok. So till now i have not do a check up liao.
I wonder per yr we women need to do check up right?

peachsorbet
I'm still using the bumper playmat. My girl loves to frolick on it and we play alot of tummy tickles on it. She also loves to crawl or walk around it and point the the animals though she can only name bear, duck and dog (I bought the Animals playmat).

As for the play yard, I use it as a safety barrier to block up certain areas I don't want her to goto. She doesn't like to be "locked" up in it anymore.

peachsorbet

My girl still plays on her bumper playmat sometimes but I do not have any haenim playyard but i guess the playyard is still useful when you want to leave your child alone for a while (when you go toilet).

OK girls. I'm loggin off my notebook already to get ready the place for the playgroup. Anything, just sms or call me ok? I should have PMd all of u my contact numbers already. See you!

RE: LASIK

zhimin.. really ah... should have told me.. then i could have made sure the doctor and staff treat u extra nicel!!!

I really didn't realise lasik is so popular... so ironic.. no wonder every one keeps asking me why i don't do myself...

Sysac..

keke ... so go od.. pregnant can still look like actress hahah..
my hubby was commenting that i looked tired... humph! look after baby and work and study.. dunno if he thinks i'm super woman or what...

I'm quite happy with the photos so thanks to FLo for the recommendation...

Peachsorbet..
I still use the mat.. the playyard i still use at my mother's place.

peachsorbet,
i bot both the playmat and haenim playyard. i find the playmat useful. as for the playyard, i hardly used it. firstly my son doesn't like to be confined. can only keep him in there for less than 10mins. so i kept it after a mth or so. now i put his toys on the playmat to prevent them from scratching my parque but of coz our little ones won't confine themselves to just play within the playmat, they will roam beyond it. so my advice would be, buy a cheaper one, not necessary to get an exp one. i just went to mini toons to buy 2 more mats coz i bot a slider for my boy. the mats are to cushion his fall, juz in case. u may browse thru edgar's blog to see what i use the mats for. 2 for his slider and one for his toys. http://www.babyedgar.blogspot.com/

Hi SH,.

Is JW know that you want go Oversea? It up to yourself if you want to let him know or not...

For myself,..we did let Gracie know 2 weeks in advance and also remind her again on the day early morning before we back to Singapore. As our promise to her we did called her everyday ...this is to let her know that we did not abandon her but we did with her..

You may call JW when you are in oversea by speaker phone..and let him feel you care about him

I agree to mummies here advise...just relax your self with your hb...and enjoy the time.

For myself I have been sick for few days with follow by cough and flu....luckly Gracie not with me...Cos I got heavy cough.
Hb and me went out for movie and good food as well..and course we did not forgot to get Gracie a toy when we pass by Toy stores

Hi SSF...
Whoaa bangkok got a lot people using their own bb and trying to ask money from tourist...Indonesia also same like that... I agree and I also feel sad when I saw them..

Hi Flo...
Seen like all our bb here have same habit

Think we can arrange a dancing and singing section for BB with those singing program.

RE: Childcare,.
Whoaa the cost really exp....after I read the post here....right now I still look for a child care that near by Bishan area...just for half day only.

Tabbs - Haha, I thot u looked quite refreshed. No signs of tiredness. Tell HB u r indeed superwoman!

I've been telling yr HB that until he's been rolling his eyes! Mummies are the superwoman - Work, study & bear children!

peachsorbet

I use the bumpermat. A fren bought this when her son's 3 yrs old and now at 7yrs, still using. It's good for the child to play on it, eg reading books or playing blocks. My son's even do pretend play with it, pretending to be a caterpillar sleeping in the cocoon.... n then his didi would go and hit him. They even tumble on it. Really a worthy investment; almost every parent that caem asked abt it.

Childcare prices... I feel the price does reflect to a certain extent quality of the teachings in a cc. Generally those who are more expensive have either a good proven track records, teachers, curriculum to warrant the more dollars charged. But that's not to say those which are cheap are no good. My son's first cc was the cheapest around my area and was not those that people remember. But my first impression was very good .... the teachers esp and the environment. However, over 1.5 yrs, the teachers left and the mgt do not even inform the parents of the changes. Some of those more expensive have a better PR relationship with parents as these are their customers. an eg for CCK, that'd be Warren (situated in the stadium) ... just my few cents of worth opinion.

.ky.

wendyheng,
hee...i think edgar is not the only with lotsa toys here. :p well, at least i know tabby oso have heaps! hehe...infact i didn't buy most of the toys, they were gifts from x'mas and birthday.

mamapanda
i posted abt learning vision before. my colleague says it's not bad. he sends his 2 kids there.

SH
so sad that you are not bringing JW. that day when i saw him i think he still very sticky to u. actually he may be different now that he's older. he may be better on the flight?

SSF
your hb went for lasik? i wanted to go but that means i have to wear my specs to work for a while...hee

night safari
i haven been there for a long time! now i m trying ot ballot for zoo pass for april to bring JH there.

peachsorbet
i use both the mat and playyard. my boy doesn't really wan to stay there alone so usually need someone to play inside with him.

SH
You are not psycho la...I have tried all means to convince HB to bring Kae to Gold Coast too bearing the same thought. kae is alright now, close to everyone. I'm also very worry if I go Hol come back she dun wan me...
Hee hee.. everyone of us has this little
Green Eye Monster in us. I guess it's mum's instinct

My Hb at first also keep telling me dun bring bb and everything. But I just come up with lotsa reasons to convince him.
Even right up till 1 week ago.. he still ask me why not dun bring bb!
Anyway I'm in charge of the trip.. I plan most thing and air fare sourcing, my feeb back to him always include bb so he more or less physcho by me now.

Hi Jan Mummies,
Thanks for the tips.

Actually she has 1 playmat already, but she's crawling alot and the 1 playmat can't contain her. That house has tons of carpets everywhere n I really don't want her crawling on carpets (dusty n dustmites), n the floor is those granite (red with black dots type).. so can't see how clean the floor is either cos she likes to lick the floor n she just takes about two strides to crawl onto the carpet.

Am considering getting another playmat & possibly the playyard. Poor maid has to keep lifting the poor baby off the floor cos she loves to crawl. hmm.

But two playmats n 1 playyard.. scared it's abit over the top. haha.

Haha, Aileen, would you consider selling off your playyard that u hardly use? Nice blog btw, and ur pictures r very well taken! Professional photographer? Or professional camera?

peachsorbet,
i'm still using my playmat as a changing mat for my gal. My gal needs a HUGE mat cos she runs around.

tabbie,
actually i notice most eye docs dun do lasik on themselves too. hmmm...

Tracy,
Haha! That's funny! My girl is able to creep now and already I'm having problems keeping her on the changing table. I think I can say bye-bye to the changing table already. Dread to think of when she gets even more mobile.

I guess the playmat is so useful that hardly see people sell second hand in the WTS thread also. shall seriously consider getting one more then

Will think hard about the playyard. Thanks Jan Mummies!

Hi Tabbie,..

Mummies in our forum here....are Good mummy too.
Always come out with a lot of good idea for take care bb....fun outdoor section and yummy food too...

Re: Lasik
SSF,
Some doc will advise to do it after u stop breastfeeding cos hormonal change may affect eyesight.

SY,
I wanted to do it since 2 years back. Doc advised me to treat my amblyopia first after that got preggy and have to wait until I stop breastfeeding. Then vain me dun wanna to wear specs during CNY, told myself will do it after that. But being a procrastinator still havent done anything yet. I think I better do it soon before I got preggy and the whole cycle starts again.haha

Tabbiesus
Heehee, actually I ask Jerry Tan before itz that he doesnt trust any other surgeon other than himself

Peachsorbet,
Im still using both my playmat and playyard. In fact my gal likes to lock herself in the playyard to play on her own, especially when she wants a break from her daddy and mommyhaha

LASIK
I am also considering whether I should go until I saw the news abt the infection. Now I am quite apprehensive abt it. My shortsightedness is quite bad, abt 900 degrees each side so don't know if i still need to wear specs after lasik.

PLAYGROUP
I am actually planning to start a playgrp at my place when my boy turns 18 mths. Since I am a trained early childhood teacher, now SAHM, I thot shouldn't waste what i had studied. So moms staying near Woodlands do let me know if you're starting one. I will contribute as much as I can!

NIGHT SAFARI
Does being a member for FRIENDS OF THE ZOO gives free entry to NIght Safari as well?

PEACHSORBET
I bought both the mat and play yard. The mat is really useful esp when my boy was learning to sit up. During those times, he will fall back and the bumper mat actually lessen the pain and impact to the head. The mat also act as a boundary setter for him when he is having his quiet playtime, it ia also good for cooler days as the mat keeps him off the cold floor. The play yard is good when you need the time to do your own stuff and no one is around to take care. I normally place toys in the yard while I do my chores or when i am expressing milk.

Flo

Ya... i trust no one to touch me eyes.. keke.. somemore my degree is 900 also.. but more cos i really need good eyesight in my job.

Sharon
Friends of Zoo I think can purchase for 1 park-zoo or all 3 parks... bird park, zoo and night safari and cost more of course.
Depend on what you join as... anyway nothign is free, it's build in the yearly fee liao.

Lasik

Actually i never tot of going for one until my friend went.

I have extremely high degree... when i wear spec, my girl always knock onto me and my nose bridge always leave a red mark.

I feel more and more irritable to wear contact lens also... my eyes will feel very irritated by contact lens.

So I decided to go for a pre check first because not everyone suitable to do... and the surgeon seems very confident so I just went ahead.

I also want to do it before my #2 comes, because when i was in the delivery room, the nurse took off my spec cos I need to put on oxygen mask, end up when Clarisse was out of my tummy, when they placed her on my body I can't really see her haha! and when my gynae joking asked "boy or girl?" I can't even see! then she went on jokingly "the mummy needs her glasses badly"

aileen,

after looking at your blog i realise that i am so lazy.. did not update elijah's blog at all..

hee hee at least elijah is not the only one that have lots of toys.. coz elijah's toys are so much tat i have jsut pack up a big box of toys that he has stop playing .. i still have lots that have not open..haha we both can open a mini playground..hi 5

cookie & flo
thks. Will go check it out.

Tabbisus & Zhimin
I am very scare too. Zhimin, ya, can't see baby at all with my kind of degree.....haha. And I can only wear Acuvue daily contact lens, I cannot take any other brands cos my eyes seem very sensitive to them.

Blog
I have a blog too. My son is using my hb's blog www.tomsum.blogspot.com and my personal blog is www.sumbebejo.blogspot.com

zoo
brought damien to the zoo last sunday..due to school holiday and sunday..the place is so crowded...i can see that he enjoyed watching ppl more than the animals...but i am sure that 1 place he really enjoyed is the children world....playing with water although it is abit dirty.

SSF,
Ya, I asked my hb to decide since he has to take care and he decided not to bring. Guess on top of coping, we are worried abt food too coz we should be staying at hotel and not service apt. Difficult to cook.

Peachsorbet,
I am still using the bumper playmat for my boy too. I basically leave it in his room now as a place for him to sit and play with his toys. Keke...so that even when he throw his toys around, my parque floor is still safe ;p

Linda,
I think I will definitely let JW know that we are going overseas. I don't want him to think that his papa and mama abandon him.

The first time when I had to leave him with my MIL was when I was sick. My hb went to see him after work (i was on MC), and then he video call me from my MIL place. I told him over the call that he must guai guai stay with po po coz mummy is sick. Cannot bring him home. But i think he was more scared of "seeing" his mummy's face on a small handphone. He pointed to the phone and then pointed to my MIL (like telling my MIL to come see the weird moving picture) ;p

Then when my hb left the house, he cried and still wanted to leave with him. My hb called me back to ask me how. I ask him "did u tell him why he has to stay that?". He said no leh...he forgot. I made him go back to tell JW. Then the 2nd time round, JW is ok with my hb leaving liao

peachsorbet,
i don't think i'll be selling my playyard just yet. coz who knows, my #2 will enjoy being in it! hehe.. thanks for ur compliments on the photos. it's the camera lah, it's a digital slr. i'm no pro photographer. far from it!!

rena, i love taking photos of edgar that's y i blog them loh. and he got some "fans", so no choice lah, i gotta keep updating else they will bug me! hehe... i think our kids are so fortunate. anyways just provide what's within our means loh hor! :D

SY,
Hmmm...all the talk making me waver abt whether to bring JW. I know my hb won't protest if I insist on bringing bb...which I am very keen. But I am just wondering if I have been neglecting my hb. Plus I think he has a preference not to bring bb. How? In a dilemma

Yup, SH, i agree with you....
We've to let them know what is happening and why we need to do certain things....
Esp when we're leaving him at nanny's or in law's place, definitely gotta make it clear that WE'LL BE BACK... this will largely reduce the possibility of Separation Anxiety....

I've uploaded the photos of today's playdate into the jan06mummy group ... post first in case I forgot to later

.ky.

I've sold my playmat as my boy is too busy walking around. Even my dosmetic helper laughed asking me "Doesnt he get tired?" He's really stubborn. My hub enjoys irritating him. Hence once he held him and refused to let him go. He started screaming and struggled to free himself. My MIL offered to "save" him but he pushed her hands away and insisted no help!

RE : Zoo
Been keen but my boy wakes up late. So can only go in afternoon but so hot. Night Safari wld be good as he's a night owl but dunno wld he enjoy it.
RE : Lymph Nodes
My boy's has very obvious lymph nodes even when well. U can see the two small bumps when we shaved him.

RE : Isetan Sale
The combi shoes very worth ot at $14.90. My boy walks every well in it and seems comfortable. There's 2 in sole to use. 2 sizes.

CL,
Thanks, checked and realised that I've stocked up quite a bit of snacks for him..some expiry soon....heehee...so better finish up first.

RE : X-ray
Well, got the results today. He has mild bronchopneumonia. Hence gotta take antibiotic for 10 days. PD said a mild one. Sian...

Tabb,
Is there anything I shld watch now? What I shldnt do??? Aiya...din get to see the PD. Only went down to take the med.

RE: FRISO GOLD 3
Mummies I need help !!
I can't seems to hunt down big tin of Friso 3!! Every place is out of stock! I have been buying small tins for 1 mth already! Anyone see it somewhere? Could it be something wrong with production..I could have missed the news.

Cheng and Aileen,
can you give me your email addresses and hp nos? I will send confirmation emails out this weekend. [email protected]

re: Baby Spinach (collection @ Raffles Place or Marine Parade)
Anyone else? We'll close this BP at the end of the week (16th Mar, Friday) for collection on Tuesday, 20 Mar.

Tentative portion allotment: 3 x 1.5kg/ctn divide by 8 pax = 562.5grams

1. Denmy
2. Mamapanda - pickup via CL
3. MamaChan - pickup at Raffles Place
4. durianlover - pickup via CL
5. Flo - pick up at Raffles Place
6. Aileen - pick up at Raffles Place
7. Cheng - pick up at Marine Parade
8. Chicken Little - Pick up at Raffles Place

Tracy,
I'd like 3 dozens of the light green pens please. 2 doz each for the following cols: light brown, dark brown and red. MTIA!!!!!

Re: Lasik
i did mine in year 1998. last time my degree hits 1k for each eye, so i was a blind mice without my glasses then. haha, still remember my old thick lens.

would like to encourage whoever with high degree to go for it. i am super duper happy i went ahead with the operation although my parent then was very against it. anyway i am the one paying, so they cant do anything too =p threw in 5k for the op and all the medicines and follow-ups fee. but its all worth it!

mamapanda
thank you for having us over and paiseh we messed up your place =p had a great time! dylan dozed off while drinking his milk after we reached home haha.

hope we can have another round of playgroup =)