(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Babylon,
ya...we are changing to SAP now. Global initiative, that's why have to go to London for the meeting

SL,
Ya it's hard to drive in Sydney...the last time we went Sydney for holiday with JW in Dec, we ended up with a traffic police infringement for speeding. Alamak, my hb didn't even know he exceeded the speed limit. Now slap with a A$100 fine. Dunno can appeal or not

Bt Panjang Playgroup (All are welcomed!)
Date: 15 March (Tomorrow!)
Venue: Mamapanda's place
Time: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Pls indicate response:
1. Mamapanda - 2xLarge, s.supreme/s.hawaiian/hawaiian/pepperoni/cheese/veggie
2. Durianlover -
3. Rachel - No pref. anything is fine
4. CassCL - ok with anything other than seafood.
5. Tabbiesus
6. Chicken Little - No pref. anything is fine
7. xjysg -

Re: London Trip
Hb decided not to bring JW along for the trip :-(
So sad. Will not see him for a week plus. First time I am going to be away from my bb for such a long time.

Linda,
At least it sounds like Gracie is adapting. Hope JW is ok with us being away for a week plus too.

mummies, like to share something interesting =)

JUST A MUM?

A woman, renewing her driver's license at the Road Traffice Office, was asked by the woman recorder to state her occupation.
She hesitated, uncertain how to classify herself.
"What I mean is," explained the recorder,
"Do you have a job or are you just a . . . ?"

"Of course I have a job," snapped the woman.
"I'm a Mum."
"We don't list 'Mum' as an occupation,
'Housewife' covers it," said the recorder emphatically.

I forgot all about her story until one day I found myself in the same situation, this time at our own Town Hall.
The Clerk was obviously a career woman, poised, efficient, and possessed of a high sounding title like, "Official Interrogator" or "Town Registrar."
"What is your occupation?" she probed.
What made me say it? I do not know.
The words simply popped out.
"I'm a Research Associate in the field of Child Development and Human Relations."

The clerk paused, ball-point pen frozen in midair and looked up as though she had not heard right.
I repeated the title slowly emphasizing the most significant words.
Then I stared with wonder as my pronouncement was written, in bold, black ink on the official questionnaire.
"Might I ask," said the clerk with new interest,
"Just what you do in your field?"
Coolly, without any trace of fluster in my voice, I heard myself reply, "I have a continuing program of research, (what mother doesn't) in the laboratory and in the field, (normally I would have said indoors and out).
I'm working for my Masters, (first the Lord and then the whole family) and already have four credits (all daughters).
Of course, the job is one of the most demanding in the humanities, (any mother care to disagree?) and I often work 14 hours a day, (24 is more like it).
But the job is more challenging than most run-of-the-mill careers and the rewards are more of a satisfaction rather than just money."
There was an increasing note of respect in the clerk's voice as she completed the form, stood up, and personally ushered me to the door.

As I drove into our driveway, buoyed up by my glamorous new career, I was greeted by my lab assistants -- ages 13, 7, and 3.
Upstairs I could hear our new experimental model,(a six month old baby) in the child development program, testing out a new vocal pattern.
I felt I had scored a beat on bureaucracy! And I had gone on the official records as someone more distinguished and indispensable to mankind than "Just another Mum."
Motherhood!

What a glorious career! Especially when there's a title on the door.
Does this make grandmothers "Senior Research associates in the field of Child Development and Human Relations"
And great grandmothers "Executive Senior Research Associates?"
I think so!
I also think it makes Aunts "Associate Research Assistants."

SH
I once was fined $110A and 4 points for exceeding the speed limit by 2kmh on the way to Gold Coast from Towoomba. The previous speed limit I remembered seeing was 100kmh so I thought 92kmh is safe but it turned out I missed the 90kmh limit sign. I just transfered the money to my friend and asked him to pay the fine for me. Was supposed to take the australian summon to Singapore TP to deduct my Singaore points.. Anyway, AUstralian TP is non-negeotiable. Don't bother appealing. My friend was fined $100A for 1kmh before.

Thanks mummy for the advice. Well, I'm got the x-ray done today and will prob get the results tmr or Fri. Eh...under wat circumstances will Doc put child to use a nebuliser? Anyway, he has a few lymph nodes at the lower part of the head, near neck, they seems bigger to me and PD agreed. Cld be due to him being sick. She said all bb has it but it bugs me so much. haizz...mummy worries abt every thing

rachel
I was bursting out with laughter when I saw your posting. Incidentally, my new job title really is "Research Assistant" in the field of Learning Sciences

SH
treat it as a couple time for your London trip. bringing JW along might tired you and hb out too. imagine the long hours flight!

durianlover
Can u pls bring the nice bells Ariene was playing with at your house last time to the playgroup tomorrow? I think it'll add a nice touch to the singing session. As for shakers, I can make a few makeshift ones with milk bottles and some macaroni. I got some brand new Avent and other brand milk bottles which I don't use so can use as shakers for our babies. Lemme see if I can find bells or other things that I can put into the bottles to make different sounds.

fruits for our babies tomorrow
I got some papayas, watermelon and oranges for our darlings tomorrow as dessert after lunch. Your darlings ok with these fruits?

Chicken Little,
I'll check with my sales staff whether the Kino sale is still on. Let you know tmr.

Rachel,
That was a good one!

Chillies,
I think doc will advise neubilizer when the kid is not taking the med well (ie vomits out) and when the wheezing continues, the child appears breathless. Hope the x-ray result is ok!

SH,
Well, take this hol in London to enjoy couple time with hb! Ya lah, will miss baby, but good to hv a break.

MamaPanda,
oh wow...wat an experience you've got and so many lumps! I only had one removed at my breast when i was only 17. Tiny one lah..nothing compared to yours.

Tracy,
Can you get the gel marker cheaper for us? ;P

CL,
Thanks for buying the fingerpaint for us. I've just trasferred $19.95 to your account. Ref: 1091692881

---------------------------------

re: Baby Spinach (collection @ Raffles Place or Marine Parade)
Anyone else? We'll close this BP at the end of the week (16th Mar, Friday) for collection on Tuesday, 20 Mar.

Tentative portion allotment: 3 x 1.5kg/ctn divide by 8 pax = 562.5grams

1. Denmy
2. Mamapanda - pickup via CL
3. MamaChan - pickup at Raffles Place
4. durianlover - pickup via CL
5. Flo - pick up at Raffles Place
6. Aileen - pick up at Raffles Place
7. Cheng - pick up at Marine Parade
8. Chicken Little - Pick up at Raffles Place

mamapanda
hahaha so qiao! i was laughing when i read this post too. my hb sent it to me =)

like to check with you, is it possible to use Ariene's high chair to feed dylan when i reach your place? thinking we will have a few babies and whether should i bring along my portable feeding chair.

Linda
Gracie is so sweet =) Kids can adapt to new environment very quickly, Im sure shell be very comfortable at your moms pl within the next few days. Dont worry too much.

Re: Barney VCD
There are different types of Barney VCDs, some are for age 1 and above (more songs and dance) and some for older kids more talking. Mel only like those for age 1 and above.

ChickenLittle
Re: crayola finger paint
No worries, we should be thanking you for making an effort to go all the way there to help us to buy

SL
When you went for the trial, did you leave Charmaine alone or were u hanging around? Previously my bro and SIL left my nephew (he was 2 then) alone at the child care for half a day (in fact they hide in one corner to observe him). He cried the moment they were out of sight and after that developed stranger anxiety for the next 6 months.

Mamapanda
I think u better get your gynae to check the lump in uterus area, at least can get a peace of mind.

Chillies
My PD said lymph nodes at the head/neck area will appear when kids not feeling well or having infection, so dont have to worry. Hope Xs x-tray turns out fine.

Tabbiesus
Just browse thru Tabbie's pic, she's such a happy and smiley bb.

RE: Eye Centre stops all Lasik ops after spike in infections
ghee, now am thinking should I pay more and go to Dr Jerry Tan. Anway have been such a procastinator, still have not booked any appt yet. My colic nearly booked an appt with Dr Donald Tan a few weeks back, unfortunately (or fortunately) he was unavailable and she was lazy to follow up. Now she's having 2 minds about SNEC.

My goodness, so many postings! It's late now so i shall just reply the essential.

RE: Playgroup
Mamapanda,
Thanks for the food. I'm fine with anything.
Yes i'll bring the bells & whatever other musical equipment i can lug along!

RE: Fruits
I'm fine with all the fruits. I bought some grapes to bring for tmr's playgroup too!!
So excited...we're having a fruit feast as well as buffet

But i may not be able to cook my beef pasta. I see how okie? Even if i don't cook beef pasta, i'll cook an extra portion of whatever is Janelle's lunch so we can all share

Flo

I heard about this also...Actually they are investigating this... they just want to make sure they don't have contamination... and of course being a semi public hospital.. they have to let the public know... i don't think private doctors will publicise their infection rates. kekeke.. must protect my ground leh
anyways... Jerry tan is ok to go to if you are worried and want peace of mind.

mamapanda,
i have lumpy breast like you and i have to go for ultrasound half yearly. My right breast is more jia lat, think i have abt 15 there and 1 on the left. So far the ultrasound seems okie.
Can let me have Doc Susan Lim's contact? I may wanna consult her for my case. Thanks

tabbiesus
Haha, since we're on the topic of Lasik, am wondering is NUH's Lasik centre is good? They have staff price for NUS staff (only about $200 - $300 cheaper off published rates) for both eyes. Been thinking if I should do it or not. Oh yah, say Tabby's pictures! She's sucha a smiley and happy baby!!

rachel
It's a really good and funny article! Really makes us re-look at the status of our "portfolio"

Leaving children in childcare
Mummies who are leaving their darlings at childcare, it would be good to actually accompany them for one or two days at the premises maybe for the 1st hour or so. And just keep assuring them that you'll be back for them. Encourage them to be involved with the teachers. It will give them the feeling that it's ok to be there and that you're not "abandoning" them. I did that with Daren when he was at IFC but of course at 6 months then, he didn't really know anything. But beginning of this year when we left him at the church's nursery and just went for service, I learnt that Daren had been crying non-stop until they chanced on his favorite stuffed toy in the bag which stopped the crying. The following week, when we went back to the nursey, he started crying when we have yet to hand him over to the teachers! So I accompanied him in and sat with him for awhile and took out his stuffed toy. Sat him down with the teachers around him and just started playing with him till he was breaking in smiles and laughter then I walked away quietly after whispering that I'll be back. Subsequent weeks, he was quite alright already, didn't even bother to glance at me when I sais bye to him!!! HOpe this will help ease the stranger/seperation anxiety.

CL,
Think the Kino sale ended liao...

Denmy,
So clever...:p i see wat i can do, cos stocks for this item quite limited. BTW, our Twin Marker light-green stocks are in.

Bt Panjang Playgroup (All are welcomed!)
Date: 15 March (Tomorrow!)
Venue: Mamapanda's place
Time: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Pls indicate response:
1. Mamapanda - 2xLarge, s.supreme/s.hawaiian/hawaiian/pepperoni/cheese/veggie
2. Durianlover -
3. Rachel - No pref. anything is fine
4. CassCL - ok with anything other than seafood.
6. Chicken Little - No pref. anything is fine
7. xjysg - lunch?

I'll probably order a pepperoni lover and a super supreme later. Not ordering hawaiian cuz pineapples not good for preggy mummies
U all ok with beef ya?

Mamachan
Thanks for the advice. I shall ask if I can accompany Ariene for the first 2 hours when the time comes. I'm going to go down again to bug them let me have a more detailed tour of their facilities later. I really want to make sure Ariene will be comfy there cuz she's gonna be there for a long long time as long as I'm still staying here.

Feeding chair
Rachel, I'm using the Ikea high chair. If u dun mind, feel free to use it. My plan is to lay the baby foods on the children's table in the hall and we let our little darlings sit on the children stools I have while we feed them so that they cant run about. My maid will be around to help out, so don't worry.

BTW, you're welcomed to come earlier if u want to. If ur darlings want to have a nap, I've got a spare cot mattress and guest room for them too.

Sept03bride
Wow, u got so many on the right too! I had a total of 17 from both left and right breast ranging from 4mm to 14mm in diameter. Susan Lim's really professional and she made plastic surgical stiches to make only 1 incision around the areola on both breasts to remove the lumps. The scar that healed is quite small and not so noticable. Here's Prof Susan Lim's contacts. You MUST make appointment with her. She's a super busy doctor.

www.susanlimsurgery.com

She has 2 clinics: Mt Elizabeth and Gleneagles. You see which clinic u wanna call to make appointment.

Thanks Chicken little.

Japanese Biscuit Time - With Salt hor. Got another 2 types without milk content. They are plain with no sugar. Can only order 1 carton each. Expiry in Jun 07.

2.45 per pack - 12 in a carton

1) Chicken Little - 4
2) COokie - 1
3) bblon - 1
4) xjysg - 1
5) ak-1
6) sl - 1
7) mashybrainz - 3
8)
Total = 9
==================

1.89 per pack - 10 packs per carton

1) Chicken Little - 4
2) Cookie - 1
3) bblon - 1
4) Aileen - 1
5) xjysg - 1
6) ak-1
7) sl - 1

Total = 10

Great Thanks Mamapanda.
The biggest lump that i have, i can even feel it myself lor.. So got me quite freaked out.. so i betta do someting about it.

CL/SL/Queen
Think lunch just count me out.. cos my Co has funny lunch hr.. fixed at 1140-1240. tho I wun love to join lunch together.
I will try to meet CL again.

mamapanda

SOrry wont' be able to make it today.. sigh.... yest nite tabby suddenly kena fever 38 degrees but she was still quite well.. today its down but i worry she is coming down with something so dun want to spread to the other babies... only hear a few coughs here and there.. sounds dry... so monitoring

Hope you guys have fun....

RE: childcare..

hmmm... seems del care also quite ex... for me my other option is little skool house on the hill at SGH cos its near my work place next time.. very cheap.. only 400 with staff discount but don't know how good it is.

Hi Tabbie - Nice pics! Just to let u know at one glance, U look like the actress Tan Kheng Hua (PCK's SIL) from the photoshoot!

tabbiesus
delcare seems super duper ex!! I've read about little skool house before. I passed by the branch at SGH too, they have outdoor facilities right? Maybe you can request to take a tour around and observe how they conduct their activities to gauge?

Mamapanda
That sounds good to accompany Arienne. Am sure the teachers will pay more attention to her since she's new. You'll be starting work in April? As for myself, I placed Daren in IFC one week before I resumed work. I actually place him there for half a day for the 1st day, and extended the timings in picking him up (of course I informed the teachers before hand). So by 3rd or 4th day, I picked him him up at the timings I would normally pick him up after work. So by then he would be more or less adjusted. Hope this helps. The supervisor at the IFC actually advised that for the 1st 2 weeks or so, do try to pick them up as early as possible after work so that they will not be the last to go home, so they won't feel insecure. Coz they've encountered with some parents of new babies to the centre, came like 10 min to 7pm and their baby is the last, cried and cried like anything. It happened to Daren once coz I missed the bus by 2 mins and I got to the IFC at 10 min before 7pm, he was the last and he cried his eyes out! Felt so bad and made sure it didn't happen again. But since you have your own car, you'll definitely fly after work to pick up precious Ariene =)

rachel
what u posted is so funny! i really liked the way it describe mums

SH
how come dun wan to bring JW?

mamapanda
share with us how the playgroup went ok? and what kind of activities did u do?

re weekend playgroup
cookie also joining in so we got 6 pple already. shall we start in april?

CL
are you still meeting queen for lunch tmr?

MamaPanda
Am not a nurse. I'm working in NUS as a laboratory officer with one of the research institute. But am doing things far from lab work! I interned at the Laboratory of Medicine at NUH during the last 1.5 years of my dip course. =)

mamachan
oh.. which lab in NUS? My mum also working in NUS as snr Lab officer but she's in DISCS.

playgroup
Ariene should have no problems going home early cuz Amazing star is just downstairs. My maid can pick her up anytime cuz I'm authorising her to pick up Ariene on my behalf. I've told the centre not to let grandparents pick her with my prior consent cuz I dun wan my ILs to take Ariene away without my knowledge (which I'm pretty sure my FIL will try). Anyway, Ariene can only join them on 16June officially cuz she's only 18m on 16June. Long wait.. cant wait to send her there to start learning! Went down to take another tour of the place. Looks like a conducive and fun place to be in. Their teacher:children ratio is 1:8(max) but they say they normally stop at a 1:7.

MamaPanda,
Woah...Australia TP so unfriendly one ah. Even though we are tourists and dunno the speed limit also cannot appeal ah. Now I think S'pore govt nicer! ;p
Okie...i better let my hb know.

Rachel/Tracy,
Ya...that's wat i thought. So I left it to hb to decide if we should bring JW. But I still feel sad and bu se de when he decided and announced that we won't bring JW along. I know it sounds stupid but I was thinking I hope he won't forget me after 10 plus days away. As it is now he stick to MIL more than me...even though i bring him home everynite. So I a bit worried that he won't want me even more if I am away from him for so long.

Haha, I felt really psycho typing this kind of thoughts! Big Green Eye Psycho Monster.

SY,
I worry that hb cannot cope for the week that I have to go to work. If JW fuss during the day, it's going to be really hard to concentrate at work. Plus I also worry abt the 13 hour flight. Coz JW was really difficult the last time we flew to Australia. He was screaming a big part of the flight & I really feel pai sei and sorry for the rest of the passengers. Having said that, I know I will miss him a lot though coz hb wanted to tag along and extend the trip since we have never been to London. Being torn in between, I left it to my hb to decide if we should bring JW or not. And he decided not to. So I decided to respect his decision coz after all he is the one who has to care for JW full time during the week that I work.

hi mummies...wow teh thread is really on a move. hopefully i didnt miss out any msg. I was on urgent leave yesterday as caleb was down with stomach flu and was vomitting after every feed. it was so scary seeing those puke coming out from his nose. was suspecting my mum let him bite the banana instead of mashing it and feed him. coz in his puke, i can see huge pieces of banana. told my parents against doing it. so brought him to see PD yesterday and he seems to be recovering. hopefully he be fine when daddy gets back today. sigh...thankfully i could take leave and watched over him yesterday. somehow, when he is sick...i really feel that being a SAHM helps a lot.

wenyl - no worries abt the kits. won;t be using it anyway...so thot might as well pass along b4 it expires
yeah thanks for the FM.

queen - wah u very gung ho in exploring london with ur bb when he is so young. but if its london, i think i will also try and explore and tag along too. hee..nice right to join hb when he is at work and u get to shop and shop. hee..

linda - i was also tearing when i read that ur hb cried. the parting feeling is really terrible and after having a bb myself. all these stuffs tend to make me tear easily esp when i see mother and bb on the road begging in thailand. can really sympathise them.

ak - sorry will call u this weekend to collect the FM ok?

rena - how is your maid? is she good? also is it possible for me to talk to the maid before engaging her?

SH - why not bringing him to london? hb cannot cope?

RE: Eye Centre stops all Lasik ops after spike in infections

mamachan - hb took the spouse rate discount and did it in NUH recently. So far he said its ok except when they cut one of his eye, the nerves broke coz he is a frequent contact lens user and doc said due to that, teh nerves are protuding. he still complaint that the eye is still not so clear but ok.

i have decided to do it during my maternity leave in Sept-Oct to take advtg of the staff rate.

Night safari
My hb and I love the zoo, bird park and night safari. Been to it like 5 times or more. Maybe we can organise a night safari just for mummies and daddies? Anyone keen?

Aileen
My pump is back from servicing already. Will arrange with my hb to return u the pump. Is it ok to return to u the pump later than 9pm? If you're asleep already, can I pass it to your maid instead? What time does ur family and maid usually sleep at?

hi mamapanda,
no hurries to pass back to me lah. ur hb can drop it off after 9pm but best b4 9.30pm. coz i'm afraid my dogs will bark when he presses the doorbell and that will wake my boy up.