(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY, Queen, FLo
re: vcds

i also end up using vcds... cos i find that its quite stimulating and she really did learn quite a fair bit from them...

vcds i use
Baby can read series is quite good
I like baby einstien series too
recently i found the free copy of brainy baby in our jan mom gathering on music really good cos my girl will sit and watch for half an hour and really learn to clap along with the music...

Books..
my girl likes to read herself but has no patience when i try to read with her...

Queen
I use nursery rhymes a lot.. but usually play the cd/sing and do hand actions... she love itsy bitsy spider and humpty dumpty (she will sit down and "fall" when she hears the word fall)... i'm a little teapot she can't do the hand action but she will tilt her body to one side... very cute!!

Cheng/ SSF

Nice meeting you two at the trial... clarisse enjoyed her class very much. Both Aidan and Caleb very cute.

Today on half day morning, now very busy catching up my work... will read through the post later.

SY - ya i have some from lego and some from megablocks. i think megablocks are much cheaper. can intro to JH for him to play ard and be creative.

SY
polluted? you mean the air? hmm.... initially wanna plan for gold coast, but it's way beyond our budget loh...

Tabbie
yes yes, please help me to ask if you got time. thanks!
if i go disneyland + ocean park, 4D3N will definitely not enough for me. you mean ocean park is more suitable for the our toddler than disneyland?
and is it easy to find vegetarian food in HK?

re: TV/VCD
till now, i haven't let my gal watch TV or VCD.... i wonder when's the good time to start....

Hi SY,

Thanks. Ashley is quite considerate and mature for her age. Cannot trick her sometimes because she will remember everything we said...........

Hi Tabb,

Megan's favourite is also Itsy Botsy Spider cos i wil use my finger to crawl up her leg and tickkle her eventually.

krissie
the bookshelf is actually hb and mine...but we cleared 2 levels fo bb. so he has 2 whole levels dedicated to his books. he can reach the books so now his fav activity is actually to go the book shelves to choose books to read.

JH goes thru different phases. right now he loves to read so i m using the chance to read more ot him. there was a period of time where he couldn't sit still for me to read. maybe he sees it as quite special cos everynight i tell him to choose one book and bring to my room where i will read. try to be more animated also.

JH likes lift the flap books esp...

i just got those posters and pasted onto the wall beside his cot..he loves it and can't stop laughing. can use that to read to him as well.

recently i read this book Go Dog Go to him. inside got this thing abt stopping at red light and moving at green light. so when he sees traffic lights he gets quite excited.

queen
isaac so sweet to u! i realise our boys are getting really sweeter. these few days when i wasn't feeling well, JH will be very sweet. he will walk up to me (with some support of cos) and climbed into bed to lie beside me. and when my hb is alone with him and ask him what he wants he will say mama.

hope isaac recovers soon!

tabby
JH loves isty bitsy spider too! he can keep repeating the whole action and ask me to do the same too.

re VCD
i think it is good to let them learn how to focus for a short period of time. but the main motivation for starting was to let him learn how to concentrate and also to enable my maid ot prepare his meals.

sunny
that's what i heard from a colleague who went in jan. he said the air very polluted....

but i guess u can go HK disneyland. i m planning to bring JH there before he turns two!

yuki
yah man, kids can remmebr what we say so need to be careful....

Hi Valerie

I do know Republic Poly quite well. Part-timers are required to teach full-days, I think twice a week. The style is like what Queen had mentioned. It's facilitating style, or rather Problem solving. It's called Problem-Based-Learning. The pay does not include CPF contribution, and I think the basic is $250 per day of facilitation. You need to go for 5-days of training before you can start... the school has a lot of young staff ... hm, depending on which dept, I do hear some are quite good but some heads are not that good ... write me if you wish to know more :>

.ky.

Hi Queen
ya, heard there's a hschooling article in Todays, but I don't have that newspaper.. anyone has that and can share with me?

Hi Sunny
HK is always polluted. I've worked there 10 yrs ago and I guess air still as bad. But the islands in the outskirts have very good air... if it's the first time you are there, you gotta go up the Peak (besides disneyland & ocean park). Try the tram too ... and the markets at Kowloon side. The tim-sum there are yummy ... sorry, not sure abt vegetarian food.

Re : bookcase
Can consider getting the 3-tier book casing so that the kid can self-help ... I've made this sometime ago (from cardboard) and it's still standing

.ky.

722166.jpg

Walking backwards:

Mummies - Has any of your babies done this yet? Cephas started walking backwards over the weekend. It was quite amusing to see him do that & he keeps doing it with a cheeky grin because he saw how surprised we were the 1st time round! After that, he will turn around with his face towards the sky or ceiling. The funny thing is he can balance quite well because he does not walk crooked when he stops.

Zhimin, SSF
I find both Clarrise and Caleb very expressive. Clarrise seems to enjoy both the music and gym sessions,clapping along while I think Aidan only enjoyed the gym session. I was most amused by Caleb's protests - he is so animated, and so happy after the class ended.

Finger paint
CL, I have the finger paint set and Aidan enjoys making a mess. I think it is a fun activity.

Activities
I am impressed by all the mummies who think of their own activities - Thanks for sharing your ideas. I tried to do my shaker (with the kitchen roll) for Aidan. He played with it for a grand total of 5 minutes and lost interest..sigh.

Some ideas to share:
1. They can scribble now - so doodle pad or any non toxic crayons is interesting for them.

2. Aidan loves the story - firefighter - from this URL. www.storyplace.org (can be used when they insist on joining you when you are using the PC!)

sysac
dylan started walking backwards think at least 1 month ago. a very cute sight i must say =)

valerie
no need to be taken during the bash, just need to be a close up photo taken around the period when your girl is 1YO.

sysac
walking backwards? that's interesting....JH only does a commando crawl backwards when he is being cheeky.

JH started saying Papa last week. really quite funny to hear him call papa.

ak
what kind of wall paper borders are u referring to? most DIY shops have some wall paper borders right?

cheng
i bought those magic scribble thing for JH but he's not very interested. he will be interested in using pen to scribble though..my sofa has some of his art works...

ak - u can try those DIY shop but they are not cheap lor.

cheng - ya that son of mine...more happy after than before class. after class, he was like walking ard exploring those equipments. hb was saying...waste money. ahaa..
and we are like u see aidan so happy crawling those tunnels and walking ard and keeping the toys. Clarisse so happy clapping her hands and dancing to the tune. and caleb, he is the only person to whine and cry in class. malu mann! haa..

ak
actually i had the idea of taking wall paper border to deorate dylan's room when he was 6 mths old. after looking around, decided not to do it. bcoz will need a few roll to run around the room and its very expensive. so stingy mummy here end up did not do it hahaha

Flo,
yes...zhezhe is Xavier. We r so use to calling him zhe zhe (Yu Zhe) or ah di (his cousin calls him that). Indeed, realised he has grown so much. Getting naughtier every day!!!

durianlover,
my friend bought it for 300+ at a shop in Bedok. Dunno is that cheap anot.

RE : Sick BB
haiz...my boy also still coughing and suddenly nose runs again. Dunno is it I pass the virus to him. I'm down wif a bad cold. Gotta go Dr Ho again. Urgh!!!

SY,
I am talking abt the borders with designs (e.g. winnie the pooh, mickey mouse) that I can stick on the wall in Ryan's room.

SSF, Rachel,
Thanks for input. Any idea if ikea or kiddy palace or toysrus will sell?

We are moving home and I wanted to take the opportunity to make Ryan's room nicer....

Rachel - Yes, Quite a cute sight. Like a little ducky doing the reverse. Waddling more like it.

Tracy - Haha, U know what Mel does huh.

SY - Must be a cute sight! Don't worry too much abt bringing JH to the beach. I think once he steps on it, he'll realise it's not meant for his mouth! U can bring toys along to play order to distract him from putting any into his mouth.Just rem to rem the wipes cos when they start perspiring, the sand will stay on the body.

ak - not sure abt those places though. where are u moving to? i am also moving hse but we are leaving the 2 kid's rm empty for the time being. maybe just put a chest drawer and his toys at caleb's rm. as for the other rm, since i have no maid rm...will have to give her use for the time being when she arrives in Nov.

so exciting to move hse right? but also headache coz have to move just before the buyer of my current hse comes in. so now 1.5 mths of reno seems so rush esp when we engage a designer to see thru the whole thingy and she prefer not to rush thru things. moving hse is so costly and involve lots of paper work tat hb said "can we dun move?" haha..i told him last time liao...the next time shld we move is when caleb chase us out of our aged home. hahaa....

ak
dont mention it =) hmmm did not come across any at ikea nd kiddy palace. not sure about toysrus. naybe i can try taka baby fair, i saw quite a few designs during last year's fair. nearly buy them =p

ak
if you're really adventurous, you could do a character land i.e snoopyland on one wall in the room, sure will brighten up the whole place!! My gfs did this mural wall for Daren as a gift to him. They selected the pictures they want and used a projector and project onto the wall and traced with pencil (that is after waiting the wall white) and started painting in the colors. Now Daren is enjoying the wall alot, and points to the rainbow, woodstock, snoopy and charlie brown.

SSF,
I'm moving to Leonie Hill road, quite near where I am currently staying but bigger, so more space. Next time we can gather at my pl after I move in. I'm moving house in 2 weeks but everything not ready yet...hahaha...me and hubby very idle....

re: Gathering
after the big event of bday bash, when shall we have our next gathering? maybe a swimming gathering session? since our babies love and enjoy playing with water better now =)

ak,
i got winnie the pooh borders for Caleb. Got it from DIY shops. I also additional Pooh Gang stickers on 1 side on the wall..

gymboree
SSF, it costs $8 for members and $15 for non members to use their equipment & stuff for an hour. Maybe next time, we can just bring our babies there to play on their own. less 'pressure' hee..maybe Caleb will like it more. I plan to bring Aidan to the Parkway one during the weekdays as near to my mum's place.

Chillies
Yes, we need to call in advance to check when are the free slots and we can use the equipment for an hour. Actually, if you like, you can also join gymboree for a membership fee of $50 (like what I did) - this will entitle you to a free trial class, and T-shirt and subsequent gym visits (unsupervised play) for $8 (instead of $15). Can use at all gymboree outlets. I do not know other schools offer the same deal..

Hee thanks for ur 'assurances' on not having to send my girl for classes! I guess i'll have to just buck up more on my teaching skills! And i must say some of u have very good ideas on what to teach our kids at this stage

ak,
Wow Leonie Hill Rd! So central
Expensive place too! I've got a friend who stays there

Queen,
Same same! Janelle also can't sit still to eat. She'll want to walk around. But the good thing is that she'll walk 1 round, come back to me to eat 1 bite, walk round again, and keep coming back to me for a spoonful...until she's full.

sysac, Flo, rachel,
Oh my so cute!! Never knew they'd start walking backwards!! Haha
Janelle is still contented walking forward for now!

valerie,
I have 3 friends who are in RP. 1 is non-teaching staff, the other 2 are lecturers. Do let me know if u'd like their contact to find out more!

Bash momento

Rachel, can you please refresh my memory again on the email address to send the picture to? and the recommended resolution size?

Tracy,
I think is probably the blocked nose. Mel also breathes very hard when she sleeps at nite.

Sunny/SY
Yes, HK pollution is getting worse over the years. A lot of my HK colleagues are looking to move down to Singapore. Sunny, I think you are going there just for a short hol so shouldnt be too bad and prob wont be staying outdoor all the time also. Veg food is not widely available there as compared to Sing. I love Stanley market.

Krissie
There are a lot of phonics VCDs in the market but I think our bb are probably too young to appreciate now, actions/music/dance VCDs will prob interest them more at this stage. I got my bumblebee vocab VCD from Toys r us. I think u can easily get it in most places.

Queen
Hope Isaac get well soon. Ya I think the runny nose makes it tough for them to sleep well at nite. Is indeed very heartwarming to get a big hug when back from work esp when I have a bad day in office. Hb gets so jealous cos her big hug is normally reserved for mommy only

Tabbiesus
My gal also likes to flip and read herself and has no patience when i try to read with her. The moment I try to read and flip the book shes holding on, shell go and get another bookhaiz.

Sysac
Heehee, Tracy knew cos we shared our bb developments during the +ve bb class. Ya, Mel was walking backwards a few weeks back. Shell back face me, turn and look where I am and then dash/run backwards towards me so that I can catch hervery playful. She stops walking backward for a while. Shes now into turning and spinning. Will spread her hands out and spin in circle. Sometimes she will get giddy and falls on the ground like a drunken sailorhaha. She likes to do this on the sofa and bed esp, prob less painful if she falls. She was turning so fast on the bed yesterday and really freaked me out, almost topple off the bed!

Rachel
Where should I email the pic to? Having trouble trying to find the previous posting.

Sept03bride
Just being kaypo, notice that you have not lowered Calebs cot. He doesnt attempt to climb out of it?

activities
Hmm.. Ariene cant sit still for more than 10min. She'll want to play with her Mega blocks, stack a few, then dismentle it, then grab her shape sorter, sort a few shapes, walk to her book and flip a few pages, walk to her walker and push around abit, then walk to her teddy bear and kiss it, then walk elsewhere to do other things, and so on. So far, I think her fave activity is taking walks downstairs. She's always saying "gai gai". Sometimes, she'll suddenly unlatch during her feed, look at me with a very serious little face and say "gai gai". Then I'll reply her, "Yes darling, finish your milk and you can "gai gai" in your dreams ok?" Then she'll give me a smile and continue latching on. Mummy so mean

She still likes messing up my CD tower and pretending to listen and talk on my telephone until it rang on of the days while she was playing with it. Now, everytime the phone rings, she'll run to us and do the "scared scared" action.

Anyway, I talk and sing to Ariene alot. Cant get her attention long enough to do anything else. Sometimes, she'll walk away halfway through my singing. Maybe she finds my singing horrible

First few years servicing
Sent my unit in for servicing today. They say I can collect my unit back either on thurs or fri. If you bought your unit from FFY and is still under warranty, quickly get it serviced. Anyway, the lady boss told me even if the warranty is over by just abit, they'll still service it FOC for u. As for charges, not sure how much they charge for expired units. Heard its $30?

period and spotting
I've been spotting these few days. Can I check with u girls did u all spot before ur first period? I've not had my period yet but I think it might be coming already since I'm spotting. Moreover, been having water retention problems and headaches lately too. Feet are fat and hot, just like preggy days. How many days, if any at all, did u all spot for b4 the P comes? How long does the first P usually last and is it heavy?

15th march playgroup
Don't worry abt the plastic sheets. If nobody brings it on thursday, I'll just goto shop n save n buy 2 plastic table cloths while ordering the takeaway pizza/kfc. Anyway, mummies who are going, can kindly sms me your hp numbers with ur name so we can keep in contact? If u do not have my hp num, u can PM me your number.

chillies
they do not have a local website. You can find the local addresses under www.gymboree.com (under international locations)

Flo
Mel sounds like Aidan - likes to flip the books himself, cannot settle down long enough for a story.

Bookshelf
I got one for Mel from Carrefour 2 weeks back. Is cheap and good, only $16.90 and about 90cm high, so all the shelves are within her reach.

Re: Activities
Here are some of the things we do with Mel at home.

1. Doodle pad and non toxic crayons to scribble
2. stack cubes, shape sorter and ring holder
3. Wooden xylophone I got from Toys r us
4. 2 pic matching puzzle with alphabet and pic, but she's more keen to disjoin rather than join the puzzle together...haha
5. Reading, but she's more interested to flip the pages on her own then for me to read to her
6. Ball, she loves to bounce, roll and kick the ball
7. Play hide and seek and catching esp with daddy, they can really tear the whole house down
8. put her tummy down and roll her on my gym ball
9. Pretend Play with plastic bowl, spoon and folk and her little people toys
10. Watch VCD, she loves to sit on mommy's lap and watch together
11. She loves bubble, but we try not to play at home cos it mess up the floor.

Mamapanda
Mel is just like Ariene, attention span is very short and love to mess up my mom's CD tower and play with the telephone..pretending to be talking to someone...haha

Could you have strike "Toto" second time?

flo
Ariene also likes to play with the ikea children cutlery set I bought. She has discovered a new way to play with them.. she likes to look through the plates and see the world in a different colour. Very cute

2nd time toto
So lucky meh? I havent had my P yet leh and we only baby danced once 2 weeks back in the last few months and that one time was not really complete cuz my hb's slipped disc hurt too much so we stopped.. don't think so la.. anyway, maybe I'll wait 1-2 more days and if still no P, better do a Preggie test. I forgot implantation can also cause spotting n slight cramps hor? Come to think of it.. ya hor.. the timing seems just right.. hmm..

Cheng,
Esther and I have 1 session of free play each at Gymboree Parkway Centre. Let us know if you are going there. We can go together. Maybe Sandra can join us too.

Chillies,
re: Gymboree contact
You might wanna call them at this number: 6440 6306 (parkway)

Ky,
Very impressive bookshelf. Can share with us how you made it?

re: First Few Years
OK leh, doesn't sound too long. around 3 days?

re: Baby Spinach (collection @ Raffles Place or Marine Parade)
Anyone else? We'll close this BP at the end of the week (16th Mar, Friday) for collection on Tuesday, 20 Mar.

1. Denmy
2. Mamapanda
3. MamaChan - pickup at Raffles Place
4. durianlover

re: Baby Spinach (collection @ Raffles Place or Marine Parade)
Anyone else? We'll close this BP at the end of the week (16th Mar, Friday) for collection on Tuesday, 20 Mar.

1. Denmy
2. Mamapanda
3. MamaChan - pickup at Raffles Place
4. durianlover
5. Flo - pick up at Raffles Place

ak - so the new hse dun require any renovation? if so 2 weeks shld be sufficient to do the logistics. once move in then can slowly design the rooms.

cheng - ya i think Caleb also prefer that. less stressful for him. ya i will definitely consider the one at parkway which is nearer to my hm. maybe one day when we are doing our grocery shopping in PW, can ask hb if wants to bring him in to play. hopefully he can overcome the fear of entering those dark tunnels.

chillies - there is one branch in Parkway, Tanglin and Serangoon Garden Village. You can do a search on Gymboree Music and Play.

mamapanda - hee...maybe u could be preggy lei. go check go check

sept03bride and other mummies - do u keep your cot when bb is no longer using? sept03bride - i saw that you still have your cot open and well deco still. hee..mine is already use to put mattress, pillow that hb uses when he sleeps on the floor. i find the cot dusty too keeping it in the open and not using it. urs seems very well maintained.

Mamapanda
U never know. My gfren mensus is so irregular (sometimes can be once every 3 - 4 months) and thot is very difficult for her to get preggy, end up she has 3 kids now! Waiting for your good news

Sept03bride
OIC, I thot Caleb can guai guai stay inside...heehee.