(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

thanks for the info to get the ball ... will go and look for it when possible ...

Mamachan/SY, asking on homeschooling cos some of you have talked abt schools and childcare. I'm toying with this coz of #1 ... he's 4 now and I'm doing at least an hour of "serious work" with him each day and I'm seeing the concentration there. He was the "guinea pig" ... I've been thinking abt homeschooling but no courage to do so and hence he went to school at 2 yrs-old. Now thinking ahead, I'm thinking of keeping #2 by me for a longer time ... and since I have a lot of resources already, it's kinda wasted if I don't make use of it.

Phonics : SY, maybe you can try zoophonics with our 13-14 month?? I actually pick up zoophonics not from classes but from mummies ... and I see how positive the children react to it. Don't worry, even at 4, my son's still does not know his phonics very well yet ...

I'll be keen to enroll in GUG if someone can get a class going :>

.ky.

SY - ya lor super sianz. makes me even looking so fwd to weekend
thks for your offer...but even if u give me a ride...i dun think i can handle Caleb in the class coz my tummy will get bigger as i get along with the class. will be too clumsy to handle or even carry him.

Celine77
Maybe you fax the form to me again. I will indicate on your form that you have submitted before so they can pull the info out.

Hi SSF

I went for the previous FP sale @ Alexander as well. I remember at the counter, the staff were testing some toys with batteries to make sure it's working but it was a long queue so I didn't bother... hm, I'm still holding onto one unopened battery-operated toy. I have toys that I bought in 2003 ... *grin*, I keep records of what I've spend. I have 4 battery-operated toys from then and 2 are still working great. The 2 that are spoilt are due to our fault; we had used lousy batteries and they have leaked, and hence the wires are broken ... I did write to FP email before and got a reply that these toys are discontinued ... perhaps you can try emailing them ... [email protected] ... good luck!

.ky.

CL,
ops, i have thrown that form away already leh! :p but i'm pretty sure they have it in their computer system coz when i visited their school, they could trace my enrolment. :D Edgar's full name is Edgar Teo and my full name is Aileen Koh. thanks for ur help!

tracy
hope megan and you get well soon. the backache sounds bad. going to see doc?

denmy
can't believe that you really did that to try getting in the taxi. dangerous leh. but, the driver still didn't let you get into the car! so bad.

CL
same as celine, i had faxed the form to JG before and haven't got a cfm seat yet. i had chosen saturday Evan 9am. I try to find the form, not sure still can find or not. else, mayb can give them my name and my gal's name, would they be able to retrieve the data?

chickenlittle
erh, which class (what age grp) should we be signing up for? I rem that this class is like at least 6 months later, coz we're supp to be on the wait list or something? Also, can you refresh me on the diff between Evans and Forum, pls? I recalled that it was something like Forum having the good teacher whilst Evans had an outdoor area, is it? Thanks.. will hv to ask hb which one he prefers too.

Positive babies
Anyone can tell me more abt positive babies, like what they learn there, where are the schools, etc. It sounds qt good, so might want to brign Gerald to try it out. Thanks in advance.

ky,
I have a friend who is homeschooling her 7-yr old boy. She also went through quite a time deciding whether or not to homeschool. I can get her resources and opinions on it if you'd like. She went through quite a bit reading up on homeschooling, getting a support grp, materials, etc. Let me know if you'd like more info

SY,
Haha wow JH can poo in his sleep? So funny! Janelle doesn't do that anymore. Only last time when she was much younger then only she did that!

RE: McClaren Techno XT
Anyone knows if there's any sale for this model now? Thinking of buying one. Or a similar model that is able to allow baby to sleep comfortably and is sturdy enough! TIA!

Celine, Sunny
I think they will trace by birth cert no. So I may need more information from you. Just pm me the birth cert no too.

Krissie
We are still planning for the bilingual playclub for 18 mths to 3 year old. I am getting the forms ready for them as if they really cannot set up a class for us then we are at least on the waiting list for their scheduled class. Charmaine used to attend Forum under Adrian which is a very good teacher. As per the marketing person, it seems difficult to bring Adrian to Evans because of his timing. Bilingual playclub is offered on sat at Evans and Sun at Forum. Yes Evans has got this wonderful outdoor area and I must say Evans is a less crowded place than Forum. Forum you will always have to squeeze through the narrow passage full of kids and parents to get through.

KY
Me not so keen on GUG after attending the trial lesson. Yup Aden could be too young at that time as their syllabus is so similar to the bilingual playclub in JG. But I personally find JG makes learning more fun.

RE: class for babies
I think i must be the only mummy here on this thread who's not intending to send her kid to any class...hmmm is really important? I don't really see the need to leh. Because in terms of going out, i bring Janelle out quite a bit so she gets to mingle with adults and kids. Perhaps just need to 'brush up' on my teaching skills to her!

Celine77, just out of curiosity, why is your nick Celine when your name is Aileen?

Krissie, you can try out a trial at +ve babies. Just to summarise:
1) start with playing with balls just to familiarise with the surroundings
2) start with hello song with each kids name so that is intro
3) do an activity that each kid likes (e.g. waving, dancing, jumping etc)
4) Yoga poses of tree etc
5) songs like wheels of the bus, I'm a little tea pot
6) play with a big mat (dunno how to describe the thing)
7) positive affirmation of good traits of the kid
8) bye bye song

I hope I didnt make it sound boring...just what I remember.

Chicken Little,

Is there a trial class for JG?

ky,
sounds like u have a lot of resources. i think homeschooling must be balanced agst interaction with other kids. i ahve a neighbour who homesch her elder daughter. she feels it is good but the only thing is social skills wlil be a bit lacking. but since u have a second kid, guess that can form some interaction as well.

i will try to read up more on zoophonics. my colleague does that as well i think.

SSF
yah i know what u mean. u will look forward to the day that hb comes back! is it possible that he doesn't travel so often?

durianlover
i guess if u bring Janelle out more often and she has the chance to interact etc that shd be fine. my motivation for bringing JH to class is to give him chance for interaction with kids.

as for teaching, i told hb i think i m doing a good job so far...haha.. :p

durianlover,

Nothing beats the personalised attention from mummy so if you are spending quality and quantity time with BB, it should be good enough.

For me, I am very uncreative and dunno what to do with Ryan, hence I attend these classes to learn how I can play with him. Else he will be very bored. Also, i like the idea of exposing him to other kids and hopefully he will be more sociable.

shall we share what are the activities we usually do with our babies? in this way, we can help each other to develop more ideas. and our ideas are tried and tested ones...

Just a little update. Sometimes when i suddenly turn to look at my gals, i realised they have grown up even more...

Megan loves adult food but i drag giving it to her now, except those with less oil, salt etc........ mostly th steam ones. She understands a lot of things now but still unable to articulate. She knows not to approach me when she wants to eat junk food cos my answer is always no. Hubby tried to test water and ask her to ask mummy to open the package of sweets, she don;t even want to approach me. She rather try the unfamilar faces rather than me! Ha Ha.

I also notice Ashley has grown up. She said she love me and i tease that i love her more and she said she love me more. I said i buy things for her and she said the same. When i ask her what she buy, she paused for a while and change her answer by saying she made things for me and dedicate all her artwork in church to me as presents. Ha Ha.

Hi SSF,

Phonics is quite common nowadays. During Ashley's playgroup under PAP, they teach phonics too. Now Ashley is in a Montessori school, they learn phonics too. And yes, i notice her pronuonciation is better these days but she has this habit of breaking the words and try to pronounce it which makes it wierd. My friend's 6 year old gal has the same problem. That doesn;t not stop me from letting her pick up phonics thou.

Krissie
Yes, I read about it on the net. Even relaxing essential oil such as lavender is not recommended. Maybe u can confirm with your gynae.

Tracy,
Haha, Mel can shake hands with Meg, also only come back in the circle when its bubble or musical instruments time...remember they private gathering they had at the corner =p

Is Meg feeling better? Mel is back to her usual active self yesterday.

**Pat Pat** at least you still get to see your dog at your mom's pl. Previously, we had to give our dog away when my nephew was born.

AK, mamachan, god's child, Sept03
Mel has 1 makeup lesson for positive babies too but Sat maybe too rush for us as its visit ILs day. Ill prob go on Sun as well. But I agree with Tracy that our gals are too active to want to sit thru the class now. Also, after a few lessons, seems like they just keep repeating the "content". Tracy/sleepingdeer, do you think so too?

SY
Actually my nephew learnt his phonics thru VCD and he can read most of the words on the menu when we go to a restaurant when he was barely 4 years old. And of course he doesn't understand the meaning of those words =p

Mamachan
Wow, your course sounds chim. I suppose is in the field of biotech? A hot sector to be in

ky - thks for the email addy!
i have sent and see if they reply.

SY- hee...JH is so funny. pooing in his dreams is it? haha..Caleb never poos in his sleep but i realise these days he tend to sob lei. is he having nightmare or do you think he played too much in the day?

hb will travel lesser only if he switch jobs. he has been planning to switch until his boss recently told him they are gg to promote him so he is waiting for the increment. one thg that keeps him staying is the increment lor. i must say his co quite generous with increment and also his commission. at one time, his commission is equaivalent to my pay and i was like "wat?! then why on earth am i working still? haha" then i demand him to pay for most of the bills. hee..

durianlover - i think its not compulsory to send kids to classes. many told me its a waste of money. even hb also thinks so. haha...but i thot it be a good chance to expose him to other babies and engage in some activities and above all get to meet up with forum babies. moreover its only trial so i dun mind trying out before deciding which one to register in the future. at least now, i know caleb is afraid of balls pool, dark tunnel, being under sheet and bubbles. i may want to expose him those that he is afraid. toying of the idea of getting a ball pool first. haha..

SSF
Same same. Charmaine when young and Aden simply too scare to go into the dark tunnel. Dunno why. Aden will scream, Charmaine simply will bypass.

Phonics
Me sending Charmaine to phonic class again. Will see what they teach there. I have the Phonics CDs but not sure if it is zoophonics. My nephew is attending the Zoophonics class at Bukit Timah Plaza. He was originally a Chinese speaking boy, now he will speak to us in English. Charmaine was shocked to react as she usually has to switch Channel with this cousin. Now she will always start off speaking to him in Mandarin then switch to English as it goes on.

ak/CL
last time when i called JG at evans, the lady told me that i can go for the trial if it happens that that particular class is not full and i can join in the class. you can try to call and ask again.

SSF
we bought a ball pool for dylan before last year's xmas and he loves to spend time in it more and more! but one thing to consider is the space taken by by it hahaha

hmm... been thinking of bringing dylan to classes too but the timing really held me back. since the classes is a weekly thingy and we need to go back malaysia to visit my in law on and off. sigh....

Florence
haha, theorectically speaking, yes, biotechnology and biomedical are "hot" sectors coz the past years the government have been shifting their attention on them by pumping in more revenue, etc etc. But really, in terms of career path, unless you are a masters or PhD holder, you won't go really that far. Coporately speaking, there's a hope of being a General Manager or some high-profile post that's sought after in the company. In this field, it would be having your own lab and having the grants to finance the projects that you want to do etc etc etc.

Durianlover - U r not alone! I started toying with the idea of enrichment classes for Cephas in Jan this yr. I was reading up a lot & even signed up for a trial class at Tumbletots but cancelled it as he was still sleeping when classes were abt to start.

However, we've made it a point to go to diff places during the wkends to expose him plus build confidence (pool, beach, Bird Park, Zoo, farms, etc). I guess they do learn whether they attend classes or not. So it's what you prefer at the end of the day
So no worries huh...

yuki
wow your description of ashley is so sweet! girls are really sweet...

Flo
hmm, maybe i shall get a phonics VCD and learn it myself! dun wan to let JH watch too much TV so the next best way is to watch it myself and learn..

SSF
what activities did u do with Caleb before sleeping? there was one night where i was playing too much with JH and he kept waking up in his sleep. maybe he played too much in the day and also depends on what he does just before bedtime.

i can see the dilemna of changing jobs for your hb. sometimes the pay factor is really quite a strong pull factor to stay. that's why i keep asking hb to switch jobs but his reasoning is to wait for me to switch first cos i earn less...

CL
which phonics class u sending Charmaine to?

ak,
i just plucked the nickname from the sky coz when i registered, i never tot i would be so involved in a forum. gee, i guess i shld change my nick, so that it's not so confusing! :p

durianlover
It's not compulsory to send them for "classes" nowadays. Personally for myself, it's a great way to bond with Daren on the weekends instead of just staying home and play ball games with him. It's also for me to pick up more ideas of activities which I can do with him at home too, now that I'm starting part-time in April. My mum now keeps urging me to bring him for such things so that he does not feel bored and cooped up at home.

SY
hmmmm, I brought Daren to ECP near the lagoon hawker centre for dinner on Sat. I brought him to the beach for a walk after dinner (still hv some light). He was intrigued by the feel of the sand under his feet and he just kept walking and pulling my hand with him towards the sea! He had no tots as yet to attempt to eat the sand, coz maybe we didn't stay long as it was getting dark.

SL
Thanks a million!... I really need the apt names for reference...So happy my mum is now joining us.. the more I wan to get a good location service apt.
I go check that out now..

SY - let me start the ball rolling...btw, last night i did all the following before bedtime.

1. reading of stories. Caleb likes the story of the 3 little pigs, a little lamb book that I got and also bob the builder. he will eagerly pull the flap frm each page to disclose the picture of each character.

2. using of the board to scribble and stamp those pads on it.

3. playing of lego blocks

4. balls...he gets all excited and sweaty with picking up, throwing and finding it.

rachel - how much did u paid for that pool of ball? is it easy to maintain? i plan to set it up in my new hm where there is bigger space.

chicken_little - ya i was like forcing him to go in and he will start wailing. sigh. ..zhimin and cheng's babies just gamely went in. was telling hb...my son ahh...make me lose face. haha...

SL
For Chervon Renaissance and Phoenix , do they have website for booking? or I have to send them email etc?
DO u have their website or something? cos I dun seems to find them thru Yahoo search.

SY
U add cereal to the pumkin soup as in... those baby cereal?

SSF
Ok thanks... keep me updated. having 15% discount is good!
Why wun u call off the trip? Sorry I wasn't following the thread.

cookie - may have to cancel as timing dun seem right. we may move to our new hse ard mid may and hb said we will be very busy during that period. also he travel like siao and i just started working...not sure if i can take leave. so we havent really finalise if we are gg or not. when is ur trip har? will let you know soon OK? ya its a good discount. hb got tat from starhub for signing up internet services during the IT show. was telling hb maybe its a sign from GOD that we shld go for it. haha...

SY
Personally I feel is not all bad for bb to watch VCD but of cos in a controlled manner. I'll normally sit beside Mel and watch with her and add in my own narration =p. Somehow I feel that she is willing/able to pick up faster from stuff she watched on VCD. Maybe cos its demonstrated" by kids rather than adults. She has this bumblebee vocab VCD and she'll imitate actions she sees in it. Now when I get home, Ill stretch out my arms and say give mommy a hug. She will run towards me with her arms wide open and hug me (juz like what is shown in the VCD). Shes now trying very hard to jump but of cos cant get her feet off the gound yethaha.

SSF/SY
Mel will cry in her sleep sometimes too, esp if Daddy or her cousin kor kor plays "catching" with her just before bedtime!

RE: activities

Art:
1.Crayons
Recently i got some non toxic washable crayons and let my girl play with drawing

2. Paper plate activities
I will also use small paper plates and draw, colour animal faces..esp. the animals she likes, and cut out eyes so that it becomes a mask... I can do a few and let her play and teach her to identify each animal, and the sound it makes. Also made a spider with wool dangly legs for itsy bitsy spider role play.

motor coordination
Scooping games
1.Use small balls, get a pack of shovels/ scoops and buckets. Scoop the balls from one bucket to another.

2. stacking games
stack blocks or lego blocks or just use empty tissue boxes (smaller ones.. can wrap up in colorful paper)

Music
1. bucket upside down can use as drum
2. bells... can tie to hair band and put around wrist (chicken little's idea i think), or can tie to small paper plate.. tamborine
3. shaker: put rice/ beans in a small airtight container (e.g. film roll container .. ky's idea, or paper cups... chicken little's idea) then decorate container

Flo,
yes i remember Mel & Meg's little gathering at the corner
Meg is still as active, only she sounds rather breathless. Not sure if its cos her nose is blocked and she's breathing thru her mouth.

I agree that the Positive Babies tend to repeat their lessons. I get bored myself too so can't blame our kids for wandering off. Activities like lying down are definitely no-no for our kids now. They cannot keep still.

The 3pm class on Sunday is still pending cos they can't get enuf ppl to start the class. They postponed it to 25th march.

SSF
i paid around $34 for the ball pool (inclubes 100 color balls)got a pump at $4 to fill it up with air. the brand is Intex and bought it from malaysia gaint. quite big, think the diameter is around 1.4m.

SY
dont worry about our babies eating sand. my dad brought dylan to play sand without me knowing it before hand, only when my dad brought him back from his usual evening walk and he told me. dylan was all excited and happy to touch and play sand for the first time =)although his hands were so dirty =p and of coz he did not eat the sand.

Flo
i agree with you to let bb watch VCD in a controlled manner, not just dump them infront of tv set and leave them there.

my brother recently bought a VCD on brainy baby, dylan enjoyed it very much. kept smiling and talked in his baby words. i sat down with him and add in my own narration too. surprisingly he can sit with me thoughout the whole VCD playtime!

Thanks, mummies for your consolations on my near accident. I've gotten over it.

Rena, I couldn't see the driver because he's on the other side but I saw his passenger friend talking animatedly.

Durianlover, don't need to worry about not sending J to classes. All babies will catch up with one another sooner or later. But it's fun to see them interacting with other babies.

Rachel, oh, so we are supposed to send our own photos of the litte ones taken during the bash? Sorry, I missed out on that bit...

Oh btw, have anyone heard anything about Republic Poly? I'm toying with the idea of doing part-time lecturing there but wondering what's the environment like since it's still new.

SL
thanks so much.. I found the website anyway.
and I manage to book a 2 bed room apartment. Yippie! now hope have the best flight time.

me planning to go hong kong in early april with my hb, gal, and mil. it's spring season. anyone can advise me what type of clothes to prepare for my gal? and what's good suggestion for the places and activities for the family and won't tire my gal and mil? me 1st time going to hong kong.

mamachan
maybe i wlil just let him try to walk on the sand. as long as he doesn't get his hands on the sand that is ok. JH likes to rub his face with his hands

SSF
u buy those big lego blocks? maybe i shd get some for JH

cookie
yup i add those baby cereal to thicken it. if u wan i have a lot of packets of nestle cereal which u can bring along. i can pass to u.

Flo
i m fine with a bit of TV for JH but not too much. cos i also dun wan maid to take the cue from us if i show him too many VCDs....so as far as possible, it is just one VCD per day.

tabby
sounds very interesting! my sis told me her fren got this mat that u can use water to draw pic. ever heard of it?

rachel,
the only thing i m worried abt sand is that it is dirty. my hb is hygiene freak so if i bring JH to beach and he falls sick, i m sure going to get scolding so do my 'homework' first.

sunny
heard that HK is very polluted now. u sure abt it?

re activities
hmm, mine is going to sound boring but here it goes...

reading: now we spend a lot of time in front of the bookshelf cos he is obsessed abt taking the books out. i will make him take one and then read, then put it back

cards: i have a stack of animal cards. will show him one by one. he likes lion best and always end up kissing lion

hide and seek: hee, i will hide under the blanket and ask him whether mommy is under the blanket. he loves it and while he is looking for me, i will ticklet him as well

shape sorter: i realise shape sorter can keep him occupied for quite long....he will open and put the shapes back (of cos not exactly put the right way) but i used that chance to train him to put things back

CL
Thanks for the explanantion. Now, I rem why I cant decide which one coz I think the teacher is impt, and since Adrian is at Forum, then we shld go Forum. Hmm.. but then, also like the outdoor environment of Evans.. oh gosh.. how to decide le? heehee.. let me see who's going where. Plus, I'll ask hb, see what he says, think he'll most prob say go for the teacher.

ak
thanks for the description of positive babies.

Flo
thanks.. good idea, shall ask my gynae the next time i see him re camomile tea. haha.. at least hv something to ask now. Is there a VCD on phonics. Where can I buy the bumblebee vocab VCD? Gerald's getting bored of his nursery rhymes VCD, so need to update the collection.

SY
I'm so impressed. You hv a bookshelf.

Re activities

Reading
I also try reading, but he doesnt seem to have the patience to sit down and listen to my reading. So sad..
I'll also use the leappad to let him hear songs, like the Pooh bear songs. He seems to like that as he will raise his hands in the sky for the "up/ down" song.

Flashcards
I'll show him flashcards of commonly used items, animals, fruits, vegs, etc. Tell him the names in both Eng and Mandarin.

Shapesorter / Stacking rings
Will let him practise both shapesorter / stacking rings.

Ball
Recently also started playing ball with him. Throwing the ball to him and letting him throw the ball back to us.

sunny

weather in hK in april can be cold sometimes.. must see what the weather is like.. usually starts warming up in april but if the winter season drags on a bit can be quite cool.. last year i went in april during easter.. still very cold...bundled up my girl in winter clothing.. cannot use cardigan only.

Places to go...
there is ocean park and disney land.. but if you are going during a holiday season esp. if china is having holiday.. these places can be really crowded. I think ocean park is nicer than disney cos more animals and things to do...

Shopping...
can go to the malls... but not so baby friendly except a few.. if you are confirmed going.. i ask my cousin which are the more baby friendly malls.

Mamapanda

i just got some finger paints from art friends.. i can bring.. this... i don't know where to get the clear sheet. I shall bring red, yellow and blue.. we can mix the paints for other colors..

I can also bring a cd of some songs that i had prepared for circle time during the last gathering at my place.

Flo,
Isaac is really struggling with the runny nose at night. He can't sleep well and I'm getting panda eyes cos of this... sigh. Brought him to a GP and he was prescribed Rhinathol. Hope it will help.
Isaac will also run to me to hug me when I squat and hold my arms out. So heartwarming right?

ky,
I think there was a feature on home schooling last week on the papers. The parents interviewed who teach their kids themselves seemed quite qualified, as in they either have experience teaching or has some diploma/degree in education. I know I would not be able to do home schooling, I doubt I have the patience, discipline or qualification to do so. True, there are lots of Pros to home schooling, but I also feel that home schooled kids will miss out on all the fun of being in school and the chance to make friends from all sorts of background.

valerie,
I have an ex-colleague who just quit to join Republic Poly (RP) as an teaching facilitator. He told me that RP adopts a very different educaiton approach. There is no lecturing system, but an interactive, project style classrrom system. Their so-called 'lecturers' do not lecture, but facilitates discussions and act as a guide for student projects. The facilitators may still prepare some basic notes to share with the students in a classroom setting. I also thought of doing part-time facilitating in RP... but maybe later.

SY,
I was afraid that watching too much TV is bad too... but I have to resort to switching on the VCDs dring mealtimes (twice a day) cos it's the only way Isaac will sit still to be fed. But nowadays, even VCDs cannot hold his attention for long liao. He would want to walk around. After maybe 10 mins into the show, he would want to get off his chair or sofa and wander around. Feeding him is a real challenge. But books, he still like them. Sometimes, he would bring the books to me to read to him. He loves those books that we can sing along and do hand actions and those books with rhymes.