(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Tracy - So sad to hear that Meg has to be neubulised... hope she recovers soon and get that load of medicine behind her!!! u take good care of your self too.. mabbie can get the doc to give u some muscle relaxants? the times when i had lower back ache, i just had to sleep like a mummy,stiff and straight to slowly overcome the 'sprain'.

AK - Nice meeting u in class today too! Ryan looks so cheerful and so guai.. u din even have to catch him back unlike someone's daughter... oops! talking bout myself...heehee

queen
yes. do email me.

as stated in previous posting (forgot how many weeks ago) i went through all those, the photos taken during the bash is abit messy and did not capture all the babies at nice angle. better to get clearer photos and do out a nicer momento.

Sunny
Re: Part time helper
I pay her $50 but most of the time she stays longer than 5 hours. I think she's only keen to work in Woodlands and Seng Kang area.

Queen, Tracy & Tabbiesus
Ya, Mel started with a mild cough on Thur, then runny nose on Fri and fever on Fri nite. Luckily her fever subsided on Sat. Queen, Isaac is having cough and runny nose too? Humm, maybe is the bug in Woodlands area. Hope Isaac cough/runny nose is not too serious.

Tracy
Sounds like is a muscle strain. Could it be that you've been carrying Megan more often lately as she's not feeling well?

MArch Hols PLay group
OK, seems like some prefer 15th, some prefer 13th, what about 14th? Pls vote for a preferred date.

Bt Panjang Playgroup (All are welcomed!)
Date: 13, 14 or 15th March (to be confirmed)
Venue: Mamapanda's place
Time: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Pls indicate response:
1. Mamapanda - prefer 13th or 14th, ok with 15th.
2. Durianlover - prefer 13th, ok with 14th or 15th
3. Rachel - Ok with any date
4. CassCL - Ok with any date
5. Tabbiesus
6. Chicken Little - Only available on 15 Mar
7. xjysg -
8. SL -

Suggested Activities
1. Baby gourmet (sharing of chicken & butternut squash recipe)
2. Circle Time (finger & foot painting, singing & dancing)
3. Bubble time
4. Mummies' lunch - takeaway pizza / KFC

Things to bring
Durianlover - beef pasta, bubble thingy, baby song CD
Rachel - home cook porridge bubble solution, cardboard
CassCL - home cooked porridge, plastic containers
Tabbiesus
Chicken Little - home cook porridge, non toxic paint, bells for songs
xjysg -
sl -

We're still short of the following items - Any volunteers?

1. non-toxic water based paint for the finger and foot printing (Is it ok to have 2 or 3 mummy bring this? I think the baby section of major department stores should have. Think I saw it in popular book store before also)
2. large plastic sheets (really large ones people use to cover floor when painting ceiling) for babies and mummies to sit on floor to do finger and foot printing so that we don't dirty the floor (Can be purchased from any hardware shop. We'll need at least 2 sheets)
3.more home cooked baby foods (Each mum only has to bring a larger portion of their baby's usual lunch will be enough)
4. bubble gun

ak/god's child/sept03bride
Yes. Daren enjoyed himself tremendously and I was gushing away the whole session to my hb. I prefer this to Kindermusic. AK, am thinking of signing up. I didn't stay long enough to enquire the price for the term. How much did you pay and for how many sessions?? I think 11.15am timing is great. So pai seh to arrive late though.

confirmed date
We'll have it on the thursday 15th since chickenlittle is available only on the 15th. SL and xjysg, are you ok with 15th? Any other mummies would like to join us? My place should have no problems accomodating up to 10 mummies and babies.

Date: 15th March (to be confirmed)

Pls indicate response:
5. Tabbiesus
7. xjysg -
8. SL -

Suggested Activities
3. Bubble time

Things to bring
CassCL - home cooked porridge, plastic containers, non-toxic paint
Tabbiesus
xjysg -
sl -

1. large plastic sheets (really large ones people use to cover floor when painting ceiling) for babies and mummies to sit on floor to do finger and foot printing so that we don't dirty the floor (Can be purchased from any hardware shop. We'll need at least 2 sheets)
2.more home cooked baby foods (Each mum only has to bring a larger portion of their baby's usual lunch will be enough)
3. bubble gun

Casscl,
Thanks. Just pick a few colours that you think is nice

Tabbi,
We still look forward to seeing you at the playgroup if you can make it.

Denmy : suitable veggies for babies
The last round u mentioned you were going to enquire about other suitable veggies other than baby spinach for babies. Did u manage to source any? I'm also not quite sure what other veggies are suitable. Some veggies are very strong tasting (eg, caixin, cabbage) and I think Ariene doesn't like them. Any recommendations?

mamapanda

If i can make it.. i can bring more food and bubble gun.. i got one...

Can the babies eat anything? Let me see what i can contribute to the recipes...

confirmed date
We'll have it on the thursday 15th since chickenlittle is available only on the 15th. SL and xjysg, are you ok with 15th? Any other mummies would like to join us? My place should have no problems accomodating up to 10 mummies and babies.

Pls indicate response:
5. Tabbiesus
7. xjysg -
8. SL -

Suggested Activities
3. Bubble time

Things to bring
Tabbiesus -home cooked baby food and bubble gun, bubble solution
xjysg -
sl -

1. large plastic sheets (really large ones people use to cover floor when painting ceiling) for babies and mummies to sit on floor to do finger and foot printing so that we don't dirty the floor (Can be purchased from any hardware shop. We'll need at least 2 sheets)
2.more home cooked baby foods (Each mum only has to bring a larger portion of their baby's usual lunch will be enough)
3. bubble gun

MamaPanda
Oh, just to kaypoh, instead of large plastic sheets, how bout using those bumper playmats? They are easy to clean. Am thinking of using that as a base when I attempt to experiment finger painting with Daren at home. Am sure some of the mums have bumper playmats. Maybe the night before they can drop them at your place so they don't have to lug baby and playmat over. Just a suggestion.

SSF and Zhimin
It was nice meeting you and family at the Gymboree trial - hope your babies had fun. I think Aidan enjoyed running around. I have not decided whether to sign him up yet though as this is only the 2nd one I tried so far. But I like the small class size of Gymboree.

Gymboree and other play schools
Mummies, for play and music sessions, besides Gymboree, do you have other places which u think are good? Perhaps I can also try out before deciding which class to sign up for.

mamachan
Of course we can use the bumper playmats but I thought of using plastic sheet because its cheap, light and disposable. If use bumper playmats, have to wash the mats after use cuz sure will get dirty, which can be quite a chore. Furthermore, its heavy.

oh btw, forgot to mention, those plastic sheet pple use to cover buffet tables also can. We'll just join 2-4 sheets together with masking tape can already. If nobody bringing that one, I'll just go downstairs to shop n save buy the plastic table cloths together with the takeaway kfc/pizza.

cheng/zhimin - nice meeting you too at the class. Aidan and Clarisse is so guai and enjoying the entire class. clapping their hands and walking ard. Caleb (sigh) still cries during class but at least better than the last tumbletots class. cried thru the 15 mins. at least he was enjoying the slide and ball this time. hee... i do have some snapshots of your babies. PM me and i will send it over ok?

thanks! My back is much better today with the painkillers and muscle relaxant and tiger balm patch. Love the patch. Its a muscle strain, no idea how i got it though. I couldn't even lift my left leg to wear my undies. :p had to enlist the help of hb...

RE:Dog
Sadly, I had to leave my dog at my mum's place starting fm today cos Meg has heavy breathing and sounds breathless. Hb felt my dog's fur will aggravate it. I will ask the PD on Wednesday whether my dog is affecting her. Cos Meg is allowed to be extremely close to my dog, like hug him, he licks her ears etc.

Sigh...really heartbreaking for me cos this dog really loves me alot. But at least its at my parents' place and he will get good care there and still get to see us once a week. Never tot I would ve to make such a decision.

Hi Mamapanda, I'm ok for 15 Mar.... I can bring bubble gun n some accessories for bubble session. I'll not join in the baby buffet and will come over after I'm done with lunch at home... coz I think there's not enough high-chairs around and I'd need to fetch #1 from school before I come over.

Pls indicate response:
5. Tabbiesus
7. xjysg - Not available on 13 Mar
8. SL -

Suggested Activities
3. Bubble time

Things to bring
Tabbiesus -home cooked baby food and bubble gun, bubble solution
xjysg - bubble gun and bubble accessories
sl -

3. bubble gun

Re : Bt Panjang Playgroup
If need more non-toxic paints, I can bring ... but they are huge bottles so I can probably only bring 2 colours ... CL, let me know coz I see that you are bringing?

Re : Positive Babies
I went for a trial and Keith loves it thoroughly. Anyone intends to sign up for Positive Tots? I think he's too mobile for some of Positive Babies and I'd rather wait for the more appropriate timing for Positive Tots. btw, anyone knows where to get the big balls that they use in the lesson? I've not seen those before

Re : homeschooling ... just wondering if anyone's toying with this idea?

.ky.

God's child
Yah, Ryan was quite happy. This is a better experience than at Gymboree where they just intro us the equipments and ask us to play ourselves for 15 min and then intro another equipment....so the class quite wild and Ryan too shy to attempt the equipments and some equipments other kids just use and use.
Celeste looks even prettier in person although....hmmmm....i wonder what she was doing under the sheets with the boys.....tssk tssk....

Mamachan,
I paid $201 for the trial and 8 lessons. So its $188 for 8 lessons? I like that the place looks clean too. At gymboree, when they took out the big sheet, it was so stained with saliva and other stains I didnt even want to touch it...yikes. Join me at the sat class? If can't make it, the alternative is sunday 1145.

Actually, while positive babies is for 8 mths to 15 mths, and our kids are already 14 mths, I feel that this is a better age for them cos they can understand better and are more curious to try. The younger kids in the class looks more lost and scared....

CL
thanks for keeping us updated on JG. hope they can start a class for us!

cookie
as i usually get my maid to prepare cereal for JH for lunch, this is what i usually give

cereal + fruits (can try kiwi, blueberries, strawberries etc)
cereal + pumpkin

australia shd have a good choice of fruits. i think egg is also a good idea. and can give tofu also as alternative.

another combi that went well with JH is

tofu + apricot (or any other fruit)

chicken is quite alright there as well. i also gave tofu + chicken before. just boil together can already

i gave JH quite a fair bit of bread when i was in australia cos the bread usually smells quite nice. and it's a good way to keep him busy with his own food!

recently i made pumpkin soup for him and will dip bread inside to feed him.

can keep me posted abt the playgroup for riverlife? do i need to be a church member to join?

tracy
meg has been sick for some time? hope she gets well soon! the weather is really bad nowadays....

mamapanda. demny
i also bought my PIS from FFY. i intend to bring it for servicing with them when i have number 2. intend to change the tubes and all the parts as well cos i think it looks quite worn out now....dunno whehter they will ahve the parts though.

flo
i will call them tmr. hopefully can squeeze in!!

denmy
wow you really very daring.it must be really frustrating to wait so long for a cab in the hot sun! esp with a big tummy. i admit that being preggy can make us do things that we won't normally do!

ak,
which trial did u go for? sounds quite fun.

i m still keen to sign JH up for classes but cannot decide which on to sign him up. thinking of doing phonics cos that's the only thing i can't teach him myself!

just to share something that i cooked for Jh and he enjoyed it.

he never liked pasta but today i asked maid to mince some chicken, carrot and onion and make into meatballs and boil with the pasta. he likes the combi. i used to use butter to pan fry the meatballs but i figured boiling together with the pasta will make the pasta nicer and true enough he din reject his pasta today.

oh yah, another thing that i read, dun boil your brocoli! steam it instead as boiling kills 60% of the antioxidants...

ak
Would love to join you and Ryan at the Sat class =) Will let you know tmr. My hb seems keen and dun mind signing him up.

ky
I'll be signing Daren up for Positive Babies 1st, then when the term ends, should be following on with Positive Tots. See how it goes. As for home school, I don't think I'm capable of handling home schooling myself. I pretty much enjoyed my schooling days so would like Daren to have that as well.

re playgroup
would love to join but dun think i can take leave this week...

anyone keen to start a weekend playgroup? but i m not sure what to do. the thing i can contribute is my books. i got a lot of bb books!

but i can only do sun cos sat is parents and in laws day....

ky
what is the reason that u wan to do homeschooling? i ever did think before but not sure whether i ahve the resources and perserverance....

SY
Maybe you can consider classes like positive babies/tots? I feel that our children will pick up phonics better at age 2 - 4. So don't have to worry too much. I remember that I had the Ladybird series where it was really simple reading and it's for phonics actually! I didn't realize that only till recently. Books like The Little Red Hen, etc etc. Now, they are more in tune to musical learning, like singing action songs that has key words for them to associate with. That's my personal feel...but am sure the other 2nd time mummies or those in education might have better advice bah.

mamachan,
to a certain extent i agree with u. hee, but i m using the phonics reason as an excuse to get my hb to agree to let JH sign up for classes!

i did go for the trial at positive babies. though i came back with glowing reviews, hb din wan to let JH sign up. so i m hoping to go for gymboree and convince him to let him sign up for something.

SY,

I went for the +ve babies trial and met the other mummies there. I liked it a lot n signed Ryan up for it.

ky,
The balls can be found at Toys r us. I was there today and saw it...think its real cheap at 2 plus and now they have buy one get one free. so tempted to buy but ryan's got lots of balls.

KY
U can get the ball at babies n cream. It's one of Mel's fav...other than the egg shaker...heehee

Chillies
X = Zhe zhe? Just saw his pic. He has grown so much, looks so different from the last time I met him at the tumbletot class.

ak/mamachan/god's child,
great to see you ak at the positive class on sat. Sorry i couldnt recognise you. Blur blur me..
Ryan is very well behaved hor, guai guai sit and listen.
I'm very tempted to sign up for the class leh, cos i think Caleb enjoyed the class very much. I am very surprised to see that he is not as withdrawn compared to the last time when we brought him for the tumbletots trial class.
Any special discounts if we all sign up together? heehee

The environment is good except that it gets pretty warm lor.

tracy,
must be a painful decision for u to leave ur dog at ur parent's place.
But sometimes i must say the dog's fur does make it worse. I'm asthmatic, so sometimes a dog's fur can cause me to have an asthma attack.

SY,
yes, meg has been sick for almost 2wks already..

ak, mamachan, god's child, Sept03,
Meg still has 2 makeup lessons for positive babies. So which class you gals signing up? Then i will book my makeup lessons together. Still waiting for Meg to be fully recovered first.

Not sure about your kids, but meg seems too active for positive babies already. She spends most of her time roaming around the classroom, only coming back in the circle when its bubbles time or muscial instruments time.

KY,
yes, as Flo says, the balls can be bought from Babiesncream itself. Meg also luvs the balls.

Sept03,
yes, heartbreaking for me to separate my dog, cos he's SUPER attached to me. i'm sure he'll miss me alot. Only wish there is such thing as a 'wang qing shui' (forget feelings water)...

Queen
Thanks for your advice... Yes please give me the name fo the apartment Thanks
, I will check if they have some good location in Gold Coast. I'm very keen to stay in Service apt too!
The one recommended by Celine has very good location but some of the days I wan is not available.
Now that my mum maybe coming with us.. the more I wanted a service apt.

The next choice will be another apt which is 300m from main shopping area... not that bad actually.
But as compared the one recommend by celine, it's in the heart of the shopping area and Supermart is just downstair!

SY
thanks for sharing the info...I will take down all.
How do you make pumkin soup?
ok if I have info on play group will let u know

Tracy
thanks, I managed to ask the Britax person at the taka fair that day and she has the seat cover. She's from infantree too. But, I didnt know that they were the distributor.

Re car seat cover.
She says it costs $100 - 130 for a new car seat cover. Hmm.. now thinking whether to get that or just buy a new car seat ($300+). Hb feels that it's more worth it to buy a new car seat. But, I was thinking that if we buy just the seat cover, can save $200? What do you all think ah?

cookie
When did he start giving you the vitamins? So, far, he only gv me folic acid. But, I've been taking my own fish oil and sometimes, calcium.

Denmy
If I'm not wrong, only those sold at Mums and Babes and TMC are considered from the distributor which Mamaslinky mentioned. Pumps from Mothercare, Robinsons, The first years, etc are considered as parallel import, so the distributor will not service it, coz since you didnt "buy" it from them. You know what I mean. Can also tell from the price? It's usually $700+ for the one from the distributor. You wld notice that the one from Robinsons, etc, sometimes go for much cheaper than this price. IF you really want to get a parallel import one, then can also consider ordering online, my collgeaue got it for S$400+, i think. But, of coz you hv to take the risk that there's no "warranty" per se.

Re: Medela Pump
If you have bot from firstfewyears and need to service it, you can bring it back to them and pay them about $30 to service it. my fren bot hers from them.

Tracy,

I will be going for the saturday 1115 class. If cannot, then I will make up on the sunday 1145 class.

Sept03,
I didnt recognise you, but I recognise Caleb. That handsome face is like a film star and when I saw him, I got quite excited and looking around for familiar faces. Yah, I thot Ryan quite guai that day, but maybe cos he don't know the rest. Celeste, Caleb and Daren like good ol pals and running after each other!

Sept03Bride
Yes, we'll be entitled to a 10% discount. If we call up and confirm sign up today, they'll extend the 10% to us. Original is $210 for 8 lessons. How you keen? I wanna sign Daren up too. god's child, what about you? Is Sat's timing too rush for you since you have lessons in the afternoon?

Specialist Diploma COurse
I'm finally enrolled for a part time course at NP. Starting in April, feeling abit nervous as it's been ages since I've been a student. Not sure if I can keep up and focus to study once again!

Mamapanda,

Thanks for the invite but I can't make it for the playgp as I am working.
Thanks for sharing the recipe as well.

cookie,
If you want somewhere centralised, you can try Chervon Renaissance. The location is really centralised. You get coles downstairs and the beach is just a few minutes walk. There are also many eateries downstairs which is really convenient. We often stayed there.

If not, Phoenix is another good choice cos it's near to eateries as well as the Pacific Fair which is the biggest shopping complex in Gold Coast area (in case you need to get diapers or need to find a supermarket). I can't remember whether it's coles or kmart over there. Pacific Fair has a great fruits store as well.

Julia Gabriel - Registration
No confirmation on timing, location etc. But will collate the registration form to be faxed to them first. Indicate your preference for the class too just in case they could not start a class for us.

http://www.juliagabriel.com/Registration%20form-EduPlay.pdf

Can fax to me at 63399184. My fax machine is just beside me so don't have to call me.

Digged out the previous list
Course fee is 10 lessons $477 plus, bookroom fee $10, registration $37 plus refundable deposit of $50

Re : JG
1) Chicken Little - Evans/Forum 9 am or 2 pm
2) Celine77 - evans/ sun 9am or 2pm
3) God's Child - forum sun 9am
4) SY - evans and forum/2pm
5) Sunny - evans / sat 9am
6) Tabbiesus -forum / 2pm
7) Tracy - forum / 2pm
8) MamaChan - Forum / Sun 9am or 2pm (tentative, need to discuss with hb 1st)
9) Flo - evans and forum/2pm
10)sept03bride-forum/9am
11) Cindy - evans/forum Sun 9am
12) Cookie - Evan/forum 9am or 2pm
13) Rena - Evan(sunday 2pm)/ Sat (forum)
14) krissie - to confirm timing.
15) SL - forum 9am or 2pm

tracy
poor meg. really heart pain when they are sick for so long. did u consider giving vit c?

cookie
i will cut pumpkin into a few cubes, boil with water then mash it up. will then add in some cereal to thicken it. so it looks like those ang moh soup. easy to make and pumpkin is nutritious!

ak,
maybe i will give positive tots a try when JH is older...

CL
so we fill in the form and fax to u? will do it tmr when i m back in office .on MC today.

share something funny. JH poos in his sleep! i heard funny noises at about 1+ and then i smelled something funny. it's the 2nd time he has pooed in his sleep....

ak,
Will prob go for Sunday classes. Saturday mornings are reserved for the part-time aunty to come clean up the house.

SY,
yes, she's still having phlegm when she coughs. But i think the phlegm is slowly coming out thru her nose. Her nose is full of real sticky stuff. Very difficult to remove.

mamachan - wow what course did you enroll yourself? how long is the course? i guess you must have thot it over and over again before deciding ya. hb at first also want to further his studies but then withdraw last min as he is afraid he is not able to commit and moreover another kid is on the way and he travels like siao. starting this week, he be away for 4 days ..back on fri thru weekend and will leave for another biz trip for 4 more days
i am so sianz mann!

tracy - hope megan gets well soon ya. know its diff to part with ur dog but think of megan as a priority lor. *pat pat* u can still visit ur dog after work if you miss him.

re: JG
i had a frd who enroll her daughter in the class and has very good review for it. she said her daughter starts to talk very animated and can pronounce words clearly and more open and talkative. she sees alot of difference in her after attending that class. but i dun think i want to enroll caleb first since hb's schedule is so messy. dun want to end up missing so many classes. will just stick to trial classes for now then. hee...is there anyone for JG?

cookie - i think i have a coupon on a 15% discount for the admission to one of the
3 worlds in gold coast and on top of that, you can get a t shirt for free. can purchase up to 2 adults 2 children. expiry is i think jun or jul 07. i can pass to you if we decided to call off our trip. let me know coz its be an added saving to your trip.

SSF
I enrolled in the Specialist Diploma in Molecular Biotech. It'll be part-time for one year. Since "gah-men" giving up to 80% subsidy as mentioned in Budget 2007, my hb highly encouraged me to go for it. Since I won't be pursuing a degree, so might as well do this before we plan for #2 next year as well as a possible port-folio change within NUS i.e. request to change to another faculty that's more 9-6 jobs with no field trips liaoz. Praise God for the subsidy.

toys warehouse sale. we went to one last sat and bought stuff. Pretty good stuff coz it's 20% off the displayed prices and prices are already less. Eg remote control car for $5.60. There's hello kitty (dollhouse, doctor kit) and some that's meant for younger babies... eg a similar like what Growing Fun has - a huge wooden cube with activities on the 4 sides + 1 on top.... that's going for $39. And wooden blocks, etc. No Fisher Price though.

Here's another one to tempt u :
blk 103 #05-11 Boon Keng Road (it's the JTC factory)
opens 10 - 7pm
Thinks it's until this weekend.

.ky.

wow indeed Praise GOD for the subsidy. ya i mean 80%, go for it mann! i think its a good time to continue with ur studies and take a break before no 2 pops out. once out, i dun think u can start on somethg like tat liao. hee....tats wat i told hb too...to forget abt his master but then i said dun end up blaming me and the kids in future. haha...

tracy
poor thing. but at least the phlegm is coming out. the worst thing is when the phlegm is stuck, they will take really long to recover.

mamachan
bravo! it is not easy to juggle everything but i guess must look long term. if u can cut down on field trips etc with this change, i think it is a good move.

SSF
i will sign JH up for JG cos the reviews have been good. now hopefully they can form a class for us! if u r afraid u can't handle cos hb is travelling, i can always give u a ride since we stay so near and help u out.

your hb travelling so many days? super sian...

ky - thks for the lobang. gee i am quite skeptical with these warehse sales or shld i say must definitely check those toys. The last time i chiong for the toys in Alexandra, i got a faulty kick and play piano by FP and i still do not know wat to do with it! i called the mattel service ctr and it dragged like for 3 mths and no one called me back then in jan this ang mo lady, Kate said they have ordered a new set for me and will call me on 3rd jan to pick up the new and for me to drop the old. and till today, kate's no is no longer in service and the stupid mattel hotline ....believe it...no one picks up the phone. anyone know if there is any alternative no to call? hb chided me for getting those buys thinking its cheap. haiz..shld have check it when i bought it.

CL,
I have previously faxed the enrolment form to JG already. But seat is not confirmed, on waiting list. I have specified my preference for classes at Evans road on Sunday 9am or 2pm. Hopefully they will open up classes at Evans on Sunday. Maybe you can let the IC know that I'm part of your list as well. So he can add up the figures and hopefully meet the numbers to open up a new class for us.