(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

cookie
O i c, for cod fish, true to the high level mercury content, but if keep it minimal like once a day and alternate days, should be alright. You can try to give her other types of fish too. Maybe can try asking if they have threadfin aka ngor he at the market when you're there. =) Does Kae like toasted bread or bread? Can let her have some bread as well. =)

cookie - ya u can buy potatoes from aussie supermarket. then mashed it adding egg, carrot, slice of cheese and even brocolli. I did it last weekend and it was tasty. then just bring a vaccum flask and u are ready to feed her at a go. u can also buy jar food and feed her during dinner times. i think its ok to feed adult food as long as its not salty or have lots of gravy. ui can feed kaelyn rice too and maybe boiled veg like cauliflowers or brocolli, carrots.

esh_mummy - caleb has taken japanese rice as early as 9 mths when we went to japan. basically i think its alright as long as its not too hard.

queen
forgot to mention, I've already transferred the money for the old navy socks (4 pairs) 2 days ago. I forgot to take down the reference number. Do kindly check =). Thanks once again!

Mamapanda,
Pigeon breast pads going at $8 per box so quite worth it to go get at Taka fair.

Cookie,
Meg has slight bronchitis. So appetite affected. She's purely on milk and bread for 2 wks already...but i can bet if you give her potato chips she will eat!

Re: Neubilize
Sigh...had to rent the neubilizer for 5days. Its not the rental tats costly. it's the med!! the consultation today burnt a $221 hole in my bank.

Juz neubilized her at 4.15pm during her nap. Thankfully she slept right thru even though the machine was even noisier than a breast pump. Gotta do it 8hrly so it's sleepless nights for next 5 days. Worrying part is whether MIL can handle the neubilzer on Monday and Tuesday. Otherwise i'll hve to fly from office-MIL-office on Mon & Tue afternoon..

Re: Seats for Preggy Women
I would say 50-50 for me. Sometimes have, some not. But majority who gave up their seats are surprisingly men and not the women. You would think that the women will empathize with you. I can still remember a teenage girl (looked abit havoc type) did give up her seat for me. So all is not lost for our next generation.

I face more problems getting seats on trains than buses. On buses, people more auto. I remembered a bus driver was so nice to wait till i sat down then he drove.

tracy
oh dear... you hang in there.

Re: Seats for Preggy Women
for me there is also once a bus driver waited for me to sit down then he start driving, very touched wor =)

once a young lady offer her seat to me on the train too. appreciate her kindness, although those student sitting next to her like dont seem to see me standing there.

our younger generation still got hope =p

tracy - thks for sharing the discount on the pigeon's breastpad and booster seat. i just asked my frd who works there to buy for me 2 boxes plus the safety 1st booster seat
so this weekend, i can dun need to squeeze with the crowd liao

Tracy
Oh dear...neubilize for 5 days? Wow...hope Megan recovers soon! Hope that Megan is a brave gal and not put up too much of a struggle. Daren when he was sick and had to be neubilized, he lost appetite for milk, but still ok with porridge.

Esh_Mummy,
Taka Fair is on till 25th March
Vouchers can be used, but no further discount for Taka card.

Rachel,SL

SSF,
No problems. Glad I could help out.

Tracy,
Oh dear! Hope that Megan gets well soon. Will pray for her quick recovery.

Mamapanda,
Can share your baby shepard pie's recipe pls? Sounds yummy! Too bad I can't make it for the playground.

Cookie,
If you are staying in svc apartments, should be able to use the pot there to cook porridge for kaelyn. When I was in Australia, I would alternate for charmaine, i.e. one day codfish then the next day would be chicken or pork. Baby spinach/broccoli, codfish, chicken, rice are easily available in coles. They even have the smaller packs for vegetables. On days when I know that we are going out early early then I will cook the stock one night early then just cook mee sua the next day. It's faster.

Mamachan, Sept03,
Her phlegm did not clear from last Tues, and since she always puke her med out, its not reaching her well. So best way is to neubilize.

Eh...she didn't struggle cos she's asleep. heehee. I only started neubilizing her when we reached home, not at the PD's. The nurse said dun need to strap the mask to her face when she's asleep. Just hold the mask close to her nose and let her breathe it in.

Thanks for your concern! I'm positive that she'll be well soon since it cost $221!!! Better be....

esh_mummy
taka fair till 25 march.

mamapanda
i recieved your pm on your address le. thanks. i am fine on either day, just let me know. hmm, but if its wednesday then chicklittle not able to join us.

your baby pasta recipe, baby shepard's pie (mashed potato & minced pork) or chicken & butternet squash delight all sound so yummy to me! only porridge and mee sua for dylan till now. boring right? think we can call for home delivery on KFC/pizza hut/mac, i am fine with either one =) then we share the cost.

finger and foot printing will be fun! i can provide some cardboard (those square size cardboard for maths flash cards) let me know if you need me to bring. i have a bottle of bubble solution, let me go find where i place it.

sl
thanks for your info =) then i will bring dylan along to try out the stroller at taka fair.

tracy
megan is a strong girl, she will recover in no time. sayang from aunty rachel.

Tracy
I hope Megan get well soon. Poor gal...

SL
I have another prob.. I'm not staying at Service apt, I wanted too but seems like booking flight alone on my own it difficult during the days I plan to go. My date is very limited only have 2 date to choose from due to my work but I'm dying for a trip before #2 comes along.
It's either the flight ticket price is too high or coming back no flight at all.
I'm still trying to work out whats best.
But tentatively I have enrol in a free and easy package with a travel agent on SQ flight.
The only thing is Hotel do not have a kitchen and cooking can be difficult.
I'm still thinking abt it..

Mamapanda;
I dont think i received your PM. Also don't mind pizza hut, KFC and then splitting the cost.

I'll be bringing some homecooked porridge stew..and yes, please share your recipes!

Chillies, Mamachan,
When I was preggers with Keenan, I can be very moody. Once I waited for a taxi in the hot sun, (plus I was rushing for time)for like nearly 20 mins. And then this woman came out of nowhere opp the road and b4 i knew it, along came a cab in her direction!!!! So I told myself that if the taxi did a U-turn onto my side of the road, I'll stop it. And it did. I was probably out of my mind or something cos I actually went to the middle of the road and spread out my arms. The cab actually made a little swerve to avoid me but I gave chase and bang it on its butt until it stopped. I demanded the woman to come out and claimed that the cab was mine as I've waited for 20 mins already...heehee... now by thinking abt it also pai seh...macam siao cha boh!!

casscl,
I'll PM u my address again. In case you didn't get it, my block is 528, just beside Greenridge shopping centre.

finger and feet painting
Can someone bring the non-toxic paint for our babies?

recipe
Which recipe you want me to share? The pasta recipe or the chicken butternuet squash recipe?

Baby shepard's pie
Its really simple.. it goes like this :

Ingredients:
1 med USA potato
1 portion minced beef or pork
1/8 med yellow onion (chopped finely)
1 small knob unsalted butter (I use Lurpak)
grated cheddar/parmesan cheese to taste (optional)
milk or water

Method:
Wash and skin the potato. Cook the potato until soft either by boiling it in water or cook on high in a microwave oven for about 1-2min (depending on your microwave power)in a bowl containing a small amount of water, covered.

Mash the potato, adding milk or water as you mash to achieve a nice, smooth consistency. If you want the mash potato soft and fluffy, add more milk/water. For a stifer consistency, add less milk/water. (Try not to add too much else the mash potato becomes watery and you will not be able to shape it)

In a mini saucepan, melt the butter under low/med heat. Sautee the onion until fragrant, soft and throughly cooked (it should look throughly transparent and babies don't like half cooked onions).

Stir in the minced beef/pork and sautee until the meat is just cooked (try not to overcook the beef or the texture will be hard and tough). Add in the mashed potato and mix throughly.

Add in the grated cheese. Remove from heat and stir to distribute the heat and melt the cheese.

When the cheese has melted, shape the mashed potato and meat mixture in baby's plate. You can use an ice-cream scoop to make nice round balls, or use your imagination and make some interesting figures. For me, how her food looks doesn't really bother her so I just make a little mountain with it to amuse myself. Maybe one of these days when she's older, I'll stick 2 florets of boiled broccoli at the sides for ears and 1 small stick of boiled baby carrot for mouth and draw a nice long smile on the potato to make a smiley clown for her.

For older kids, you can transfer the mashed potato and minced meat into a greased pyrex cup, shape the top into a nice round mount and bake in the oven at 160deg (moderate heat) for 10-15min, or until the top is alittle browned and crispy.

Denmy,

so funny, your account of you stopping the cab.

Anyway, any mummies know of any instruments that I can put monies in (something ike FD) but perhaps on a short term basis (i.e. 7 days, 2 weeks etc...) and has pretty good returns?

playgroup date
Chickenlittle cant make it for wednesday? How abt Tuesday 13th? Is everyone ok with Tuesday 13th? If not, we'll fix it on Thursday 15th.

PIS advanced
Just realised my PIS is really noisy. I thought it was my imagination but after listening to the demo set at taka fair, I realised my PIS is noisy. Gotta send it back to First Few Years for warranty claim. BTW, was told by the SIngapore Medela agent that they do not honor warranty claims of units purchased from 1st few years. 1st few years service their own Medela pumps. Denmy, if you're buying PIS, you may want to know this : Singapore Medela agent has express 1-2hrs same day servicing at their Toh Guan service centre. Those who did not buy their pumps from them have to pay $100 service fee. HEard 1st few years can take up to a week to service their pumps. Now, I don't know how I'm gonna send my pump in for warranty claim cuz I cant live without my pump! I can use my Medela Harmony for 1-2 pumps a day but 1 week.. I'll end up with engorged breasts again. Feel kinda cheated now cuz I got a PIS under warranty but I cant claim the warranty.

SL,
Will u be joining us for the playgroup on 13th or 15th?

wow denmy! that was really crazy.. I cant imagine u doing that.. haha.. sorry.. it looks comical in my imagination.. imagine a big tummy denmy with arms wide open in the middle of the road scolding the woman in the cab!

Mamapanda,
Wow your shepherd's pie sounds really yummy and fun! I must try it out! But Janelle doesn't seem to like potato and she can't really chew on meat yet (unless very finely minced), so not sure how she'll take to it...

RE: Playgroup
Haha, i totally forgot about our lunches! Too busy being excited about the babies' buffet that i didn't even think of our lunch. I'm fine with Pizza Hut / KFC and sharing costs. Any food's fine with me

I have the bubble thingy from Toys R Us. But it's the simple type, not the bubble gun. I can bring that. Will also bring a CD of some children's action songs so we can sing and play.

As for food, i'll prob bring beef pasta. I think each mummy need only cook for 1.5 or 2 babies' share of food. If not we'll prob end up with too much!

Denmy,
Hahaha you're so funny! U're really firm in getting what u want

As for spinach, you mean we can just consolidate orders and tell u then u'll order?? i thought only when u're intending to order then only we ride on ur order!

Val,
Indeed it was a close shave. Scary drivers around! But i like ur concluding statement abt how you don't care whether Kirsten is good baby or not - as long as she's there for u to love!

RE: playgroup date
Both 13 Mar or 15 Mar are ok with me. Actually 13 Mar may be better for me but we go with majority.

cookie,
Actually i think Australia is food paradise for kids leh!! All the fresh veggie and meat and exotic stuff (like butternut squash) that's so much more readily available as compared to S'pore! Am sure u'll hv no problem cooking for Kae

Tracy,

hang in there.. when elijah had to be nub at 3 month we really felt the pitch.. we borrowed the machine from sil and the medication coz a big bomb as he has to be nub for 2 weeks.. i remember that there was one month we spent 500 plus on his medication...

when megan is awake , when you happen to nub her.. the best is to lay her down and pat her back with cup hand for five times .. this is to losen the phelgm.. i think both mashy and myself have become the expert in this field coz our bb are allergy prone...

if using mask is too ma fan you and just use the tube but mak sure you direct the smoke to her nose...

Durianlover,
I dun mind getting spinach again. Shall I start..

re: Baby Spinach (collection @ Raffles Place or Marine Parade)
1. Denmy

Mamapanda,
When you make the sheperds pie for Ariene, do you blend it b4 you serve it to her? Won't the meat be a little too tough for her to swallow?

re: PIS
Hmmm... very sticky situation here. Do you think First Few Years actually bring in their own Medela pumps, thats why they can sell it really cheap at $499 instead of the controlled market price? Anyway, can I have the tel. no. of the distributing agent? Or would you know which are the distributor's official retail shops?

Cookie
Congrats! Good to hear the good news.

Val
Wow, what a close shave. Luckily both you and Kristen are safe and sound.

RE: Britax Royale
I got it during Robinson 20% sale, together with the card member 5% rebate I think I pay less than $372. Mel loves the seat, will sit there quietly and zzz off esp when shes tired.

Denmy
Wow, u really daringstop the cab with your big tummyheehee
RE: Cordblood
Just being kaypoh also, if Ive #2, Ill still bank the cordblood but with another blood bank. Mels is with stemcord. This is to spread the risk in case the cordblood got contaminated or blood bank storage facility has problem.

SY
I think u can try calling for the gymboree class cos the quota is only for free trial. Hope you and JH can join us in the class

Krissie
I read before is not advisable to drink camomile tea when preg cos it relaxes the womb.

Mong
Let me know when you wanna collect your goodie bag. I stay near vista point.

Tracy
Oh poor Megan, hope she gets well soon. Mel is also down with flu and cough.

Ak
U have 3-month holding period? If yes maybe u can consider Sing Gov T-bills, now paying about 2.8% p.a.

Rena,
Thanks for the advice! My Meg can actually hug the neubilizer while sleeping...haha.

Flo,
Hope Mel gets well soon too! You got a good buy for the Britax Royale! I like the fact that this is a 6-point harness seat and it has a hood to shelter the sunrays.

Re: Upper Back Ache
Been a long time since I'm up at 2am...Had this sudden sharp pain in my upper back since yesterday morning when i woke up. The pain worsened last evening especially when i try to get up from sitting on floor position. Its a shooting pain that makes me cry out in pain. Even had difficulty lying down on bed and changing positions in bed.

I'm awake now cos suddenly I experienced hot sensations around the pain area and the backache just suddenly got better. I only took one Panadol Extra before I slept.

Anyone had such experience before?? I'm gonna consult the doc later, but i tink doc will say i've sprained my back muscle n i doubt they can prescribe anything for it.

Worse of all, last evening my hb had to go work and i had to look after Meg. My goodness! The pain was almost unbearable cos i had to carry her when she climbed onto the sofa, i couldn't run after her etc..

tracy

did i disturb you with my call yest?... forgot that your meg was sick... Hope both of you get well..

Flo
Mel is sick too? oh dear...

get well soon sick babies!!

Tabbie
no lah, not at all. Thank you sooooo much for looking into my mum's case. Really appreciate it very much! Thank u thank u.

Good morning mummies,
So sad, I have to work today.

My new job requries me to put in 1 half Sat a month. Sian.

Denmy,
Wow... you are 1 determined woman! I can just imagine the scene.. the cab driver and the passenger must be shocked! Did the woman get off the cab?

Tracy,
Oh dear, hope Meg recovers soon. Your back muscles could be sprained or taut. I remembered there was once during my 3rd trimester, I had sharp chest pains. Went to the doc and did an ECG, nothing wrong with the heart. The doc said mostly likely heartburn or muscles strain. Quite bad, the pain lasted 4 to 5 days. He prescribed some muscle relaxation medicine and the pain went off eventually.

Cookie,
I strongly suggest that you take a service apartment. With Kaelyn, it makes things a lot easier. Other than the fact that you can cook proper meals for Kaelyn and fix a quick breakfast for yourself and HB everyday, there are washing machine & dryer to wash clothes in case Kaelyn soiled her clothes. And if you are going for a long trip, you can bring lesser clothes and do laundry midway through your trip. Will lighten your luggage load. You may want to check with the agent whether a service apartment can be arranged for you. Can just take a studio apartment, cost is quite economical. I have stayed in 2 service apartments in Melbourne before, both are pretty good. If you want I can give you the name of the apartments.

Flo,
Mel is down too? Isaac seemd to have slight runny nose and cough last night as well. Isaac and Mel always fall sick at the same time... must be due to some Woodlands bug?

Durianloer
No, I don't blend it. Ariene's ok with the minced meat, except when it contains the hard ligaments sometimes. She'll eat everything and slowly push out the hard minced ligaments with the tip of her tongue.

Denmy,
Yes, FFY parallel imports their own MEdela pumps. That's y Medela Singapore does not honor warranty of pumps purchased from FFY.

Borrowing/rental of PIS
Now, I'm in a fix. After listening to the showroom model of the PIS advanced at taka fair yday, I realised I need to send my PIS advanced into FFY for warranty claim cuz my unit it too noisy. COuld be some loose parts somewhere. But, I heard FFY will take a few working days. Meanwhile, I was hoping if I can borrow some mummy's PIS for a few days? I can pay u a nominal sum for rental of the pump for the few days? I think they'll take about a week, or at most 2 weeks..

1. Denmy
2. Mamapanda

MArch Hols PLay group
OK, seems like some prefer 15th, some prefer 13th, what about 14th? Pls vote for a preferred date.

Bt Panjang Playgroup (All are welcomed!)
Date: 13, 14 or 15th March (to be confirmed)
Venue: Mamapanda's place
Time: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Pls indicate response:
1. Mamapanda - prefer 13th or 14th, ok with 15th.
2. Durianlover - prefer 13th, ok with 14th or 15th
3. Rachel -
4. CassCL -
5. Tabbiesus
6. Chicken Little -
7. xjysg -
8. SL -

Suggested Activities
1. Baby gourmet (sharing of chicken & butternut squash recipe)
2. Circle Time (finger & foot painting, singing & dancing)
3. Bubble time
4. Mummies' lunch - takeaway pizza / KFC

Things to bring
Durianlover - beef pasta, bubble thingy, baby song CD
Rachel - bubble solution, cardboard
CassCL - home cooked porridge
Tabbiesus
Chicken Little -
xjysg -
sl -

We're still short of the following items - Any volunteers?

1. non-toxic water based paint for the finger and foot printing (Is it ok to have 2 or 3 mummy bring this? I think the baby section of major department stores should have. Think I saw it in popular book store before also)
2. large plastic sheets (really large ones people use to cover floor when painting ceiling) for babies and mummies to sit on floor to do finger and foot printing so that we don't dirty the floor (Can be purchased from any hardware shop. We'll need at least 2 sheets)
3.more home cooked baby foods (Each mum only has to bring a larger portion of their baby's usual lunch will be enough)
4. bubble gun
5. baby food container to pack food home for our darlings in case of left overs

Borrowing PIS pump unit,
Forgot to mention that I only need to borrow the pump unit, so I won't dirty or contaminate your pump as I have my own tubings, funnel, valves and bottles. I've PMd some of you in case you missed the posting as I'm really desperate to borrow a pump unit. Sorry for the intrusion.

Tracy
Oh dear. Must have hurt alot to feel that. Was it an old injury from before? If not, then maybe can consider acupressure massage. If it's an old injury, can try acupuncture. I had a lower back injury some years back at the tail bone area, hurt like crazy! Can't even sit for long on the chair, and worst of all, couldn't do what I needed to do for a performance back then. Bo bian, ended up going for acupunture and it really relieved the pain a whole lot. But I had to do 2 sessions of it and eat the yucky tasting chinese medicine.

Taka Baby Fair
Went last night after dinner with Daren. Wow! Super crowded! I got a FP Xylophone/piano toy which I've been looking for awhile and a VegeTales interactive cloth book. Daren recognized the two main characters of the book and kept touching it.

Tracy,
How's meg now? Its really tiring and stress when our darling is sick. Take care!

Denmy,
I was laughing away after reading. Can imagine u doing that!

AK,
I put 3 months in bank. Its time deposit. Interest in better. I think now interest not as good though but better than leave in savings. Its ard 2.6% for 3 months. DBS has 3,6 or 12 months. Citibank also has it but more flexible. If u put 6mths, 1 mth cannot touch but after that u can withdraw money out if u need and let the rest, earning the time deposit interest with no penalty. Must be fresh funds but DBS no need.

tracy,
Your back pain sounds bad. Do take care of both yourself and Meg!

RE: Britax Royale
Janelle also uses this model and she loves it. It's very comfy so she tends to fall asleep in it

Thanks for the advice, I was looking at even shorter terms than 3 months. Reason being that we may make some investments and hence need funds at short notice, yet dun want to leave it idle in case we havent made that invt decision.

Mamachan, Sept 03 bride, God's child,
so nice to see u gals in class today. did anyone sign up? I did cos I thot this is better than gymboree and Ryan has a good time. My only concern is that it is his regular nap time, so today he is a bit off as he napped when we reached home at 1230, had lunch at 130 and didnt take his afternoon nap....

Mamapanda;
I'll bring some small plastic containers for packing food.

MArch Hols PLay group
OK, seems like some prefer 15th, some prefer 13th, what about 14th? Pls vote for a preferred date.

Pls indicate response:
3. Rachel -
4. CassCL - Ok with any date
5. Tabbiesus
6. Chicken Little -
7. xjysg -
8. SL -

Suggested Activities
3. Bubble time

Things to bring
Rachel - bubble solution, cardboard
CassCL - home cooked porridge, plastic containers
Tabbiesus
Chicken Little -
xjysg -
sl -

MArch Hols PLay group

Pls indicate response:
3. Rachel - Ok with any date
4. CassCL - Ok with any date
5. Tabbiesus
6. Chicken Little -
7. xjysg -
8. SL -

Suggested Activities
3. Bubble time

Things to bring
Rachel - home cook porridge bubble solution, cardboard
CassCL - home cooked porridge, plastic containers
Tabbiesus
Chicken Little -
xjysg -
sl -

We're still short of the following items - Any volunteers?

1. non-toxic water based paint for the finger and foot printing (Is it ok to have 2 or 3 mummy bring this? I think the baby section of major department stores should have. Think I saw it in popular book store before also)
2. large plastic sheets (really large ones people use to cover floor when painting ceiling) for babies and mummies to sit on floor to do finger and foot printing so that we don't dirty the floor (Can be purchased from any hardware shop. We'll need at least 2 sheets)
3.more home cooked baby foods (Each mum only has to bring a larger portion of their baby's usual lunch will be enough)
4. bubble gun

May
recieved your darling's photo =)

Denmy
you power ah! that's the power of mummy hahaha

tracy
i on and off will have upper back ache too, its whenever i sit in a bad position for sometime or i bended forward while sitting, straining my back. your back better now? beside seeing a doctor, do try to have more bed rest. believe your hb can handle megan alone. leave her to him and rest more, if not it might get worse. take care. hope megan will get well soon.

Queen,
No lor.. the cab driver didn't take me instead, He must be thinking 'this woman xiao one. I'll endanger my own life if i take her instead...' He asked me to go away from his taxi...

Anyone else? We'll close this BP at the end of the week (16th Mar, Friday) for collection on Tuesday, 20 Mar.

1. Denmy
2. Mamapanda
3. MamaChan - pickup at Raffles Place
4. durianlover