(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

denmy
medela mini and PIS are using the same funnel.
i only use PIS and no other brands, so, can't give you others. lots of my friends and colleagues using avent manual, all have good comments.

CL
same here! haha.... i am still thinking wanna go down or not since nothing i can think of now that i wanna buy.

Since it is 15 Mar. I want to join. Me not a good cook but will like to learn from Mamapanda. Can task me with other stuff. I can get the materials like the hair band and bells to prepare for the next class.

RE: Bt Panjang Playgroup (All are welcomed!)
Change date to 15 Mar instead of 12 Mar as Tabbie can't make it on 12 Mar.
Date: 15 March (Thurs)
Venue: Mamapanda's place
Time: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Pls indicate response:
1. Mamapanda - Ok
2. Durianlover - Ok
3. Rachel
4. CassCL
5. Tabbiesus
6. Chicken Little -ok

Suggested Activities
1. Baby gourmet [sharing of baby recipes)
2. Circle Time
3. Bubble time

Tracy- thks for your help. Ya i like the one you mentioned. very compact but too bad not at the fair. I think i will get the 39.90. Do you know if stocks are limited?

Cookie,
Congrats on both the test results!
1 boy 1 girl, just nice!
By the way, how did you ILs react to your pregnancy and that you are expecting a boy?
As for Qantas, I took it to London with Isaac. I thought the service was bad in general. But I think if you travel at night, it's not so bad. Cos You and Kaelyn will probably be knocked out almost throughout the flight. And Sydney is only 8 to 9 hours away.

Denmy,
Were you expressing BM for Ethan / Keenan? Which pump were you using? Can't help you on whether PIS or Avent Duo is good cos I've been using 2 Avent ISIS manual pumps at work. Serves me very well... during my peak, I can get 200 - 230ml per pump. And letdown can be achieved within 1-2 mins. Plus the manual pumps are so portable, light and cheap! But i'm thinking for my #2, I'll might want to try using the PIS or Avent Duo cos I find that towards the last few months when I cut down on pumping and MS dropped, I took a much longer time to achieve letdown. Because of this, using the manual pump can be tiring at times.

Re. #2 - confirmed ones are boys so far!
HBs in our thread have male sperms that are strong and swim very fast. Haha...
I was telling my HB about this and tell him we must PLAN and try for a girl. 1 boy, 1 girl, and if want to go for #3, any gender also can.

Gymboree Free Trial Class at Tanglin (from GAIA Product) Confirmed.
Remember to bring your free coupon along
18 Mar , Sunday 11.20 am
1) Celine 77
2) Mamachan
3) Flo
4) Tabbi (I will bring for you as they are with me)
5) Chicken Little

Oops, they cannot squeeze the 2 of you in liao. There is a quota to number of trial in each class. You want 11 Mar ?
6) Cookie ( aiyo must go dig the coupon)
7) SY

Pls indicate response:
1. Mamapanda - Ok
2. Durianlover - Ok
3. Rachel - Ok
4. CassCL
5. Tabbiesus
6. Chicken Little -ok

Suggested Activities
2. Circle Time
3. Bubble time

mamapanda
can pm me your address? i am a lousy cooker to dylan, a boring one too. so really want to learn more from you!! i will still bring his usual boring porridge over to feed him. anything i can help out??

cookie
congrats!!!!! very happy for you =)

krisse
congrats to you too! take care!

re: taka baby fair
am planning to get a new stroller, light weight too. any model i should look out for? clueless on stroller...

Thanks all for your well wishes once again

Re: Breast pump
I used Ameda and Avent manuel... I'm probably with more problematic breast.. cos for both I use, it's sore and bleed (once).
Hopefully this round, I can do better with breastfeed.
I wanna give Avent manual pump another try too.

Re: Holiday trip
I cannot understand... Mid April there are no public holidays, not school holidays but somehow flights are fully booked!!!
Quatas.. flight gng available but coming back fully booked *faintzzz*

Sorry need to Fa lau sao here...

CL
thanks for arranging tho it din work out for me

I will arrange to go on my own.

Re: Change in the porridge - "nua"ness
Just wanna check.. now that our baby is older, did you all cook the porridge the same or less nua?
My MIL keep saying must let K eat not so nua one else she dunno how to chew in future..
I check the porridge last nite..I find it's rather coarse as it.. it's no long nua like porridge, I can still see the porridge in "rice form".
Probably not as hard as rice... should be softer except it's not like porridge.

Just wondering is your porridge to bb now also like this?

RE: GainIQ - heaty for toddler
HI Any toddler drinking GainIQ and is heaty??

MIL inform me.. K has hard poopoo must be GainIQ but she is on it for 2nd tin already.
MIL brew barley for K and she drink lotsa water.
I suggest MIL to givemore veggie and fruit, tho she claim she did but I believe not regular.

Just wanna survey abit.

Cookie
It is not a holiday here. But probably the school term starts in Aussie ? If I never remember the dates wrongly, my sis usually comes back during that time when she was studying in aussie.

Porridge
I give less nua now. If too watery, Aden dun like. There will be a time they prefer to chew. Aden oso on GAIN IQ still has soft poo.

Gymboree
Maybe Cookie and SY can call separate. Thinking they might not allow me to put so many names at a go. You call separately and try lah

Lunch at Cityhall on Friday
Tomorrow you mean ? I am fine if you want to meet ? Can ask Queen and SL too. If any mummies from RP wants to travel to cityhall can come too hee hee

Denmy;
My EDD is 14th Aug.

I think my tummy is quite big now compared to 1st pregnancy, but no one give up seat to me on the bus/mrt yet leh.

Pls indicate response:
1. Mamapanda - Ok
2. Durianlover - Ok
3. Rachel
4. CassCL - ok
5. Tabbiesus
6. Chicken Little -ok

Suggested Activities
2. Circle Time
3. Bubble time

I'll make my mum's beef stew-ish porridge for babies and mummies to try. Any babies/mummies don't eat beef?

Drats, copied wrongly and missed out Rachel's respond.

Pls indicate response:
1. Mamapanda - Ok
2. Durianlover - Ok
3. Rachel - Ok
4. CassCL - Ok
5. Tabbiesus
6. Chicken Little -ok

Suggested Activities
2. Circle Time
3. Bubble time

Cookie,
Congrats! Congrats! Happy to hear ur test results are ok. So nice to have a hao-zi. I am sure ur inlaws are over the moon.

I dun find GainIQ heaty for E. He poos regularly. If u want, can ask ur mil to dilute the milk & monitor for a few more days.

tabbiesus,
Oh so sad u can't make it for playgroup. No pressure! 15 Mar is better too since CL can make it. And anyway i may hv a mtg on 12 Mar so we'll stick with 15 Mar for now

CassRL,
Hmm i've had bad experiences when i was preggie too...no one gave up seats to me even when i was in 3rd trimester with a huge tummy. In my whole pregnancy, the number of pple who gave up seats to me can be counted with 1 hand!
How are you gonna come to Mamapanda's house for the playgroup? Can u manage??

cookie,
When my girl was on GainIQ for a while, she continued to poo regularly leh. Just that poo turned green n smelly. So don't think it's heaty bah?

cookie
dylan was on GainIQ since he hit 1YO, his poo was soft. but recently his poo turned hard for the past 1 week plus . not sure what cause this too, bcoz his diet is still the same and drinks lots of water. hmmm...

Tracy,
Yes, I was there also! Maybe I was away somewhere in the fair looking for clothings. Anyway bought 2 ELLE Dress for Jamie since it is only $9.

Cookie,
CONGRATS!! So happy for you.

RE: MRT
Can't stand the pple nowadays. I was carrying Jamie as she doesn't want to sit on pram. my mum is carrying the diaper bag and pushing the pram. NO ONE stand up to offer seats to us. We stand all the way from Orchard back to Boon Lay !!

Krissie, congrats!

cookie, congrats on your boy! Perhaps your MIL will treat you differently now?

re: GainIQ
Kirsten's poo poo alternates between hard and soft, depending on what she eats, so I don't think GainIQ causes hard poo.

Mummies, just want to vent my anger here after a near-accident (or perhaps near-death?) experience.

This afternoon, I was driving to Tanglin Mall for kindermusik and Kirsten was strapped behind the driver's seat. I just drove to a T-junction near my place at a slow speed and the light was in my favour way before I near it. Traffic there is normally quite light so there wasn't any cars in front me. I was about to make a right turn and was already 1/4 into the junction. Suddenly, a lorry just sped by, travelling at ~80km/h, according to my judgement. He just completely bo chap the red light, which no driver could have missed from 50m away unless he's blind or looking at the dashboard as he drives or talking to his passenger friend. And it's not like the light just turned red, it's been red for quite some time, as I can tell from the no. of cars stopping at the junction in the other direction of him. I was so shaken, I didn't do anything other than jam braking and keep checking that the light is indeed green for my direction. Had I reached the junction 1sec earlier, I wouldn't be here typing this post. AND I can't imagine what will happen to Kirsten if the lorry is to slam into her door. I should have taken the license plate no. and lodge a complaint, but I didn't in my state of shock. I still haven't gotten over it but I really really Thank God for keeping us safe and sound.

After this incident, I realize that I don't mind the fussy eater and light sleeper in my baby anymore. Nor do I care whether she's slow or difficult in certain areas or not. All I care is she is safe and healthy and she is there for me to attend to whenever she needs me. Praise the Lord!

Oh no val,

scary hor.. wah piang .. what was the reaction of the lorry driver? hm.. it hink you are too shock to look too!

RE: #2

yah mamachan of course i dun mind if it is a boy or girl but i was hoping for a girl the next round so if i have #3 either gender is ok.. if next one is boy .. i worried will be like denmy haha .. hee hee..

Queen,
I was using 2 Avent Manual and a Medela mini electric for Keenan. By comparison, of course the Avent is much comfortable becos of the petal cushion. That's why I am more swayed towards the Avent and am actually consdering getting the IQ Duo. But it's the price of the pump that's making me think twice. That's why I'm getting opinion here from the mummies. But so far no one has used the Avent IQ Duo here...hmmmm

Cookie and SY,
Since you are living in the East, why dun you do the Gymboree trial together at Parkway Centre?

Cass, Durianlover,
Tell me abt it mate! No one has given up his/her seat to me or even Ethan when we get on a bus!! And they were in the Priority Seats!!! One couple even snatched a priority seat from Ethan. And I realised after a while that they are from China. What to do? These foreigners probably haven't been taught abt these seats in their home country, I guess. Cannot blame them...

Cookie,
Have you thought abt the future childcare arrangement with your MIL when #2 comes a long? Will she be able to cope?

Val,
OMG!! What an idiot the bloody driver was! Lucky both of you are ok. It's so true what you said... as long as our bbs are safe and healthy, that's what matters the most.

Rena,
Don't talk behind my back har!!!!

Denmy,

never mind lar.. haha i am talking in front of you.. ho ho..

my hb loves girls leh.. he say die die also want to have 1 girl then if 3 also boys then i die flat man!

Preggy Mums
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB's Name </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>20/8/07</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD>8/8/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbiesus</TD><TD>11/7/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Thaddeus Jay </TD></TR><TR><TD>esther</TD><TD>5/7/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Leroy </TD></TR><TR><TD>cindy</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>11/5/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Declan </TD></TR><TR><TD>cass</TD><TD>14/8/07</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>krissie</TD><TD>12/10/07</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Rena,
Then go for #4, or #5 even, if you have to...hahaha... I'm gonna give myself one more chance to have a gal in 2 years time.

Another poll
mummies who are preggers and had banked their 1st bb's cordblood,
Are you gonna do the same for #2?

Yes

No

denmy,

wow.. i cannot lah.. later i 4 also boys like my grandmom that i really become pig man..plus too many boys i cannot control ..sure let them bully ..

I just saw this in another thread that

there's a Moving Out sale at Mothercare @ the suntec branch. Discounts up to 70%. Till early Apr.

RE: carseat britax
robinsons having 20% off including britax.. maybe can check out there...

Denmy
I didn't bank Tabby's blood first round... dunno if i should bank thaddy's blood this time round.. haven't decided yet...not so keen to bank leh...but feel a lot of peer pressure to do so.

Valerie,
Good thing you and Kristen are fine.

Denmy
I did not bank Charmaine's cord blood for the first round but I did for Aden. If I were to have no. 3 I will still do it.

Tabbiesus
The 20% for robinsons just ended after CNY. Is it still on again ?

cookie
i tell my maid to cook the porridge less nua now. want JH to start chewing.

CL
thanks for checking it out. since it's full then never mind.

denmy
the parkway branch can't really do sun and i m only free on sun.....

valerie
thank God u and kirsten are safe!! there are always a lot of stupid drivers out there like this...

a few years ago i was also involved in an accident. caused the whole car to be scrapped cos it couldn't be salvaged.

CL, cookie
what time are u guys meeting for lunch? I will try to see whether my meeting ends earlier and i join in. need a break from work.

Cityhall Lunch
I think cookie's lunch starts from 11.45 and she will come from Concourse. Likely to be 12 then she will have to move on by 12.25 to catch the feeder bus back to office liao. If you want to come by, I am fine to stay longer with you.

SL,Queen interested to join ? Anyone else ? SAHM bringing babies out to play today can come by too.

Thanks all for the Poopoo experience.. heehee sorry for being gross here.
ytd k poo poo is ok liao.. I think the diet plays a important part. cos MIL say she feed barley water and also papaya.

Valerie
What an idiot driver!!! Thank God everything is ok.
Last nite.. I was crossing the perdestian crossing when suddenly a white subaru speed across right in front of me.. I was very shocked too.
Some driver these days just dun care abt traffic rules and most of all safety of others.

Demny
The free trial voucher we have is only for Tanglin branch.

Regarding Child care... I was thinking of placing K in full day child care so MIL can take care of #2.
But I'm very keen to enrol K into my church's play group which according to my friend suppose to be quiet good in Paris ris area however the play gp is only for 3 hrs.
I may place K there for 3 hrs to play and learn and be home rest of the time.
If it's a half day class, I also consider getting a maid but both HB and MIL dun like the idea.
SO nothing is confirmed but I may start to check out the child care in my area.

As for the cord blood banking... I did it for Kae, for #2 I'm thinking not to if I can donate to the KKH cord blood banking I wun do so.. but since I delivery in Mt A I dun think they come to collect.
My HB seems want to bank for #2 too... so again not confirmed.

Valerie - oh golly... i was so stunned when i read our post!!! indeed there are MANY inconsiderate drivers out there on the roads nowadays!!! my HB always complain tat people nowadyas drive with no brains...argh... thank god for his covering upon u and kirsten

Re : Cord blood banking
heehee...kaypoh me add comment though im not preggers hahahahha i banked the blood for celeste and also will bank it for the second one in future... just being kiasu :p

SSF
I drank warm milk during my last preg every nite before slp and I gained 20kg. So, hoping to put on less this round. Will try drinking camomile tea instead if I cant slp. But, thanks for the suggestion.

Flo, Zhimin, cookie, mashy, rachel, valarie
thanks for the wishes.

Mummies using the Britax carseat, which model do you recommend? We're thinking of getting one coz the existing one which we have is a hand me down and the cover is spoilt. OR anyone knows where I can get the Britax seat cover or call the BRitax distributor.

Cookie,
I didnt bring Ger for my trip on Quantas, but I was sitting next to a family with a v young baby. Looks ok. They didnt have bb food, etc or a baby package so I cant tell. But, I think that if hb is going with you, shld be fine. Rem to ask for a bassinet seat (even though you're not using the bassinet - more leg room). But, if you're going alone, I prefer SQ, crew is more helpful.
Re GainIQ
Ger's taking that. and it's not heaty. He poos everyday. and it's soft. I think fruits and yogurt helps. coz he'll take either one everyday.

Rachel
I'm using a combi. very light at 3.2kg. I cant rem what's the model. But, combi has qt a lot of light prams, so does Aprica (more exp la).

Valarie
Wow.. so scary.. ya, there are many dangerous drivers ard. but, I hate those that beat red lights and endanger others. So selfish. And your last point is so true, we mummies only wish that God will keep them safe and healthy everyday.

denmy
we did bank Ger's cordblood and will also do so for #2.

Cord Blood banking : I didn't bank for my kids. I did visit the company and it's interesting to see and hear the process.

Valerie, thank goodness you are being careful. I think drivers are getting to be reckless. I was telling hubby the other day that I'm a "kay-si" driver ... I'd rather go slow and let people "bully" me. Do you all notice that the McD delivery boys on bike would usually rush off before the red-lights turn green??

Pls indicate response:
1. Mamapanda - Ok
2. Durianlover - Ok
3. Rachel - Ok
4. CassCL - Ok
5. Tabbiesus
6. Chicken Little -ok
7. xjysg - will be there after lunch (prob 12.30 - 1pm)

Suggested Activities
2. Circle Time
3. Bubble time

val,
thank goodness nothing untoward happened to you and kirsten! darn driver!! some drivers are really kukoo! that's y it's very important to strap our kiddo in the carseat. so at least in the event of jambrake, our kiddos will still be safe. i also always make an effort to check the oncoming cars when i cross the road even when i have the right of way. some blur drivers can just zoom pass a red light!

cordblood banking,
like god's child, i'm just kaypoh coz not preggers. hehe... i banked edgar's cordblood and i will do the same infuture.