(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

HiHI mummies...
wow just a few day never login.. some many to catch up!!.. dun think can read thru all.

Thanks SSF for sharing my good news...
I was very happy today... when clinic all me.. I can hear happiness from nurse voice and when she annouce the result is normal.. I felt burden lifted! and feel very happy :D

Thanks all mum for your well wishes :D

Oh COngrats to Krissie... what a good news!!

RE: Experience with BB on Quantas Flight
Any mum has experience on Quantas flight with baby??
The SQ flight that I'm aiming for is fully booked!! and I'm left with Quantas...
SO I think I might have to settle for Quantas, wonder any feedback so far from mum who has experience?

Krissie

Congrats!!!

Cookie

Congrats to you too!
Glad to know that everything is alright.

Been busy for the last few days. hahah, SAHM busier leh.... SO much stuff to do.

Cookie;
That is great news! V happy for u

Denmy;
Will be delivering #2 in london. i'm covered under my hubby's company insurance plan so will not be under NHS.

Esther;
Try to take it easy and put up feet up more..if can close one eye, don't have to do household chores 100%

Re: Preggy mums
Insomnia seems to be quite common, luckily i'm a heavy sleeper, so even after i get up to pee..i'll be back in lala-land in no time. But I do get pains like Denmy (bottom of the uterus), gynae said it's ligament pains and might be due to carrying Rory or walking too much.

SY;
Thanks for sharing the info re: speech - made me feel abit better and less worried. My boy is babbling quite alot but not saying anything meaningfully. He can't even call me 'mama' yet

re: breast pump
Avent ISIS Duo
1. Nick - comment

Medela PIS
1. sunny - powerful pump, help let-down fast, i can finish expressing within 10 - 15 min, great for working mum, used more than 1 yr and still functioning excellent. But, it's heavy to bring around and not cheap for the parts.
2. celine77 - like sunny, i think it's great in helping achieving letdown coz it has a Let-down mode which other models doesn't have.
3. krissie - think is the best of all the pumps i tried. (better than Ameda). Good let-down reflex. Can get 2 let-downs pretty quickly. For me, in 20mins. But, the pump is v heavy.
4. mamapanda - regretted not getting this pump earlier. Was using the medela double electric and ended with engorged breasts. Bought the PIS-advanced during my 5th month and never got engorgement anymore after that. Pumping was a breeze. Fast and efficient. Now, I'm still carrying my PIS backpack to work everyday. After awhile, you get used to the weight. Actually, its not heavy if u don't bring along the medela icepack. (Well, its definitely tons lighter than my notebook. I carry a notebook and the Medela backpack to work everyday). You can buy your own smaller icepack so that its lighter.
5. xjysg - I only use this vs the other 2 Medela (E and E+). Love this as it helps me pump 3x a day and quite a fair bit each time. No letdown function with this old model. I leave it in office as I had to bring 3 sets of funnels + bottles and ice-bag to work. I'll pump and work on my laptop at the same time. It comes with battery compactment so I can pump outside for eg in the car too

Ameda Lactalin
1. Krissie - Pump is light. But, not as efficient as the PIS. Hard to achieve 2nd let-down. must wait for qt a while. But, shld be ok for pple with v good MS.
2. Angelk - Pump is light and can be battery operated but you must use brand new batteries else the suction not good. Difficult to buy parts as they changed agent. quieter than medela I believe.

Medela Mini Electric Plus
1. Mongs- been using this for more than 13 months. still pump twice a day. motor has funny sound sometimes. cost less than PIS but not so powerful. review is that it's motor is not as lasting. my MS is not high but manage to TBF most of the first 6 mths. will cont until clariss is 24mths. hopefully the pump can last. if you don't intend to breastfeed for long, this should be good enough. if more than 1 yr, suggest u get PIS. current discount at 1st few years at KKH, only $499.

Cookie,
Congrats, congrats!!

Ky,
re: 'help-your-baby-to-read package'
To apply I just walk in the library and ask the librarian? Need any docs?

Flo,
re: Biting
Yes. He will either laugh or give me the puppy look!!!! There was one time he attempted to bite me on the leg and I said "No biting, just kiss!" and he quickly change his bite to a wet and sloppy kiss!!!

Re: QF Flight

Cookie;
We took QF to Melbourne in June last year. It was quite alright. the crew members were friendly and normal things like if u need hot water they'll get it for you quite fast etc etc. It was a 7+ hours night flight so rory slept for a few hours before needing a feed and slept abit more after that. There was a gay-ish steward who was very taken with Rory and played with him alot. I remember we were chatting to a stewardess and she said something about an unofficial policy that the crew shouldn't handle passengers' babies too much unless necessary because there was a case where a stewardess accidently dropped a baby and the parents were very upset about it.

Never flew on SQ with bb before so I dont know how true this is but I think i read on this thread b4, that the crew on SQ will help u with your baby during mealtimes. thats not the case with QF though i think it really depends on how baby-friendly the crew is..?

cookie - so u have confirm your trip already? is it the package that you mention the last time? i took sq to japan and has very good feedback for the staff. they are very caring and attentive to caleb. they will play with him and even offer to give me a varieties of jar food to choose from and ask me to keep the rest. warming up of the food is fast without delay. so i will definitely choose sq for future flights again. as for qantas, i think it shldnt be too bad. moreover if the flight is only like 4-6 hrs, it shld be fine. do remember to bring some water for kaelyn to drink during take off so that she will not get block ears. so far the last time caleb is ok with taking off and descending. have fun and show us pics when ya back.

WOW..

seem like this round all boys leh.. i very scared to get preggy liao leh.. i want a girl..my sil giving birth this may also boy...

Carseat, for those using britax, which model did u use?

Tracy,
When is the taka baby fair up till and can check how much are the car seats?

Gymboree Free Trial Class at Tanglin (from GAIA Product)
Classes during weekend
Sat 4.30 pm and Sun 11.20 am
1) Celine 77
2) Mamachan
3) Flo
4) Tabbi
5) Chicken Little (Sun 11.20)

The lady tentatively put us for 11 Mar class. Are you available ? Otherwise we aim for 18 Mar ?

SSF
the gymboree website is for US location only. I asked the person in charge last week too whether there is any promotion for free trial class. She said currently don't have...

cookie - qantas
Just something to note - they code share - so rem to check that you are on a Qantas plane. my gf had quite a bad experience with Qantas.

SSF,
re: Sign language
Did your frens speak to the boy often or simply leave him infront of the TV most of the time? The best way is to speak and sign at the same time so our bbs will know the sound/word for that action.

I dun think the boy is being lazy with learning how to speak. Children progress at different rates. So I think he just happened to be a late speaker. The parents should count themselves lucky that the boy knows at least how to sign for things.

I heard of 2 such cases and in one of them the girl couldn't speak until 2.5 y o and the parents actually brought her to a speech therapist. But by 3, she was babbling non stop.

Gymboree Trial Class at Serangoon Gardens (Mar 10)

SSF, Zhimin and Cindy
The class is level 3 play, for babies over 12 months. All of our babies are registered under Aidan 's name, so you can just check in under Aidan. If in doubt, feel free to give me a call on my mobile on that day.

CL and ladies
Please share notes on how your gym trial went too. Perhaps if you all like it, we can form a class together. I am ok with the venue.

CL,
I have put down my preference for the trial. Thanks!

Classes during weekend
1) Celine 77 (preferably Mar 18)
2) Mamachan
3) Flo
4) Tabbi

CL,
I have put down my preference for the trial. Thanks!

Classes during weekend
2) Mamachan (either 11 or 18 March, 11.20am class)
3) Flo
4) Tabbi

cookie
Oh! Congrats to you!!! Really Praise God that all is well =)

SSF
I think each baby will progress at their own pace. I don't think the 1st boy is lazy or refuse to speak, coz he understands the words and its association. Daren can sign milk and when he wants more of something, he'll sign "More". Especially when we play with him and he enjoys certain things, he'll sign for us to do it again and again and you should see the gleeful look on his face. He's very happy that we could understand him. He's babbling non-stop in his own baby language for now.

Rena
Why scared to get pregnant again? You've mentioned before that boy or girl, so long healthy, you and hb happy. =) And most impt you and hb love children.

Updated for Flo.

Classes during weekend
3) Flo (either 11 or 18 March, 11.20am class)
4) Tabbi
5) Chicken Little (either 11 or 18 March, 11.20am class)

Thanks CL for updating!

Classes during weekend
4) Tabbi (both days ok, 11.20 class)

Gymboree Free Trial Class at Tanglin (from GAIA Product) Confirmed.
Remember to bring your free coupon along
18 Mar , Sunday 11.20 am
1) Celine 77
2) Mamachan
3) Flo
4) Tabbi (I will bring for you as they are with me)
5) Chicken Little

Cass,
When is your EDD? Is your belly very big now?

Cookie and other preggy mums,
When are your EDDs also? I wanna update the Pregg Mums chart.

AK,
The taka fair had soooooo many carseats. I've reserved one Britax Royale $372, going down later in evening with hb to get it. The Omega model is $319 so i figured jus couple of bucks more get this latest model. Royale has a canopy and a padding to protect your car leather seat.

I saw Nania, Graco, Chicco carseats on sale too. Didn't manage to get all the prices down. BUt i saw the ultimate Aprica one. Woah!!! Very nice. but price also nice $1,300.

SSF,
You mean car booster seat or portable feeding chair? sorry ah, i had to rush off before I could read all your msg.

I didn't see fisher price there but i saw safety 1st portable feeding chair is $39.90 and $29.90 but it's not that model that folds completely like a box.

I'm going down again this evening. Pls lemme know if you are referring to these seats and i can check again.

There's a Gymboree Free Trial Class at Tanglin from GAIA Pdt from the bash?

Then I must go look through the bag again

Taka Baby Fair
1) Pigeon with big booth (breast pads $8 per box of 36+6 pcs)
2) Avent with big booth
3) Aprica
4) Graco
5) Combi (this one is super hot lor...everyone going for the strollers.)
6) Medela pump is there too
7) Leapfrog (under the same agent for Britax)
8) lots of baby pyjamas
9) Nania
10) Chicco

18 Mar , Sunday 11.20 am
1) Celine 77
2) Mamachan
3) Flo
5) Chicken Little
6) Cookie ( aiyo must go dig the coupon)

mamapanda
really have to salute you! laptop and the PIS backpack everyday to and fro! i carry the icepack with my EBM everyday, already feel tired!

re: breast pump
Avent ISIS Duo
1. Nick - comment

Medela PIS
1. sunny - powerful pump, help let-down fast, i can finish expressing within 10 - 15 min, great for working mum, used more than 1 yr and still functioning excellent. But, it's heavy to bring around and not cheap for the parts.
2. celine77 - like sunny, i think it's great in helping achieving letdown coz it has a Let-down mode which other models doesn't have.
3. krissie - think is the best of all the pumps i tried. (better than Ameda). Good let-down reflex. Can get 2 let-downs pretty quickly. For me, in 20mins. But, the pump is v heavy.
4. mamapanda - regretted not getting this pump earlier. Was using the medela double electric and ended with engorged breasts. Bought the PIS-advanced during my 5th month and never got engorgement anymore after that. Pumping was a breeze. Fast and efficient. Now, I'm still carrying my PIS backpack to work everyday. After awhile, you get used to the weight. Actually, its not heavy if u don't bring along the medela icepack. (Well, its definitely tons lighter than my notebook. I carry a notebook and the Medela backpack to work everyday). You can buy your own smaller icepack so that its lighter.
5. xjysg - I only use this vs the other 2 Medela (E and E+). Love this as it helps me pump 3x a day and quite a fair bit each time. No letdown function with this old model. I leave it in office as I had to bring 3 sets of funnels + bottles and ice-bag to work. I'll pump and work on my laptop at the same time. It comes with battery compactment so I can pump outside for eg in the car too
6. tabbiesus; PISadvanced- powerful and efficient. With let down mode.. can finish pumping in15 min.. longest 30 min...best thing in the world... really help me bf baby for 10months even tho i got low MS... I regretted not getting earlier... KKH firstfew years sells it the cheapest... worth every cent! Lasts years.. replacement parts readily available at mums and babes and at TMC, also got rel. high resale value.. some mommies are willing to buy it second hand.. my friend sold hers 2nd hand 2years old for 200+ so can recoop at least half money. disadvantage... noisy... whole world can hear you pumping away...

Ameda Lactalin
1. Krissie - Pump is light. But, not as efficient as the PIS. Hard to achieve 2nd let-down. must wait for qt a while. But, shld be ok for pple with v good MS.
2. Angelk - Pump is light and can be battery operated but you must use brand new batteries else the suction not good. Difficult to buy parts as they changed agent. quieter than medela I believe.

Medela Mini Electric Plus
1. Mongs- been using this for more than 13 months. still pump twice a day. motor has funny sound sometimes. cost less than PIS but not so powerful. review is that it's motor is not as lasting. my MS is not high but manage to TBF most of the first 6 mths. will cont until clariss is 24mths. hopefully the pump can last. if you don't intend to breastfeed for long, this should be good enough. if more than 1 yr, suggest u get PIS. current discount at 1st few years at KKH, only $499.

Denmy
my edd is 11 july... tummy is getting bigger now.. and my braxton hicks is getting a bit more frequent and sl.. uncomfy..

Cookie
So wonderful for your good new!! Congrats on your boi boi!!! So nice.... phew.. we can all relax now.. kekeke....

Something to inspire you all (hopefully it inspires):

* No person deserves your tears, and who deserves them won't make you cry;

* Just because someone doesn't love you as you wish, it doesn't mean you're not loved with all their being;

* Never stop smiling, not even when you are sad, someone might fall in love with your smile;

* You may only be a person in this huge world, but for someone, you are the world;

* Maybe God wants you to meet all the wrong people before you meet the right one, so when this happens, you will be thankful;

* Don't cry because it came to an end. Smile because it happened;

Have a good day!

sunny,
the combi area was too crowded so i didn't squeeze into see. lemme go check again tonight n update you ok?

CassCL
Thanks for sharing your experience on quantas flight...I'm planning to take a nite flight.. so I hope after some milk Kae can sleep till morning. My only concern is if she will be able to sleep comfortably. ANyway this will happen on Quatas or SQ.

SSF
ya mostly like same packages-Free and Easy we are going. I wanted to plan on my own.. but flights are not available (wanted a nite flight) and my timing are tight.
Cos Boss gng Hol in may so he prefer I go in April but I have my work to clear..
Finally I get green light but SQ flights are fully booked already.
On brigther side.. hope QUantas is not fully book so I have good space for kae to sleep

I have not confirm my trip yet.. still trying to get a flight..

pump,
i'm surprised so many pple use PIS too. coz my colleagues are using Ameda. Have tried both but still like my PIS Advance more. personally, I don't find it noisy compared to Ameda. I think they are comparable. Quite quiet.

re: Pump
Yalor.. so many ppl use PIS. It must be good then. What about Avent? I swear by their mamual pump but haven't try their electric one, so dunno if its worth investing or not and it like $799 or something like that right? Furthermore the 'petal cushion' makes expressing comfortable. I used the Medela mini electric b4 and find that the funnel is quite hard. Is it the same as the PIS?

Thank you so much, mummies who have contributed your comments. Really appreciate it. More comments from other mummies please!?!!

cookie,
Congrats to you! Thank God it's all fine! In His hands

WOW so many boys! Really interesting!

cookie,
i also intend to go Australia by Qantas in June. Qantas having good offer now!

RE: Bt Panjang Playgroup (All are welcomed!)
Change date to 15 Mar instead of 12 Mar as Tabbie can't make it on 12 Mar.
Date: 15 March (Thurs)
Venue: Mamapanda's place
Time: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Pls indicate response:
1. Mamapanda - Ok
2. Durianlover - Ok
3. Rachel
4. CassCL
5. Tabbiesus

Suggested Activities
1. Baby gourmet [sharing of baby recipes)
2. Circle Time
3. Bubble time

RE: Playgroup
Sorry if i missed any mummies out in the list. I can't seem to find the latest updated list of mummies who indicated response. Anyway if your name is missing just add it in yah?

Decided to hold at Mamapanda's place because she's the gourmet expert and we can have yummy food there! Not to forget, all the recipes that she has!

Preggy Mums
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB's Name </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>20/8/07</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD>8/8/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbiesus</TD><TD>11/7/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Thaddeus Jay </TD></TR><TR><TD>esther</TD><TD>5/7/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Leroy </TD></TR><TR><TD>cindy</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>11/5/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Declan </TD></TR><TR><TD>cass</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>krissie</TD><TD>12/10/07</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

RP lunch
so sorry that i missed it again...sigh things are not going well at work. got colleague leaving again and i feel so stretched. though my boss is understanding when it comes to family matters, i feel that he doesn't know what we do exactly so it's easy for him to tell me to overflow my work. but my staff are all new so it's hard to just ask them to pick it up!

Flo,
JH only knows milk sign. he is getting good at telling me when he wants to drink milk. everynight at 9+ he will start to lie down and look distressed and start telling me he wants to drink milk cos he wants to sleep....quite funny actually.

cookie
congrats on your boy! just nice...one gal one boy

KY
i asked previously abt this package when JH was just born and they said no more......it was started quite a long time ago but dunno why when i asked they say no more leh.

CassCl
i din really get SQ's crew help during meal times but they are quite helpful overall. I find the overall experience quite pleasant.

Gymboree trial
can i join even though i dun have the free coupon? Sun is better for me.

Classes during weekend
4) Tabbi (both days ok, 11.20 class)
6) SY (no free coupon 11 or 18 Mar)

Denmy,
i also like the PIS. i wd really recommend it.

Tracy, thanks! Mus go down and take a look tomorrow.

Wow, so interesting that everyone is having boys...makes me wish i was preggy and having a boy too!

Denmy, the ameda funnel is also hard, not soft like the avent ones....I also like the avent manual pump cos the petals really help let down reflex

Demny

I am also using PIS... but frankly speaking I did not fully utilise it cos at work I was using avent manual to pump instead of PIS. I only used it at home.

But my sister swears by it and she manages to use it to fully breasfeed her 2 boys till they were one year plus and two year old respectively. My PIS is a gift from her.

I must say that it is quite efficient in pumping out the milk and it is quite quiet. But can't contribute much cos I did not use any other brand except these 2.

AK

I am using chicco car seat. I am not sure how to buy a good car seat, cos my sis is using chicco so I just follow her and get exactly the same model. So far so good. It cost me ard $200+.

durianlover, mamapanda
RE: playgroup..

Please don't change the date becos of me.. I may not be able to make it after all cos my mom just called from the US and may not be able to come back this week.. if so I may not be able to make it as it will mean i will have less time to study cos have to look after baby full time and my hubby will kill me if he finds out i'm going out with baby instead of studying. Sorry.. was hoping to make it .. i'm running out of time to study for my exam..

Just stick to the date that is most convenient for all the other mommies and i will try and come, but thanks!

sysac, the free trial class is given when we purchased the GAIA products during the babycare festival.

Will call to add in another 2 names. Anyone else ?

18 Mar , Sunday 11.20 am

1) Celine 77
2) Mamachan
3) Flo
5) Chicken Little
6) Cookie ( aiyo must go dig the coupon)
7) SY