(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Tab/krissie - yeah i am also very tired lately. need to be at work on time at 830. before that need to send Caleb to my mum hse 3 days in a week. so every night i sleep pretty early. i usd to be able to stay up till midnight but now 10pm and i be like zombie. i try not to carry caleb as he is also getting heavy. last weigh was 9.4kg. but thankfully there will be 2 mornings i need not send him over as he will stay over at my in law hse. that's when i can go pak tor with hb like today and tmr night we will pick him up. so at least a breather for me to do my own stuffs. but then the missing part is there lor. guess have to give and take la.

Hi Mummies,..

May I know where do your get the information for those trial class???

I was thinking let Gracie go for some activity class?

Hi CL
Finally Gracie was ok......and yesterday night was happy and enjoyed her food...I pad pad her sleep with Indonesia baby song....she was happy and fall sleep in 5 min..
I think she has understand that we all love her and she only need to stay in Indonesia for 2 weeks.

sleepingdeer/cass,
i was thinking of switching to livejournal yesterday but after playing around with it, i find it too chim and i don't like the ads. unless i take the paid account. so decided to stick to my blogger. anyways, the main reason i wanted to switch was that i saw some pple's LJ can upload pics. but then i realise after i changed my template in blogger, the pics can appear bigger too when i import from flickr.com. so i'm going to stick to it! so now u gals can view bigger and clearer pics lah! hehe...

flo,
will like to tongbang you to buy the enfagrow. how many tins will i need to buy? and how will i get it from u? will it be to heavy? btw how much is it huh?

congrats, krissie!!

krissie,
Congrats to yoU!!

RE: playgroup
I'm onz with buffet for kids but i must say i'm not that good a cook leh. Heehee. Maybe we can list down what type of foods we intend to cook & bring??

As for bubble-blowing, i think babies won't know how to blow. We adults blow the bubbles and let the kids pop them! Quite fun!
There's a big open space outside my flat (corridor) that we can blow bubbles

ky,
i've PMed you my address. But is it at my place or Mamapanda's?

SY,
Wow JH is so smart!
Does he sleep thru the nite most of the time now?

RE: Update on Janelle's sleep
Now i've shifted Janelle to the guestroom which has 2 single beds joined together. She sleeps there for naptime and night. BUT, she still wakes up at nite

The good thing abt her being there is that i can lie down with her and hug her before she goes off to sleep (she'll want to be hugged). And i can do so without exerting my back coz she's quite a load to carry! But the fact that she still wakes up in the middle of the nite means i'll have to come over to her room and lie down with her. Inevitably i fall asleep hugging her to sleep! And i find myself waking up in the room in the morning. Quite funny coz sometimes i'm so groggy i don't even realise that Janelle cried at nite and that i actually went to her room to sleep with her!

RE: Gymboree Trial - latest update
Hi ladies, I have made a reservation for 4 babies on Saturday, Mar 10, trial session. Address:
#03-02 Serangoon Garden Village
9 Portchester Avenue
SINGAPORE 556293
6383-4662

Can you kindly PM me with your hp number and child's name? To date, I have received Zhimin's confirmation. SSF and Cindy?

Gymboree trial (Serangoon Gardens):
Saturday, Mar 10 (3:15 - 4:00pm) - 6 slots avail.
1. Cheng (Mar 10)
2. SSF (Mar 10)
3. Zhimin (Mar 10)
4. Cindy (Mar 10)

Sunday, Mar 11 (4:00 - 4:45) - 2 slots avail.
1. SY (Mar11) - Can you make it on Mar 10, so we can all go as a group?

esther

Do take care.. it can be really stressful.. are you getting a replacement maid anytime soon? better rest..

Preggy moms...
Eh you all sleep so late!! I am knocked out by 9.30pm.. i sleep when my girl sleeps and wake up when she does.. at about 6.30am.. but I'm still so tired!! Dunno why... I find that i can't sleep so well now.. got insomnia +waking up to pee alot+nitemares!!

re: naps
my girl sleeps at 11-1230pm and 4-5.30ish... usually 1-2hours each time.. but i agree.. recently... she seems to be fighting to stay awake and refusing to sleep.

Ky,
What's the 'help-your-baby-to-read package'? You mean its for pregnant mums and their unborn babies?

Krissie,

Preggy Mums
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>20/08/07</TD><TD>unknown </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>krissie</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbiesus</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>esther</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>cindy</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>10/05/07</TD><TD>boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>cass </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

re: Biting
Keenan bites for fun!! He's a very naughty boy cos he will constantly pick on Ethan, one time biting him on the butt as its just at his head level. LOL!! He also loves slapping him on the face when they roll around on my bed. He seems to know that he is not supposed to do these little naughty things on the adults but still can get away on his big brother. Poor Ethan...

Cass,
When I had Ethan in London under the NHS, we didn't know what gender the bb was until very late. So I just stick to whites and neutrals. Anyway they outgrow the initial 0-3 mths stage very fast. So dun have to buy too many clothes initially. Where are you delivering the bb?

Rena,
Keenie also slept from 11.45am to 1.15pm today and woke up crying. Think it's becos they didn't get enough sleep, thats why. If he'd napped for 2-3 hrs, he will wake up very cheerful. Will even play contentedly on his own in the cot for a while.

Tabbs,
I will get numb and painful bum-aches if I sit for too long. Also, I'm beginning to feel the uterus pressing down against my bladder. Sometimes when the bb kicks downwards, it feels like the pee is gonna come out or something. And plus I cannot walk too much after eating, the bladder/ bottom of the uterus will hurt due to the pull of gravity.

Preggy Mums
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB's Name </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>20/8/07</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbiesus</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Thaddeus Jay </TD></TR><TR><TD>esther</TD><TD>5/7/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Leroy </TD></TR><TR><TD>cindy</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>11/5/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Declan </TD></TR><TR><TD>cass</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>krissie</TD><TD>12/10/07</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

I am planning to invest in a double electric breast pump. Need your help in deciding which pump is better. Can gimme your views please? Thanks!!!!

Avent ISIS Duo
1. Nick - comment

Medela PIS
1. Nick - comment

Ameda Lactalin
1. Nick - comment

tabbiesus,
Hee i remember that when i was preggie i also felt very tired all the time...i was sleeping queen! Could sleep from 8pm - 8am nxt day and still feel sleepy!
And wow your kids' names all sound similar! So nice

Denmy,
Haha my fren who has 2 kids also say the younger bullies the older one. And the younger is a 14 month old girl. So i guess it's quite common! Hee

Declan is a very unique name!
Btw are you ordering spinach again?

RE: potty training
I have this book ToddlerWise that's quite helpful on potty training. After reading that i think i'll start potty training only at 18months or beyond. To me, it's no point if they only learn how to poo in the potty and not pee (since their bladders are not able to hold the pee before 18months). So i'd rather do everything at 1 shot! Anyway, Janelle hates her potty right now.

Denmy,

Re : Biting
I am facing the same problem as you...the elder one is being bullied. If damien want to snatch something from duncan, if cannot get it..he will bit his hand...so duncan will let go the toy. Poor duncan had to give in to him everytime. Told duncan that if didi bit you, you cannot beat him..tell mummy, grandma..or whoever...we will punish him. Lucky duncan is very guai and give him to his didi most of the time....

re: breast pump
Avent ISIS Duo
1. Nick - comment

Medela PIS
1. sunny - powerful pump, help let-down fast, i can finish expressing within 10 - 15 min, great for working mum, used more than 1 yr and still functioning excellent. But, it's heavy to bring around and not cheap for the parts.

Ameda Lactalin
1. Nick - comment

OK helping cookie to spread her good news! her results has returned and its normal!!! Praise GOD!

And best part she is expecting a boy this time. wow..seems like all boys so far. i think i shld know my gender next fri when i go for my scan. hee...

Avent ISIS Duo
1. Nick - comment

Medela PIS
1. sunny - powerful pump, help let-down fast, i can finish expressing within 10 - 15 min, great for working mum, used more than 1 yr and still functioning excellent. But, it's heavy to bring around and not cheap for the parts.
2. celine77 - like sunny, i think it's great in helping achieving letdown coz it has a Let-down mode which other models doesn't have.

Ameda Lactalin
1. Nick - comment

CONGRATS COOKIE!!! :D

Hi Cookie,

Happy to hear the news from SSF! Praise God! And it's a BOy!

Hi SSF,

Any feeling of whether it's going to be a boy or girl this time?

esther, rena, celine, durianlover, cheng, denmy, may
Thanks to all for the wishes.

esther
wow, are you staying in sg for long? Cant imagine handwashing all the clothes. You must be so tired. Pls take care.

Rena
yes, it's wonderful. Ya lor.. so tired. every night when I put Gerald to slp, I'll fan him with a pillow. Nowadays, am so slpy, I'll drop the pillow halfway on his face. : p haha... so, Ger knows how slpy mummy is.

SSF
I'll also be v sleepy at 10+pm...Think when I put Ger to slp at 9+pm, I'm super slpy, coz i play instrumental music for him, and off the lights, so it makes me v slpy too.

Cheng
Let me know how's the gymboree class can? I'm bringing Ger for his prevenar jab this Sat, so wont be able to join, as i expect him to be cranky the whole day.

Tabb
Think I'm starting on the insominia too. I couldnt slp well in my 1st preg. Last nite, woke up at 3am, then couldnt go back to slp till ard 4plus.

Cookie
Congrats!! So happy for you..

Avent ISIS Duo
1. Nick - comment

Medela PIS
2. celine77 - like sunny, i think it's great in helping achieving letdown coz it has a Let-down mode which other models doesn't have.
3. krissie - think is the best of all the pumps i tried. (better than Ameda). Good let-down reflex. Can get 2 let-downs pretty quickly. For me, in 20mins. But, the pump is v heavy.

Ameda Lactalin
1. Krissie - Pump is light. But, not as efficient as the PIS. Hard to achieve 2nd let-down. must wait for qt a while. But, shld be ok for pple with v good MS.

My younger SIL finally finally decided to announce officially she's preggy. Her gynae scheduled her to go for the chromosomes test but her hb n her decided not to go for it! Her hb is SUPER pantang type. He said 'so wat if it shows a high risk of down syndrome? i can't dun want the baby wat.' Then he said everything will be normal one lah, no need to stress himself going for such tests. Anyway his mum's generation didn't have such tests and everyone's normal.

I was quite angry to hear him say it like this. I didn't say anything but inside me i felt his thinking is very naive. Because we do not have stats of the number of down syndrome kids born in our mum's generations doesn't mean there isn't any! my uncle is one!

If such tests are available, why not go for it? Esp if your gynae recomm. If you don't trust your gynae, how can u trust her to deliver your baby!

So my hb n i also discussed and decided we will not offer to lend my maternity clothes to my younger SIL unless they request. Cos his bro so 'pantang', wait he say becos she wore my clothes she got a gal!

I need your help. I'm planning for my boy 1yrs old celebration & intend to order the cakes from Hot Fuchsia? wonder anybody here tried their cakes? can share with me your feedback.

Avent ISIS Duo
1. Nick - comment

Medela PIS
3. krissie - think is the best of all the pumps i tried. (better than Ameda). Good let-down reflex. Can get 2 let-downs pretty quickly. For me, in 20mins. But, the pump is v heavy.

Ameda Lactalin
1. Krissie - Pump is light. But, not as efficient as the PIS. Hard to achieve 2nd let-down. must wait for qt a while. But, shld be ok for pple with v good MS.
2. Angelk - Pump is light and can be battery operated but you must use brand new batteries else the suction not good. Difficult to buy parts as they changed agent. quieter than medela I believe.

Cookie
Great news. Congrats. Hoo so many boy boy.

SSF
I still hope you will have a baby gal. Then she will have so many boys to choose from ha ha.

yuki - my last scan, the bb open the legs quite wide and i saw somethg in the ctr. but gynae said too early to confirm as it could as well be a girl too.

krissie - drink a glass of warm milk/milo before you head to bed. it may help you to sleep better.

Chicken Little - thks i also hoping for a girl lei and yes so many hunks to choose from. can;t believe it...8 babies to come and 5 all boys!

Hi Denmy

ya, the 'help-your-baby-to-read package' ... actually I can't remember what it's called, is for pregnant mother and their unborn babies. It comes with an audio CD, a baby journal and height chart.

Tracy, different people have different kind of "pantang". For your brother IL, he's simply just "yan er dao ling" - covering his ears to steal the bell ... not knowing if it will happen doesn't mean it will not happen. Knowing it earlier might help you to get prepared if it does happen. But some man are quite MCP and think they have all the answers so you need not bother yourself with him if he doesn't respect your opinion.

.ky.

ak,
i'm currently using a Chicco brand given by my fren. I'm planning to buy a Britax if taka baby fair has an offer. Britax can sit from birth till 4YO or 18kg.

ky,
sigh..i guess so. why do i even bother right? guess it's juz the aquarian in me. When an Aquarian thinks he is right, he will stubbornly stick by it. :p

SY
JH is so clever. Mel doesnt know sign language; shell walk to the kitchen and keeps pointing either at the milk bottle steriliser or milk powder and keep saying mum mumhaha

SH/SY
Theres a VCD titled signing times that teaches bb sign language. My PD lent the disc to my SIL and my hbs colleague has one as well. He finds is a good way to communicate with his son whos born in Jul 05. Apparently it will help tots to overcome the terrible 2 stage cos they are able to express themselves better and get less frustrated. Humm, maybe I should let Mel watch the disc everyday

Krissie
Congratulations on your #2!

Sunny/Queen
re: housework
I hire a part time cleaner to come to my hs once a week for 5 hrs. She has been with us for almost 2+ years. Shes very good and efficient; I dont even need to give her any instruction. Apart from cleaning the house (even clean the window sometimes) and ironing, Shell even put my bedsheets/clothes into the washing machine to wash when she sees the laundry piling up and hang them up before she goes home.

Celine77
Have email u the info on enfagrow

Esther
So u decided to fire your maid in the end. Take care and rest well, dont do too much housework ok.

Denmy
Re: Biting
Oh poor Ethan. Did you tell Keenan is not a right thing to do?

RP lunch on Thursday (8 March)
1) AK
2) Flo
3) SY
4) Chicken Little
5) SL

Hi mummies, RP lunch today confirmed ? 12 at BK (OUB) ? SL may not be able to join as she has a last minute meeting.

Flo
your part time cleaner sounds good. how much do you pay for 5 hrs service? does she provide service at CCK area?

re: sign language

i am not sure if its a good thing to intro or not. coz i have this frd who son is already 2 yrs plus but cannot speak. he can only go uh..uh and use sign language to communicate when he is hungry, sleepy, tired, etc. his mum said he watches the signing video when he was young and picked up from there. Then there is another frd whose child is younger than her son by a few mths, he can already start talking like wait, i want milk, cannot, ok, etc. but the other one can not utter a single word at all. apparently, the child feels that his parents understand wat he wants and is lazy to start learning to speak properly. i am very surprise with the outcome of his child coz its obvious his child is very slow in speaking. no one can understand him except his parents and those who know the signs.

flo, thanks for your email. replied you liao.

sign language,
i have been showing edgar the baby signs vcd since he was a baby. but not everyday lah, just once in a while, or i just on the music cd. i stopped doing that when he was about 2-3mths. can't remember why, maybe just plain lazy me :p then one day he surprised me by signing "milk" when he saw his milk bottle! totally amazed by it, i started showing the vcd to him again. now he has picked up like 30% of the signs. but sometimes he gets confused and anyhow sign. he also beginning to say single syllables words so i don't think learning sign language will deter their speech. now i just on the vcd to entertain him during his meal times. since i like the songs as well.

i'll be joining the lunch too! :D but i haven't met most of u, so i'll meet Chickenlittle first.

RP lunch on Thursday (8 March)
1) AK
2) Flo
3) SY
4) Chicken Little
5) SL
6) Celine77

Hi mummies, RP lunch today confirmed ? 12 at BK (OUB) ? SL may not be able to join as she has a last minute meeting.

Just want to share the following, got it from a friend working in KKH :

Patient Education Centre & KK Juniors Club will be having our quarterly
event this Saturday, 10 March 2007; you are invited to join us.

Parenting Talk : Caring for Your Child Exposure to Music & Preventing
Common Allergies
Saturday, 10 March 2007
2 to 5.30 pm (Pre-Registration starts @ 1.30pm)
Auditorium (Training Centre), Level 1, Womens Tower
KK Womens and Childrens Hospital

The Allergic March - From Food Allergy, Eczema, Asthma to Allergic Rhinitis
* Childhood Allergies Have Strong Genetic Links
* Four Common Allergies in Children & Their Close Relationship
* Practical Steps on Allergen Avoidance & Allergy Treatment
Dr Liew Woei Kang - Associate Consultant
Allergy, Immunology and Rheumatology Paediatric Medicine
KK Womens and Childrens Hospital

Parental Role in Bringing Music to Their Children
* Music Growth of Prenatal Preschool Years
* Parental Role in Bringing Music to Their Children
* The Effect of Music on The Intellectual Development
* What is An Effective Music Education
Ms Flora Lim Director / Principal
Seimpi School of Music

Concurrent Event: Kids Bake & Craft Workshop

Suitable for parents with children up to six years old
Fee: $8 KKJC Members / KKH Staff, $10 Public
Light refreshments provided
To register, please call 6394 5038

RE: RP lunch today
Will be late. Arrgh....got a last min meeting @ 11.30am, hopefully it doesn't end too late. Will sms u gals when meeting ends.

Congratulations to all the preggy mummies!! So excited to hear the good news
Don't know when will be my turn?

Cheng/ SSF/ Cindy

Cheng, thanks for helping me to reserve a slot! Looking forward to see you all on Saturday! But not sure am I able to identify you all.

AK,
taka baby fair got offer on Britax carseats. Models: Omega ($300+) & Highport ($200+).

I'm going down taka during lunch. Anyone needs to check out anything there??

Avent ISIS Duo
1. Nick - comment

Medela PIS
4. mamapanda - regretted not getting this pump earlier. Was using the medela double electric and ended with engorged breasts. Bought the PIS-advanced during my 5th month and never got engorgement anymore after that. Pumping was a breeze. Fast and efficient. Now, I'm still carrying my PIS backpack to work everyday. After awhile, you get used to the weight. Actually, its not heavy if u don't bring along the medela icepack. (Well, its definitely tons lighter than my notebook. I carry a notebook and the Medela backpack to work everyday). You can buy your own smaller icepack so that its lighter.

Ameda Lactalin
2. Angelk - Pump is light and can be battery operated but you must use brand new batteries else the suction not good. Difficult to buy parts as they changed agent. quieter than medela I believe.

Avent ISIS Duo
1. Nick - comment

Medela PIS
4. mamapanda - regretted not getting this pump earlier. Was using the medela double electric and ended with engorged breasts. Bought the PIS-advanced during my 5th month and never got engorgement anymore after that. Pumping was a breeze. Fast and efficient. Now, I'm still carrying my PIS backpack to work everyday. After awhile, you get used to the weight. Actually, its not heavy if u don't bring along the medela icepack. (Well, its definitely tons lighter than my notebook. I carry a notebook and the Medela backpack to work everyday). You can buy your own smaller icepack so that its lighter.
5. xjysg - I only use this vs the other 2 Medela (E and E+). Love this as it helps me pump 3x a day and quite a fair bit each time. No letdown function with this old model. I leave it in office as I had to bring 3 sets of funnels + bottles and ice-bag to work. I'll pump and work on my laptop at the same time. It comes with battery compactment so I can pump outside for eg in the car too

Ameda Lactalin

Qn on Positive Babies trial ... can I ask the mummies there if it's worth a try? The timings are all ridiculously near lunchtime and I'm put off by the distance. I'm thinking of taking bus down for tomorrow (Friday's) session (11 - 1145pm) but wouldn't be joining as doing that each week would really stress me out... I'm not prepared to drive with a cranky baby nor spend more than $15 on cabfare, so public transport is my only option.

.ky.