(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

May
Maybe can consider ad-hoc relief teaching? Just sign up with MOE and wait or if there are schools nearby your place, can drop by to the school office and make enquiries and let them know that u have already signed up with MOE. I did relief work before at Nanyang Primary, but really abit nothing to do but to just sit in and look after the class.

I'm ok with 12 March. Durianlover's place is also a great place to meet up. Not much of difference cuz we're just opposite each other.

As for the cooking, each mummy who wishes to share their recipe can take turns to cook. I'm kinda excited with the idea of of giving our darlings a buffet lunch. I'm sure they'll be thrilled. Those who wants porridge can let me know too so I can help soak the rice and cook the porridge in advance. Some quick recipes I can think of sharing are pasta, chicken leek and butternut squash delight, steam egg, etc. Other recipes that require more time to cook (eg, beef stew) can be cooked at home first then packed over here for the baby buffet? What do u think?

Learning activities
Any suggestions anyone?

SSF - What details do I need in order to order?

CL - Sure, can share...as agreed previously

RE: Funny Act
Just want to share something with u all as it happened last week when I went shopping in Orchard with my mum and Jamie. This is the first time we travel there by MRT ever since Jamie started to enjoy shopping. Cos if hb drive we will go straight to the building and leave after that as u know.. guys!! We were out of Orchard MRT and decided to walk thru the underpass towards CK TANG. As u know there are moving ads along the stretch. We walked as usual with Jamie in the pram. Suddenly the ads move and Jamie start to scream "MAMA, MAMA..BAO BAO" And she turned her whole body back and start crawling upwards like a struggling mouse. I faster carry her and she hugged me tightly like koala bear. My mum and I were laughing all the way as we walked faster to get out of it. Jamie kept patting on her chest and say "Pa Pa (scared scared)" I relate this to hb and we were all laughing at her when we are at home. Jamie can still remember and she repeated the PA PA action.

Any of your tod is scared of this as well?

May,
I'm the other teacher here. Indeed teaching is not like what it seems to be. If u so happen to kena a lousy class, then its juz too bad. Half of the time i come home half dead! We dont get the kinda leave like normal job as we get to "enjoy" the holidays. Hence, u cant juz take leave cos our child has performace or 1st day in school. It depends alot on your Principal also whether he/she is family oriented anot.

Alamak
Now left "elephant" Aden who dunno how to walk. He only take like 2 steps then will reach out for something. But he is being to feel the pressure because at his BJG class I ask him to crawl to get the stuff from the teacher, he refuse to move but when I hope his hands to walk, he will walk. So i guess he must be stress at seeing other classmates walking. Ha ha.

May,
Jamie is so cute. What about another option of working at childcare centre? At Charmaine's childcare centre, there are a few teachers whose kids are there too. This trigger me to look into taking up a job at childcare.

12 Mar - Playgroup
Hmm, me cannot join on that day. But if there is anything on 15 Mar, can let me know as I will be on leave looking after Aden.

SAHM
Wow the group is getting bigger. So envy. Now I realli treasure the time to spend with Aden before he goes to sleep since his bedtime is 8 plus.

Cheng
Thank you for your compliment for Aden. Somehow his first pic he look so Beng.

CL,
No probs. HV is really on my way to Clementi to pick up Charmaine. Yup, my hubby told me that he met you again. I think he loves visiting your office leh.

re: tremor
Err.. I didn't feel anything - my colleagues also. Perhaps because ours is a low rise building? Only 5 stories high.

Queen,
Your workplace is near cityhall? Wanna join us for lunch at rp tomorrow? We can even have cityhall lunch now with you, me and CL and cookie.

Mamapanda/Flo,
My gal loves to take things out of my bag, wallet, drawers too! So tiring picking up after her.

May Wong;
Jamie's reaction is sooo cute!

Chicken Little;
Rory still can't walk independently too...only with support.

Re: playgroup
I'm fine with 12th or 15th march.

Rory goes to Gymboree in london, i know how to sing some of the songs, buttttttt, very paiseh about singing cos i think i'm tone deaf and i croak.

Babies love bubbles, how about a bubbles blowing session? I'm also a boring mummy, dunno what to do..

Mamapanda, do u mean a potluck when u say lunch buffet?

sysac - i am not sure if your milk powder has any promotion. The promotion that I have is only for mamil gold. They will require info like bb and mummy's names, i/c no, and birth date.

re: gymboree trial classes?
Is it still ON? coz i think we need to book in advance right since its for this weekend.

AK - PM me your contact no and i will pick up from your place. Otherwise, I will see if the gymboree class is still on and see if any mummies who is coming is also gg for the RP lunch.

re: teaching
Both my sisters are pri sch teachers and they always complain that pay is low, many thgs to do. like mamapanda says...sch holidays are not really holidays as they have to go back to sch last n first week i think depending on the activities. my elder sis works in the morn session but will stay in sch to do marking till 3-4p.m. but then i heard govt is adjusting civil servants pay and my sis happily told me that govt will give each teacher 400 bucks per year to buy stationery or learning aids and she is eyeing on buying digital camera already. so i think they are trying to improve the teacher's workload and lifestyle since papers recently said many ppl left the civil servants post to join other co.

mamapanda
wa.. your description of being a teacher sounds qt bad. I also thot of being a teacher earlier coz I saw that my cousin and his wife who were teacher had many off days. Think it's luck, plus depending on the school. My other friend described it like you.. which sounded qt stressful. Wld also love to join the playgrp that you all mentioned but too bad it's on a weekday. : ( sounds so fun. esp the buffet.. haha.. babies' buffet.

May
For me, I would also want to look for a job which gives us some money, yet allow us to spend time with our kids, esp for impt events, like sports day, etc.

Oh and yes, would also like to share that I'm pregnant again, 8 weeks plus.
May I know who are the mummies who are preggie now? I only can rem Tabby, Cindy, Cookie, Denmy. I think there are a few more, but I cant rem liao..

SL,
So funny your hb. I find my office so boring and he finds it interesting. By the way, are you visiting Del-Care today ? Did you make prior arrangement with the principal?

Teachers
Hmm teachers can also consider teaching at Learning Lab at United Square. I just heard my fren telling me that her sister (previously a teacher) is working there. Hours are not as taxing as school and the thing is the pay is 5K. Imagine the numbers of hours worked and you get 5K. I think it is a good money if you are doing the same job for teaching.

Krissie
Congrats. Wow, preggy mummies also increasing

congrats to Krissie...

CL,
dun worry abt aden......my younger brother started to walk at 16 mth according to my mum and she was so worried that she cooked frog porridge for his every meal...and for my duncan..he started to walk at 15 mth old

may/krissie - how abt getting a job at govt sector? their job are mostly 8-5 and after that, can go home already. the leave is also 21 days and with the extra 3 days childcare leave, its more than enough to plan for holidays or take leave for impt events. previously i was working in an MNC and the working hrs is horrible...i will attend meeting like in the wee hrs at night till early morning. so now after 6 its like i will keep my lappy in the cupboard and say bye bye. no need to work after off hrs. the only drawback is the flexibility where i can work from home. but i guess its a give and take situation. so maybe you want to consider working in a govt sector which is more slow pace. just a thought.

krissie - congrats!!! hee..
yeah I am also preggy at 16 weeks. let's keep a list and see if it will continue to grow. hee..

preggy mums
----------
SSF edd:20 aug 07
cookie
krissie
tabbiesus
esther
cindy
denmy
cass

adding on gender...correct me if i am wrong.

preggy mums
----------
SSF edd:20 aug 07 gender:unknown
cookie
krissie
tabbiesus gender:boy
esther gender:boy
cindy gender:boy
denmy gender:boy
cass

CL
JH still cannot walk...so your Aden not the last one.

share something abt JH. on mon night at abt 5am, he climbed up to our bed to sleep with us. then after a while he couldn't fall asleep, he woke me up and showed me the milk sign, telling me he wants to drink milk. was quite proud of him cos he din cry or anything. just woke me up to tell me to make milk for him.

then yesterday i feel very proud of myself cos i put him to bed without the pacifier! sang to him until he fell asleep, but in the middle of the night when he woke up, i gave to him or he will not stop whining. but it's a good step!

RP lunch
so confirm this thur right? yeah i can finally make it.

mamachan
i think your suggestion of relief teaching is quite good and the pay is abt 100 a day right? not too bad as it is ad hoc.

me thinking of giving tuition as alternative...

i heard my sis said relief teaching is no longer as easy as getting from outside.
the relief teacher needs to be a teacher i think. coz i remember the last time when i was retrenched...i ask her if she can help me look out if her sch need relief teacher and she said now cannot employ from non experienced person. maybe the teacher here can confirm again?

bubbles blowing : can your baby blow bubbles already? I've not tried with mine.

Playgroup : I can make it on 12 March or 15 March, but wat abt Tabbi?? I can rush over at 1.30pm (perhaps with a party of 4 (maid + #1), is that ok?) - will not join in the lunch buffet.

Tabbi, u wanna come over to Bkt Panjang side coz most of the mummies are here?
DurianLover, what's your address. pm me can?

BP/CCK playgroup (Not limited to BP/CCK mummies. All are welcomed!)
1. Mamapanda
2. Durianlover
3. Rachel
4. CassCL
5. ky

Suggested Activities
1. Baby gourmet [sharing of baby recipes)
2. Introduction (of babies)
3. circle time where we sing some songs with actions (led by DurianLover)
4. ???
5. Bubble blowing (outdoor activity)

Congrats to all the preggie mummies. btw, you can get a help-your-baby-to-read package from NLB.... just approach the library counter (not sure if need gynae appt card or not)

.ky.

SY
Pay wise for relief teaching, can't really remember already. But I know not bad. I think based on your qualifications bah... for me coz diploma holder, think I got about $50 - $60 per day. Tuition is good too, but I abit lost touch with the syllabus liaoz. I can only handle giving tuition to Pri school kids. But for now, now that my hb has taken on his new job and bringing home abit more, we've worked out our finances and find it comfortable to still have our maid and for me to convert. We still have our reno loan to pay off but we have no car lah. I told my hb, unless we're paid car allowances by company to drive for work purposes, than consider car, if not, forget it for the present moment.

Can't wait to be PTWM
Yesterday, after spending my morning with Daren at the zoo, I really enjoyed my time with him. He's really at that learning age where he's just so curious bout everything! And he's very sticky to me now which I'm really happy about. He enjoys playing with me, with his ball games or sometimes when I sit on the floor to just observe him, he'll come up to me and sit on my lap. REally, at this age all their giving of affection and hugs and kisses are getting more. Really very tie xin or izzit wen xin?? Just can't wait to be on part-time

krissie
Congrats for being pregnant!!

Denmy and Rena
Wow! Must be exciting to see your boys take their independent 1st few steps! Happy happy!

Congrats Krissie! You must be very thrilled. Any MS so far?

Hubby and i are contemplating whether we should find out the gender of #2. Could've known during my last checkup but chose not too. And now the suspense is killing me..!

SY;
JH is so smart, that's one sign that he's growing out of babyhood..

Krissie,

Esther,
So sorry was busy last Sunday. Can I collect the kits from you this Sunday? I sms you again.

Re. relief teaching
Graduates get $100 a day whether its in Primary or Secondary school. But this $100 is subjected to CPF deduction (at least it was when I have done relief teaching some 4 years ago).

Re. SAHM & housework
Maybe Im not very particular with cleanliness but is there a lot of housework to do daily? Right now, as a FTWM, me and HB only do housework during the weekends, that includes doing 1 weeks worth of laundry & ironing, vacuum & mopping the floor. Thorough cleaning of toilets which means scrubbing the walls as well, its once every 2 weeks. I remember during 2nd month maternity leave where Im taking care of Isaac alone, I didnt do any heavy duty housework cos there is simply no time! Ill just do the laundry & sweeping (or use the magiclean wipes) the floor like every Wed on top of the usual cleaning & ironing during the weekends. No cooking, will go MILs place for dinner everyday (I take a bus with Isaac to my MILs place). Anyway, its not economical to cook for 2 person, plus the hassle of washing up! So I think even if I become a SAHM, I dont think a maid is necessary, cos I dont see that therell be lot of housework to do? Maybe if there is baby #2, it will be a different story.

Cass,
Why don't you want to know the gender?

relief teacher
Now, relief teachers dun really haf market anymore cuz there's too many surpluses out there. There're adjunct teachers and so many "contract" teachers (untrained newbies who have yet gone for teacher training). Schools will naturally make use of free labour first (own teachers and contract teachers), then consider adjunct teachers (retired teachers or teachers who have quitted from the service) then down to inexperienced people. If you're thinking of drawing regular pay from relief teaching, don't.

SSF: civil service
FYI, the new civil service schemes now are all 1-2year contract. No more permenant positions, except teaching or other positions that are bonded. Therefore, civil service is nolonger the "iron rice bowl" it once was. Only those who have joined the service before 2006 are permenant positions. They reserve the right not to renew your contract after 2 years if you don't perform or if you're excess staff.

baby buffet
I was thinking of a pot luck-cum-sharing session. Mummies who have no recipes to share and bring their home cooked baby food along for the buffet. Those who want to "demo" how to cook their recipe can cook on that day. I thought it was pretty cool since most of our babies are bored of eating the same thing. Why not give them a buffet? kekeke.

queen - so good ur hb helps u with the housework. mine is too lazy to depend on him to clean the toilets which is his ONLY chore he has to do. previously when we do not have part time helper and i wasn't preggy with Caleb, he will drag the washing toilet chores for like 2 mths. he always complaint that he gets headache from smelling the super strong toilet bowl cleaner. haha...lousy excuse right? then he will say...why dun we just pay for the helper to clean the hse. so that goes on until i was preggy with Caleb. so bo bian i have to engage a helper to wash/mop and wash the toilets and do some ironing. coz my hb does not like to mop/vacuum or even sun the clothes. so i really cannot depend on him. if you want to take a break...maybe u can hire a part time cleaner at times. 30 bucks per session of 3 hrs to do the basic chores. at least it can give you couple a break and enjoy the weekends.

like u say with my no 2 coming along, i will definitely need a maid as my mum cannot take care of 2 kids. so the maid will be more for cleaning the hse and tending to Caleb when my mum is busy with the younger one. she can also help my mum to clean her hse a little to free her time. thks to rena...i be getting a myanmmar maid. saw her pic and boy she looks sweet and young. hmm...hb is getting all excited with the new maid coming in nov. haha...

mamapanda - yeah i am on 2 yrs contract. but not sure if i am consider civil servant lei. i works in a govt healthcare co though. frankly the turnover rate here is pretty high. ppl leave after getting yr end bonus. i may consider mvoing on after 2 yrs if the job market and pay is good. over here i still cannot take it that i am getting a pay cut as compare to my previous job if i dun look at the variable bonus coming along at yr end la. was telling hb if i wasnt preggy..i won;t take up this job also. sigh!

SY,
Coincidentally JW oso woke up at around 4am on Monday nite. He was screaming his lungs out. we didn't know what's wrong. Tot he hot, on the aircon for him. Still cry.

Tot he thirsty, gave him water. drink already still cry
Tot he hungry, gave him milk, drink 100ml, cry again.

Faint. Finally gave up and just force him to go to zzz. Struggle and scream a bit more, then ended up lying on my tummy to sleep.

Hmm...maybe i should teaching him some sign too. Wat is the sign for milk?

My boy still doesn't talk. The only thing he says once in a while now is "bao bao" (carry). The rest are his baby language. Got tone in his "speech" but no one else can understand kind ;p

krissie

re: civil service
it depends on respective ministries and stat boards, some are still hiring perm staff but the trend is actually more towards contract.

re: CCL
yesterday i went to the children library, the librarian confirmed to me that it's closing end of the month. so sad. it's really a great place to bring our kids to go there as it's much easier to find relevant book for my gal to read.

re: housework
i actually hire a part time cleaner to come to my hs once a week to clean the house and iron the clothes excluding doing laundry. 'cos i want to spend more time with my gal and doesn't want to test my luck to get a good maid at this moment.

mine is done by a couple for about 2+ hrs, $55.

SSF,

govt sector no good now also. I work in the govt sector. Pay's gd only at the initial stage. The pay increment is miserable. plus working hours are long now too cos the public's demands and expectations are more.

Housework - For me, there's not a lot to do for 2.5 people in the family. I m rather particular with cleanliness & tidiness in the house while HB is more chin chai. In order not to get into the "u do this while I do that" routine which used to happen B4 Cephas came about, I will just start doing what I think it shd be done.HB will help out when he sees me doing.

Laundry - Once every 5 days
Ironing - Once a week
Toilets - Once every 2 weeks but I clean the wet area everytime I bathe
Wiping & Mopping - Once every 3 days

I got lazy in dec & so hired a part-time help in Dec to CNY who came in once every 2 weeks. She was good the 1st time & then started taking advantage by coming late & doing chores (ironing & mopping only) in a haphazard way. Decided not to use her anymore since I cld do by myself again.

SSF - Thanks!

CL - Replied yr PM liao.

krissie
congrats on number 2! wow more and more mummies getting preggy....

mamachan,
yeah it's abt $100 a day i remember for relief teaching. but seems like the general feedback is that it is not so easy to do relief teaching now.

they r really fun to play with now. nowadays JH is always smiling n chuckling. and he is so interactive. each morning when he wakes up he wil just smile and play with us. and he likes to make fun of daddy. always push daddy away to make him go away then he will call him to come back. he calls him 'ah'

i also want to be PTWM! but hb not too supportive leh...

trying to psycho him to change jobs..

CassCl
why u dun wan to know gender? thought easier to prepare baby stuff

yeah my fren also said the same thing abt JH..moving ot another phase. i felt really proud of him at that moment evne though i was feeling so groggy from being woken up!

queen
my hb is particular abt cleanliness and if i were to do everything myself, i may not leave up to his expectations. even the maid cannot leave up to it. he still does some of the household stuff himself.

last time without a maid, he will also do chores on weekdays. we wash our laundry three times a week and he will use magic wipes to mop floor about twice a week and do major cleaning eveyr week. so can imagin if without a maid, i won't have any energy or time with JH!

Sl, SH,
JH doesn't talk but he will screams and babbles non stop. he has been talking a lot these few days.

re baby sign
the milk sign is closing and opening your fist. u can search internet for the signs. i used to surf net for the signs. only manage to do the milk sign consistently with JH. so quite happy he can express his intention

re toilet train
yesterady took the chance to ask PD abt it. he said there are 3 stages of toilet training
1. Bowel movement
2. Dry by day
3. Dry by night

For step 2 and 3 which means they dun need pampers in day and night, he said babies only fully understand and can control etc at 2 and half years and 4 years respectively. while we can train them, the brain is not fully matured to comprehend it completely.

for step 1, it also depends on when bb is ready. right now JH suddenly keeps quiet when he poos so he is not ready yet. only when they can signal to u that they have pooed, then it is possible to toilet train

re speech
i also asked abt speech. speech got 2 parts: comprehension and talking. right now, they are at comprehension stage. at 18-24 months, they can start single words then followed by 3 word sentence. so if your bb is not talking yet, dun worry!

Krissie

Congrats on your no. 2!!

Mommies with timetable
Wow.. so impressive!

On weekends, nowadays we try to bring her out to stimulating places like sentosa, botanics and vivocity (on top there's this water pool that's shallow.. she likes to walk in it)

RE: playgroup...
I can't make it on the 12th march anymore.. got last minute tutorial. Sigh.

Cookie
Is Kaelyn's rash better?

Pregnant mommies
how are you guys coping.. i'm getting more tired of carrying tabby now esp since sometimes she struggles!

Krissie - Gong Xi GOng Xi! wow... take care and do update us on your #2

Re : Biting
does your baby still bite on anything they can grab hold of? celeste stil has bad habit of biting the books though its gettin much lesser now... and she's drooling loads,tink must be teething big time!

Krissie,

Congrats! Seems like the no. of preggie mummies are increasing.

god's child,
Charmaine's still biting a lot but she's not drooling anymore.

Krissie, Congrats!

SSF, I PM you already. Pls sms me by 10 p.m. tonite to let me know whether to bring it to work tomorrow.

RP lunch confirmed, see you ladies at BK at 12 tomorrow

Tabbiesus;
Like u, I'm also finding it hard to cope with my boy. I try not to carry him too much cos he's almost 11kg now. Told my hubby we really need to get hired help when we return to london or put rory in playschool - i don't think i can cope alone

queen/SY;
We backside itchy, want it to be a suprise when baby is born. yah..so now regret, like u said, easier to prepare baby stuff. i dunno what colours to buy when i see cute baby clothes.

hi, im from Feb thread, but bb actually born in 31Jan.
Will like to check with you gals. Im preparing to go to work and also wan to cut down the nos of pump per day. Im so tiring.. looking after two kids.

Do you feel lump in your breast?
Previously, I have no problem when expressing thru pump.
Lately, I always feel my breast hard and has two hard lump on the top of my breast and left side.
After pump, it will be gone.
I only pump 3x previously. and quite irregular timing. 6+,12+and 8-9+. Esp during the night, my breast will be much harder and lumpy during the monring pump.
Now, I have increase another pump at midnight
Pumping session : 8am,2pm,8am and 2pm. And I will feel the lump also, but slight better. but my milk flow is so much slower. Takes abt 30-45 to empty two breast. Have to keep massage and pump to get the amt I wan? I also drink hot drinks before pumping and hot towel..but still can feel lumpy.

Why? How can I solve it?
can PM (cos I seldom come to this thread) me if you better soln,

Tracy, CL, Babylon, SSF, mamachan, CAss, Sysac, Wendyl, queen, sunny, SY, tabb, god's child, sl, ak
Thanks for the wishes.
I must say that you all sound so happy and excited.. making me excited too... heehee...

SSF
Good idea, I was also thinking of starting a list, so that I can ask you all qns (if any). heehee.. me dun intend to join the Oct 07 thread.

cookie
tabbiesus - boy
esther - boy
cindy - boy
denmy - boy
cass
krissie EDD 12 Oct 07

Cass
yup, MS sometimes, at different parts of the days.

Tabb
I'm super tired this week. I read in the mag that these few weeks, I'll be super tired. I went to bed at 10pm and only slept at 10.45pm. But, feeling less tired today. Think I'll try to slp earlier, coz i usually slp at 11+pm. Then hopefully, will be less tired at work the next day.

melody,

I've PM'd you. I suggest u also go to your LC in your hospital to help clear some blockage first.

melody
it sounds like a clogged duct. No better solutions. since you tried massaging and taking hot drink. maybe you can try calling the BFMSG?

Tabbs,

I've been having backache..coz my maid was fired and I had to take care of renee..cook , bathe, clean the house, toilet everything! and i'm a very fussy person..all clothes must hand wash..so i'm cleaning n cleaning and looking after renee.

Problem is, Renee has become exeptionally sticky after the maid left. I think she feels very insecure..its like the maid has left her so she's afraid I will leave too. She just keeps following me up and down..cannot lose sight of me! So I'm really worn out

Krissie,

CONGRATS!!!!

cookie
tabbiesus - boy
esther - boy EDD 5th July 07
cindy - boy
denmy - boy
cass
krissie EDD 12 Oct 07

congrats krissie,

isn't it wonderful to be preggy once again but this time would be more tired coz have a liitle one to look after..

RE: naps

Elijah use to nap at 12pm and wake up at 1 plus or 2 for lunch then his next nap may be around 6 plus jsut after his dinner.. but yesterday and today he slept at 12pm till 12.45 only..haiz.. dun know why he keep crying leh...