(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mamachan
good to hear that Daren is better. I'm impressed by the way Daren sleeps himself. Just checking, after you tuck him to slp, you can leave the room, while he rolls himself to slp? For Gerald, I must be in the room, while he rolls himself to slp, so usually, I'll pray during that time or rest. But, it's still a waste of my time, i must say.

Tracy
hope megan gets well quick. 40 deg is v high.

SSF
letting my gal to sleep with me would be the very last resort liao 'cos we don't want to have headache to resolve another round of crying when we want to let her sleep alone in her own room next time. she's been sleeping by her own in her room after 1st mth....
there was once when she spent overnight at my mil's place and sleep on the floor, my mil found her crying under the bed 'cos my gal couldn't find her way out from the underneath after rolling inside. haha.... so, meanwhile i think got to let her bang here and there in the cot. :p

durianlover
re janelle standing in the cot and wanting you to carry. you can try putting her down to lie down in the cot and patting her a while, so she can sense your love for her w/o hugging her. And re Dr Sears. I think there's diff styles of parenting, it all depends on which way you subscribe to, Dr Sears is all for co-slping, making them feel loved, etc. while the rest like supernanny, i think like baby whisperer, etc is for helping to teach the bb to learn to self-soothe themselves to sleep. So, it all depends on which style you feel comfortable with and believe in. I always believe that moms know what's best for the bb and the family.

sunny
I've got a friend whose son is about 3 this year, is still sleeping in the cot. She feels it's better as he will not keep going over to their room and wake her up to sleep with him. BUt at this age, they are slightly more sensible and would not attempt to try anything funny like doing stunts in the middle of the night. Thinking of letting Daren sleep in the cot till he is two plus before converting, till he stops rolling around so often.

krissie
Usually when we have swtiched off the lights, he would know it's bed time or he would just lay his head down and roll to and fro, I would stay awhile in the room with him and pray over him and gently stroke him. When he starts to get in the zone, I'll creep away quietly. If he's still very active at night, I would wait awhile till he starts to wind down by making his rounds to sayang his bed friends and he would want to sayang me (stick his head out over the cot rail, forehead towards me and I would put my forehead close to him), after the satisfaction of sayang-ing me a few times, he'll lay his head down on the mattress. Usually within 20 min, he'll be in lala land. But I enjoy sitting with him in the room.

babylon
Daren is also a sarong bb but in the day only. Trying to make him nap outside of home when we're out it's so difficult as he doesn't want to miss all the action. However, got a few times we tried to make him just nap lying on the mattress (my daybed or his cot), the most nap 45min to 1 hour. Rare times is 2 hours. When he was in IFC, they only have cot, shortest nap time 1/2 hour, longest was 2.5hours, but I'm wondering if really the case. Coz they can't possibly keep tabs on every single baby.

Krissie,
Thanks. Meg's mysterious fever subsided as soon as the doc insert the suppository and her fever didn't come back. (touch wood) Now only the cough but sounds like its improving. Thanks!

Sunny, Mamachan,
I also intend to let Meg sleep in her cot till we are forced to think of alternative. When #2 comes along, we plan to let #2 sleep in playpen with mattress. Then when #2 is time for baby cot, Megan will be upgraded to a bed which we'll have to buy in future.

Thanks Queen, SY

Esther;
No, will be doing my scan in London and delivering baby there as well. meanwhile i'm seeing my gynae here.

Honestly, I'd rather have #2 in SG but don't think it will be very fair to hubby cos i know he'll like to spend time with #1 & 2 and cannot take alot of time off due to work commitments

durianlover

So coincident that this month issue of mother & baby with LiLin on the cover features article on baby sleeping issues...

I think choosing what method the most important thing is you and baby should both feel comfortable with the method.

Congrats,
to your number 2.. CassCL

Sorry for the super delay.. i will be paying you later.. very busy these day..

RE: sick bb

May our prayers covers all the babies who are sick and pray that the lord will heal them ..Amen

GAIA Products
Tabbi, Celine, Flo and Mamachan
I will be at the babycare festival to pick up the stuff tomorrow. Taking half day leave to break from work.

Flo, will pass you the product together with the goodie bag (including Mongs since she oso stays in woodlands)

Or Mongs, you want me to pass the goodie bag to Babylon since I am meeting her this sat and you are working on the same island.

may
the mattress looks good. i saw in mag such cots also. but my room is quite tiny and cannot fit such a mattress so i used pillows etc to line hte side of the mattress so JH wouldn't hit the wall. but this is better cso sometimes at night i still worry whether he will bump into the wall when he flips too much.

durianlover
i have the M&B issue. u wan? me also trying to get ideas on how to make JH sleep thru the night

JH learnt how to use the straw! it took him 2 days only. it was quite funny. i read M&B and it says shd intro them to cup at 6 months. so i took out the magmag for him. when i tried he din know how to suck the water so i just let him play. then i took out the cover with the straw and let him suck the other end. somehow (i think that end is softer) he manage to suck. so yesterday morn, we did that for a few times and when i reached home yesterday, maid told me in the afternoon when she tried giving him the straw in the correct way he just started sucking! so surprised by it. this morning when i tried again, he can suck the water up but need to give him the opp end to make him remember how to suck.

CL,

I also thought of going to teh babycare fest tomorrow. Most likely would be going with charmaine and my mum. Cos need to send my dad to airport tomorrow. What time would you be there?

Mamapanda,
Wow! Your ms is really good! I don't have any engorgement now.

SY,

Okay, will let you know abt part-time work. : )

celine,
the price is the same on the website. Is the item big? Can just self-collect and put in our normal saloon car? Looks very tempting hor?

May,
can i hv the contact for the matteress? I also looking for a solution. My boy turns 360 every nite and kicks me too much.Thanks

Krissie and SSF and all mums
Thanks!.. result will be out probably in another 2 weeks time.
Thanks for your Prayers

The thread really move soooo so fast ... cannot catch up liao...

Sorry if I miss any of your qns... pls ask again or PM me.

Re: Cry to sleep/sleeping alone
I have also used ZHimin's method, but I do not let her cried to sleep during bed time. During bed time I still let her fall asleep by herself on our bed with me sleeping beside. Reason being she just has her last milk feed, I'm afraid prolong crying might cause her vomit.

When she is sound alseep.. I will carry her over.
Initially when she sense us carrying her over.. she will wake up and stand in the cot and cry.
But then again.. she was very tired because she was half way sleeping already... she will cry standing, then sit and lie down...and sob.
I will creep around her cot to amke sure she is ok.
After abt a week or so... now even if she sense us putting her in her own bed, she will just wake and sleep agaia cos she know cry also no use.

I'm very happy with the arrangement... not only I get quality sleep, Kae will be very smiley when she wake up in her cot.. cos I believe she very fresh from good nite sleep

Last nite she wake up in the middle of the nite she wake can cry again... anyway I carried her to our bed.. maybe she has bad dreams or waht..
After she is sound asleep I place her back again without fuss... Thank God

May
I'm also thinking abt the solution.. when my #2 arrive.. Kae will have to sleep on the floor or something.
I do not wan Kae to sleep with MIL, I still wan her to be in the same room as us, dun wan her to feel when #2 come she has to exit.
Perhaps I will consider the matteress.

CassCL,
Congrats on ur 2nd one! Haven't congratulated yet. Any MS? When's ur EDD?

may,
Jamie's bed looks like a really good idea! TOo bad my masterbedroom is far too small to fit in another bed like that

krissie,
Yeah i know abt both styles of parenting. But the graduated approach of moving further n further away doesn't work for Janelle now. The moment i attempt to put her into her cot she'd be yelling! Her whole body will cling on tightly to me coz she knows i'm gonna put her down. I suspect she's starting to dislike her cot. She won't even lie down in her cot. THe moment i put her inside she'd be standing and crying for me to carry her. There's no way of pacifying her when she's in her cot awake!!
Actually at nite she sleeps in her room in her own cot. It's only in the middle of the nite when she wakes up that i carry her to my bed to sleep between me & hb.

SY,
Thanks for the offer of M&B! But how do i get it from u? If too troublesome nvm lah

Yes it's amazing how babies learn to suck thru straw. Quite sudden one huh? Janelle also suddenly could drink from straw.

RE: bed or cot
I'm starting to think perhaps i shd let Janelle sleep on a bed instead of cot. SHe really seems to be disliking her cot nowadays. Will protest the moment i attempt to put her in! But i also scared she'll fall off the bed...sigh.
Just now for her morning nap i got so tired carrying her to sleep that i just went to my room, put her on my bed, lie beside her for a while, and she drifted off to lala-land within minutes. Such a contrast as compared to if i were to put her in her cot!

i read a tip on getting our bb to suck from a straw.

it's to snip off the tip of the bottle nipple and insert the straw thru it.

haven't tried this so don't know whether it's effective...

sl
Ariene still drinks milk like crazy. She still latches on to drink milk 4-5 times a day plus breakfast, lunch, teabreak and dinner. Scary hor?

Re : drinking from straw
celeste started on it during CNY,HB just ask me to try and BINGO! she can wor... the hint is when she drink the water fr the spoon during meal times, she actuali suck the water many times... just give it a try,your baby can surprise you!

Celine - you making me very very itchy liao!!! * pondering if HB wil kill me if i place order *

Ha ha Celine77
I received that mail too. Ha ha i very gian but I have turn my study room into a playroom for the kid liao. My hb is giving me that monster look that I have cheated him to move all his stuff to our room.

Np as I probably meet you and flo together then i will just pass the stuff to you. I see what are my plans after the fair. Maybe I will drop by RP then meet my hb if he not going to suntec to pick me.

SL,
You sms me lah. The fair starts at 11. I knock off at 12.30 then meet esther at 1 over there.

SY,
you give me hope. Will try that on aden this week. Hope he master it otherwise my 2 magmag bottle goes to waste

Celine77,
Do u have the direct contact for the jumbo slider? Thanks!

Chicken Little,
U going to M&B fair tmr? Keep us updated for any good lobangs okie!

Rena,
U try drinking packet drinks infront of Elijah. I m sure he will be keen to suck from straw soon. :p

re bumbo slider,
ya i was also very tempted when i saw the discount. i was hesitant at first coz it's a bulky item. so i called my hb and asked him, then he said juz buy coz we can put at our terrace. hee.. so i just buy loh. sorry wenyl, i don't have the supplier's contact. i only emailed her. her response was very fast.

sl,
i'm not sure if the bumbo slider can fit into my car either. mine is a mid-sized sedan so hopefully can la. if not, at most open up the box and stuff the parts into the car seperately loh.

chicken_little - can help me check on maternity bottoms and tops. see if there is any cheap and good buys. thanks. coz hb works in suntec so he can go down and buy for me but its just tat i dun trust his taste. haha...u can sms me la. TIA!

celine77
the slide looks really nice! your house big so got space...if i put more stuff at my place, my hb will jump! maybe i shd put at my mum's place...

CL
dun give up hope! JH din like it for a long time and always cd not close his mouth over the straw. he just suddenly learnt

durianlover
u know, for a period of time i always drag JH to bed cos i find that he sleeps better. this was after listening to someone's advice. my boss told me not to be too hung up abt making him sleep separate or alone. babies change all the time so it's not a big issue.

celine77,
the last time my hb went to collect the thomas toy rack, it could fit into our car. Think he lowered the front passenger seat and fit it in there. The box was quite huge. Our car is only a Toyota Corolla.

How I wish I can fit the slide into my house too, but i think hb will really jump too.

RE: Mattress
Jamie sleep in sarong in the day. Night time on the bed. At first she crawl inside like crazy..but now when I turn on the night light and put her there, she knows it is time to sleep. Will roll there for abt 10-15mins before she knock out.Tried her in the day but I gave up cos after 1hr, she is still inside playing.

This mattress can still be folded to half and use for new born baby. The guy told me one. I will see if I can get the photos taken tonight and post for all of u to see. Think it is worth. Cost around $80plus.

Those who wants the contact of the mattress supplier, PM me ok?

SY,
no lah, my house is not big. that's y i consulted my hb before buying. but when i asked him, he juz said go ahead to buy without even thinking. instead he said how come such a small thing oso must ask him! duh!! feel like slapping myself! :p

tracy, ya the last time my bro helped me pick up the toy rack, he could also fit into his smaller sized car. so i suppose the slider should be alright. mayb juz remove the car seat first loh.

Hi Mummies,..

I'm back...Happy New Year....
Got a lot update to read.......

May Wong,.
Thanks for the pict of Jamie new bed,,as I also thinking to get Gracie a new bed like yours...

I will update your with some Gracie CNY pict

Tracy,

Haha! JW oso throws all his toys around and he particularly likes Elmo eyes too!

Durianlover,
JW used to wants to be carried to sleep. It was really tiring coz he takes forever to sleep. What I do is I used to carry him for a while, then start telling him that "mummy hands are really tired already. Can I put you down on the bed and then I will lie down and sleep with you?". Then I will count 1, 2, 3 while I sort of swing and carry him just above the bed. On the count of 3, I will gently drop him into the bed.

Initially he will sit back up and cry. But I will keep telling him that mummy is really tired. I will try to hug him while lying down (as it's a lot less tiring). But he will get angry and cry some more. So I will give in and carry him up...but at the same time I will start "complaining" to him in a sulky tone that mummy is really tired. It's not that mummy doesn't want to carry him...but he is a big boy and he should be nicer to mummy ;p. Dunno if he understands...but he looks at me curiously with big big eyes...quite funny actually. I will pretend to look really tired and repeat the same thing and tryto put him down again.

After a while, he will let me put him down but I must immediately lie down beside him. If I even sit up, he will sit up with me and then he will cry. I hug him and then slowly I introduce him a bolster. Now he hugs the bolster and I can even get up to walk around the room to switch off the lights, on the fan, etc. (The first few times he actually cries and then whines abt me leaving the bed. I have to quickly tell him that mummy is just going to open the windows or switch on the fan, etc. I finish my chore and quickly run back to bed with him). Now, he is fine with me getting up but he will keep a very watchful eye on me that I don't exit the room else he will scream.

What I am trying to say is that I think they are at the age where they can understand things. So if you dun wanna try to cry it out method, maybe you can try to talk to Janelle slowly. But don't withdraw from her completely. Change the pattern of things that she is used to slowly so that she still feels comfortable that you are going to be with her. Eg instead of standing and hugging her, ask her if it's ok for you to hug her while she is lying down instead? Explain to her that it's not that you don't love her but coz you are really tired. Then try to put her down lying but quickly hug her. If she persistently cry then bring her back up and then hee hee...maybe act like this crazy mummy (me), pretend to sulk. But don't insist on going your way the first day. Try for a few days and hopefully she gets the idea. Then slowly withdraw till a level that you both are comfortable with. Hopefully Janelle doesn't even realise that mummy is slowly training her to sleep without help.

Don't know if what I am saying will work, but I managed to get JW to sleep without any patting now from when he needed to be carried and rocked to zzz.

Re: Cry to sleep
Indeed everybaby is different... for the cry out method, we realise Kae actually sleep much faster if we just leave the room.
the more she see us, she will cry non-stop and wan to be carry.
When she dun see us... her cry will actually turn to Yell after sometimes... probably just to see if anyone heard her.. then she will sit down , roll about before she sleep.

For me.. staying in the room.. or sitting beside the cot.. doesn't work at all, in fact it make it worse

Really every baby is unique!
As long as bb and parent sleep well.. doesnt matter which method we use

What is M &B sales?? sorry I suaku..

CL
I have yet to meet up with u...have been sooo busy with work. Haizzz ..will call to arrange.

CL, Esther,
U gals going to the fair?I feel like going leh. But Esther, will be able to catch Gymboree on time though?

Cass,
Congrats on your pregnancy!!

Denmy,

Ys..join us la! I'm bringing Renee along. If i have the car, I can pick you up. Yes sure can make it..i'm metting CL at 1..we just need to leave by 3.30..more than enuf time.

You let me know ya!

RE: Sick bb
I brot Ethan to see his PD again today cos his medicine finished & he still has stubborn runny nose & phlegmy cough at nite. Was given neuberlizer also. He was ok for the 1st 5 mins or so cos he was quite fascinated by the smoke. But the last few mins, he struggled & cried while I pinned him down. So heartwrenching. Was given a whole load of medicine again with antibiotics. I feel so sad every time I got to feed him all these medicine.