(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF, caleb is so funny. but aren't u guys afraid that he will catch a cold walking around naked?
clariss still bathe and change with doors and windows tightly shut. maybe I am too paranoid.

mongs,
same here, i'm also still bathing and changing Meg with the doors and windows shut. i'm afraid of her catching a cold.

mongs - he is planning to take a bath after throwing tat diaper. so tat explains why he is naked. hee...no lei...we still keep the windows open but not fan.

gee, u mummies here makes me feel like i am a super bo chap mummy. i have stopped closing the windows since he is 2 mths old! :p worst still, we sometimes leave the aircon on while we bathe him in the toilet with the door open. i suppose since it doesn't bother him, its ok.

cookie - when will u know the status of your test? do not need to worry if you do not have any family history. my frd also had the same prob but after the final test, it proves to be false alarm. will keep you in my prayers and have faith in the LORD ya.

SSF,
Oh mY!!! Caleb is soooo cute! Haha can still clap hands after that to applaud himself!

zhimin,
thanks for ur advice! Sounds good...maybe i'll try to let her sleep on her own but i sit beside her cot or something. I'm pretty sure she'll still yell and cry though...coz she wants me to carry. It'll require more determination on my part then to not carry her! Esp since i'm just sitting beside her! V difficult to resist temptation to pick her up.

RE: Leroy
i've got a fren named Leroy. Think it's quite a nice name too

SSF

Last time when i having Clarisse I wanted to name her Chloe. But when combine with my hb's surname like very difficult to pronounce so we chose Clarisse instead.

God's Child

My colleague named his baby girl Celestial. I find it unique too!

Re: Baby Names

Since the topic is about this I shall share some of the names which my friend name their babies, I think very unique too!

One name their son Reyes, another name their son Ignatius.

Re: Primary School

As I stay in Seng Kang, and my block is just beside Nan Chiau, so I think it will be my first choice for primary school ba.

Mashy

When I was in Bkk last month, I saw a mother with her baby (only about 4 to 5-month) begging on a overhead bridge. I feel so sorry to see and I was telling my friends I should tell Clarisse how blessed she is with the love we give her.

SSF
your boy is so cute. my gal will also volunteer to throw the diapers, tissue papers for us. haha...

Re: cry-out method
i find it more and more difficult to use this method 'cos getting more heart pain to hear my gal's crying. but, if she has been crying for quite sometime and i had used up my patience, i will use this method. :p

re: nepia seal
sometime ago, i heard that 10 seals can exchange NTUC voucher? how much can it be exchange?

Zhimin

That's so sad. I find that now, being a mother, when I see children like that, I feel so sad. But yet there isn't much we could do about it.

sunny - can be exchange for 10 bucks of NTUC voucher.

zhimin - yeah i saw a lady with her kid too. so dirty and begging. i felt so sad for them and gave them some money.

Baby Girls Names
There are a few that I know of in church and thought they are really unique and sweet: Saraphina, Sarah-belle, Estelle, Natasha, Zoelene, Annabella and Shauna.

zhimin, durianlover
Durianlover, I think you can try out zhimin's method. When I first tried out the cry it out method with Ariene she also cried for 30min the first day, then 20min the 2nd day and 3rd day, it was only for aidbt 10min. Subsequently, she can sleep on her own. I didn't go into the room at all to check on her. Just let her cry until all quiet then I go in and look. By now you should be able to recognise their cry : whether its a cry for attention or a real distress cry. If u think she's in distress, go ahead and reassure her you'll be around for her but resist the urge to carry her or hug her. Try comforting her in other ways.

childcazre subsidy
I think I remembered reading on the MOM website that single mothers are eligible for the subsidy as well. However, to confirm, better to send an email and enquire.

cheese sauce
Durianlover, you have to add the flour slowly and stir vigourously and quickly to prevent the sauce from clumping.

Anyone got a cot that you wanna give away?

Think my cousin in law needs a cot for the baby. The bb is now sleeping with her and her mom, think it'll be good to have his own cot so that he doesn't fall off when they need to go toilet or something.

If you have, can pm me? THanks!

SSF

Huh... I have not get a chance to see leh... my hb and I also do not post any naked photos of Clarisse on Blog... wait she angry with us when she has grown up

Hi Zhimin,

I stay in SK too and near Nan Chiau Primary too.

I brought megan for her pneumoccoal jab for the first time. Now she is having rashes on her hands and feet. Is that the norm?

Just to announce that i have successfully put Janelle to bed after carrying her for 20 mins! I decided i can't carry on with the cry-it-out method coz i can't bring myself to do it. And Janelle can't be comforted by my presence - only by carrying n hugging her. So oh well!

I'm just hoping it's a phase she'll outgrow. It might very well just be - because i've noticed my girl keeps going thru different phases with regards to her eating & sleeping habits!

pneumococcal
Ariene had mild fever of 38deg and mild rashes on hands and feet too. PD says its normal and should subside with 3-5days

SSF;
actually #2 is quite unexpected but we're very happy nonetheless. Btw, do you still carry Caleb?

Esther;
Leroy is a very nice name! Being half irish, my hubby likes the name Patrick or Patricia so that he can nickname the baby 'Paddy'!! :| but i die die won't agree to it.

Durianlover;
Could Janelle be teething? Rory can get very clingy and doesn't sleep well when he teeths.

Sandra;
Haha, men can be soooo dense sometimes. Yeah, i feel very blessed. When Rory was younger and needed night feeds, hubby used to be the one who attended to him most of the time. We don't have a maid so when i need some 'me' time, he's more than happy to look after Rory. Think maybe caucasian men are more hands-on than their asian counterparts..but then again there're always exceptions.

Re. cry-it-out method
I think it really depends on the baby? This doesn't work for Isaac as well. I tried for about 3 nights, Isaac would stand in his cot and cry and cry and cry for more than 1 hour. Then he'll grow tired and sit down and sob quietly. Really heartbreaking for me. The 1st night he cried till he hiccupped and even when I picked him up to comfort him, he couldn't seem to stop crying. That really scared me. I had to nurse him to comfort him (that time still BF). The 3rd night, he managed to cry till he fall asleep (about 1.5 hours) but woke up barely 40 mins later only to start crying again. I gave up.
So now, he's pretty much co-sleeping. Once in a while (mainly Fri & Sat nights), we'll try to let him sleep on his own in his own room. Most of the time, when he wakes up in the middle of the night and sees no one, he'll call out and fake cry. I'll just go in and lie beside him on his bed and he falls asleep quickly. Then I'll leave the room. Sometimes, it works, sometimes, it doesn't. I'm just hoping that he'll outgrow this.

CassCL,
Congrats on your coming #2!

Re. HB
I think my HB is ok too... he's careless with Isaac sometimes, no doubt, but he's also the one who always play silly games with him and entertain him. I love to see my HB playing with Isaac, very heartwarming and cute. Other than that, he has also done his share of feeding him and changing his diapers. Not too much complains from me lah...

full blood count
I did a full blood count in Aug06 and finally just managed to get my results from Raffles Medical today after chasing them for so long. It seems I have an abnormally high lymphocytes count, abnormally high Mean Cell Haemoglobinization value and abnormally high albumin count. Anyone here a haematologist who can give me some advice? I only know abnormally high lymphocyte count is usually associated with infections, flu, leukaemia, and tuberclerosis. Not sure abt the other 2 though. Maybe I was having a flu at time of taking the report but its been too long and I cant remember anything already. Any ideas?

queen
I had no problems getting Ariene to sleep but I have problems weaning her off the night feeds, if she wakes up for one although she seldom nowadays. She'll just stand or sit on the cot and cry and cry. Even my hb carry or I carry her also no use unless I latch her on and she really drinks and empties my breasts but can still hear her sobbing away. Sometimes, I pump b4 sleeping so if she wakes up for a night feed, not much milk in and she'll keep crying and sobbing away while sucking because no milk. So, nowadays, I don't dare to pump b4 sleeping anymore. But if I don't pump and she doesn't wake up, I'll end up with overfilled rock hard breasts at 6am for her morning feed. Sigh..

co sleeping
It seems like alot of babies here like to sleep on our beds ya? Ariene is just the opposite. Sometimes, we wanna cuddle up to her in our bed but she'll protest cuz no space for her to roll about and kick if she sleeps between us, so I end up carrying her back to her cot where she can sleep in peace. Also, if I place her on our bed, she'll end up being more alert cuz she'll be kissing us, hugging us, stroking our faces, climbing down the bed and crawling around the room to play with forbidden areas like the power plug and the plasma cluster, so we gave up.

cassCL - yes i still carry Caleb at times. I guess its very difficult not to carry him coz sometimes i also want to play and bond with him.

mamapanda - yeah Caleb has been sleeping with us on the bed since 7 mths. he is enjoying every bit as i will always go down to his eye level and talk/sing and make funny faces. that always get him laughing before his night sleep. but now he prefers to hug my bolster than his tiny one. haha...my hb on the other side will go to the mattress when he find it squeezy. i feel very cosy and at ease knowing that he is sleeping beside me. at night, its easier to take and put his pacifier in as well.

zhimin - sorry took it off already. if u want, i can send u but downloading will take some time. Msn me if you see me online

SSF
Although I would like to feel the coziness and comfort of Ariene sleeping beside me, I also feel very stressed if my hb is on the bed cuz he's a heavy sleeper and we're always scared of him "Crushing" Ariene. Ariene used to sleep between us when she was 0-2 months old occasionally but we felt it was too stressful for us and more so when she started flipping during her 3rd month so we let her sleep in the cot since then. However, on nights when my hb need to work, I'll let Ariene share the warm cozy bed with me and keep me company

MamaPanda
I studied haematology for my diploma and attached to the haematology lab for 6 months but was more than 7 years ago lah. Briefly remembered...chances are that your blood was taken when you had flu/infection. I don't think it could be the case of lymphoma or anything serious, there will be other factors involved as well. Maybe tabbiesus will be able to give a deeper insight. Did they perform a blood film for you as well?

mamachan
Yes, everything is within normal range except lymphocyte count, mean cell Hb and albumin. Blood pressure abit low but I've always had low blood pressure so not an issue. Cholestrol levels, red blood count, everything normal.

MamaPanda
O i c, in this case really no cause for alarm. But test done in Aug 06 and you get results only now? Really too long!!! The lab doesn't need one week to do all the testings. Tsk! Tsk!

wow so many postings to catch up!!

sandra
great, maybe when i tender in july, i will get your fren's contact again for part time work.

i can understand your dilenma. sometimes i feel that if i were to become SAHM, i probably cannot stand it cos JH is very active and i know i will be tired out. but now with work being so busy, i really hate the times that i get so tired from work that i can't spend time with him.

also, even if your boss knows that u only wan a pure 9-5 job, it may not materialize. so must really think carefully

why not work half time? like 2-3 days a week?

sl
yah it costs a lot to join the NY alumni. i thought it was quite ridiculous.

so u thinking of doing part time? if got lobang, tell me!

durianlover
your situation sounds really bad but i wd think it is a phase. i read that at 12-18 months, some babies go thru really bad separation anxiety.

JH used to have problems falling asleep. so now we let him fall asleep then transfer him to mattress. he is really much better in terms of his sleep behavior. personally i wdn't use the cry it out method cos i dun think it suits me and him. i subscribe more to attachment parenting in fact.

do u carry janelle a lot in the day? maybe try to cut down the number of times u carry her?

CassCL
congrats on your number 2!

SSF
your hb so conservative..heehee...din get to see the video...

septbride03
yup i went to see JH's pics already. he looked so blur i thought....not much expressions though.. but the photos are quite well taken. even my fren thought so

RE: Co-sleep
Jamie has outgrown her sarong and I have decided not to let her sleep in there at night since 12mths. She slept with us on our bed and it is very squeezy and I ended up with backache. So recently I came up with an idea.

Bought an ikea foldable guest bed and a mattress with side bumper. So now Jamie is sleeping beside me every night. She will still wake up in the night to look for me despite the night light. Sometimes will try to feel me with her hands to make sure I am beside her.

Intend to let her sleep on the floor when she turns 2 and sleep alone in another room when she turns 3. Not sure if it is the best way but can't bear to throw her into another room alone as hubby is a very deep sleeper and I am too tired to tend to her myself.

Here's a pic of Jamie's new bed!
707139.jpg

Cass,

CONGRATS on baby no.2..So will you be doing your scan in Singapore?

I agree with you..if my hb wanted Patrick or Patricia, I would also not allow...It's just a name I would not call my kids...not that its not nice...

Zhimin,

My initial choice of name was Reyes .. decided to change it coz hb's cousin's sons are all named R and Renee is also starting with R..coz i liked Renee..so decided no nore R's.

Queen,

Your kits are with me..How do you want to collect them??

Tabbs,

you mentioned u changed maid recently, right? How did you fire your old one??

May
I think your mattress is a very good idea! Did u buy the mattress with side bumper from ikea too? What about the cover? Are there extra covers available for that mattress too? I may want to try that too. I would love to give Ariene more sleeping space cuz her legs, arms and head is always banging against the cot when she turns around. Also Would love to have her sleeping closer to us. How high is that mattress? You have your bed on the floor is it? Our bed is not on the floor but our frame is relatively low. Wonder if that'll work for us.

MamaPanda,
I bought from a supplier that Flo intro. It comes with four side bumpers..I removed one side so that I can pat Jamie while I sleep too. The mattress is the height of the normal single bed sponge mattress. The ikea bed set up and I place the mattress on top. Although the mattress is shorter than the ikea guest bed, I supposed it is ok as long as it is the same level as our Queen Sized bed lor. And Jamie will not roll out of it.

may,
we are also using the same kinda mattress.. Yes got the supplier from Flo. This mattress is really good.. Caleb now rolls himself crazy on the mattress.

may,

jamine stop sleeping in sarong? Damien still sleeps in sarong espically in the day. At nite, mornally i will rock him to sleep in the sarong and then carried him to the cot or bed to sleep with us.

Think there is only a few sarong bb in this thread. Duno when can damien sleep without sarong. Thinking of bring him for holiday but without sarong, i changed my mind.

babylon,
caleb is a sarong bb in the day, at nite he will sleep on his own bed.
Dun worry, Damien will be able to sleep with the sarong too..
Maybe u can start to get him to used to sleeping on beds?

re: bed
when could we switch the cot to toddler bed?
my gal is still sleeping every corner of the cot and knock at the side of cot. scare that if we put her to toddler bed, she will fall down leh.
then, if we put a mattress on the floor and let her sleep, she would get more excited in exploring here and there, refuse to sleep.

Sept,

Normally nite time we will put him in sarong till he is in deep sleep then move him to bed. I want to train him to sleep on his own. My elder boy was a sarong bb too..but so glad that he refused to sleep in it after he turned 2 yr old. Hope that damien will be like him.

sunny - same case here. when we put caleb in the cot..he will rotate 360 deg and keep hitting the egdes. putting him on the floor, we are worried he will roll over as under my bed is a hole. so last resort is to let him sleep with us where we will all be at ease. both hb and me sleeps quite straight...so every move we made ..we be sure to look out for him. maybe when my no 2 is bigger like 5 mths, then he will have to downgrade liao. haha...

sandra
if money is not a prob, I'll prefer to stay home to watch Gerald grow, since the 1st few years of their lives are very precious.. they learn and grow up so much. But, then, after that I wld wanna go back to work.

Cookie
Dun worry too much.. the gals are right, there are also cases of false positive, even false negative.. will pray for you, ya.. God will take care of you and bb.

durianlover
i totally know what you mean. Gerald MUST have us in the room for him to slp. perhaps, you can try a graduated approach, i.e. 1st night, you sit next to the cot and stroke her to sleep, then slowly move the chair further and further away from the cot and out of the room. This is what the super nanny book says. For me, I only succeeded till sitting next to the cupboard, once i go further than that, he'll start to scream. I also cant do the cry it out method, coz my hb is studying every nite, and Ger's cries disturb him. But, for me, I'm not for letting bb slp on our bed, coz then they'll get even more used to us and it's harder to wean. But, since she's already so used to your bed, think you hv to wean her off slowly.. maybe 1st few nights u slp in her room on the mattress, then slowly let them slp alone, etc.

Hi Mamapanda,

Really. I brought Megan to the PD again and she say Pnuemoccocal jab don't cause rashes and it could be hand foot mouth disease and ask that we monitor her for ulcers in the mouth

But the rashes start subsidies already....... But for safety, i ask my sister not to bring her kids to my mum's place....